Unlimited Plugins, WordPress themes, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Xcode

Что нового в поддержке Git в Xcode 9

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:MediumLanguages:

Russian (Pусский) translation by Ilya Nikov (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Последняя версия IDE от Apple, Xcode 9, выпускается вместе с iOS 11 в сентябре. И это огромное обновление! Поклонники Git для управления контролем версий (SCM) будут очень обрадованы в этом предстоящем выпуске.

Предыдущие версии Xcode поддерживали SCM, но поддержка эта была весьма посредственной. Поддержка Git Xcode была глючной и тусклой, по сравнению со специализированными инструментами, такими как SourceTree, что означало, что разработчикам приходилось переключаться между инструментами, чтобы иметь возможность выполнять расширенные задачи управления репозиториями Git.

Все это изменилось в Xcode 9. Apple больше не рассматривает SCM как что-то вторичное, но вместо этого решила установить тесную интеграцию с GitHub и тесно сотрудничает с GitHub для Xcode 9.

В результате вы можете войти в свою учетную запись GitHub прямо из Xcode, чтобы просматривать, перемещать и клонировать ваши репозитории GitHub. Вы также можете искать другие репозитории, не переключаясь на окно браузера. И наоборот, если у вас есть репозиторий GitHub в вашем браузере, вы можете нажать кнопку клонирования и автоматически клонировать Xcode и открыть проект.

Как утверждает Apple, «поддержка Git теперь впереди и в центре», и Apple внедрила новый навигатор управления источниками, поэтому вам не нужно открывать новое окно, которое визуально отделено от остальной части Xcode. Разработчики теперь могут просматривать ветви, теги и удаленные объекты через четкую и интуитивную шкалу времени, можно проверять коммиты более подробно, кроме того можно увидеть более элегантное и привлекательное сравнение изменений.

Цели этого учебника

В этом уроке я покажу вам список новых функций SCM, которые были представлены с Xcode 9. Мы рассмотрим три основные области:

  • комиты
  • ветви
  • теги

Предполагаемые знания

Чтобы следовать этому руководству, вы должны иметь некоторый опыт работы с Xcode и некоторые рабочие знания об управлении контролем версий через Git.

Начало работы с Xcode 9 SCM

Настройка окружения

Чтобы использовать новые функции SCM Xcode, вам необходимо:

  • Загрузить Xcode 9.
  • Иметь учетную запись GitHub.

После того, как вы загрузили и установили последнюю версию Xcode и имеете текущую учетную запись GitHub, вы готовы подключить свою учетную запись GitHub к Xcode 9. Запустите Xcode и перейдите в Настройки> Аккаунты. Затем выберите кнопку + в левом нижнем углу, чтобы добавить новую учетную запись.

Connecting your GitHub account from within Xcode

Выберите GitHub из модального окна и введите свои учетные данные GitHub. Если вы используете двухфакторную аутентификацию, Xcode предложит вам ввести код.

Two-Factor Authentication is supported in Xcode 9

Просмотр и поиск репозиториев GitHub

Давайте посмотрим, насколько легко вы можете просматривать существующие общедоступные хранилища GitHub, прямо из Xcode. Откройте экран приветствия Xcode, если он еще не отображается, перейдя в Window> Welcome to Xcode.

Welcome to Xcode 9

Затем выберите Клонировать существующий проект, в котором будет отображаться список репозиториев аккаунта на GitHub.

Searching for a GitHub project in Xcode 9

Помимо списка, который он представил, вы также можете найти публичный репозиторий (или приватный, к которому у вас есть доступ) по имени или путем ввода его URL-адреса GitHub. В нашем учебнике введите RealmDo и нажмите Клонировать, а затем выберите локальный каталог для клонирования проекта.

Checking out a project in Xcode 9

Затем он попросит вас открыть каталог для проверки проекта:

Opening an Xcode project directly from GitHub

Вместо того, чтобы вытаскивать репозиторий проекта из Xcode, еще одна отличная функция - вы можете открыть репозиторий GitHub в своем браузере и выбрать Клонировать или загрузить, и вы увидите новую кнопку Открыть в Xcode.

SCM settings in Xcode 9

Правильно: если вы нажмете на него, он автоматически откроет проект в Xcode, который будет клонирован и загружен.

Вернемся к нашему проекту. Поскольку мы используем CocoaPods для управления зависимостями, нам нужно будет вернуться в командный терминал и запустить pod install:

Теперь наш проект должен быть настроен локально, и ваш .xcworkspace должен быть открыт в Xcode со всеми файлами в вашем проекте.

