Unlimited Plugins, WordPress themes, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. React

Stateful и Функциональные stateless компоненты в React

by
Read Time:13 minsLanguages:

Russian (Pусский) translation by Marat Amerov (you can also view the original English article)

React - популярная JavaScript библиотека для создания интерактивных пользовательских интерфейсов. React имеет сравнительно низкою кривую обучения, что является одной из причин, по которой в последнее время ей уделяется внимание.

Несмотря на то, что многие важные концепции должны быть покрыты, компоненты, несомненно, являются сердцем и душой React. Хорошее понимание компонентов должно сделать вашу жизнь легкой, как React разработчика.

Необходимые условия

Этот урок предназначен для начинающих, которые начали изучать React и нуждаются в лучшем понимании компонентов. Мы начнем с основ компонентов, а затем перейдем к более сложным концепциям, таким как шаблоны компонентов и когда использовать эти шаблоны. Рассмотрены различные классификации компонентов, такие как классы по сравнению с функциональными компонентами, компоненты с изменяемым состоянием и  без, а также контейнерные и презентационные компоненты.

Прежде чем приступить к работе, я хочу представить вам фрагмент кода, который мы будем использовать в этом уроке. Это простой счетчик, построенный с помощью React. Я вернусь к некоторым частям этого примера на протяжении всего урока.

Давайте начнем.

Что такое компоненты?

Компоненты являются самодостаточными независимыми микрообъектами, которые описывают часть вашего пользовательского интерфейса. Пользовательский интерфейс приложения можно разделить на более мелкие компоненты, где каждый компонент имеет свой собственный код, структуру и API.

Например, у Facebook есть тысячи функциональных возможностей, взаимодействующих друг с другом, когда вы просматриваете их веб-приложение. Вот интересный факт: Facebook состоит из 30 000 компонентов, и их число растет. Компонентная архитектура  позволяет вам рассматривать каждую часть отдельно. Каждый компонент может обновлять все в своем скопе, не беспокоясь о том, как он влияет на другие компоненты.

Если в качестве примера использовать пользовательский интерфейс Facebook, панель поиска будет хорошим кандидатом для компонента. Новостная лента Facebook может создавать другой компонент (или компонент, на котором размещено много подкомпонентов). Все методы и вызовы AJAX, связанные с панелью поиска, будут находиться внутри этого компонента.

Компоненты также могут использоваться повторно. Если вам нужен один и тот же компонент в нескольких местах, это легко. С помощью синтаксиса JSX вы можете объявлять свои компоненты, чтобы они отображались везде, где хотите.

Props и State

Компонентам нужны данные для работы. Существует два разных способа объединения компонентов и данных: либо в виде props, либо в виде state. props и state определяют, что делает компонент и как он себя ведет. Начнем с props.

props

Если компонентами это простые JavaScript функции, то props это входные параметры функции. Исходя из этой аналогии, компонент принимает вход (то, что мы называем props), обрабатывает его, а затем реднерит некоторый JSX код .

Stateful vs Stateless Component Component with propsStateful vs Stateless Component Component with propsStateful vs Stateless Component Component with props

Хотя данные в props доступны для компонента, философия React заключается в том, что props должен быть неизменным и сверху вниз. Это означает, что родительский компонент может передавать любые данные, которые он хочет своим детям, в качестве props, но дочерний компонент не может изменять свои props. Итак, если вы попытаетесь изменить props, как я сделал ниже, вы получите "Cannot assign to read-only" TypeError.

State

С другой стороны, State является объектом, принадлежащим компоненту, где он объявлен. Его область ограничена текущим компонентом. Компонент может инициализировать свое состояние и обновлять его, когда это необходимо. Состояние родительского компонента обычно становится props дочернего компонента. Когда состояние передается из текущей области, мы называем его prop.

Stateful vs Stateless Component Component with StateStateful vs Stateless Component Component with StateStateful vs Stateless Component Component with State

Теперь, когда мы знаем основы компонентов, давайте посмотрим на базовую классификацию компонентов.

