Unlimited Plugins, WordPress themes, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. React

Stateful vs. Stateless Funktionsteilen in React

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

German (Deutsch) translation by Alex Grigorovich (you can also view the original English article)

React ist eine beliebte JavaScript Front-End Bibliothek zum Erstellen interaktiver Benutzeroberflächen. React hat eine relativ flache Lernkurve, was einer der Gründe ist, warum es in letzter Zeit die ganze Aufmerksamkeit auf sich zieht.

Obwohl viele wichtige Konzepte behandelt werden müssen, sind Komponenten zweifellos das Herz und die Seele von React. Ein gutes Verständnis der Komponenten sollte Ihnen das Leben als React-Entwickler erleichtern.

Voraussetzungen

Dieses Tutorial passt für die Anfänger, die React gelernt haben und einen besseren Überblick über die Komponenten benötigen. Wir beginnen mit den Grundlagen der Komponenten und gehen dann zu anspruchsvolleren Konzepten wie Komponentenmustern und dem Zeitpunkt der Verwendung dieser Muster über. Es wurden verschiedene Komponentenklassifizierungen behandelt, z.B. Klassen- und Funktionskomponenten, Stateful- und Stateeless-Komponenten sowie Container- und Präsentationskomponenten.

Bevor ich anfange, möchte ich Ihnen das Code-Snippet vorstellen, das wir in diesem Tutorial verwenden werden. Es ist ein einfacher Zähler, der mit React erstellt wurde. Ich werde im gesamten Tutorial auf einige Teile dieses Beispiels zurückgreifen.

Also, fangen wir an.

Was sind Komponenten?

Komponenten sind autarke, unabhängige Mikroeinheiten, die einen Teil Ihrer Benutzeroberfläche beschreiben. Die Benutzeroberfläche einer Anwendung kann in kleinere Komponenten aufgeteilt werden, wobei jede Komponente ihren eigenen Code, ihre eigene Struktur und API hat.

Facebook verfügt beispielsweise über Tausende von Funktionen, die beim Anzeigen der Webanwendung miteinander verbunden sind. Hier ist eine interessante Tatsache: Facebook umfasst 30.000 Komponenten und die Zahl wächst. Die Komponentenarchitektur hilft es Ihnen, jedes Stück isoliert zu betrachten. Jede Komponente kann alles in ihrem Umfang aktualisieren, ohne sich Gedanken darüber zu machen, wie sich dies auf andere Komponenten auswirkt.

Wenn wir die Benutzeroberfläche von Facebook als Beispiel nehmen, wäre die Suchleiste ein guter Kandidat für eine Komponente. Der Newsfeed von Facebook würde eine andere Komponente (oder eine Komponente, die viele Unterkomponenten hostet) erstellen. Alle Methoden und AJAX-Aufrufe, die sich mit der Suchleiste befassen, befinden sich in dieser Komponente.

Die Komponenten sind auch wiederverwendbar. Wenn Sie dieselbe Komponente an mehreren Stellen benötigen, ist dies einfach. Mithilfe der JSX-Syntax können Sie Ihre Komponenten überall dort deklarieren, wo sie angezeigt werden sollen.

Props and State

Komponenten benötigen Daten, mit denen sie arbeiten können. Es gibt zwei verschiedene Möglichkeiten, Komponenten und Daten zu kombinieren: entweder als props oder als state. Props and State bestimmen, was eine Komponente rendert und wie sie sich verhält. Beginnen wir mit Props.

props

Wenn Komponenten einfache JavaScript-Funktionen wären, wären Props die Funktionseingabe. Nach dieser Analogie akzeptiert eine Komponente eine Eingabe (was wir als Props bezeichnen), verarbeitet sie und rendert dann JSX-Code.

Stateful vs Stateless Component Component with props

Obwohl die Daten in Props für eine Komponente zugänglich sind, lautet die Philosophie von React, dass Props unveränderlich und von oben nach unten sein sollten. Dies bedeutet, dass eine übergeordnete Komponente alle gewünschten Daten als Props an ihre untergeordneten Komponenten weitergeben kann, die untergeordnete Komponente ihre Props jedoch nicht ändern kann. Wenn Sie also versuchen, die Props wie unten beschrieben zu bearbeiten, wird der TypeError "Kann nicht schreibgeschützt zugewiesen werden" angezeigt.

