Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. WordPress

Débuter avec WordPress : Premiers pas avec votre nouveau site Web

Scroll to top
Read Time: 12 min
This post is part of a series called Beginning With WordPress.
Beginning With WordPress: Installing WordPress Manually
Beginning With WordPress: Preparing to Customise Your Theme Using a Child Theme

French (Français) translation by Henri Lotin (you can also view the original English article)

Eh bien... pourriez-vous jeter un œil à ça... un tout nouveau site WordPress ! Astucieux, va ! Vous êtes-vous déjà connecté ? Si c'est le cas, vous pourriez être assis en train de regarder le tableau de bord vous demandant ce que le diable vous faites ensuite... alors, permettez-moi de vous aider avec ça ! (Je parie que vous vous demandez ce que diable est un tableau de bord, c’est ok, tout deviendra clair.)

Dans ce tutoriel, nous allons présenter le tableau de bord et etudier les premiers petits paramètres que vous devez ajuster lorsque vous configurez votre site pour la première fois, et nous allons terminer la leçon d’aujourd'hui avec les bases absolues sur la création de vos premièrs pages et articles (y compris un peu d'explication sur les différences entre les deux).


Avant de commencer

Vous aurez besoin :

  • Vos accès de connexion pour votre site WordPress.

Voici un aperçu de ce que nous verrons aujourd'hui :

  1. Présentation du tableau de bord
  2. Quelques réglages généraux de base
  3. Cartographie de la structure de votre site
  4. Mise au point sur les articles et les pages (différents types de contenu)
  5. Création d’une page
  6. Création d’un article
  7. Configuration de pages statiques pour l’accueil et le blog

Présentation du tableau de bord

Dashboard-tut4_1Dashboard-tut4_1Dashboard-tut4_1

OK, lorsque vous vous connectez dans votre site pour la première fois, vous serez redirigé vers le tableau de bord, le panneau de commande de base d'où vous administrerez votre site. De là, il y a un tas d’endroits auxquels vous allez vous familiariser assez rapidement lorsque vous commencez à gérer le contenu. Une des choses que vous remarquerez dans WordPress est qu’il y a souvent plusieurs façons d’arriver au même endroit, la façon dont vous l’utilisez dépendra de ce qui fonctionne pour vous. Commençons par une petite répétition rapide.

Tout en haut de la page se trouve la barre Admin, et comme souvent dans WordPress, le contenu dans cette barre est sensible au contexte, ce qui apparaît dans cette zone dépendra d'où vous vous trouvez dans WordPress. Si vous êtes dans le tableau de bord, comme c'est le cas pour nous dans cette première image, vous serez en mesure de survoler les liens dans la barre d’administration et d'accédez aux zones suivantes :

AdminBar-tut4_3.pngAdminBar-tut4_3.pngAdminBar-tut4_3.png
  1. Le logo de WP vous indique des liens vers l’aide utile (voir Fig. 2).
  2. Le titre du site (dans mon cas, « My New Website ») conduit à un aperçu de votre site publié.
  3. Commentaires prêts pour la publication  comments-tut4_2 (pas de commentaires actuellement nécessitant notre attention)
  4. Nouveaut contenu / utilisateurs
  5. Votre propre gestion des utilisateurs et le bouton de déconnexion .

Si vous êtes ailleurs dans le site, les options disponibles dans la barre d’administration vont changer. Voici à quoi elle ressemble sur le front-end (tous les autres boutons restent les mêmes) :

AdminBar_2-tut4_4AdminBar_2-tut4_4AdminBar_2-tut4_4

Maintenant, plutôt que de se concentrer sur la présentation des différentes parties des menus et les barres latérales comme elles se lisent de haut en bas, nous allons mettre l’accent sur les choses qu'il est intelligent de faire dès le départ ; choses qui aident à préparer votre site pour le marché, au lieu d'apprendre comment faire du WordPress.

Alors, allez-y et cliquez sur le lien « Réglages » au bas de ce menu de la barre latérale.


Quelques réglages généraux de base

Tout d’abord, nous allons définir la date et le fuseau horaire pour votre site.

