7 days of WordPress plugins, themes & templates - for free!* Unlimited asset downloads! Start 7-Day Free Trial
Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Kotlin

Kotlin从头开始:高级属性和类

Scroll to top
Read Time: 4 mins
This post is part of a series called Kotlin From Scratch.
Kotlin From Scratch: Classes and Objects
Kotlin From Scratch: Abstract Classes, Interfaces, Inheritance, and Type Alias

Chinese (Simplified) (中文(简体)) translation by Zhang Xiang Liang (you can also view the original English article)

Kotlin  是一种编译为Java字节码的现代编程语言。它是免费的,  开源,并有望使编码为Android更有趣。

在  前面的文章中,您了解了Kotlin类和对象。在本教程中,我们将继续学习更多关于属性的内容,并通过探索以下内容来深入了解Kotlin中的高级类型:

  • 后期初始化的属性
  • 内联属性 
  • 扩展属性
  • 数据,枚举,嵌套和密封类

1.后期初始化属性

我们可以在Kotlin中声明一个非空属性作为后期初始化。这意味着非空属性在声明时不会被初始化,并且值实际的初始化不会通过任何构造函数发生 - 相反,它将通过方法或依赖注入来延迟初始化。

我们来看一个例子来理解这个独特的属性修饰符。

在上面的代码中,我们声明了一个可变的nullable repository属性,它是类型RepositoryPresenter- 在类中- 然后我们在声明过程中将此属性初始化为null。 我们 在Presenter类中有一个initRepository()方法,稍后用实际的Repository实例重新初始化这个属性。请注意,该属性也可以使用像Dagger这样的依赖注入器来赋值。    

现在,我们要调用此repository 属性的方法或属性  ,我们必须执行空检查或使用安全调用操作符。为什么? 因为该repository属性是可空类型(Repository?)。(如果您需要进一步了解Kotlin的可空性,请访问Nullability,Loops和Conditions)

为了避免每次我们需要调用属性方法时进行空检查,我们可以使用lateinit修饰符标记该属性  - 这意味着我们已经声明该属性(这是另一个类的实例)为后期初始化的(意思是属性稍后将被初始化)。  

现在,只要我们等待该属性被赋予一个值,我们就可以安全地访问该属性的方法而不进行任何空的检查。属性初始化可以通过setter方法或通过依赖注入来实现。 

请注意,如果我们在初始化之前尝试访问属性的方法,我们将得到一个  kotlin.UninitializedPropertyAccessException 而不是一个  NullPointerException。在这种情况下,异常消息将是“lateinit属性存储库尚未初始化”。 

当使用以下命令延迟属性初始化时,还要注意以下限制lateinit:

  • 它必须是可变的(用var声明)。
  • 属性类型不能是基本类型,例如,  IntDoubleFloat,等。
  • 该属性不能有自定义的getter或setter。

2.  内联属性

在  高级函数中,我引入了inline高阶函数的修饰符 - 这有助于优化任何接受lambda作为参数的高阶函数。

在Kotlin中,我们也可以inline在属性上使用这个修饰符。使用此修饰符将优化对该属性的访问。

我们来看一个实际的例子。

在上面的代码中,我们有一个普通的属性,  nickName,没有  inline修饰符。如果我们反编译代码片段,使用Show Kotlin Bytecode功能(如果您使用的是IntelliJ IDEA或Android Studio,请使用  Tools  > Kotlin > Show Kotlin Bytecode),我们将看到以下Java代码:

在上面生成的Java代码中(为了简洁,删除了生成代码的某些元素),您可以看到在该main()方法内部,编译器创建了一个Student名为getNickName() 方法的对象,然后打印其返回值。  

现在我们来指定该属性  inline ,并比较生成的字节码。

我们只需在变量varval修饰符之前插入inline  修饰符:  。 以下是为这个内联属性生成的字节码:

再次删除了一些代码,但要注意的关键是该main()方法。编译器复制属性get()函数体,并将其粘贴到调用点(这种机制类似于内联函数)。 

我们的代码已经过优化,因为不需要创建对象并调用属性getter方法。但是,正如在内联函数中所讨论的那样,我们会有比以前更大的字节码,所以谨慎使用。 

还要注意,这种机制可以用于没有后台字段的属性(记住,当你想修改或使用字段数据时,后台字段只是属性使用的字段)。 

3.  扩展属性 

在  高级函数中,  我还讨论了扩展函数 - 这些扩展函数使我们能够扩展具有新功能的类,而不必从该类继承。Kotlin还为属性提供了一种类似的机制,称为  扩展属性。 

