Unlimited Plugins, WordPress themes, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Android Wear
Code

创建Android Wear Watch Face

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Chinese (Traditional) (中文(繁體)) translation by Zhang Xiang Liang (you can also view the original English article)

Android特別的功能之壹就是能夠自定義各個方面的用戶體驗。 當Android Wear首次在2014的Google I / O大會上推出時,許多開發人員和用戶發現,對於智能手表而言上面那個觀點並不正確,因為沒有創建watch face的官方API。  鑒於自定義手表的功能是用戶的關鍵需求之壹,因此開發人員發現在Android Wear中使用沒有官方文檔支持的黑客技術創建自己的watch face並不奇怪。

幸運的是,Google迅速讓每個人都知道官方API正在進行之中,並且在2014年12月API終於被發布給開發社區了。  在本文中,您將了解Android Wear的官方Watch Faces API,並實現壹個簡單的數字手表,您可以根據自己的需要進行擴展。  實現可能有點冗長,但您可以在GitHub上找到本文的示例應用程序。

1.設置IDE

需要做的第壹件事是Android Studio中設置watch face。  創建項目時,請選擇手機和平板電腦 ,使用最低SDK API 18,因為Android 4.3是支持捆綁Android Wear應用程序最低版本的操作系統。  您還需要選擇“Wear” 框,並選擇“最低API 21”。  您可以看到“目標Android設備” 屏幕應顯示如下 。

當您進入兩個“添加activity” 界面時,請為兩個界面選擇“不添加activity ”。

壹旦您單擊 完成,項目環境被構建了並擁有壹個mobile模塊和wear模塊。

2.建立wear服務

Android Wear通過使用WatchFaceService來實現watch face。  在這篇文章中,將創建壹個CanvasWatchFaceService 類的繼承,它實現WatchFaceService類,該類提供了繪制watch face的Canvas。  首先 在Android Studio中的Wear模塊下創建壹個新的Java類 CanvasWatchFaceService

創建完該類後,妳需要在本文的源文件中創建壹個內部類WatchFaceEngine,該類繼承Engine。  這是處理系統事件的watch face引擎,例如屏幕關閉或進入環境模式。

當您的存根代碼為 WatchFaceEngine ,返回到外部類並重寫onCreateEngine 方法以返回您的新內部類。  這將使您的watch face服務與驅動顯示器的代碼相關聯。

壹旦將裸機服務放在壹起,您就可以繼續更新AndroidManifest 文件的壹般內務管理任務, 以便Android Wear可以發現您的服務。  請記住,您當前的代碼將不會執行任何操作。  在進行壹些項目管理之後,我們將回到這個類並引導引擎。

3.更新AndroidManifest文件

wear模塊中打開 AndroidManifest.xml文件 。  在頂端附近,您應該已經看到壹行代碼:

在該行下方,我們需要添加壹個watch face的兩個必需權限。  這些要求是:

壹旦妳的權限被設置,妳將需要在 application 節點添加壹個有BIND_WALLPAPER權限的服務節點,幾組 meta-data 包含watch face參考圖像的選擇屏幕(在這個例子中,我們只是使用啟動器圖標),還有intent-filter 讓系統知道您的服務是用於顯示watch face。

Wear清單完成後,妳需要打開mobile模塊的AndroidManifest.xml文件,並在wear模塊中添加我們的使用的兩種權限PROVIDE_BACKGROUNDWAKE_LOCK,因為Android Wear需要這兩者權限,無論是wear還是mobile模塊將wear APK安裝在用戶手表上都需要該權限。  配置好這兩個清單文件,妳可以返回到 CustomWatchFaceService.java 來開始實現引擎。

4.啟動引擎

與服務相關聯的Engine對象是用來驅動watch face的。  它處理定時器、顯示用戶界面、進出環境模式以及獲取關於物理手表顯示的信息。  簡而言之,這裏是魔術發生的地方。

