Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Android SDK

RxJava 2中响应式编程的操作符

by
Read Time:14 minsLanguages:

Chinese (Simplified) (中文(简体)) translation by Zhang Xiang Liang (you can also view the original English article)

如果你的Android APP想在Google Play上架并获得五星级评论,那么你的APP要能够进行多任务操作。

如今的用户既希望与APP进行交互,又希望APP在后台工作,而且这是最起码的。 这听起来可能很简单,但是默认情况下Android是单线程的,所以如果你要达到用户的期望,那么你迟早不得不创建多线程。

在本系列的前一篇文章中,我们介绍了RxJava,一个用于JVM的响应式库,可以帮助你创建响应数据和事件变化的Android APP。 你也可以使用此库来同时响应数据和事件。

在这篇文章中,我将展示如何使用RxJava的运算符来最终在Android上实现流畅体验。 在本文结尾,你将了解如何使用RxJava操作符创建其他线程,指定线程任务,然后将结果发回到Android的主UI线程,所有这些都只需几行代码。

而且,没有完美的技术,我还会告诉你RxJava库的一个重大缺陷,然后再展示如何使用运算符确保你的Android项目永远不会出现此问题。

操作符介绍

RxJava拥有庞大的运算符集合,主要用于帮助你修改,过滤,合并和转换由你的Observable发出的数据数据。 你将在官方文档中找到RxJava运算符的完整列表,尽管不需要你记住每一个操作符,但是值得花一些时间阅读此列表,这样你就知道你可以执行哪些不同的数据转换。

RxJava的运算符列表已经非常详尽,但是如果你不能在数据转换中找到完美的运算符,那么你可以随时连接多个运算符。 将运算符应用于Observable通常返回另一个Observable,因此你可以继续应用运算符,直到获得所需的结果。

有太多的RxJava操作符以至于一篇文章写不完,而官方的RxJava文档已经很好地介绍了用于数据转换的所有操作符,所以我将专注于两个让你的Android开发更容易的操作符,他们是:subscribeOn()和observeOn()。 

使用RxJava操作符进行多线程

如果想你APP提供最佳的用户体验,那么需要APP能够执行密集型或长时间运行的任务,还能同时执行多个任务而不会阻塞主UI线程。

例如,假设你的应用需要从两个不同的数据库中获取一些信息。 如果你在Android主线程上一个接一个地执行这两个任务,那么这不仅需要花费大量的时间,而且在你的APP从两个数据库中检索出信息之前,UI将无响应。 多么糟糕的用户体验!

一个更好的解决方案是创建两个线程,你可以同时执行这两个任务而不会阻塞主UI线程。 这种方法意味着工作会快两倍完成,并且用户还能继续与APP的UI进行交互。 而且你的用户可能甚至不知道你的APP在后台执行一些密集且长期运行的工作 - 所有的数据库信息都将简单地显示在APP的UI中,就像魔术一样!

开箱即用,Android确实提供了一些可用于创建线程(包括ServicesIntentServices)的工具,但是这些解决方案难以实现,并且代码复杂。 另外,如果实现多线程时稍不注意,APP就会漏洞百出,抛出各种错误。

要知道Android的主UI线程是唯一可以更新UI的线程。 如果你想把其他线程执行的结果在UI上更新,那么你通常需在主UI线程上创建一个Handler,然后通过Handler把数据从后台线程传到主线程。 这意味着更多,更复杂的代码和更多的错误机会。

RxJava有两个运算符可以帮你避免这种复杂性和潜在的错误。

注意,你可以把这些操作符与Schedulers结合,它们本质上是允许你指定线程。 现在,只要把scheduler看作是线程的代名词。

  • subscribeOn(Scheduler):默认情况下,Observable会在已声明订阅的线程上发射数据,即调用.subscribe方法的地方。 在Android中,这通常是主UI线程。 你可以使用subscribeOn() 运算符来定义不同的Scheduler,在Scheduler里面Observable执行和发射数据。
  • observeOn(Scheduler):你可以使用此运算符重定向Observable发射数据到不同的Scheduler,有效地更改Observable发送通知的线程,并扩展数据消耗的线程。