在  高级函数后,  我们 用接收器String类型定义了一个扩展函数uppercaseFirstLetter() 。 在这里,我们已将其转换为顶级扩展属性。请注意,您必须在您的属性上定义一个getter方法才能使其工作。 

因此,借助关于扩展属性的新知识,您将知道如果您希望某个类应该有一个不可用的属性,则可以自由创建该类的扩展属性。 

4.  数据类

让我们从一个典型的Java类或POJO(Plain Old Java Object)开始。 

正如你所看到的,我们需要明确的代码的类属性访问器:getter和setter,以及  hashcode,  equalstoString 方法(虽然IntelliJ IDEA的,Android的工作室,或AutoValue库可以帮助我们来生成)。  我们在一个典型的Java项目的数据层中主要看到这种样板代码。(为了简洁起见,我删除了字段访问器和构造器)。

很酷的是,Kotlin团队为我们提供了data修改器,以避免编写这些样板文件。

现在让我们在Kotlin中写上前面的代码。

真棒!我们只是data 在class 关键字之前指定  修饰符  来创建数据类,就像我们在BlogPost 上面的Kotlin类中所做的一样  。 现在  equals,  hashcode,  toString,  copy,和多组分方法将引擎盖为我们下创建的。请注意,数据类可以扩展其他类(这是Kotlin 1.1的新功能)。

equals 方法

该方法比较两个对象是否相等,如果相等则返回true,否则返回false。换句话说,它比较两个类实例是否包含相同的数据。 

在Kotlin中,使用相等运算符==将equals 在幕后调用该  方法。

hashCode 方法 

此方法返回在用于快速存储,并存储在基于散列的集合数据结构的数据的检索,例如一个整数值  HashMap 和  HashSet 集合类型。

toString 方法

这个方法返回一个String 对象的  表示。

通过调用类实例,我们得到一个返回给我们的字符串对象 - Kotlin为我们调用toString() 对象  。但是如果我们不把data 关键字放进去  ,看看我们的对象字符串表示是什么: 

更少的信息!

copy 方法

这个方法允许我们创建一个具有所有相同属性值的对象的新实例。换句话说,它创建了对象的副本。 

Kotlin中关于copy方法的一件很酷的事情就是在复制期间改变属性的能力。 

如果您是Java编码器,则此方法与clone() 您已熟悉的方法类似  。但是Kotlin  copy 方法具有更强大的功能。 

破坏性声明

在  Person 类中,由于data 关键字放置在类中,因此编译器会自动为我们生成两个方法  。这两个方法以“component”为前缀,后跟一个数字后缀:  component1(),  component2()。 每种方法都表示该类型的各个属性。请注意,后缀对应于在主构造函数中声明的属性的顺序。

因此,在我们的示例中,调用  component1() 将返回名字,并且调用  component2() 将返回最后的名字。

尽管使用这种风格调用属性很难理解和阅读,所以明确调用属性名称要好得多。但是,这些隐式创建的属性确实有一个非常有用的用途:它们让我们执行一个解构声明,其中我们可以将每个组件分配给一个局部变量。

我们在这里所做的是直接将Person类型的第一个和第二个属性(firstName 和  lastName)   分别赋值给变量firstName 和  变量  lastName。我还在Packages和Basic Functions  的最后一部分  讨论了称为解构声明的机制   。 

5.  嵌套类

在 文章 更有趣的函数,我告诉你,Kotlin支持本地函数或嵌套函数 - 这是在另一个函数内声明的函数。那么,Kotlin也同样支持嵌套类 - 在另一个类中创建的类。

我们甚至可以调用嵌套类的公共函数,如下所示 - Kotlin中的static 嵌套类相当于Java中的  嵌套类。请注意,嵌套类不能存储对其外部类的引用。 

我们也可以自由地将嵌套类设置为私有 - 这意味着我们只能NestedClass 在该范围内  创建一个实例  OuterClass。 

内部类

内部类,在另一方面,可以参考它在声明的外部类。要创建一个内部类,我们把该  inner 关键字前  class 在嵌套类的关键字。

在这里,我们引用  OuterClass 从  InnerClass 使用   this@OuterClass。

6.  枚举类

枚举类型声明由标识符表示的一组常量。这种特殊的类是由关键字enum之前指定的class关键字创建的。 

要根据名称检索枚举值(就像在Java中一样),我们这样做:

或者我们可以使用Kotlin enumValueOf()辅助方法以通用方式访问常量:

另外,我们可以像这样获得所有的值(例如Java枚举类型):

最后,我们可以使用Kotlin enumValues()辅助方法以通用方式获取所有枚举条目:

这将返回一个包含枚举条目的数组。  

枚举构造函数

就像一个普通的类一样,enum类型可以有自己的构造函数,其属性与每个枚举常量相关联。

在Country枚举类型的主构造函数中,我们callingCodes为每个枚举常量定义了不可变属性。在每个常量中,我们向构造函数传递了一个参数。 

然后我们可以像这样访问常量属性:

7.密封类

Kotlin中的密封类是一个抽象类(你从来不打算从它创建对象),其他类可以扩展。这些子类是在密封的类体中定义的 - 在同一个文件中。因为所有这些子类都是在密封的类体内定义的,所以我们可以通过查看文件来了解所有可能的子类 因为所有这些子类都是在密封的类体内定义的,所以我们可以通过查看文件来了解所有可能的子类。 

我们来看一个实际的例子。

为了将类声明为密封类,我们在类声明头中的sealed修饰符之前插入修饰符class- 在我们的例子中,我们将该Shape类声明为sealed。一个密封的类没有它的子类是不完整的 - 就像一个典型的抽象类 - 所以我们必须在同一个文件中声明各个子类(在这种情况下是shape.kt)。请注意,您不能从另一个文件中定义密封类的子类。  请注意,您不能从另一个文件中定义密封类的子类。 

在上面的代码中,我们指定的Shape类只能通过类来扩展  Circle,  Triangle和  Rectangle

Kotlin的密封课程有以下附加规则:

  • 我们可以将修饰符添加  abstract 到密封类,但这是多余的,因为密封类默认是抽象的。
  • 密封的类不能有  open或final修饰符。 
  • 我们也可以自由地将数据类和对象声明为一个密封类的子类(它们仍然需要在同一个文件中声明)。 
  • 密封类不允许使用公共构造函数 - 它们的构造函数默认是私有的。 

扩展密封类的子类的类可以放在同一个文件或其他文件中。密封的类子类必须使用open 修饰符标记  (在下一篇文章中,您将在Kotlin中学习更多关于继承的知识)。 

一个密封的类和它的子类在when表达式中非常方便。例如:

这里编译器很聪明,可以确保我们涵盖了所有可能的  when情况。这意味着没有必要添加该else 条款。 

如果我们要这样做:

代码不会编译,因为我们没有包含所有可能的情况。我们会遇到以下错误:

因此,我们可以包括is Rectangle案例或包含else条款来完成when表达式。

结论

在本教程中,您了解了更多关于Kotlin的课程。我们介绍了关于类属性的以下内容:

  • 后期初始化
  • 内联属性 
  • 扩展属性

此外,您还了解了一些很酷和高级的类,例如数据,枚举,嵌套和密封类。在Kotlin From Scratch系列的下一个教程中,您将介绍Kotlin中的接口和继承。再见!

要了解有关Kotlin语言的更多信息,我建议访问  Kotlin文档。或者在Envato Tuts上查看我们的其他一些Android应用程序开发帖子!

关注我们的公众号
Advertisement
Did you find this post useful?
Want a weekly email summary?
Subscribe below and we’ll send you a weekly email summary of all new Code tutorials. Never miss out on learning about the next big thing.
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Kotlin
Code

Kotlin From Scratch: Advanced Properties and Classes

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Kotlin From Scratch.
Kotlin From Scratch: Classes and Objects
Kotlin From Scratch: Abstract Classes, Interfaces, Inheritance, and Type Alias

Kotlin is a modern programming language that compiles to Java bytecode. It is free and open source, and promises to make coding for Android even more fun.  

In the previous article, you learned about classes and objects in Kotlin. In this tutorial, we'll continue to learn more about properties and also look into advanced types of classes in Kotlin by exploring the following:

  • late-initialized properties
  • inline properties 
  • extension properties
  • data, enum, nested, and sealed classes

1. Late-Initialized Properties

We can declare a non-null property in Kotlin as late-initialized. This means that a non-null property won't be initialized at declaration time with a value—actual initialization won't happen via any constructor—but instead, it will be late initialized by a method or dependency injection.

Let's look at an example to understand this unique property modifier. 

In the code above, we declared a mutable nullable repository property which is of type Repository—inside the class Presenter—and we then initialized this property to null during declaration. We have a method initRepository() in the Presenter class that reinitializes this property later with an actual Repository instance. Note that this property can also be assigned a value using a dependency injector like Dagger.     

