Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. PHP

So laden Sie eine Datei in PHP hoch (mit einem Beispiel)

by
Read Time:11 minsLanguages:

German (Deutsch) translation by Alex Grigorovich (you can also view the original English article)

In diesem Artikel erkläre ich die Grundlagen des Datei-Uploads in PHP. Zuerst gehen wir die PHP-Konfigurationsoptionen durch, die für erfolgreiche Datei-Uploads vorhanden sein müssen. Anschließend entwickeln wir ein reales Beispiel zum Hochladen einer Datei.

PHP-Einstellungen konfigurieren

Es gibt einige PHP-Konfigurationseinstellungen, die Sie im Voraus für erfolgreiche Datei-Uploads überprüfen sollten. In diesem Abschnitt werden wir jede einzelne Option durchgehen, die in Bezug auf das Hochladen von PHP-Dateien wichtig ist. Diese Optionen können in der Datei php.ini konfiguriert werden.

Wenn Sie nicht sicher sind, wo Sie Ihre php.ini-Datei finden, können Sie sie mit php_ini_loaded_file() finden. Erstellen Sie einfach eine PHP-Datei auf Ihrem Server mit der folgenden Zeile und öffnen Sie sie über den Browser.

Hier ist ein Auszug aus einer Setup-Datei mit einigen nützlichen Voreinstellungen.

Die Schlüsseleinstellungen

file_uploads

Der Wert der file_uploads-Direktive sollte auf On gesetzt werden, um Datei-Uploads zuzulassen. Der Standardwert dieser Direktive ist On.

upload_max_filesize

Mit der upload_max_filesize-Direktive können Sie die maximale Größe der hochgeladenen Datei konfigurieren. Standardmäßig ist es auf 2M (zwei Megabyte) eingestellt, und Sie können diese Einstellung auch mit der .htaccess-Datei überschreiben. Zwei Megabyte sind nach heutigen Maßstäben nicht sehr viel, daher müssen Sie diese möglicherweise erhöhen. Wenn Sie beim Versuch, eine Datei hochzuladen, eine Fehlermeldung erhalten, dass die file exceeds upload_max_filesize, müssen Sie diesen Wert erhöhen. Stellen Sie in diesem Fall sicher, dass Sie auch post_max_size erhöhen (siehe unten).

upload_tmp_dir

Legen Sie ein temporäres Verzeichnis fest, das zum Speichern hochgeladener Dateien verwendet wird. In den meisten Fällen brauchen Sie sich um diese Einstellung nicht zu kümmern. Wenn Sie es nicht festlegen, wird das standardmäßige temporäre Verzeichnis des Systems verwendet.

post_max_size

Mit der Direktive post_max_size können Sie die maximale Größe von POST-Daten konfigurieren. Da Dateien mit POST-Anfragen hochgeladen werden, muss dieser Wert größer sein als der, den Sie für die upload_max_filesize-Direktive festgelegt haben. Wenn Ihre upload_max_filesize beispielsweise 16M (16 MB) beträgt, möchten Sie post_max_size möglicherweise auf 20M setzen.

max_file_uploads

Hier können Sie die maximale Anzahl von Dateien festlegen, die gleichzeitig hochgeladen werden können. Der Standardwert ist 20, ein sinnvoller Betrag.

max_input_time

Dies ist die maximale Anzahl von Sekunden, die ein Skript die Eingabedaten analysieren darf. Sie sollten ihn auf einen angemessenen Wert einstellen, wenn Sie mit großen Datei-Uploads zu tun haben. 60 (60 Sekunden) ist für die meisten Apps ein guter Wert.

memory_limit

Die Direktive memory_limit gibt die maximale Speichermenge an, die ein Skript verbrauchen kann. Wenn beim Hochladen großer Dateien Probleme auftreten, müssen Sie sicherstellen, dass der Wert dieser Anweisung höher ist als der Wert, den Sie für die Anweisung post_max_size festgelegt haben. Der Standardwert ist 128M (128 Megabyte). Wenn Sie also keine sehr großen post_max_size und upload_max_filesize haben, müssen Sie sich darüber keine Gedanken machen.

max_execution_time

Dies ist die maximale Anzahl von Sekunden, die ein Skript ausführen darf. Wenn beim Hochladen großer Dateien Probleme auftreten, können Sie diesen Wert erhöhen. 30 (30 Sekunden) sollte für die meisten Apps gut funktionieren.

