Unlimited Plugins, WordPress themes, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Android SDK
Code

在安卓上創建虛擬鍵盤

Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Chinese (Traditional) (中文(繁體)) translation by Fuhuan (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

大多數安卓設備是沒有物理鍵盤的,又不是十年前的半智能機,略略略。 用戶多靠虛擬或軟鍵盤來輸入文字信息。  如果你很喜歡玩機,知道如何構建自定義的虛擬鍵盤的話,會有一大群人膜拜你的水平。

使用Android SDK,你可以快速創建一個虛擬鍵盤,其代碼行數很少,因爲SDK可以處理許多低級任務,例如識別鍵盤觸摸,繪制鍵盤以及建立鍵盤和鍵盤之間的連接輸入字段。

在本教程中,你將學習如何編寫可用作Android設備默認鍵盤的全功能虛擬鍵盤。

1.首提條件

你將需要安裝Eclipse ADT Bundle。 你可以從Android Developer網站下載。

2.創建一個新項目

啓動Eclipse並創建一個新的Android APP。 調用這個應用程序,SimpleKeyboard。 再來一個獨特的命名。 將所需的最低SDK版本設置爲Android 2.2,並將目標SDK版本設置爲Android 4.4。

因爲此應用程序將沒有運行,因此取消選擇“下一部”並單擊“ 完成”。

3.編輯清單

Android操作系統將軟鍵盤視爲輸入法編輯器(IME)。 IME 在AndroidManifest.xml中聲明爲Service,它使用BIND_INPUT_METHOD權限並響應動作android.view.InputMethod。

將以下行代碼添加到清單的應用程序標記中:

4.創建method.xml

清單文件中的服務標簽包含一個引用名爲method.xml的XML文件的元數據標簽。 如果沒有此文件,Android 系統將無法將我們的服務識別爲有效的IME服務。  該文件包含有關輸入法及其子類型的詳細信息。 對于我們的鍵盤,我們爲en_US語言環境定義了一個子類型。 如果res / xml不存在,則創建目錄res / xml,並將文件method.xml添加到它。 該文件的內容應該是:

5.編輯strings.xml

該應用使用的字符串在res / values / strings.xml文件中定義。  我們將需要三個字符串:

  • 應用程序的名稱
  • IME的標簽
  • IME子類型的標簽

更新你的strings.xml,使其具有以下內容:

6.選擇鍵盤布局

我們的鍵盤布局只包含一個KeyboardView。 該layout_alignParentBottom屬性設置爲真,這樣鍵盤會出現在屏幕的底部。

創建一個名爲res / layout / keyboard.xml的文件,並將其內容替換爲以下內容:

該keyPreviewLayout是每當按下鍵盤上的鍵時暫時彈出顯示的一種布局。 它包含一個單獨的TextView。 創建一個名爲res / layout / preview.xml的文件並添加以下內容:

6.定義鍵盤按鍵

鍵盤按鍵及其位置的詳細信息在XML文件中指定。  每個鍵都有以下屬性:

  • keyLabel:該屬性包含鍵上顯示的文本。
  • keyLabel:該屬性包含鍵上顯示的文本。

例如,以限定用于字母的關鍵甲,所述代碼屬性的值應爲97和keyLabel屬性應設置爲甲。

如果多個代碼與一個密鑰相關聯,那麽該密鑰所代表的字符將取決于密鑰所接收的數量。 例如,如果一個鍵具有代碼63,33,和58:

  • 在關鍵字上點擊一下就會輸出63?
  • 快速連續兩次敲擊就會輸出33!
  • 快速連續三次敲擊就會輸出58!

