Unlimited Plugins, WordPress themes, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Node.js
Code

用Async解决回调问题

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Chinese (Simplified) (中文(简体)) translation by Wentao Wang (王文涛) (you can also view the original English article)

第一次接触编程时,我们就知道了一块代码是从头执行到尾的。 这就是所谓的同步编程:每个操作完成之后,后面的才会继续。 对于不花计算机太多时间的操作,比如数字相加、操作字符串、或变量赋值等等,这种执行过程没什么问题。

但如果一个任务花的时间稍微长一点,你该怎么办呢?比如访问磁盘上的一个文件,发送一个网络请求,或等待一个计时器结束。 在同步编程中,这时候你的程序啥也做不了,只能干等着。

对于一些简单的情况,你的程序可以有多个实例同时在跑,或许还能忍受,但是对于很多服务器应用来说,这就是个噩梦。

进入异步编程 在异步执行的程序中,你的代码在等待某件事的同时可以继续执行,然后这件事发生了你又可以跳回去。

以网络请求为例。 向一个较慢的服务器发送一个网络请求,可能足足要花三秒钟才能响应,你的程序可以在这个慢服务器响应的同时继续干其它的事。 在这个例子中,三秒钟对人来说或许算不了什么,但服务器不一样,它可能还等着响应上千个其它请求呢。 那么,你要如何在Node.js中处理异步呢?

最基本的方式是使用回调。 一个回调其实就是一个函数,只不过它是在一个异步操作完成时被调用。 按惯例,Node.js的回调函数至少应该有一个参数,err 回调可以有更多的参数 (通常表示传递给回调函数的数据),但至少应该有一个是err 你可能已经猜到了,err表示一个错误对象 (当发生了一个错误时就会产生这样一个对象,后面还会提到)

我们来看一个非常简单的例子。 我们要用到Node.js内置的文件系统模块fs。 在此脚本中,我们会去读一个文本文件的内容。 此代码的最后一行是一个console.log,那么问题来了:如果你执行这个脚本,你会在看到文件内容之前看到这个日志结果吗?

因为它是异步的,我们实际上会在看到文本内容之前就看到最后一句console.log的执行了。 如果你在该脚本的同一目录下有一个名为a-text-file.txt的文件,你会看到err值为null,而text的值为此文本的内容。

如果不存在a-text-file.txt文件,err为一个Error对象,而text的值是undefined。 这种情况产生了一类重要的回调:因为错误无处不在,你总是要处理它们,回调就是一种重要方式。 为处理错误,你需要检查err变量的值,如果它有非nul值,则说明有错误发生了。 一般来说,err参数不会是false,所以总可通过真值检测来判断是否有错。

又比如说你想按照一定的顺序展示两个文件的内容。 你会得到类似于这样的代码:

这个代码不仅看起来太丑,且存在不少问题:

  1. 你是在串行加载文件;如果同时加载并在都加载完时返回,效率会更高。

  2. 语法上正确,可读性却极差。 注意那嵌套函数的数目,和不断深入的缩进,想想就可怕。 你可以用一些技巧让它看起来更好一些,但又会牺牲一些其他方面的可读性。

  3. 这种写法不是通用方式。 对于两个文件或许可行,但如果有9个文件呢?22个文件呢?1个呢? 当前这种写法就太不灵活了。

但别急,我们可以用async.js来解决所有这些问题 (也许还能解决其他一些问题呢)。

Async.js进行回调

首先,让我们从安装async.js入手。

Async.js可将一系列函数粘连起来,既可以是串行,也可以是并行。 让我们重写前面的例子吧:

两个代码几乎是一样的,串行加载每个文件,唯一的区别在于这里在读完所有文件之后才显示结果。 相比而言,这个代码更简洁清晰 (后面还会有其他改进)。 async.series取一个函数数组作为参数,并串行执行它们。

每个函数只能有一个参数,即回调 (在我们的代码中是cb)。 cb执行时应该与其他任意回调一样具有相同类型的参数,所以我们将其传入为fs.readFile的参数。

最后,它们的结果被发送到最后的回调,即async.series的第二个参数。 这些结果被存在一个数组中,它们按async.series第一个参数中的函数的顺序而排列。

通过async.js,错误处理被简化了,因为如果遇到一个错误,它会返回错误到最后一个回调中,并且不在执行任何其他异步函数。

所有内容合到一起

另一个相关的函数是async.parallel;它和async.series的参数相同,所以你总可以不改变其他语法的情况下替换使用这两个函数。 这里,很适合于讲一下并行和并发的异同。

