Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Android SDK

Java 8 für Android: Saubererer Code mit Lambda-Ausdrücken

by
Read Time:15 minsLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Java 8 for Android Development.
Java 8 for Android Development: Default and Static Methods

German (Deutsch) translation by Katharina Grigorovich-Nevolina (you can also view the original English article)

Lambda-Ausdrücke können Ihnen dabei helfen, Boilerplate-Code aus Ihren Projekten zu entfernen und große Datenmengen mühelos zu verarbeiten. Erfahren Sie, wie Sie mit diesem detaillierten Blick auf die Java 8-Funktionen, die Sie heute in Ihren Android-Projekten verwenden können, arbeiten können.

Java 8 für Android

Java 8, das bereits im März 2014 eingeführt wurde, war ein großer Fortschritt für die Programmiersprache und führte eine Liste von Funktionen ein, die versprachen, die Codierung in Java einfacher und präziser als je zuvor zu gestalten.

Leider würden Android-Entwickler die Vorteile dieser Funktionen für eine Weile nicht spüren, da Google experimentierte, Java 8 über Jack (Java Android Compiler Kit) auf die Android-Plattform zu bringen, bevor es Jack zugunsten der nativen Unterstützung von Java 8 in Android Studio ablehnte.

Mit der Veröffentlichung von Android Studio 3.0 haben wir endlich eine Version der Android-Toolchain, die einige der wichtigsten Funktionen von Java 8 unterstützt.

In dieser Serie werde ich Ihnen zeigen, wie Sie eine Menge Code aus Ihren Projekten entfernen, große Datenmengen mühelos verarbeiten und sogar einen funktionaleren Stil in Ihre Java-Programmierung mit Java 8 integrieren können Werfen Sie einen detaillierten Blick auf die Java 8-Funktionen, die Sie heute verwenden können.

Wenn Sie diese Serie abgeschlossen haben, können Sie alle folgenden Java 8-Funktionen in Ihren Android-Projekten verwenden:

  • Lambda-Ausdrücke
  • Methodenreferenzen
  • Standardmethoden
  • statische Schnittstellenmethoden
  • Typ Anmerkungen
  • Anmerkungen wiederholen
  • funktionale Schnittstellen
  • die Stream-API

In diesem ersten Beitrag werden wir uns die Funktion ansehen, die bei der ersten Veröffentlichung von Java 8 am meisten Aufsehen erregt hat und die für Android-Entwickler den größten Unterschied bedeuten kann: Lambda-Ausdrücke.

Vorbereiten Ihrer Entwicklungsumgebung

Bevor Sie irgendwelche Java 8-Funktionen verwenden können, müssen Sie sicherstellen, dass Ihre Entwicklungsumgebung für die Unterstützung dieser Java-Version eingerichtet ist.

Wenn Sie Java 8 noch nicht installiert haben, müssen Sie das neueste JDK8 herunterladen und den JDK-Pfad von Android Studio aktualisieren, damit er auf das JDK8-Paket verweist:

  • Starten Sie Android Studio.
  • Wählen Sie in der Android Studio-Symbolleiste Datei > Projektstruktur… aus.
  • Aktualisieren Sie das JDK-Speicherort-Feld so, dass es auf Ihr neu heruntergeladenes JDK8-Paket verweist.

Wenn Sie nicht sicher sind, welche Java-Version Sie installiert haben, können Sie dies überprüfen, indem Sie ein Terminalfenster (wenn Sie ein Mac-Benutzer sind) oder eine Eingabeaufforderung (wenn Sie unter Windows arbeiten) öffnen und dann Folgendes ausführen Befehl:

Wenn Build 1.8 oder höher zurückgegeben wird, können Sie loslegen!

Außerdem muss Android Studio 3.0 Preview 1 oder höher installiert sein. Um die Wahrscheinlichkeit von Fehlern und anderen seltsamen Verhaltensweisen zu verringern, wird jedoch empfohlen, die neueste Version von Android Studio 3.0 zu installieren - unabhängig davon, ob es sich um eine Beta-Version oder eine Vorschau handelt oder Idealerweise eine stabile Version von Android Studio 3.0 (die zum Zeitpunkt des Schreibens noch nicht verfügbar war).