一個密鑰也可以有一些可選的屬性:

  • keyEdgeFlags:該屬性可以將值左側或右側。  該屬性通常被添加到行的最左邊和最右邊的鍵上。
  • keyWidth:這個屬性定義了一個鍵的寬度。 通常將其定義爲百分比值。
  • isRepeatable:如果此屬性設置爲true,長按該鍵將多次重複該鍵的操作 。對于刪除鍵和空格鍵通常設置爲true。

鍵盤的鍵被分組爲行。 最好將一行上的按鍵數量限制爲最多十個,每個按鍵的寬度等于鍵盤的10%。 本教程中鍵的高度設置爲60dp。 該值可以調整,但不推薦使用小于48dp的值。   我們的鍵盤將有五行鍵。

我們現在可以繼續設計鍵盤。 創建一個名爲res / xml / qwerty.xml的新文件,並將其內容替換爲以下內容:

你可能已經注意到某些鍵對于codes屬性具有負值。 負值等于Keyboard類中的預定義常量。 例如,值-5等于Keyboard.KEYCODE_DELETE的值。

7.創建一個服務類

創建一個新的Java類並將其稱爲SimpleIME.java。 該類應該擴展InputMethodService類並實現OnKeyboardActionListener接口。 該OnKeyboardActionListener接口包含在軟鍵盤的按鍵敲擊或按下時調用的方法。

該SimpleIME類應該有三個變量:

  • 一個KeyboardView引用布局中定義的視圖
  • 一個分配給KeyboardView的鍵盤實例
  • 一個布爾值告訴我們是否啓用了大寫字母鎖定

在聲明這些變量並添加OnKeyboardActionListener接口的方法之後,SimpleIME類應如下所示:

當鍵盤被創建時,onCreateInputView方法被調用。 所有成員變量服務都可以在這裏初始化。 更新onCreateInputView方法的實現,如下所示:

接下來,我們創建一個按下按鍵時播放聲音的方法。 我們使用AudioManager類播放聲音。 Android SDK包含一些按鍵的默認聲音效果,以及playClick方法中使用的聲音效果。

Android SDK包含一些按鍵的默認聲音效果,以及playClick方法中使用的聲音效果。

該getCurrentInputConnection方法用于獲取到另一個應用程序的輸入字段中的連接。  一旦我們有了連接,我們可以使用以下方法:

  • commitText將一個或多個字符添加到輸入字段
  • deleteSurroundingText刪除輸入字段的一個或多個字符
  • sendKeyEvent將事件(如KEYCODE_ENTER)發送到外部應用程序

只要用戶按下軟鍵盤上的某個鍵,就會使用該鍵的unicode值作爲其參數之一調用onKey方法。   根據此值,鍵盤執行以下操作之一:

  • 如果代碼爲KEYCODE_DELETE,則使用deleteSurroundingText方法刪除光標左側的一個字符。
  • 如果代碼是KEYCODE_DONE,則觸發KEYCODE_ENTER鍵事件。
  • 如果代碼是KEYCODE_SHIFT,則caps變量的值將更改,並且使用setShifted方法更新鍵盤的移位狀態。  當狀態改變時鍵盤需要重新繪制,以便更新鍵的標簽。 該invalidateAllKeys方法用于重繪所有密鑰。
  • 對于所有其他代碼,代碼僅轉換爲字符並發送到輸入字段。 如果代碼表示字母表中的字母,並且caps變量設置爲true,則該字符將轉換爲大寫字母。

更新onKey方法,使其看起來像這樣:

8.測試鍵盤

軟鍵盤現在已准備好進行測試。  編譯並在Android設備上運行它。 此應用沒有“ 正在運行”,這意味著它不會顯示在啓動器中。 要使用它,應首先在設備的設置中激活它。

激活簡單IME後,打開任何允許輸入文本的應用程序(例如,任何消息應用程序),然後單擊其中一個輸入字段。  你應該在通知區域看到一個鍵盤圖標。 根據你的設備,你可以單擊該圖標或向下拖動通知欄,然後選擇簡單輸入法作爲輸入法。   你現在應該可以使用新鍵盤輸入。