JavaScript基本上算是一种单线程的语言,即它一次只能同时做一件事。 但它可以在一个独立的线程中处理其他任务 (比如大部分I/O函数),这也正是异步编程在JS中发力之处。 但不要把并行和并发弄混了。

当你用async.parallel执行两件事时,你并没有打开另一个线程去解析JavaScript,也没有同时做两件事----你只不过在async.parallel的第一个参数中的函数间传递控制权。 所以,如果你将同步代码塞到async.parallel中,并没有任何好处。

我们最好用图示来解释:

Explaining asynchronous programming

这就是前面我们用并行方式重写的例子----唯一的差别在于用async.parallel取代了async.series

执行一遍又一遍

在前面的例子中,我们执行的是固定数目的操作,但如果是变化个数的异步操作呢? 如果你只用回调和常规语言构造,代码会迅速变得一团糟,因为你需要用一些拙劣的计数器或条件检测,这会掩盖代码的真正逻辑。 让我们看一个用async.js重写的循环代码吧。

在这个例子中,我们要在当前目录中写入十个文件,文件名由计数确定,每个文件中包含了简短的内容。 通过修改async.times的第一个参数,你可以改变文件的数目。 本例中,fs.writeFile的回调只需要一个err参数,而async.times函数还可以支持一个返回值。 和async.series一样,它被存到一个数组中,传递给最后一个回调的第二个参数。

这里有必要提一下的是,async.js中的大部分函数都默认是并行而非串行执行的。 所以,在上述例子中,它会同时开始生成文件,并在最后完全写完之时汇报结果。

这些默认并行执行的函数都有一个相对应的串行函数,函数命名方式大概你也猜到了,后缀为'Series’。 所以,如果你想以串行而非并行执行上述例子,只需要将async.times换成async.timesSeries即可。

在我们下一个循环的例子中,我们要介绍async.unti函数。 async.until会一直 (串行) 执行一个异步函数,直到指定条件满足为止。 这个函数有三个函数参数。

第一个函数参数是一个测试,如果你希望终止循环,就让它返回真值,如果你希望循环一直继续下去,那就让它返回假值。 第二个函数参数是一个异步函数,最后一个函数参数是一个完成回调函数。 看一看下面这个例子:

这个脚本花费5毫秒来生成新的文件。 在脚本开始,我们记录了开始的时间 (unix纪元时间),然后在测试函数中我们得到当前时间,并将其与开始时间比较,看是否超过了5毫秒。 如果你多次执行这个脚本,你会得到不同的结果。

在我的机器上,5毫秒可生成6到20个文件。 有意思的是,如果你尝试在测试函数或异步函数中加入console.log,你会得到不同的结果,因为写到终端也是需要时间的。 这只不过是告诉你,在软件中,一切都是有性能开销的。

for each循环是一个好用的结构,它可以让你通过访问数组的每一项来分别完成一些事情。 在async.js中,实现这个功能的是async.each函数。 此函数有三个参数:集合或数组,操作每一项的异步函数,完成回调。

在下面的示例中,我们取一个字符串数组 (这里是狩猎犬品种),并为每个字符串生成一个文件。 当所有文件都生成完毕时,完成回调会被执行。 你大概猜到了,错误是通过err对象传递到完成回调中去的。 async.each是并行执行的,但如果你想要串行执行,你需要将async.each换成async.eachSeries

async.each的一表亲是async.map函数;它们的差别在于你可以将值传回到完成回调中去。 使用async.map函数时,你将一个数组或一个集合作为每一个参数传入,然后传入一个异步函数,作用于数组或集合的每个元素。 最后一个函数是完成回调。

下面的例子中,传入了狗的品种数组,并用每一项生成一个文件名。 然后,文件名被传入到fs.readFile中,它会将文件内容读出来,并传递回回调函数。 最后,你会在完成回调函数中接收到一个文件内容的数组。

async.filterasync.eachasync.map在语法上也很像,只不过它传递一个布尔值给每一项的回调,而非文件的值。 在完成回调中,你得到一个新数组,但它只包含那些你在每项回调中传入一个true真值对应的些项的文件内容。

此例中,我们与前面的例子更进一步。 注意看,我们是如何增加一个函数,并处理错误的。 当你需要操作异步函数的结果,但仍让async.js处理错误时,if errcallback(err)模式非常有用。

