Unlimited Plugins, WordPress themes, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Go
Code

與Go同行:測試Golang程式

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:MediumLanguages:

Chinese (Traditional) (中文(繁體)) translation by Qiang Ji (you can also view the original English article)

在本教程中我將使用被Go語言設計者和社區總結出的最佳實踐教會你們在Go語言中所有慣用測試的基礎。 Go語言測試的主要武器是標準測試包。 測試對象是一個能解決Euler項目中一個簡單問題的示例程式。

平方和差

平放和差問題很簡單:“找出第一百個自然數的平方和與和的平方的差值。”

這個特別的問題可以被很簡單地解決,特別是如果你知道高斯。 比如,第N個自然數的和是(1 + N) * N / 2,第N個整數的平方和是:(1 + N) * (N * 2 + 1) * N / 6。 所以整個問題可以通過以下公式解決,將100分配給N:

(1 + N) * (N * 2 + 1) * N / 6 - ((1 + N) * N / 2) * ((1 + N) * N / 2)

是的,這非常的具體,沒有太多的東西可以測試。 相反地,我創建了一些比這個問題所需要的更多的功能,這可以在將來為其它程式提供服務(項目歐拉現在有559個問題)。

我把代碼放在了GitHub上。

以下是四個函數的簽名:

現在,通過我們的目標程式(請原諒我,TDD的狂熱份子),讓我們看看如何為這個程式編寫測試。

測試包

測試包是與go test命令結合使用的。 你的包測試應該在一個以“_test.go”結尾的文件裏。 你可以將測試拆分為遵循此約定的多個文件。 例如:“whatever1_test.go”和“whatever2_test.go”。 你應該在這些測試文件中編寫你的測試函數。

每個測試函數是一個公開導出的名字以“Test”開始的函數,它接受一個指向testing.T對象的指針,並且什麼都不返回。 它看上去像這樣:

T對象提供了各種可用於指示故障或紀錄錯誤的方法。

記住:只有定義在測試文件中的測試函數將被go test命令執行。

編寫測試

每個測試遵循同樣的流程:設置測試環境(可選),提供測試輸入的代碼,捕獲測試結果,並且將其與預期輸出進行比較。 請注意,輸入和結果不一定是函數的參數。

如果被測數據是從數據庫中獲取數據,那麼輸入將確保數據庫包含適當的測試數據(可能涉及到各種級別的模擬)。 但是,對於我們的應用程式,常用情況是將輸入參數傳遞給函數並將結果與函數輸出進行比較,這就足夠了。

讓我們以SumList()函數開始。 此函數以一組整數作為輸入並返回它們的和。 以下是一個可鑒別SumList()函數應該有的行為的的測試函數。

它有兩個測試用例,如果預期輸出與結果不匹配,則調用test.T對象的Error()方法。

這都是很直觀的,但它看上去有點囉嗦。 慣用的Go測試使用表驅動測試,你可以在其中定義一組輸入和預期輸出的結構,然後將這些一對對的列表在一個循環中提供給相同的邏輯。 以下是測試SumList()函數的方法。

這樣更好。 這很容易去加入更多的測試用例。 這很容易在一個地方擁有全面的測試用例,如果你決定更改測試邏輯,則無需更改多個實例。

以下是測試SquareList()函數的另一個例子。 在這種情況下,輸入和輸出均為整數數組,因此測試組對結構是不同,但流程是相同的。 一個有趣的事情是,Go不提供內置的數組比對的方法,所以我使用reflect.DeepEqual()將輸出數組與預期數組進行比較。

運行測試

運行測試與在你的包目錄中輸入go test一樣簡單。 Go會找到帶有“_test.go”後綴的所有文件以及帶有“Test”前綴的所有函數,並將其作為測試運行。 以下是當一切測試正常時的樣子:

沒有很戲劇性。 讓我故意破壞一個測試。 我將更改SumList()的測試用例,以使求1與2和的預期輸出為7。

現在當你運行go test,你能得到:

它很好地陳述了發生了什麼,它也應該給了你解決問題所需要的所有信息。 在這種情況下,問題是測試自己本身是錯誤的,期望值應該是3。這是一個重要的教訓。 不要自動假設如果測試失敗,那測試中的代碼就是有問題的。 考慮整個系統,其中包括被測代碼,測試本身和測試環境。

測試覆蓋率

確保你的代碼能工作,僅僅通過測試是不夠的。 另一個重要方面是測試覆蓋率。 你的測試覆蓋了代碼中的每個語句? 有時即使你做到了這也是不夠的。 例如,如果你的代碼中有個循環一直運行直到一個條件被滿足,你可以成功地用一個條件去測試它,但沒有註意到在某些情況下該條件可能總是假的,這將導致無限循環。

單元測試

單元測試就像刷牙和使用牙線。 你不應該忽視它們。 它們是防禦問題的第一到防線,並讓你有信心重構代碼。 當嘗試重現問題並且能夠編寫一個失敗的測試來證明問題在修正後已經不存在,它們也是一種好事兒。

集成測試

集成測試也是必要的。 把它們想像成去看牙醫。 有段時間不需要它們你也許也OK,但是如果你忽略它們太長時間,那就不好了。

大多數複雜的程序是由多個相互關聯的模塊或組件組成的。 問題常常會在一起編寫這些組件時發生。 集成測試可以讓你確信整個系統按預期運行。 還有許多其它類型的測試,如驗收測試,性能測試,壓力/負載測試和全面的整個系統測試,但單元測試和集成測試是測試軟件的兩個基本方法。

結論

Go具有內置的測試支持,一種優良的測試方式,以及以表驅動測試形式被推薦的指導方針。

對每個輸入和輸出組合編寫特殊struct的需求是有點煩人,但這是你對Go語言簡單的設計方法支付的代價。

Envato qr branded
关注我们的公众号
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Go
Code

Let's Go: Testing Golang Programs

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:MediumLanguages:

In this tutorial I will teach you all the basics of idiomatic testing in Go using the best practices developed by the language designers and the community. The main weapon will be the standard testing package. The target will be a sample program that solves a simple problem from Project Euler.