Класс Компоненты и Функциональные компоненты

Компонент React может быть двух типов: либо это компонент в виде класса, либо функциональный компонент. Разница между ними очевидна из их имен.

Функциональные компоненты

Функциональные компоненты - это просто JavaScript функции. Они берут необязательный входной параметр, который, как я упоминал ранее, является тем, что мы называем props.

Stateful vs Stateless Components Functional ComponentsStateful vs Stateless Components Functional ComponentsStateful vs Stateless Components Functional Components

Некоторые разработчики предпочитают использовать новые стрелочные функции ES6 для определения компонентов. Стрелочные функции более компактны и предлагают сжатый синтаксис для написания функций выражений. Используя стрелочные функции, мы можем пропустить использование двух ключевых слов, function, return и пары фигурных скобок. С помощью нового синтаксиса вы можете определить компонент в одной строке следующим образом.

Компоненты в виде классов

Компоненты в виде классов предлагают больше возможностей, и с большим количеством функций появляется больше багажа. Основная причина выбора компонентов класса над функциональными компонентами заключается в том, что они могут иметь state.

Синтаксис state = {count: 1} является частью публичных полей класса. Подробнее об этом ниже.

Существует два способа создания класса компонента. Традиционным способом является использование React.createClass(). ES6 ввел синтаксический сахар, который позволяет писать классы, расширяющие React.Component. Однако оба метода предназначены для того, чтобы делать то же самое.

Компоненты класса могут существовать и без state. Ниже приведен пример компонента класса, который принимает на вход props и отображает JSX.

Мы определяем метод конструктора, который принимает props в качестве входных данных. Внутри конструктора мы вызываем super(), чтобы передать все, что унаследовано от родительского класса. Вот несколько деталей, которые вы, возможно, пропустили.

Во-первых, конструктор является необязательным при определении компонента. В приведенном выше случае компонент не имеет состояния, и конструктор, кажется бесполезным. this.props, используемые внутри render(), будут работать независимо от того, определен ли конструктор или нет. Однако, вот что сказано в официальной документации:

Компоненты в виде класса всегда должны вызывать базовый конструктор с props.

В качестве наилучшей практики я рекомендую использовать конструктор для всех компонентов в виде класса.

Во-вторых, если вы используете конструктор, вам нужно вызвать super(). Это обязательно, в противном случае вы получите синтаксическую ошибку "Missing super() call in constructor".

И последнее замечание касается использования super() и super(props). super(props) следует использовать, если вы собираетесь вызвать this.props внутри конструктора. В противном случае достаточно использовать только super().

Компоненты с состоянием и компоненты без состояния

Это еще один популярный способ классификации компонентов. И критерии классификации просты: компоненты, которые имеют состояние и компоненты, которые не имеют его.

Компоненты имеющие состояние

Компоненты имеющие состояние всегда являются компонентами в виде класса. Как упоминалось ранее, компоненты с состоянием имеют состояние, которое инициализируется в конструкторе.

Мы создали объект state и инициализировали его с числом 0. Существует альтернативный синтаксис, предлагаемый для упрощения называемый class fields. Это еще не входит в спецификацию ECMAScript, но если вы используете транспилер Babel, этот синтаксис должен работать из коробки.

В целом вы можете избежать использования конструктора с помощью этого нового синтаксиса.

Теперь мы можем получить доступ к state внутри методов класса, включая render(). Если вы собираетесь использовать их внутри render(), чтобы отобразить значение текущего счета, вам необходимо поместить его в фигурные скобки следующим образом:

Ключевое слово this ссылается к экземпляру текущего компонента.

Инициализации state недостаточно - нам нужно обновить state, чтобы создать интерактивное приложение. Если вы считаете, что это сработает, нет, это не так.

Компоненты React оснащены методом setState для обновления state. setState принимает объект, который содержит новый state count.

SetState() принимает объект как входной параметр, и мы увеличиваем предыдущее значение count на 1, которое работает как ожидалось. Однако есть улов. Когда есть несколько вызовов setState, которые читают предыдущее значение state и записывают в него новое значение, мы можем столкнуться с состоянием гонки. Это означает, что конечные результаты не будут соответствовать ожидаемым значениям.