此外,你会注意到我们将err变量作为第一个参数传递给回调函数。 初一看,似乎不怎么对。 但因为我们已经检查过err的真值,我们知道了它是假的,因此可以安全地传递给回调。

越过悬崖边的瀑布

目前为止,我们已经介绍了多个有用的异步函数,且它们都有对应的同步版本。 现在,让我们投入到async.waterfall中,而它并没有同步版本。

瀑布 (waterfall) 的概念指的是一个异步函数的结果串行传递给另一个异步函数作为输入。 这是一个非常强大的概念,特别是当你需要将多个互相依赖的异步函数串起来时。 使用async.waterfall时,第一个参数是一个函数数组,第二个参数是完成回调。

在函数数组中,第一个函数总是只有一个参数,即一个回调。 后续的每个函数的参数都需要匹配前一个函数的回调函数的非err参数,再加上一个新的回调。

waterfall example

在我们下一个例子中,我们将利用瀑布作为粘合剂将一些概念组合起来。 在作为第一个参数的数组中,我们有三个函数:第一个加载当前目录中的目录列表,第二个作用于这个目录列表,并用async.map在每个文件上运行fs.stat,第三个函数针对第一个函数得到的目录列表,对每个文件读取文件内容 (fs.readFile)。

async.waterfall串行执行每个函数,所以它总是在执行完所有fs.stat之后再执行那些fs.readfile。 在这第一个例子中,第二和第三个函数互不依赖,所以它们可以用一个async.parallel封装起来并行执行,以减小执行时间,但我们将在下一个例子中再次修改这个结果。

注意:运行此示例时,当前目录中不要放太多文本文件,不然你的终端窗口中将会长时间出现大量垃圾文本。

比如说,我们可以让所有文本内容量为500字节。 我们在运行上面的代码时,不管你是否需要那些文本文件,每个文件的大小和内容都会被读取出来。 那么,如何只得到这些文件的文件信息,然后根据其中包含的文件大小信息来读取较小文件的内容呢?

首先,我们要将所有的匿名函数换成有名字的函数。 这只是个人偏好,但可以让代码更清晰一点,并易于理解 (可重用性也更好一些)。 你可以想像得到,我们要读取文件的大小,并评估这些大小数值,然后,根据只读取满足文件大小要求的文件。 这个任务可由Array.filter来轻松完成,但这是一个同步函数,而async.waterfall却需要异步风格的函数。 Async.js中有一个帮助函数,可将同步函数封装为异步函数,它有一个很响亮的名字:async.asyncify

async.asyncify封装函数只需要做三件事。 首先,从arrayFsStat函数中取出文件名和文件信息数组,然后用map将它们合并。 然后,我们过滤出文件大小小于300的那些项。 最后,我们取出绑定在一起的文件名和文件信息对象,再次用map来取出文件名。

当我们得到所有大小不起过300的文件的文件名之后,我们可用async.mapfs.readFile来得到它们的内容。 实现这个任务的方式有很多种,但我们这里将其分解开来了,以表现出最大的灵活性和可重用性。 async.waterfall的使用展示了我们如何将同步函数和异步函数混合和匹配起来。

更进一步,我们的函数还可以优化。 比如说,我们希望写一个与上述功能完全一样的函数,但允许灵活地选择任何路径。 与async.waterfall接近的一个函数是async.seqasync.waterfall只是执行连接成瀑布状的一些函数,而async.seq是返回一个函数,该函数的任务是执行瀑布状函数。 除了创建一个函数,你还可以为第一个异步函数传入一个值。

迁移到async.seq只需要稍微修改一下。 首先,我们将修改directoryListing函数,它让可以接受一个路径参数。 然后,我们添加一个变量存储我们的新函数 (directoryAbove300)。 第三,我们将从async.waterfall中取出数组参数,然后将其变成async.seq的参数。 我们的瀑布函数中的完成回调,现在则成了directoryAbove300的完成回调。

关于承诺 (Promises) 和异步 (Async) 函数

你也许会好奇,我为什么还没提到承诺 (promises)。 我对它们其实并没什么意见,它们非常好用,且比回调更优美。但是,它们是处理异步代码的完全不同的方式。

Node.js内置函数使用第一个参数为err的回调,而且成千上万个其它模块也使用这种模式。 事实上,这也是为什么此教程中使用fs的原因-Node.js中一些诸如文件系统这样的基础功能使用的是回调,所以不用承诺还使用回调类型的代码是Node.js编程的关键内容。

