Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. iOS SDK

Простые push-уведомления с back4app для iOS

by
Read Time:9 minsLanguages:

Russian (Pусский) translation by Ellen Nelson (you can also view the original English article)

Введение

В этом уроке я расскажу вам, как легко реализовать push-уведомления в приложении iOS с помощью сторонней облачной службы. Мы начнем с рассмотрения необходимых шагов для любого приложения iOS для реализации push-уведомлений, а затем перейдём к использованию back4app (на основе платформы Parse) в качестве нашего back-end сервиса.

Для этого урока требуется, чтобы вы запустили хотя бы Xcode 8 с iOS 10 SDK. Это связано с тем, что мы будем использовать новую структуру UserNotifications для обработки получаемых уведомлений в приложении. Если вы хотите узнать больше об этой структуре, вы можете посмотреть мой учебник, по этой теме:

Вам также понадобится физическое устройство iOS для запуска вашего приложения. Это связано с тем, что симулятор iOS не поддерживает push-уведомления.

1. Настройка приложения iOS

Для начала откройте Xcode и создайте новый проект на основе шаблона приложения iOS > Application > Single View Application:

Application TemplateApplication TemplateApplication Template

На следующем экране, как только вы заполнили всю информацию (вы можете использовать ту же информацию, что и я), уделите внимание Bundle Identifier, который нам понадобится позже:

App Info and Bundle IdentifierApp Info and Bundle IdentifierApp Info and Bundle Identifier

Как только Xcode создаст ваш проект, откройте файл AppDelegate.swift и добавьте следующую строку кода вверху:

Затем, замените метод application(_:didFinishLaunchingWithOptions:) на следующее:

С помощью этого кода мы запрашиваем разрешение пользователя показывать уведомления с использованием фреймворка UserNotifications. Если пользователь принимает это, мы регистрируемся для удаленных (push) уведомлений, вызывая метод registerForRemoteNotifications.

На последнем шаге настроек приложения, нажмите на название вашего проекта в верхней части File Navigator в Xcode и перейдите на вкладку Capabilities. На этом экране включите переключатель Push Notifications, чтобы добавить правильные права в ваше приложение:

Push Notifications EntitlementsPush Notifications EntitlementsPush Notifications Entitlements

2. Настройка сертификата

Служба уведомления Apple Push

На базовом уровне система push-уведомлений для iOS работает следующим образом:

  • Сторонний сервер отправляет служебную информацию уведомления в службу Apple Push Notification (APN).
  • APN проверяет информацию, чтобы проверить, что она происходит из правильного источника.
  • Если это действительно так, тогда APN перенаправляет информацию на правильное устройство iOS.

Чтобы правильно аутентифицировать информацию уведомления, вы должны создать подписной сертификат. Чтобы начать процесс создания этого сертификата, вам нужно будет войти в систему с вашим Apple ID на веб-сайте разработчиков Apple.

Регистрация идентификатора приложения

После того, как вы вошли в систему, нажмите Certificates, IDs & Profiles на левой боковой панели:

Developer Portal SidebarDeveloper Portal SidebarDeveloper Portal Sidebar

На следующем экране выберите Identifiers > App IDs на левой боковой панели, а затем нажмите кнопку плюс в верхнем правом углу:

Add New iOS App IDAdd New iOS App IDAdd New iOS App ID

При создании идентификатора вашего приложения вы можете ввести всё, что хотите в название — Name, в разделе App ID Description. В разделе App ID Suffix выберите параметр Explicit App ID и введите идентификатор пакета, который вы сделали при создании проекта, в поле Bundle ID. Наконец, в разделе App Services убедитесь, что вы отметили флажок для включения Push Notifications. После того, как вы введёте всю информацию, прокрутите страницу вниз и нажмите кнопку Continue.

