Unlimited Plugins, WordPress themes, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Android SDK

什么是安卓Instant App(即时App)?

by
Read Time:17 minsLanguages:

Chinese (Simplified) (中文(简体)) translation by Zhang Xiang Liang (you can also view the original English article)

每当你发布一个安卓APP时,你至少会想一下你想要这个APP实现什么目标。

你想要APP实现的目标应该非常具体,比如在第一季度产生一定的广告收入,或者在Google Play获取更高的排名。

甚至,你想要你APP实现的目标是想要尽可能多的用户使用你的APP,如果是这样,那么Instant Apps是能够帮你实现目标的新选择。

Instant App是一种全新的接触用户的方式,用户不需要在他们的设备上安装你的APP,而是在任何支持URL的地方(包括emails,Google搜索结果,社交平台上,YouTube的评论和论坛)找到并访问你的APP。

开发Instant App,你必须将你APP的功能划分为独立的模块。然后,用户点击你提供的URL,就可以加载这些模块中的任意模块而不需要下载你的APP。

在这个three-part系列,我将展示如何在安卓工程中添加对Instant App的支持。在这个系列的末尾,你将会创建一个APP,它包含两个独立的Instant App模块,你可以发布和测试它们。

我们即将讨论的内容

在这第一篇文章中,我们主要关注什么是Instant App,如何工作和你为什么需要关注它们。为了给你Instant App第一印象,我们将使用AS(Android Studio)创建工程时的选项来产生一个预先配置了支持Instant App的APP,所以你将能看到所有不同的Instant App组件而不仅仅是阅读它们。

尽管创建一个预先配置了支持Instant App的APP是使用这种新功能最快速最简单的方式,事实上你可能更喜欢给已经存在的工程添加对Instant App的依赖,而这在第二部分中展示。 我将提供一个APP,你可以从GitHub上下载,然后带你在这个工程一步一步添加对Instant App的支持。

最后是创建一个多功能的Instant App,所以在第三部分,我将展示如何给你的应用添加第二个功能模块,并且如何使用安卓APP链接来将这个模块映射到不同的URL。

什么是Instant Apps?

描述Instant App最好的方式之一是观察你可能用到的示例。

想象一下,你的一个朋友给你发送了一个关于小猫视频的链接,他们承诺你肯定会很喜欢,但是当你点击链接的时候,你才发现需要下载APP才能观看视频。

先不考虑你会不会下载APP,或者忽略那个链接,或者冒险在网络上找到那个小猫视频,这都不是好的用户体验,但却是许多安卓用户面临的场景。

我们大部分人都有过这样的体验,就是下载一个APP,然后仅仅完成单一的任务。比如,你可能下载一个APP仅仅是为了看一下别人发给你的email附件,来完成某个网站上的一次购买,或者跟踪一下你的包裹。

再次想象小猫视频案例,但是这次APP开发者已经把所有代码和资源放到instant app模块来播放视频,并且将该模块映射到网址www.example.com/video 这次,当你点击网址www.example.com/video,Google Play识别到这个网址与一个instant app 模块关联了,并且获取了所有用于播放视频的代码和资源。结果呢?你可以无需安装任何东西就可以观看20秒的小猫视频,多么棒的用户体验啊!

为什么我要开始使用Instant App特性?