Lassen Sie uns nun ein reales Beispiel erstellen, um das Hochladen von Dateien in PHP zu demonstrieren.

Erstellen Sie das HTML-Formular

Nachdem Sie die PHP-Einstellungen konfiguriert haben, können Sie die Funktionen zum Hochladen von PHP-Dateien ausprobieren.

Unser GitHub-Repository enthält einige Beispielcodes, auf die ich in diesem Artikel eingehen werde. Wenn Sie also mitmachen möchten, laden Sie es von GitHub herunter.

Wir werden zwei PHP-Dateien erstellen: index.php und upload.php. Die Datei index.php enthält Code, der für die Anzeige des Datei-Upload-Formulars verantwortlich ist. Andererseits ist die Datei upload.php dafür verantwortlich, eine Datei auf den Server hochzuladen.

Außerdem wird eine Datei in das Verzeichnis uploaded_files hochgeladen, daher müssen Sie sicherstellen, dass dieser Ordner existiert und für den web-server-Benutzer beschreibbar ist.

In diesem Abschnitt gehen wir die wichtigsten Teile der Datei index.php durch.

Schauen wir uns die Datei index.php auf GitHub an:

Obwohl es wie ein typisches PHP-Formular aussehen mag, gibt es einen wichtigen Unterschied im Wert des enctype-Attributs des <form>-Tags. Es muss auf multipart/form-data gesetzt werden, da das Formular das Dateifeld enthält.

Das Attribut enctype gibt den Codierungstyp an, der beim Senden des Formulars verwendet werden soll, und nimmt einen der folgenden drei Werte an:

  • application/x-www-form-urlencoded: Dies ist der Standardwert, wenn Sie den Wert des Attributs enctype nicht explizit festlegen. In diesem Fall werden Zeichen verschlüsselt, bevor sie an den Server gesendet werden. Wenn das Dateifeld in Ihrem Formular nicht vorhanden ist, sollten Sie diesen Wert für das Attribut enctype verwenden.
  • multipart/form-data: Wenn Sie den Wert multipart/form-data für das enctype-Attribut verwenden, können Sie Dateien mit der POST-Methode hochladen. Außerdem wird sichergestellt, dass die Zeichen beim Absenden des Formulars nicht codiert werden.
  • text/plain: Dies wird im Allgemeinen nicht verwendet. Bei dieser Einstellung werden die Daten unverschlüsselt gesendet.

Als nächstes geben wir das Dateifeld aus, in dem Sie eine Datei von Ihrem Computer auswählen können.

Abgesehen davon haben wir oben im Formular eine Nachricht angezeigt. Diese Nachricht zeigt den Status des Datei-Uploads an und wird vom Skript upload.php in eine Sitzungsvariable gesetzt. Wir werden uns dies im nächsten Abschnitt genauer ansehen.

Das fasst die Datei index.php zusammen. Im nächsten Abschnitt werden wir sehen, wie die hochgeladene Datei auf der Serverseite behandelt wird.

Erstellen Sie die Upload-Logik

Im vorherigen Abschnitt haben wir das HTML-Formular erstellt, das auf der Client-Seite angezeigt wird und es Ihnen ermöglicht, eine Datei von Ihrem Computer hochzuladen. In diesem Abschnitt sehen wir das serverseitige Gegenstück, mit dem Sie die hochgeladene Datei verarbeiten können.

Ziehen Sie den Code aus der Datei upload.php auf GitHub. Wir werden die wichtigen Teile dieser Datei durchgehen.

In der Datei upload.php haben wir zunächst überprüft, ob es sich um eine gültige POST-Anfrage handelt.

In PHP wird beim Hochladen einer Datei die superglobale Variable $_FILES mit allen Informationen über die hochgeladene Datei gefüllt. Es wird als Array initialisiert und kann die folgenden Informationen für einen erfolgreichen Datei-Upload enthalten.