Вот пример, который должен дать вам понимание. Попробуйте это в приведенном выше сниппете codeandbox.

Мы хотим, чтобы setState увеличивал счет на 100, а затем обновлял его на 1, а затем удалял 100, которые были добавлены ранее. Если setState выполняет переход состояния в приведенном порядке, мы получим ожидаемое поведение. Тем не менее, setState является асинхронным, и несколько вызовов setState могут быть собраны вместе для лучшего поведения и производительности UI. Таким образом, приведенный выше код дает поведение, отличное от ожидаемого.

Поэтому вместо прямой передачи объекта вы можете передать функцию обновления, имеющую сигнатуру:

prevState - это ссылка на предыдущее состояние, что гарантирует ожидаемое поведение. props ссылается к props компонента, и нам не нужны props для обновления state здесь, поэтому мы можем игнорировать это. Следовательно, мы можем использовать его для обновления состояния и избежать состояния гонки.

SetState() перерендеривает компонент, и у вас есть работающий stateful компонент.

Компоненты без состояния

Вы можете использовать либо функцию, либо класс для создания компонентов без состояния. Но если вам не нужно использовать хуки жизненного цикла в ваших компонентах, желательно перейти на функциональные компоненты без состояния. Есть много преимуществ, если вы решили использовать функциональные компоненты без state; они просты в написании, понимании и тестировании, и вы можете вообще избегать ключевого слова this. Однако, как и в случае с React v16, преимущества использования функциональных компонентов без учета состояния над компонентами класса отсутствуют.

Недостатком является то, что вы не можете использовать хуки жизненного цикла. Метод жизненного цикла ShouldComponentUpdate() часто используется для оптимизации производительности и для ручного управления тем, что получает рендеринг. Вы не можете использовать это с функциональными компонентами. Refs также не поддерживаются.

Контейнерные компоненты и Презентационные компоненты

Это еще один паттерн, который очень полезен при написании компонентов. Преимущество такого подхода заключается в том, что логика поведения отделена от презентационной логики.

Компоненты презенторы

Презентационные компоненты сочетаются с представлением или отвечают за отображение. Эти компоненты принимают props из своего контейнера и рендерят их. Все, что связано с описанием пользовательского интерфейса, должно быть здесь.

Презентационные компоненты могут повторно использоваться и должны оставаться отделенными от поведенческого слоя. Презентационный компонент получает данные и коллбеки исключительно через props, и когда происходит событие, например нажатие кнопки, он вызывает коллбек к компоненту контейнера через props для вызова метода обработки событий.

Функциональные компоненты должны быть вашим первым выбором для написания презентационных компонентов, если не требуется состояние. Если презентационный компонент требует состояния, он должен быть связан с состоянием пользовательского интерфейса, а не с фактическими данными. Презентационный компонент не взаимодействует с хранилищем Redux и не выполняет вызовы API.

Компоненты контейнера

Компоненты контейнера будут иметь дело с поведенческой частью. Компонент контейнера сообщает презентационному компоненту, что нужно рендерить с помощью props. Он не должен содержать ограниченные DOM разметки и стили. Если вы используете Redux, компонент контейнера содержит код, который отправляет действие в хранилище. В качестве альтернативы, это место, где вы должны поместить свои вызовы API и сохранить результат в state компонента.

Обычная структура состоит в том, что в верхней части находится компонент контейнера, который передает данные дочерним презентационным компонентам в качестве props. Это работает для небольших проектов; однако, когда проект становится больше, и у вас много промежуточных компонентов, которые просто принимают props и передают их дочерним компонентам, это будет неприятно и трудно поддерживать. Когда это произойдет, лучше создать компонент контейнера, уникальный для листового компонента, и это облегчит нагрузку на промежуточные компоненты.

Итак, что такое PureComponent?