正如你在这个系列的下一篇文章中看到的,给已有工程增加对Instant App的支持是烦人的,经常需要你完全改变应用的结构方式。

由于重构工程要很慎重,这部分我将帮助你决定你花费的时间和努力是否值得增加支持Instant App带来的收益。

  • 消除APP与新用户之间的障碍通过Google Play安装一个APP不是特别困难和耗时,但是它仍然是你的APP与新用户之间的障碍。 无论你花费多少时间来吸引用户去点击那个Install按钮,仍然有许多人在点击那个瞬间放弃。
  • Instant App有助于你的APP接触新用户。尽管你一直在网页的各种位置宣传你的APP,比如你自己的主页,博客或社交媒体,但连接新用户主要依赖他们访问你的APP的Google Play主页。 Instant app移除了这种对Google Play的依赖,在任意支持RUL的位置直接访问你的APP,给你接近无限制的机会来连接新用户。
  • Instant App保证了分享的内容是你APP最好的广告。用户分享了你APP的内容是你APP接触新用户最好的方式,所以你要给人良好的第一印象。 之前,对于那些没有安装你APP的用户,为他们提供持续的体验是很困难的,但是现在Instant App可以保证丝滑原生的体验。
  • 即使是在网络受限情况下,也能帮助用户访问你的APP。尽管网络吞吐量一直在改善,你仍然需要努力找到快速稳定的网络或者你正在接近每月的数据津贴,并担心会导致额外的费用。 当你的网络慢且不稳定时,下载一个完整的APP非常耗时麻烦,或者你随时可能超出流量上限,下载新的APP可能导致额外的费用。 所有的instant app模块必须小于等于4MB,所以如果下载整个APP不是问题,那么访问一个instant app也不是问题。
  • 增加位置和时间敏感apps的吸引力。当APP被设计为特殊位置,或者甚至不是一个新概念,问问你自己,我有多想装一个只使用很短时间或只在某个特定位置使用的的APP? Instant app能增加时间和位置敏感APP的吸引力,因为用户只要点击一个URL就能访问你APP的最重要的功能。

限制

在我们开始instnat app之旅之前,我们需要知道instant app不能做到的事情:

  • 访问设备标识符,比如IMEI和MAC地址。
  • 使用后天服务
  • 执行后台通知
  • 访问设备外部存储
  • 访问用户设备上已安装的APP列表-除非这些应用自己出现在instant app。

还有,你的应用必须:

  • 你的应用可以免费从Google Play下载。
  • 在Android 6.0(API 23)以上使用新的权限模式。由于用户没有安装instant app,没有机会申请权限。 假如你的instant app特性模块需要访问设备容量或用户信息,你需要动态申请权限。
  • 支持APP链接。将instant app模块映射到指定URL。我将在下一篇文章详细讨论APP链接。

最后,假如你的APP是 Designed for Families的一部分,那么它不能作为instant app。

设置你的开发环境。

首先,你需要安装下列内容:

  • AS 3.0预览版
  • Android SDK 6.0
  • Android SDK Build Tools 26.x
  • Android SDK Tools 25.x
  • Android SDK Platform Tools 25.x

你还应确保Android Support Library和Android Repository是最新的版本,打开Android Studio的SDK Manager,安装需要更新的地方。

一旦你完成上述所有操作后,就可以下载Instant Apps 的开发SDK:

  • 打开SDKManager,然后选择“SDK Tools”选项卡。
  • 选择Instant Apps Development SDK。
  • 单击应用

目前,您只能在Nexus 5X,Nexus 6P,Pixel,Pixel XL或Galaxy S7上测试Instant App,因为这些设备运行Android 6.0或更高版本的系统。但是,如果您没有这些设备中任意一台,那么您可以创建一个模拟其中一个设备的AVD(安卓虚拟机),而且AVD要满足几个条件:AVD必须使用x86映像,并且必须包含Google API 。

由于我没有这些设备,我将创建一个模拟Pixel的AVD:

  • 启动AVD管理器。
  • 单击Create virtual device... 按钮。
  • 选择Pixel,然后单击Next
  • 选择x86 Images选项卡。
  • 选择一个运行Android 6.0并包含Google API的系统映像,例如Marshmallow / 23 / x86 / Android 6.0(Google API)
  • 点击Next
  • 给您的AVD一个名称,然后单击Finish
  • 启动你的AVD。

最后,您需要在AVD上登录Google帐户:

  • 切换到您的AVD,然后打开设备的启动器。
  • 选择Google应用
  • 输入Gmail地址和密码。这可以是您的真实账户,也可以是您创建的仅用于测试Android项目的帐户。

创建您的第一个Instant App

在Android Studio 3.0 Preview 1及更高版本中,创建具有内置Instant App的项目与选择复选框一样简单,所以,我们不仅仅是描述Instant App特性,我们还将创建一个Instant App项目,然后在本文的剩余部分体验它的各种组件。

请注意,该项目没有任何APP链接,所以您将无法在您的AVD上测试Instant App组件(这是我们将在第二部分中详细探讨的内容)。

创建您的项目:

  • 通过从Android Studio工具栏中选择File > New > New project… ,或者从Android Studio的“欢迎”屏幕中单击Start a new Android Studio project ,来启动项目创建的引导页面。
  • 给您的项目一个名称,然后单击下一步
  • Minimum SDK设置为Android 6.0(棉花糖)。
  • 选中Include Android Instant app support 复选框,然后单击下一步
  • 为了简化操作,请接受默认模块名称(feature),然后单击下一步
  • 选择Basic Activity,然后单击下一步
  • 在下一个屏幕上,接受所有默认值,然后单击完成

我们可以看到,这个项目与典型的Android项目结构非常不同,它包括以下模块:

  • App。可安装的应用模块,也称为APK模块。
  • Base。基本功能模块。
  • Feature。虽然这个项目只有一个Feature,但一般一个APP由多个Feature模块组成。
  • Instantapp。即时应用模块。
Projects with instant app support are structured differently to regular installable-only projectsProjects with instant app support are structured differently to regular installable-only projectsProjects with instant app support are structured differently to regular installable-only projects

任何支持Instant app的项目都必须包含上述所有模块(除了feature模块),因此我们详细探讨这些模块。

1. Application Module

Application Module的概念可能不是什么新鲜事物,但是当您的项目支持Instant app时,应用程序模块的清单看起来比你曾经使用的更简洁:

这个文件是如此空的一个原因是:当你建立你的项目时,所有其他的清单文件的内容包括base feature和 feature modules 都与这个文件合并,所以它不会永远保持这么空!

如果您打开此模块的build.gradle文件,则会注意到两个新元素:

在这里,我们声明我们的application module依赖于feature module 和 base module。

当你给项目添加对instant app的支持时,你就将相关代码和资源分离到可独立运行的feature modules。然后,这些模块仍然是可安装APP的一部分,而不是单独的实体,这就是为什么我们的application module声明依赖于feature module 和 base module。

2. Base Feature Module

每个instant app项目都必须包含一个base feature module,其中包含贯穿所有APP模块的代码和资源。例如,如果您打开项目的base / res / mipmap文件夹,那么您将看到所有应用程序的启动器图标,这些图标显然将被用于多个模块。

The base feature module includes the ic_launcher drawablesThe base feature module includes the ic_launcher drawablesThe base feature module includes the ic_launcher drawables

由于base feature module包含公共的代码和资源,所以所有项目的feature modules 都依赖于这个单一的base feature module。

继续这个主题,base feature module包含整个项目中使用的清单条目。例如,您的项目的base / src / main / AndroidManifest.xml文件包含应用程序的图标,主题和标签的设置:

另一个值得注意的元素是base module的build.gradle文件,其中包含一些新属性:

您还会注意到,这个特殊的build.gradle文件缺少applicationID属性,当我们来检查我们的feature module的build.gradle文件时,您会发现完全相同的事情。这是因为我们项目的applicationID仅在应用程序模块的build.gradle文件中声明。

我们的base module的build.gradle文件中的application project(:app)行确保项目的单个applicationID属性在所有build.gradle文件中传播,这就是为什么我们项目的其余部分缺少此属性。

3. Feature Module

当您最终将Instant App支持添加到现有项目中时,最大的任务是将每个应用程序的特性提取到自己的feature module,中,因为每个feature module都包含仅提供此功能所需的代码和资源。

如果您打开我们项目的feature module,,那么您将看到它包含MainActivity类,以及activity_maincontent_main资源文件 - 被引入到Basic Activity模板的所有组件。

The projects feature module contains all the code and resources that are specific to this featureThe projects feature module contains all the code and resources that are specific to this featureThe projects feature module contains all the code and resources that are specific to this feature

单一的feature module可以由多个Activities组成,但每个模块必须至少有一个Activity被指定为该模块的入口Activity。

每个入口Activity被映射到特定的URL,当用户点击此URL时,它加载关联的Activity,然后用户访问此特定feature module。

您可以通过该模块的manifest指定模块的入门Activity。具体而言,您需要打开此manifest文件,并将以下内容添加到要作为入口的Activity中:

  • 一个intent filter,具有CATEGORY_LAUNCHERACTION_MAIN这两个intent。
  • 包含关于URL(映射到入口Activity的URL)所有信息的<data>元素。
  • android:autoVerify属性。这告诉系统检查您的应用程序是否有权作为该特定URL的默认处理程序。 这是一个重要的安全机制,它有助于保护网站所有者免受试图劫持其网址的恶意应用程序的攻击。

