Unlimited Plugins, WordPress themes, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Web Apps

恒星说明书:一个用于金融事务的分布式,非营利机构

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:MediumLanguages:

Chinese (Simplified) (中文(简体)) translation by Eno (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

此时我正坐在平素最喜欢的咖啡厅,写下如下文字。 多年来它拒绝接受信用卡,因为店主不想支付手续费,大概为3%。 实际上信用卡组织及其交易费在为我们提供一定的流动性时,也给我们的经济造成显著、持续的流失。 2013年,我曾发问,是时候让美国财政部提供一个数字现金方案了吗?

恒星,一个新的开源去中心货币及金融交易系统,也许能兑现这一承诺。

恒星系统,它的团队,顾问和迄今取得的进展非常打动我。 探索越多,了解越深。 探索结束后,我渴望更深入地研究开发平台。 并不是总有这样的机会来探索新的API。

在本教程,我想要给出恒星概念和平台的全面概述。 以后有可能会继续深入API编程之旅。

何为恒星?

恒星是一个用于金融事务的去中心、非营利机构,及一个新型的数字货币。 设计思想为安全、易流动、经济实惠,支持不同人群及不同货币的在线交易,以及为开发者提供一个开源平台用以打造适用于各种应用的支付解决方案。

工作原理?

鉴于所涉及的细节和复杂性,我意译了恒星自身的介绍

恒星的去中心的服务器网络支撑起一个分布式分类账,记录生态中的每一笔交易。 分类账将你的货币记作网关发行的信用等价物。 例如(,在收到你的美元之后),网关将美元变成恒星平台中的信用等价物,或是欧元、比特币。这很像贝宝的运作方式。 信用等价物会发到你的在线帐户上,它如同交易所提供的用以存入的虚拟钱包。 必须信任网关能够持有你的货币并能够兑现你的提现要求。

恒星持有者可以将多种形式的货币的信用等价物发送给其他人。 网络会以最优汇率自动转换相应货币的信用等价物。

每2至5秒,服务器互相通讯以验证事务并同步分类账。 这种机制被称之为共识。

Stellar Consensus

恒星平台也支持新币种,比如Reveal现在发行的币种Reveal Coin。 这些货币可以由应用提供商创建,并在网关与现实社会的货币进行互换。 任何应用开发人员都可以创建自己的币种或者直接使用STR。

人们可以轻松的彼此发送和交换所有不同网关的信用等价物。 这也让人们不仅可以像外部交易所那样买卖外汇,也可以直接进行货币的无缝转换。

Stellar Currency exchange

我的钱可以存在哪里?

你可以在网络上储存可信网关的信用等价物。 交易可以使用网络或者钱包客户端应用——Windows,iOS,Android平台都有:

为什么可以信任恒星?

恒星以非营利组织身份运营,其使命和进程都是透明的:

我们的使命是拓展全球的金融服务覆盖,以及提高人群金融知识。 当个体使用金融服务时,金融服务总是提供对自己最有利的利率。这些人可以独立的改善他们的生活。 但是如今的金融系统过于昂贵与复杂,这让千百万人群无力承担。 正如互联网允许每个人发送电邮或创建博客,恒星的通用金融平台现在可以让你轻松的发送,保存以及接收资金。

恒星平台所有的代码均为开源,可复审的。

Stellar illustration re-imagining the worlds financial systems

图片来源: Lynne Cazaly on Twitter

恒星的顾问包括麻省理工学院媒体实验室主任伊藤穰一和WordPress创始人Matt·Mullenweg。 其理事会包括前贝宝和现Stripe执行官。 其多元化的团队有着接近50%的女性,这在大多数初创企业中并不常见。

Stellar Board Team and Advisors

恒星是一个全球化平台,介绍性幻灯片被翻译成了11种语言: 英语, 越南语, 印尼语, 西班牙语, 葡萄牙语, 菲律宾语, 瑞典语, 塞尔维亚语, 意大利语, 乌克兰语, 和 俄语

恒星如何运作?