RxJava有许多schedulers,你可以使用它们创建不同的线程,包括:

  • Schedulers.io():用于与IO相关的任务。 
  • Schedulers.computation():用于计算相关的任务。 默认情况下,计算调度程序中的线程数被设备上可用的CPU数限制。
  • Schedulers.newThread():创建一个新线程。

让我们来看看如何使用subscribeOn()和observeOn()的例子,并在action中看到一些schedulers。

subscribeOn()

在Android中,你通常会使用subscribeOn()和Scheduler来切换线程,该线程执行长时间运行或密集型工作,因此不会阻塞主UI线程。 例如,您可能会决定在io() scheduler上导入大量数据,或者在computation() scheduler上执行一些计算。

在下面的代码,我们正在创造一个新的线程,其中Observable将执行操作并发射值123

上面代码创建了一个线程并开始在该线程上发射数据,你可能怀疑这个observable 真的在一个新的线程上运行吗。 一种验证方法是在Android Studio的Logcat Monitor中打印APP当前正在使用线程的名称。

还有一种方便的方法,在上一篇文章 Get Started With RxJava中, 我们创建了一个APP,它在Observable生命周期中的各个阶段向Logcat Monitor发送消息,所以我们可以重用代码。

打开上文中创建的项目,调整代码以便使用上述Observable作为源Observable。 然后添加subscribeOn()运算符并指定发送到Logcat的消息包含当前线程名称。

你完成的项目应该是这样的:

确保Android Studio的Logcat监视器已打开(通过选择Android Monitor选项卡,其次是Logcat),然后在物理Android设备或AVD上运行APP。 你应该在Logcat Monitor中看到以下输出:

Check the thread where your application is currently running in Android Studios Logcat MonitorCheck the thread where your application is currently running in Android Studios Logcat MonitorCheck the thread where your application is currently running in Android Studios Logcat Monitor

在这里,可以看到.subscribe在主UI线程上被调用,但是observable在一个完全不同的线程上运行。

不管你把它放在observable链的哪里,subscribeOn()操作符作用都相同; 但是,你不能在同一个链中使用多个subscribeOn()操作符。 如果你使用了多个subscribeOn(),那么你的链只会使用最接近源observable的那个。

observeOn()

不像subscribeOn(),你把observeOn()放在你链条中的位置很重要的,因为这个操作符只改变了出现在下游的observables使用的线程。 

例如,如果将以下内容插入到链中,则从该点开始出现在链中的每个observable将使用新线程。

该链将继续在新线程上运行,直到遇到另一个observeOn()运算符,此时它将切换到该运算符指定的线程。 你可以通过在链中插入多个observeOn()运算符来控制线程,该线程是特定observables发送通知的线程。

在开发Android APP时,通常使用observeOn()将后台线程执行的结果发送到Android的主UI线程。 重定向发射到Android主UI线程的最简单的方法是使用AndroidSchedulers.mainThread Scheduler,它是RxAndroid库的一部分而不是RxJava库的一部分。 

RxAndroid库包含针对RxJava 2的Android特定绑定,这使RxAndroid成为Android开发人员的宝贵资源(我们将在本系列的下一篇文章中更详细地介绍)。

要将RxAndroid添加到项目中,打开module级的build.gradle文件,将最新版本库的依赖添加进来。 在撰写本文时,RxAndroid的最新版本为2.0.1,因此我添加了以下内容:

将这个库添加到你的项目之后,你可以使用一行代码指定observable的结果,该结果应该被发送到你APP的主UI线程:

考虑到 communicating with your app’s main UI thread这篇文章会占用官方Android文档的全页,这是一个巨大的改进,因为在创建多线程Android APP时节省了大量时间。

RxJava的主要缺点

虽然RxJava对Android开发人员很有帮助,但没有技术是完美的,RxJava确实有一个很大的陷阱,有可能导致你APP崩溃。

默认情况下,RxJava运行基于推送的工作流程:数据由上游Observable产生,然后被推送到下游Observer。 基于推送的工作流程的主要问题是生产者(在这种情况下是Observable)发射数据太快,而消费者(Observer)来不及处理。

