Students Save 30%! Learn & create with unlimited courses & creative assets Students Save 30%! Save Now
Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Android SDK
Code

使用RxJava和RxKotlin进行Kotlin反应式编程

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

Chinese (Simplified) (中文(简体)) translation by Soleil (you can also view the original English article)

自从成为Android开发的官方支持语言以来,Kotlin在Android开发人员中迅速普及,谷歌报告使用Kotlin创建的应用程序增加了6倍

如果您以前使用过RxJava或RxAndroid并且想要切换到Kotlin,或者想要使用Kotlin开始反应式编程,那么本教程适合您。 我们将介绍如何在Kotlin中创建RxJava 2.0 ObserversObservables和数据流的基本要素,然后再研究如何通过将RxJava与Kotlin扩展函数相结合来修剪项目中的大量样板代码。

将RxJava与Kotlin一起使用可以帮助您在更少的代码中创建高度反应性的应用程序,但是没有编程语言是完美的,所以我还将分享许多开发人员在他们第一次开始在Kotlin上使用RxJava 2.0时遇到的SAM转换问题的解决方法。

为了总结,我们将创建一个应用程序来演示如何使用RxJava来解决在现实生活中的Android项目中遇到的一些问题。

如果这是您第一次尝试RxJava,那么我将继续提供您理解核心RxJava概念所需的所有背景信息。 即使您以前从未尝试过RxJava,在本文结束时您将对如何在项目中使用此库有充分的了解,并且您将使用RxJava,RxKotlin,RxAndroid创建多个工作应用程序 和RxBinding。

无论如何,RxJava是什么?

RxJava是ReactiveX库的开源实现,可帮助您以反应式编程风格创建应用程序。 虽然RxJava旨在处理同步和异步数据流,但它并不局限于“传统”数据类型。 RxJava对“数据”的定义非常广泛,包括缓存,变量,属性甚至用户输入事件(如点击和滑动)。 仅仅因为您的应用程序不处理大量数据或执行复杂的数据转换,并不意味着它无法从RxJava中受益!

有关使用RxJava for Android应用程序的一些小背景,您可以在Envato Tuts +上查看我的其他一些帖子。

那么RxJava如何运作?

RxJava扩展了Observer软件设计模式,该模式基于Observers和Observables的概念。 要创建基本的RxJava数据管道,您需要:

  • 创建一个Observable。
  • 给Observable一些要发出的数据。
  • 创建一个观察者。
  • 将观察者订阅到Observable。

一旦Observable至少有一个Observer,它就会开始发送数据。 每次Observable发出一段数据时,它都会通过调用onNext()方法通知其指定的Observer,然后Observer通常会执行一些操作来响应此数据发送。 一旦Observable完成发送数据,它将通过调用onComplete()通知Observer。 然后Observable将终止,数据流将结束。

如果发生异常,则将调用onError(),并且Observable将立即终止,而不会发出任何更多数据或调用onComplete()

但是RxJava不只是将数据从Observable传递给Observer! RxJava有大量的运算符,可用于过滤,合并和转换此数据。 例如,假设您的应用有一个“立即付款”按钮,可以检测onClick事件,并且您担心不耐烦的用户可能会多次点按该按钮,从而导致您的应用处理多笔付款。

RxJava允许您将这些onClick事件转换为数据流,然后您可以使用RxJava的各种运算符进行操作。 在此特定示例中,您可以使用debounce()运算符来过滤快速连续发生的数据排放,因此即使用户在“立即付款”按钮上消失,您的应用也只会注册一次付款。

使用RxJava有什么好处?

我们已经看到RxJava如何在特定的应用程序中帮助您解决特定问题,但一般来说它有什么能提供Android项目?

RxJava可以通过为您提供编写您想要实现的内容的方法来帮助简化代码,而不是编写应用程序必须完成的指令列表。 例如,如果您想忽略在相同的500毫秒内发生的所有数据发射,那么您可以写:

此外,由于RxJava几乎将所有内容都视为数据,因此它提供了一个模板,您可以将其应用于各种事件:创建一个Observable,创建一个Observer,将Observer订阅到Observable,冲洗并重复。 这种公式化方法产生了更直接,人类可读的代码。

Android开发人员的另一个主要好处是RxJava可以消除Android上多线程的痛苦。 今天的移动用户希望他们的应用程序能够执行多任务,即使它像在后台下载数据一样简单,同时保持对用户输入的响应。

