Unlimited Plugins, WordPress themes, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. React Native

Codieren Sie eine App mit GraphQL, React Native und AWS AppSync: der App

by
Read Time:11 minsLanguages:

German (Deutsch) translation by Nikol Angelowa (you can also view the original English article)

Final product imageFinal product imageFinal product image
What You'll Be Creating

In diesen Tutorials werde ich Ihnen zeigen, wie Sie mit AWS AppSync und React Native eine GraphQL-Datenbank erstellen und mit dieser interagieren. Diese App verfügt über Echtzeit- und Offline-Funktionen, die mit AppSync sofort verfügbar sind.

Im vorherigen Beitrag haben wir unser GraphQL-Backend mit dem Amazon AppSync-Dienst eingerichtet. Probieren Sie es aus, wenn Sie es noch nicht getan haben. Wenn Sie eine Einführung in GraphQL wünschen, werfen Sie einen Blick auf einige unserer anderen Beiträge.

In diesem Beitrag werden wir alles zusammenfassen, indem wir durch den Build des React Native-Clients gehen. Das Projekt ist etwas zu kompliziert, um Sie Schritt für Schritt durchzuarbeiten, aber ich erkläre die Projektarchitektur und zeige Ihnen die wichtigsten Teile des Quellcodes.

Übersicht über App-Architektur und Ordnerstruktur

Unsere Anwendung verfügt über einen Haupteinstiegspunkt, der aus zwei Ansichten mit Registerkarten besteht. Auf einer Registerkarte werden die Städte aus unserer GraphQL-Datenbank aufgelistet, auf der anderen Registerkarte wird das Eingabeformular zum Hinzufügen einer neuen Stadt angezeigt. Die Registerkarte Cities ist ein Navigator, mit dem der Benutzer zu den einzelnen Städten navigieren kann.

Wir werden die Hauptkomponenten im source ordner speichern und andere Ordner im src-Verzeichnis haben, um unsere GraphQL-Mutationen, Abfragen und Abonnements zu speichern.

Wir werden auch einen assets-Ordner haben, in dem unsere Bilder gespeichert werden.

folder structure

Erstellen und Konfigurieren des React Native Client

Schauen Sie sich als Referenz den endgültigen Code für diese App im Tutorial GitHub repo an, aber ich werde einige der Schritte skizzieren, die ich unternommen habe, um die App von Grund auf neu zu erstellen.

Zuerst haben wir mit Expo eine neue React Native-Anwendung erstellt.

Im neu erstellten Projekt haben wir unsere Abhängigkeiten installiert. Für die GraphQL- und AppSync-Funktionalität haben wir die folgenden Abhängigkeiten verwendet:

Wir haben auch folgende Abhängigkeiten für das UI-Design verwendet:

Außerdem wurde eine der Vector Icons-Bibliotheken installiert, die wir verknüpft haben:

Nach der Installation unserer Abhängigkeiten haben wir die Datei AppSync.js von unserer AppSync-Konsole heruntergeladen. In unserer AppSync-Projektkonsole haben wir unten React Native ausgewählt und auf die orangefarbene Schaltfläche Herunterladen geklickt, um diese Konfigurationsdatei herunterzuladen.

Diese Konfigurationsdatei enthält die AppSync-Clientinformationen, die zum Erstellen eines neuen Clients erforderlich sind.

Provider und Store konfigurieren

Auf der obersten Ebene der App werden wir unsere Konfiguration vornehmen, um die AppSync-API mit dem React Native-Client zu verbinden. Wenn Sie zuvor Redux oder React Apollo verwendet haben, ist dies alles bekannt. Wenn Sie dies nicht getan haben, denken Sie daran, dass jedes Kind eines Provider, in unserem Fall der ApolloProvider, Zugriff auf die angegebenen Funktionen hat.

Der folgende Code ist unsere neue App.js-Datei, die die Hauptkomponente ist, die von unserem Einstiegspunkt index.js importiert wird.

In dieser Datei richten wir einen neuen AppSync-Client ein, indem wir eine Kombination aus dem AWSAppSyncClient-Konstruktor von aws-appsync und der Konfiguration in unserer Datei aws-exports.js verwenden, die die URL, Region, den Authentifizierungstyp und die GraphQL-API-URL bereitstellt Authentifizierungs-API-Schlüssel.