Timezone-tut4_5Timezone-tut4_5Timezone-tut4_5

Lorsque vous arrivez sur la page Réglages, vous verrez le paramétrage du fuseau horaire à mi-chemin vers le bas. Vous pouvez choisir de définir le fuseau horaire selon votre temps par rapport à UTC ou vous pouvez pouvez faire défiler la liste pour trouver votre ville et réglez le temps avec (l’avantage de ceci est que cela va changer avec l’heure d’été). Vous pouvez voir ici que j’ai mis le fuseau horaire à Melbourne - le code de UTC équivalent serait + 10.

Ensuite, nous allons modifier les paramètres de permalien. Cela modifie l’URL sur notre site à partir de l’id par défaut de la publication (par exemple ?p=123) pour afficher quelque chose d'un peu plus significatif pour aussi bien les lecteurs que les moteurs de recherche. Dans ce cas, nous utilisons uniquement le nom de la publication pour nos permaliens.

Permalinks-tut4_6Permalinks-tut4_6Permalinks-tut4_6

Maintenant que les bases sont bonnes, jetons un œil à l’ajout de contenu.


Cartographier la structure de votre site

Maintenant, une des choses que je vois se passer avec les nouveaux sites WordPress est que les gens se lancent et commencent la création de pages et d'articles sans vraiment avoir un plan d’attaque clair, et si votre site est un projet ludique qui porte sur le fait de se familiariser avec bricoler dans WordPress, alors cela pourrait être très bien. Toutefois, si vous avez des plans pour votre site, il est bien préférable d’avoir un plan pour votre contenu et une structure pour votre site avant de plonger et créer des choses bon gré, mal gré.

Pour ce premier exemple de site, qui est un site de blog personnel, nous avons un ensemble de différents types de contenu que nous allons utiliser, et nous avons une structure de site à l’esprit qui ressemble à ceci :

  • Accueil - Une liste de mes derniers articles de blog
  • Page À propos - Pourquoi ce site existe avec une courte bio sur le propriétaire du site
  • Page de Contact - De manière prévisible où me trouver et comment entrer en contact.

La plupart des sites ressemblent à quelque chose de ce genre et le contenu évolue tout comme le site. Cependant, la manière dont vous structurez votre site peut très bien dépendre de comment vous êtes désireux de l’utiliser. Dans ce cas, c’est un blog personnel pour partager des pensées, des découvertes Internet cools, des citations et vidéos préférées, etc. Mais votre site peut être un site d’entreprise et votre blog peut être secondaire et ne nécessite pas une place à la première page. Configurez votre site pour ce qui nécessite un changement de réglage, mais avant d’y aller, nous allons parler des différences entre les articles et les pages, alors vous seriez mieux placé pour définir la manière dont vous allez structurer votre première page.


Comprendre les articles et les pages (c'est-à-dire les différents types de contenu)

Articles et pages sont tous les deux des types de contenu, et même s'ils ont beaucoup de similitudes il y a aussi quelques différences spécifiques à chaque type de contenu. Pour faire simple, les différences ne sont pas contraires à différents types de publications : les pages sont comme des livres, les articles ressemblent à des magazines.

Assez, non ?

OK, nous allons creuser un peu plus.

Les pages contiennent généralement du contenu qui est assez stable ; une fois que vous avez publié, alors vous pourriez être en mesure de le changer, ce n’est pas quelque chose que vous allez devoir modifier régulièrement. Elle ne sont pas sensibles au temps et elles restent à leur place et habituellement auront une place dans votre menu.

Les pages sont comme un livre sur l’étagère, leur contenu est utile à long terme. Elles sont peu susceptibles de beaucoup changer, ou très souvent, et elles sont facilement accessibles pour référence.

Les pages peuvent également être construites hiérarchiquement dans la structure de votre site et vous pouvez leur appliquer différents types de modèles de mise en pages selon les modèles disponibles dans votre thème (et oui, il semble que c'est là que la métaphore se termine).