快速的 Observable 和慢速的Observer 可能会迅速导致积压的太多未消耗的数据,这将消耗系统资源,甚至可能导致OutOfMemoryException。 这个问题被称为背压。

如果怀疑你APP中发生背压,有一些可能的解决方案,包括使用操作符减少正在生产的产品数量。

使用sample()和throttlefirst()创建采样周期

如果Observable正在发射大量的数据,不需要分配Observer来接收每一项数据。

如果可以安全地忽略某些Observable发射的数据,那么可以使用几个运算符来创建采样周期,然后选择在这些时间段内发射特定值:

  • sample()操作符在指定时间间隔内检查Observable的输出,然后取得在采样过程中被发射最频繁的数据。 例如,如果项目中有.sample(5, SECONDS),则Observer将收到每五秒间隔内发出的最后一个值。 
  • throttleFirst()操作符获取采样时段期间发射的第一值。 例如,如果项目中有.throttlefirst(5, SECONDS),则Observer将会收到在每五秒间隔内发出的第一个值。
Sample OperatorSample OperatorSample Operator

buffer()批量发射

如果你不能安全地跳过任何发射的数据,那么你仍然可以通过将发射的数据批量化来减轻Observer的压力。 处理批量数据通常比单独处理多个数据更有效,因此这种方法应该能提高消费率。

你可以使用buffer()操作符创建批量数据。 在这里,我们正在使用buffer()将三秒钟内发射的所有数据批量化:

Buffer operatorBuffer operatorBuffer operator

或者,可以使用buffer() 创建由特定数量的数据组成的批次。 例如,在这里我们告诉buffer()将数据分成四组:

用Flowables替换Observables

减少发射数量的另一种方法就是用Flowable替换Observable

在RxJava 2中,RxJava团队决定将标准Observable分为两种类型:我们在本系列中一直在查看的常规类型和Flowable

Flowables的功能与Observable大致相同,但有一个主要区别:observer请求多少数据, Flowables就发射多少。 如果你有一个Observable比它指定的observer发射更多的数据,那么你可能需要考虑切换到Flowable

在开始Flowable之前,需要添加以下import语句:

然后,与创建Observables一样的方式创建Flowable。 例如,以下每个代码片段都将创建一个能够发出数据Flowable

现在,你可能会想:既然使用Flowables不用担心背压,为什么我不直接使用Flowables而要使用Observable呢? 答案是,Flowable比普通Observable需要更多的开销,所以为了创造一个高性能的APP,你应该坚持使用Observable,除非你怀疑你的APP出现背压。

Singles

Flowable不是Observable里面的唯一变量,因为库还包含Single类。

当只需要发出一个值时,Singles很有用。 在这些情况下,创建一个Observable可以感觉有点过分,而一个Single简单地发出一个值,然后就完成了,调用如下:

  • onSuccess():Single发出唯一的值。 
  • onError():如果Single不能发出数据,那么它将通过这个方法得到Throwable

Single只要调用这些方法之一,就立即终止。

让我们来看一个Single的例子- 为了节省时间,我们重用代码:

在AVD或物理Android设备上运行,将在Android Studio的Logcat Monitor中看到以下输出:

Check the Singles output in Android Studios Logcat MonitorCheck the Singles output in Android Studios Logcat MonitorCheck the Singles output in Android Studios Logcat Monitor

如果你改变主意并想任何时候将Single转换成Observable,那么RxJava有你需要的所有操作符,其中包括:

  • mergeWith():将多个Singles合并成一个单一的Observable
  • concatWith():将多个Singles连在一起,形成Observable发射数据。 
  • toObservable():将一个Single转换为一个Observable,发出最初由Single发出的数据,然后完成。

总结

在这篇文章中,我们探索了创建和管理多线程的RxJava操作符,使用这些操作符不需要考虑传统多线程的复杂性和潜在的错误。 我们还看到了如何使用RxAndroid库与Android主UI线程进行通信,而且只需一行代码,还看到了如何解决背压问题。

在本系列中,我们已经对RxAndroid库进行了多次研究,但是这个库中包含了Android特定的RxJava绑定,在Android平台上使用RxJava可能是非常宝贵的,所以在本系列的最后一篇文章中更详细地看RxAndroid库。

看看关于安卓开发的其他文章吧。

关注我们的公众号
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Android SDK
Code

Reactive Programming Operators in RxJava 2

If your Android app is going to rack up those five-star reviews on Google Play, then it needs to be able to multi-task.