Anschließend verpacken wir unseren Haupteinstiegspunkt, die Tabs.js-Datei, die unsere Tab-Navigation enthält, in einen ApolloProvider und übergeben den AppSync-Client als Client-Requisite. Wir verpacken die Tabs-Komponente auch in eine Rehydrated-Komponente, die wir aus aws-appsync-react importieren. Dadurch wird sichergestellt, dass wir aus dem asynchronen Speicher gelesen und unseren Cache rehydriert haben, bevor wir die Benutzeroberfläche rendern.

Jetzt kann unsere App Daten von unserem AppSync-Endpunkt abfragen und auch Mutationen und Abonnements durchführen!

Navigation

Der Haupteinstiegspunkt der App ist eine Navigation mit Registerkarten, die in der Datei Tabs.js mit React Navigation implementiert ist.

Wir haben hier einen TabNavigator mit zwei Registerkarten erstellt und exportiert. Diese sind:

  1. Cities - Diese Komponente listet unsere Städte auf und ist an und für sich eine Navigatorkomponente. Diese Komponente ist ein Navigator, da wir in der Lage sein möchten, zu jeder einzelnen Stadt zu navigieren und die Standorte innerhalb der Stadt anzuzeigen.
  2. AddCity - Diese Komponente ist ein Formular, mit dem wir neue Städte hinzufügen können.

Wiederverwendbare Komponenten

Diese App hat nur eine wiederverwendbare Komponente, einen benutzerdefinierten TextInput. Da wir diesen Stil und diese Funktionalität immer wieder duplizieren werden, haben wir beschlossen, ihn zu einer eigenen Komponente zu machen. Die Eingabekomponente ist in Input.js implementiert.

Städteliste und Stadtnavigation

Die Hauptansicht der App ist eine Liste der Städte, die wir aus GraphQL abrufen werden. Wir möchten in der Lage sein, von jeder aufgelisteten Stadt zu einer Detailansicht dieser Stadt zu navigieren, in der wir Standorte hinzufügen können.

Dazu machen wir Cities.js zu einem eigenen StackNavigator und City.js zu der Komponente, zu der wir bei der Auswahl einer Stadt navigieren. Wenn Sie auf eine Stadt in Cities klicken, geben wir ihren Namen und ihre ID als Requisiten an City weiter.

Cities.js

In dieser Komponente rufen wir mithilfe der listCities-Abfrage ab und abonnieren auch das NewCitySubscription, sodass wir beim Hinzufügen einer neuen Stadt, auch von einem anderen Client, dieses Abonnement bearbeiten und unser Array von Städten aktualisieren. Die Abfrage listCities stellt eine Reihe von Städten in unserer Komponente als this.props.cities zur Verfügung.

City.js

In dieser Komponente wird uns eine Stadt als Requisiten aus der Navigation übergeben (verfügbar als props.navigation.state.params.city). Wir verwenden den Stadt-id-Wert, um die Liste der Standorte für die ausgewählte Stadt mithilfe der Abfrage listLocations abzurufen. Wir abonnieren neue Standorte auf ähnliche Weise wie wir neue Städte in Cities.js mit dem NewLocationSubscription-Abonnement abonniert haben. Wir bieten auch optimisticResponse und update funktionen für das Hinzufügen einer neuen Stadt. Optimistische Reaktion

Städte hinzufügen

Schließlich müssen wir die Funktionalität zum Hinzufügen neuer Städte zu unserer GraphQL-API in der Datei AddCity.js implementieren. Zu diesem Zweck haben wir eine Mutation zusammen mit einem Formular verkabelt, das createCity aufruft und den Wert der Formulareingabe übergibt.

AddCity verfügt über eine onAdd-Funktion, die wir in unserer GraphQL-Komposition definieren. Sie schreibt nicht nur eine neue Stadt in unsere GraphQL-Datenbank, sondern implementiert auch eine optimistische Benutzeroberfläche mit einer Kombination aus optimisticResponse und update.

Mutationen, Abfragen und Abonnements

Mutationen, Abfragen und Abonnements sind die Kernfunktionen für die Integration in unsere GraphQL-API. In unserer App wird diese Funktionalität mithilfe des AppSync-Clients in den Dateien Cities.js, City.js und AddCity.js implementiert.

Schauen wir uns genauer an, wie Mutationen, Abfragen und Abonnements in unserem Code implementiert sind.

