Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Yii

Aufbau Ihres Startups mit PHP: Planen eines Meetings

by
Read Time:20 minsLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Building Your Startup With PHP.
Building Your Startup With PHP: User Settings, Profile Images and Contact Details
Building Your Startup With PHP: Scheduling Availability and Choices

German (Deutsch) translation by Federicco Ancie (you can also view the original English article)

Final product imageFinal product imageFinal product image
What You'll Be Creating

Dieses Tutorial ist Teil der Reihe Building Your Startup With PHP auf Tuts+. In dieser Serie führe ich Sie durch den Start eines Startups vom Konzept zur Realität anhand meiner Meeting Planner-App als Beispiel aus dem wirklichen Leben. Bei jedem Schritt auf dem Weg veröffentlichen wir den Meeting Planner-Code als Open Source-Beispiele, aus denen Sie lernen können. Wir werden uns auch mit geschäftlichen Problemen im Zusammenhang mit Startups befassen, sobald diese auftreten.

Der gesamte Code für Meeting Planner ist im Yii2 Framework für PHP geschrieben. Wenn Sie mehr über Yii2 erfahren möchten, lesen Sie unsere parallele Serie Programming With Yii2 bei Tuts+. Vielleicht möchten Sie auch auf meiner Knowledge Base-Website nach Yii2-Fragen suchen, The Yii2 Developer Exchange.

In den letzten sechs Tutorials haben wir die Grundlagen für die Anwendungsunterstützung auf verschiedene Weise gelegt: Benutzer, Orte, Kontakte, Einstellungen und Lokalisierung. Ich wette, Sie werden genauso begeistert sein wie ich, dass wir endlich bereit sind, den Zeitplan für eine Besprechungsfunktion zu erstellen. Vielen Dank für Ihre Geduld, da ich die Infrastruktur für die unterhaltsamen, integralen Bestandteile dieser Anwendung aufgebaut habe.

Das Codierungs-Tutorial zur Unterstützung der Zeitplan-Meeting-Funktionalität erstreckt sich jedoch über mindestens vier Episoden. Diese beiden nächsten Episoden konzentrieren sich hauptsächlich darauf, Unterstützung für die grundlegende Benutzererfahrung aufzubauen, den Teilnehmer, den Ort sowie Datum und Uhrzeit für eine Besprechung auszuwählen und diese in der Datenbank zu speichern. Danach kümmern wir uns um die Zustellung der Besprechungsanfrage per E-Mail. Wir werden später in der Serie zurückkehren, um die Benutzeroberfläche zu optimieren und zu verbessern, da dies für den Erfolg dieses Produkts von entscheidender Bedeutung ist. Die Hauptaufgabe für dieses spätere Update besteht darin, Seitenaktualisierungen im Besprechungsplanungsprozess zu vermeiden.

Das Erstellen der Funktionen für dieses Tutorial erforderte eine Menge Code - einige davon wurden automatisch von Yii's Gii generiert und viele von Hand. Aufgrund der Komplexität der Bereitstellung der ersten Teile dieser Funktion habe ich mich auf eine recht rudimentäre Benutzeroberfläche konzentriert, die ich iterativ polieren werde.

Das Erstellen dieser Funktion berührt so viele Aspekte der Programmierung im Yii2-Framework: Active Record-Migrationen, Beziehungen und Validierungen, Gii-Codegenerierung, Bootstrap, Erweiterungen und Widgets der Yii2-JQuery-Benutzeroberfläche, AJAX, Rendern von Teilansichten, DRY-Codierungspraktiken usw. Es war schwierig auszuwählen, was hier behandelt werden sollte. Sie werden viele Änderungen am Repository gegenüber früheren Tutorial-Episoden bemerken.

Wenn Sie Fragen oder Kommentare haben, posten Sie diese bitte unten. Ich nehme an den Diskussionen teil.

Die Meetings-Seite

Bootstrap-Registerkarten

Eines der ersten Dinge, die ich tun muss, ist, verschiedene Registerkarten für zukünftige, vergangene und abgesagte Meetings zu erstellen.