Теперь вам будет представлен просмотр вашего идентификатора приложения, как показано на скриншоте ниже:

App ID OverviewApp ID OverviewApp ID Overview

Убедитесь, что вся информация верна (на этом этапе Push Notifications должны показываться как Configurable), а затем кликните Register в нижней части экрана.

Создание сертификатов

Перейдите в Certificates на левой боковой панели и снова нажмите кнопку плюс в правом верхнем углу. На следующем экране в разделе Development выберите параметр Apple Push Notification service SSL (Sandbox) и нажмите кнопку Continue внизу.

На следующем экране выберите идентификатор вашего приложения в раскрывающемся меню и нажмите Continue.

Если у вас ещё нет файла сертификата на подпись (CSR), следуйте инструкциям на следующем экране, чтобы создать его. После того, как вы получите CSR, вы можете перейти к следующему экрану и загрузить его.

Как только ваш сертификат будет создан, нажмите кнопку Download, а затем откройте файл с помощью приложения Keychain Access на вашем компьютере. Если вас спросят, к какой связке ключей добавить сертификат, выберите параметр login.

Там же в приложении Keychain Access выберите параметр Certificates в нижней части левой боковой панели:

Keychain Access SidebarKeychain Access SidebarKeychain Access Sidebar

Теперь вам нужно будет найти сертификат, который вы только что сделали; он будет иметь имя Apple Development IOS Push Services: { Bundle ID }. После того как вы нашли свой сертификат, кликните по нему правой кнопкой мыши и выберите вариант Export. В появившемся всплывающем окне вы можете указать который хотите файл, но убедитесь, что в качестве параметра File Format установлено значение Personal Information Exchange (.p12):

Certificate Exporting OptionsCertificate Exporting OptionsCertificate Exporting Options

При экспорте сертификата не указывайте пароль для файла p12. Это связано с тем, что back4app требует наличия файла сертификата без защиты паролем.

Служба Apple Push Notification имеет две отдельные среды: одну для приложений в разработке и одну для выпущенных приложений.

Пока что, мы создали сертификат, который будет использоваться в среде разработки, которая будет работать при тестировании вашего приложения через Xcode.

При отправке приложения в App Store вам нужно будет создать производственный сертификат. Чтобы это сделать, повторите шаги, которые мы прошли в разделе Создание сертификатов в этом уроке, но выберите Apple Push Notification service SSL (Sandbox & Production). Обратите внимание, что в Keychain Access имя сертификата будет: Apple Push Services: {Bundle ID}.

Обратите внимание, что вам может не понадобиться создавать два отдельных сертификата, в зависимости от того, какую реализацию push-уведомления вы используете. С начала этого года Apple разрешила создание сертификата двойного назначения — типаа Apple Push Notification service SSL (Sandbox & Production), который можно использовать для подключения в обоих средах. К сожалению, некоторые службы, такие как back4app, ещё не обновились для использования этих новых сертификатов и требуют отдельный для каждой среды.

3. Настройка back4app

Для этого урока мы будем использовать back4app для обеспечения серверной части наших push-уведомлений. back4app это сервис, который обеспечивает простой в использовании и бесплатный (с ограничениями) интерфейс для вашего приложения. Он работает как хостинг-сервер для проекта Parse Server.

Чтобы настроить back4app, вам нужно будет вернуться на back4app.com и зарегистрировать учетную запись, если у вас её ещё нет.

После того, как вы зарегистрируетесь, вы попадете на пустой экран, где будут показаны все ваши приложения. Чтобы создать новый, нажмите кнопку Build new Parse app в верхнем левом углу. На следующем экране введите название вашего приложения и нажмите Next.

После того, как ваше приложение будет создано, вы попадете на экран с целым рядом разных идентификаторов и ключей. Те, что мы должны принять к сведению — App Id, Parse API Address и Client Key. После того, как вы их скопируете, вы можете нажать кнопку Close в нижней части страницы.