Настройки Xcode SCM

Перейдя в настройки Xcode, а затем выбрав Source Control, вы можете изменить различные аспекты своего поведения прямо из области настроек, включая имя автора Git и электронную почту, и, что интересно, даже обновить свои настройки .gitignore.

Связывание нового проекта с GitHub

С другой стороны, если вы создали новый проект Xcode и еще не создали проект на GitHub, вы можете создать новый проект GitHub непосредственно из Xcode. Щелкните правой кнопкой мыши на Remotes, а затем выберите Создать RealmDo Remote на GitHub.

Setting a remote master in Xcode 9

Затем Xcode попросит вас предоставить репозиторию имя и выбрать учетную запись для связи с ним.

Creating a GitHub Repository from within Xcode 9

Изучение нового интерфейса SCM

Давайте рассмотрим каждый из разделов нового интерфейса.

Xcode 9s overview of SCM

  1. На левой панели есть знакомый список значков для доступа к свойствам проекта. Вторая вкладка совершенно новая: это Навигатор управления версиями.
  2. Область История комитов является наиболее заметной частью навигатора, показывая вам исторический список коммитов для проекта и ветки.
  3. В правой панели представлена дополнительная контекстная информация о ветке и выбранных коммитах.
  4. Наряду с информацией о контекстной ветке и фиксации этот подраздел в правой части показывает вам, какие файлы были частью выбранной фиксации.
  5. Левая панель дает вам иерархическое представление вашего проекта с точки зрения SCM, показывая вам текущую ветку, любые другие ветви, будь то локальные или удаленные, и теги. Она также сигнализирует, есть ли новые коммиты, которые нужно запушить или вытащить, как вы увидите позже.

Навигатор Source Control

Одной из первых вещей, которые мы рассмотрим в Xcode 9, является Навигатор управления версиями, совершенно новый для Xcode 9. Теперь он полностью встроен в Xcode. Выберите второй значок на левой панели, как показано на (1) на скриншоте выше, чтобы открыть Навигатор управления версиями.

История фиксаций

Давайте посмотрим на перспективу Commit History, в которой показан список коммитов для проекта, включая имя автора сообщения, дату, описание, а также аватар автора из GitHub.

Это очень четкая и красиво организованная перспектива. Хотя этот примерный проект с довольно слабой историей (хотя мы скоро это изменим), эта панель обманчиво мощна.

Помимо возможности легко прокручивать и получать полезную историческую информацию, вы также можете интуитивно фильтровать и выполнять поиск по версии, сообщению или автору. Фактически, вы можете подключать или присоединяться к нескольким фильтрам, искать не только по автору, но и по ревизии. Вы также можете выполнять поиск с помощью панели «Область» по конкретным датам, таким как последние 24 часа, последние 7 дней или последние 30 дней.

Filtering commits in Xcode 9

Выбор конкретной фиксации вызывает дополнительную информацию на правой панели. Наряду с информацией о филиале вы получаете информацию о фиксации, полный SHA, автора, сообщение и дату. Вы также видите список файлов, сделанных во время этого коммита, что чрезвычайно полезно во время отладки, чтобы помочь вам определить фиксацию, вызвавшую проблему.

Right-hand pane in Xcode 9

Двойной щелчок на фиксации вызывает список файлов, которые были изменены в этой фиксации на левой панели, и сравнение версий будет отображаться в центре экрана. Это знакомая интерпретация, но на этот раз она значительно улучшилась.

Comparing versions of a file for a commit

Выбор редактора ассистентов в верхней правой части позволяет получить доступ к действительно большому представлению diff, что позволяет вам не только просматривать diff-файл, но и легко проходить через предыдущие коммиты, а также просматривать информацию о фиксации, а также фактическую изменения файла.

Xcode 9s new comparison perspective panes

Щелкнув правой кнопкой мыши на фиксации, вы также можете увидеть меню, которое позволяет вам связаться с автором, скопировать информацию о фиксации, ответвление от этой фиксации или даже открыть фиксацию на GitHub в браузере.

Contextual menu for commits

Вы также можете создать тег, который мы и будем делать. Выберите кнопку Tag на первой фиксации и назовите ее release/0.1.

Creating a tag

Именование ваших тегов в этом формате, установив родительскую группу (выпуск, бета и т.д.), cлужит интересной цели, о которой мы вскоре узнаем. Пока, поскольку мы отметили фиксацию, мы перейдем к следующей теме: ветвление.