Abfragen

Schauen wir uns zunächst an, wie Sie eine GraphQL-Abfrage erstellen und exportieren, die mit der listCities-Abfrage in unserem AppSync-Schema interagieren kann. Dieser Code ist in der Datei src/queries/ListCities.js enthalten.

Danach importieren wir diese Abfrage zusammen mit einigen Helfern von react-apollo in die Datei Cities.js und verbinden die Komponente, auf die wir Zugriff auf diese Daten haben möchten, mit compose und graphql von react-apollo.

Jetzt haben wir von unserem GraphQL-Server aus als Requisite Zugriff auf das Städte-Array. Wir können this.props.cities verwenden, um das von GraphQL eingehende Städte-Array abzubilden.

Mutationen

Um eine Mutation zu erstellen, müssten wir zuerst eine grundlegende GraphQL-Mutation erstellen und exportieren. Wir tun dies in der Datei src/mutations/CreateCity.js.

Neu können wir diese Mutation (zusammen mit den Apollo-Helfern) in die Datei AddCity.js importieren und in einer Komponente verwenden:

Jetzt haben wir Zugriff auf eine Requisite namens onAdd, die wir an ein Objekt übergeben, das wir an die Mutation senden möchten!

Abonnements

Mit Abonnements können wir Datenänderungen abonnieren und in Echtzeit in unserer Anwendung aktualisieren. Wenn wir unsere Datenbank durch Hinzufügen oder Entfernen einer Stadt ändern möchten, möchten wir, dass unsere App in Echtzeit aktualisiert wird.

Zuerst müssen wir die Mutation erstellen und exportieren, damit wir im Client darauf zugreifen können. Wir speichern dies in der Datei src/subscriptionsNewCitySubscriptions.js.

Jetzt können wir das Abonnement in die Cities.js importieren und anhängen. Wir haben uns bereits angesehen, wie wir die Städte von unserer API erhalten können. Lassen Sie uns nun diese Funktionalität aktualisieren, um neue Änderungen zu abonnieren und das Städte-Array zu aktualisieren, wenn eine neue Stadt hinzugefügt wird.

Wir fügen eine neue Requisite namens subscribeToNewCities hinzu, die wir in componentDidMount aufrufen. Im Abonnement übergeben wir ein Dokument (die Abonnementdefinition) und updateQuery, um zu beschreiben, was bei dieser Aktualisierung geschehen soll.

Wir zerstören createCity (mit der Mutation) aus den Requisiten, die an die updateQuery-Funktion übergeben werden, und geben alle vorhandenen Werte zusammen mit einem aktualisierten listCities-Array zurück, das die vorherigen Städte zusammen mit den neuen Stadtdaten enthält, die wir von createCity erhalten.

Optimistische Benutzeroberfläche

Was ist, wenn wir nicht darauf warten möchten, dass das Abonnement die aktuellsten Daten von unserer API zurückgibt, um unsere Benutzeroberfläche zu aktualisieren?

Wenn ein Benutzer eine neue Stadt erstellt, möchten wir sie automatisch zum Städte-Array hinzufügen und in unserer App rendern lassen, bevor wir eine Bestätigung vom Back-End-Service erhalten.

Wir können dies leicht mit ein paar Techniken und Funktionen tun.

Aktualisieren wir unsere AddCityMutation auf Folgendes (Sie können diesen Code in der Quelldatei AddCity.js anzeigen):

Hier haben wir dem Argumentobjekt für die Mutationsfunktion zwei neue Eigenschaften hinzugefügt:

  1. optimisticResponse definiert die neue Antwort, die in der Aktualisierungsfunktion verfügbar sein soll
  2. Für die update werden zwei Argumente verwendet: der Proxy (mit dem Sie aus dem Cache lesen können) und die Daten, die Sie für die Aktualisierung verwenden möchten. Wir lesen den aktuellen Cache (proxy.readQuery), fügen unser neues Element dem Array von Elementen hinzu und schreiben dann zurück in den Cache, der unsere Benutzeroberfläche aktualisiert hat.

Abschluss

GraphQL wird immer mehr zum Mainstream. Ein Großteil der Komplexität von GraphQL hängt mit der Verwaltung des Backends und der API-Schicht zusammen. Tools wie AppSync abstrahieren diese Komplexität jedoch, sodass Entwickler nicht mehr die meiste Zeit mit der Konfiguration und Arbeit am Server verbringen müssen.