Als Nächstes müssen Sie einige Änderungen an den build.gradle-Dateien Ihres Projekts vornehmen. Normalerweise müssen Sie nur ein paar Codezeilen hinzufügen, um anzugeben, dass dieses Projekt Java 8-Bytecode generieren soll. Wenn Sie zuvor mit dem Jack-Compiler oder dem beliebten Retrolambda-Projekt mit Java 8-Funktionen experimentiert haben, müssen Sie diese Werkzeuge deaktivieren, bevor Ihr Projekt die neue und verbesserte Java 8-Unterstützung verwenden kann, die von der Standard-Toolchain von Android bereitgestellt wird .

In den folgenden Abschnitten werde ich Ihnen zeigen, wie Sie die Java 8-Unterstützung aktivieren und bei Bedarf Retrolambda und Jack deaktivieren.

Hinzufügen von Java 8-Unterstützung zu einem neuen Projekt

Angenommen, Sie haben Jack noch nicht aktiviert oder Retrolambda nicht als Projektabhängigkeit hinzugefügt. Der erste Schritt besteht darin, die Datei build.gradle auf Projektebene zu öffnen und sicherzustellen, dass Sie Version 3.0.0-alpha1 (oder höher) von verwenden Gradle für Android Plugin:

Öffnen Sie als Nächstes jede build.gradle-Datei auf Modulebene, in der Sie Java 8-Funktionen verwenden möchten, und legen Sie die Sprachstufe des Quellcodes und die Version des generierten Java-Bytecodes auf JavaVersion.VERSION_1_8 fest:

Wenn Sie von Jack migrieren

Der Jack-Compiler ist möglicherweise veraltet, aber solange er aktiviert ist, verwendet Ihr Projekt die von Jack bereitgestellte Java 8-Unterstützung anstelle der von der Standard-Toolchain von Android bereitgestellten Unterstützung.

Die Verwendung eines veralteten Tools ist nie eine gute Idee, aber es gibt einige zusätzliche Gründe, warum Sie vom Jack-Compiler migrieren sollten, falls Sie dies noch nicht getan haben.

Erstens unterstützt Jack möglicherweise eine Teilmenge der Java 8-Funktionen, aber im Gegensatz zur Standard-Toolchain werden keine Bibliotheken von Drittanbietern unterstützt, die diese Funktionen verwenden. Wenn Sie also Jack verwenden, schränken Sie Ihre Optionen für Bibliotheken von Drittanbietern sofort ein .

Zweitens nimmt der Jack-Compiler Java-Code und konvertiert ihn direkt in Dex, ohne Zwischenbytecode zu erzeugen. Solange Jack aktiviert ist, können Sie keines der Tools verwenden, die auf dieser Zwischenausgabe basieren, z. B. Anmerkungsprozessoren und Bytecode-Analysatoren.

Um den Jack-Compiler zu deaktivieren, öffnen Sie Ihre build.gradle-Datei auf Modulebene und entfernen Sie den jackOptions-Abschnitt. Lassen Sie jedoch den compileOptions-Block intakt:

Wenn Sie von Retrolambda migrieren

Ähnlich wie Jack unterstützt Retrolambda keine Bibliotheken von Drittanbietern, die Java 8-Sprachfunktionen verwenden. Wenn Ihr Projekt für die Verwendung des Retrolambda-Plugins eingerichtet ist, sollten Sie dieses Plugin entfernen, damit Ihr Projekt auf die Standard-Toolchain zurückgesetzt werden kann.

Öffnen Sie Ihre build.gradle-Datei auf Projektebene und entfernen Sie Retrolambda als Projektabhängigkeit:

Entfernen Sie dann das Retrolambda-Plugin aus jeder build.gradle-Datei auf Modulebene:

Testen Sie Ihren Java 8-Support

Der einfachste Weg, um zu überprüfen, ob Ihr Projekt jetzt Java 8 unterstützt, besteht darin, einen kurzen Lambda-Ausdruck zu schreiben und zu prüfen, ob Ihr Projekt noch kompiliert wird.

Fügen Sie Ihrer Benutzeroberfläche eine Schaltfläche hinzu (oder verwenden Sie eine bereits vorhandene Schaltfläche), und implementieren Sie dann einen onClickListener für diese Schaltfläche mithilfe eines Lambda-Ausdrucks. Machen Sie sich keine Sorgen, wenn der folgende Code jetzt nicht viel Sinn macht - er wird am Ende dieses Artikels erscheinen!