Ветки

В настоящее время мы разрабатываем в master, но в процессе разработки мы обычно работаем над отдельной веткой. Мы создадим ветку для разработки и тестирования функции, а затем мержим ее обратно в ветку master. Давайте создадим новую ветку, щелкнув правой кнопкой мыши по master и выбрав Branch from master. Вызовите новую ветку readme_changes.

Looking at branches in Xcode 9

Я хочу продемонстрировать, как работает слияние, поэтому в новой ветке давайте сделаем наши изменения, выбрав Source Control> Commit. Это возвращает нас к сравнению, давая нам возможность подтвердить все изменения, внесенные нами в этот коммит, с возможностью сравнения наших изменений по строкам.

Когда вы проверили изменения, введите сообщение фиксации, подобное приведенному ниже. И не забудьте нажать кнопку Push to remote.

Comparison of changes for an active commit

Когда ваша feature ветка завершена, мы хотим объединить ее обратно в master ветку. Щелкните правой кнопкой мыши на главной ветке и выберите вторую опцию слияния: Merge from "readme_changes" into "master".

Merging commits into the master

Затем Xcode объединит их и автоматически переключит вас обратно на master ветку. Перейдя на главную ветку, вы увидите небольшую стрелку вверх с цифрой 1 справа от текущей ветви.

Commit count from remote master

Это позволяет нам знать, что у нас есть фиксация, которую нужно отправить в удаленный репозиторий. Если счетчик равен 2, мы должны были бы совершить две фиксации перед удаленным мастером.

И наоборот, если в мастере есть новые обновления, которые вы еще не вытащили, Xcode сообщит вам об этом. Xcode будет извлекать удалённые данные и уведомлять вас стрелкой вниз и считать, что вы находитесь за удаленным мастером.

Тегирование

Ранее мы создали тег на одном из предыдущих коммитов. Наблюдая за первичной областью, вы можете увидеть другую фиксацию, помеченную тегом. Левая панель позволяет легко просмотреть краткий список всех тегов под ветвями.

Помните соглашение об именах, которое мы использовали для нашего тега, release/0.1. Мы сделали это по определённой причине. Создание тегов с иерархическим родителем позволяет Xcode группировать теги вместе.

Grouping tags together in Xcode 9

В нашем случае у нас есть два тега, которые принадлежат родительскому тегу release. Мы можем создавать несколько логических групп для наших тегов по разным причинам, а Xcode упрощает организацию наших тегов.

Выбирая конкретный тег, наша история фиксации будет отображать только коммиты, связанные с этим тегом, что означает, что у нас есть полный код для всех изменений, внесенных во время релиза. Это поможет нам сузить любой проблемный код, специфичный для этой версии.

Заключение

Xcode 9 - это огромный релиз, и одна из самых больших новых функций - это то, что Apple наконец-то интегрировала SCM. Это решает давнюю проблему, которую многие разработчики высказали о том, как Xcode управляет совместной разработкой и управлением версиями.

В Xcode 9 не только GitHub плавно смешивается с платформой, но теперь разработчики получают красивый интерфейс управления версиями на новой вкладке SCM. Разработчики получают окончательное представление об истории кода, компиляции, слияниях, тегах и ветвях, а также о передовых перспективах для отладки и идентификации коммитов. Любители Git и поклонники SCM по-настоящему оценят инициативу Apple по консолидации действительно мощного инструмента управления Git внутри своей IDE.

Пока вы здесь, ознакомьтесь с некоторыми из наших других сообщений о разработке приложений Xcode, Swift и iOS!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Xcode
Code

What's New With Git Support in Xcode 9

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:MediumLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Apple’s latest IDE version, Xcode 9, is being released along with iOS 11 this September. And it's a huge update! Fans of Git for source control management (SCM) are big winners in this upcoming release.

Previous versions of Xcode had support for SCM, but it was never considered a first-class citizen. Xcode's Git support was buggy and lackluster, paling in comparison to specialist tools such as SourceTree, which meant that developers had to jump between tools to be able to do advanced Git repository management tasks. 

All this has changed in Xcode 9. Apple no longer sees SCM as secondary, but instead has opted for tight integration with GitHub, and has collaborated with GitHub closely for Xcode 9. 