Ich freue mich auf viel mehr Innovation in diesem Bereich und kann es kaum erwarten zu sehen, was wir 2018 noch sehen werden!

Wenn Sie AppSync zusammen mit dem Serverless Framework verwenden möchten, lesen Sie diese großartige Einführung in die Verwendung der beiden zusammen.

Wenn Sie mehr über AWS AppSync erfahren möchten, empfehlen wir Ihnen einen Blick auf die AppSync-Homepage und die Dokumentation zum Erstellen eines GraphQL-Clients.

Wenn Sie zu diesem Projekt beitragen möchten, können Sie sich mit unserem GitHub-Repo verbinden. Wenn Sie Ideen haben, senden Sie uns bitte eine PR oder verwenden Sie diese App als Starter für Ihr nächstes React Native GraphQL-Projekt!

In der Zwischenzeit können Sie einige unserer anderen React Native-Tutorials hier auf Envato Tuts+ lesen!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. React Native
Code

Code an App With GraphQL, React Native and AWS AppSync: The App

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

In these tutorials, I'm showing you how to create and interact with a GraphQL database using AWS AppSync and React Native. This app will have real-time and offline functionality, something we get out of the box with AppSync. 

In the previous post, we set up our GraphQL back-end with the Amazon AppSync service. Check it out if you haven't already. Or, if you want an introduction to GraphQL, take a look at some of our other posts.

In this post, we'll wrap it all up by walking through the build of the React Native client. The project is a bit too complicated to walk you through step by step, but I'll explain the project architecture and show you the key parts of the source code.

Overview of the App Architecture and Folder Structure

Our application will have a main entry point that will consist of two tabbed views. One tab will list the cities from our GraphQL database, and the other will be the input form to add a new city. The Cities tab will be a navigator that will allow the user to navigate to the individual cities.

We will store the main components in the source folder, and will have other folders in the src directory to hold our GraphQL mutations, queries, and subscriptions.

We will also have an assets folder to hold our images.

folder structure

Creating and Configuring the React Native Client

For reference, take a look at the final code for this app in the tutorial GitHub repo, but I'll outline some of the steps I took to create the app from scratch.

First, we created a new React Native application using Expo

Once in the newly created project, we installed our dependencies. For the GraphQL and AppSync functionality, we used the following dependencies:

We also used the following dependencies for the UI design:

Also, once the Vector Icons library was installed, we linked it:

After installing our dependencies, we downloaded the AppSync.js file from our AppSync console. In our AppSync project console, we chose React Native at the bottom, and clicked on the orange Download button to download this config file.

downloading the AppSyncjs file from our AppSync console

This config file holds the AppSync client information we needed to create a new client. 

Configuring the Provider and Store

The top level of the app is where we will do our configuration to wire up the AppSync API with the React Native client. If you have used Redux or React Apollo before, this will all be familiar. If you have not, just remember that any child of a Provider, in our case the ApolloProvider, will have access to its given functionality. 

The following code is our new App.js file, which is the main component imported from our index.js entrypoint.

In this file, we are setting up a new AppSync client using a combination of the AWSAppSyncClient constructor from aws-appsync as well as the configuration in our aws-exports.js file, which provides the GraphQL API URL, region, authentication type, and authentication API key.

We then wrap our main entrypoint, the Tabs.js file which will hold our tab navigation, in an ApolloProvider and pass in the AppSync client as the client prop. We also wrap the Tabs component in a Rehydrated component that we import from aws-appsync-react. This will make sure that we have read from async storage and have rehydrated our cache before rendering the UI.

Now our app will be able to query data from our AppSync endpoint, and also to perform mutations and subscriptions!

Navigation

The main entry point of the app is a tabbed navigation, implemented in the Tabs.js file with React Navigation.

What we've done here is create and export a TabNavigator with two tabs. These are:

  1. Cities: This component lists our cities, and it is a navigator component in and of itself. This component is a navigator because we want to be able to navigate to each individual city and view the locations within the city.
  2. AddCity: This component is a form for us to be able to add new cities.
The Cities screen in the app

Reusable Components

This app has only one reusable component, a customized TextInput. Since we will be duplicating this style and functionality over and over, we decided to make it its own component. The input component is implemented in Input.js.

Cities List and City Navigation

The main view of the app is a list of cities that we will be retrieving from GraphQL. We want to be able to navigate from each listed city to a detail view of that city where we can add locations.