Sample-Page-tut4_7Sample-Page-tut4_7Sample-Page-tut4_7

Les articles sont quant à eux sensibles au temps, ils peuvent être classés, ils figureront également dans votre flux RSS (les gens peuvent s’y abonner). Ils sont affichés sur votre page de blog, ou page d'accueil, dans l’ordre chronologique inverse et ils sont moins susceptibles de figurer dans votre menu en raison de leur nature plus jetable.

Vous voyez ? Tout comme un magazine...  sensible au temps, généralement empilés dans l’ordre avec le plus récent sur le dessus, classés par date et type de contenu et généralement plus intéressant, à court terme que long.

Sample-Post-tut4_8Sample-Post-tut4_8Sample-Post-tut4_8

Si c’est plus facile d’avoir une représentation visuelle de ce à quoi ils ressemblent, voici une vue graphique dans laquelle vous pouvez voir où se croisent les types de contenu et où il existe des différences.

Infographic - Posts and Pages Compared - WordPressInfographic - Posts and Pages Compared - WordPressInfographic - Posts and Pages Compared - WordPress
Une comparaison des articles et des pages via Kristarella

Création d’une page

Donc, il y a plusieurs endroits, dans lesquels vous pouvez aller pour créer une page. Vous pouvez commencer avec la barre Admin et cliquer le lien Ajouter alors une liste déroulante apparaîtra, et de l’un des éléments que vous pourrez créer à partir de là, il y a page. Si vous êtes dans le Tableau de bord, vous pouvez également cliquer sur le lien pages dans le menu latéral et choisissez Ajouter page à partir de là. OU, si vous avez cliqué sur le lien Pages vous pouvez vous retrouver dans la section des listes de pages, vous pouvez voir un lien en haut de celui qui dit Ajouter.

Add-page_1-tut4_9Add-page_1-tut4_9Add-page_1-tut4_9

Chacun de ces liens fera la même chose, ouvrir la fenêtre de l’éditeur de page.

Il y a beaucoup sur cette fenêtre qui doit être raisonnablement sensée. Si vous êtes familiarisé avec le traitement de texte, alors les options dans la boîte de saisie doivent être suffisamment claires. Placez votre curseur dans la section de l’éditeur et commencez à taper ! Pour ajouter un paragraphe à la fin de votre texte, appuyez simplement sur retour chariot ou entrer, si vous voulez seulement aller vers le bas d'un demi-pas, appuyez sur Maj et entrée/retour  chariot pour simplement mettre dans un saut de ligne.

Lorsque votre contenu apparaît comme vous le souhaitez alors cliquez sur publier, si vous n’êtes pas prêt à publier et voulez enregistrer votre contenu pour y revenir plus tard alors appuyez simplement sur le bouton enregistrer le brouillon.

Si vous voulez jeter un coup d’oeil à ce à quoi ressemblera votre page quand vous l'aurez publiée, alors cliquez sur le bouton Aperçu (logique, non ?). Allez-y et donnez-lui le tournis... Je vais attendre...

Add-Page-tut4_10Add-Page-tut4_10Add-Page-tut4_10

Lorsque vous avez créé votre page À propos et que vous en êtes satisfaits, alors répétez le processus et créez une page Contact.

Une fois vous l'avez fait alors projetez-vous sur Aller sur le site pour jeter un oeil à vos nouvelles pages !

Published-Page-tut4_11Published-Page-tut4_11Published-Page-tut4_11

Vous remarquerez peut-être que vos nouvelles pages ont été publiées dans le menu par défaut et sont répertoriées dans l’ordre de leur création, avec la plus récente à l’avant. Nous allons aborder comment modifier et personnaliser des menus dans un prochain didacticiel, en attendant, nous allons ajouter un nouvel article - et voici un secret... bien qu’il n’y a aucun bouton pour l'accueil dans le menu (nous l'ajouterons plus tard) cliquez sur le titre pour revenir à la page d’accueil de votre site.

Pendant que vous y êtes, cliquez sur le bouton Ajouter et cliquez sur Article.


Création d’un article

La plupart des éléments de cette page devrait sembler assez familiers, non ? Il y a des différences significatives, mais les similitudes importantes sont le champ de l’éditeur et la section publication.