Android有几个用于创建和管理多个线程的内置解决方案,但这些解决方案都不是特别容易实现,并且它们很快就会导致复杂,冗长的代码难以阅读并且容易出错。

在RxJava中,您可以使用运算符和调度程序的组合来创建和管理其他线程。 您可以使用subscribeOn运算符和调度程序轻松更改执行工作的线程。 例如,这里我们要安排在新线程上执行的工作:

您可以使用observeOn运算符指定应该发布此工作结果的位置。 在这里,我们使用AndroidSchedulers.mainThread调度程序将结果发布到Android的所有重要主UI线程,该调度程序作为RxAndroid库的一部分提供:

与Android的内置多线程解决方案相比,RxJava的方法简洁,更易于理解。

同样,您可以在我的RxJava 2入门Android文章中了解有关RxJava如何工作的更多信息,以及将此库添加到项目中的好处。

我应该使用RxJava还是RxKotlin?

由于Kotlin与Java 100%可互操作,因此您可以毫无困难地在Kotlin项目中使用大多数Java库 - 而RxJava库也不例外。

一个专用的RxKotlin库,它是常规RxJava库周围的Kotlin包装器。 该包装器提供了针对Kotlin环境优化RxJava的扩展,并且可以进一步减少需要编写的样板代码量。

由于您可以在Kotlin中使用RxJava而不需要RxKotlin,因此除非另有说明,否则我们将在本文中使用RxJava。

在Kotlin中创建简单的观察者和观察者

观察者和Observable是RxJava的构建块,所以让我们从创建:

  • 一个简单的Observable,它响应按钮单击事件发出短数据流。
  • 一个Observable,通过向Android Studio的Logcat打印不同的消息来对此数据做出反应。

使用您选择的设置创建一个新项目,但请确保在出现提示时选中Include Kotlin support复选框。 接下来,打开项目的build.gradle文件,并将RxJava库添加为项目依赖项:

然后,打开项目的activity_main.xml文件并添加将启动数据流的按钮:

创建Observable有几种不同的方法,但最简单的方法之一是使用just()运算符将对象或对象列表转换为Observable。

在下面的代码中,我们创建了一个Observable(myObservable)并为其提供了要发出的项目1,2,3,4和5。 我们还创建了一个Observer(myObserver),将它订阅到myObservable,然后告诉它每次收到新的发射时都会向Logcat打印一条消息。

您现在可以将此应用程序用于测试:

  • 在物理Android智能手机或平板电脑或Android虚拟设备(AVD)上安装项目。
  • 单击“启动RxJava流”按钮。
  • 通过选择Android Monitor选项卡(光标位于以下屏幕截图中),然后选择Logcat选项卡,打开Android Studio的Logcat Monitor。

此时,Observable将开始发送其数据,Observer将其消息打印到Logcat。 您的Logcat输出应如下所示:

Check Android Studios Logcat Monitor

如果您想亲自尝试,可以从GitHub下载此项目

RxJava的Kotlin扩展

现在我们已经了解了如何在Kotlin中设置一个简单的RxJava管道,让我们看看如何使用RxKotlin的扩展函数以更少的代码实现这一点。

要使用RxKotlin库,您需要将其添加为项目依赖项:

在下面的示例中,我们使用RxKotlin的toObservable()扩展函数将List转换为Observable。 我们还使用了subscribeBy()扩展函数,因为它允许我们使用命名参数构造一个Observer,从而产生更清晰的代码。

以下是您应该看到的输出:

Every time onNext is called the data emission is printed to Android Studios Logcat

解决RxJava的SAM模糊问题

当给定Java方法上存在多个SAM参数重载时,RxKotlin还为SAM转换问题提供了一个重要的解决方法。 这种SAM歧义混淆了Kotlin编译器,因为它无法确定它应该转换哪个接口,因此您的项目将无法编译。

当使用RxJava 2.0与Kotlin时,这种SAM模糊性是一个特殊问题,因为许多RxJava运算符采用多种SAM兼容类型。

让我们来看看运行中的SAM转换问题。 在下面的代码中,我们使用zip()运算符来组合两个Observable的输出:

这将导致Kotlin编译器抛出类型推断错误。 但是,RxKotlin为受影响的运算符提供了辅助方法和扩展函数,包括Observables.zip(),我们在以下代码中使用它:

这是这段代码的输出:

Switch to the Observableszip operator and the Kotlin compiler will no longer throw a type inference error

结论

在本教程中,我向您展示了如何在Kotlin项目中开始使用RxJava库,包括使用许多其他支持库,例如RxKotlin和RxBinding。 我们研究了如何使用扩展函数在Kotlin中创建简单的Observers和Observable,直到为Kotlin平台优化RxJava。

到目前为止,我们已经使用RxJava创建了发出数据的简单Observable,以及将这些数据打印到Android Studio的Logcat的观察者 - 但这不是你在现实世界中使用RxJava的方式!