Теперь вы должны быть на главном экране панели инструментов вашего приложения. Чтобы настроить реализацию push-уведомлений, перейдите на страницу iOS Push Notification Settings. Здесь нажмите кнопку Choose File, чтобы выбрать и загрузите файл .p12, который вы создали ранее. Нажмите Send и ваш идентификатор пакета должен появиться в списке, как показано на следующем снимке с экрана:

Uploaded Certificate InformationUploaded Certificate InformationUploaded Certificate Information

4. Настройка Parse SDK

В качестве последнего этапа нашей настройки нам нужно загрузить и добавить Parse SDK в наше приложение. Для этого вы можете выполнить первые три шага руководства iOS Quickstart от back4app.

После завершения настройки Parse SDK и добавления необходимого кода конфигурации в application(_:didFinishLaunchingWithOptions:) добавьте следующий метод в класс AppDelegate:

Этот метод будет вызван, если пользователь принимает запрос вашего приложения, чтобы показать уведомления. В частности, метод registerForRemoteNotifications, который мы вызывали ранее в делегировании нашего приложения, вызовет метод application(_:didRegisterForRemoteNotificationsWithDeviceToken:), как только завершится его обработка. В нашей реализации этого метода мы просто получаем данные устройства и загружаем его в приложение parse back4app.

5. Отправка уведомления

Теперь, когда все наши настройки завершены, вы можете создавать и запускать приложение на устройстве iOS. Как только ваше приложение откроется, вы увидите следующее предупреждение:

Notification Authorisation AlertNotification Authorisation AlertNotification Authorisation Alert

Коснитесь кнопки Allow и ваше приложение сможет отправлять удаленные уведомления.

Теперь вы можете перейти на панель инструментов Parse Dashboard вашего приложения. После того, как вы попадёте в панель инструментов вашего приложения, нажмите Core на левой боковой панели, если оно ещë не выбрано. После того, как развернётся раздел Core вы сможете увидеть общее количество установок (Installation) вашего приложения. На данный момент там должно быть 1, как на этом снимке экрана:

Parse Dashboard Installation Object CountParse Dashboard Installation Object CountParse Dashboard Installation Object Count

Если это число равно 0, вам нужно будет вернуться назад и убедиться, что вы правильно скопировали весь код в свой класс AppDelegate, включая идентификатор приложения back4app и ключ клиента.

Убедившись, что ваше приложение сохранило данные установки в Parse, перейдите в раздел Push на левой боковой панели Parse Dashboard. Сейчас вы должны находиться на экране, где вы можете отправить свое собственное уведомление. На данный момент вы можете оставить все настройки такими, какие они есть и просто ввести специальное сообщение под заголовком Write your message.

Когда вы будете готовы, заблокируйте экран вашего iOS устройства, а затем нажмите кнопку Send push в нижнем правом углу Parse Dashboard. Через несколько секунд на экране блокировки появится ваше push-уведомление:

Successful Push NotificationSuccessful Push NotificationSuccessful Push Notification

Вывод

Поздравляю! Вы только что успешно настроили push-уведомления для iOS приложения! Как вы видите, помимо утомительного создания SSL-сертификатов, использование службы, такой как back4app, упрощает внедрение push-уведомлений.

Конечно, помимо back4app есть другие сервисы, которые вы можете использовать для push-уведомлений, включая Backendless, Firebase от Google и даже CloudKit от самого Apple. Я выбрал back4app для использования в этом уроке, поскольку большинство настроек push-уведомлений аналогичны. Он также предлагает множество других отличных бесплатных функций, которые любое приложение может использовать.

Как всегда, пожалуйста, оставляйте свои комментарии и отзывы в разделе комментариев ниже. И ознакомьтесь с некоторыми из наших других руководств по использованию облачных back-end служб для мобильных приложений!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. iOS SDK
Code

Easy iOS Push Notifications With back4app

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:MediumLanguages:

Introduction

In this tutorial, I will be showing you how to easily implement push notifications in your iOS app using a cloud-based, third-party back-end service. We will start by looking at the required steps for any iOS app to implement push notifications and then use back4app (based on the Parse platform) as our back-end service.