  • tmp_name: Der temporäre Pfad, in den die Datei hochgeladen wird, wird in dieser Variable gespeichert.
  • name: In dieser Variable wird der eigentliche Name der Datei gespeichert.
  • size: Gibt die Größe der hochgeladenen Datei in Bytes an.
  • type: Enthält den MIME-Typ der hochgeladenen Datei.
  • error: Wenn beim Datei-Upload ein Fehler auftritt, wird diese Variable mit der entsprechenden Fehlermeldung gefüllt. Bei erfolgreichem Dateiupload enthält sie 0, die Sie mit der Konstante UPLOAD_ERR_OK vergleichen können.

Nach der Validierung der POST-Anfrage überprüfen wir, ob der Datei-Upload erfolgreich war.

Sie sehen, dass die Variable $_FILES ein mehrdimensionales Array ist, das erste Element der Name des Dateifelds ist und das zweite Element die Informationen über die hochgeladene Datei enthält, wie wir gerade oben besprochen haben.

Wenn der Datei-Upload erfolgreich ist, initialisieren wir einige Variablen mit Informationen über die hochgeladene Datei.

Im obigen Snippet haben wir auch die Erweiterung der hochgeladenen Datei ermittelt und in der Variablen $fileExtension gespeichert.

Da die hochgeladene Datei Leerzeichen und andere Sonderzeichen enthalten kann, ist es besser, den Dateinamen zu bereinigen, und genau das haben wir im folgenden Ausschnitt getan.

Es ist wichtig, dass Sie den Dateityp, der hochgeladen werden kann, auf bestimmte Erweiterungen beschränken und nicht alles über das Upload-Formular zulassen. Dazu haben wir die Erweiterung der hochgeladenen Datei mit einer Reihe von Erweiterungen überprüft, die wir für das Hochladen zulassen möchten.

Schließlich verwenden wir die Funktion move_uploaded_file, um die hochgeladene Datei an einen bestimmten Ort unserer Wahl zu verschieben.

Die Funktion move_uploaded_file benötigt zwei Argumente. Das erste Argument ist der Dateiname der hochgeladenen Datei und das zweite Argument ist der Zielpfad, in den Sie die Datei verschieben möchten.

Schließlich leiten wir den Benutzer zur Datei index.php weiter. Außerdem setzen wir in der Session-Variablen die entsprechende Meldung, die den Benutzern nach der Umleitung in der Datei index.php angezeigt wird.

So funktioniert alles zusammen

Vergessen Sie nicht, das Verzeichnis uploaded_files zu erstellen und es für den web-server-Benutzer beschreibbar zu machen. Als nächstes führen Sie die Datei index.php aus, die das Datei-Upload-Formular anzeigen sollte, das wie folgt aussieht:

Indexphp File OutputIndexphp File OutputIndexphp File Output

Klicken Sie auf die Schaltfläche Durchsuchen – das sollte ein Dialogfeld öffnen, in dem Sie eine Datei von Ihrem Computer auswählen können. Wählen Sie eine Datei mit einer der in unserem Skript zulässigen Erweiterungen aus und klicken Sie auf die Schaltfläche Hochladen.

Das sollte das Formular absenden, und wenn alles gut geht, sollten Sie die hochgeladene Datei im Verzeichnis uploaded_files sehen. Sie können auch versuchen, andere Dateien mit unzulässigen Erweiterungen hochzuladen und prüfen, ob unser Skript solche Uploads verhindert.

Abschluss

Heute haben wir die Grundlagen des Datei-Uploads in PHP besprochen. In der ersten Hälfte des Artikels haben wir die verschiedenen Konfigurationsoptionen besprochen, die vorhanden sein müssen, damit der Datei-Upload funktioniert. Dann haben wir uns ein reales Beispiel angesehen, das demonstriert, wie das Hochladen von Dateien in PHP funktioniert.

Ich hoffe, Ihnen hat dieser Artikel gefallen und können Sie Ihre Fragen und Vorschläge unten posten!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Unlimited Plugins, WordPress themes, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. PHP

How to Upload a File in PHP (With an Example)

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

In this article, I’ll explain the basics of file upload in PHP. Firstly, we’ll go through the PHP configuration options that need to be in place for successful file uploads. Following that, we’ll develop a real-world example of how to upload a file.