The Meetings Page with Tabs for Upcoming Past and CanceledThe Meetings Page with Tabs for Upcoming Past and CanceledThe Meetings Page with Tabs for Upcoming Past and Canceled

Die Implementierung ist nur ein weiteres Beispiel dafür, wie großartig Bootstrap ist und wie solide die Yii2-Integration mit Bootstrap 3.x ist. Bootstrap verfügt über vorgefertigte Registerkarten.

In MeetingController laden wir Abfragen für jeden Besprechungstyp vor und rendern die Indexansicht:

Anschließend implementieren wir in der Indexansicht unseren Bootstrap-Code mit Registerkarten:

Wenn wir uns näher mit dieser Serie befassen, werde ich eine Menge Platzhalter für die Arbeit übrig lassen. Eines dieser Dinge ist die Implementierung dieser Registerkarten über AJAX, damit wir nicht drei Abfragen im Voraus laden.

Ticketverfolgung

Ich werde auch damit beginnen, Tickets in der Issue-Tracking-Anwendung Lighthouse für meine zukünftige Arbeit zu erstellen, um die Nachverfolgung zu vereinfachen. Ich werde in einem zukünftigen Tutorial über Lighthouse sprechen.

Lighthouse Issue Tracker AJAXify Meeting Page TabsLighthouse Issue Tracker AJAXify Meeting Page TabsLighthouse Issue Tracker AJAXify Meeting Page Tabs

Was steckt hinter der Planung eines Meetings?

Die einfache Aufgabe, einen Rahmen für die Planung eines Meetings zu erstellen, erwies sich unter der Haube als recht komplex und detailliert. Ich werde dies schrittweise polieren, während wir uns durch die Serie bewegen.

Mein erstes Ziel war es, nur das grundlegende Framework zu erstellen, damit ich die Funktionen der Besprechungsplanung testen kann.

Besprechungen bestehen aus einer Handvoll ActiveRecord-Datenmodellen, z. Teilnehmer, MeetingTime, MeetingPlace, MeetingNote usw. Anfangs wollte ich nur die Yii-Codegenerierung verwenden, um CRUD für jedes dieser Modelle zu erstellen und es dann in eine einzelne Planungsseite zu integrieren.

Die Idee ist, MVC zu verwenden, um all diese Aktionen zu erstellen und dabei so weit wie möglich an der DRY-Methodik festzuhalten. Anfänglich wird die Benutzeroberfläche Seitenaktualisierungen durchführen, aber später werden wir zurückkommen und alle diese Modelle über AJAX mit demselben MVC-Code integrieren.

Das Formular zum Erstellen eines Meetings

Bei vielen Modellen habe ich zunächst den in früheren Tutorials beschriebenen Prozess zur Verwendung von Yii-Codegenerator Gii zum Erstellen von CRUD durchlaufen. Dann habe ich sie nach Bedarf angepasst. Im Moment bleibe ich bei einem sehr einfachen Formular zum Erstellen eines Meetings - es enthält noch nicht einmal die E-Mail-Adresse des Teilnehmers. Auf diese Weise kann ich schnell einen grundlegenden Besprechungsdatensatz erstellen und an der Planungsseite arbeiten.

The Create a Meeting FormThe Create a Meeting FormThe Create a Meeting Form

Sobald das Formular gesendet wurde, können Sie die Besprechungsseite anzeigen. Natürlich werde ich dieses Formular und den ersten Prozess rechtzeitig ändern.

Die Besprechungsseite

Erinnern Sie sich an mein Modell für das erste Tutorial in dieser Reihe:

The Original Meeting Planner Mockup for Scheduling a MeetingThe Original Meeting Planner Mockup for Scheduling a MeetingThe Original Meeting Planner Mockup for Scheduling a Meeting

Hier ist eine frühe Darstellung der Form, in der ich arbeite:

The Current Form of Meeting Planners Schedule a Meeting FeatureThe Current Form of Meeting Planners Schedule a Meeting FeatureThe Current Form of Meeting Planners Schedule a Meeting Feature

Es gibt eine Menge Infrastruktur, Code (sowohl automatisch generiert als auch manuell generiert) und Widgets von Drittanbietern, die dafür verantwortlich sind. Ich werde dich Stück für Stück durch das Buch führen.