This tutorial requires that you are running at least Xcode 8 with the iOS 10 SDK. This is because we will be using the new UserNotifications framework to handle receiving notifications in the app. If you want to learn more about this framework, you can check out my tutorial covering it here:

You will also need a physical iOS device to run your app. This is because the iOS simulator does not support push notifications.

1. iOS App Setup

To begin, open up Xcode and create a new project based on the iOS > Application > Single View Application template:

Application Template

On the next screen, once you have filled in all of the information (you can use the same information as I have), make sure that you take note of the Bundle Identifier as we'll need this later on:

App Info and Bundle Identifier

Once Xcode has created your project, open up your AppDelegate.swift file and add the following line of code at the top:

Next, replace the application(_:didFinishLaunchingWithOptions:) method with the following:

With this code, we request permission from the user to show notifications using the UserNotifications framework. If the user accepts this, we then register for remote (push) notifications by calling the registerForRemoteNotifications method.

For the last step of the app setup, click on your project name at the top of Xcode's File Navigator and then go to the Capabilities tab. On this screen, turn on the Push Notifications switch to add the proper entitlements to your app:

Push Notifications Entitlements

2. Certificate Setup

Apple Push Notification Service

At a basic level, the push notifications system for iOS works through the following steps:

  • The third-party server sends a notification payload to the Apple Push Notification service (APNs).
  • The APNs validates the payload to ensure that it is coming from a legitimate source.
  • If valid, the APNs then forwards the payload to the correct iOS device.

In order to properly authenticate a notification payload, you must create a signing certificate. To start the process of creating this certificate, you will need to log in with your Apple ID on Apple's developer website.

Registering an Application Identifier

Once you have signed in, click on Certificates, IDs & Profiles in the left sidebar:

Developer Portal Sidebar

On the next screen, select Identifiers > App IDs in the left sidebar and then click on the plus button in the top right corner:

Add New iOS App ID

When creating your application identifier, you can enter anything you want for your Name in the App ID Description section. In the App ID Suffix section, select the Explicit App ID option and enter the bundle identifier that you made when creating the project into the Bundle ID field. Lastly, in the App Services section, make sure that you select the checkbox option to enable Push Notifications. Once you have entered all of the information, scroll down to the bottom of the page and select the Continue button. 

You will now be presented with an overview of your new app ID as shown in the screenshot below:

App ID Overview

Check that all of the information is correct (at this stage, Push Notifications should be showing as Configurable) and then click Register at the bottom of the screen.

Creating Certificates

Go to Certificates in the left sidebar and click the plus button in the top-right corner again. On the next screen, in the Development section, select the Apple Push Notification service SSL (Sandbox) option and click Continue at the bottom. 

On the next screen, select your app ID from the dropdown menu and then click Continue.

If you do not have a certificate signing request (CSR) file already, follow the instructions on the next screen to create one. Once you have a CSR ready, you can continue to the next screen and upload it.

Once your certificate has been created, click the Download button and then open the file with the Keychain Access app on your computer. If you are asked which keychain to add the certificate to, select the login option.

Still in the Keychain Access app, select the Certificates option in the bottom section of the left sidebar:

Keychain Access Sidebar

You will now need to find the certificate you just made; it will have the name Apple Development IOS Push Services: { Bundle ID }. Once you have found your certificate, right-click on this key and select the Export option. In the popup that appears, you can call the file whatever you want, but make sure that the File Format is set to Personal Information Exchange (.p12):

Certificate Exporting Options

When exporting the certificate, don't provide a password for the p12 file. This is because back4app requires a certificate file without password protection.

The Apple Push Notification service has two separate environments: one for apps in development and one for apps in production. 

So far, we have created a certificate to be used for the development environment, which will work when testing your app through Xcode. 