Configure the PHP Settings

There are a couple of PHP configuration settings that you'll want to check beforehand for successful file uploads. In this section, we’ll go through every important option in regards to PHP file upload. These options can be configured in the php.ini file.

If you're not sure where to find your php.ini file, you can use the php_ini_loaded_file() to locate it. Just create a PHP file on your server with the following line, and open it from the browser.

Here's an excerpt from a setup file with some useful defaults.

The Key Settings

file_uploads

The value of the file_uploads directive should be set to On to allow file uploads. The default value of this directive is On.

upload_max_filesize

The upload_max_filesize directive allows you to configure the maximum size of the uploaded file. By default, it's set to 2M (two megabytes), and you can override this setting using the .htaccess file as well. Two megabytes isn't very much by today's standards, so you might have to increase this. If you get an error that file exceeds upload_max_filesize when you try to upload a file, you need to increase this value. If you do, be sure to also increase post_max_size (see below).

upload_tmp_dir

Sets a temporary directory which will be used to store uploaded files. In most cases, you don't need to worry about this setting. If you don't set it, the system default temp directory will be used.

post_max_size

The post_max_size directive allows you to configure the maximum size of POST data. Since files are uploaded with POST requests, this value must be greater than what you've set for the upload_max_filesize directive. For example, if your upload_max_filesize is 16M (16 megabytes), you might want to set post_max_size to 20M.

max_file_uploads

It allows you to set the maximum number of files that can be uploaded at a time. The default is 20, a sensible amount.

max_input_time

It's the maximum number of seconds a script is allowed to parse the input data. You should set it to a reasonable value if you're dealing with large file uploads. 60 (60 seconds) is a good value for most apps.

memory_limit

The memory_limit directive indicates the maximum amount of memory a script can consume. If you're facing issues when uploading large files, you need to make sure that the value of this directive is greater than what you've set for the post_max_size directive. The default value is 128M (128 megabytes), so unless you have a very large post_max_size and upload_max_filesize, you don't need to worry about this.

max_execution_time

It's the maximum number of seconds a script is allowed to run. If you're facing issues when uploading large files, you can consider increasing this value. 30 (30 seconds) should work well for most apps.

Now let's build a real-world example to demonstrate file upload in PHP.

Create the HTML Form

Once you’ve configured the PHP settings, you're ready to try out the PHP file upload capabilities.

Our GitHub repo has some sample code which I'm going to discuss throughout this article. So, if you want to follow along, go ahead and download it from GitHub.

We’re going to create two PHP files: index.php and upload.php. The index.php file holds code which is responsible for displaying the file upload form. On the other hand, the upload.php file is responsible for uploading a file to the server.

Also, a file will be uploaded in the uploaded_files directory, so you need to make sure that this folder exists and is writable by the web-server user.

In this section, we’ll go through the key parts of the index.php file.

Let’s take a look at the index.php file on GitHub:

You can use the following CSS to give the form a more appealing look.

The CSS basically hides the original file input and styles its accompanying span and label elements.

Although it may look like a typical PHP form, there’s an important difference in the value of the enctype attribute of the <form> tag. It needs to be set to multipart/form-data since the form contains the file field.

The enctype attribute specifies the type of encoding which should be used when the form is submitted, and it takes one of the following three values:

  • application/x-www-form-urlencoded: This is the default value when you don’t set the value of the enctype attribute explicitly. In this case, characters are encoded before it’s sent to the server. If you don’t have the file field in your form, you should use this value for the enctype attribute.
  • multipart/form-data: When you use the multipart/form-data value for the enctype attribute, it allows you to upload files using the POST method. Also, it makes sure that the characters are not encoded when the form is submitted.
  • text/plain: This is generally not used. With this setting, the data is sent unencoded.

Next, we output the file field, which allows you to select a file from your computer.

Apart from that, we’ve displayed a message at the top of the form. This message shows the status of the file upload, and it’ll be set in a session variable by the upload.php script. We’ll look more at this in the next section.

So that sums up the index.php file. In the next section, we’ll see how to handle the uploaded file on the server side.

Create the Upload Logic

In the previous section, we created the HTML form which is displayed on the client side and allows you to upload a file from your computer. In this section, we’ll see the server-side counterpart which allows you to handle the uploaded file.

Pull in the code from the upload.php file on GitHub. We’ll go through the important parts of that file.