Bootstrap-Panels und -Tabellen

Obwohl dies wahrscheinlich nicht das endgültige Design ist, habe ich mich für die Verwendung von Bootstrap-Bedienfeldern entschieden, um die Seite zwischen Eigenschaften, Orten, Datums- und Uhrzeitangaben sowie Notizen zu organisieren. Die Seite selbst wird durch die Aktion View des Besprechungscontrollers gerendert und ruft für jedes dieser Elemente Teilansichten zu den jeweiligen Modellen auf.

Ich musste es nicht so erstellen, aber ich wollte absichtlich das gesamte integrierte MVC-Framework von Yii nutzen und die Dinge so weit wie möglich integrieren. Ich hatte die Hoffnung, dass es in Zukunft einfacher sein wird, die gesamte Seite zu AJAXifizieren, Seitenaktualisierungen zu reduzieren und die Einfachheit und Wartbarkeit des Quellcodes zu erhöhen.

So funktioniert die Aktion View Meeting-Controller. Es lädt ActiveDataProviders für jedes der Modelle und rendert dann die Besprechungsansichtsdatei:

Teilansichten

Durch die Verwendung aller Ansichten in jedem der zugeordneten Modelle ist es ziemlich einfach, die gesamte Zeitplanseite mit MVC-Teilansichten anzuzeigen. In der Besprechungsansicht werden alle _panel-Ansichten für die anderen Modelle gerendert. Hier können Sie die Dokumentation zur Rendermethode von Yii2 einsehen.

Fehlende Modelle

Beim Erstellen dieser Funktionalität wurde mir klar, dass ich einige notwendige Modelle vernachlässigt hatte: MeetingPlaceChoice und MeetingTimeChoice. Diese sind erforderlich, um die Verfügbarkeit des Veranstalters und der Teilnehmer für bestimmte MeetingPlaces und MeetingTimes zu speichern.

Hier ist die Migration für MeetingPlaceChoice:

Hier ist die Migration für MeetingTimeChoice:

Mit den ActiveRecord-Migrationen von Yii können Sie Ihr Datenbankschema im Verlauf Ihres Produkts auf einfache Weise programmgesteuert erweitern.

Diese Modelle bestimmen den Status der Switch-Widgets (die die Verfügbarkeit der Benutzer widerspiegeln), die Sie oben in den Zeilen für jeden Ort und jede Uhrzeit sehen. Im folgenden Tutorial werde ich Ihnen zeigen, wie wir diese Widgets initialisieren und AJAX in Yii verwenden, um ihren Status ohne Seitenaktualisierung zu aktualisieren.

Planen von Warnungen

Die PrepareView ermittelt den Status der Besprechung und warnt den Benutzer bei Bedarf, dass die Einladung nicht gesendet wurde:

Yii verfügt über eine integrierte Unterstützung für die Anzeige von Bootstrap-Warnungen, die als Flashes bezeichnet werden:

Meeting Planner setFlash Bootstrap alertsMeeting Planner setFlash Bootstrap alertsMeeting Planner setFlash Bootstrap alerts

Befehlsschaltflächen

Hier ist der Code für einen Beispielcontainer für Besprechungsansichten mit den oben gezeigten Befehlsschaltflächen:

Jede Schaltfläche wird mit den HTML-Hilfs- und Bootstrap-Schaltflächenstilen von Yii erstellt:

Für die Schaltflächen zum Abbrechen und Bearbeiten von Eigenschaften habe ich Glyphicons verwendet. Glyphicons sind wunderschön und frei in Bootstrap enthalten und in Yii2 integriert.

Was machen diese Befehle?

Sobald der Benutzer einen Teilnehmer und mindestens einen Ort sowie Datum und Uhrzeit hinzugefügt hat, kann er die Einladung senden. Diese Funktion sendet dem Benutzer eine Besprechungseinladung per E-Mail, die ich in Kürze in einem Tutorial beschreiben werde.