As a bare minimum, today’s mobile users expect to still be able to interact with your app while it's doing work in the background. This may sound straightforward, but Android is single-threaded by default, so if you’re going to meet your audience's expectations, then sooner or later you’re going to have to create some additional threads.

In the previous article in this series we got an introduction to RxJava, a reactive library for the JVM that can help you create Android applications that react to data and events as they occur. But you can also use this library to react to data and events simultaneously.

In this post, I’m going to show you how you can use RxJava’s operators to finally make concurrency on Android a pain-free experience. By the end of this article, you’ll know how to use RxJava operators to create additional threads, specify the work that should occur on these threads, and then post the results back to Android’s all-important main UI thread—all with just a few lines of code.

And, since no technology is perfect, I’ll also tell you about a major potential pitfall of adding the RxJava library to your projects—before showing you how to use operators to ensure this problem never occurs in your own Android projects.

Introducing Operators

RxJava has an enormous collection of operators that are mainly intended to help you modify, filter, merge and transform the data that’s being emitted by your Observables. You’ll find the complete list of RxJava operators over at the official docs, and although no-one expects you to memorise every single operator, it’s worth spending some time reading through this list, just so you have a rough idea of the different data transformations you can perform.

RxJava’s list of operators is already pretty exhaustive, but if you can’t find the perfect operator for the data transformation you had in mind, then you can always chain multiple operators together. Applying an operator to an Observable typically returns another Observable, so you can just keep applying operators until you get the results you want.

There are far too many RxJava operators to cover in a single article, and the official RxJava docs already do a good job of introducing all the operators you can use for data transformations, so I’m going to be focusing on two operators that have the most potential to make your life as an Android developer easier: subscribeOn() and observeOn()

Multithreading With RxJava Operators

If your app is going to provide the best possible user experience, then it needs to be able to perform intensive or long-running tasks and perform multiple tasks simultaneously, without blocking Android’s all-important main UI thread.

For example, imagine your app needs to fetch some information from two different databases. If you perform both of these tasks one after the other on Android’s main thread, then not only is this going to take a significant amount of time, but the UI will be unresponsive until your app has finished retrieving every single piece of information from both databases. Not exactly a great user experience!

A far better solution is to create two additional threads where you can perform both of these tasks simultaneously without them blocking the main UI thread. This approach means that the work will be completed twice as fast, and the user will be able to continue interacting with your app’s user interface throughout. Potentially, your users may not even be aware that your app is performing some intensive and long-running work in the background—all the database information will simply appear in your application’s UI, as if by magic!

Out of the box, Android does provide a few tools that you can use to create additional threads, including Services and IntentServices, but these solutions are tricky to implement and can quickly result in complex, verbose code. Plus, if you don’t implement multithreading correctly, you may find yourself with an application that’s leaking memory and throwing all kinds of errors.

To make multithreading on Android even more headache-inducing, Android’s main UI thread is the only thread that can update your app’s user interface. If you want to update your app’s UI with the result of work that’s performed on any other thread, then you’ll typically need to create a Handler on the main UI thread, and then use this Handler to transfer data from your background thread to the main thread. This means more code, more complexity, and more opportunities for errors to creep into your project.

But RxJava features two operators that can help you avoid much of this complexity and potential for error.

Note that you use these operators in conjunction with Schedulers, which are essentially components that allow you to specify threads. For now, just think of scheduler as being synonymous with the word thread.

  • subscribeOn(Scheduler): By default, an Observable emits its data on the thread where the subscription was declared, i.e. where you called the .subscribe method. In Android, this is generally the main UI thread. You can use the subscribeOn() operator to define a different Scheduler where the Observable should execute and emit its data.
  • observeOn(Scheduler): You can use this operator to redirect your Observable’s emissions to a different Scheduler, effectively changing the thread where the Observable’s notifications are sent, and by extension the thread where its data is consumed.