基金会从Stripe获得三百万美元的贷款,并偿还以2%的恒星币。 基金会被允许使用至多初始恒星币的5%用以运营用途(包括此次贷款偿还)。

初始共创建了一千亿恒星币。 恒星币必须将以下述方式分配给全世界:

  • 50%通过直接分发计划分配给全世界
  • 25%通过增加覆盖计划分配给非营利组织以给予金融服务匮乏的人群
  • 20%通过比特币计划分配
  • 5%留作运营费用

比特币分发计划将以如下方式进行:

我们会在特定日期对比特币区块链进行快照,并创一个验证页面,允许比特币持有者验证比特币快照地址,按比例领取此计划预分配的恒星币。 举例说明,一个拥有区块链快照0.001%的比特币的用户,将会本计划预留给比特币持有者的恒星币总数的0.001%,即19万恒星币。

比特币用户将会在恒星上获得明显的权益。

你可以在恒星的任务这里查阅关于运作模式的更多内容。

举个例子,Stellar Charts 应用(亦是完全开源),会显示传统货币,比特币与恒星币之间的交易活动:

Stellar Charts Network Stats

恒星入门

你可以在恒星网站上注册(译注:由于使用了Google验证码服务,中国用户所以需要翻墙):

Stellar Sign Up For An Account

第一步是连接Facebook帐号以获取一些恒星币:

Stellar Getting Started Step One

恒星使用Facebook来向全世界人群分发,以最大程度上减少滥用:

我们现在使用Facebook作为验证手段来避免滥用,希望尽快增加其它渠道。 我们不会使用你的Facebook发布信息。 简言之,Facebook是我们开始分发恒星币的最简易方法。它给予我们最简单的方式避免滥用或多次领取恒星币。 我们知道并不是所有人都拥有Facebook帐号,所以以后我们希望增加其它渠道。

我遇到了一些问题,可能是因为我不再使用Facebook。 我的情况也不太常见, 我居然让注册Facebook的电子邮件所用的域名过期了。 我试图切换到另外一个Facebook帐号,不过恒星现在还不允许解绑Facebook。 所以我重新注册了一个帐号, 也没有用:

Stellar Facebook Security Check

我并不太在意这些,因为这种事情不太常见。

一旦登进系统,恒星就会提供一个交易界面,可以交易货币:

Stellar Currency Trading Desk

当你收到恒星币,你可以发送给其他用户(以学习使用系统),作为奖赏,你会为此获得另外一笔恒星币(注:发送给其他用户25个恒星币,会赠送25个str)。

这里有一个视频指导如何注册和使用恒星系统(注:来源Youtube,需要翻墙):

当然,恒星系统的能力并不仅限于恒星币,而在于能够交换交易实际币种。

保护你的恒星账户

恒星除了注册和验证系统如Facebook和电邮验证以外,还提供恢复码以及双因素认证服务(google authenticator或者authy)。

Stellar Security and Two Factor Authentication

恒星社区

如果你愿意深入探索的话,恒星官方博客提供了很多恒星相关的信息更新。 你也可以关注他们的Twitter @stellarorg(新浪微博@stellarorg)。 他们还有一个带有知识库的Zendesk支持门户,以及定期通讯。 同样存在多个社区论坛和IRC房间。 可以看看他们的社区页面了解更多详情。

最近,恒星公布了2014年总结, 同时他们也在招聘布道者和开发人员:

他们看起来上一个知道如何改变世界同时也充满乐趣的团队:

The Stellar Team Is Hiring - Jobs

基于恒星平台的开发内容

Stellar API Documentation

我对恒星提供的文档以及开源示例、开发库的深度和质量印象深刻。

这是一个简单向导,可以指导你完成与API的初步交互示例:

Steller API Demonstration Wizard Step One
Steller API Demonstration Wizard Robot Currency Delivery
Steller API Demonstration Wizard Test Account

利用恒星API可以构建什么?

Greg Brockman就适合利用恒星API构建的应用写了一个很棒的总结,   如下是一些他的例子:

  • 游戏。 很多游戏已经有了虚拟货币。 试想如果将这些集成到恒星系统(或者直接使用恒星币)。 这可以让它们立即流通,用户也可以在游戏间携带或流转。
  • 可以在朋友间跟踪或偿还费用的应用。 这些应用如果基于恒星分类账会非常有趣,这意味着人们可以互相交换债务,并可以与外部的债务交互。
  • 小额支付。 恒星的低交易费用使得它适合于小额支付。 你可以想象使用托管方案或者开源代码,来使付费实现起来非常容易。
  • 预测市场。 恒星使得追踪和交易代表各种预测的等价物(无论它们是否可兑换为现金)变得轻松。

阅读全文,文章很棒。

恒星有哪些开源组件可用?