步驟1:定義必要的值和變量

您將要做的第壹件事是在引擎中實現壹組成員變量,以跟蹤顯示器的設備狀態、定時器間隔和屬性。

正如妳所看到的,我們定義了 TypeFace ,它用於數字手表文字以及watch face的背景顏色和文字顏色。  Time 對象用於(您猜到它了)跟蹤當前設備的時間。  mUpdateRateMs 用於控制我們需要實現的定時器,以便每秒更新壹次watch face(因此mUpdateRateMs的值為1000毫秒),因為WatchFaceService標準, 所以只能以1分鐘的增量跟蹤時間。  壹旦發動機知道手表的物理形狀mXOffsetmYOffset就被定義,使得我們的watch face可以被繪制而不是太靠近屏幕的頂部或左側或被圓角切斷。  三個布爾值用於跟蹤不同的設備和應用程序狀態。

您需要定義的下壹個對象是處理用戶可能正在旅行和更改時區情況的廣播接收器。  該接收器簡單地清除保存的時區並重置顯示時間。

在定義了接收器之後,您需要在引擎頂部創建的最終對象是Handler,用來每隔壹秒更新壹次watch face。  這是必要的,由於上面討論的WatchFaceService限制。  如果妳自己的watch face只需要每分鐘更新壹次,那麽妳可以放心地忽略這個部分。

實現Handler是非常簡單的。  它首先檢查消息ID。  如果匹配MSG_UPDATE_TIME_ID,它將繼續使當前的重繪視圖無效。  視圖無效後,Handler 檢查屏幕是否可見並且不是環境模式。  如果它是可見的,它再次發送重復請求。  我們只是在手表可見並且不是環境模式的時候在Handler中重復執行這個操作,因為每秒鐘保持更新會更耗電。  如果用戶沒有看到屏幕,我們只是回到每分鐘更新的WatchFaceService

步驟2:初始化引擎

現在您的變量和對象被聲明了,現在是開始初始化watch face的時候了。  EngineonCreate 方法用於創建可花費大量時間和電池的對象和其他任務。  您還將要為WatchFaceStyle設置幾個標誌來控制當watch face處於活動狀態時系統與用戶的交互。

對於示例應用程序,您將用setWatchFaceStyle來設置通知卡的背景,以簡要顯示卡類型是否設置為中斷。  您還將設置窺視模式以便通知卡只占用必要的空間。

最後,要告訴系統不顯示默認時間,因為您將自己顯示它。  雖然這些只是可用的幾個選項,您可以在WatchFaceStyle.Builder對象的官方文檔中找到更多信息。

WatchFaceStyle設置完成後,可以將mDisplayTime初始化為新Time 對象。

initBackgroundinitDisplayText 分配兩個Paint對象,它們是在在引擎頂部定義的。  然後設置背景和文本的顏色設置、文本的字體和字體大小設置。

步驟3:處理設備狀態

接下來,您需要從Engine類中實現由設備狀態更改觸發的各種方法。  我們先從 onVisibilityChanged 方法開始,當用戶隱藏或顯示watch face時,該方法被調用。

當調用此方法時,它會檢查看watch是否可見。  如果watch face可見,則會查看在Engine頂部定義的BroadcastReceiver是否已註冊。  如果不是,該方法將創建壹個IntentFilterACTION_TIMEZONE_CHANGED的行動並註冊BroadcastReceiver監聽它。

如果watch face不可見,此方法將檢查是否可以取消註冊BroadcastReceiver。  壹旦BroadcastReceiver被處理,updateTimer 被調用來觸發使得watch face無效和重繪watch face。  updateTimer 停止任何Handler待處理的操作並檢查是否應發送另壹個。

步驟4:與可穿戴硬件合作

當您的服務與Android Wear相關聯時,onApplyWindowInsets 被調用。  這用於確定您的watch face正在運行的設備是圓形還是方形。  這可以讓您更改您的watch face以配合硬件。