Test your lambda expression by triggering the Java 8 toastTest your lambda expression by triggering the Java 8 toastTest your lambda expression by triggering the Java 8 toast

Überprüfen Sie, ob Ihr Projekt noch kompiliert wird, indem Sie entweder im angezeigten Banner die Option Synchronisieren auswählen oder in der Symbolleiste von Android Studio Werkzeuge > Android > Projekt mit Gradle-Dateien synchronisieren auswählen.

Wenn Android Studio keine Fehler ausgibt, können Sie alle Funktionen verwenden, die wir am Anfang dieses Artikels aufgeführt haben, einschließlich Lambda-Ausdrücken!

Warum sind Lambda-Ausdrücke so wichtig?

Lambda-Ausdrücke waren mit Sicherheit die größte neue Funktion von Java 8 und können einen großen Einfluss auf die Menge an Boilerplate-Code haben, die Sie beim Erstellen so ziemlich jeder Android-App schreiben müssen.

Im Wesentlichen stellt ein Lambda-Ausdruck eine Funktion dar, die keiner Klasse angehört und die Sie problemlos weitergeben und bei Bedarf ausführen können.

Diese Funktion beseitigt die langjährige Frustration, die viele Android-Entwickler mit Java erlebt haben: Als objektorientierte Sprache war es immer schwieriger, Codeblöcke weiterzugeben, als es sein sollte. Wenn Sie beispielsweise einen neuen Thread erstellen und dann Code an diesen Thread übergeben möchten, müssen Sie normalerweise einen Thread mit einer anonymen Implementierung der Runnable-Schnittstelle instanziieren - das ist eine Menge Arbeit, nur um Code zu übergeben! Durch die einfache Übergabe einer Funktion an eine Methode können Lambda-Ausdrücke einige der häufigsten Aufgaben vereinfachen, die Sie als Android-Entwickler ausführen.

Lambda-Ausdrücke sind auch eine willkommene Ergänzung für alle Java-Entwickler, die ihre Programmierung funktionaler gestalten möchten. Vor Java 8 mussten Sie für das Codieren in einem funktionalen Stil zwangsläufig viel Code schreiben, aber jetzt, da Sie Funktionen mit Lambda-Ausdrücken weitergeben können, muss das Schreiben Ihres Java-Codes auf weniger objektorientierte Weise nicht mehr erforderlich sein eine Menge anonymer Klassen schreiben.

Wie erstelle ich einen Lambda-Ausdruck?

Sie erstellen einen Lambda-Ausdruck mit der folgenden Syntax:

Der Pfeiloperator ist ziemlich selbsterklärend, aber die Regeln für die Strukturierung des Arguments und des Ausdrucks des Lambda können je nach dem, was Sie erreichen möchten, variieren. Lassen Sie uns diese beiden Elemente genauer untersuchen.

Das Argument

Das Argument ist ein oder mehrere Parameter, die fast immer in Klammern stehen. Auch wenn Ihr Lambda-Ausdruck keine Parameter enthält, müssen Sie dennoch leere Klammern angeben, zum Beispiel:

Die Ausnahme von dieser Regel ist, wenn Ihre Methode einen einzelnen Parameter hat, dessen Typ abgeleitet ist. In diesem Fall können Sie die Klammern weglassen:

Sie können mehrere Parameter in Ihrem Argument verwenden, indem Sie jeden Parameter durch ein Komma trennen:

In Lambdas ist eine Typinferenz möglich, sodass Sie den Datentyp in der Regel in Ihrem Argument weglassen können. Wenn der Compiler den Datentyp jedoch nicht ableiten kann, müssen Sie den Typ vor Ihren Parametern hinzufügen:

Der Ausdruckskörper

Der Ausdruckskörper ist der Code, den Sie ausführen möchten. Dies kann ein einzelner Ausdruck oder mehrere Codezeilen sein. Wenn Sie mehrere Zeilen ausführen möchten, müssen Sie einen Anweisungsblock erstellen, indem Sie diesen Abschnitt Ihres Codes mit geschweiften Klammern umgeben:

Wenn Ihr Ausdruck einen Wert zurückgibt, muss er mit einer return-Anweisung zurückgegeben werden, zum Beispiel:

Verwenden von Lambda-Ausdrücken in Ihren Android-Apps

Jetzt haben wir einen Überblick über die verschiedenen Möglichkeiten, wie Sie einen Lambda-Ausdruck strukturieren können. Schauen wir uns einige der häufigsten Szenarien an, in denen Sie Lambda-Ausdrücke in Ihrer Android-Entwicklungsarbeit verwenden können.