To do this, we make Cities.js its own StackNavigator, and City.js the component we navigate to when choosing a city. When clicking on a city in Cities, we pass its name and id as props to City.

Cities.js

In this component, we are fetching using the listCities query, and we are also subscribing to the NewCitySubscription, so that when a new city is added, even from another client, we'll handle that subscription and update our array of cities. The listCities query makes an array of cities available in our component as this.props.cities.

City.js

In this component, we are passed a city as props from navigation (available as props.navigation.state.params.city). We use the city id value to fetch the list of locations for the chosen city using the listLocations query. We subscribe to new locations in a similar way to how we subscribed to new cities in Cities.js, using the NewLocationSubscription subscription. We also provide optimisticResponse and update functions for when a new city is added. 

Adding Cities

Finally, we need to implement the functionality for adding new cities to our GraphQL API in the AddCity.js file. To do this, we have wired up a mutation along with a form that will call createCity, passing the value of the form input.

AddCity has an onAdd function that we define in our GraphQL composition, which not only writes a new city to our GraphQL database, but also implements an optimistic UI using a combination of optimisticResponse and update.

Mutations, Queries, and Subscriptions

Mutations, queries, and subscriptions are the core functionality for integrating with our GraphQL API. In our app, this functionality is implemented in the Cities.js, City.js, and AddCity.js files using the AppSync client.

Let's take a closer look at how mutations, queries, and subscriptions are implemented in our code.

Queries

First, let's look at how to create and export a GraphQL query that could interact with the listCities query in our AppSync Schema. This code is contained in the src/queries/ListCities.js file.

Next, we import this query in the Cities.js file, along with some helpers from react-apollo, and wire up the component that we would like to have access to this data using compose and graphql from react-apollo.

Now we have access to the cities array from our GraphQL server as a prop. We can use this.props.cities to map over the cities array coming in from GraphQL.

Mutations

To create a mutation, first we need to create a basic GraphQL mutation and export it. We do this in the src/mutations/CreateCity.js file.

Now we can import this mutation (along with the Apollo helpers) in the AddCity.js file and use it in a component: 

Now, we have access to a prop called onAdd, which we pass an object we would like to send to the mutation!

Subscriptions

Subscriptions allow us to subscribe to data changes and have them update in our application in real time. If we were to change our database by adding or removing a city, we would like our app to update in real time.

First, we need to create the mutation and export it so we can have access to it within the client. We save this in the src/subscriptionsNewCitySubscriptions.js file.

Now we can import and attach the subscription in Cities.js. We already looked at how to get the cities from our API. Let's now update this functionality to subscribe to new changes and update the cities array when a new city is added.

We add a new prop called subscribeToNewCities, which we call in componentDidMount. In the subscription, we pass in a document (the subscription definition) and updateQuery to describe what we want to happen when this updates.

We destructure createCity (containing the mutation) from the props that are passed into the updateQuery function, and return all existing values along with an updated listCities  array containing the previous cities along with the new city data that we get from createCity.

Optimistic UI

What if we don't want to wait for the subscription to return the most up-to-date data from our API in order to update our UI?

If a user creates a new city, we want to automatically add it the cities array and have it render in our app before receiving confirmation from the back-end service.

We can do that easily using a few techniques and functions.

Let's update our AddCityMutation to the following (you can view this code in the AddCity.js source file):

Here, we've added two new properties to the mutate function argument object:

  1. optimisticResponse defines the new response you would like to have available in the update function.
  2. update takes two arguments, the proxy (which allows you to read from the cache) and the data you would like to use to make the update. We read the current cache (proxy.readQuery), add it our new item to the array of items, and then write back to the cache, which updated our UI.

Conclusion

GraphQL is becoming more and more mainstream. Much of the complexity surrounding GraphQL has to do with managing the back end and the API layer. However, tools like AppSync abstract away this complexity, freeing developers from spending most of their time configuring and working on the server.

I look forward to much more innovation in this space, and can't wait to see what else we will see in 2018!

If you're interested in using AppSync along with the Serverless framework, check out this great introduction to using the two of them together.

If you would like to learn more about AWS AppSync, I would suggest taking a look at the AppSync homepage and the documentation for building a GraphQL client.

If you want to contribute to this project, you can connect to our GitHub repo. If you have any ideas, feel free to send us a PR, or use this app as a starter for your next React Native GraphQL project!

And in the meantime, check out some of our other React Native tutorials here on Envato Tuts+!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.