如果您打开我们的feature module的 manifest文件,那么您将看到所有这些代码已经添加到我们的MainActivity声明中:

我们将在此模块中查看的最终文件是build.gradle文件,其中包含几行值得注意的代码:

由于所有feature modules都取决于base feature module,因此用户首次从应用程序请求任何功能时,都将会收到base feature module以及实际尝试访问的feature module。

请注意,尽管该特定项目由一个base feature module和一个feature module组成,但如果您的app仅仅有一个instant app可访问的feature时,则可以创建仅由base feature module组成的项目。 我们将在本系列中探讨instant app项目的“types”。

4. Instant App Module

Instant App module有一个简单的目的:它作为一个容器,将所有的feature modules 转换成instant app的APK。

如果您打开该项目的Instant App module,那么您将看到除了build.gradle文件外其他几乎是空的,它只是声明了对base feature module 和 feature module 的依赖关系:

Testing Your App

由于此项目不包含任何APP链接,我们将无法测试其instant app组件,但我们仍然可以将该项目作为可安装应用程序运行。这可能不是特别令人兴奋,但是请记住,我们项目的大部分代码和资源位于instant app feature module中,重要的是测试我们的项目如何成为可安装的APP。

启动我们之前创建的AVD或将可兼容的物理Android智能手机或平板电脑连接到电脑,然后从Android Studio工具栏中选择Run > Run… > app 。

尽管我们所有的MainActivity代码都位于feature module中,但一旦我们的应用加载后,您将看到MainActivity的操作按钮(FAB)和Hello World消息。我们在这里看到的是我们的APP模块,它包含了分布在Instant App feature 和 base feature modules中的代码和资源,并且把它们结合到一个可安装的APP中。

结论

在本教程中,我们深入了解了Instant Apps的工作原理,并探讨了你需要为Android项目添加Instant App支持的各种原因。

在理想情况下,您开始探索Instant Apps的决定与开始新Android项目完全吻合,但不幸的是,作为开发人员很少这样方便!更多的情况是,您必须重新配置现有项目才能支持Instant Apps,这并没有在Android Studio的项目创建引导页中选中一个复选框那么简单!

在下一篇文章中,我们将深入了解如何为已有项目添加对instant app的支持。我还将向您展示如何实现App Links,因此在下一篇文章结束之前,您将创建一个功能齐全的instant app,并且您可以在任何兼容的AVD或Android设备上启动和测试instant app。

敬请关注!与此同时,请查看关于Android APP开发的其他文章。

关注我们的公众号
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Android SDK
Code

What Are Android Instant Apps?

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

Every time you release an Android app, you’ll have at least a rough idea of what you want this app to achieve. 

These goals could be very specific, such as generating a certain amount of ad revenue in the first quarter, or they could be more general, such as getting a high rating on Google Play.

Whatever else is on your wish-list, getting your app in front of as many users as possible is always going to feature somewhere on that list—and Android Instant Apps is a new feature that can help you do just that.

Instant Apps provide you with an entirely new way of reaching users who don’t currently have your app installed on their device, by making your app discoverable and accessible from any location that supports URLs, including emails, Google search results, posts on social media platforms, YouTube comments, and forums.

Essentially, Instant Apps allow you to separate each of your app’s features into a stand-alone module. Users can then load any of these instant app modules on-demand by tapping a URL that you’ve mapped to this specific module, and without having to install your app at any point.

In this three-part series, I’ll be showing you how to add Instant App support to your Android projects. By the end of this series, you’ll have created an application that consists of two separate Instant App feature modules, which you can launch and test on any compatible Android device. 

What We’re Going to Cover

In this first post, I'll focus on what Instant Apps are, how they work, and why you should care about them. To give you some first-hand experience of Instant Apps, we'll use Android Studio’s project creation wizard to generate an app that’s pre-configured with Instant App support, so you’ll be able to see all the different Instant App components, rather than simply reading about them.

While creating an app that’s pre-configured with Instant App support is the quickest and easiest way to use this feature, in reality you’re far more likely to add Instant App support to an existing project—so in part two I’ll show you how to do exactly that. I’ll supply an app that you can download from GitHub, and then take you through the step-by-step process of reconfiguring this project to support Instant Apps.

