Students Save 30%! Learn & create with unlimited courses & creative assets Students Save 30%! Save Now
Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. jQuery
Code

不常用的jQuery选择器

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:MediumLanguages:

Chinese (Simplified) (中文(简体)) translation by Cheng Hao (you can also view the original English article)

选择器非常重要。 大部分jQuery方法需要某种方式选择元素后才能使用。 例如,为一个按钮附加点击事件要求你首先选择这个按钮。

由于常用的jQuery选择器是基于已有的CSS选择器,因此可能你已经非常熟练使用它们了。 然而有些选择器却很少用到。 本教程中,我会聚焦那些鲜为人知但同样重要的选择器。

All选择器(*)

这个选择器正确的叫法是全局选择器,因为它选择的是文档中所有元素,包括<head>、<body>、<script>或<link>标签。 这个示例会证实我的观点。

如果和其他元素组合使用,这个选择器运行极其缓慢。 但其执行速度完全取决于如何使用选择器以及选择器在哪个浏览器中执行。 Firefox中,$("#selector > *").find("li")比$("#selector > ul").find("li")执行更慢。 有意思的是,$("#selector > *").find("li")运行稍快。 在所有所有浏览器中,$("#selector *").find("li")运行都比$("#selector  ul").find("li")更慢。 我的建议是在使用之前,你最好比较一次它们之间的执行效率。

这个示例比较了所有元素选择器在每个浏览器中的执行速度。

Animated Selector (:animated)

你可以使用:animated选择器选择所有在这个选择器运行期间仍在执行动画的元素。 唯一的问题是它只是选择使用jQuery产生动画的元素。 这个选择器是jQuery的扩展,它并未从本地方法querySelectorAll()伴随的性能提升中受益。

同样,无法使用jQuery监测CSS动画。 但可以使用animationend事件监测动画的结束。

看看下面这个示例

上面这个例子中,只有单数的div元素在执行$(":animated").css("background","#6F9");之前是动着的。 反映的结果就是只有div那些元素变为绿色。 在那之后,我们在剩下所有div元素上调用animate函数。 如果现在点击按钮,所有的div元素都会变为绿色。

属性不等选择器([attr!="value"])

常用的属性选择器一般检测特定名或指定值的属性是否存在。 换句话说,[attr!="value"]选择器选择所有不含指定属性或属性存在但值与给定值不等的元素。 它等同于:not([attr="value"])。与[attr="value"]不同,[attr!="value"]并不属于CSS规范 因此,在现代浏览器中,使用$("css-selector").not("[attr='value']") 可以提高效率。

下面这段代码为所有data-category属性不等于css的li元素增加一个值为mismatch的class。 在调试时或使用JavaScirpt设置正确属性值时,这很有帮助。

这个例子中,我循环了两个列表,修正了元素category属性的值。

Contains选择器(:contains(text))

这个选择器用来选择所有包含指定字符串的元素。 匹配的字符串可以是当前关注元素直接包含或后辈元素包含。

下面的例子会帮助你更好理解这个选择器。 我们会为所有出现的Lorem Ipsum语句添加黄色背景。

开始写HTML吧:

可以看到句子Lorem Ipsum出现在7个不同的地方。 我特意在其中一处使用了小标题,以显示这里使用的是区分大小写的匹配。

这里使用JavaScript代码高亮显示所有匹配处:

字符串两边的单引号不是必须的。 也就是说$("section:contains('Lorem Ipsum')")与$("section:contains(Lorem Ipsum)")在上述代码中都是合规的。 我的目标只是section元素,所以列表元素中的Lorem Ipsum文本不受影响。 此外,由于与选择器不匹配,第二个section元素中的Lorem Ipsum文本也不会高亮显示。 正如本例所示,事实如此。

Has选择器 (:has(selector))

这个选择器会选择所有至少包含一个匹配给定选择器的子元素的元素。 匹配选择器的元素不必是直接子元素。 :has()选择器不属于CSS规范。 现在浏览器中,为了更高的性能,应该使用$("pure-css-selector").has(selector),而不是$("pure-css-selector:has(selector)")。

这个选择器的一个可能的使用场景是操作包含特定元素的元素。 在我们这个例子中,我将改变所有内部包含链接的列表元素的颜色。

本例的HTML代码如下:

这是改变列表元素颜色的JavaScript代码:

这段代码的逻辑直截了当。 循环所有包含链接的列表元素,设置它们的颜色为crimson。 你也可以操作列表元素中的文本,亦或从DOM中删除这些元素。 我确信这个选择器有其他更多的应用场景。 查看CodePen上这段代码的可运行版本