在示例應用中調用此方法時,該方法將簡單地檢查設備形狀並更改用於繪制watch face的x偏移量,以確保您的watch face在設備上可見。

您需要重寫的下壹個方法是 onPropertiesChanged。  例如,如果設備支持老化保護或低位環境模式,則在確定Wear設備的硬件屬性時調用此方法。

在這該方法中,檢查這些屬性是否適用於運行watch face的設備,並將其保存在Engine頂部定義的成員變量中。

步驟5:在環境和靜音模式下節省電池

處理初始設備狀態後,需要實現 onAmbientModeChangedonInterruptionFilterChanged。  顧名思義, 當設備移入或移出環境模式時調用onAmbientModeChanged

如果設備處於環境模式,您將需要將手表的顏色更改為黑色和白色以便註意用戶的電池。  當設備從環境模式返回時,您可以重置手表的顏色。  您還需要註意要求低位環境支持的設備的anti-aliasing。  在所有標誌變量設置完畢後,您可以使表面無效並重繪,然後檢查是否應啟動壹秒計時器。


當用戶手動更改穿戴設備的中斷設置時,onInterruptionFilterChanged將被調用。 發生這種情況時,您需要檢查設備是否靜音,然後相應地更改用戶界面。  在這種情況下,您將更改您的watch face的透明度,將Handler設置為僅在設備靜音時每分鐘更新,然後重繪watch face。

當您的設備處於環境模式時,Handler定時器將被禁用。  Watch face仍然可以每壹分鐘更新當前時間,通過使用內置的onTimeTick 方法來使Canvas無效。

步驟6:繪制watch face

考慮完上面所有的情況後,是時候最終畫出watch face了。  CanvasWatchFaceService采用了標準的Canvas對象,所以妳需要添加onDrawEngine並且手動繪制出watch face。

在本教程中,我們只需要繪制壹段時間的文字表示,盡管您可以更改onDraw 以輕松支持模擬的watch face。  在該方法中,需要通過更新Time 對象來驗證是否顯示正確的時間,然後可以開始應用watch face了。

drawBackground 設置Wear設備背景使用純色。

然而,drawTimeText將在幾個輔助方法的幫助下創建要顯示的時間文本,然後將其應用於onApplyWindowInsets定義的x和y偏移點的畫布。

結論

壹旦妳實現了繪制watch face的方法,妳應該具備出門所需的基本知識並制作自己的watch face。  Android Wear watch face的好處是,這只可能刮傷表面。

您可以在手表或手機上添加配置activity,將基於watch face的Canvas替換為OpenGL實現,或者根據需要從WatchFaceService派生自己的類 。

可以從用戶手機訪問其他API或信息,可能性似乎無止境。 獲得關於watch face的創意然後去享受吧。

Envato qr branded
关注我们的公众号
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Android Wear
Code

Creating an Android Wear Watch Face

One of the features that makes Android so special is the ability to customize every aspect of the user experience. When Android Wear first launched at Google I/O 2014, many developers and users found out that this wasn't exactly true for smart watches, as the official API for creating watch faces was noticeably missing. Given that the ability to make custom watch faces was one of the key wants from users, it's not surprising that developers discovered a way to create their own watch faces with an undocumented hack in Android Wear.

Luckily, Google quickly let everyone know that an official API was on its way and in December of 2014 that API was finally released to the development community. In this article, you're going to learn about the official Watch Faces API for Android Wear and implement a simple digital watch face that you will be able to expand on for your own needs. Implementing watch faces can be a bit verbose, but you can find the sample application for this article on GitHub.

1. Setting Up Your IDE

The first thing you're going to need to do to make your own watch face is get your project set up in Android Studio. When creating your project, select Phone and Tablet with a Minimum SDK of API 18 as Android 4.3 is the lowest version of the operating system to support bundled Android Wear applications. You will also need to check the Wear box with a Minimum SDK of API 21 selected. You can see an example of what your Target Android Devices screen should look like.

When you get to the two Add an Activity screens, select Add No Activity for both screens.

Once you click Finish, your project environment should build and have a module for mobile and another one for wear.