有一些相关的解决方案,比如Bluebird第一个参数为err的回调封装为基于承诺的函数,但那又是另一个故事了。Async.js只是提供一些比喻的方式,让异步代码更为可读和可管理。

拥抱异步世界

JavaScript已经成为事实上的网络工作语言。 它不是没有学习曲线的,而且大量的框架和库也让你目不睱接。 如果你在工作中还需要其它的资源来学习或使用,请查看我们在Envato marketplace中的资源。

但学习异步编程又是完全不同的事,希望本教程至少可以让你感觉到它的有用之处。

异步是编写服务器端JavaScript代码的关键所在,但如果你没有良好的习惯,你的代码将变成无法管理的回调怪兽。 通过像async.js这样的库,和它所提供的大量的比喻式的工具,你会发现编写异步代码同样有意思。

关注我们的公众号
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Node.js
Code

Solving Callback Problems With Async

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

When we first start programming, we learn that a block of code executes from the top to the bottom. This is synchronous programming: each operation is completed before the next begins. This is great when you’re doing lots of things that take practically no time for a computer to complete, like adding numbers, manipulating a string, or assigning variables. 

What happens when you want to do something that takes a relatively long time, like accessing a file on disk, sending a network request, or waiting for a timer to elapse? In synchronous programming, your script can do nothing else while it waits. 

This might be fine for something simple or in a situation where you’ll have multiple instances of your script running, but for many server applications, it’s a nightmare. 

Enter asynchronous programming. In an asynchronous script, your code continues to execute while waiting for something to happen, but can jump back when that something has happened. 

Take, for example, a network request. If you make a network request to a slow server that takes a full three seconds to respond, your script can be actively doing other stuff while this slow server responds. In this case, three seconds might not seem like much to a human, but a server could respond to thousands of other requests while waiting. So, how do you handle asynchrony in Node.js? 

The most basic way is through a callback. A callback is just a function that is called when an asynchronous operation is completed. By convention, Node.js callback functions have at least one argument, err. Callbacks may have more arguments (which usually represent the data returned to the callback), but the first one will be err. As you might have guessed, err holds an error object (if an error has been triggered—more on that later).

Let’s take a look at a very simple example. We’ll use Node.js’s built-in file system module (fs). In this script, we’ll read the contents of a text file. The last line of the file is a console.log that poses a question: if you run this script, do you think you’ll see the log before we see the contents of the text file?

Since this is asynchronous, we’ll actually see the last console.log before the contents of the text file. If you have a file named a-text-file.txt in the same directory in which you are executing your node script, you’ll see that err is null, and the value of text is populated with the contents of the text file. 

If you don’t have a file named a-text-file.txt, err will return an Error object, and the value of text will be undefined. This leads to an important aspect of callbacks: you must always handle your errors. To handle errors, you need to check a value in the err variable; if a value is present, then an error occurred. By convention, err arguments usually don’t return false, so you can check only for truthiness.

Now, let’s say you want to display the contents of two files in a particular order. You’ll end up with something like this:

The code looks pretty nasty and has a number of problems:

  1. You’re loading the files sequentially; it would be more efficient if you could load them both at the same time and return the values when both have loaded completely.

  2. Syntactically it’s correct but difficult to read. Notice the number of nested functions and the increasing tabs. You could do some tricks to make it look a little better, but you may be sacrificing readability in other ways.

  3. It’s not very general purpose. This works fine for two files, but what if you had nine files sometimes and other times 22 or just one? The way it is currently written is very rigid.

Don’t worry, we can solve all of these problems (and more) with async.js.

Callbacks With Async.js

First, let’s get started by installing the async.js module.

Async.js can be used to glue together arrays of functions in either series or parallel. Let’s rewrite our example:

This works almost just like the previous example, sequentially loading each file, and differs only in that it reads each file and doesn’t display the result until it’s complete. The code is more concise and cleaner than the previous example (and we’ll make it even better later on). async.series takes an array of functions and executes them one after another. 

Each function should only have a single argument, the callback (or cb in our code). cb should be executed with the same type of arguments as any other callback, so we can put it right into our fs.readFile arguments. 

Finally, the results are sent to the final callback, the second argument in to async.series. The results are stored in an array with the values correlating with the order of the functions in the first argument of async.series.