基于下标的选择器

除了例如:nth-child()等CSS选择器,jQuery也有自己的一系列基于下表的选择器。 包括 :eq(index)、:lt(index)和:gt(index)。 与基于CSS的选择器不同,这些选择器下表从0开始。 这就表明,:nth-child(1)会选择第一个子元素,而:eq(1)会选择第二个子元素。 要选择第一个子元素,则使用:eq(0)。

这些选择器也接收负数值。 当使用负数时,从最后一个元素开始向后(自下向上)计数。

:lt(index)选择所有下标小于指定值的元素。 使用:lt(3)选择前三个元素。 这是因为前三个元素的下标分别为0、1和2。 使用负数下标,会选择向后计数抵达的元素之前的所有值。 :gt(index)与之类似,选择的是所有下标大于指定值的元素。

尝试多点击几次示例中的按钮,以更好理解下标选择器。

表单选择器

为更容易选择表单元素,jQuery定义了许多表单选择器。 比如,:button选择器会选择所有按钮元素以及类型为button的元素。 类似,:checkbox选择器会选择所有类型为checkbox的input元素。 有些定义的选择器,几乎所有input元素都可使用。 仔细考虑下面这个表单:

我在这个例子中创建了2个文本元素和4个checkbox。 表单很简单,但它应该使你对表单选择器的工作方式有了一定了解。 我们将使用:text选择器对文本元素进行计数,更新第一个文本输入框的文本内容。

我使用:text选择器选择所有文本输入框,然后使用length方法计算所选元素的个数。 在第三条语句中,使用了前面讨论到的:eq()选择器选择第一个元素,然后对其赋值。

记住,在jQuery 1.5.2版本中,未指定type属性的元素,:text选择器会返回true。

看看这个示例

Header选择器 (:header)

如果你之前想过选择页面上所有的标题元素,可以使用快捷方式$(":header"),而不用繁琐的$("h1 h2 h3 h4 h5 h6")选择器。 这个选择器不属于CSS规则。 因此,为达到更高性能,先使用单纯的CSS选择器,然后使用.filter(":header")选择器。

例如,假设页面上有个包含3个不同标题的article元素。 那么,你可使用$("article :header"),而不是$("article h1, article h2, article h3"),因为前者更简洁。 使用$("article").filter(":header"),运行更快。 这种方式,两全其美(简洁、快速)。

可使用下面的代码对所有标题编号。

尝试运行下这个附加的示例

最后一点

本教程中,我讨论了一些在使用jQuery时你可能会遇到的不常用到的选择器。 尽管这里讲到的大多数选择器有替代版本可供使用,但了解到它们的存在也是件好事。

希望从本教程中你能学到新东西。 如果有任何问题或建议,请在下面回复。

Envato qr branded
关注我们的公众号
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

1. Code
  2. jQuery

Uncommon jQuery Selectors


Selectors are of vital importance. Most jQuery methods require some kind of element selection to be of any use. For instance, attaching a click event to a button requires you to select the button first. 

Since common jQuery selectors are based on existing CSS selectors, you might be well versed in them. However, there are also a few selectors that are not used as much. In this tutorial, I will focus on these lesser known but important selectors.

All Selector (*)

This selector is rightly called the universal selector because it selects all the elements in the document, including the <head>, <body>, <script> or <link tags. This demo should illustrate my point.

This selector is extremely slow if used in combination with other elements. However, it all depends on how the selector is used and which browser it is executed in. In Firefox, $("#selector > *").find("li") is slower than $("#selector > ul").find("li"). Interestingly, Chrome executes  $("#selector > *").find("li") slightly more quickly. All browsers execute $("#selector *").find("li") more slowly than $("#selector  ul").find("li"). I would suggest that you compare the performance before using this selector. 

Here is a demo that compares the execution speed of the all selector.

Animated Selector (:animated)

You can use the :animated selector to select all elements whose animation is still in progress when this selector runs. The only issue is that it will only select elements which were animated using jQuery. This selector is a jQuery extension and does not benefit from the performance boost that comes with the native querySelectorAll() method. 

Also, you can't detect CSS animations using jQuery. You can, however, detect when the animation ends using the animationend event.

Take a look at the following demo.

In the demo above, only the odd div elements are animated before executing $(":animated").css("background","#6F9");. As a result, only those div elements change to green. Just after that, we call the animate function on the rest of the div elements. If you click on the button now, all div elements should turn green.

