Students Save 30%! Learn & create with unlimited courses & creative assets Students Save 30%! Save Now
Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Web Development
Code

如何创建一个简单的在线聊天工具

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Chinese (Simplified) (中文(简体)) translation by Alfred Y. Zhu (you can also view the original English article)

在本教程中,我们将要使用PHP和jQuery创建一个简单的在线聊天工具。 这种实用性的模块对于你想要有实时在线客户支持系统的网站可以说是完美。


介绍

final product

今天我们将要创建的这个聊天工具非常的简单, 它会包含一个登陆和登出的系统、AJAX功能特色、以及可以同时支持多个用户的功能。


步骤1:HTML结构代码

我们将由创建我们的第一个文件index.php来开始我们的教程。

  • 我们HTML的开始是正常的DOCTYPE,html,head和body标签, 在head标签中,我们添加了我们的标题,并且链接上CSS样式表(style.css)。
  • 在body标签之内,我们将在叫#wrapper的div里面开始构建基本的结构, 我们将创建三个基本的部分:一个简单的菜单,我们的聊天框,以及消息的输入框;他们分别对应了一个div和id。
    • 叫#menu的div是由两个段落元素组成的, 首先,我们要欢迎我们的用户,这个应该浮动在左侧,然后我们将要提供一个退出的链接,这个将浮动在右侧。 我们同时需要包含一个div来清除所有的元素。
    • 叫#chatbox的div会囊括我们的聊天记录, 我们将要使用jQuery的ajax请求从一个外部文件读取我们的记录。
    • 最后一个元素是我们的#wrapper div,这个将成为一个form,它将包括用户使用的文字输入框以及一个提交按钮。
  • 我们在最后添加script脚本来使页面的读取更快。 首先我们将要链接到Google的jQuery CDS,因为我们将使用jQuery库来完成本教程。 我们的第二个script脚本标签将会是我们需要进行编辑的, 在整个文档准备就绪了(ready)以后我们再读取它。

步骤2:CSS样式

我们现在来添加一些CSS来让整个聊天系统比默认的浏览器样式看起来好看一点, 下面我们将要添加的代码是用在style.css文件里面的。

上面这些CSS没什么特别的,除了部分的id或者class,我们将要在之后再为它们添加。

你可以看到上面,我们已经完成了创建用户的聊天界面。

步骤3:使用PHP创建登录表单

现在我们将要放置一个简单的表单(form)来实现在用户进一步操作之前询问他们的名字。

我们创建的这个loginForm()的function是由一个简单的登录表单组成的,它会询问用户的名字。 接下来,使用一个if和else的声明来验证这个人输入的名字。 如果一个用户输入了名字,我们将设置这个名字为$_SESSION['name']。 由于我们将使用基于cookie的session来存储名字,所以我们必须要在任何东西反馈到浏览器之前请求一个session_start()。

有一件事情你可能需要额外的注意一下,我们使用了htmlspecialchars() function,这个会转换特殊符号到HTML实体,以此来保护名字变量的字符不会成为跨站点脚本(XSS)的受害者。 我们将在之后同时添加这个功能到将要发布在聊天记录里面的文字变量上。

显示登录表单

如果用户并没有登录,并且还没有产生session,为了要显示登录的表单,我们需要在原始代码中的#wrapper div和script标签周围使用另外一个if和else的声明。 反之,如果用户已经登录而且已经有了一个session,这个声明将隐藏登录表单,并且显示聊天框。

欢迎和登出菜单

我们还没有完成创建这个系统的登录部分, 因为我们还需要允许用户来登出,以结束聊天的session。 如果你还记得,我们原始的HTML结构包含了一个简单的菜单, 让我们回过头来添加一些PHP代码来给我们的菜单更多的功能。