Add-Post-tut4_12Add-Post-tut4_12Add-Post-tut4_12

Les différentes zones permettent différents types de formats d'articles et différentes façons de classer vos publications selon des catégories. Nous allons décortiquer les formats d'articles dans le didacticiel suivant, pour l’instant concentrons-nous juste sur la classification de nos articles. Comme c’est le moment l'article est défini pour la catégorie « Non classé » par défaut. Nous verrons comment modifier cela dans le prochain tutoriel aussi bien.

Mais, comme vous y allez, vous êtes maintenant en voie pour la création de la structure et du contenu pour votre site Web ! Félicitations !!

Mais, vous pouvez avoir une dernière chose que vous êtes désireux de faire, et il serait erroné pour moi de vous laisser en plan, que se passe-t-il si votre site n’est pas un blog ? ! OK, penchons-nous sur la configuration de votre site avec une page d’accueil statique.


Configuration de pages statiques pour l'accueil et les pages de blog

Donc, maintenant vous savez comment créer des pages et des articles, et vous pourriez avoir des pensées au sujet de comment vous voulez voir votre première page structurée. Si vous êtes satisfait de l’avoir lister vos articles alors vous pouvez arrêter ce tutoriel à ce stade et vous joindre à nous la prochaine fois, mais si vous êtes désireux de savoir comment configurer votre affichage de page d'accueil comme page statique et une page de blog séparée, alors continuez à lire.

Alors, disons que la structure de notre site ressemble moins à ce qui précède et ressemble plus à ceci :

  • Accueil - Page statique introductive
  • Page À propos - Pourquoi ce site existe avec une courte bio sur le propriétaire du site
  • Page Services - Une liste des services que j’offre
  • Page Blog - Une liste de mes derniers articles de blog ou d'actualités
  • Page Contact - Prévisiblement où me trouver et comment me contacter

Afin de changer où apparaît notre liste de blog et avoir une page statique pour votre première page, il faut en fait créer les pages statiques, et c’est facile. En suivant les mêmes instructions que ci-dessus, créez trois nouvelles pages. Nous les appellerons Accueil, Blog et Services juste pour rendre les choses faciles. Je n’y ai mis aucun contenu, en effet, ne mettez rien sur la page du blog, mais vous aurez besoin d’ajouter du contenu aux pages Accueil et Services lorsque vous êtes prêt.

Pages-Listing-tut4_13Pages-Listing-tut4_13Pages-Listing-tut4_13

Quand cela est fait, vous devez accéder aux Réglages des paramètres de lecture - lorsque vous avez trouvé que le changement de la case d’option qui est actuellement affectée à « Vos derniers articles » pour refléter les pages que vous voulez définir comme page d’accueil et page des articles. Vous devriez être en mesure de voir pourquoi nous avions besoin de créer d’abord les pages.

Reading-Setting-tut4_14Reading-Setting-tut4_14Reading-Setting-tut4_14

Une fois vous avez fait cela alors cliquez sur Enregistrer les modifications et dirigez-vous vers votre page d'accueil pour voir vos modifications en action.

Voyez-vous ça ! Voici ma page d’accueil statique sans contenu à l'intérieur :

Homepage-tut4_15Homepage-tut4_15Homepage-tut4_15

Et voici ma page de blog :

Blogpage-tut4_16Blogpage-tut4_16Blogpage-tut4_16

OK, nous avons quelques rangement à faire. Nous allons devoir supprimer les commentaires de pages statiques pour commencer, nous allons aussi à devoir modifier le menu, mais c’est assez pour aujourd'hui. Nous allons arriver à certains de ces peaufinages de site la prochaine fois !


Conclusion

Demarrer votre projet de site Web avec un peu d’un plan quant à comment votre site va être structuré permettra d’économiser beaucoup de tracas à long terme dans lesquels vous pourriez vous retrouver à écrire et réécrire des articles et des pages pour rendre le site conforme à votre contenu.

Planifier d’abord, puis construisez la structure de votre site selon le type de contenu qui sied aux pages ou aux articles ou d’un mélange des deux.