Lambdas für die Ereignisbehandlung

Ihre typische Android-App muss in der Lage sein, auf eine Vielzahl von Benutzereingabeereignissen zu reagieren, und Lambda-Ausdrücke können die Handhabung dieses Ereignisses erheblich vereinfachen.

Im folgenden Code verwenden wir eine anonyme Klasse, um eine Instanz von onClickListener mit einer überschriebenen onClick-Methode zu erstellen. Wahrscheinlich haben Sie diese Art von Code unzählige Male geschrieben.

Durch Umschreiben des obigen Codes mit einem Lambda-Ausdruck können wir alle folgenden Elemente entfernen:

  • die Klasseninstanziierung: new View.OnClickListener()
  • Zugriffsmodifikator, Methodenname und Typ: public void onClick(View view)
  • und die Parametertypen, sodass Sie keine View view schreiben müssen

Dies bedeutet, dass wir genau dieselbe Funktionalität mit einer einzigen Zeile implementieren können:

Lambdas für Multithreading

Multithreading ist ein weiteres häufiges Szenario, in dem Lambda-Ausdrücke Ihnen beim Schreiben von sauberem Code helfen können. Standardmäßig verfügt Android über einen einzigen UI-Thread(Benutzeroberfläche), der für die Verarbeitung aller Benutzerinteraktionen, das Versenden von Ereignissen an die entsprechenden UI-Widgets und das Ändern der Benutzeroberfläche verantwortlich ist. Sobald Sie diesen UI-Thread mit lang laufenden oder intensiven Vorgängen blockieren, reagiert Ihre Anwendung nicht mehr und löst möglicherweise sogar den ANR-Dialog (Application Not Responding) von Android aus. Das Erstellen zusätzlicher Threads und das Zuweisen von Code zur Ausführung auf diesen Threads ist daher häufig ein wesentlicher Bestandteil der Android-Entwicklung.

Vor Java 8 mussten Sie zum Zuweisen von Code für die Ausführung in einem zusätzlichen Thread eine anonyme Klasse erstellen, die die Runnable-Schnittstelle implementiert:

Alternativ können Sie einen neuen Thread mit einer anonymen Implementierung der Runnable-Schnittstelle instanziieren:

Durch Ersetzen dieser anonymen Klasse durch einen Lambda-Ausdruck kann diese häufig ausgeführte Aufgabe viel präziser gestaltet werden:

Wenn Sie die RxJava- oder RxAndroid-Bibliothek verwenden, können Sie Lambda-Ausdrücke verwenden, um Observablen zu erstellen.

Hier erstellen wir ein einfaches Observable, das allen Observers die Hallo-Welt-Zeichenfolge sendet:

Mit einem Lambda-Ausdruck können Sie den gesamten Action1-Code durch eine einzige Zeile ersetzen:

Verwenden von Lambda-Ausdrücken in Ihrem Real-Life Code

Nachdem Sie die gesamte Theorie hinter einem neuen Funktion  gelesen haben, besteht die nächste Herausforderung darin, sich daran zu gewöhnen, dieses neue Funktion tatsächlich zu verwenden. Dies kann besonders bei Lambdas schwierig sein, die anstelle des bekannten Boilerplate-Codes verwendet werden sollen, da immer die Versuchung besteht, einfach auf das zurückzugreifen, was Sie wissen. 

Android Studio verfügt über einige Funktionen, die Ihnen dabei helfen können, vertrauten, aber klobigen Code durch glänzende neue Lambda-Ausdrücke zu ersetzen.

Die erste Funktion ist das Intent-Aktionsmenü von Android Studio, mit dem jede kompatible anonyme Klasse automatisch in den entsprechenden Lambda-Ausdruck konvertiert werden kann. Dies ist perfekt, wenn Sie sich nicht sicher sind, wie Sie einen bestimmten Code in einem Lambda-Format schreiben sollen: Schreiben Sie ihn einfach wie gewohnt und verwenden Sie dann die automatische Konvertierungsfunktion des Intent-Aktionsmenüs.

So konvertieren Sie eine anonyme Klasse automatisch in einen Lambda-Ausdruck:

  • Bewegen Sie den Mauszeiger über die anonyme Klasse, und Android Studio sollte einen Tooltip anzeigen, der Sie darüber informiert, dass dieser Codeabschnitt in einen Lambda-Ausdruck konvertiert werden kann.
  • Drücken Sie die Alt/Wahltaste Ihres Mac oder verwenden Sie die Alt-Eingabetaste, wenn Sie Windows- oder Linux-Benutzer sind.
  • Wählen Sie im Kontextmenü die Option Durch Lambda ersetzen.