首先,让我们添加用户名到欢迎的信息中, 我们将导出session中用户的名字来实现这个功能。

为了允许用户登出并结束session,我们将要使用jQuery来完成它。

上面这段jQuery代码简单的展示了如果用户点击#exit链接的时候弹出的确认提示, 如果用户确认了退出,也就是说他们决定结束session,那么我们将把他们送回到index.php?logout=true。 这个简单的创建了一个叫logout并且值为true的变量。 我们将要使用PHP来抓住这个变量。

现在,我们使用isset()功能并检测是否得到一个logout的变量, 如果这个变量被一个url传递,例如上面我们制作的这个链接,我们将进行结束该用户名下session的操作。

在我们使用session_destroy()删除用户名字session之前,我们希望显示一个简单的退出消息到聊天记录里面。 它有可能说某某用户已经离开了聊天会话。 我们将使用fopen(),fwrite(),和fclose()功能来控制我们的log.html文件,这个被创建来作为我们的聊天记录的文件将在之后看到。 请注意,我们为div添加了一个‘msgIn'的class, 在之前我们已经为这个div定义过css了。

在完成这个之后,我们将删除session然后重定向用户到同样的页面但是登录表单将会显示。


步骤4:处理用户输入

在用户提交了表单以后,我们希望抓取他们的输入数据并且将它们写入到聊天记录里面, 要想完成这个,我们必须使用jQuery和PHP来同步客户端和服务器端的数据。

jQuery

几乎所有我们将使用jQuery来处理的数据都会循环围绕jQuery的POST请求。

  1. 在我们做任何事情之前,我们必须先抓取用户的输入数据,或者说是他们所输入到#submitmsg input里面的文字。 这个可以使用val()功能来实现,它会抓取表单里面的所有数据。 我们将抓取的数据放入到clientmsg变量里面。
  2. 接下来是我们最重要的一个部分:jQuery POST 请求。 这一步会发送一个POST的请求到我们稍后会创建的post.php文件, 它会POST客户端的输入数据,或者任何已经被存储到clientmsg变量的数据。
  3. 在最后,我们将设置value属性的值到空白来清除#usermsg input。

注意,上面的这些代码将被放进我们的script标签,就是我们放置jQuery登出代码的地方。

PHP - post.php

现在,我们有了POST的数据,并且每一次当用户提交表单并发送一条新的消息的时候,数据们都被发送到了post.php文件里。 我们现在的目标就是抓取这些数据,然后回过头来写入到我们的聊天记录框里。

  1. 在我们做任何事情之前,我们必须先用session_start()功能来开始post.php文件,因为我们也会在这个文件里面使用用户名字的session。
  2. 在做任何事情之前,我们需要使用isset布尔值,来检查如果session中’name'是否已经存在了。
  3. 现在我们将要抓取那些使用jQuery被发送到该文件的POST的数据, 并且我们将这些数据存储入$text变量。
  4. 这些所有的用户输入数据,都将被存储在log.html文件里。 为了完成这一步,我们将使用fopen功能的'a'模式打开文件,根据php.net的规则打开文件且仅限写入;接下来放置文件指示到文件的最后。 如果这个文件并不存在,那么尝试创建它。 接下来,我们使用fwrite()功能来写入我们的消息到这个文件里。
    • 我们即将写入的消息将会被封闭在.msgIn div里面, 它会包含数据、使用date()功能所生成的时间、用户的session、以及内容等,同样的使用htmlspecialchars()功能来防止跨站点脚本XSS。

    最后,我们使用fclose()来结束我们的文件操控。


步骤5:显示聊天记录(log.html) 内容

所有用户已经发布的消息都被处理过了,并且我们也是用jQuery将它们发布了;它们是被PHP写入到聊天记录框里面的, 所以唯一剩下来需要走的就是显示这些更新过的聊天记录给用户。