Advertisement
Did you find this post useful?
Want a weekly email summary?
Subscribe below and we’ll send you a weekly email summary of all new Code tutorials. Never miss out on learning about the next big thing.
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
WP101 Training

Beginning With WordPress: First Steps With Your New Website

by

Well… would you look at at that… a whole new WordPress site! Clever you! Have you logged in yet? If so, you might be sitting looking at the Dashboard wondering what the heck you do next…  so, let me help you with that! (Failing that you're wondering what on earth a Dashboard is, that's ok, all will become clear.)

In this tutorial we're going to introduce the Dashboard and go over the first few settings you should adjust when you are setting up your site for the first time, and we'll finish today's lesson with the absolute basics on creating your first pages and posts (including a bit of a look at the differences between the two).


Before We Start

You'll need:

  • Your log in credentials for your WordPress site.

Here's an outline of what we'll be looking at today:

  1. Introducing the Dashboard
  2. Some basic general settings
  3. Mapping out your site structure
  4. Understanding posts and pages (different content types)
  5. Creating a page
  6. Creating a post
  7. Setting static pages for home and blog pages

Introducing the Dashboard

Dashboard-tut4_1

Ok, when you first log into your site you'll be redirected to the Dashboard, the basic control panel from which you will drive your site. From here there are a bunch of places you'll get familiar with fairly quickly as you begin to manage the content. One of the things you'll notice in WordPress is that there are often many ways to get to the same place, the way you use it will depend on what works for you. Let's start with a bit of a quick run through.

At the very top of the page is the Admin Bar, and as with most of WordPress, the content in this bar is context sensitive, as in, what appears in this area will depend on where you are within WordPress. If you are in the Dashboard, as we are in this first image, you'll be able to hover over the links in the admin bar and get access to the following areas:

AdminBar-tut4_3.png
  1. The WP logo shows you links to useful helps (See Fig. 2).
  2. The Site Title (in my case, "My New Website") leads to a published view of your site.
  3. Comments ready for publishing comments-tut4_2 (no comments currently requiring attention)
  4. New content / users
  5. Your own user management and log out button.

If you are elsewhere in the site, the options available in the Admin Bar will change. Here's how it looks in the front end (all the other buttons remain the same):

AdminBar_2-tut4_4

Now, rather than focus on running through the various parts of the sidebars and menus as they read from top to bottom, we're going to focus on the things that are smart to do from the get-go; things that help get your site ready for market rather than just learning how to do WordPress.

So go ahead and hit the 'Settings' link near the bottom of that sidebar menu.


Some Basic General Settings

First, let's set the date and timezone for your site.

Timezone-tut4_5

When you hit the settings page you'll see the Timezone setting halfway down. You can choose to set the timezone according to your time relative to UTC or you can can scroll up the list to find your city and set the time using that (the benefit of this is that it will change with Daylight Saving). You can see here that I've set the timezone to Melbourne - the equivalent UTC code would be +10.

Next we'll change the permalink settings. This alters the URLs on our site from the default post id (e.g ?p=123) to reflect something a bit more meaningful for both readers and for search engines. In this case we're using just the post name for our permalinks.

Permalinks-tut4_6

Now that the basics are good to go, let's look at adding content.


Mapping Out Your Site Structure

Now, one of the things I see happening with new WordPress sites is people diving in and creating pages and posts without really having any clear plan of attack, and if your site is a playful project that's about getting familiar with messing about in WordPress, well that might be fine. However, if you've got plans for your site, it is a much better practice to have a plan for your content and site structure before you dive in and create stuff willy nilly.

For this first example site, which is a personal blog site, we've a couple of different kinds of content we're going to want to use, and we've got a site structure in mind that looks something like this:

  • Home - A listing of my latest blog posts
  • About Page - Why this site exists with a short bio about the site owner
  • Contact Page - Predictably where to find me and how to get in touch

Most sites start out looking something like this and content evolves as the site does. However, the way you structure the site may well depend on how you're wanting to use it. In this case it's a personal blog for sharing thoughts, cool internet finds, favourite quotes and videos etc. But your site may be a business site and your blog may be secondary and not require a front page spot. Setting your site up for that requires a setting change, but before we go there we're going to talk about the differences between posts and pages, then you might be better placed to decide which way you're going to structure your front page.