Вы очень часто слышите термин «чистый компонент» в кругах React, а это React.PureComponent. Когда вы новичок в React, все это может показаться немного запутанным. Компонент считается чистым, если гарантированно возвращает тот же результат, учитывая тот же props и state. Функциональный компонент является хорошим примером чистого компонента, потому что, учитывая входные параметры, вы знаете, что будет рендерится.

Компоненты класса могут быть чистыми, если их props и state иммутабельны. Если у вас есть компонент с «глубоким» неизменным набором props и state, React API имеет нечто, называемое PureComponent. React.PureComponent похож на React.Component, но он реализует метод ShouldComponentUpdate() несколько иначе. ShouldComponentUpdate() вызывается до того, как что-то перерендерилось. Поведение по умолчанию заключается в том, что оно возвращает true, так что любое изменение state или props перерендерит компонент.

Однако с PureComponent он выполняет поверхностное сравнение объектов. Поверхностное сравнение означает, что вы сравниваете непосредственное содержимое объектов, а не рекурсивно сравниваете все пары ключ/значение объекта. Таким образом сравниваются только ссылки на объекты, и если state/props мутированы, это может работать не так, как предполагалось.

React.PureComponent используется для оптимизации производительности, и нет причин, по которым вы должны использовать его, если не столкнулись с какой-либо проблемой производительности.

Заключение

Функциональные компоненты без state более элегантны и обычно являются хорошим выбором для создания презентационных компонентов. Поскольку они - просто функции, вам не составит труда писать и понимать их, и, кроме того, они легко тестируются.

Следует отметить, что функциональные компоненты без состояния не имеют преимуществ в плане оптимизации и производительности, поскольку у них нет хука ShouldComponentUpdate(). Это может измениться в будущих версиях React, где функциональные компоненты могут быть оптимизированы для повышения производительности. Однако, если вы не критичны к производительности, вы должны придерживаться функциональных компонентов для компонентов видов/представлений и классов с состоянием для контейнера.

Надеемся, что в этом уроке вы получили обзор на уровне компонентной архитектуры и различные паттерны компонентов в React. Что вы думаете об этом? Поделитесь мыслями в комментариях.

За последние пару лет React стал популярным. Фактически, у нас есть ряд материалов на рынке Envato, которые доступны для покупки, просмотра, реализации и т. д. Если вы ищете дополнительные ресурсы вокруг React, не стесняйтесь ознакомится с ними.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. React
Code

Stateful vs. Stateless Functional Components in React

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

React is a popular JavaScript front-end library for building interactive user interfaces. React has a comparatively shallow learning curve, which is one of the reasons why it's getting all the attention lately. 

Although there many important concepts to be covered, components are undeniably the heart and soul of React. Having a good understanding of components should make your life easy as a React developer. 

Prerequisites

This tutorial is intended for beginners who have started learning React and need a better overview of components. We will start with component basics and then move on to more challenging concepts such as component patterns and when to use those patterns. Different component classifications have been covered such as class vs. functional components, stateful vs. stateless components, and container vs. presentational components. 

Before getting started, I want to introduce you to the code snippet that we will be using in this tutorial. It is a simple counter built with React. I will be referring back to some parts of this example throughout the tutorial. 

So let's get started. 

What Are Components?

Components are self-sustaining, independent micro-entities that describe a part of your UI. An application's UI can be split up into smaller components where each component has its own code, structure, and API. 

Facebook, for instance, has thousands of pieces of functionality interfaced together when you view their web application. Here is an interesting fact: Facebook comprises 30,000 components, and the number is growing. The component architecture allows you to think of each piece in isolation. Each component can update everything in its scope without being concerned about how it affects other components. 

If we take Facebook's UI as an example, the search bar would be a good candidate for a component. Facebook's Newsfeed would make another component (or a component that hosts many sub-components). All the methods and AJAX calls concerned with the search bar would be within that component.

Components are also reusable. If you need the same component in multiple places, that's easy. With the help of JSX syntax, you can declare your components wherever you want them to appear, and that's it. 

Props and State

Components need data to work with. There are two different ways that you can combine components and data: either as props or state. props and state determine what a component renders and how it behaves. Let's start with props.

props

If components were plain JavaScript functions, then props would be the function input. Going by that analogy, a component accepts an input (what we call props), processes it, and then renders some JSX code.