有些时候为了给自己省事,如果聊天文件里面已经有内容了的话,我们需要预先读取聊天记录到#chatbox div。

由于我们使用过post.php,所以我们使用相似的规律,除了这一次我们只是读取并且输出这些文件的内容到页面上。

jQuery.ajax请求

ajax请求是我们做的所有事情的核心, 这个请求不仅仅允许我们在不刷新页面的情况下通过表单发送和接受数据,而且还允许我们处理数据请求。

我们将ajax的请求囊括在一个function里面, 过一会你就知道为什么了。 你可以看到,在上面,我们仅仅使用了3个jQuery ajax的请求对象。

  • url: 一个URL请求的字符串 我们将使用我们的聊天记录文件名log.html。
  • cache: 这个会避免我们的文件被放入缓存。 它会确保我们每一次发送请求的时候都会得到一个最新的聊天记录。
  • success: 这个允许我们附上一个功能来传递我们请求的数据。

你可以看到,我们接着移动我们请求的数据(html)到#chatbox div。

自动滚动

由于你可能在别的聊天工具里面看过,如果聊天记录的容器(#chatbox)的内容溢出了就会自动的向下滚动。 我们将要实现一个简单的而又相似的效果,需要做的是在我们请求ajax的前后对比容器的滚动高度。 如果你滚动的高度大于请求之后的高度,我们会使用jQuery的动画效果来滚动#chatbox div。

  • 在我们发送请求之前,首先我们将#chatbox div的混动高度存储在oldscrollHeight变量里
  • 在我们请求成功返回以后,我们将#chatbox div的滚动高度存储到newscrollHeight变量中。
  • 接下来我们使用一个if声明来比较两个滚动高度的变量, 如果newscrollHeight大于oldscrollHeight,我们使用动画效果来滚动#chatbox的div。

继续更新聊天记录

现在你可能会冒出来一个问题,我们将怎么才能一直的在用户来回更新数据时不断的更新数据呢? 或者换个方式来问这个问题,我们将如何不断的保持发送请求来更新数据呢?

我们问题的回答你可以在setInterval function的那一行找到, 这个功能每2.5秒就会运行一次LoadLog() function,并且loadLog function会请求更新过的数据以及自动滚动的div。

搞定了

我们完成啦! 我希望你学到了该如何创建一个基本的聊天系统,而且如果你有任何的建议或者其他任何问题,我会很高兴在这里为你解答。 这个聊天系统是一个你可以很迅速拥有的简单聊天工具。 你可以渐渐的改进这个小程序并创建一个多人聊天室,添加管理性质的后端,添加表情符号等等。 天高任鸟飞!

如果你在想如何扩展这个聊天程序,下面是一些链接你可能希望去看一看:

  • 你可以在Twitter上关注我们,或者订阅NETTUTS RSS推送来或缺更多每日互联网开发教程和文章。


Envato qr branded
关注我们的公众号
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Unlimited Plugins, WordPress themes, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Web Development

How to Create a Simple Web-Based Chat Application

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

In this tutorial, we will be creating a simple web-based chat application with PHP and jQuery. This sort of utility would be perfect for a live support system for your website.

This tutorial was updated recently to make improvements in the chat app. 

Introduction

How to Implement Live Chat in PHP Tutorial TutsPlus Chat AppHow to Implement Live Chat in PHP Tutorial TutsPlus Chat AppHow to Implement Live Chat in PHP Tutorial TutsPlus Chat App
The chat application we will be building today will be quite simple. It will include a login and logout system, AJAX-style features, and support for multiple users.

Step 1: HTML Markup

We will start this tutorial by creating our first file, called index.php.

  • We start our HTML with the usual DOCTYPE, html, head, and body tags. In the head tag, we add our title and link to our CSS stylesheet (style.css).
  • Inside the body tag, we structure our layout inside the #wrapper div. We will have three main blocks: a simple menu, our chatbox, and our message input, each with its respective div and id.
    • The #menu div will consist of two paragraph elements. The first will be a welcome to the user and will be on the left, and the second will be an exit link and will be on the right. We are using flexbox instead of floating elements for the layout.
    • The #chatbox div will contain our chatlog. We will load our log from an external file using jQuery's ajax request.
    • The last item in our #wrapper div will be our form, which will include a text input for the user message and a submit button.
  • We add our scripts last so that the page will load faster. We will first link to the Cloudflare jQuery CDN, as we will be using the jQuery library for this tutorial. Our second script tag is what we will be working on. We will load all of our code after the document is ready.