Understanding Posts and Pages (i.e. Different Content Types)

Posts and Pages are both content types and while they have a lot of similarities there are also a few differences specific to each content type. To put it simply, the differences are not unlike different kinds of publications: Pages are like Books, Posts are like Magazines.

Enough, no?

OK, let's dig a little deeper.

Pages generally hold content that is fairly static; once you've published it, while you may wish to be able to change it, it isn't something that you're going to have to edit regularly. It isn't time sensitive and it remains in its place and usually will have a spot in your menu.

Pages are like a book on the bookshelf, their content is useful over the long term. They're unlikely to change much, or very often, and they're good to have easily accessible for reference.

Pages can also be built hierarchically in your site structure and you can apply different kinds of layout templates to them according to the templates available in your theme (and yes, this is kind of where the metaphor ends).

Sample-Page-tut4_7

Posts on the other hand are time sensitive, they may be categorised, they will also be included in your RSS feed (people may subscribe to them). They will be displayed on your blog page, or front page, in reverse chronological order and they're less likely to be needed to be included in your menu because of their more disposable nature.

See? Just like a magazine… time sensitive, usually stacked in order with the newest on the top, categorised by date and content type, and generally more interesting in the short term than the long.

Sample-Post-tut4_8

If it's easier to have a visual representation of how that looks, here's a graphic view in which you can see where there is cross over between the content types and where there are differences.

Infographic - Posts and Pages Compared - WordPress

A Comparison of Posts and Pages via Kristarella

Creating a Page

So, there are several places you can go to create a Page. You can start with the Admin bar and hit the New link up there and a list will drop down, and one of the items you can create from there is a Page. If you're in the Dashboard can also click on the Pages link in the Sidebar menu and choose the Add New page from there. OR, if you've clicked on the Pages link you may find yourself in the Pages listing section, you can see a link in the top of that which says Add New.

Add-page_1-tut4_9

Any of these links will do the same thing, open up the page editor window.

There's a lot about this window that should be reasonably sensible. If you're familiar with word processing, then the options in the edit box should be clear enough. Put your cursor into the editor section and start typing! To add a paragraph at the end of your text just hit return or enter, if you only want to drop down half a step, hit shift and enter/return to simply put in a line break.

When your content looks like you want it to then hit Publish, if you're not quite ready to publish and want save your content to come back to later then just hit the Save Draft button.

If you want to take a peek at what your page will look like when you've published it, then hit the Preview button (makes sense, right?). Go ahead and give it a whirl… I'll wait…

Add-Page-tut4_10

When you've created your About page and you're happy with that then repeat the process and create a Contact Page.

Once you've done that then head over to View Site to have a look at your new pages!

Published-Page-tut4_11

You may notice that your new pages have appeared in the menu by default and are listed in the order they're created, with the newest at the front. We'll get into how to edit and customise menus in a later tutorial, in the meantime, we're going to add a new post - and here's a secret… while there's no home button in the menu (we'll add that later) click on your site title to get back to the front page.

While you're there, click on the New button and choose Post.


Creating a Post

Most of this page should look pretty familiar, right? There are some significant differences, but the important similarities are the Editor field and the Publishing section.

Add-Post-tut4_12

The different areas allow for different kinds of Post Formats and various ways of classifying your posts according to categories. We'll break down Post Formats in the next tutorial, for now let's just focus on classifying our post. As it is at the moment the post is set to the default category of 'Uncategorized'. We'll look at how to edit that in the next tutorial as well.

But, there you go, you're now well underway for creating the basic structure and content for your website! Congratulations!!

But, you may have one more thing you're wanting to do, and it would be wrong for me to leave you hanging, what if your site's not a blog?! OK, let's look at structuring your site with a static front page.


Setting Static Pages for Home and Blog Pages

So, now you know how to create pages and posts, and you might be having thoughts about how you want your front page structured. If you're happy with having it listing your posts then you can bow out of the tutorial at this point and join us next time, but if you are wanting to know how to adjust your front page view for static page content and a separate blog page, then keep reading.