RxJava comes with a number of schedulers that you can use to create different threads, including:

  • Schedulers.io(): Designed to be used for IO-related tasks. 
  • Schedulers.computation(): Designed to be used for computational tasks. By default, the number of threads in the computation scheduler is limited to the number of CPUs available on your device.
  • Schedulers.newThread(): Creates a new thread.

Now you have an overview of all the moving parts, let’s look at some examples of how subscribeOn() and observeOn() are used, and see some schedulers in action.

subscribeOn()

In Android, you’ll typically use subscribeOn() and an accompanying Scheduler to change the thread where some long-running or intensive work is performed, so there’s no risk of blocking the main UI thread. For example, you might decide to import a large amount of data on the io() scheduler or perform some computations on the computation() scheduler.

In the following code, we’re creating a new thread where the Observable will execute its operations and emit the values 1, 2, and 3.

While this is all you need to create a thread and start emitting data on that thread, you may want some confirmation that this observable really is operating on a new thread. One method is to print the name of the thread that your application is currently using, in Android Studio’s Logcat Monitor.

Conveniently, in the previous post, Get Started With RxJava, we created an application that sends messages to Logcat Monitor at various stages during the Observable’s lifecycle, so we can reuse a lot of this code.

Open the project you created in that post, and tweak your code so it’s using the above Observable as its source Observable. Then add the subscribeOn() Operator and specify that the messages being sent to Logcat should include the name of the current thread.

Your finished project should look something like this:

Make sure Android Studio’s Logcat Monitor is open (by selecting the Android Monitor tab, followed by Logcat) and then run your project on either a physical Android device or an AVD. You should see the following output in the Logcat Monitor:

Check the thread where your application is currently running in Android Studios Logcat Monitor

Here, you can see that .subscribe is being called on the main UI thread, but the observable is operating on a completely different thread.

The subscribeOn() operator will have the same effect no matter where you place it in the observable chain; however, you can't use multiple subscribeOn() operators in the same chain. If you do include more than one subscribeOn(), then your chain will only use the subscribeOn() that’s the closest to the source observable.

observeOn()

Unlike subscribeOn(), where you place observeOn() in your chain does matter, as this operator only changes the thread that’s used by the observables that appear downstream

For example, if you inserted the following into your chain then every observable that appears in the chain from this point onwards will use the new thread.

This chain will continue to run on the new thread until it encounters another observeOn() operator, at which point it’ll switch to the thread specified by that operator. You can control the thread where specific observables send their notifications by inserting multiple observeOn() operators into your chain.

When developing Android apps, you’ll generally use observeOn() to send the result of work performed on background threads to Android’s main UI thread. The easiest way to redirect emissions to Android’s main UI thread is to use the AndroidSchedulers.mainThread Scheduler, which is included as part of the RxAndroid library, rather than the RxJava library. 

The RxAndroid library includes Android-specific bindings for RxJava 2, making it a valuable additional resource for Android developers (and something we’ll be looking at in much more detail in the next post of this series).

To add RxAndroid to your project, open your module-level build.gradle file and add the latest version of the library to the dependencies section. At the time of writing, the latest release of RxAndroid was 2.0.1, so I’m adding the following:

After adding this library to your project, you can specify that the results of an observable should be sent to your app’s main UI thread, using a single line of code:

Considering that communicating with your app’s main UI thread takes up a full page of the official Android docs, this is a huge improvement that could potentially save you a lot of time when creating multithreaded Android applications.

RxJava’s Major Drawback

While RxJava has plenty to offer Android developers, no technology is perfect, and RxJava does have one major pitfall that has the potential to crash your app.

By default, RxJava operates a push-based workflow: data is produced upstream by an Observable, and is then pushed downstream to the assigned Observer. The major issue with a push-based workflow is how easy it is for the producer (in this instance, the Observable) to emit items too quickly for the consumer (Observer) to process.

A chatty Observable and a slow Observer can quickly result in a backlog of unconsumed items, which is going to gobble up system resources and may even result in an OutOfMemoryException. This problem is known as backpressure.