Select Replace with lambda from the context menu that appearsSelect Replace with lambda from the context menu that appearsSelect Replace with lambda from the context menu that appears

Alternativ können Sie das Inspektionstool von Android Studio verwenden, um jede anonyme Klasse, die Sie möglicherweise durch einen Lambda-Ausdruck ersetzen könnten, in Ihrem gesamten Projekt zu kennzeichnen. Sie können dann entweder jede anonyme Klasse manuell umschreiben oder sich von der automatischen Konvertierungsfunktion von Android Studio zeigen lassen, wie es gemacht wird.

So markieren Sie jede anonyme Klasse, die Android Studio möglicherweise durch einen Lambda-Ausdruck ersetzen könnte:

  • Wählen Sie in der Android Studio-Symbolleiste Analysieren > Inspektion nach Namen ausführen.
  • Beginnen Sie im angezeigten Popup mit der Eingabe des anonymen Typs, der durch Lambda ersetzt werden kann, und wählen Sie diese Option aus, wenn sie im Dropdown-Menü angezeigt wird.

Select Anonymous type can be replaced with lambda from the Enter inspection name popupSelect Anonymous type can be replaced with lambda from the Enter inspection name popupSelect Anonymous type can be replaced with lambda from the Enter inspection name popup

  • Wählen Sie im folgenden Fenster Gesamtes Projekt aus, um jede anonyme Klasse in Ihrem Projekt zu kennzeichnen. Alternativ können Sie einzelne Module oder Dateien angeben, in denen Android Studio diese Überprüfung ausführen soll.
  • Klicken Sie OK.
  • Wählen Sie in der Android Studio-Symbolleiste Analysieren > Code überprüfen.

Der Bereich Inspektionsergebnisse sollte nun angezeigt werden und eine Liste aller anonymen Klassen anzeigen, die Sie durch einen Lambda-Ausdruck ersetzen können. Um eine anonyme Klasse genauer zu betrachten, doppelklicken Sie einfach im Prüfergebnisse-Fenster auf diese Klasse. Android Studio öffnet die Datei und führt Sie zu der genauen Zeile, die diese bestimmte anonyme Klasse enthält.

Um die aktuell ausgewählte anonyme Klasse durch einen Lambda-Ausdruck zu ersetzen, klicken Sie auf die Schaltfläche Durch Lambda ersetzen.

In the Inspection Results window select the Replace with lambda button In the Inspection Results window select the Replace with lambda button In the Inspection Results window select the Replace with lambda button

Wenn Android Studio das Fenster "Prüfergebnisse" nicht automatisch öffnet, können Sie es manuell starten, indem Sie in der Symbolleiste von Android Studio Ansicht > Werkzeugfenster > Prüfergebnisse auswählen. Wenn die Prüfergebnisse nicht im Untermenü von Werkzeug Windows angezeigt werden, müssen Sie möglicherweise zuerst in der Android Studio-Symbolleiste Analysieren > Code prüfen auswählen.

Testen von Lambda-Ausdrücken

Trotz der vielen Vorteile, die Lambda-Ausdrücke bieten, gibt es einen großen Nachteil, den Sie beachten sollten, bevor Sie sie Ihrem Code hinzufügen. Da Lambdas keinen Namen haben, können Sie sie nicht direkt aus Ihrem Testcode aufrufen. Das Hinzufügen einer großen Anzahl von Lambdas zu Ihrem Projekt kann das Testen erschweren.

Im Idealfall sollten Ihre Lambda-Ausdrücke zu einfach zu brechen sein, sodass es kein allzu großes Problem sein sollte, sie nicht einzeln testen zu können. Wenn Sie jedoch ein Lambda testen müssen, können Sie es immer wie eine private Methode behandeln und das Ergebnis in einer Einheit testen, anstatt das Lambda selbst. Alternativ können Sie den Lambda-Ausdruck in eine eigene Methode umgestalten, sodass Sie ihn direkt referenzieren und daher wie gewohnt testen können.

Schlussfolgerung

In diesem ersten Beitrag zu Java 8-Sprachfunktionen haben wir uns mit dem Einrichten Ihrer Android-Projekte zur Unterstützung von Java 8 und dem Reduzieren von Boilerplate-Code durch Ersetzen anonymer Klassen durch Lambda-Ausdrücke befasst.