Step 2: CSS Styling

We will now add some CSS to make our chat application look better than with the default browser styling. The code below will be added to our style.css file.

There's nothing special about the above CSS other than the fact that some ids or classes, which we have set a style for, will be added a bit later.

How to Implement Live Chat in PHP Tutorial TutsPlus Chat App InterfaceHow to Implement Live Chat in PHP Tutorial TutsPlus Chat App InterfaceHow to Implement Live Chat in PHP Tutorial TutsPlus Chat App Interface
 
As you can see above, we are finished building the chat's user interface.

Step 3: Using PHP to Create a Login Form

Now we will implement a simple form that will ask the user their name before continuing further.

The loginForm() function we created is composed of a simple login form which asks the user for their name. We then use an if and else statement to verify that the person entered a name. If the person entered a name, we set that name as $_SESSION['name']. Since we are using a cookie-based session to store the name, we must call session_start() before anything is outputted to the browser.

One thing that you may want to pay close attention to is that we have used the htmlspecialchars() function, which converts special characters to HTML entities, therefore protecting the name variable from falling victim to cross-site scripting (XSS). Later, we will also add this function to the text variable that will be posted to the chat log.

Showing the Login Form

In order to show the login form in case a user has not logged in, and hence has not created a session, we use another if and else statement around the #wrapper div and script tags in our original code. In the opposite case, this will hide the login form and show the chat box if the user is logged in and has created a session.

How to Implement Live Chat in PHP Tutorial TutsPlus Chat App Login ScreenHow to Implement Live Chat in PHP Tutorial TutsPlus Chat App Login ScreenHow to Implement Live Chat in PHP Tutorial TutsPlus Chat App Login Screen

Welcome and Logout Menu

We are not yet finished creating the login system for this chat application. We still need to allow the user to log out and end the chat session. If you remember, our original HTML markup included a simple menu. Let's go back and add some PHP code that will give the menu more functionality.

First of all, let's add the user's name to the welcome message. We do this by outputting the session of the user's name.

How to Implement Live Chat in PHP Tutorial Tutsplus Chat App WelcomeHow to Implement Live Chat in PHP Tutorial Tutsplus Chat App WelcomeHow to Implement Live Chat in PHP Tutorial Tutsplus Chat App Welcome

In order to allow the user to log out and end the session, we will jump ahead of ourselves and briefly use jQuery.

The jQuery code above simply shows a confirmation alert if a user clicks the #exit link. If the user confirms the exit, therefore deciding to end the session, then we send them to index.php?logout=true. This simply creates a variable called logout with the value of true. We need to catch this variable with PHP:

How to Create Online Chat Application in PHP Tutorial Tutsplus Chat App Logout PromptHow to Create Online Chat Application in PHP Tutorial Tutsplus Chat App Logout PromptHow to Create Online Chat Application in PHP Tutorial Tutsplus Chat App Logout Prompt

We now see if a get variable of 'logout' exists using the isset() function. If the variable has been passed via a URL, such as the link mentioned above, we proceed to end the session of the user's name.

Before destroying the user's name session with the session_destroy() function, we want to write a simple exit message to the chat log. It will say that the user has left the chat session. We do this by using the file_put_contents() function to manipulate our log.html file, which, as we will see later on, will be created as our chat log. The file_put_contents() function is a convenient way to write data to a text file instead of using fopen()fwrite(), and fclose() each time. Just make sure that you pass appropriate flags like FILE_APPEND to append the data at the end of the file. Otherwise, a new $logout_message will overwrite the previous content of the file. Please note that we have added a class of msgln to the div. We have already defined the CSS styling for this div.

After doing this, we destroy the session and redirect the user to the same page where the login form will appear.