The final piece of the puzzle is creating a multi-featured Instant App, so in part three I’ll show you how to add a second feature module to your application, and how to use Android App Links to map this module to a different URL. 

What Are Instant Apps?

One of the best ways to describe Instant Apps is to look at an example of when you might use them.  

Imagine a friend has sent you a link to a cat video that they promise you’re going to love, but when you tap the link it becomes clear that you need to download an app before you can watch this particular video.  

Regardless of whether you end up downloading the app, or ignore the link and risk missing out on the best cat video the Internet has to offer, this is a bad user experience—and it’s a scenario that many Android users are familiar with. 

Most of us have had the experience of installing an app just to complete a one-off task. For example, you might download an app just to view an email attachment someone has sent you, to complete a purchase on a specific website, or to track a package that’s currently winging its way to your address.

Now let’s imagine our cat video scenario again, but this time the application’s developer has placed all the code and resources required to play video content inside its own instant app feature module, and mapped this module to the www.example.com/video URL. This time, when you tap www.example.com/video/cat-video, Google Play recognizes that this URL is associated with an instant app module and retrieves all the code and resources that you need to play this video. The end result? You can enjoy 20 seconds of a cat playing in a box without having to install anything, which is a much better user experience.  

Why Should I Start Using the Instant App Feature?

As you’ll see in the next post in this series, adding Instant App support to an existing project can be a daunting process, often requiring you to completely change the way your application is structured.

Since restructuring a project isn’t a decision you should ever take lightly, in this section I’m going to help you decide whether all that time and effort is really worth it, by covering all the major benefits of adding Instant App support to your projects:

  • It removes a barrier between your app and new users. Installing an application via Google Play isn’t a particularly difficult or time-consuming process, but it’s still the biggest barrier between your app and potential new users. No matter how much time you spend crafting a compelling Google Play page that’ll have the majority of users scrambling for that Install button, some people will always drop out at install time. 
  • It helps you reach new users. While you’ve always been able to promote your app on various locations around the web, such as your own website, blog or social media, connecting with new users has previously relied on them visiting your app’s Google Play page at some point (with the rare exception of users who prefer to sideload their apps). Instant apps remove this reliance on your app’s Google Play page, by making your application directly accessible from any location that supports URLs, giving you almost unlimited opportunities to connect with new users. 
  • It ensures that shared content is the best possible advert for your app. A user sharing your app’s content is one of the most effective ways of reaching a new audience, so you’ll want to make a good first impression! Previously, it’s been difficult to provide a consistent experience for users who don’t have your app installed on their device, but instant apps allow you to guarantee a seamless, native experience for everyone.
  • Helps users access your app, even in the face of Internet restrictions. While Internet coverage is improving all the time, you may still occasionally struggle to find a fast and reliable network, or perhaps you’re approaching your monthly data allowance and are worried about incurring additional charges. When you’re struggling with a slow or inconsistent Internet connection, downloading an entire app can be a time-consuming and frustrating process, and when you’re in danger of going over your data allowance, downloading a new app may be enough to incur additional charges. All instant app modules must be 4MB or less, so even if downloading an entire app is out of the question, then accessing an instant app module may still be a viable option. 
  • Increase the appeal of location and time-sensitive apps. While apps that are designed for a specific location or event aren’t a new concept, ask yourself: how likely am I to install an app that I know I’ll only be able to use for a limited period of time, or in a certain location? Instant apps can increase the appeal of time and location-sensitive apps, by allowing the user to access all of your app’s most important functionality at the tap of a URL. 

Restrictions and Limitations

Before we start our instant app journey, it’s worth noting that there are currently a few things that instant apps cannot do:

  • Access device identifiers like IMEI and MAC addresses.
  • Use background services.
  • Perform background notifications. 
  • Access the device’s external storage.
  • Access the list of apps that are installed on the user’s device—unless those applications have specifically made themselves discoverable to instant apps.

In addition, your application must: 

  • Be available to download for free from the Google Play store.
  • Use the new permissions model introduced in Android 6.0 (API level 23). Since the user doesn’t install an instant app, there’s no opportunity to request permissions up front. If your instant app feature module(s) require access to sensitive device capabilities or user information, then you’ll need to request these permissions at runtime. 
  • Support App Links. This is the mechanism that you’ll use to map each of your instant app modules to a specific URL. I’ll cover App Links in detail in the next post. 

