Unlimited Plugins, WordPress themes, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Android
Code

如何使用Android中的Geofences

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

Chinese (Simplified) (中文(简体)) translation by Zhang Xiang Liang (you can also view the original English article)

位置感知资源允许您的应用程序与物理世界进行交互,它们是增加用户参与度的理想选择。虽然许多移动应用程序都使用它们,但本教程的主题是一个经常被忽略的功能,那就是geofencing

geofencing是在真实地理区域上设置的虚拟周界。将用户位置与geofencing周界组合,可以知道用户是在geofencing内还是geofencing外,或者甚至他是正在退出或进入该区域。

A geofence knows if a location is inside or outside its delimited area

想象一下,一个大学应用程序可以告诉你目前校园里有哪些同事和教授。或者一个商场应用程序,奖励普通客户。还有许多其他有趣的可能性等待你探索。

在本教程中,您将学习如何在Android上使用geofencing,方法是创建一个应用程序,用户进入或退出geofencing时向用户发送通知。 如果您以前了解  Google Play服务,  Google Maps Android API或  IntentService,这会有所帮助。如果没有也没有问题,但是阅读本教程后,您可能需要对这些主题进行一些研究。

1.Android中的geofencing

在Android中有几种方法使用geofencing。您甚至可以自己实现geofencing,但Google  GeofencingApi更容易使用。

这些API是Google的  Location  API的一部分。它包括  GeofenceGeofencingRequestGeofenceApi,  GeofencingEvent,和  GeofenceStatusCodes。在本教程中,我们使用这些类来创建和使用geofencing。

geofencing界面

Geofence 是一个表示应该监视的地理区域的界面。它是通过Geofence.Builder来创建。 在创建过程中,您可以设置受监视区域,geofencing的到期日期,响应度,标识符以及应该查找的转换种类。

为了将功耗降至最低,建议在大多数情况下使用半径至少为100米的geofencing。如果geofencing位于农村,则应将半径增加到500米以上,以确保地geofencing有效。

geofencing转型

  • GEOFENCE_TRANSITION_DWELL 表示用户进入该区域并停留一段时间。 当用户进入和退出区域太快时,避免多个警报是有用的。您可以使用setLoiteringDelay参数配置住宅时间  。
  • GEOFENCE_TRANSITION_ENTER 指示用户何时进入监视区域。
  • GEOFENCE_TRANSITION_EXIT  指示用户何时退出该区域。

GeofenceRequest

  GeofencingRequest 类接收了应该监视的geofencing。您可以通过使用Builder创建实例,传递参数GeofenceList<Geofence>,以及在创建geofencing时触发的通知类型。

GeofencingApi

GeofencingApi 类是与Google的geofencing API进行交互的切入点。它是Location API的一部分,它取决于  GoogleApiClient 工作。您将使用GeofencingApi添加和删除geofencing。

要添加geofencing,您可以调用addGeofence()方法。它使用传递给GeofencingRequest 的设置来监视给定区域,并且 在移动,进入或退出该区域时发射PendingIntent

要删除geofencing,请调用  removeGeofences()。您可以使用其请求标识符或其挂起的意图来移除geofencing。

2.创建geofencing应用程序

在本教程中,我们创建一个简单的应用程序,用于监视用户位置,并在用户进入或退出地理区域时发送通知。 该应用程序仅包含一个Activity和一个IntentService。我们也快速浏览GoogleMapGoogleApiClientFusedLocationProviderApi,并且我们探索了geofencing API的一些注意事项。

App Screenshot

步骤1:项目设置

GeofencingApiGoogle Play服务的一部分。需要正确设置您的开发环境并创建一个GoogleApiClient实例才能访问它。 创建一个空白Activity的项目,编辑项目的build.gradle文件,如下所示,并同步您的项目。

步骤2:权限

我们需要设置正确的权限来创建和使用geofencing。将以下权限添加到项目的清单中:

从Android 6.0开始,应用程序在运行时请求权限而不是在安装期间。我们稍后在本教程中介绍。

步骤3:创建布局

该项目由MainActity布局组成。它包含设备的当前纬度和经度,以及 显示地理位置和用户位置的  GoogleMap fragment。

由于activity_main.xml非常简单,我只想集中在MapFragment上。您可以在本教程的源文件中查看完成的布局。

步骤4:Google Maps API密钥

由于我们使用 MapFragment,我们需要设置和初始化一个GoogleMap实例。首先,您需要获得一个API密钥。一旦你有一个API密钥,将它添加到项目的清单。

我们从GoogleMap 实例开始吧。在  Activity类中实现  GoogleMap.OnMapReadyCallback,  GoogleMap.OnMapClickListener和  GoogleMap.OnMarkerClickListener并初始化地图。

步骤5: GoogleApiClient

要使用  GeofencingApi 接口,我们需要一个GoogleApiClient 入口点。让我们实现Activity中的GoogleApiClient.ConnectionCallbacks和  GoogleApiClient.OnConnectionFailedListener,如下图所示。

步骤6: FusedLocationProviderApi

我们还需要访问用户的当前位置。FusedLocationProviderApi 接口为我们提供了这些信息,并且可以很好地控制位置请求。 这是非常重要的,因为位置请求对设备的电池消耗有直接的影响。

现在,我们来实现一个LocationListener。检查用户是否通过创建Location请求给出应用程序相应的权限,并在屏幕上显示当前位置。

重要的是解决上面创建的LocationRequest未针对生产环境进行优化的问题。UPDATE_INTERVAL过短,会消耗过多电量。更合适的生产配置可以是:

第7步:GoogleMap标记

我们Activity需要两个不同的标记locationMarker 使用FusedLocationProviderApi给出的纬度和纬度   来通知设备的当前位置。 geoFenceMarker 是geofence创建的目标,因为它使用地图上给出的最后一个触摸来检索其位置。

步骤8:创建geofence

最后,现在是建立geofence的时候了。我们用  geoFenceMarker作为 geofence中心点。

接下来,我们创建GeofencingRequest对象。

我们使用一个PendingIntent 对象来调用IntentService来处理  GeofenceEvent。我们创造了  GeofenceTrasitionService.class以后。

我们还在地图上绘制geofence作为视觉参考。

startGeofence() 方法负责启动MainActivity 类中的geofence进程  。

步骤9:geofence转型服务

我们现在可以最终创建前面提到的GeofenceTrasitionService.class 。这个类继承  IntentService 并负责处理GeofencingEvent。首先,我们从收到的意图中得到这个事件。

然后,我们检查发生的geofence转型的类型是否是我们感兴趣的。如果是,我们检索触发geofence的列表,并通过适当的操作创建通知。

我还实现了一些帮助方法,使类的实现更容易理解。

3.测试

在虚拟设备上进行测试

在虚拟设备上测试geofence要简单得多。有几种方法可以做到这一点。在Android Studio中,打开一个虚拟设备,然后点击右下角的更多选项按钮。

Click on More Options

在左侧的位置选项卡中,输入位置的坐标。

Send Latitude and Longitude

我更喜欢使用telnet命令来控制虚拟设备。要使用此功能,您需要使用以下命令从命令行连接到设备:

设备端口显示在虚拟设备窗口中。设备端口通常等于5554

您可能需要使用您的auth_token权限来授权此连接  ,但是命令行可以显示您所在的位置。导航到该位置复制令牌并键入  auth [YOUR_AUTH_TOKEN]

您现在可以通过运行以下命令来设置设备的位置:

结论

Geofencing可能是您应用程序的一个很好补充,因为它可以大大增加用户参与度。有很多的可能性有待探索,甚至可以使用室内信标(如Estimote)获取一个复杂的经验。 有了室内信标,你就会知道用户从哪里经过,例如购物中心。

将Geofencing添加到项目很简单,但是我们需要始终保持电池的续航能力。这意味着我们需要仔细选择geofence的大小和更新率,因为它们都直接影响到应用程序的功耗。

因此,测试应用程序的功耗非常重要。还要考虑给用户一个选项,如果他们不想要或者不需要这个功能,就完全禁用geofencing。

关注我们的公众号
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

1. Code
  2. Android

How to Work With Geofences on Android

Location aware resources allow your application to interact with the physical world and they are ideal for increasing user engagement. Although many mobile apps use them, the topic of this tutorial is a feature that is often overlooked, geofencing.