State

State ist ein Objekt, das der Komponente gehört, in der es deklariert ist. Ihr Umfang ist auf die aktuelle Komponente beschränkt. Eine Komponente kann ihren State initialisierenund bei Bedarf aktualisieren. State von den übergeordneten Komponenten ist eine Requisite der untergeordneten Komponente. Wenn State aus dem aktuellen Bereich herausgereicht wird, wird er als Props bezeichnet.

Stateful vs Stateless Component Component with State

Nachdem wir die Grundlagen der Komponenten kennen, werfen wir einen Blick auf die grundlegende Klassifizierung von Komponenten.

Klassenkomponenten vs. Funktionskomponenten

Es gibt zwei Arten von React-Komponenten: entweder eine Klassenkomponente oder eine Funktionskomponente. Der Unterschied zwischen den beiden ist aus ihren Namen ersichtlich.

Funktionskomponenten

Funktionskomponenten sind nur JavaScript-Funktionen. Sie nehmen eine optionale Eingabe auf, die wir, wie bereits erwähnt, als Props bezeichnen.

Stateful vs Stateless Components Functional Components

Einige Entwickler bevorzugen die Verwendung der neuen ES6-Pfeilfunktionen zum Definieren von Komponenten. Pfeilfunktionen sind kompakter und bieten eine übersichtliche Syntax zum Schreiben von Funktionsausdrücken. Mithilfe einer Pfeilfunktion können wir die Verwendung von zwei Schlüsselwörtern, funktion und return, sowie zwei geschweiften Klammern überspringen. Mit der neuen Syntax können Sie eine Komponente wie folgt in einer einzelnen Zeile definieren.

Klassenkomponenten

Klassenkomponenten bieten mehr Funktionen und mit mehr Funktionen kommt mehr Gepäck. Der Hauptgrund für die Auswahl von Klassenkomponenten gegenüber Funktionskomponenten besteht darin, dass sie einen state haben können.

Die Syntax state = {count: 1} ist Teil der Funktion für öffentliche Klassenfelder. Mehr dazu weiter unten.

Es gibt zwei Möglichkeiten, eine Klassenkomponente zu erstellen. Die traditionelle Methode ist die Verwendung von React.createClass(). ES6 hat einen Syntaxzucker eingeführt, mit dem Sie Klassen schreiben können, die React.Component erweitern. Beide Methoden sollen jedoch dasselbe bewirken.

Klassenkomponenten können auch ohne State existieren. Hier ist ein Beispiel für eine Klassenkomponente, die Eingabestützen akzeptiert und JSX rendert.

Wir definieren eine Konstruktormethode, die Props als Eingabe akzeptiert. Innerhalb des Konstruktors rufen wir super() auf, um alles weiterzugeben, was von der übergeordneten Klasse geerbt wird. Hier sind einige Details, die Sie übersehen haben.

Erstens ist der Konstruktor beim Definieren einer Komponente optional. Im obigen Fall hat die Komponente kein State und der Konstruktor scheint nichts Nützliches zu tun. this.props, die in render() verwendet werden, funktionieren unabhängig davon, ob der Konstruktor definiert ist oder nicht. Hier ist jedoch etwas aus den offiziellen Dokumenten:

Klassenkomponenten sollten den Basiskonstruktor immer mit props aufrufen.

Ich empfehle Ihnen die Verwendung des Konstruktors für alle Klassenkomponenten.

Zweitens müssen Sie, wenn Sie einen Konstruktor verwenden, super() aufrufen. Dies ist nicht optional, und ansonsten wird der Syntaxfehler "Fehlender Aufruf von super() im Konstruktor" angezeigt.

Und mein letzter Punkt betrifft die Verwendung von super() vs. super(props). super(props) sollte verwendet werden, wenn Sie this.props im Konstruktor aufrufen möchten. Andernfalls reicht es aus, nur super() zu verwenden.