結論

在本教程中,你學習了如何從頭開始創建自定義鍵盤應用程序。 要改變鍵盤的外觀和感覺,你只需在res / layout / keyboard.xml和res / layout / preview.xml文件中添加額外的樣式。 要更改密鑰的位置,請更新res / xml / qwerty.xml文件。 要向鍵盤添加更多功能,請參閱開發者文檔。


Envato qr branded
关注我们的公众号
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Android SDK
Code

Create a Custom Keyboard on Android

Difficulty:BeginnerLength:MediumLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Most Android devices don't have a physical keyboard. Instead, they rely on a virtual or soft keyboard to accept user input. If you're into Android personalization, knowing how to build a custom, soft keyboard can take your hobby to a whole new level.

Using the Android SDK, you can quickly create a soft keyboard with surprisingly few lines of code, because the SDK takes care of a lot of the low level tasks, such as recognizing key touches, drawing the keyboard, and establishing connections between the keyboard and input fields.

In this tutorial, you will learn how to create a fully functional soft keyboard that can serve as your Android device's default keyboard.

Premium Option

If you're in a hurry, check out Android Keyboard Themes, a ready-to-use solution from Envato Market. 

The app gives you the flexibility to choose one of the 22 built-in keyboard themes or create your own custom theme.

Android Keyboard Themes
Android Keyboard Themes

Or you could hire a freelancer on Envato Studio. Just browse through our Mobile & Apps section and you're sure to find an expert who can help you.

Mobile and app developers on Envato Studio
Mobile & app developers on Envato Studio

If you prefer to build your own, read on to find out how.

1. Prerequisites

You will need the Eclipse ADT Bundle installed. You can download it from the Android Developer website.

2. Create a New Project

Fire up Eclipse and create a new Android application. Call this application, SimpleKeyboard. Make sure you choose a unique package name. Set the minimum required SDK to Android 2.2 and set the target SDK to Android 4.4.

This app will have no activities so deselect Create Activity and click Finish.

3. Edit the Manifest

A soft keyboard is considered as an Input Method Editor (IME) by the Android operating system. An IME is declared as a Service in AndroidManifest.xml that uses the BIND_INPUT_METHOD permission, and responds to the action android.view.InputMethod.

Add the following lines to the application tag of the manifest:

4. Create method.xml

The service tag in the manifest file containes a meta-data tag that references an XML file named method.xml. Without this file, the Android operating system won't recognize our Service as a valid IME service. The file contains details about the input method and its subtypes. For our keyboard, we define a single subtype for the en_US locale. Create the directory res/xml if it doesn't exist, and add the file method.xml to it. The contents of the file should be:

5. Edit strings.xml

The strings that this app uses are defined in the res/values/strings.xml file. We're going to need three strings:

  • the name of the app
  • the label of the IME
  • the label of the IME's subtype

Update your strings.xml so that it has the following contents:

6. Define the Keyboard Layout

The layout of our keyboard contains only a KeyboardView. The layout_alignParentBottom attribute is set to true so that keyboard appears at the bottom of the screen.

Create a file named res/layout/keyboard.xml and replace its contents with the following:

The keyPreviewLayout is the layout of the short-lived pop-up that shows up whenever a key on the keyboard is pressed. It contains a single TextView. Create a file named res/layout/preview.xml and add the following to it:

6. Define the Keyboard Keys

The details of the keyboard keys and their positions are specified in an XML file. Every key has the following attributes:

  • keyLabel: This attribute contains the text that is displayed on the key.
  • codes: This attribute contains the unicode values of the characters that the key represents.

For example, to define a key for the letter A, the codes attribute should have the value 97 and the keyLabel attribute should be set to A.

