Unlimited Plugins, WordPress themes, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Python
Code

Сжатие и Разархивирование Файлов c Помощью Python

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:ShortLanguages:

Russian (Pусский) translation by Andrey Rybin (you can also view the original English article)

Если вы пользовались компьютером хоть немного, то возможно вам встречались файлы с расширением .zip. Это специальные файлы в которые могут содержать в сжатом состоянии большое количество других файлов, директорий и поддиректорий. Это делает их очень удобными для передачи данных через интернет. А знаете ли вы, что вы можете использовать Python для сжатия и распаковки архивов?

В этом уроке вы научитесь как использовать библиотеку zipfile, чтобы извлекать или упаковывать один или сразу несколько файлов в архив.

Сжатие Одиночных Файлов

Это очень просто, и потребует написать совсем немного кода. Начинаем с того, что импортируем модуль zipfile и затем инициируем объект ZipFile с возможностью записи, указав это с помощью второго параметра 'w'. Первый параметр, это путь к файлу. Вот код, который нам нужен:

Пожалуйста, обратите внимание, что я буду указывать путь во всех фрагментах кода в формате для Windows; если вы работаете на Linux или Mac, вам нужно будет внести соответствующие изменения.

Вы можете указать различные методы сжатия, что бы заархивировать файл. В Python версии 3.3 были добавлены новые методы BZIP2 и LZMA, а также некоторые другие инструменты, которые не поддерживают эти два метода сжатия. По этой причине безопасно использовать метод DEFLATED. Но вам все же стоит попробовать эти методы, что бы увидеть разницу в размерах сжатого файла.

Сжатие Нескольких Файлов

Это будет чуть сложнее, так как вы должны выполнить итерационный процесс для всех файлов. Код показанный ниже должен заархивировать все файлы в директории с расширением pdf.

На этот раз нам необходимо импортировать модуль os и использовать метод walk(), чтобы пробежаться про всем файлам и поддиректориям в нашей основной директории. Я архивирую только файлы с расширением pdf. Вы так же можете создавать различные архивные файлы для разных форматов файлов используя оператор if.

Если вы не хотите, сохранить структуру каталога, вы можете положить все файлы вместе, используя следующую строку:

Метод write() допускает три параметра. Первый параметр - это имя нашего файла, который мы хотим сжать. Второй параметр не обязательный, он позволяет вам указать другое имя для файла архива. Если ничего не указано, будет использоваться имя архивируемого файла.

Извлечение Всех Файлов

Вы можете использовать метод extractall() для извлечения всех файлов и папок из zip-файла в текущую рабочую директорию. Вы можете также указать имя папки в extractall() для извлечения всех файлов и директорий в заданный каталог. Если директория, которую вы указали не существует, метод сам создаст новую. Вот код, который вы можете использовать для извлечения файлов:

Если вы хотите распаковать несколько файлов, вам необходимо подставить имена этих файлов в виде списка.

Извлечение Единичных Файлов

Это подобно извлечению нескольких файлов. Одно отличие состоит в том, что на этот раз, вам необходимо сначала подставить имя файла и затем, путь для извлечения. Кроме того необходимо использовать метод extract() вместо extractall(). Вот фрагмент кода для извлечения отдельных файлов.

Чтение Архивов

Рассмотрим сценарий, где вам нужно узнать содержит ли zip-архив конкретный файл. До этого момента, вы могли это сделать только распаковав весь архив. Аналогичным образом, может потребоваться извлечь только те файлы, которые больше, определенного размера. Модуль Zipfile  позволяет нам узнать содержимое архива без его распаковки.

Применение метода namelist()  к объекту ZipFile вернет список всех элементов архива по имени. Чтобы получить информацию о конкретном файле в архиве, можно использовать для ZipFile метод getinfo(). Это даст вам доступ к информации об этом файле, такой как, размер сжатого и несжатого файла или информацию о времени его последнего изменения. Мы вернемся к этому позже.

Вызов метода getinfo() для каждого файла может быть утомительным процессом, когда этих файлов много. В этом случае можно использовать метод infolist() для возврата списка всех элементов, содержащихся в объекте ZipInf. Порядок этих объектов в списке такой же, как и в zip-файлах.

Вы можете также непосредственно прочитать содержимое определенного файла из архива, с помощью метода read(file), где file — имя файла, который вы хотите прочесть. Для этого, архив должен быть открыт в режиме чтения или в режиме добавления.

Чтобы получить размер конкретного сжатого файла из архива, нужно использовать атрибут compress_size. Аналогично чтобы узнать, несжатый размер, можно использовать атрибут file_size.

Следующий код использует свойства и методы, которые мы только что обсудили, чтобы извлечь только те файлы, размер которых менее 1 МБ.

Чтобы узнать время и дату последнего изменения определенного файла из архива, можно использовать атрибут date_time. Это возвращает кортеж из шести величин. Этими величинами будут год, месяц, день месяца, часы, минуты и секунды, в установленном порядке. Год будет всегда больше или равен 1980 года и часы, минуты и секунды от нуля.