With async.js, the error handling is simplified because if it encounters an error, it returns the error to the argument of the final callback and will not execute any further asynchronous functions. 

All Together Now

A related function is async.parallel; it has the same arguments as async.series so you can change between the two without altering the rest of your syntax. This is a good point to cover parallel versus concurrent. 

JavaScript is basically a single-threaded language, meaning it can only do one thing at a time. It is capable of doing some tasks in a separate thread (most I/O functions, for example), and this is where asynchronous programming comes into play with JS. Don’t confuse parallel with concurrency

When you execute two things with async.parallel, you’re not making it open another thread to parse JavaScript or do two things at one time—you’re really controlling when it passes between functions in the first argument of async.parallel. So you don’t gain anything by just putting synchronous code in async.parallel. 

This is best explained visually:

Explaining asynchronous programming

Here is our previous example written to be parallel—the only difference is that we use async.parallel rather than async.series.

Over and Over

Our previous examples have executed a fixed number of operations, but what happens if you need a variable number of asynchronous operations? This gets messy quickly if you’re just relying on callbacks and regular language construct, relying on clumsy counters or condition checks that obscure the real meaning of your code. Let’s take a look at the rough equivalent of a for loop with async.js.

In this example, we’ll write ten files to the current directory with sequential filenames and some short contents. You can vary the number by changing the value of the first argument of async.times. In this example, the callback for fs.writeFile only creates an err argument, but the async.times function can also support a return value. Like async.series, it is passed to the done callback in the second argument as an array.

It’s a good time to say that most async.js functions, by default, run in parallel rather than series. So, in the above example, it’ll start creating the files and report when all are completely created and written. 

Those functions that run in parallel by default have a corollary series function indicated by the function ending with, you guessed it, 'Series'. So if you wanted to run this example in series rather than parallel, you would change async.times to async.timesSeries.

For our next example of looping, we’ll take a look at the async.until function. async.until executes an asynchronous function (in series) until a particular condition is met. This function takes three functions as arguments. 

The first function is the test where you return either true (if you want to stop the loop) or false (if you want to continue the loop). The second argument is the asynchronous function, and the final is the done callback. Take a look at this example:

This script will create new text files for five milliseconds. At the start of the script, we get the start time in the millisecond unix epoch, and then in the test function we get the current time and test to see if it is five milliseconds greater than the start time plus five. If you run this script multiple times, you might get different results. 

On my machine, I was creating between 6 and 20 files in five milliseconds. Interestingly, if you try to add console.log into either the test function or the asynchronous function, you’ll get very different results because it is taking time to write to your console. It just goes to show you that in software, everything has a performance cost!

The for each loop is a handy structure—it allows you to do something for each item of an array. In async.js, this would be the async.each function. This function takes three arguments: the collection or array, the asynchronous function to perform for each item, and the done callback. 

In the example below, we take an array of strings (in this case types of sighthound dog breeds) and create a file for each string. When all the files have been created, the done callback is executed. As you might expect, errors are handled via the err object in the done callback. async.each is run in parallel, but if you want to run it in series, you can follow the previously mentioned pattern and use async.eachSeries instead of async.each.

A cousin of async.each is the async.map function; the difference is that you can pass the values back to your done callback. With the async.map function, you pass in an array or collection as the first argument, and then an asynchronous function will be run on each item in the array or collection. The last argument is the done callback. 

The example below takes the array of dog breeds and uses each item to create a filename. The filename is then passed to fs.readFile, where it is read and the values are passed back by the callback function. You end up with an array of the file contents in the done callback arguments.

async.filter is also very similar in syntax to async.each and async.map, but with filter you send a boolean value to the item callback rather than the value of the file. In the done callback you get a new array, with only the elements that you passed a true or truthy value for in the item callback. 

In this example, we’re doing a few more things than in the previous examples. Notice how we’re adding an additional function call and handling our own error. The if err and callback(err) pattern is very useful if you need to manipulate the results of an asynchronous function, but you still want to let async.js handle the errors. 

Additionally, you’ll notice that we are using the err variable as the first argument to the callback function. At first blush, this doesn’t look quite right. But since we’ve already checked for the truthiness of err, we know that it is falsy and safe to pass to the callback. 

Over the Edge of a Cliff

So far, we have explored a number of useful building blocks that have rough corollaries in synchronous programming. Let’s dive right into async.waterfall, which doesn’t have much of an equivalent in the synchronous world. 