Finally, if your app is part of the Designed for Families program, then you cannot offer it as an instant app. 

Setting Up Your Development Environment

Before you can create your first project with instant app support, you’ll need to have the following or higher installed:

  • Android Studio 3.0 Preview
  • Android SDK 6.0
  • Android SDK Build Tools 26.x
  • Android SDK Tools 25.x
  • Android SDK Platform Tools 25.x

You should also make sure you have the latest versions of the Android Support Library and Android Repository, so open Android Studio’s SDK Manager and install any available updates. 

Once you’ve installed all of the above, you’ll be able to download the Instant Apps Development SDK: 

  • Open the SDK Manager, and select the SDK Tools tab. 
  • Select Instant Apps Development SDK.
  • Click Apply.

Currently, you can only test instant apps on a Nexus 5X, Nexus 6P, Pixel, Pixel XL, or a Galaxy S7 that’s running Android 6.0 or higher. However, if you don’t own any of these devices then you can create an Android Virtual Device (AVD) that emulates one of these devices, with a few conditions: the AVD must use an x86 image, and it must include the Google APIs.

Since I don’t own any of these devices, I’m going to create an AVD that emulates a Pixel: 

  • Launch the AVD Manager.
  • Click the Create virtual device... button.
  • Select Pixel, and then click Next.
  • Select the x86 Images tab. 
  • Select a system image that’s running Android 6.0 and includes the Google APIs, for example Marshmallow / 23 / x86 / Android 6.0 (Google APIs).
  • Click Next.
  • Give your AVD a name, and click Finish.
  • Launch your AVD.

Finally, you’ll need to sign in to a Google account on your AVD:

  • Switch to your AVD, and open the device’s launcher.
  • Select the Google app.
  • Enter a Gmail address and password. This can either be your real-life account, or an account you’ve created solely for the purposes of testing your Android projects. 

Creating Your First Instant App 

In Android Studio 3.0 Preview 1 and higher, creating a project that has built-in Instant App support is as easy as selecting a checkbox, so rather than just describing Instant App features, we’re going to create an Instant App project and then spend the rest of this article getting some first-hand experience with its various components. 

Just be aware that this project doesn’t feature any App Links, so you won’t be able to test its Instant App components on your AVD (this is something we’ll be exploring in detail in part two).

To create your project:

  • Launch the project creation wizard, either by selecting File > New > New project… from the Android Studio toolbar, or by clicking Start a new Android Studio project from Android Studio’s Welcome screen. 
  • Give your project a name, and click Next
  • Set the Minimum SDK to Android 6.0 (Marshmallow). 
  • Select the Include Android Instant app support checkbox, and click Next
  • To help keep things simple, accept the default module name (feature) and then click Next.
  • Select Basic Activity and then click Next.
  • On the next screen, accept all the default values, and then click Finish.

Immediately, we can see that this project is structured very differently from your typical Android project, and consists of the following modules:

  • App. The installable app module, also known as an APK module. 
  • Base. The base feature module.
  • Feature. Although this particular project only has one, an application can consist of multiple feature modules.
  • Instantapp. The instant app module. 
Projects with instant app support are structured differently to regular installable-only projects

With the exception of the feature module, any project that supports instant apps must have all of the above modules, so let’s explore each of these modules in detail.  

1. Application Module

The concept of an application module may be nothing new, but when your project supports instant apps, the application module’s Manifest looks much emptier than you’re probably used to: 

There’s a reason why this file is so empty: when you build your project, the contents of all the other Manifest files located throughout your base feature and feature modules are merged with this file—so it’s not going to stay this empty forever! 

If you open this module’s build.gradle file, then you’ll notice two new elements: 

Here, we’re declaring that our application module has a dependency on the feature module and base module. 

When you add Instant App support to a project, you separate related code and resources into feature modules that can function independently of the installable application. However, these modules are still parts of your installable app, rather than separate entities, which is why our application module is declaring the feature and base modules as dependencies.

2. Base Feature Module

Every instant app project must include a single base feature module, which contains the code and resources that are used across all your application’s modules. For example, if you open our project’s base/res/mipmap folder, then you’ll see all of the application’s launcher icons, which are clearly going to be used across multiple modules. 

The base feature module includes the ic_launcher drawables

Since it contains common code and resources, all of your project’s feature modules depend on this single base feature module. 