恒星开发平台给出了一个文档充分和健壮的开端。 下面是一些预建的示例组件,你可以在恒星的Github上找到:

现在你可以使用这些组件来构建你的应用了。 如果你有兴趣,推荐你查看这个平台。

一定要加入开发者邮件列表

展望

我期盼进一步探索恒星生态和API。 我希望你也保持好奇。 可以在我的作者页查询未来的文章。 欢迎随时提问和评论。 你也可以关注我的推特@reifman或者给我发邮件。 现在注册并获取恒星币吧。

我所在的咖啡店最终开始接受使用信用卡——在法律得到修正,允许他们将交易费用转嫁给客户以后。 但我不愿意支付这个费用,所以这里是我依然使用现金的地方之一。 我个人会乐意看到使用恒星来购买咖啡,我相信他们也会乐意接受它。

恒星预示了一个有趣的未来。

相关链接

关注我们的公众号
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

1. Code
  2. Web Apps

Introduction to Stellar: An Infrastructure for Financial Transactions

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

I'm sitting at my favorite coffeeshop as I write this. For many years, it refused to accept credit cards because the owners didn't want to pay the merchant transaction fees, typically 3%. In fact, the credit card cartels and their transaction fees represent a significant, ongoing drain on our economy which we accept for a certain level of fluidity. In 2013, I asked if it was time for the U.S. Treasury to provide a digital cash solution.

Stellar, a new open source, decentralized currency and financial trading system may deliver on this promise. 

The Stellar system, its team, advisors and progress to date very much impressed me. The more I explored, the more depth I discovered. By the end of my explorations, I was eager to dive deeper into the development platform. This isn't often the case when exploring new APIs.

In this tutorial, I'm going to give you a broad overview of the Stellar concept and platform. It's likely I'll offer future tutorials that dive into coding with the API.

What Is Stellar?

Stellar is a decentralized, nonprofit infrastructure for financial transactions and a new digital currency. It's designed to securely, fluidly and affordably support online transactions between different people and with different currencies, and to provide an open source platform for developers to build payment solutions into applications of all kinds.

How Does It Work? 

Due to the detail and complexity involved, I'll paraphrase from Stellar's own introduction:

Stellar's network of decentralized servers power a distributed ledger which records every transaction in the ecosystem. The ledger records your money as credit which is issued by gateways. For example, gateways transfer dollars to credits on the Stellar platform, or Euros or Bitcoin; this is much like how Paypal operates today. Credit is issued to your online account which acts like a virtual wallet in exchange for your deposit. They have to be trusted to hold your money and honor your withdrawals.

Stellar holders can send credit to other people on the network using a variety of currencies. The network will automatically exchange currency credits at the lowest possible rate.

The servers communicate with each other to verify transactions and sync the ledger every two to five seconds. This mechanism is known as consensus.

Stellar Consensus

Stellar's platform also enables new currencies, such as the Reveal Coin. These currencies can be created by application providers and exchanged for real world currencies at Stellar gateways. Any application developer can create their own currency or leverage stellars directly.

People can now easily send and exchange all these different gateway credits with each other. This allows people to not only buy and sell currencies in a foreign exchange like manner but also to convert currencies seamlessly during transactions.

Stellar Currency exchange

Where Do I Store My Money?

You can store credits on the network with trusted providers. Transactions can be managed via the Web or with wallet client apps which are already available for iOS, Android and desktop:

Why Should I Trust Stellar?

Stellar operates as a nonprofit and is transparent about its mission and progress:

Our mission is to expand financial access and literacy worldwide. When individuals have access to financial services and the confidence that those services are working in their best interest, those individuals can independently improve their lives. Yet the current financial system is too costly and complicated, leaving millions of people on the sidelines. Just as the internet allowed anyone to send an email or create a blog, Stellar’s common financial platform now allows you to easily send, save, and receive money, without large fees or hassle.

All of the Stellar platform code is reviewable and open source.

Stellar illustration re-imagining the worlds financial systems

Image credit: Lynne Cazaly on Twitter

Stellar's Advisors include MIT Media Lab Director Joi Ito and WordPress Founder Matt Mullenweg. Its Board includes former PayPal and current Stripe executives. Its diverse team notably includes nearly 50% women, unusual in most technology startups.

Stellar Board Team and Advisors

Stellar is a global platform; its introductory slideshow is translated in 11 languages: EnglishVietnameseBahasa IndonesianSpanishPortugueseTagalogSwedishSerbianItalianUkrainian, and Russian.

How Is Stellar Funded?

The Stellar Foundation was funded with a $3 million loan from Stripe which was subsequently repaid with 2% of issued stellars. It's allowed to use up to 5% of the initial stellars to fund operations (including the loan repayment).

Initially, 100 billion stellars have been created. They are distributed as follows:

  • 50% for the world via the direct signup educational program
  • 25% for nonprofits to reach underserved populations via the increased access program
  • 20% for the bitcoin program
  • 5% for operational costs

The Bitcoin exchange program will work as follows:

We will take a snapshot of the bitcoin blockchain at a particular date and will set up a claim page that will allow bitcoin holders to receive their pro-rata share of the stellars reserved under this program by verifying they control their address from that blockchain snapshot. For example, a user owning .001% of the bitcoins in the blockchain snapshot would receive .001% of the stellars set aside for bitcoin holders under this program, or 190,000 stellars.