Stateful vs Stateless Component Component with props

Although the data in props is accessible to a component, React philosophy is that props should be immutable and top-down. What this means is that a parent component can pass on whatever data it wants to its children as props, but the child component cannot modify its props. So, if you try to edit the props as I did below, you will get the "Cannot assign to read-only" TypeError.

State

State, on the other hand, is an object that is owned by the component where it is declared. Its scope is limited to the current component. A component can initialize its state and update it whenever necessary. The state of the parent component usually ends up being props of the child component. When the state is passed out of the current scope, we refer to it as a prop.

Stateful vs Stateless Component Component with State

Now that we know the component basics, let's have a look at the basic classification of components.

Class Components vs. Functional Components

A React component can be of two types: either a class component or a functional component. The difference between the two is evident from their names. 

Functional Components

Functional components are just JavaScript functions. They take in an optional input which, as I've mentioned earlier, is what we call props.

Stateful vs Stateless Components Functional Components

Some developers prefer to use the new ES6 arrow functions for defining components. Arrow functions are more compact and offer a concise syntax for writing function expressions. By using an arrow function, we can skip the use of two keywords, function and return, and a pair of curly brackets. With the new syntax, you can define a component in a single line like this. 

Class Components

Class components offer more features, and with more features comes more baggage. The primary reason to choose class components over functional components is that they can have state.

The state = {count: 1} syntax is part of the public class fields feature. More on this below. 

There are two ways that you can create a class component. The traditional way is to use React.createClass(). ES6 introduced a syntax sugar that allows you to write classes that extend React.Component. However, both the methods are meant to do the same thing. 

Class components can exist without state too. Here is an example of a class component that accepts an input props and renders JSX.

We define a constructor method that accepts props as input. Inside the constructor, we call super() to pass down whatever is being inherited from the parent class. Here are a few details that you might have missed.

First, the constructor is optional while defining a component. In the above case, the component doesn't have a state, and the constructor doesn't appear to do anything useful. this.props used inside the render() will work regardless of whether the constructor is defined or not. However, here's something from the official docs:

Class components should always call the base constructor with props.

As a best practice, I will recommend using the constructor for all class components.

Secondly, if you're using a constructor, you need to call super(). This is not optional, and you will get the syntax error "Missing super() call in constructor" otherwise. 

And my last point is about the use of super() vs. super(props). super(props) should be used if you're going to call this.props inside the constructor. Otherwise, using super() alone is sufficient.

Stateful Components vs. Stateless Components

This is another popular way of classifying components. And the criteria for the classification is simple: the components that have state and the components that don't. 

Stateful Components

Stateful components are always class components. As previously mentioned, stateful components have a state that gets initialized in the constructor. 

We've created a state object and initialized it with a count of 0. There is an alternative syntax proposed to make this easier called class fields. It's not a part of the ECMAScript specification yet, but If you're using a Babel transpiler, this syntax should work out of the box.

You can avoid using the constructor altogether with this new syntax.

We can now access the state within the class methods including render(). If you're going to use them inside render() to display the value of the current count, you need to place it inside curly brackets as follows:

The this keyword here refers to the instance of the current component. 

Initializing the state is not enough—we need to be able to update the state in order to create an interactive application. If you thought this would work, no, it won't.

 React components are equipped with a method called setState for updating the state. setState accepts an object that contains the new state of the count.

The setState() accepts an object as an input, and we increment the previous value of count by 1, which works as expected. However, there is a catch. When there are multiple setState calls that read a previous value of the state and write a new value into it, we might end up with a race condition. What that means is that the final results won't match up with the expected values.

Here is an example that should make it clear for you. Try this in the codesandbox snippet above.

We want the setState to increment the count by 100, then update it by 1, and then remove that 100 that was added earlier. If setState performs the state transition in the actual order, we will get the expected behavior. However, setState is asynchronous, and multiple setState calls might be batched together for better UI experience and performance. So the above code yields a behavior which is different from what we expect.