A geofence is a virtual perimeter set on a real geographic area. Combining a user position with a geofence perimeter, it is possible to know if the user is inside or outside the geofence or even if he is exiting or entering the area.

A geofence knows if a location is inside or outside its delimited area

Imagine a university app that can tell you which colleagues and professors are currently on campus. Or an app for a mall that rewards regular customers. There are many other interesting possibilities that you can explore.

In this tutorial, you learn how to use geofences on Android by creating an application that shows the user a notification when they enter or exit a geofence. It helps if you have previous knowledge of Google Play Services, the Google Maps Android API, or IntentService. If you don't, then you can still follow along, but you may want to do some research about these topics after reading this tutorial.

1. Geofences on Android

On Android, there are several ways to work with geofences. You could even create your own implementation to work with geofences, but it is easier to use Google's GeofencingApi.

This APIs is part of Google's Location APIs. It includes Geofence, GeofencingRequest, GeofenceApiGeofencingEvent, and GeofenceStatusCodes. In this tutorial, we use these classes to create and work with geofences.

Geofence Interface

Geofence is an interface that represents a geographical area that should be monitored. It is created by using the Geofence.Builder. During its creation, you set the monitored region, the geofence's expiration date, responsiveness, an identifier, and the kind of transitions that it should be looking for.

To keep power consumption to a minimum, it is recommended to use a geofence with a radius of at least 100 meters for most situations. If geofences are located in the countryside, you should increase the radius to 500 meters or higher to make sure the geofences are effective.

Geofence Transitions

  • GEOFENCE_TRANSITION_DWELL indicates that the user entered the area and spent some time there. It is useful to avoid multiple alerts when the user is entering and exiting the area too fast. You can configure the dwelling time using the setLoiteringDelay parameter.
  • GEOFENCE_TRANSITION_ENTER indicates when the user enters the monitored region.
  • GEOFENCE_TRANSITION_EXIT  indicates when the user exits the region.


The GeofencingRequest class receives the geofences that should be monitored. You can create an instance by using a Builder, passing a Geofence or a List<Geofence>, and the kind of notification to trigger when the geofence(s) is created.


The GeofencingApi class is the entry point for all interactions with Google's geofencing API. It is part of the Location APIs and it depends on a GoogleApiClient to work. You will use the GeofencingApi to add and remove geofences.

To add a geofence, you call the addGeofence() method. It monitors the given area using the settings passed to the GeofencingRequest and shoots a PendingIntent when a geofence transition, entering or exiting the area, takes place.

To remove the geofence, you call removeGeofences(). You can either remove the geofence using its request identifier or its pending intent.

2. Creating a Geofencing App

In this tutorial, we create a simple application that monitors the user location and posts a notification when the user enters or exits a geofenced area. The app consists of only one Activity and an IntentService. We also take a quick look at GoogleMap, GoogleApiClient, and FusedLocationProviderApi, and we explore some caveats of the geofence API.

App Screenshot

Step 1: Project Setup

GeofencingApi is part of Google Play Services. To access it, you need to correctly set up your development environment and create an instance of the GoogleApiClient. Create a new  project with a blank Activity, edit the project's build.gradle file as shown below, and synchronize your project.

Step 2: Permissions

We need to set the correct permissions to create and use geofences. Add the following permission to the project's manifest:

Starting with Android 6.0, the app asks for permission at run time and not during the installation. We address this later in the tutorial.