Stateful Components vs. Stateless Components

Dies ist eine weitere beliebte Methode zur Klassifizierung von Komponenten. Und die Kriterien für die Klassifizierung sind einfach: die Komponenten mit State und die Komponenten ohne State.

Stateful Komponenten

Stateful-Komponenten sind immer Klassenkomponenten. Wie bereits erwähnt, haben stateful Komponenten ein State, der im Konstruktor initialisiert wird.

Wir haben ein State-Objekt erstellt und es mit einer Anzahl von 0 initialisiert. Es wird eine alternative Syntax vorgeschlagen, um dies zu vereinfachen. Sie werden als Klassenfelder bezeichnet. Es ist noch nicht Teil der ECMAScript-Spezifikation, aber wenn Sie einen Babel-Transpiler verwenden, sollte diese Syntax sofort funktionieren.

Mit dieser neuen Syntax können Sie die Verwendung des Konstruktors ganz vermeiden.

Wir können jetzt innerhalb der Klassenmethoden einschließlich render() auf State zugreifen. Wenn Sie sie in render() verwenden möchten, um den Wert der aktuellen Anzahl anzuzeigen, müssen Sie ihn wie folgt in geschweifte Klammern setzen:

Das Schlüsselwort this bezieht sich hier auf die Instanz der aktuellen Komponente.

Das Initialisieren des States reicht nicht aus - wir müssen in der Lage sein, State zu aktualisieren, um eine interaktive Anwendung zu erstellen. Wenn Sie dachten, das würde funktionieren, nein, wird es nicht.

Reaktionskomponenten sind mit einer Methode namens setState zum Aktualisieren des States ausgestattet. setState akzeptiert ein Objekt, das neues State der count enthält.

setState() akzeptiert ein Objekt als Eingabe und wir erhöhen den vorherigen Wert von count um 1, was wie erwartet funktioniert. Es gibt jedoch einen Haken. Wenn es mehrere setState-Aufrufe gibt, die einen vorherigen Wert des States lesen und einen neuen Wert in ihn schreiben, kann dies zu einer Race-Bedingung führen. Dies bedeutet, dass die Endergebnisse nicht mit den erwarteten Werten übereinstimmen.

Hier ist ein Beispiel, das es Ihnen klar machen soll. Versuchen Sie dies im obigen Code- und Box-Snippet.

Wir möchten, dass der setState die Anzahl um 100 erhöht, sie dann um 1 aktualisiert und dann die zuvor hinzugefügten 100 entfernt. Wenn setState den State-Übergang in der tatsächlichen Reihenfolge ausführt, erhalten wir das erwartete Verhalten. SetState ist jedoch asynchron, und mehrere setState-Aufrufe können für eine bessere Benutzeroberfläche und Leistung gestapelt werden. Der obige Code ergibt also ein Verhalten, das sich von dem unterscheidet, was wir erwarten.

Anstatt ein Objekt direkt zu übergeben, können Sie daher eine Updater-Funktion mit der Signatur übergeben:

prevState verweist auf den vorherigen State und ist garantiert auf dem neuesten Stand. Props beziehen sich auf die Props der Komponente, und wir benötigen hier keine Props, um ein State zu aktualisieren, sodass wir dies ignorieren können. Daher können wir es zum Aktualisieren des Status verwenden und die Rennbedingung vermeiden.

Mit setState() wird die Komponente erneut gerendert, und Sie haben eine funktionierende Stateful-Komponente.

Stateless Komponenten

Sie können entweder eine Funktion oder eine Klasse zum Erstellen Stateless-Komponenten verwenden. Sofern Sie in Ihren Komponenten keinen Lebenszyklus-Hook verwenden müssen, sollten Sie sich für Stateless Funktionskomponenten entscheiden. Es gibt viele Vorteile, wenn Sie sich hier für die Verwendung Stateless Funktionskomponenten entscheiden. Sie sind einfach zu schreiben, zu verstehen und zu testen, und Sie können this Schlüsselwort vollständig vermeiden. Ab React v16 bietet die Verwendung Stateless-Funktionskomponenten gegenüber Klassenkomponenten jedoch keine Leistungsvorteile mehr.

