Unlimited Plugins, WordPress themes, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. WordPress
Code

WordPress Gutenberg Block API: 简介

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:MediumLanguages:
This post is part of a series called WordPress Gutenberg Block API.
WordPress Gutenberg Block API: Block Look and Feel

Chinese (Simplified) (中文(简体)) translation by Changmeng Hu (you can also view the original English article)

新的WordPress编辑器(代号为Gutenberg)将于5.0版本发布。 现在是在它进入WordPress核心之前掌握它的最佳时机。

我将向您展示如何使用块API(Block API)并创建您自己的内容块,您可以使用它们来构建您的文章和页面。

还没有确定何时发布WordPress 5.0的确切日期,但它应该会在接下来的几个月内完成。 在此之前,Gutenberg作为独立插件提供。

Gutenberg Plugin

如果你还没有试用过Gutenberg编辑器,我强烈建议你试试。 直接从您的WordPress管理员安装非常容易。 但是,由于这仍然是新编辑器的测试版,因此不建议您仅在生产站点上使用它。 暂时在本地开发站点上测试为好。

此外,如果您想要遵循本教程,安装Gutenberg是关键。 这样,您就可以尝试创建自己的自定义块。 新编辑器的开发在过去几个月中迅速加快,到目前为止已在2018年发布了几个版本。 在撰写本文时,最新版本的Gutenberg目前为2.7.0。

每个版本都会添加新功能,并根据用户反馈不断改进编辑器界面。 它开始看起来和感觉比以前的版本更光滑。 此外,还修复了许多错误,使编辑器更加强大。

Gutenberg提供了一种通过“块”构建文章内容的新方法,“块”可以堆叠在一起,形成一个完整的页面。 每个单独的块独立于其他块而存在,并且可以包含您想要的几乎任何标记、样式和JavaScript。

Gutenberg Editor

在本教程中,我们将介绍您需要了解的有关块API的所有信息,以便您可以立即开始创建自己的自定义块。 一旦掌握了基础知识,创建更复杂的块就比你想象的要容易!

由于另一个重要原因,Gutenberg项目对WordPress来说是个大新闻。 它建立在React之上。 这是正确的,这是第一次在WordPress中,React将被包含在核心中! 这对于主题和插件开发人员来说是个好消息,因为可以通过利用WordPress核心中包含的React和ReactDOM库轻松地将React添加到任何页面。

很快你就可以直接在React中为所有WordPress项目创建UI组件。 以前,如果您想使用React和ReactDOM库,则必须手动包含它们。 将它们放在核心使它更方便。

想想在React中完全创建一个插件选项界面会有多棒! 或者一些很酷的高级定制器控件? 这些新工具将为开发人员提供很多自由和灵活性,以创建一些出色的交互式用户界面。

我预计未来几年WordPress的开发将非常有趣!

到底什么是块?

新编辑器中“块”的概念是对当前基于TinyMCE的编辑器的真正转变,所以让我们在深入研究块API之前仔细研究一下“块”是什么。 将块视为盒子,每个盒子包含一堆标记、样式和JavaScript,所有这些都包含在称为“块”的实体中。

将块添加到编辑器时,它会显示前端外观的预览。 几乎所有块都具有进一步定制其外观和/或行为的设置。

默认情况下,新编辑器中的某些可用为:

  • 段落
  • 画廊
  • 列表
  • 引用
  • 代码
  • 表格
  • 按钮
  • 分栏

这使您可以使用新编辑器附带的块来添不同的内容类型到编辑器。 所有这些块类型都很有用但非常基本,所以期望大量的插件开始出现更全面的块,以添加您可以想到的几乎任何类型的内容。

您可能已经考虑过自己项目所需的一些内容块。 如果Gutenberg中没有这些都可用,那么它们可能是创建自己的自定义块的好选择。

我建议您尝试本教程系列中介绍的代码,因为这是了解如何使用块API创建自己的块的最佳方法。 通过阅读教程,首先要了解块API的工作原理,然后回过头来尝试一些代码并开始创建一些块!