If more than one code is associated with a key, then the character that the key represents will depend on the number of taps the key receives. For example, if a key has the codes 63, 33, and 58:

  • a single tap on the key results in the character ?
  • two taps in quick succession results in the character !
  • three taps in quick succession results in the character :

A key can also have a few optional attributes:

  • keyEdgeFlags: This attribute can take the value left or right. This attribute is usually added to the leftmost and rightmost keys of a row.
  • keyWidth: This attribute defines the width of a key. It's usually defined as a percentage value.
  • isRepeatable: If this attribute is set to true, long-pressing the key will repeat the action of the key multiple times. It is usually set to true for the delete and spacebar keys.

The keys of a keyboard are grouped as rows. It's good practice to limit the number of keys on a row to a maximum of ten, with each key having a width equal to 10% of the keyboard. The height of the keys is set to 60dp in this tutorial. This value can be adjusted, but values less than 48dp are not recommended. Our keyboard will have five rows of keys.

We can now go ahead and design the keyboard. Create a new file named res/xml/qwerty.xml and replace its contents with the following:

You may have noticed that some keys have negative values for the codes attribute. Negative values are equal to predefined constants in the Keyboard class. For example, the value -5 is equal to the value of Keyboard.KEYCODE_DELETE.

7. Create a Service Class

Create a new Java class and call it SimpleIME.java. The class should extend InputMethodService class and implement the OnKeyboardActionListener interface. The OnKeyboardActionListener interface contains the methods that are called when keys of the soft keyboard are tapped or pressed.

The SimpleIME class should have three member variables:

  • KeyboardView referencing the view defined in the layout
  • Keyboard instance that is assigned to the KeyboardView
  • boolean telling us if the caps lock is enabled

After declaring these variables and adding the methods of the OnKeyboardActionListener interface, the SimpleIME class should look like this:

When the keyboard is created, the onCreateInputView method is called. All the member variables of the Service can be initialized here. Update the implementation of the onCreateInputView method as shown below:

Next, we create a method that plays a sound when a key is pressed. We use the AudioManager class to play the sounds. The Android SDK includes a few default sound effects for key presses and those are used in the playClick method.

Finally, update the onKey method so that our keyboard app can communicate with input fields (usually EditText views) of other applications.

The getCurrentInputConnection method is used to get a connection to the input field of another application. Once we have the connection, we can use the following methods:

  • commitText to add one or more characters to the input field
  • deleteSurroundingText to delete one or more characters of the input field
  • sendKeyEvent to send events, like KEYCODE_ENTER, to the external application

Whenever a user presses a key on the soft keyboard, the onKey method is called with the unicode value of the key as one of its parameters. Based on this value, the keyboard  performs one of the following actions:

  • If the code is KEYCODE_DELETE, one character to the left of the cursor is deleted using the deleteSurroundingText method.
  • If the code is KEYCODE_DONE, a KEYCODE_ENTER key event is fired.
  • If the code is KEYCODE_SHIFT, the value of the caps variable is changed and the shift state of the keyboard is updated using the setShifted method. The keyboard needs to be redrawn when the state changes so that the labels of the keys are updated. The invalidateAllKeys method is used to redraw all keys.
  • For all other codes, the code is simply converted into a character and sent to the input field. If the code represents a letter of the alphabet and the caps variable is set to true, then the character is converted to uppercase.

Update the onKey method so that it looks like this:

8. Testing the Keyboard

The soft keyboard is now ready to be tested. Compile and run it on an Android device. This app doesn't have an Activity, which means that it won't show up in the launcher. To use it, it should first be activated in the device's Settings.

After activating Simple IME, open any app that allows text input (for example, any messaging app) and click on one of its input fields. You should see a keyboard icon appear in the notifications area. Depending on your device, you can either click on that icon or drag the notification bar down and select Simple IME as the input method. You should now be able to type using your new keyboard.

Conclusion

In this tutorial, you have learned how to create a custom keyboard app from scratch. To change the look and feel of your keyboard, all you have to do is add extra styling to the res/layout/keyboard.xml and res/layout/preview.xml files. To change the positions of the keys, update the res/xml/qwerty.xml file. To add more features to your keyboard, refer to the developer documentation.


Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.