Im nächsten Beitrag werde ich Ihnen zeigen, wie Sie noch mehr Code aus Ihren Android-Projekten entfernen können, indem Sie Lambda-Ausdrücke mit Methodenreferenzen kombinieren, und wie Sie Ihre Schnittstellen mit Standard- und statischen Schnittstellenmethoden erweitern können.

In der Zwischenzeit lesen Sie einige unserer anderen Beiträge zur Entwicklung von Android-Apps!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Android SDK
Code

Java 8 for Android: Cleaner Code With Lambda Expressions

This post is part of a series called Java 8 for Android Development.
Java 8 for Android Development: Default and Static Methods

Lambda expressions can help you remove boilerplate code from your projects and process huge amounts of data with ease. See how with this in-depth look at the Java 8 features you can start using in your Android projects today. 

Java 8 for Android

Java 8, which debuted way back in March 2014, was a big step forward for the programming language, introducing a list of features that promised to make coding in Java easier and more concise than ever before.

Unfortunately, Android developers wouldn’t feel the benefits of these features for a while, as Google experimented with bringing Java 8 to the Android platform via Jack (Java Android Compiler Kit) before deprecating Jack in favour of supporting Java 8 natively in Android Studio.

Now, with the release of Android Studio 3.0, we finally have a version of the Android toolchain that has built-in support for some of Java 8’s most important features.

In this series, I’m going to show you how to remove a ton of boilerplate code from your projects, process huge amounts of data with ease, and even embrace a more functional style in your Java programing with Java 8. We'll be taking an in-depth look at the Java 8 features that you can start using today.

By the time you’ve completed this series, you’ll be ready to use all of the following Java 8 features in your Android projects:

  • lambda expressions
  • method references
  • default methods
  • static interface methods
  • type annotations
  • repeating annotations
  • functional interfaces
  • the Stream API

In this first post, we’re going to look at the feature that generated the most buzz when Java 8 was first released, and that has the potential to make the most difference to Android developers: lambda expressions.

Preparing Your Development Environment

Before you can start using any Java 8 features, you need to make sure that your development environment is set up to support this version of Java.

If you don’t already have Java 8 installed, then you’ll need to download the latest JDK8 and update Android Studio’s JDK path so that it’s pointing at the JDK8 package:

  • Launch Android Studio.
  • Select File > Project Structure… from the Android Studio toolbar.
  • Update the JDK Location field so that it’s pointing at your newly downloaded JDK8 package.

If you’re not sure what version of Java you have installed, then you can check by opening a Terminal window (if you’re a Mac user), or a Command Prompt (if you’re on Windows) and then running the following command:

If it returns build 1.8 or higher, then you’re good to go!

You’ll also need to have Android Studio 3.0 Preview 1 or higher installed, although to reduce your chances of encountering bugs and other strange behaviour, it’s recommended that you install the latest version of Android Studio 3.0—whether that’s a beta or preview or, ideally, a stable version of Android Studio 3.0 (which wasn’t yet available at the time of writing). 

Next, you’ll need to make some changes to your project’s build.gradle files. Usually, you’ll just need to add a few lines of code specifying that this project should generate Java 8 bytecode. However, if you’ve previously experimented with Java 8 features using the Jack compiler or the popular Retrolambda project, then you’ll need to disable these tools before your project can use the new-and-improved Java 8 support provided by Android’s default toolchain.

In the following sections, I’ll show you how to enable Java 8 support, and how to disable Retrolambda and Jack, if required.

Adding Java 8 Support to a New Project

Assuming that you haven’t previously enabled Jack or added Retrolambda as a project dependency, the first step is opening your project-level build.gradle file and making sure that you’re using version 3.0.0-alpha1 (or higher) of the Gradle for Android plugin:

Next, open every module-level build.gradle file where you want to use Java 8 features, and set the language level of the source code and the version of the generated Java bytecode to JavaVersion.VERSION_1_8:

If You’re Migrating From Jack

The Jack compiler may be deprecated, but as long as it’s enabled, your project is going to use the Java 8 support provided by Jack, rather than the support provided by Android’s default toolchain.

Using a deprecated tool is never a good idea, but there are some additional reasons why you should migrate from the Jack compiler, if you haven’t already.

Firstly, Jack may support a subset of Java 8 features, but unlike the default toolchain it doesn’t support third-party libraries that use these features, so by using Jack you’re immediately limiting your options when it comes to third-party libraries.