Attribute Not Equal Selector ([attr!="value"])

Common attribute selectors usually detect if an attribute with a given name or value exists. On the other hand, the [attr!="value"]  selector will select all elements that don't have the specified attribute or where the attribute exists but is not equal to a particular value. It is equivalent to :not([attr="value"]). Unlike [attr="value"] , [attr!="value"] is not part of the CSS specification. As a result, using $("css-selector").not("[attr='value']") can improve performance in modern browsers. 

The snippet below adds a mismatch class to all li elements whose data-category attribute is not equal to css. This can be helpful during debugging or setting the correct attribute value using JavaScript.

In the demo, I go through two lists and correct the value of the category attributes of elements.

Contains Selector (:contains(text))

This selector is used to select all elements which contain the specified string. The matching string can be directly inside the concerned element or inside any of its descendants. 

The example below should help you get a better understanding of this selector.  We will be adding a yellow background to all occurrences of the phrase Lorem Ipsum.

Let's begin with the markup:

Observe that the phrase Lorem Ipsum occurs in seven different locations. I have deliberately used small caps in one of these instances to show that the matching is case sensitive. 

Here's the JavaScript code to highlight all matches: 

The quotes around the string are optional. This implies that both $("section:contains('Lorem Ipsum')") and $("section:contains(Lorem Ipsum)") will be valid in the snippet above. I am only targeting the section element, so the Lorem Ipsum text inside the list elements should remain unchanged. Moreover, due to non-matching case, the text inside the second section element should not be highlighted either. As you can see in this demo, this is exactly what happens.

Has Selector (:has(selector))

This selector will select all elements which contain at least one element that matches a given selector. The selector that needs to be matched doesn't have to be a direct child. :has() is not part of the CSS specification. In modern browsers, you should use $("pure-css-selector").has(selector) instead of $("pure-css-selector:has(selector)") for improved performance. 

One possible application of this selector is the manipulation of elements that contain a specific element inside them. In our example, I will be changing the color of all list elements that contain a link inside them.

This is the markup for the demo:

Here's the JavaScript code to change the color of the list elements:

The logic behind this code is pretty straightforward. I loop through all the list elements that contain a link and set their color to crimson. You could also manipulate the text inside the list elements or remove them from the DOM. I am sure this selector can be used in a lot of other situations. Check out a live version of this code on CodePen.

Index-Based Selectors

Besides CSS selectors like :nth-child(), jQuery also has its own set of index-based selectors. These selectors are :eq(index), :lt(index), and :gt(index). Unlike CSS-based selectors, these selectors use zero-based indexing. This implies that while :nth-child(1) will select the first child, :eq(1) will select the second child. To select the first child you will have to use :eq(0)

These selectors can also accept negative values. When negative values are specified, counting is done backwards starting from the last element. 

:lt(index) selects all elements which are at an index less than the specified value. To select the first three elements, you will use :lt(3). This is because the first three elements will have index values 0, 1 and 2 respectively. Using a negative index will select all values before the element that we reached after counting backwards. Similarly, :gt(index) selects all elements with index greater than the specified value.

Try clicking on various buttons in the demo to get a better understanding of index selectors.

Form Selectors

jQuery defines a lot of selectors for easy selection of form elements. For example, the :button selector will select all button elements as well as elements with type button. Similarly, :checkbox will select all input elements with type checkbox. There are selectors defined for almost all input elements. Consider the form below:

I have created two text elements here and four checkboxes. The form is pretty basic, but it should give you an idea of how form selectors work. We will count the number of text elements using the :text selector and also update the text in the first text input. 

I use :text to select all text inputs and then the length method to calculate their number. In the third statement, I use the previously discussed :eq() selector to access the first element and later set its value. 

Keep in mind that as of jQuery 1.5.2, :text returns true for elements that do not have any type attribute specified.

Have a look at the demo.

Header Selector (:header)

If you ever want to select all the heading elements on a webpage, you can use the short $(":header") version instead of the verbose $("h1 h2 h3 h4 h5 h6") selector. This selector is not part of the CSS specification. As a result, better performance could be achieved using a pure CSS selector first and then using .filter(":header")

For instance, assume that there is an article element on a webpage and it has three different headings. Now, you could use $("article :header") instead of $("article h1, article h2, article h3") for brevity. To make it even faster, you could use $("article").filter(":header"). This way you have the best of both worlds.

To number all the heading elements, you could use the following code.

Try this accompanying demo.

Final Thoughts

In this tutorial, I discussed uncommon selectors that you might encounter when using jQuery. While most of these selectors have alternatives that you can use, it is still good to know that these selectors exist. 

I hope you learned something new in this tutorial. If you have any questions or suggestions, please do comment.

Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.