Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Material Design

Добавляем цвета в приложения для Android с Palette

by
Read Time:5 minsLanguages:

Russian (Pусский) translation by Anna k.Ivanova (you can also view the original English article)

Одной из определяющих особенностей дизайна material является использование цвета для выделения и подчеркивания контента на экране. Используя класс Palette, разработчики могут извлекать яркие цвета из растрового изображения для использования в своих приложениях для настройки элементов пользовательского интерфейса.

В этой статье вы узнаете, как создать объект Palette из растрового изображения. Внутри каждого Palette содержится набор объектов Swatch, которые позволят вам работать с определенными цветовыми профилями и списком видимых цветов изображения.

Example of the Palette colors generated from a base imageExample of the Palette colors generated from a base imageExample of the Palette colors generated from a base image

1. Создание Palette

Чтобы начать работу, вам нужно будет импортировать библиотеку поддержки палитры в ваш проект, включив следующую строку в узел зависимостей файла build.gradle вашего проекта. Поскольку это библиотека поддержки v7, классы, связанные с Palette, доступны обратно в Android API 7.

После запуска gradle sync в вашем проекте вы можете создать Palette из растрового изображения. Это можно сделать с помощью Palette.Builder либо синхронно, вызвав метод generate() без каких-либо параметров, либо асинхронно, вызвав функцию generate(Palette.PaletteAsyncListener listener). Поскольку для создания Palette может потребоваться время, рекомендуется, чтобы синхронный метод вызывался только из фонового потока. В дополнение к двум методам генерации, класс Palette.Builder имеет несколько других полезных методов, которые имеют свои собственные издержки:

  • maximumColorCount (int numOfSwatches) позволяет вам изменить количество объектов Swatch, которые должны быть сгенерированы из растрового изображения. По умолчанию для построителя 16. Чем больше объектов Swatch вы создадите, тем больше времени потребуется для создания Palette.
  • resizeBitmapSize (int maxDimension) изменяет размер растрового изображения так, что его наибольшая размерность будет только такой, как переданное значение этого метода. Чем больше ваше растровое изображение, тем больше времени потребуется для создания Palette. Аналогично, меньшие растровые изображения будут обрабатываться быстрее, но вы потеряете точность цвета.

В следующем фрагменте кода показано, как создать растровое изображение из локального ресурса и асинхронно создать объект Palette.

Когда у вас есть Palette, вы можете начать работу с связанными объектами Swatch.

2. Swatch

Объекты Swatch представляют цвета, созданные из палитры изображения. Каждый Swatch содержит:

  • значение RGB (красный, зеленый, синий) и HSL (оттенок, насыщенность, свечение) для цвета.
  • значение популяции, отражающее количество пикселей, представленных Swatch.
  • значение цвета, которое можно использовать для текста заголовка при отображении на основном цвете Swatch.
  • значение цвета, которое может использоваться для тела текста при отображении на основном цвете Swatch.

Профили Swatch

Каждая Palette имеет набор из шести предопределенных цветовых профилей:

  • vibrant
  • light vibrant
  • dark vibrant
  • muted
  • light muted
  • dark muted

Хотя каждый из них может быть полезен в зависимости от дизайна вашего приложения, наиболее часто используются яркие и темные цвета. Следует отметить, что любой из этих профилей может быть null, поэтому вы должны соответствующим образом обрабатывать эту ситуацию. В примере проекта в методе onGenerated(Palette palette) из асинхронного Palette.Builder вы можете увидеть, как извлечь каждый профиль Swatch.

setViewSwatch(TextView view, Palette.Swatch swatch) - это метод, который принимает Swatch и TextView, и устанавливает цвета фона TextView и текста из значений в Swatch. Вы заметите, что мы сначала проверяем, является ли Swatch равным null, и если это так, мы просто скрываем представление.

Example of profile Swatch colorsExample of profile Swatch colorsExample of profile Swatch colors

Дополнительные Swatch

В дополнение к объектам Swatch стандартного профиля каждая Paletter содержит список общих объектов Swatch, сгенерированных из растрового изображения. Они могут быть извлечены из Palette в виде list с помощью метода getSwatches().

В примере проекта этот List извлекается и помещается в ArrayAdapter<Palette.Swatch>, который затем отображает основной цвет и цвета текста Swatch, а также количество пикселей, представленных в растровом изображении этим Swatch. Следует обратить внимание на то, что список будет не в определенном порядке. В примере проекта я отсортировал элементы по их популяции.