Der Nachteil ist, dass Sie keine Lifecycle-Hooks haben können. Die Lebenszyklusmethode ShouldComponentUpdate() wird häufig verwendet, um die Leistung zu optimieren und manuell zu steuern, was erneut gerendert wird. Sie können das noch nicht mit Funktionskomponenten verwenden. Refs werden ebenfalls nicht unterstützt.

Containerkomponenten vs. Präsentationskomponenten

Dies ist ein weiteres Muster, das beim Schreiben von Komponenten sehr nützlich ist. Der Vorteil dieses Ansatzes besteht darin, dass die Verhaltenslogik von der Präsentationslogik getrennt ist.

Präsentationskomponenten

Präsentationskomponenten sind mit der Ansicht oder dem Aussehen der Dinge verbunden. Diese Komponenten akzeptieren Props von ihrem Container-Gegenstück und rendern sie. Alles, was mit der Beschreibung der Benutzeroberfläche zu tun hat, sollte hier stehen.

Präsentationskomponenten sind wiederverwendbar und sollten von der Verhaltensschicht entkoppelt bleiben. Eine Präsentationskomponente empfängt die Daten und Rückrufe ausschließlich über Props. Wenn ein Ereignis auftritt, wie das Drücken einer Taste, führt sie über Props einen Rückruf an die Containerkomponente durch, um eine Ereignisbehandlungsmethode aufzurufen.

Funktionskomponenten sollten Ihre erste Wahl für das Schreiben von Präsentationskomponenten sein, es sei denn, ein State ist erforderlich. Wenn eine Präsentationskomponente einen State erfordert, sollte sie sich mit dem UI-State und nicht mit tatsächlichen Daten befassen. Die Präsentationskomponente interagiert nicht mit dem Redux-Speicher und führt keine API-Aufrufe durch.

Containerkomponenten

Containerkomponenten befassen sich mit dem Verhaltensteil. Eine Containerkomponente teilt der Präsentationskomponente mit, was mit Propsgerendert werden soll. Es sollte keine eingeschränkten DOM-Markups und -Stile enthalten. Wenn Sie Redux verwenden, enthält eine Containerkomponente den Code, der eine Aktion an ein Geschäft sendet. Alternativ ist dies der Ort, an dem Sie Ihre API-Aufrufe platzieren und das Ergebnis im State der Komponente speichern sollten.

Die übliche Struktur besteht darin, dass sich oben eine Containerkomponente befindet, die die Daten als Props an die untergeordneten Präsentationskomponenten weitergibt. Dies funktioniert für kleinere Projekte; Wenn das Projekt jedoch größer wird und Sie viele Zwischenkomponenten haben, die nur Props akzeptieren und diese an untergeordnete Komponenten weitergeben, wird dies unangenehm und schwer zu warten. In diesem Fall ist es besser, eine für die Blattkomponente eindeutige Containerkomponente zu erstellen. Dies entlastet die Zwischenkomponenten.

Was ist eine PureComponent?

In React-Kreisen wird der Begriff reine Komponente sehr häufig zu hören sein, und dann gibt es React.PureComponent. Wenn Sie neu bei React sind, klingt dies möglicherweise etwas verwirrend. Eine Komponente gilt als rein, wenn garantiert wird, dass sie bei gleichen Props und Zuständen dasselbe Ergebnis liefert. Eine Funktionskomponente ist ein gutes Beispiel für eine reine Komponente, da Sie anhand einer Eingabe wissen, was gerendert wird.

Klassenkomponenten können auch rein sein, solange ihre Props und ihr Zustand unveränderlich sind. Wenn Sie eine Komponente mit einem 'tiefen' unveränderlichen Satz von Props und State haben, verfügt die React-API über eine sogenannte PureComponent. React.PureComponent ähnelt React.Component, implementiert jedoch die ShouldComponentUpdate() -Methode etwas anders. ShouldComponentUpdate() wird aufgerufen, bevor etwas erneut gerendert wird. Das Standardverhalten ist, dass true zurückgegeben wird, sodass bei jeder Änderung des States oder der Props die Komponente erneut gerendert wird.