Über die Schaltfläche Finalisieren kann der Organisator (oder Teilnehmer) den Status des Meetings von "Planung" auf "Bevorstehend" ändern. Die Idee ist, dass nach Auswahl eines Ortes und einer Uhrzeit das Meeting "abgeschlossen" werden kann. Zuvor hat der Teilnehmer die Möglichkeit, optional andere Orte und Datumsangaben vorzuschlagen, und der Veranstalter (oder beide) hat die Möglichkeit, den endgültigen Ort und die Datums- und Uhrzeitangabe auszuwählen.

Mit der Schaltfläche Abbrechen wird die Besprechung abgebrochen und auf die Registerkarte Abgebrochen auf der Seite Besprechungen verschoben.

Teilnehmer

Als nächstes fügt der Benutzer Personen hinzu.

Meeting Planner Participant PanelMeeting Planner Participant PanelMeeting Planner Participant Panel

Hinweis: In meinem Produkt mit minimaler Lebensfähigkeit ist nur ein Teilnehmer zulässig, wir können jedoch später weitere hinzufügen.

Wenn Sie sich an die Freundes-Tabelle erinnern, die wir in einem früheren Lernprogramm erstellt haben, können Benutzer eine neue E-Mail-Adresse eingeben oder ihre Eingabe beschleunigen, indem die automatische Vervollständigung aus ihren vorhandenen Freunden und früheren Besprechungen geladen wird.

Meeting Planner invite a participant with autocompleteMeeting Planner invite a participant with autocompleteMeeting Planner invite a participant with autocomplete

In Zukunft werden wir hier mehr Optionen für die Benutzeroberfläche haben - einschließlich häufiger Teilnehmer.

Oben auf dem Teilnehmer-Controller laden wir die Freunde in ein Array, das vom JQuery-Widget für die automatische Vervollständigung verwendet wird. Die Unterstützung ist wiederum in Yii2 integriert:

Hier ist die _form.php in \frontend\views\participant:

Ich habe die Entwurfsentscheidung getroffen, alle Teilnehmer in der Benutzertabelle zu speichern. Ich kann das bereuen - noch nicht sicher. Dies vereinfacht jedoch den Prozess, die es den Nutzern ermöglicht, die Site schnell zu nutzen, erheblich und vereinfacht das gesamte Datenmodell.

Wenn ein Benutzer jemanden einlädt, der dem System unbekannt ist (eine neue E-Mail-Adresse), registrieren wir ihn passiv in der Benutzertabelle.

Wir erstellen einen Benutzernamen basierend auf ihrer E-Mail-Adresse. Ich benutze Yiis Schneckengenerator in seinem Inflector-Helfer. Wir erstellen vorerst ein zufälliges Passwort mit dem Sicherheitshelfer von Yii. Wenn ich Vanilla PHP verwenden würde, müsste ich wahrscheinlich andere Funktionen für diese Funktionen integrieren. Stattdessen ist es direkt eingebaut.

Fahren wir mit dem Hinzufügen von Orten fort.

Setzt

Die Verwendung der MVC von Yii für jeden Controller und jedes Modell bietet große Vorteile, anstatt all diese Funktionen in den Meeting-Controller zu codieren. Dies macht das Verstehen und Verwalten des Codes viel einfacher und übersichtlicher.

Ich bemerkte jedoch schnell, dass ich die Standard-Breadcrumbs anpassen musste, um auf die aktuelle Besprechungsseite und nicht auf den Index oder die Ansicht für ein bestimmtes Modell zurückzugreifen.

Add a Meeting Place BreadcrumbsAdd a Meeting Place BreadcrumbsAdd a Meeting Place Breadcrumbs

Wir verwenden das MeetingPlace-Modell, um Besprechungen Orte hinzuzufügen. In \frontend\views\meet-place\create.php musste ich einfach die Links im breadcrumbs-Bereich anpassen:

Unterstützung für das direkte Hinzufügen von Google Places hinzufügen

Add a Meeting Place from Your Places or via Google Places AutocompleteAdd a Meeting Place from Your Places or via Google Places AutocompleteAdd a Meeting Place from Your Places or via Google Places Autocomplete

Ich wollte nicht nur das Formular zur Ortserstellung anpassen, damit der Benutzer zuvor verwendete Orte hinzufügen kann, sondern auch, um neue Google Places im laufenden Betrieb hinzuzufügen.