先决条件

这是一个中级到高级的教程,需要你具备一定的WordPress开发经验。 为了充分利用本系列,您至少应具备以下方面的知识:

  • JavaScript (ES6+)
  • React (and ReactDom)
  • JSX
  • 命令行
  • Node/NPM
  • PHP
  • WordPress 插件/主题开发经验
  • WordPress 本地开发环境

如果你还没有完全了解这些话题,那么先去了解后再继续会更好。 我将继续解释概念,但是在每个细节只能是在教程范围之外自己去学习了。

通常的做法是使用JSX在WordPress中创建自定义块,但这并不是必需的。 如果你习惯用vanilla JavaScript开发React组件,你也可以在WordPress中这样做。 选择完全属于你。 但是,您将遇到的大多数块代码都将用JSX编写(包括本教程),因此如果您也使用JSX,您会发现理解概念更容易。

Gutenberg:仍在进行中

Gutenberg项目仍在不断发展,因此即使您阅读本教程,有些事情也可能会发生变化。 这可能包括对编辑器界面、新核心组件等的更改。

但是,新的编辑器现在非常稳定,最近添加的功能,如嵌套块和拖放重新排序非常令人兴奋。 即使有关如何实现块的一些细节可能会发生变化,重要的是要记住块的整体概念以及如何使用它们来创建任何类型的内容。

如果您遇到困难,我建议您查看Gutenberg官方手册,该手册会及时更新最新版本。 还可以查看GitHub上的Gutenberg项目,检查源代码并记录您可能遇到的任何问题。

这会帮助项目越来越强大,测试它的人越多。 这是在他们正式成为WordPress的一部分之前开始开发块的另一个重要原因!

环境设置

要按照本教程中的代码进行操作,您需要具备以下条件:

  • 一个本地开发环境
  • 最新版本的WordPress
  • Gutenberg 插件
  • 一个代码编辑器

如果您还没有设置本地开发环境,那么您可以使用 Local by Flywheel 或 DesktopServer 之类的东西,因为它们都有可用的免费版本并支持多种操作系统。

确保您运行的是最新版本的WordPress和Gutenberg插件,以确保您使用的是所有最新功能。 此外,还有一些很棒的代码编辑器,所以如果你还没有安装一个代码编辑器,那么看看免费的编辑器,如Visual Studio CodeAtom,这应该是绰绰有余的。

为了轻松创建新的块,我们将使用一个名为 create-guten-block 的相对较新的工具包。 它允许您快速启动一个新插件,其中包含创建块所需的所有设置和入门代码。 它也是一个零配置工具包,因此它的开箱即用方式与 create-react-app 工具包类似,可以轻松地构建新的React应用程序。 所以如果你曾经使用过create-react-app,你就会知道会发生什么。

现在让我们来看看我们如何使用这个工具来创建Gutenberg块。 在本地开发站点的插件文件夹(/wp-content/plugins/)中打开一个终端窗口,然后输入以下内容:

(注意:使用npx命令需要npm v5.2 +)

几分钟后,将在名为 my-custom-block 的文件夹中创建一个新插件,其中包含使用React创建块所需的所有文件和工具! 不错吧?!

WordPress插件管理界面看到的名称将是 my-custom-block – CGB Gutenberg Block Plugin。 继续并激活它。

Activated Plugin

该插件创建了一个新的块,可供我们在Gutenberg编辑器中使用。 要测试我们的新块,请访问文章编辑器,然后单击标记为撰写故事的占位符文本。

接下来,按/键显示一个弹出框,我们可以用它来搜索所有可用的块。

注意:还有其他搜索块的方法,但我喜欢使用 / 来显示搜索块窗口非常快速和方便。 但请使用您觉得最舒服的方法。

打开搜索框,开始键入 my-custom-block 并选择 my-custom-block – CGB Block。 这将在编辑器窗口中显示我们的自定义块。

Block Rendered on Backend

目前它只是一个样板块,除了在彩色框内显示占位符文本之外,它实际上没有做任何其他事情。 但是,它确实突出了创建块的一个有趣方面

单击“查看文章”以查看文章对网站访问者的外观。

Block Rendered on Frontend

如您所见,渲染块的内容和样式在前端和后端都不同。 JavaScript代码在前端也可能不同。

渲染差异的原因是因为在创建块时,您需要专门声明单独的前端和后端渲染功能。

这是因为很多块需要在帖子编辑器中呈现额外的UI元素以帮助配置块设置。 由于这仅与后期编辑器相关,因此在前面渲染块时完全是多余的。 因此,您需要在单独的渲染功能中指定需要在前端显示的输出。

虽然这种方法很有意义并且运行良好,但确实会引发代码重复问题。 如果您不小心,最终可能会有大量重复的内容定义。

在可能的情况下,最好将前端和后端渲染功能的内容分开,以帮助减少重复。 我们将在本系列教程中遵循这种方法。

小结

在本教程中,我介绍了块的概念以及为什么新的Gutenberg编辑器在WordPress 5.0附带时将成为重大新闻。 这是对当前基于TinyMCE的编辑器的真正转变。

为了快速创建块,create-guten-block 是一个非常有用的工具,可以让您创建一个包含准备进行自定义的工作启动器的块的完整插件。

我们通过了解如何在新的帖子编辑器中使用我们的自定义块来解决问题,并且我们发现前端和后端的渲染看起来非常不同。 在古腾堡,你不需要匹配任何输出!