Continuing this theme, the base feature module contains the Manifest entries that are used across your entire project. For example, your project’s base/src/main/AndroidManifest.xml file contains the settings for your application’s icon, theme, and label: 

The other notable element is the base module’s build.gradle file, which contains a few new attributes:

You’ll also notice that this particular build.gradle file is missing an applicationID attribute, and (spoiler alert) you’ll find exactly the same thing when we come to inspect our feature module’s build.gradle file. Our project’s applicationID is declared in the application module’s build.gradle file only.

The application project(:app) line in our base module’s build.gradle file (see above) ensures that the project’s single applicationID attribute is propagated across all of our build.gradle files, which is why this attribute is missing from the rest of our project. 

3. Feature Module

When you eventually come to add Instant App support to an existing project, your biggest task will be extracting each of your application’s features into its own feature module, as each feature module contains the code and resources that are required to deliver this feature only. 

If you open our project’s feature module, then you’ll see that it contains the MainActivity class, plus activity_main and content_main resource files—essentially all the components that are included in the Basic Activity template.  

The projects feature module contains all the code and resources that are specific to this feature

A single feature module can consist of multiple Activities, but each module must have at least one Activity that’s designated as this module’s entry-point Activity. 

Each entry-point Activity is mapped to a specific URL, so that when the user taps this URL it loads the associated Activity and the user has access to this particular feature module. 

You designate a module’s entry-point Activity via that module’s manifest. Essentially, you need to open this file and add the following to the Activity that you want to use as your entry-point: 

  • An intent filter, with the CATEGORY_LAUNCHER and ACTION_MAIN intents.
  • A <data> element containing all the information about the URL that you want to map to this entry-point Activity. 
  • The android:autoVerify attribute. This tells the system to check that your app has permission to act as the default handler for this particular URL. This is an important security mechanism that helps to protect website owners from malicious apps that might try to hijack their URLs.

If you open our feature module’s manifest file, then you’ll see that all of this code has already been added to our MainActivity declaration:

The final file we’re going to look at in this module is the build.gradle file, which contains a few lines of noteworthy code: 

Since all feature modules depend on the base feature module, the first time the user requests any feature from your application, they’ll receive the base feature module plus the feature module they’re actually trying to access. 

Note that although this particular project consists of a base feature module and a feature module, if your app only has one feature that you want to make available as an Instant App, then it’s possible to create a project that consists of a base feature module only. We'll be looking at both "types" of Instant App project throughout this series. 

4. Instant App Module

The Instant App module has a simple purpose: it acts as a container that takes all of your feature modules and turns them into Instant App APKs.

If you open this project’s Instant App module, then you’ll see that it’s pretty much empty apart from a build.gradle file, which simply declares your base feature module and your feature module as dependencies:

Testing Your App

Since this project doesn’t contain any App Links, we won’t be able to test its instant app components, but we can still run this project as an installable app. This might not seem particularly exciting, but bearing in mind that the bulk of our project’s code and resources are located in the instant app feature module, it’s important to test how our project functions as an installable application. 

Launch the AVD we created earlier or connect a compatible physical Android smartphone or tablet to your development machine, and then select Run > Run… > app from the Android Studio toolbar. 

Despite the fact that all of our MainActivity code is located in the feature module, once our app loads you’ll see the MainActivity’s floating action button (FAB) and Hello World message. What we're seeing here is our application module taking code and resources that are located in separate Instant App feature and base feature modules, and combining them into an installable app. 

Conclusion 

In this tutorial we took a high-level look at how Instant Apps work, and explored the various reasons why you might want to add Instant App support to your Android projects. 

In an ideal world, your decision to start exploring Instant Apps would perfectly coincide with the start of a new Android project, but unfortunately, being a developer is rarely this convenient! It’s far more likely that you’ll have to reconfigure an existing project to support Instant Apps, which isn’t quite as straightforward as selecting a checkbox in Android Studio’s project creation wizard! 

In the next post, we'll take an in-depth look at how to add instant app support to an existing project. I’ll also show you how to implement App Links, so by the end of the next post you’ll have created a fully-functioning Instant App that you can launch and test on any compatible AVD or Android device. 

Stay tuned! And in the meantime, check out some of our other posts on Android app development.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.