Mit PureComponent wird jedoch ein flacher Vergleich von Objekten durchgeführt. Flacher Vergleich bedeutet, dass Sie den unmittelbaren Inhalt der Objekte vergleichen, anstatt alle Schlüssel/Wert-Paare des Objekts rekursiv zu vergleichen. Es werden also nur die Objektreferenzen verglichen, und wenn das State/die Props mutiert sind, funktioniert es nicht wie beabsichtigt.

React.PureComponent wird zur Optimierung der Leistung verwendet, und es gibt keinen Grund, warum Sie die Verwendung in Betracht ziehen sollten, es sei denn, Sie stoßen auf ein Leistungsproblem.

Letzte Gedanken

Stateless Funktionskomponenten sind eleganter und normalerweise eine gute Wahl für den Aufbau der Präsentationskomponenten. Da es sich nur um Funktionen handelt, fällt es Ihnen nicht schwer, sie zu schreiben und zu verstehen, und außerdem sind sie kinderleicht zu testen.

Es ist zu beachten, dass Stateless-Funktionskomponenten in Bezug auf Optimierung und Leistung nicht die Oberhand haben, da sie keinen ShouldComponentUpdate() - Hook haben. Dies kann sich in zukünftigen Versionen von React ändern, in denen Funktionskomponenten möglicherweise für eine bessere Leistung optimiert werden. Wenn Sie die Leistung jedoch nicht kritisieren, sollten Sie sich an Funktionskomponenten für die Ansicht/Präsentation und an Stateful-Class-Komponenten für den Container halten.

Hoffentlich hat Ihnen dieses Tutorial einen allgemeinen Überblick über die komponentenbasierte Architektur und die verschiedenen Komponentenmuster in React gegeben. Was denkst du darüber? Teile sie durch die Kommentare.

In den letzten Jahren hat React an Popularität gewonnen. Tatsächlich gibt es in Envato Market eine Reihe von Artikeln, die zum Kauf, zur Überprüfung, Implementierung usw. verfügbar sind. Wenn Sie nach zusätzlichen Ressourcen rund um React suchen, zögern Sie nicht, diese zu überprüfen.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. React
Code

Stateful vs. Stateless Functional Components in React

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

React is a popular JavaScript front-end library for building interactive user interfaces. React has a comparatively shallow learning curve, which is one of the reasons why it's getting all the attention lately. 

Although there many important concepts to be covered, components are undeniably the heart and soul of React. Having a good understanding of components should make your life easy as a React developer. 

Prerequisites

This tutorial is intended for beginners who have started learning React and need a better overview of components. We will start with component basics and then move on to more challenging concepts such as component patterns and when to use those patterns. Different component classifications have been covered such as class vs. functional components, stateful vs. stateless components, and container vs. presentational components. 

Before getting started, I want to introduce you to the code snippet that we will be using in this tutorial. It is a simple counter built with React. I will be referring back to some parts of this example throughout the tutorial. 

So let's get started. 

What Are Components?

Components are self-sustaining, independent micro-entities that describe a part of your UI. An application's UI can be split up into smaller components where each component has its own code, structure, and API. 

Facebook, for instance, has thousands of pieces of functionality interfaced together when you view their web application. Here is an interesting fact: Facebook comprises 30,000 components, and the number is growing. The component architecture allows you to think of each piece in isolation. Each component can update everything in its scope without being concerned about how it affects other components. 

If we take Facebook's UI as an example, the search bar would be a good candidate for a component. Facebook's Newsfeed would make another component (or a component that hosts many sub-components). All the methods and AJAX calls concerned with the search bar would be within that component.

Components are also reusable. If you need the same component in multiple places, that's easy. With the help of JSX syntax, you can declare your components wherever you want them to appear, and that's it. 