If you suspect that backpressure is occurring in your app, then there are a few possible solutions, including using an operator to reduce the number of items being produced.

Creating Sampling Periods With sample() and throttlefirst()

If an Observable is emitting a large number of items, then it may not be necessary for the assigned Observer to receive every single one of those items.

If you can safely ignore some of an Observable’s emissions, then there are a few operators you can use to create sampling periods, and then cherry-pick specific values that are emitted during these periods:

  • The sample() Operator checks the Observable’s output at intervals specified by you, and then takes the most recent item that was emitted during that sampling period. For example, if you include .sample(5, SECONDS) in your project then the Observer will receive the last value that was emitted during each five-second interval. 
  • The throttleFirst() Operator takes the first value that was emitted during the sampling period. For example, if you include .throttlefirst(5, SECONDS) then the Observer will receive the first value that’s emitted during each five-second interval.  
Sample Operator

Batching Emissions With buffer()

If you can’t safely skip any emissions, then you may still be able to take some pressure off a struggling Observer by grouping emissions into batches and then sending onward en masse. Processing batched emissions is typically more efficient than processing multiple emissions separately, so this approach should improve the rate of consumption.

You can create batched emissions using the buffer() operator. Here, we’re using buffer() to batch all the items emitted over a three-second period:

Buffer operator

Alternatively, you can use buffer() to create a batch consisting of a specific number of emissions. For example, here we’re telling buffer() to bundle emissions into groups of four:

Replacing Observables With Flowables

An alternative method of reducing the number of emissions is to replace the Observable that’s causing you problems with a Flowable.

In RxJava 2, the RxJava team decided to split the standard Observable into two types: the regular kind we’ve been looking at throughout this series, and Flowables.

Flowables function in much the same way as Observables, but with one major difference: Flowables only send as many items as the observer requests. If you have an Observable that’s emitting more items than its assigned observer can consume, then you may want to consider switching to a Flowable instead.

Before you can start using Flowables in your projects, you need to add the following import statement:

You can then create Flowables using exactly the same techniques used to create Observables. For example, each of the following code snippets will create a Flowable that’s capable of emitting data:

At this point, you may be wondering: why would I ever use Observables when I can just use Flowables and not have to worry about backpressure? The answer is that a Flowable incurs more of an overhead than a regular Observable, so in the interests of creating a high-performing app, you should stick with Observables unless you suspect that your application is struggling with backpressure.

Singles

A Flowable isn’t the only variation on Observable that you’ll find in RxJava, as the library also includes the Single class.

Singles are useful when you just need to emit one value. In these scenarios, creating an Observable can feel like overkill, but a Single is designed to simply emit a single value and then complete, either by calling:

  • onSuccess(): The Single emits its sole value.  
  • onError(): If the Single is unable to emit its item, then it’ll pass this method the resulting Throwable.

A Single will call one of these methods only, and then immediately terminate.

Let’s look at an example of a Single in action—again, to save time we’re reusing code:

Run your project on an AVD or physical Android device, and you’ll see the following output in Android Studio’s Logcat Monitor:

Check the Singles output in Android Studios Logcat Monitor

If you change your mind and want to convert a Single into an Observable at any point, then once again RxJava has all the operators you need, including:

  • mergeWith(): Merges multiple Singles into a single Observable
  • concatWith(): Chains the items emitted by multiple Singles together, to form an Observable emission. 
  • toObservable(): Converts a Single into an Observable that emits the item that was originally emitted by the Single, and then completes.

Summary

In this post we explored some RxJava operators that you can use to create and manage multiple threads, without the complexity and potential for error that’s traditionally accompanied multithreading on Android. We also saw how you can use the RxAndroid library to communicate with Android’s all-important main UI thread using a single line of code, and how to ensure backpressure doesn’t become a problem in your application.

We’ve touched on the RxAndroid library a few times throughout this series, but this library is packed with Android-specific RxJava bindings that can be invaluable when working with RxJava on the Android platform, so in the final post in this series we’ll be looking at the RxAndroid library in much more detail.

Until then, check out some of our other posts on coding for Android!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.