Now for us to invoke methods or properties on this repository property, we have to do a null check or use the safe call operator. Why? Because the repository property is of nullable type (Repository?).  (If you need a refresher on nullability in Kotlin, kindly visit Nullability, Loops, and Conditions).

To avoid having to do null checks every time we need to invoke a property's method, we can mark that property with the lateinit modifier—this means we have declared that property (which is an instance of another class) as late-initialized (meaning the property will be initialized later).  

Now, as long as we wait until the property has been given a value, we're safe to access the property's methods without doing any null checks. The property initialization can happen either in a setter method or through dependency injection. 

Note that if we try to access methods of the property before it has been initialized, we will get a kotlin.UninitializedPropertyAccessException instead of a NullPointerException. In this case, the exception message will be "lateinit property repository has not been initialized". 

Note also the following restrictions placed when delaying a property initialization with lateinit:

  • It must be mutable (declared with var).
  • The property type cannot be a primitive type—for example, Int, Double, Float, and so on. 
  • The property cannot have a custom getter or setter.

2. Inline Properties

In Advanced Functions, I introduced the inline modifier for higher-order functions—this helps optimize any higher-order functions that accept a lambda as a parameter. 

In Kotlin, we can also use this inline modifier on properties. Using this modifier will optimize access to the property.

Let's see a practical example. 

In the code above, we have a normal property, nickName, that doesn't have the inline modifier.  If we decompile the code snippet, using the Show Kotlin Bytecode feature (if you're in IntelliJ IDEA or Android Studio, use Tools > Kotlin > Show Kotlin Bytecode), we'll see the following Java code:

In the generated Java code above (some elements of the generated code were removed for brevity's sake), you can see that inside the main() method the compiler created a Student object, called the getNickName() method, and then printed its return value.  

Let's now specify the property as inline instead, and compare the generated bytecode.

We just insert the inline modifier before the variable modifier: var or valHere's the bytecode generated for this inline property:

Again some code was removed, but the key thing to note is the main() method. The compiler has copied the property get() function body and pasted it into the call site (this mechanism is similar to inline functions). 

Our code has been optimized because of no need to create an object and call the property getter method. But, as discussed in the inline functions post, we would have a larger bytecode than before—so use with caution. 

Note also that this mechanism will work for properties that don't have a backing field (remember, a backing field is just a field that is used by properties when you want to modify or use that field data). 

3. Extension Properties 

In Advanced Functions I also discussed extension functions—these give us the ability to extend a class with new functionality without having to inherit from that class. Kotlin also provides a similar mechanism for properties, called extension properties

In the Advanced Functions post we defined a uppercaseFirstLetter() extension function with receiver type String. Here, we've converted it into a top-level extension property instead. Note that you have to define a getter method on your property for this to work. 

So with this new knowledge about extension properties, you'll know that if you ever wished that a class should have a property that was not available, you are free to create an extension property of that class. 

4. Data Classes

Let's start off with a typical Java class or POJO (Plain Old Java Object). 

As you can see, we need to explicitly code the class property accessors: the getter and setter, as well as hashcodeequals, and toString methods (though IntelliJ IDEA, Android Studio, or the AutoValue library can help us generate them). We see this kind of boilerplate code mostly in the data layer of a typical Java project. (I removed the field accessors and constructor for brevity's sake). 

The cool thing is that the Kotlin team provided us with the data modifier for classes to eliminate writing these boilerplate.

Let's now write the preceding code in Kotlin instead.

Awesome! We just specify the data modifier before the class keyword to create a data class—just like what we did in our BlogPost Kotlin class above. Now the equalshashcodetoStringcopy, and multiple component methods will be created under the hood for us. Note that a data class can extend other classes (this is a new feature of Kotlin 1.1). 

The equals Method

This method compares two objects for equality, and returns true if they're equal or false otherwise. In other words, it compares if the two class instances contain the same data. 

In Kotlin, using the equality operator == will call the equals method behind the scenes.

The hashCode Method 

This method returns an integer value used for fast storage and retrieval of data stored in a hash-based collection data structure, for example in the HashMap and HashSet collection types.  

The toString Method

This method returns a String representation of an object. 

By just calling the class instance, we get a string object returned to us—Kotlin calls the object toString() under the hood for us. But if we don't put the data keyword in, see what our object string representation would be: 

Much less informative!

The copy Method

This method allows us to create a new instance of an object with all the same property values. In other words, it creates a copy of the object. 

One cool thing about the copy method in Kotlin is the ability to change properties during copying. 