The net result is that you can now log in to your GitHub account right from Xcode, in order to browse, navigate and clone your GitHub repos. You can also search for other repositories without having to switch to a browser window. Inversely, if you have a GitHub repo open in your browser, you can click the clone button and have Xcode automatically clone and open up the project. 

As Apple puts it, “Support for Git is now front and center”, and Apple has introduced a new source control navigator, so you don't have to open up a new window that is visually detached from the rest of Xcode. Developers can now view branches, tags, and remotes through a clear and intuitive timeline, they can inspect commits more granularly, and they can see a more elegant and attractive comparison of changes. 

Objectives of This Tutorial

In this tutorial, I'll walk you through the list of new SCM features that were introduced with Xcode 9. We'll look at three major areas:

  • commits
  • branches
  • tags

Assumed Knowledge

To follow along with this tutorial, you should have some previous experience with Xcode and some working knowledge of source control management through Git. 

Get Started With Xcode 9 SCM

Setting Up Your Environment

In order to make use of Xcode's new SCM features, you will need to: 

Once you have downloaded and installed the latest Xcode build, and have a current GitHub account, you are ready to connect your GitHub account to Xcode 9. Launch Xcode and go to Preferences > Accounts. Then, select the + button at the bottom-left to add a new account. 

Connecting your GitHub account from within Xcode

Select GitHub from the modal window, and enter your GitHub credentials. If you are using two-factor authentication, Xcode will prompt you to enter your code. 

Two-Factor Authentication is supported in Xcode 9

Browsing and Searching GitHub Repositories

Let' see how seamlessly you can browse existing public GitHub repositories, right from within Xcode. Open up the Xcode welcome screen if it isn’t already showing by going to Window > Welcome to Xcode

Welcome to Xcode 9

Then select Clone an existing project, which will bring up the list of repositories on GitHub you currently own, work on, or have starred. 

Searching for a GitHub project in Xcode 9

Besides the list that it has presented, you can also search for a public repo (or private repo you have access to) by name or by entering its GitHub URL. For our tutorial, type RealmDo and click Clone, and then select a local directory to clone the project into. 

Checking out a project in Xcode 9

It will then ask you for a directory to check the project out into:

Opening an Xcode project directly from GitHub

Rather than pulling the project repo from Xcode, another really nifty feature is that you can open a GitHub repo in your browser and select Clone or download and you will see a new button labeled Open in Xcode

SCM settings in Xcode 9

That’s right: if you click on it, it will automatically open up the project in Xcode, to be cloned and downloaded. 

Back to our project. Since we are using CocoaPods to manage dependencies, we will need to jump back into the command terminal and run pod install:

Our project should now be set up locally, and your .xcworkspace should be open in Xcode with all the files in your project. 

Xcode SCM Preferences

By navigating to Xcode's preferences and then selecting Source Control, you can change various aspects of its behavior right from the preferences pane, including the Git author's name and email, and interestingly, even update your .gitignore settings as well. 

Associating a New Project With GitHub

On the other hand, if you've created a new Xcode project and haven't created the project on GitHub yet, you can create a new GitHub project directly from Xcode. Right-click on Remotes and then select Create "RealmDo" Remote on GitHub

Setting a remote master in Xcode 9

Xcode will then ask you to give the repository a name and select an account for it to be associated with.

Creating a GitHub Repository from within Xcode 9

Exploring the New SCM Interface

Let's explore each of the sections of the new interface. 

Xcode 9s overview of SCM

  1. The left-hand pane has your familiar list of icons to access properties of the project. The second tab is brand new: it is the Source Control Navigator.
  2. The Commit History pane is the most prominent part of the navigator, showing you a historical list of commits for the project and branch.
  3. The right-hand pane presents you with extra contextual information about the branch and selected commits.
  4. Alongside the contextual branch and commit information, this sub-section on the right-hand side shows you which files have been part of the selected commit.
  5. The left-hand pane gives you a hierarchical view of your project from an SCM perspective, showing you the current branch, any other branches whether local or remote, and tags. It also signals whether there are new commits to be pushed or pulled, as you'll see later on.

The Source Control Navigator

One of the first things we will explore in Xcode 9 is the Source Control Navigator, brand new to Xcode 9. No longer is the source view a second-class citizen—it is now fully baked into Xcode. Select the second icon on the left-pane as indicated by (1) in the screenshot above to open up the Source Control Navigator. 

Commit History

Let’s take a look at the Commit History perspective, which shows the list of commits for the project, including commit author name, date, description as well as the author's avatar from GitHub, making up the project history. 