В этом фрагменте кода mAdapter является адаптером объектов Swatch:

Example of generated Swatches from a bitmapExample of generated Swatches from a bitmapExample of generated Swatches from a bitmap

Заключение

В этой статье вы узнали о библиотеке поддержки Palette и о том, как извлекать образцы цвета из растрового изображения. Это позволит вам настраивать элементы пользовательского интерфейса, такие как фон и текст, чтобы они дополняли изображения в вашем приложении. В сочетании с классами Color и ColorUtil (доступными в библиотеке поддержки v4) у вас есть еще больше возможностей для раскраски вашего приложения.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

1. Code
  2. Material Design

Coloring Android Apps with Palette


One of the defining features of material design is the use of color to compliment and emphasize content on the screen. Using the Palette class, developers can extract prominent colors from a bitmap for use in their apps to customize user interface elements.

In this article, you will learn how to create a Palette object from a bitmap. Contained within each Palette is a set of Swatch objects that will allow you to work with specific color profiles and a list of visible colors from the image.

Example of the Palette colors generated from a base image

1. Creating a Palette

To get started, you will need to import the palette support library into your project by including the following line in the dependencies node of your project's build.gradle file. Since this is a v7 support library, the Palette related classes are available back to Android API 7.

After running a gradle sync on your project, you are able to generate a Palette from a bitmap. This can be done using the Palette.Builder either synchronously by calling the generate() method without any parameters, or asynchronously by calling generate(Palette.PaletteAsyncListener listener). Because it can take time to create the Palette, it is recommended that the synchronous method only be called from a background thread. In addition to the two generate methods, the Palette.Builder class has a couple of other useful methods that come with their own trade-offs:

  • maximumColorCount(int numOfSwatches) allows you to change how many Swatch objects should be generated from the bitmap. The default for the builder is 16. The more Swatch objects you generate, the longer it will take to generate the Palette.
  • resizeBitmapSize(int maxDimension) resizes the bitmap so that its largest dimension will only be as large as the passed value of this method. The larger your bitmap, the longer it will take to generate a Palette. Likewise, smaller bitmaps will process faster, but you will lose out on color precision.

The following code snippet shows how to create a bitmap from a local resource and asynchronously create a Palette object.

Once you have a Palette, you can begin working with the associated Swatch objects.

2. Swatches

Swatch objects represent colors generated from an image's palette. Each Swatch contains:

  • an RGB (Red, Green, Blue) and HSL (Hue, Saturation, Lightness) value for a color.
  • a population value reflecting the number of pixels represented by the Swatch.
  • a color value that can be used for title text when displayed on the Swatch's primary color.
  • a color value that can be used for a body of text when displayed on the Swatch's primary color.

Swatch Profiles

Each Palette has a set of six predefined color profiles:

  • vibrant
  • light vibrant
  • dark vibrant
  • muted
  • light muted
  • dark muted

While each of these can be useful depending on your app design, vibrant and dark vibrant are the most commonly used. One thing to note is that any of these profiles may be null, so you should handle this situation accordingly. In the sample project, in the onGenerated(Palette palette) method from the asynchronous Palette.Builder, you can see how to extract each profile Swatch.

setViewSwatch(TextView view, Palette.Swatch swatch) is a method that accepts a Swatch and TextView, and sets the TextView background and text colors from values in the Swatch. You'll notice that we first check to see if the Swatch is null and, if it is, we simply hide the view.

Example of profile Swatch colors

Additional Swatches

In addition to the standard profile Swatch objects, each Palette contains a list of general Swatch objects generated from the bitmap. These can be retrieved from the Palette as a List by using the getSwatches() method.

In the sample project, this List is retrieved and placed into an ArrayAdapter<Palette.Swatch> that then displays the Swatch primary color and body text color, as well as the number of pixels represented in the bitmap by this Swatch. One thing to pay attention to is that the list is not in any particular order. In the sample project, I have sorted the items by their population value.

In this code snippet, mAdapter is the adapter of Swatch objects with the following methods:

Example of generated Swatches from a bitmap


In this article, you have learned about the Palette support library and how to extract swatches of color from a bitmap. This will allow you to customize your user interface elements, such as backgrounds and text, so that they compliment images within your app. When coupled with the Color and ColorUtil classes (available in the v4 support library), you have even more options available for the colorization of your app.

Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.