Step 4: Handling User Input

After a user submits our form, we want to grab their input and write it to our chat log. In order to do this, we must use jQuery and PHP to work synchronously on the client and server sides.

jQuery

Almost everything we are going to do with jQuery to handle our data will revolve around the jQuery post request.

  1. Before we do anything, we must grab the user's input, or what the user has typed into the #submitmsg input. This can be achieved with the val() function, which gets the value set in a form field. We now store this value in the clientmsg variable.
  2. Here comes our most important part: the jQuery post request. This sends a POST request to the post.php file that we will create in a moment. It posts the client's input, or what has been saved into the clientmsg variable.
  3. Lastly, we clear the #usermsg input by setting the value attribute to blank.

Please note that the code above will go into our script tag, where we placed the jQuery logout code.

PHP: The post.php File

At the moment, we have POST data being sent to the post.php file each time the user submits the form and sends a new message. Our goal now is to grab this data and write it into our chat log.

Before we do anything, we have to start the post.php file with the session_start() function as we will be using the session of the user's name in this file.

Using the isset boolean, we check if the session for 'name' exists before doing anything else. We now grab the POST data that was being sent to this file by jQuery. We store this data into the $text variable. This data, like all the overall user input data, will be stored in the log.html file. We simply use the file_put_contents() function to write all the data to the file.

The message we will be writing will be enclosed inside the .msgln div. It will contain the date and time generated by the date() function, the session of the user's name, and the text, which is also surrounded by the htmlspecialchars() function to prevent XSS.

Step 5: Displaying the Chat Log Contents

Everything the user has posted is handled and posted using jQuery; it is written to the chat log with PHP. The only thing left to do is to display the updated chat log to the user with log.php.

In order to save ourselves some time, we will preload the chat log into the #chatbox div if it has any content.

We use a similar routine as we used in the post.php file, except this time we are only reading and outputting the contents of the file.

The jQuery.ajax Request

The AJAX request is the core of everything we are doing. This request not only allows us to send and receive data through the form without refreshing the page, but it also allows us to handle the data requested.

We wrap our AJAX request inside a function. You will see why in a second. As you see above, we will only use three of the jQuery AJAX request objects.

  • url: A string of the URL to request. We will use our chat log's filename of log.html.
  • cache: This will prevent our file from being cached. It will ensure that we get an updated chat log every time we send a request.
  • success: This will allow us to attach a function that will pass the data we requested.

As you see, we then move the HTML data we requested into the #chatbox div.

Auto-Scrolling

As you may have seen in other chat applications, the content automatically scrolls down if the chat log container (#chatbox) overflows. We are going to implement a simple and similar feature, which will compare the container's scroll height before and after we do the AJAX request. If the scroll height is greater after the request, we will use jQuery's animate effect to scroll the #chatbox div.

We first store the #chatbox div's scroll height into the oldscrollHeight variable before we make the request. After our request has returned successfully, we store the #chatbox div's scrolled height into the newscrollHeight variable.

We then compare both of the scroll height variables using an if statement. If newscrollHeight is greater than the oldscrollHeight, we use the animate effect to scroll the #chatbox div.

Continuously Updating the Chat Log

Now one question may arise: how will we constantly update the new data being sent back and forth between users? Or to rephrase the question, how will we keep continuously sending requests to update the data?

The answer to our question lies in the setInterval function. This function will run our loadLog() function every 2.5 seconds, and the loadLog function will request the updated file and autoscroll the div.

How to Create Online Chat Application in PHP Tutorial Tutsplus Chat App NetworkHow to Create Online Chat Application in PHP Tutorial Tutsplus Chat App NetworkHow to Create Online Chat Application in PHP Tutorial Tutsplus Chat App Network

Complete Code

The chat app might not work properly for you if the right code is not placed inside the right files and in the right order. To avoid any confusion, I am posting the whole code that will go into two separate files called index.php and post.php.

Here is the code for index.php:

Here is the code for post.php:

The code that goes into style.css is already available in Step 2 of the tutorial.