So, let's say our site structure looks less like the above and looks more like this:

  • Home - A static introductory page
  • About Page - Why this site exists with a short bio about the site owner
  • Services Page - A listing of the services I offer
  • Blog Page - A listing of my latest blog posts or news articles
  • Contact Page - Predictably where to find me and how to get in touch

In order to change where our blog listing happens and having a static page for your front page you have to actually create the static pages, and that’s easy. Following the same instructions as above, create three new pages. Call them Home, Blog, and Services just to make things easy. I haven't put any content in them, in fact, don't put anything on the blog page, but you will need to add content to the Home and Services pages when you're ready.

Pages-Listing-tut4_13

When that's done then you need to hit up the Reading Settings page - when you've found that change the radio button that's currently set to 'Your latest posts' to reflect the pages you want to become your Front Page and your Posts page. You might be able to see why we needed to create the pages first.

Reading-Setting-tut4_14

Once you've done that then hit Save Changes and hop over to your front page to see your changes in effect.

Would you look at that! Here's my static Home page with no content in it:

Homepage-tut4_15

And here's my blog page:

Blogpage-tut4_16

OK, we've got some tidying up to do. We're going to want to remove comments from static pages for a start, we're also going to want to tweak the menu, but that's enough for today. We'll get to some of those finer points of site tweaking next time!


Conclusion

Starting out your website project with a bit of a plan as to how your site's going to be structured will save a lot of long term hassle wherein you could find yourself writing and rewriting posts and pages to make the site conform to your content.

Plan first, then build your site structure according to the content type be that content fit for pages or posts or a mixture of the two.

Related Posts
  • Computer Skills
    App Training
    How to Turn Your Data Into Interactive Tables with SilkSilk preview image
    Data mining isn't just for corporations. Here's how you can use Silk to easily turn your data into interactive charts, tables, maps and more.Read More…
  • Code
    Tips
    The Beginner's Guide to Setting Static Front Pages in WordPressStaticfrontpage
    Typically, in a WordPress website, the home page shows the blogger's latest posts, but what if you wanted the homepage of your website to display the same page every time? For those of you who are just getting started with WordPress, then it's worth noting this is not only possible, but it's really easy.In this article, we'll talk about how to implement a static front page in WordPress as well as where it would and wouldn't be appropriate.Read More…
  • Code
    Theme Development
    Creating a WordPress Theme from Static HTML - Creating a Page TemplateCreating wordpress theme from html 400
    So far in this series, I've shown you how to create a fully functioning WordPress theme from static HTML. We've covered the following steps: preparing your markup for WordPress converting your HTML to PHP and splitting your file into template files editing the stylesheet and uploading your theme to WordPress adding a loop to your index file adding meta tags, the wp_head hook and the site title and description to your header file adding a navigation menu adding widget areas to the header and sidebar adding widget areas, a colophon and the wp_footer hook to the footer file. At the moment, your theme only has one template file for displaying content—the index.php file. A powerful feature of WordPress is the ability to use template files for different kinds of content.Read More…
  • Code
    Theme Development
    Creating a WordPress Theme from Static HTML: Adding NavigationCreating wordpress theme from html 400
    If you've been working through this series, you now have a working theme with template files which you've uploaded to WordPress. In this tutorial, you'll continue to work on the header.php file that you created in Part 2. You'll learn how to add a navigation menu which can be edited via the WordPress Menus admin screen. To do this you'll also need to create a new file for your theme: the functions file.Read More…
  • Code
    Theme Development
    Creating a WordPress Theme From Static HTML: Adding a LoopCreating wordpress theme from html 400
    In the first three parts of this series, you learned how to prepare static HTML for WordPress and to create a theme by splitting your HTML file into a set of template files and editing the stylesheet. You then uploaded your theme to WordPress and activated it. The theme still isn't displaying any content you add via the WordPress admin however; to do that you need to add a loop to your template files.Read More…
  • Business
    App Training
    How to Convert WordPress into a HelpdeskPreview supportdesk
    Questions are fantastic. Even questions from customers are great, though they can take up time to answer. Questions from our customers give us insight into what they want or need. Customer questions can help us come up with ideas for new products or services.Read More…