在第2部分中,我们将详细介绍块API以及如何利用它来创建自己的自定义块。

在此期间,查看我们关于WordPress Gutenberg的其他一些帖子!

Envato qr branded
关注我们的公众号
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. WordPress
Code

WordPress Gutenberg Block API: An Introduction

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:MediumLanguages:

The new WordPress editor (codenamed Gutenberg) is due for release in version 5.0. Now is the perfect time to get to grips with it before it lands in WordPress core.

I'll show you how to work with the block API and create your very own content blocks which you can use to build out your posts and pages.

There isn't an exact date yet for when WordPress 5.0 will be released, but it should be some time within the next few months. Until then, Gutenberg is available as a standalone plugin.

Gutenberg Plugin

I'd highly recommend trying out the new Gutenberg editor if you haven't already. It's very easy to install directly from your WordPress admin. However, because this is still a beta version of the new editor, it's not recommended that you use it on production sites just yet. Keep it for local development sites only for now.

Also, having Gutenberg installed is key if you want to follow along with this tutorial. That way, you can experiment with creating your own custom blocks. Development of the new editor has been rapidly picking up pace over the last few months, with several releases already so far in 2018. The latest version of Gutenberg is currently 2.7.0 at the time of writing.

With each release, new features are added, and the editor interface is constantly improved based on user feedback. It's starting to look and feel much slicker than previous versions. Also, lots of bugs have been fixed, making the editor much more robust.

Gutenberg provides a new way of building post content by way of "blocks", which can be stacked on top of each other to form a complete page. Each individual block exists independently from other blocks and can contain almost any markup, styles, and JavaScript you want.

Gutenberg Editor

Throughout this tutorial, we'll cover all you need to know about the block API so you can start creating your own custom blocks right away. Once you've mastered the fundamentals, creating more complex blocks is easier than you might think!

The Gutenberg project is big news for WordPress for another important reason. It's built on top of React. That's right, for the first time in WordPress, React will be included in core! This is great news for theme and plugin developers as React can easily be added to any page by leveraging the React and ReactDOM libraries included with WordPress core.

Pretty soon you'll be able to create UI components for all your WordPress projects directly in React. Previously, if you wanted to use React and ReactDOM libraries, you had to include them manually. Having them in core makes it much more convenient.

Just think about how awesome it would be to create a plugin options screen entirely in React! Or how about some cool advanced customizer controls? These new tools are going to give developers a lot of freedom and flexibility to create some great interactive user interfaces.

I anticipate that WordPress development over the next couple of years is going to be very interesting and a lot of fun too!

What's a Block Again?

The concept of blocks in the new editor is a real shift change from the current TinyMCE-based editor, so let's take a closer look at what a block is before we dive into the block API. Think of blocks as black boxes, each containing a bunch of markup, styles, and JavaScript all wrapped up in a convenient entity called a "block".

When a block is added to the editor, it displays a preview of what it will look like on the front end. Almost all blocks have settings to further customize their appearance and/or behavior.

Some of the blocks available by default in the new editor are:

  • Paragraph
  • Gallery
  • List
  • Quote
  • Code
  • Table
  • Button
  • Columns

This gives you an idea of the sort of content you can add to the editor using blocks included with the new editor. All these block types are useful but fairly basic, so expect plenty of plugins to start appearing with much more comprehensive blocks for adding almost any type of content you can think of.

You might have already thought of some content blocks that you need for your own projects. If none of these are available in Gutenberg, they're probably good candidates for creating your own custom block.

I'd recommend trying out the code presented in this tutorial series as it's the best way to learn how to create your own blocks using the block API. By all means read through the tutorial first to get to grips with how the block API works, but do come back and try out some of the code yourself and start creating some blocks!

Prerequisites

This is a medium to advanced level tutorial series, so it's assumed you're not new to WordPress development. To get the most out of this series, you should have at least a working knowledge of the following:

  • JavaScript (ES6+)
  • React (and ReactDom)
  • JSX
  • Command line
  • Node/NPM
  • PHP
  • WordPress plugin/theme development
  • Local WordPress development environment

If you need to brush up on any of these topics, it may be a good idea to do so before proceeding. I'll explain concepts as we go along, but it's outside the scope of the tutorial to explain every small detail.