If the code you have does not seem to be working, make sure it matches the code provided here. Please note that all three files—index.phppost.php, and style.css—are located in the same directory.

Awesome Online Chat PHP Scripts From CodeCanyon

Would you rather download an online chat PHP script instead of creating one yourself? Then you'll want to check out these premium templates from CodeCanyon:

1. Live Chat Unlimited

Live Chat Unlimited is a bestselling simple PHP chat box for a reason. It's very lightweight to keep your site load speeds down and can be installed on unlimited domains. The online chat PHP script also offers multi-lingual support through the WPML and Polylang plugins. You can also enable email notifications so you can be ready to chat with visitors.

LiveChat Unlimited Online Chat PHPLiveChat Unlimited Online Chat PHPLiveChat Unlimited Online Chat PHP

2. PHP Live Support Chat

This PHP chat script template download lets you offer live chat support to all of your site's visitors. It's easy to set up and has a 4.5-star rating on CodeCanyon. Embrace PHP Live Support Chat's features like:

  • installation wizard
  • mobile support
  • full-screen mode
  • emoticons and avatars
PHP Live Support Chat ScriptPHP Live Support Chat ScriptPHP Live Support Chat Script

3. TotalDesk: Helpdesk, Live Chat, Knowledge Base and Ticket System

TotalDesk is a complete help desk solution for your business. Not only does it let you make your own chat box, but it also includes a ticket and notification system, among other things. You can create a searchable knowledge base for your site's visitors, so they can solve common problems on their own. TotalDesk also integrates well with WooCommerce and Slack.

TotalDesk Chat for Website PHPTotalDesk Chat for Website PHPTotalDesk Chat for Website PHP

4. XeroChat: Facebook Chatbot, eCommerce and Social Media Management Tool

If Facebook Messenger is part of your business's marketing strategy, you'll want to learn about XeroChat. It's designed with the messaging platform in mind and integrates well with it. This online chat PHP script lets you build responsive and interactive chatbots with ease. It's so fully featured that you can even set up eCommerce stores with the included code. Add XeroChat to your online business strategies.

XeroChat Simple PHP Chat BoxXeroChat Simple PHP Chat BoxXeroChat Simple PHP Chat Box

5. Chat Support Board: PHP Chat Application

Finally, there's Support Board, a PHP chat script that uses artificial intelligence to help serve your customers. Communicate directly with your audience with ease thanks to its smooth integration with other platforms. You'll save time and increase engagement with this simple PHP chat box.

Support Board Online Chat PHPSupport Board Online Chat PHPSupport Board Online Chat PHP

Even More PHP Script Templates

PHP forms and scripts are a great way to round out your website. If you're looking for more templates that will save you time, check out some of these items from Envato:

Learn About PHP Scripts From Envato Tuts+

Are you looking to learn even more about the PHP scripting language? Then Envato Tuts+ is the best place to start (and finish). Our talented instructors have put together many PHP courses, tutorials, and guides that you can use to grow your knowledge base. Here are a few to get you started:

Finished

We are finished! I hope that you learned how a basic chat system works, and if you have any suggestions on anything, I'll happily welcome them. This chat system is a simple as you can get with a chat application. You can work off this and build multiple chat rooms, add an administrative back end, add emoticons, etc. The sky is the limit!

Also, if you need a professional app or plugin for your next project, you can take a look at one of the many chat scripts we have for sale on CodeCanyon.

Below are a few links you might want to check out if you are thinking of expanding this chat application:

How to Create Online Chat Application in PHP Tutorial Tutsplus Chat AppHow to Create Online Chat Application in PHP Tutorial Tutsplus Chat AppHow to Create Online Chat Application in PHP Tutorial Tutsplus Chat App

This post has been updated with contributions from Monty Shokeen and Nathan Umoh. Monty is a full-stack developer who also loves to write tutorials, and to learn about new JavaScript libraries. Nathan is a staff writer for Envato Tuts+.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.