When releasing your app on the App Store, you will need to create a production certificate. To do this, repeat the steps we went through in the Creating Certificates section of this tutorial, but select Apple Push Notification service SSL (Sandbox & Production). Please note that in Keychain Access, the certificate's name will be: Apple Push Services: { Bundle ID }.

Please note that you may not need to create two separate certificates, depending on what push notification implementation you are using. Since earlier this year, Apple has allowed the creation of a dual-purpose certificate—the Apple Push Notification service SSL (Sandbox & Production) type—which can be used to connect to both environments. Unfortunately, some services such as back4app haven't been updated yet to take advantage of these new certificates and require a dedicated one for each environment.

3. back4app Setup

For this tutorial, we are going to use back4app to provide the server-side implementation of our push notifications. back4app is a service which provides an easy-to-use and free (with limits) back-end for your app. It works as a hosting server for the Parse Server project.

To get set up with back4app, you will need to go to back4app.com and sign up for an account if you haven't got one already.

Once you have signed up, you will be brought to an empty screen where all of your apps will be shown. To create a new one, click on the Build new Parse app button in the top left corner. On the next screen, enter in the name for your app and then click Next

Once your app has been created, you will be brought to a screen with a whole bunch of different identifiers and keys. The ones we need to take note of are the App Id, Parse API Address, and Client Key. Once you have a copy of these, you can click the Close button at the bottom of the page.

Now you should be on the main dashboard screen for your app. In order to set up the push notifications implementation, go to the iOS Push Notification Settings page. Here, press the Choose File button and upload the .p12 file that you created earlier. Click Send and your bundle ID should then show up in the list as shown in the following screenshot:

Uploaded Certificate Information

4. Parse SDK Setup

As the last stage of our setup, we need to download and add the Parse SDK to our application. To do this, you can follow the first three steps of back4app's iOS Quickstart guide.

Once you have completed the setup of the Parse SDK and added the required configuration code to your application(_:didFinishLaunchingWithOptions:) method, add the following method to your AppDelegate class:

This method will be called if the user accepts your app's request to show notifications. Specifically, the registerForRemoteNotifications method we called earlier on in our app delegate will call the application(_:didRegisterForRemoteNotificationsWithDeviceToken:) method once it is done processing. In our implementation of this method, we just get the device data and upload this to the back4app Parse app.

5. Sending a Notification

Now that all of our setup is complete, you can build and run your app on an iOS device. Once your app opens, you will see the following alert:

Notification Authorisation Alert

Tap the Allow button and your app will register itself for remote notifications.

Now, you can go to the Parse Dashboard for your application. Once you are in the dashboard for your app, click on Core in the left sidebar if not already selected. Once the Core section has expanded, you will be able to see the total number of Installation objects for your app. At the moment, this should be showing 1 like in this screenshot:

Parse Dashboard Installation Object Count

If this number is still 0, then you will need to go back and check that you copied all of the code into your AppDelegate class correctly, including your back4app app identifier and client key.

After making sure your app has saved its installation data on Parse, go to the Push section in the left sidebar of the Parse Dashboard. You should now be on a screen where you can send out your own custom notification. For now, you can leave all of the settings as they are and just type in a custom message under the Write your message subheading.

When you are ready, lock the screen of your iOS device and then press the Send push button in the bottom-right corner of the Parse Dashboard. After a few seconds, you should see your push notification appear on your lock screen:

Successful Push Notification

Conclusion

Congratulations! You have just successfully set up push notifications for an iOS application! As you can see, apart from the tedious creation of SSL certificates, using a service such as back4app makes implementing push notifications quite easy.

Of course, there are other services apart from back4app which you can use for push notifications including Backendless, Google's Firebase, and even Apple's own CloudKit. I chose back4app to use for this tutorial as most push notification setups follow a similar process. It also offers many other great free features which any app could take advantage of.

As always, please be sure to leave your comments and feedback in the comments section below. And check out some of our other tutorials on using cloud-based back-end services for mobile apps!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.