Props and State

Components need data to work with. There are two different ways that you can combine components and data: either as props or state. props and state determine what a component renders and how it behaves. Let's start with props.

props

If components were plain JavaScript functions, then props would be the function input. Going by that analogy, a component accepts an input (what we call props), processes it, and then renders some JSX code.

Stateful vs Stateless Component Component with props

Although the data in props is accessible to a component, React philosophy is that props should be immutable and top-down. What this means is that a parent component can pass on whatever data it wants to its children as props, but the child component cannot modify its props. So, if you try to edit the props as I did below, you will get the "Cannot assign to read-only" TypeError.

State

State, on the other hand, is an object that is owned by the component where it is declared. Its scope is limited to the current component. A component can initialize its state and update it whenever necessary. The state of the parent component usually ends up being props of the child component. When the state is passed out of the current scope, we refer to it as a prop.

Stateful vs Stateless Component Component with State

Now that we know the component basics, let's have a look at the basic classification of components.

Class Components vs. Functional Components

A React component can be of two types: either a class component or a functional component. The difference between the two is evident from their names. 

Functional Components

Functional components are just JavaScript functions. They take in an optional input which, as I've mentioned earlier, is what we call props.

Stateful vs Stateless Components Functional Components

Some developers prefer to use the new ES6 arrow functions for defining components. Arrow functions are more compact and offer a concise syntax for writing function expressions. By using an arrow function, we can skip the use of two keywords, function and return, and a pair of curly brackets. With the new syntax, you can define a component in a single line like this. 

Class Components

Class components offer more features, and with more features comes more baggage. The primary reason to choose class components over functional components is that they can have state.

The state = {count: 1} syntax is part of the public class fields feature. More on this below. 

There are two ways that you can create a class component. The traditional way is to use React.createClass(). ES6 introduced a syntax sugar that allows you to write classes that extend React.Component. However, both the methods are meant to do the same thing. 

Class components can exist without state too. Here is an example of a class component that accepts an input props and renders JSX.

We define a constructor method that accepts props as input. Inside the constructor, we call super() to pass down whatever is being inherited from the parent class. Here are a few details that you might have missed.

First, the constructor is optional while defining a component. In the above case, the component doesn't have a state, and the constructor doesn't appear to do anything useful. this.props used inside the render() will work regardless of whether the constructor is defined or not. However, here's something from the official docs:

Class components should always call the base constructor with props.

As a best practice, I will recommend using the constructor for all class components.

Secondly, if you're using a constructor, you need to call super(). This is not optional, and you will get the syntax error "Missing super() call in constructor" otherwise. 

And my last point is about the use of super() vs. super(props). super(props) should be used if you're going to call this.props inside the constructor. Otherwise, using super() alone is sufficient.

Stateful Components vs. Stateless Components

This is another popular way of classifying components. And the criteria for the classification is simple: the components that have state and the components that don't. 

Stateful Components

Stateful components are always class components. As previously mentioned, stateful components have a state that gets initialized in the constructor. 

We've created a state object and initialized it with a count of 0. There is an alternative syntax proposed to make this easier called class fields. It's not a part of the ECMAScript specification yet, but If you're using a Babel transpiler, this syntax should work out of the box.

You can avoid using the constructor altogether with this new syntax.

We can now access the state within the class methods including render(). If you're going to use them inside render() to display the value of the current count, you need to place it inside curly brackets as follows:

The this keyword here refers to the instance of the current component. 

Initializing the state is not enough—we need to be able to update the state in order to create an interactive application. If you thought this would work, no, it won't.

 React components are equipped with a method called setState for updating the state. setState accepts an object that contains the new state of the count.

The setState() accepts an object as an input, and we increment the previous value of count by 1, which works as expected. However, there is a catch. When there are multiple setState calls that read a previous value of the state and write a new value into it, we might end up with a race condition. What that means is that the final results won't match up with the expected values.

Here is an example that should make it clear for you. Try this in the codesandbox snippet above.

We want the setState to increment the count by 100, then update it by 1, and then remove that 100 that was added earlier. If setState performs the state transition in the actual order, we will get the expected behavior. However, setState is asynchronous, and multiple setState calls might be batched together for better UI experience and performance. So the above code yields a behavior which is different from what we expect.