In the upload.php file, we've checked whether it’s a valid POST request in the first place.

In PHP, when a file is uploaded, the $_FILES superglobal variable is populated with all the information about the uploaded file. It’s initialized as an array and may contain the following information for successful file upload.

  • tmp_name: The temporary path where the file is uploaded is stored in this variable.
  • name: The actual name of the file is stored in this variable.
  • size: Indicates the size of the uploaded file in bytes.
  • type: Contains the mime type of the uploaded file.
  • error: If there’s an error during file upload, this variable is populated with the appropriate error message. In the case of successful file upload, it contains 0, which you can compare by using the UPLOAD_ERR_OK constant.

After validating the POST request, we check that the file upload was successful.

You can see that the $_FILES variable is a multi-dimensional array, the first element is the name of the file field, and the second element has the information about the uploaded file, as we’ve just discussed above.

If the file upload is successful, we initialize a few variables with information about the uploaded file.

In the above snippet, we’ve also figured out the extension of the uploaded file and stored it in the $fileExtension variable.

As the uploaded file may contain spaces and other special characters, it’s better to sanitize the filename, and that’s exactly we’ve done in the following snippet.

It’s important that you restrict the type of file which can be uploaded to certain extensions and don’t allow everything using the upload form. We’ve done that by checking the extension of the uploaded file with a set of extensions that we want to allow for uploading.

Finally, we use the move_uploaded_file function to move the uploaded file to the specific location of our choice.

The move_uploaded_file function takes two arguments. The first argument is the filename of the uploaded file, and the second argument is the destination path where you want to move the file.

Finally, we redirect the user to the index.php file. Also, we set the appropriate message in the session variable, which will be displayed to users after redirection in the index.php file.

How It All Works Together

Don't forget to create the uploaded_files directory and make it writable by the web-server user. Next, go ahead and run the index.php file, which should display the file upload form which looks like this:

File Upload UIFile Upload UIFile Upload UI

Click on the Browse button—that should open a dialog box which allows you to select a file from your computer. Select a file with one of the extensions allowed in our script, and click on the Upload button.

That should submit the form, and if everything goes well, you should see the uploaded file in the uploaded_files directory. You could also try uploading other files with extensions that are not allowed, and check if our script prevents such uploads.

Resolving Common Errors

A lot of things can go wrong during a file upload which might result in errors. You can check the exact error that occurred during the upload using $_FILES['uploadedFile']['error']. Here is the explanation of those errors:

File Is Too Large

UPLOAD_ERR_INI_SIZE and UPLOAD_ERR_FORM_SIZE occur when the size of an uploaded file is more than the value specified in php.ini or the HTML form respectively. You can get rid of this error by increasing the upload size limits or letting users know about them beforehand.

Temporary Folder Is Missing

UPLOAD_ERR_NO_TMP_DIR is reported when the temporary folder to upload the file is missing. UPLOAD_ERR_NO_FILE is reported when there is no file to upload.

Partial Upload or Can't Write to Disk

You will get UPLOAD_ERR_PARTIAL if the file could only be uploaded partially and UPLOAD_ERR_CANT_WRITE if the file could not be written to the disk.

A PHP Extension Stopped the File Upload

Sometimes, you will get the error UPLOAD_ERR_EXTENSION because some extension stopped the file upload. This one will require more investigation by you to figure out which extension caused the problem.

Here is the full code from upload.php which will show users a message on the upload page in case of success or failure of the upload. The information about the success or failure of the upload is stored in the $_SESSION['message'].

Learn PHP With a Free Online Course

Today, we discussed the basics of file upload in PHP. In the first half of the article, we discussed the different configuration options that need to be in place for file upload to work. Then we looked at a real-world example which demonstrated how file upload works in PHP.

If you want to learn more PHP, check out our free online course on PHP fundamentals!

In this course, you'll learn the fundamentals of PHP programming. You'll start with the basics, learning how PHP works and writing simple PHP loops and functions. Then you'll build up to coding classes for simple object-oriented programming (OOP). Along the way, you'll learn all the most important skills for writing apps for the web: you'll get a chance to practice responding to GET and POST requests, parsing JSON, authenticating users, and using a MySQL database.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.