Информация об оригинальном размере файла и размере сжатого файла может помочь вам увидеть, принесло ли архивирование пользу. Я думаю, это может быть так же использовано и в других случаях.

Заключительные мысли

Как видно из этого урока, использование модуля zipfile, позволяет вам гибко использовать сжатие файлов. Вы можете архивировать файлы в директории в различные архивы в зависимости от их типа, имени и размера. Вы так же можете решать оставлять вам структуру директории или нет. Аналогично при извлечении файлов, вы можете извлекать их куда вам нужно, на основе собственных критериев, таких как размер, и т.д.

Если честно, мне было очень интересно архивировать и извлекать файлы пока я писал свой код. Я надеюсь урок был вам полезен, и если у вас остались какие-то вопросы, пишите их пожалуйста в комментариях.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Python
Code

Compressing and Extracting Files in Python

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:ShortLanguages:

If you have been using computers for some time, you have probably come across files with the .zip extension. They are special files that can hold the compressed content of many other files, folders, and subfolders. This makes them pretty useful for transferring files over the internet. Did you know that you can use Python to compress or extract files?

This tutorial will teach you how to use the zipfile module in Python, to extract or compress individual or multiple files at once.

Compressing Individual Files

This one is easy and requires very little code. We begin by importing the zipfile module and then open the ZipFile object in write mode by specifying the second parameter as 'w'. The first parameter is the path to the file itself. Here is the code that you need:

Please note that I will specify the path in all the code snippets in a Windows style format; you will need to make appropriate changes if you are on Linux or Mac.

You can specify different compression methods to compress files. The newer methods BZIP2 and LZMA were added in Python version 3.3, and there are some other tools as well which don't support these two compression methods. For this reason, it is safe to just use the DEFLATED method. You should still try out these methods to see the difference in the size of the compressed file.

Compressing Multiple Files

This is slightly complex as you need to iterate over all files. The code below should compress all files with the extension pdf in a given folder:

This time, we have imported the os module and used its walk() method to go over all files and subfolders inside our original folder. I am only compressing the pdf files in the directory. You can also create different archived files for each format using if statements.

If you don't want to preserve the directory structure, you can put all the files together by using the following line:

The write() method accepts three parameters. The first parameter is the name of our file that we want to compress. The second parameter is optional and allows you to specify a different file name for the compressed file. If nothing is specified, the original name is used.

Extracting All Files

You can use the extractall() method to extract all the files and folders from a zip file into the current working directory. You can also pass a folder name to extractall() to extract all files and folders in a specific directory. If the folder that you passed does not exist, this method will create one for you. Here is the code that you can use to extract files:

If you want to extract multiple files, you will have to supply the name of files that you want to extract as a list.

Extracting Individual Files

This is similar to extracting multiple files. One difference is that this time you need to supply the filename first and the path to extract them to later. Also, you need to use the extract() method instead of extractall(). Here is a basic code snippet to extract individual files.

Reading Zip Files

Consider a scenario where you need to see if a zip archive contains a specific file. Up to this point, your only option to do so is by extracting all the files in the archive. Similarly, you may need to extract only those files which are larger than a specific size. The zipfile module allows us to inquire about the contents of an archive without ever extracting it.

Using the namelist() method of the ZipFile object will return a list of all members of an archive by name. To get information on a specific file in the archive, you can use the getinfo() method of the ZipFile object. This will give you access to information specific to that file, like the compressed and uncompressed size of the file or its last modification time. We will come back to that later.

Calling the getinfo() method one by one on all files can be a tiresome process when there are a lot of files that need to be processed. In this case, you can use the infolist() method to return a list containing a ZipInfo object for every single member in the archive. The order of these objects in the list is same as that of actual zipfiles. 

You can also directly read the contents of a specific file from the archive using the read(file) method, where file is the name of the file that you intend to read. To do this, the archive must be opened in read or append mode.

To get the compressed size of an individual file from the archive, you can use the compress_size attribute. Similarly, to know the uncompressed size, you can use the file_size attribute.

The following code uses the properties and methods we just discussed to extract only those files that have a size below 1MB.

To know the time and date when a specific file from the archive was last modified, you can use the date_time attribute. This will return a tuple of six values. The values will be the year, month, day of the month, hours, minutes, and seconds, in that specific order. The year will always be greater than or equal to 1980, and hours, minutes, and seconds are zero-based. 

This information about the original file size and compressed file size can help you decide whether it is worth compressing a file. I am sure it can be used in some other situations as well.

Final Thoughts

As evident from this tutorial, using the zipfile module to compress files gives you a lot of flexibility. You can compress different files in a directory to different archives based on their type, name, or size. You also get to decide whether you want to preserve the directory structure or not. Similarly, while extracting the files, you can extract them to the location you want, based on your own criteria like size, etc.

To be honest, it was also pretty exciting for me to compress and extract files by writing my own code. I hope you enjoyed the tutorial, and if you have any questions, please let me know in the comments.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.