2. Building the Wear Watch Service

Android Wear implements watch faces through the use of WatchFaceService. In this article, you're going create an extension of the CanvasWatchFaceService class, which is an implementation of WatchFaceService that also provides a Canvas for drawing out your watch face. Start by creating a new Java class under the wear module in Android Studio that extends CanvasWatchFaceService.

Once you have your class, you're going to need to create an inner class, WatchFaceEngine in the source files of this article, that extends Engine. This is the watch face engine that handles system events, such as the screen turning off or going into ambient mode.

When your stub code for WatchFaceEngine is in, go back to the outer class and override the onCreateEngine method to return your new inner class. This will associate your watch face service with the code that will drive the display.

Once you have the bare bones service put together, you can move on to the general housekeeping tasks of updating your AndroidManifest files so that your service will be discoverable by Android Wear. Keep in mind that your current code won't do anything yet. We will come back to this class and flesh out the engine after doing some project housekeeping.

3. Updating the AndroidManifest Files

Open the AndroidManifest.xml file in the wear module. Near the top you should already see a line that says:

Below that line, we need to add in the two required permissions for a watch face. These requirement are:

Once your permissions are set, you will need to add a node for your service in the application node with permission to BIND_WALLPAPER, a few sets of meta-data containing reference images of your watch face for the selection screen (in this example we're just using the launcher icon), and an intent-filter to let the system know that your service is meant for displaying a watch face.

Once your wear manifest is complete, you will need to open the AndroidManifest.xml file in the mobile module and add in the two permissions we used in the wear module for PROVIDE_BACKGROUND and WAKE_LOCK, because Android Wear requires that both the wear and mobile modules request the same permissions for the wear APK to be installed on a user's watch. Once both manifest files are filled in, you can return to CustomWatchFaceService.java to start implementing the engine.

4. Start Your Engine

The Engine object associated with your service is what drives your watch face. It handles timers, displaying your user interface, moving in and out of ambient mode, and getting information about the physical watch display. In short, this is where the magic happens.

Step 1: Defining Necessary Values and Variables

The first thing you're going to want to do is implement a set of member variables in your engine to keep track of device states, timer intervals, and attributes for your display.

As you can see, we define the TypeFace that we will use for our digital watch text as well as the watch face background color and text color. The Time object is used for, you guessed it, keeping track of the current device time. mUpdateRateMs is used to control a timer that we will need to implement to update our watch face every second (hence the 1000 milliseconds value for mUpdateRateMs), because the standard WatchFaceService only keeps track of time in one minute increments. mXOffset and mYOffset are defined once the engine knows the physical shape of the watch so that our watch face can be drawn without being too close to the top or left of the screen, or being cut off by a rounded corner. The three boolean values are used to keep track of different device and application states.

The next object you will need to define is a broadcast receiver that handles the situation where a user may be traveling and change time zones. This receiver simply clears out the saved time zone and resets the display time.

After your receiver is defined, the final object you will need to create at the top of your engine is a Handler to takes care of updating your watch face every second. This is necessary because of the limitations of WatchFaceService discussed above. If your own watch face only needs to be updated every minute, then you can safely ignore this section.

The implementation of the Handler is pretty straightforward. It first checks the message ID. If matches MSG_UPDATE_TIME_ID, it continues to invalidate the current view for redrawing. After the view has been invalidated, the Handler checks to see if the screen is visible and not in ambient mode. If it is visible, it sends a repeat request a second later. The reason we're only repeating the action in the Handler when the watch face is visible and not in ambient mode is that it can be a little battery intensive to keep updating every second. If the user isn't looking at the screen, we simply fall back on the WatchFaceService implementation that updates every minute.

Step 2: Initializing the Engine

Now that your variables and objects are declared, it's time to start initializing the watch face. Engine has an onCreate method that should be used for creating objects and other tasks that can take a significant amount of time and battery. You will also want to set a few flags for the WatchFaceStyle here to control how the system interacts with the user when your watch face is active.

For the sample app, you'll use setWatchFaceStyle to set the background of your notification cards to briefly show if the card type is set as interruptive. You'll also set the peek mode so that notification cards only take up as much room as necessary.