If you're a Java coder, this method is similar to the clone() method you are already familiar with. But the Kotlin copy method has more powerful features. 

Destructive Declaration

In the Person class, we also have two methods auto-generated for us by the compiler because of the data keyword placed in the class. These two methods are prefixed with "component", then followed by a number suffix: component1()component2(). Each of these methods represents the individual properties of the type. Note that the suffix corresponds to the order of the properties declared in the primary constructor.

So, in our example calling component1() will return the first name, and calling component2() will return the last name.

Calling the properties using this style is difficult to understand and read, though, so calling the property name explicitly is much better. However, these implicitly created properties do have a very useful purpose: they let us do a destructuring declaration, in which we can assign each component to a local variable.

What we have done here is to directly assign the first and second properties (firstName and lastName) of the Person type to the variables firstName and lastName respectively. I also discussed this mechanism known as destructuring declaration in the last section of the Packages and Basic Functions post. 

5. Nested Classes

In the More Fun With Functions post, I told you that Kotlin has support for local or nested functions—a function that is declared inside another function. Well, Kotlin also similarly supports nested classes—a class created inside another class. 

We even call the nested class's public functions as seen below—a nested class in Kotlin is equivalent to a static nested class in Java. Note that nested classes can't store a reference to their outer class. 

We're also free to set the nested class as private—this means we can only create an instance of the NestedClass within the scope of the OuterClass

Inner Class

Inner classes, on the other hand, can reference the outer class it was declared in. To create an inner class, we place the inner keyword before the class keyword in a nested class. 

Here we reference the OuterClass from the InnerClass by using  this@OuterClass.

6. Enum Classes

An enum type declares a set of constants represented by identifiers. This special kind of class is created by the keyword enum that is specified before the class keyword. 

To retrieve an enum value based on its name (just like in Java), we do this:

Or we can use the Kotlin enumValueOf<T>() helper method to access constants in a generic way:

Also, we can get all the values (like for a Java enum) like this:

Finally, we can use the Kotlin enumValues<T>() helper method to get all enum entries in a generic way:

This returns an array containing the enum entries.  

Enum Constructors

Just like a normal class, the enum type can have its own constructor with properties associated to each enum constant. 

In the Country enum type primary constructor, we defined the immutable property callingCodes for each enum constant. In each of the constants, we passed an argument to the constructor. 

We can then access the constants property like this:

7. Sealed Classes

A sealed class in Kotlin is an abstract class (you never intend to create objects from it) which other classes can extend. These subclasses are defined inside the sealed class body—in the same file. Because all of these subclasses are defined inside the sealed class body, we can know all the possible subclasses by simply viewing the file. 

Let's see a practical example. 

To declare a class as sealed, we insert the sealed modifier before the class modifier in the class declaration header—in our case, we declared the Shape class as sealed. A sealed class is incomplete without its subclasses—just like a typical abstract class—so we have to declare the individual subclasses inside the same file (shape.kt in this case). Note that you can't define a subclass of a sealed class from another file. 

In our code above, we have specified that the Shape class can be extended only by the classes CircleTriangle, and Rectangle.

Sealed classes in Kotlin have the following additional rules:

  • We can add the modifier abstract to a sealed class, but this is redundant because sealed classes are abstract by default.
  • Sealed classes cannot have the open or final modifier. 
  • We are also free to declare data classes and objects as subclasses to a sealed class (they still need to be declared in the same file). 
  • Sealed classes are not allowed to have public constructors—their constructors are private by default. 

Classes which extend subclasses of a sealed class can be placed either in the same file or another file. The sealed class subclass has to be marked with the open modifier (you'll learn more about inheritance in Kotlin in the next post). 

A sealed class and its subclasses are really handy in a when expression. For example:

Here the compiler is smart to ensure we covered all possible when cases. That means there is no need to add the else clause. 

If we were to do the following instead:

The code wouldn't compile, because we have not included all possible cases. We'd have the following error:

So we could either include the is Rectangle case or include the else clause to complete the when expression. 

Conclusion

In this tutorial, you learned more about classes in Kotlin. We covered the following about class properties:

  • late initialization
  • inline properties 
  • extension properties

Also, you learned about some cool and advanced classes such as data, enum, nested, and sealed classes. In the next tutorial in the Kotlin From Scratch series, you'll be introduced to interfaces and inheritance in Kotlin. See you soon!

To learn more about the Kotlin language, I recommend visiting the Kotlin documentation. Or check out some of our other Android app development posts here on Envato Tuts!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.