在下一篇文章中,我们将了解RxJava如何帮助解决开发Android应用程序时遇到的实际问题。 我们将使用RxJava和Kotlin创建一个经典的注册屏幕。

Envato qr branded
关注我们的公众号
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Android SDK
Code

Kotlin Reactive Programming With RxJava and RxKotlin

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

Since becoming an officially supported language for Android development, Kotlin has rapidly grown in popularity amongst Android developers, with Google reporting a 6x increase in the applications that are created using Kotlin.

If you've previously used RxJava or RxAndroid and want to make the switch to Kotlin, or want to start reactive programming with Kotlin, this tutorial is for you. We’ll cover the essentials of creating RxJava 2.0 Observers, Observables and data streams in Kotlin, before looking at how you can trim a tonne of boilerplate code from your projects, by combining RxJava with Kotlin extension functions.

Using RxJava with Kotlin can help you create highly reactive apps in less code, but no programming language is perfect, so I’ll also be sharing a workaround for the SAM conversion problem that many developers encounter when they first start using RxJava 2.0 with Kotlin.

To wrap things up, we’ll create an application that demonstrates how you might use RxJava to solve some of the issues you encounter in real-life Android projects.

If this is your first taste of RxJava, then along the way I’ll also be providing all the background information you need to understand the core RxJava concepts. Even if you’ve never experimented with RxJava before, by the end of this article you’ll have a solid understanding of how to use this library in your projects, and you’ll have created several working apps, using RxJava, RxKotlin, RxAndroid, and RxBinding.

What Is RxJava, Anyway?

RxJava is an open-source implementation of the ReactiveX library that helps you create applications in the reactive programming style. Although RxJava is designed to process synchronous and asynchronous streams of data, it isn’t restricted to “traditional” data types. RxJava’s definition of "data" is pretty broad and includes things like caches, variables, properties, and even user input events such as clicks and swipes. Just because your application doesn’t deal with huge numbers or perform complex data transformations, it doesn’t mean that it can’t benefit from RxJava!

For a little background on using RxJava for Android apps, you can check out some of my other posts here on Envato Tuts+.

So how does RxJava work?

RxJava extends the Observer software design pattern, which is based around the concept of Observers and Observables. To create a basic RxJava data pipeline, you need to:

  • Create an Observable.
  • Give the Observable some data to emit.  
  • Create an Observer.
  • Subscribe the Observer to the Observable.

As soon as the Observable has at least one Observer, it’ll start emitting data. Every time the Observable emits a piece of data, it’ll notify its assigned Observer by calling the onNext() method, and the Observer will then typically perform some action in response to this data emission. Once the Observable has finished emitting data, it’ll notify the Observer by calling onComplete(). The Observable will then terminate, and the data stream will end.

If an exception occurs, then onError() will be called, and the Observable will terminate immediately without emitting any more data or calling onComplete().

But RxJava isn’t just about passing data from an Observable to an Observer! RxJava has a huge collection of operators that you can use to filter, merge, and transform this data. For example, imagine your app has a Pay Now button that detects onClick events, and you’re worried that an impatient user might tap the button multiple times, causing your app to process several payments.  

RxJava lets you transform these onClick events into a data stream, which you can then manipulate using RxJava’s various operators. In this particular example, you could use the debounce() operator to filter data emissions that happen in quick succession, so even if the user bashes away at the Pay Now button, your app will only ever register a single payment.

What Are the Benefits to Using RxJava?

We’ve seen how RxJava can help you solve a specific problem, in a specific application, but what does it have to offer Android projects, in general?

RxJava can help simplify your code by giving you a way to write what you want to achieve, rather than writing a list of instructions that your application has to work through. For example, if you wanted to ignore all data emissions that happen within the same 500-millisecond period, then you’d write:

In addition, since RxJava treats almost everything as data, it provides a template that you can apply to a wide range of events: create an Observable, create an Observer, subscribe the Observer to the Observable, rinse and repeat. This formulaic approach results in much more straightforward, human-readable code.

The other major benefit for Android developers is that RxJava can take much of the pain out of multithreading on Android. Today’s mobile users expect their applications to be able to multitask, even if it’s something as simple as downloading data in the background while remaining responsive to user input.

Android has several built-in solutions for creating and managing multiple threads, but none of these are particularly easy to implement, and they can quickly result in complex, verbose code that’s difficult to read and prone to errors.