It's common practice to create custom blocks in WordPress using JSX, but this is by no means required. If you're used to developing React components in vanilla JavaScript, you can do so in WordPress too. The choice is entirely yours. However, most of the block code you'll encounter will be written in JSX (including this tutorial), so you'll find it easier to understand concepts if you're using JSX too.

Gutenberg: Still a Work in Progress

The Gutenberg project is still very much evolving, so some things may be subject to change even by the time you read this tutorial. This could include changes to the editor interface, new core components, etc.

However, the new editor is pretty stable now, and the recently added features such as nested blocks and drag/drop reordering are quite exciting. Even if some of the minor details of how you implement blocks may change, the important thing to remember is the overall concept of blocks and how you can use them to create any type of content.

If you get stuck, I'd recommend taking a look at the official Gutenberg handbook, which is kept up to date with the latest changes. Also check out the Gutenberg project on GitHub to inspect the source code and log any issues you may come across.

This will only help the project become stronger the more people test it. This is another great reason to start developing blocks now, before they are officially a part of WordPress!

Environment Setup

To follow along with the code in this tutorial, you'll need the following:

  • a local development environment
  • the latest version of WordPress
  • Gutenberg standalone plugin
  • a code editor

If you don't already have a local development environment set up then you can use something like Local by Flywheel or DesktopServer as they both have free versions available and support multiple operating systems.

Make sure you're running the latest versions of WordPress and the Gutenberg plugin to be sure you're using all the latest features. Also, there are some great code editors out there, so if you haven't already got one installed then take a look at free editors such as Visual Studio Code or Atom, which should be more than sufficient.

To create new blocks easily, we'll be using a relatively new toolkit called create-guten-block. It allows you to quickly spin up a new plugin containing all the setup and starter code required to create blocks. It's a zero configuration toolkit too, so it works right out of the box in a similar way to the create-react-app toolkit for scaffolding out new React apps with minimal effort. So if you've ever used create-react-app, you'll know what to expect.

Let's take a look now at how we can use this tool to create Gutenberg blocks. Open up a terminal window inside your plugin folder (/wp-content/plugins/) for your local development site and enter the following:

(Note: npm v5.2+ is required to use the npx command.)

After a few minutes, a new plugin will be created inside a folder named my-custom-block containing all the files and tooling needed to create blocks using React! Not bad, eh?

The name of the plugin in the WordPress admin will be my-custom-block - CGB Gutenberg Block Plugin. Go ahead and activate it.

Activated Plugin

The plugin creates a new block which is available for us to use in the Gutenberg editor. To test our new block, navigate to the post editor and click on the placeholder text labeled Write your story.

Next, hit the / key to display a pop-up box we can use to search all available blocks.

Note: there are other ways to search for a block, but I like using / to display the search block window pretty quickly and conveniently. But use the method that you feel most comfortable with.

With the search box open, start typing my-custom-block and select my-custom-block - CGB Block. This will display our custom block inside the editor window.

Block Rendered on Backend

At the moment it's just a boilerplate block, which doesn't really do anything other than displaying placeholder text inside a colored box. However, it does highlight one interesting aspect of creating blocks.

Click View Post to see how the post will look to site visitors.

Block Rendered on Frontend

As you can see, both the content and the styles of the rendered block are different on the front end and back end. This also applies to JavaScript code, which can be different for the front end too.

The reason for the difference in rendering is because when creating blocks, you're required to specifically declare separate front-end and back-end rendering functions.

That's because a lot of blocks require additional UI elements to be rendered inside the post editor to help configure block settings. As this is only relevant to the post editor, it's completely redundant when rendering the block on the front. Therefore, you specify the output that needs to be displayed on the front end in a separate rendering function.

Whilst this approach makes sense and works well, it does raise issues of code duplication. If you're not careful, you could end up with lots of duplicate definitions of content.

Where possible, it's a good idea to separate out content common to the front-end and back-end rendering functions to help reduce duplication. We'll be following this approach throughout this tutorial series.

Conclusion

In this tutorial, I introduced the concept of what a block is and why the new Gutenberg editor is going to be big news when it ships with WordPress 5.0. It's a real shift change from the current TinyMCE-based editor.

To help create blocks quickly, create-guten-block is a very useful tool that lets you create a complete plugin containing a working starter block ready for customization.

We rounded things off by seeing how to use our custom block inside the new post editor, and we discovered that rendering on the front and back end can look very different. In Gutenberg, you're not required to match the output whatsoever!

In part 2, we'll get into the specifics of the block API and how you can leverage it to create your own custom blocks.

In the meantime, check out some of our other posts about WordPress Gutenberg!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.