The concept with a waterfall is that the results of one asynchronous function flow into the arguments of another asynchronous function in series. It’s a very powerful concept, especially when trying to string together multiple asynchronous functions that rely on each other. With async.waterfall, the first argument is an array of functions, and the second argument is your done callback. 

In your array of functions, the first function will always start with a single argument, the callback. Each subsequent function should match the non-err arguments of the previous function sans the err function and with the addition of the new callback.

waterfall example

In our next example, we’ll start combining some concepts using waterfall as a glue. In the array that is the first argument, we have three functions: the first loads the directory listing from the current directory, the second takes the directory listing and uses async.map to run fs.stat on each file, and the third function takes the directory listing from the first function result and gets the contents for each file (fs.readFile).

async.waterfall runs each function sequentially, so it will always run all the fs.stat functions before running any fs.readFile. In this first example, the second and third functions are not dependent on each other so they could be wrapped in an async.parallel to reduce the total execution time, but we’ll modify this structure again for the next example.

Note: Run this example in a small directory of text files, otherwise you’re going to get a lot of garbage for a long time in your terminal window.

Let’s say we want to get the results of only the files that have a size above 500 bytes. We could use the above code, but you’d be getting the size and contents of every file, whether you needed them or not. How could you just get the stat of the files and only the contents of the files that reach the size requirements? 

First, we can pull all the anonymous functions out into named functions. It’s personal preference, but it makes the code a little cleaner and easier to understand (reusable to boot). As you might imagine, you’ll need to get the sizes, evaluate those sizes, and get only the contents of the files above the size requirement. This can be easily accomplished with something like Array.filter, but that is a synchronous function, and async.waterfall expects asynchronous-style functions. Async.js has a helper function that can wraps synchronous functions into asynchronous functions, the rather jazzily named async.asyncify.

We need to do three things, all of which we’ll wrap with async.asyncify. First, we’ll take the filename and stat arrays from the arrayFsStat function, and we’ll merge them using map. Then we’ll filter out any items that have a stat size less than 300. Finally, we’ll take the combined filename and stat object and use map again to just get the filename out. 

After we’ve got the names of the files with a size less than 300, we’ll use async.map and fs.readFile to get the contents. There are many ways to crack this egg, but in our case it was broken up to show maximum flexibility and code reuse. This async.waterfall use illustrates how you can mix and match synchronous and asynchronous code.

Taking this one step further, let's refine our function even further. Let’s say we want to write a function that works exactly as above, but with the flexibility to look in any path. A close cousin to async.waterfall is async.seq. While async.waterfall just executes a waterfall of functions, async.seq returns a function that performs a waterfall of other functions. In addition to creating a function, you can pass in values that will go into the first asynchronous function. 

Converting to async.seq only takes a few modifications. First, we’ll modify directoryListing to accept an argument—this will be the path. Second, we’ll add a variable to hold our new function (directoryAbove300). Third, we’ll take the array argument from the async.waterfall and translate that into arguments for async.seq. Our done callback for the waterfall is now used as the done callback when we run directoryAbove300.

A Note on Promises and Async Functions

You might be wondering why I haven't mentioned promises. I’ve got nothing against them—they’re quite handy and maybe a more elegant solution than callbacks—but they are a different way to look at asynchronous coding. 

Built-in Node.js modules use err-first callbacks, and thousands of other modules use this pattern. In fact, that’s why this tutorial uses fs in the examples—something as fundamental as file system access in Node.js uses callbacks, so wrangling callback codes without promises is an essential part of Node.js programming.  

It’s possible to use something like Bluebird to wrap err-first callbacks into Promise-based functions, but that only gets you so far—Async.js provides a host of metaphors that make asynchronous code readable and manageable.

Embrace Asynchrony

JavaScript has become one of the de facto languages of working on the web. It’s not without its learning curves, and there are plenty of frameworks and libraries to keep you busy, as well. If you’re looking for additional resources to study or to use in your work, check out what we have available in the Envato marketplace.

But learning asynchronous is something entirely different, and hopefully, this tutorial has shown you just how useful it can be.

Asynchrony is key to writing server-side JavaScript, yet if it's not crafted properly, your code can become an unmanageable beast of callbacks. By using a library like async.js that provides a number of metaphors, you might find that writing asynchronous code is a joy.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.