Secondly, the Jack compiler takes Java code and converts it directly into dex, without producing any intermediate bytecode. As long as Jack is enabled, you’ll be unable to use any of the tools that rely on this intermediate output, such as annotation processors and bytecode analyzers.

To disable the Jack compiler, open your module-level build.gradle file and remove the jackOptions section, but make sure you leave the compileOptions block intact:

If You’re Migrating From Retrolambda

Similar to Jack, Retrolambda doesn’t support third-party libraries that use Java 8 language features. If your project is set up to use the Retrolambda plugin, then you should remove this plugin so that your project can revert to the default toolchain.

Open your project-level build.gradle file and remove Retrolambda as a project dependency:

Then, remove the Retrolambda plugin from each of your module-level build.gradle files:  

Test Your Java 8 Support

The easiest way of verifying that your project can now support Java 8 is to write a quick lambda expression and see whether your project still compiles.

Add a button to your user interface (or use a button that already exists) and then implement an onClickListener for this button, using a lambda expression. Don’t worry if the following code doesn’t make much sense now—it will by the end of this article!

Test your lambda expression by triggering the Java 8 toast

Check that your project still compiles, either by selecting Sync from the banner that appears, or by selecting Tools > Android > Sync Project with Gradle Files from the Android Studio toolbar.

If Android Studio doesn’t throw any errors, then you’re ready to start using all the features we listed at the start of this article, including lambda expressions!

Why Are Lambda Expressions So Important?

Lambda expressions were easily Java 8’s biggest new feature, and can have a huge impact on the amount of boilerplate code you need to write when creating pretty much any Android app.

Essentially, a lambda expression represents a function that doesn’t belong to any class, and that you can pass around with ease and then execute on demand.

This feature removes a long-standing frustration many Android developers have experienced with Java: as an object-oriented language, passing around blocks of code has always felt more difficult than it should be. For example, if you wanted to create a new thread and then pass some code to that thread, then you’d typically have to instantiate a thread with an anonymous implementation of the Runnable interface—that’s a lot of work just to pass some code! By providing an easy way of passing a function to a method, lambda expressions have the potential to simplify some of the most common tasks that you’ll perform as an Android developer.

Lambda expressions will also be a welcome addition for any Java developers who want to take a more functional approach to their programming. Prior to Java 8, coding in a functional style would inevitably require you to write lots of boilerplate code, but now that you can pass functions around using lambda expressions, writing your Java code in a less object-oriented way doesn’t have to involve writing a ton of anonymous classes.

How Do I Create a Lambda Expression?

You create a lambda expression using the following syntax:

The arrow operator is pretty self-explanatory, but the rules for how you should structure the lambda's argument and expression can vary depending on what you’re trying to achieve, so let’s explore these two elements in more detail.

The Argument

The argument is one or more parameters, which are almost always enclosed in parentheses. Even if your lambda expression doesn’t have any parameters, you’ll still need to supply empty parentheses, for example:

The exception to this rule is when your method has a single parameter with its type inferred, in which case you can omit the parentheses:

You can use multiple parameters in your argument, by separating each parameter with a comma:

Type inference is possible in lambdas, so you can generally omit the data type from your argument. However, if the compiler cannot infer the data type, then you’ll need to add the type in front of your parameter(s):

The Expression Body

The expression body is the code that you want to execute, which can be a single expression or multiple lines of code. If you want to execute multiple lines, then you’ll need to create a statement block by surrounding this section of your code with curly braces:

If your expression returns a value, then it must be returned with a return statement, for example:

Using Lambda Expressions in Your Android Apps

Now we have an overview of the various ways that you can structure a lambda expression, let’s take a look at some of the most common scenarios where you can use lambda expressions in your Android development work.

Lambdas for Event Handling

Your typical Android app has to be able to respond to a wide range of user input events, and lambda expressions can make this event handling much more straightforward.

In the following code, we’re using an anonymous class to create an instance of onClickListener with an overridden onClick method. Chances are, you’ve written this kind of code countless times.

By rewriting the above code with a lambda expression, we can remove all of the following:

  • the class instantiation: new View.OnClickListener()
  • the access modifier, method name, and type: public void onClick(View view)
  • and the parameter types, so you don’t have to write View view

This means that we can implement exactly the same functionality, using a single line:

Lambdas for Multithreading

Multithreading is another common scenario where lambda expressions can help you write cleaner code. By default, Android has a single UI (user interface) thread that’s responsible for handling all user interaction, dispatching events to the appropriate UI widgets, and modifying the user interface. As soon as you block this UI thread with any long-running or intensive operations, your application is going to become unresponsive, and may even trigger Android’s ANR (Application Not Responding) dialog. So creating additional threads and assigning code to run on those threads is often an essential part of Android development.