Bitcoin users will have an obvious stake in Stellar. 

You can read more about the Stellar funding model in its Mandate.

Just as an example, the Stellar Charts application, also completely open source, shows trading activity between legacy currencies, Bitcoin and stellars:

Stellar Charts Network Stats

Getting Started With Stellar

You can sign up for Stellar at its website:

Stellar Sign Up For An Account

Step one is to connect your Facebook account to receive a bit of stellar currency:

Stellar Getting Started Step One

Stellar is using Facebook to minimize abuse as it distributes currency to individuals worldwide:

We are currently using Facebook as a verification method to avoid spam but hope to add other methods soon. We will not post on your Facebook. In short, Facebook was the easiest way for us to get started with stellar distribution — it gives us an easy way to avoid people claiming their stellar many times. We know not everyone has a Facebook account, and over time, we hope to add additional channels.

I ran into some problems, probably unique to the fact that I don't use Facebook any more. My situation is probably quite unusual. I had actually let the domain I had registered for email for Facebook expire. I tried switching over to a Facebook account I use to manage Pages, but Stellar doesn't have a mechanism to disconnect a Facebook Connect link after it's made. So I tried re-registering with a new account at Stellar. That didn't work either:

Stellar Facebook Security Check

I'm not overly concerned as my situation is not common.

Once you're into the system, Stellar offers a trading desk to exchange currencies:

Stellar Currency Trading Desk

When you receive your Stellar credits, you can send them to other Stellar users and my understanding is that you'll be reimbursed for your first transaction with more Stellar.

Here's a video guide to signing up with Stellar and getting started with its currency system:

Of course, the power behind Stellar may not be its own currency but its ability to exchange and trade between a variety of real world currencies.

Securing Your Stellar Account

In addition to Stellar's robust signup and verification system, including Facebook and email verification, it offers a recovery token and two factor authentication with Google Authenticator.

Stellar Security and Two Factor Authentication

The Stellar Community

The Stellar Blog has a lot of detailed updates on it if you'd like to dive more deeply into their work. You can follow Stellar on Twitter at @stellarorg. They also have a ZenDesk Support Portal with a knowledge base and a regular newsletter. There are multiple community forums and IRC rooms. Check out their community page for more detail.

Recently, Stellar published its end of year 2014 summary. And they're hiring evangelists and developers:

They look like a team that knows how to change the world and have fun at the same time:

The Stellar Team Is Hiring - Jobs

Developing on the Stellar Platform

Stellar API Documentation

I was very impressed with the depth and quality of documentation and open source applets and libraries that Stellar provides.

There's a simple wizard that walks you through some initial sandbox examples with the API:

Steller API Demonstration Wizard Step One
Steller API Demonstration Wizard Robot Currency Delivery
Steller API Demonstration Wizard Test Account

What Can You Build With Stellar's API?

Greg Brockman wrote a great summary of the kinds of apps that are appropriate for building with the Stellar API. Here are a few of his examples:

  • Games. Many games already have virtual credits. Imagine embedding those credits into the Stellar ledger (or just making those credits be stellars). This would make them instantly tradable, and something that users could bring with them from game to game.
  • Apps for tracking and paying back expenses among friends. Backing these apps by credits on the Stellar ledger would be very interesting, and mean that people can trade around their debts, and have those interact with other debts external to the app.
  • Micropayment paywall. Stellar’s low transaction fees make it plausible for doing micropayments. You could imagine either a hosted solution or open-source code to make paywall implementation really easy.
  • Prediction markets. Stellar makes it very easy to track and trade credits representing various predictions (independent of whether or not they’re convertible to cash).

Read his full post—it's excellent.

What Open Source Components Are Available For Stellar?

The Stellar Developer Platform appears to have made a well-documented, robust start. Here are some of the pre-built example components you'll find at the Stellar Github repository:

You can start building with any or all of these components today. If you're interested, I encourage you to check out the platform. 

Be sure to sign up for the developer mailing list.

Looking Ahead

I'm eager to explore the Stellar Ecosystem and API further. I hope you're intrigued as well. Look for future posts on Stellar at my Tuts+ instructor page. Please feel free to post your questions and comments below. You can also follow me on Twitter @reifman or reach me via email directly. Now go sign up and get your stellar.

My coffeeshop finally began accepting credit cards when the law changed to allow them to pass on transaction fees to customers. As I prefer not to pay those fees, this is one of the only places where I still use cash. I for one would be pretty happy to buy my coffee with stellar and I think they would be pleased to accept it.

Stellar portends an intriguing future.

Related Links

Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.