Finally, you'll want to tell the system to not show the default time since you will be displaying it yourself. While these are only a few of the options available, you can find even more information in the official documentation for the WatchFaceStyle.Builder object.

After your WatchFaceStyle has been set, you can initialize mDisplayTime as a new Time object.

initBackground and initDisplayText allocate the two Paint objects that you defined at the top of the engine. The background and text then have their color set and the text has its typeface and font size set, while also turning on anti-aliasing.

Step 3: Handling Device State

Next, you need to implement various methods from the Engine class that are triggered by changes to the device state. We'll start by going over the onVisibilityChanged method, which is called when the user hides or shows the watch face.

When this method is called, it checks to see whether the watch face is visible or not. If the watch face is visible, it looks to see if the BroadcastReceiver that you defined at the top of the Engine is registered. If it isn't, the method creates an IntentFilter for the ACTION_TIMEZONE_CHANGED action and registers the BroadcastReceiver to listen for it.

If the watch face is not visible, this method will check to see if the BroadcastReceiver can be unregistered. Once the BroadcastReceiver has been handled, updateTimer is called to trigger invalidating the watch face and redraw the watch face. updateTimer stops any Handler actions that are pending and checks to see if another should be sent.

Step 4: Cooperating With the Wearable Hardware

When your service is associated with Android Wear, onApplyWindowInsets is called. This is used to determine if the device your watch face is running on is rounded or squared. This lets you change your watch face to match up with the hardware.

When this method is called in the sample application, this method simply checks the device shape and changes the x offset used for drawing the watch face to make sure your watch face is visible on the device.

The next method that you will need to override is onPropertiesChanged. This method is called when the hardware properties for the Wear device are determined, for example, if the device supports burn-in protection or low bit ambient mode.

In this method, you check if those attributes apply to the device running your watch face and save them in a member variable defined at the top of your Engine.

Step 5: Conserving Battery in Ambient and Muted Modes

After you handle the initial device states, you will want to implement onAmbientModeChanged and onInterruptionFilterChanged. As the name implies, onAmbientModeChanged is called when the device moves in or out of ambient mode.

If the device is in ambient mode, you will want to change the color of your watch face to be black and white to be mindful of the user's battery. When the device is returning from ambient mode, you can reset your watch face's colors. You will also want to be mindful of anti-aliasing for devices that request low bit ambient support. After all of the flag variables are set, you can cause the watch face to invalidate and redraw, and then check if the one second timer should start.


onInterruptionFilterChanged is called when the user manually changes the interruption settings on their wearable. When this happens, you will need to check if the device is muted and then alter the user interface accordingly. In this situation, you will change the transparency of your watch face, set your Handler to only update every minute if the device is muted, and then redraw your watch face.

When your device is in ambient mode, the Handler timer will be disabled. Your watch face can still update with the current time every minute through using the built-in onTimeTick method to invalidate the Canvas.

Step 6: Drawing the Watch Face

Once all of your contingencies are covered, it's time to finally draw out your watch face. CanvasWatchFaceService uses a standard Canvas object, so you will need to add onDraw to your Engine and manually draw out your watch face.

In this tutorial we're simply going to draw a text representation of the time, though you could change your onDraw to easily support an analog watch face. In this method, you will want to verify that you are displaying the correct time by updating your Time object and then you can start applying your watch face.

drawBackground applies a solid color to the background of the Wear device.

drawTimeText, however, creates the time text that will be displayed with the help of a couple helper methods and then applies it to the canvas at the x and y offset points that you defined in onApplyWindowInsets.

Conclusion

Once you've implemented the methods for drawing your watch face, you should be all set with the basic knowledge needed to go out and make your own watch faces. The nice thing about Android Wear watch faces is that this is just scratching the surface of what's possible.

You can add companion configuration activities on the watch or on the phone, replace the Canvas based watch face with an OpenGL implementation, or derive your own class from WatchFaceService to meet your needs.

Add to it that you can access other APIs or information from the user's phone and the possibilities seem endless. Get creative with your watch faces and enjoy.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.