This is a very clear and beautifully organized perspective. While this example project is rather sparse as far as history goes (though we will change that shortly), this pane is deceptively powerful. 

Beyond being able to easily scroll and get useful historical information, you are also able to intuitively filter and search by revision, message or author. In fact, you can chain or join multiple filters, to search not only by the author but also by revision. You can also search using the Scope bar, by specific date periods, such as the Last 24 HoursLast 7 Days, or Last 30 Days.

Filtering commits in Xcode 9

Selecting a specific commit brings up some extra information on the right-hand pane. Alongside the branch information, you get commit information, the full SHA, author, message, and date. You also see the list of files made during that commit, which is extremely useful in helping you pinpoint the commit which caused a problem during debugging. 

Right-hand pane in Xcode 9

Double-clicking on a commit brings up a list of the files that have changed in that commit on the left-hand pane, and a version comparison will be displayed front-and-center. This is the familiar diff perspective, but much improved this time around. 

Comparing versions of a file for a commit

Selecting the Assistant Editor on the upper right-hand side can access a really great diff view, which allows you to not only view a diff of the file, but also traverse through previous commits easily, and see the commit information as well as the actual file changes. 

Xcode 9s new comparison perspective panes

By right-clicking on a commit, you can also see a menu that allows you to contact the author, copy the commit information, branch from that commit, or even open the commit on GitHub in the browser. 

Contextual menu for commits

You can also create a tag, which is what we are going to do. Select the Tag button on the first commit, and name it release/0.1

Creating a tag

Naming your tags in this format, by setting a parent group (release, beta, etc.), serves an interesting purpose, which we will find out shortly. For now, since we’ve tagged a commit, we'll segue into our next topic: branching. 

Branching

We are currently developing on the master branch, but during normal development workflow we would usually work on a separate branch. We'd make a branch to develop and test a feature, and then merge it back to the master branch when it is working correctly. Let’s create a new branch by right clicking master and selecting Branch from master. Call the new branch readme_changes

Looking at branches in Xcode 9

I want to demonstrate how merging works, so in the new branch, let’s commit our changes by selecting Source Control > Commit. This brings us back to the comparison view, giving us the opportunity to confirm all the changes we've made in this commit, with the ability to compare our changes line by line.

When you've checked over the changes, enter a commit message similar to the following. And be sure to check the Push to remote box.

Comparison of changes for an active commit

When our feature branch is complete, we want to merge it back to the master branch. Right click on the master branch and select the second merge option: Merge from "readme_changes" into "master"

Merging commits into the master

Xcode will then merge and automatically switch you back to the master branch. Switching back to the master branch, you'll notice a small up arrow with the numeral 1 to the right of the current branch. 

Commit count from remote master

This lets us know that we have a commit that needs to be pushed to the remote repository. If the count was 2, we would be two commits ahead of the remote master. 

Inversely, if there are new updates in the master which you haven't pulled yet, Xcode will let you know. Xcode will fetch from the remote and notify you with a down arrow and count that you are behind the remote master. 

Tagging

Earlier on, we created a tag on one of the earlier commits. Observing the primary pane, you can see another commit which has been tagged. The left-hand pane makes it easy to view a concise list of all the tags, below branches. 

Remember the naming convention we used for our tag, release/0.1. We did that for a reason. Creating tags with a hierarchical parent allows Xcode to group tags together. 

Grouping tags together in Xcode 9

In our case, we have two tags that belong to the release parent tag. We can create multiple logical groups for our tags for different reasons, and Xcode makes it easy to organize our tags. 

By selecting a specific tag, our commit history will only show commits that are related to that tag, meaning we have a complete coding manifest of all changes introduced during a release. This will help us narrow down any problematic code specific to that release.

Conclusion

Xcode 9 is a huge release, and one of the biggest new features is that Apple has finally integrated SCM as a first-class citizen of the IDE. This resolves a long-standing gripe many developers have voiced about how Xcode managed collaborative development and versioning. 

In Xcode 9, not only is GitHub seamlessly blended into the platform, but developers are now rewarded with a beautiful code management interface in a new SCM tab. Developers get a definitive view of the code history, commits, merges, tagging, and branching, as well as advanced perspectives for debugging and identifying commits that have introduced bugs. Git lovers and SCM aficionados will truly appreciate Apple's initiative to consolidate a truly powerful Git management tool, all within the IDE.

While you're here, check out some of our other posts on Xcode, Swift, and iOS app development!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.