Prior to Java 8, assigning code to run on an additional thread required you to create an anonymous class that implements the Runnable interface:

Alternatively, you could instantiate a new thread with an anonymous implementation of the Runnable interface:

Replacing this anonymous class with a lambda expression can make this frequently performed task much more concise:

Finally, if you’re using the RxJava or RxAndroid library, then you can use lambda expressions to help you create observables.

Here, we’re creating a simple Observable that emits the hello world string to all of its Observers:

Using a lambda expression allows you to replace all of that Action1 code with a single line:

Using Lambda Expressions in Your Real-Life Code

After reading all the theory behind a new feature, the next challenge is getting into the habit of actually using this new feature. This can be particularly tough with something like lambdas, which are designed to be used instead of familiar boilerplate code, as there's always the temptation to simply fall back on what you know.

Android Studio has a few features that can help give you that final push to replace familiar-but-clunky code with shiny new lambda expressions.

The first feature is Android Studio’s intent actions menu, which can auto-convert any compatible anonymous class into the equivalent lambda expression. This is perfect if you’re ever unsure about how to write a particular piece of code in a lambda format: simply write it as usual, and then use the intent action menu’s auto-convert feature.

To auto-convert an anonymous class into a lambda expression:

  • Hover your cursor over the anonymous class, and Android Studio should display a tooltip informing you that it can convert this section of code into a lambda expression.
  • Press your Mac’s Alt/Option-Enter keys, or use the Alt-Enter shortcut if you’re a Windows or Linux user.
  • Select the Replace with lambda option from the context menu.

Select Replace with lambda from the context menu that appears

Alternatively, you can use Android Studio’s Inspection tool to flag every anonymous class that you could potentially replace with a lambda expression, across your entire project. You can then either rewrite each anonymous class manually or let Android Studio’s auto-convert feature show you how it’s done.

To highlight every anonymous class that Android Studio could potentially replace with a lambda expression:

  • Select Analyze > Run Inspection by Name from the Android Studio toolbar.
  • In the popup that appears, start typing Anonymous type can be replaced with lambda, and then select this option when it appears in the dropdown menu.

Select Anonymous type can be replaced with lambda from the Enter inspection name popup

  • In the subsequent window, select Whole project to flag every anonymous class across your project. Alternatively, you can specify individual modules or files where Android Studio should run this inspection.
  • Click OK.
  • Select Analyze > Inspect Code from the Android Studio toolbar.

The Inspection Results pane should now appear and display a list of all the anonymous classes that you can replace with a lambda expression. To take a closer look at an anonymous class, simply double-click that class in the Inspection Results window, and Android Studio will open the file and take you to the exact line that contains this particular anonymous class.

To replace the currently selected anonymous class with a lambda expression, give the Replace with lambda button a click.

In the Inspection Results window select the Replace with lambda button

If Android Studio doesn’t open the Inspection Results window automatically, then you can launch it manually by selecting View > Tool Windows > Inspection Results from the Android Studio toolbar. If Inspection Results doesn’t appear in the Tool Windows sub-menu, then you may need to select Analyze > Inspect Code… from the Android Studio toolbar first.

Testing Lambda Expressions

Despite the many benefits that lambda expressions have to offer, there’s one major drawback that you should be aware of before adding them to your code. Since lambdas don’t have a name, you can’t call them directly from your test code, so adding a large number of lambdas to your project can make it more difficult to test.

Ideally, your lambda expressions should be too simple to break, so being unable to unit test them shouldn’t be too big of an issue. However, if you do need to test a lambda, then you can always treat it like a private method and unit test the outcome, rather than the lambda itself. Alternatively, you could refactor the lambda expression into its own method, so you can reference it directly and therefore test it as normal.  

Conclusion

In this first post on Java 8 language features, we looked at how to set up your Android projects to support Java 8, and how to cut down on boilerplate code by replacing anonymous classes with lambda expressions. 

In the next post, I’ll be showing you how to trim even more code from your Android projects by combining lambda expressions with method references, and how you can enhance your interfaces with default and static interface methods.

In the meantime, check out some of our other posts about Android app development!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.