In RxJava, you create and manage additional threads using a combination of operators and schedulers. You can easily change the thread where work is performed, using the subscribeOn operator plus a scheduler. For example, here we’re scheduling work to be performed on a new thread:

You can specify where the results of this work should be posted, using the observeOn operator. Here, we’re posting the results to Android’s all-important main UI thread, using the AndroidSchedulers.mainThread scheduler, which is available as part of the RxAndroid library:

Compared to Android’s built-in multithreading solutions, RxJava’s approach is much more concise and easier to understand.

Again, you can learn more about how RxJava works, and the benefits of adding this library to your project, in my Get Started With RxJava 2 for Android article.

Should I Be Using RxJava or RxKotlin?

Since Kotlin is 100% interoperable with Java, you can use most Java libraries in your Kotlin projects without any difficulties—and the RxJava library is no exception.

There is a dedicated RxKotlin library, which is a Kotlin wrapper around the regular RxJava library. This wrapper provides extensions that optimize RxJava for the Kotlin environment and can further reduce the amount of boilerplate code you need to write.

Since you can use RxJava in Kotlin without ever needing RxKotlin, we’ll be using RxJava throughout this article, unless stated otherwise.

Creating Simple Observers and Observables in Kotlin

Observers and Observables are the building blocks of RxJava, so let’s start by creating:

  • A simple Observable that emits a short stream of data in response to a button click event.
  • An Observable that reacts to this data by printing different messages to Android Studio’s Logcat.

Create a new project with the settings of your choice, but make sure you select the Include Kotlin support checkbox when prompted. Next, open your project’s build.gradle file and add the RxJava library as a project dependency:

Then, open your project’s activity_main.xml file and add the button that’ll start the data stream:

There are several different ways to create an Observable, but one of the easiest is to use the just() operator to convert an object or list of objects into an Observable.

In the following code, we’re creating an Observable (myObservable) and giving it the items 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 to emit. We’re also creating an Observer (myObserver), subscribing it to myObservable, and then telling it to print a message to Logcat every time it receives a new emission.

You can now put this application to the test:

  • Install your project on a physical Android smartphone or tablet, or an Android Virtual Device (AVD).
  • Give the Start RxJava stream button a click.
  • Open Android Studio’s Logcat Monitor by selecting the Android Monitor tab (where the cursor is positioned in the following screenshot) and then selecting the Logcat tab.

At this point, the Observable will start emitting its data, and the Observer will print its messages to Logcat. Your Logcat output should look something like this:

Check Android Studios Logcat Monitor

You can download this project from GitHub if you want to try it for yourself.

Kotlin Extensions for RxJava

Now that we’ve seen how to set up a simple RxJava pipeline in Kotlin, let’s look at how you can achieve this in less code, using RxKotlin’s extension functions.

To use the RxKotlin library, you need to add it as a project dependency:

In the following example, we’re using RxKotlin’s toObservable() extension function to transform a List into an Observable. We’re also using the subscribeBy() extension function, as it allows us to construct an Observer using named arguments, which results in clearer code.

Here is the output that you should see:

Every time onNext is called the data emission is printed to Android Studios Logcat

Solving RxJava’s SAM Ambiguity Issue

RxKotlin also provides an important workaround for the SAM conversion issue that can occur when there are multiple SAM parameter overloads on a given Java method. This SAM ambiguity confuses the Kotlin compiler, as it cannot work out which interface it’s supposed to convert, and your project will fail to compile as a result.

This SAM ambiguity is a particular problem when using RxJava 2.0 with Kotlin, as many of the RxJava operators take multiple SAM-compatible types.

Let’s look at the SAM conversion problem in action. In the following code, we’re using the zip() operator to combine the output of two Observables:  

This will cause the Kotlin compiler to throw a type inference error. However, RxKotlin provides helper methods and extension functions for the affected operators, including Observables.zip(), which we’re using in the following code:

Here's the output of this code:

Switch to the Observableszip operator and the Kotlin compiler will no longer throw a type inference error

Conclusion

In this tutorial, I showed you how to start using the RxJava library in your Kotlin projects, including using a number of additional supporting libraries, such as RxKotlin and RxBinding. We looked at how you can create simple Observers and Observables in Kotlin, right through to optimizing RxJava for the Kotlin platform, using extension functions.

So far, we’ve used RxJava to create simple Observables that emit data, and Observers that print this data to Android Studio’s Logcat—but this isn’t how you’ll use RxJava in the real world!

In the next post, we’re going to look at how RxJava can help solve real-world problems you’ll encounter when developing Android applications. We'll use RxJava with Kotlin to create a classic Sign Up screen.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.