Go is an incredibly powerful programming language, learn everything from writing simple utilities to building scalable, flexible web servers in our full course.

Square Sum Difference

The sum square difference problem is pretty simple: "Find the difference between the sum of the squares of the first one hundred natural numbers and the square of the sum." 

This particular problem can be solved rather concisely especially if you know your Gauss. For example, the sum of the first N natural numbers is (1 + N) * N / 2, and the sum of squares of the first N integers is: (1 + N) * (N * 2 + 1) * N / 6. So the whole problem can be solved by the following formula and assigning 100 to N:

(1 + N) * (N * 2 + 1) * N / 6 - ((1 + N) * N / 2) * ((1 + N) * N / 2)

Well, that's very specific, and there isn't much to test. Instead, I created some functions that are a little more general than what's needed for this problem, but can serve for other programs in the future (project Euler has 559 problems right now).

The code is available on GitHub.

Here are the signatures of the four functions:

Now, with our target program in place (please forgive me, TDD zealots), let's see how to write tests for this program.

The Testing Package

The testing package goes hand in hand with the go test command. Your package tests should go in files with the "_test.go" suffix. You can split your tests across several files that follow this convention. For example: "whatever1_test.go" and "whatever2_test.go". You should put your test functions in these test files.

Every test function is a publicly exported function whose name starts with "Test", accepts a pointer to a testing.T object, and returns nothing. It looks like:

The T object provides various methods you can use to indicate failure or record errors.

Remember: only test functions defined in test files will be executed by the go test command.

Writing Tests

Every test follows the same flow: set up the test environment (optional), feed the code under test input, capture the result, and compare it to the expected output. Note that inputs and results don't have to be arguments to a function. 

If the code under test is fetching data from a database then the input will be making sure the database contains appropriate test data (which may involve mocking at various levels). But, for our application, the common scenario of passing input arguments to a function and comparing the result to the function output is sufficient.

Let's start with the SumList() function. This function takes a slice of integers and returns their sum. Here is a test function that verifies SumList() behaves as it should.

It tests two test cases, and if an expected output doesn't match the result, it calls the Error() method of the testing.T object. 

This is all straightforward, but it looks a little verbose. Idiomatic Go testing uses table-driven tests where you define a struct for pairs of inputs and expected outputs and then have a list of these pairs that you feed in a loop to the same logic. Here is how it is done for testing the SumList() function.

This is much better. It is easy to add more test cases. It's easy to have the full spectrum of test cases in one place, and if you decide to change the test logic you don't need to change multiple instances.

Here is another example for testing the SquareList() function. In this case, both the input and the output are slices of integers, so the test pair struct is different, but the flow is identical. One interesting thing here is that Go doesn't provide a built-in way to compare slices, so I use reflect.DeepEqual() to compare the output slice to the expected slice.

Running Tests

Running tests is as simple as typing go test in your package directory. Go will find all the files with the "_test.go" suffix and all the functions with the "Test" prefix and run them as tests. Here is what it looks like when everything is OK:

Not very dramatic. Let me break a test on purpose. I'll change the test case for SumList() such that the expected output for summing 1 and 2 will be 7.

Now, when you type go test, you get:

That states pretty well what happened and should give you all the information you need to fix the problem. In this case, the problem is that the test itself is wrong and the expected value should be 3. That's an important lesson. Don't automatically assume that if a test fails the code under test is broken. Consider the entire system, which includes the code under test, the test itself, and the test environment.

Test Coverage

To ensure your code works, it's not enough to have passing tests. Another important aspect is test coverage. Do your tests cover every statement in the code? Sometimes even that is not enough. For example, if you have a loop in your code that runs until a condition is met, you may test it successfully with a condition that works, but fail to notice that in some cases the condition may always be false, resulting in an infinite loop. 

Unit Tests

Unit tests are like brushing your teeth and flossing. You shouldn't neglect them. They are the first barrier against problems and will let you have confidence in refactoring. They are also a boon when trying to reproduce issues and being able to write a failing test that demonstrates the issue that passes after you fix the issue.

Integration Tests

Integration tests are necessary as well. Think of them as visiting the dentist. You may be OK without them for a while, but if you neglect them for too long it won't be pretty. 

Most non-trivial programs are made of multiple inter-related modules or components. Problems can often occur when wiring those components together. Integration tests give you confidence that your entire system is operating as intended. There are many other types of tests like acceptance tests, performance tests, stress/load tests and full-fledged whole system tests, but unit tests and integration tests are two of the foundational ways to test software.

Conclusion

Go has built-in support for testing, a well-defined way to write tests, and recommended guidelines in the form of table-driven tests. 

The need to write special structs for every combination of inputs and outputs is a little annoying, but that's the price you pay for Go's simple by design approach.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.