Step 3: Creating the Layout

The project consists of one layout, the MainActity layout. It contains the device's current latitude and longitude, and a GoogleMap fragment that displays the geofences and the user's position.

Since activity_main.xml is pretty straightforward, I want to concentrate only on the MapFragment element. You can take a look at the completed layout in the source files of this tutorial.

Step 4: Google Maps API Key

Since we are using a MapFragment, we need to set up and initialize a GoogleMap instance. First, you need to obtain an API key. Once you have an API key, add it to the project's manifest.

Let's begin with the GoogleMap instance. Implement GoogleMap.OnMapReadyCallbackGoogleMap.OnMapClickListener, and GoogleMap.OnMarkerClickListener in the Activity class and initialize the map.

Step 5: GoogleApiClient

To use the GeofencingApi interface, we need a GoogleApiClient entry point. Let's implement a GoogleApiClient.ConnectionCallbacks and a GoogleApiClient.OnConnectionFailedListener in the Activity as shown below.

Step 6: FusedLocationProviderApi

We also need to access the user's current location. The FusedLocationProviderApi interface gives us this information and allows a great level of control of the location request. This is very important, considering that location requests have a direct effect over the device's battery consumption.

Now, let's implement a LocationListener. Check if the user gave the application the appropriate permissions by creating the Location request and display their the current location on the screen.

It is important to address that the LocationRequest created above isn't optimized for a production environment. The UPDATE_INTERVAL is too short and would consume too much battery power. A more realistic configuration for production could be:

Step 7: GoogleMap Markers

Our Activity needs two different markers. A locationMarker uses the latitude and longitude given by the FusedLocationProviderApi to inform the device's current location. A geoFenceMarker is the target for the geofence creation as it uses the last touch given on the map to retrieve its position.

Step 8: Creating a Geofence

At last, it is time to create a geofence. We use the geoFenceMarker as the center point for the geofence.

Next, we create the GeofencingRequest object.

We use a PendingIntent object to call a IntentService that will handle the GeofenceEvent. We create the GeofenceTrasitionService.class later.

We also draw the geofence on the map as a visual reference.

The startGeofence() method is responsible for starting the geofencing process in the MainActivity class.

Step 9: Geofence Transition Service

We can now finally create the GeofenceTrasitionService.class mentioned earlier. This class extends IntentService and is responsible for handling the GeofencingEvent. First, we get this event from the received intent.

We then check if the kind of geofencing transition that took place is of interest to us. If it is, we retrieve a list of the triggered geofences and create a notification with the appropriate actions.

I have also implemented a few helper methods to make the implementation of the class easier to understand.

3. Testing

Testing on a Virtual Device

It is much simpler to test geofencing on a virtual device. There are several ways to do this. In Android Studio, open a virtual device and click the more options button in the bottom right.

Click on More Options

In the Location tab on the left, enter the coordinates for the location.

Send Latitude and Longitude

I prefer to use telnet commands to control the virtual device. To use this, you need to connect to the device from the command line using the following command:

The device port is shown in the virtual device window. The device port is usually equal to 5554.

It is possible that you need to authorize this connection using your auth_token, but the command line shows you where it is located. Navigate to that location and copy the token and type, auth [YOUR_AUTH_TOKEN].

You can now set the location of the device by running the following command:


Geofencing may be a great addition to your app as it can considerably increase user engagement. There are lots of possibilities to explore and you could even create a sophisticated experience using indoor beacons, such as the Estimote. With indoor beacons, you know exactly where the user has passed in, for example, a shopping mall.

Adding Geofencing to a project is simple, but we need to keep power consumption in mind at all times. This means that we need to carefully choose the size of the geofence and the update rate because both directly impact power consumption of your application.

Testing is therefore very important to get a realistic idea of the power consumption of your application. Also consider giving users the option to disable geofencing altogether if they don't want or need this feature.

Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.