Therefore, instead of directly passing an object, you can pass in an updater function that has the signature:

prevState is a reference to the previous state and is guaranteed to be up to date. props refers to the component's props, and we don't need props to update the state here, so we can ignore that. Hence, we can use it for updating state and avoid the race condition.

The setState() rerenders the component, and you have a working stateful component.

Stateless Components

You can use either a function or a class for creating stateless components. But unless you need to use a lifecycle hook in your components, you should go for stateless functional components. There are a lot of benefits if you decide to use stateless functional components here; they are easy to write, understand, and test, and you can avoid the this keyword altogether. However, as of React v16, there are no performance benefits from using stateless functional components over class components. 

The downside is that you can't have lifecycle hooks. The lifecycle method ShouldComponentUpdate() is often used to optimize performance and to manually control what gets rerendered. You can't use that with functional components yet. Refs are also not supported.

Container Components vs. Presentational Components

This is another pattern that is very useful while writing components. The benefit of this approach is that the behavior logic is separated from the presentational logic.

Presentational Components

Presentational components are coupled with the view or how things look. These components accept props from their container counterpart and render them. Everything that has to do with describing the UI should go here. 

Presentational components are reusable and should stay decoupled from the behavioral layer. A presentational component receives the data and callbacks exclusively via props and when an event occurs, like a button being pressed, it performs a callback to the container component via props to invoke an event handling method. 

Functional components should be your first choice for writing presentational components unless a state is required. If a presentational component requires a state, it should be concerned with the UI state and not actual data. The presentational component doesn't interact with the Redux store or make API calls. 

Container Components

Container components will deal with the behavioral part. A container component tells the presentational component what should be rendered using props. It shouldn't contain limited DOM markups and styles. If you're using Redux, a container component contains the code that dispatches an action to a store. Alternatively, this is the place where you should place your API calls and store the result into the component's state. 

The usual structure is that there is a container component at the top that passes down the data to its child presentational components as props. This works for smaller projects; however, when the project gets bigger and you have a lot of intermediate components that just accept props and pass them on to child components, this will get nasty and hard to maintain. When this happens, it's better to create a container component unique to the leaf component, and this will ease the burden on the intermediate components.

So What Is a PureComponent?

You will get to hear the term pure component very often in React circles, and then there is React.PureComponent. When you're new to React, all this might sound a bit confusing. A component is said to be pure if it is guaranteed to return the same result given the same props and state. A functional component is a good example of a pure component because, given an input, you know what will be rendered. 

Class components can be pure too as long as their props and state are immutable. If you have a component with a 'deep' immutable set of props and state, React API has something called PureComponent. React.PureComponent is similar to React.Component, but it implements the ShouldComponentUpdate() method a bit differently. ShouldComponentUpdate() is invoked before something is rerendered. The default behaviour is that it returns true so that any change to the state or the props rerenders the component.

However, with PureComponent, it performs a shallow comparison of objects. Shallow comparison means that you compare the immediate contents of the objects instead of recursively comparing all the key/value pairs of the object. So only the object references are compared, and if the state/props are mutated, this might not work as intended. 

React.PureComponent is used for optimizing performance, and there is no reason why you should consider using it unless you encounter some sort of performance issue. 

Final Thoughts

Stateless functional components are more elegant and usually are a good choice for building the presentational components. Because they are just functions, you won't have a hard time writing and understanding them, and moreover, they are dead easy to test. 

It should be noted that stateless functional components don't have the upper hand in terms of optimization and performance because they don't have a ShouldComponentUpdate() hook. This might change in future versions of React, where functional components might be optimized for better performance. However, if you're not critical of the performance, you should stick to functional components for the view/presentation and stateful class components for the container.

Hopefully, this tutorial has given you a high-level overview of the component-based architecture and different component patterns in React. What are your thoughts on this? Share them through the comments.

Over the last couple of years, React has grown in popularity. In fact, we have a number of items in Envato Market that are available for purchase, review, implementation, and so on. If you’re looking for additional resources around React, don’t hesitate to check them out.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.