Therefore, instead of directly passing an object, you can pass in an updater function that has the signature:

prevState is a reference to the previous state and is guaranteed to be up to date. props refers to the component's props, and we don't need props to update the state here, so we can ignore that. Hence, we can use it for updating state and avoid the race condition.

The setState() rerenders the component, and you have a working stateful component.

Stateless Components

You can use either a function or a class for creating stateless components. But unless you need to use a lifecycle hook in your components, you should go for stateless functional components. There are a lot of benefits if you decide to use stateless functional components here; they are easy to write, understand, and test, and you can avoid the this keyword altogether. However, as of React v16, there are no performance benefits from using stateless functional components over class components. 

The downside is that you can't have lifecycle hooks. The lifecycle method ShouldComponentUpdate() is often used to optimize performance and to manually control what gets rerendered. You can't use that with functional components yet. Refs are also not supported.

Container Components vs. Presentational Components

This is another pattern that is very useful while writing components. The benefit of this approach is that the behavior logic is separated from the presentational logic.

Presentational Components

Presentational components are coupled with the view or how things look. These components accept props from their container counterpart and render them. Everything that has to do with describing the UI should go here. 

Presentational components are reusable and should stay decoupled from the behavioral layer. A presentational component receives the data and callbacks exclusively via props and when an event occurs, like a button being pressed, it performs a callback to the container component via props to invoke an event handling method. 

Functional components should be your first choice for writing presentational components unless a state is required. If a presentational component requires a state, it should be concerned with the UI state and not actual data. The presentational component doesn't interact with the Redux store or make API calls. 

Container Components

Container components will deal with the behavioral part. A container component tells the presentational component what should be rendered using props. It shouldn't contain limited DOM markups and styles. If you're using Redux, a container component contains the code that dispatches an action to a store. Alternatively, this is the place where you should place your API calls and store the result into the component's state. 

The usual structure is that there is a container component at the top that passes down the data to its child presentational components as props. This works for smaller projects; however, when the project gets bigger and you have a lot of intermediate components that just accept props and pass them on to child components, this will get nasty and hard to maintain. When this happens, it's better to create a container component unique to the leaf component, and this will ease the burden on the intermediate components.

So What Is a PureComponent?

You will get to hear the term pure component very often in React circles, and then there is React.PureComponent. When you're new to React, all this might sound a bit confusing. A component is said to be pure if it is guaranteed to return the same result given the same props and state. A functional component is a good example of a pure component because, given an input, you know what will be rendered. 

Class components can be pure too as long as their props and state are immutable. If you have a component with a 'deep' immutable set of props and state, React API has something called PureComponent. React.PureComponent is similar to React.Component, but it implements the ShouldComponentUpdate() method a bit differently. ShouldComponentUpdate() is invoked before something is rerendered. The default behaviour is that it returns true so that any change to the state or the props rerenders the component.

However, with PureComponent, it performs a shallow comparison of objects. Shallow comparison means that you compare the immediate contents of the objects instead of recursively comparing all the key/value pairs of the object. So only the object references are compared, and if the state/props are mutated, this might not work as intended. 

React.PureComponent is used for optimizing performance, and there is no reason why you should consider using it unless you encounter some sort of performance issue. 

Final Thoughts

Stateless functional components are more elegant and usually are a good choice for building the presentational components. Because they are just functions, you won't have a hard time writing and understanding them, and moreover, they are dead easy to test. 

It should be noted that stateless functional components don't have the upper hand in terms of optimization and performance because they don't have a ShouldComponentUpdate() hook. This might change in future versions of React, where functional components might be optimized for better performance. However, if you're not critical of the performance, you should stick to functional components for the view/presentation and stateful class components for the container.

Hopefully, this tutorial has given you a high-level overview of the component-based architecture and different component patterns in React. What are your thoughts on this? Share them through the comments.

Over the last couple of years, React has grown in popularity. In fact, we have a number of items in Envato Market that are available for purchase, review, implementation, and so on. If you’re looking for additional resources around React, don’t hesitate to check them out.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.