Grundsätzlich musste ich die Unterstützung, die wir im Google Places-Tutorial hier in der MeetingPlace-Erstellung erstellt haben, replizieren:

Ich musste auch die ausgefeilte Validierungsunterstützung von Yii2 stärker nutzen. Im folgenden MeetingPlace-Modell verwenden wir die eindeutige Validierung von Yii2, um einen Fehler zu melden, wenn jemand versucht, einen bereits vorgeschlagenen Ort für ein Meeting zu finden:

Ich habe außerdem eine benutzerdefinierte Fehlerbedingung in der MeetingPlaceController-Erstellungsaktion hinzugefügt, wenn ein Nutzer Orte aus seiner Liste sowie Google Place auswählt - obwohl dies möglicherweise eine optionale Funktion ist, die beibehalten werden soll (haben Sie eine Meinung? Beitrag in den Kommentaren unten):

Ich habe die addErrors-Methode von Yii2 verwendet.

Ich habe auch einen Fehler aus Episode drei behoben, bei dem mehrere Kartenfelder erstellt wurden, wenn jemand die Google Place-Auswahl änderte. Die Überprüfung der Anzahl der in der article-Auswahl vorhandenen Kinder hat Folgendes behoben:

In Zukunft wird dieses Erstellungsformular eine Reihe wichtiger Funktionen enthalten:

  • Ermöglichen Sie Benutzern, ihre aktuelle Geolokalisierung hinzuzufügen.
  • Schlagen Sie vom Benutzer vorgeschlagene häufige Orte vor.
  • Bieten Sie schnellen Zugriff auf die Lieblingsorte des Benutzers.
  • Schlagen Sie Orte in der Nähe (in gleichem Abstand) des Benutzers und der Teilnehmer vor.
  • Schlagen Sie gesponserte Plätze von bezahlten Werbetreibenden vor.
  • Ermöglichen, dass Orte und Datums- und Uhrzeitangaben vom Veranstalter entfernt werden - möglicherweise unter der Bedingung, dass sie von den Teilnehmern nicht gesehen oder beantwortet wurden.

Es kann auch nützlich sein, Benutzern das Notieren bestimmter Orte und Datumszeiten zu ermöglichen. Zum Beispiel könnte ich bezeichnen, dass "dieser Ort am Donnerstagmorgen gut für mich funktioniert, aber nicht am Freitagnachmittag" oder "wenn Sie diesmal wählen, können wir es im Caffe Vita auf dem Capitol Hill tun". Wenn Sie eine Meinung zu dieser Funktion haben (was die Komplexität erhöhen würde), geben Sie unten einen Kommentar ab.

Anzeigen der Panels

Für jedes Modell verwenden wir eine ähnliche Hierarchie von Ansichten und Yii2-Komponenten. Der Meeting Controller rendert die Ansicht für _panel.php in \frontend\views\meeting-place:

Der Umriss der Bootstrap-kompatiblen Tabelle befindet sich in _panel.php. Anschließend verwenden wir das Widget Yii2 Listview, um jede Datenzeile in Tabellenform anzuzeigen. Der itemView-Teil befindet sich in _list.php.

Beachten Sie, dass wir eine benutzerdefinierte Variable namens placeCount über viewParams übergeben. Dies ist praktisch zum Konfigurieren der Schaltflächen in der Tabelle.

Hier ist die Ansicht _list.php, die ich im nächsten Tutorial ausführlicher behandeln werde, einschließlich der Widgets für die Schaltereingabe und der AJAX-Implementierung.

Daten & Zeiten

Um Daten und Zeiten hinzuzufügen, integrieren wir die Bootstrap JQuery Date Time-Auswahl über die Erweiterung 2Amigos Yii2 Date Time

MeetingPlanner Suggest a Meeting TimeMeetingPlanner Suggest a Meeting TimeMeetingPlanner Suggest a Meeting Time

Es gibt einige Verbesserungen, die ich in Zukunft an diesem Widget vornehmen möchte. Ich möchte es beim Laden automatisch öffnen, für das es derzeit keine Einstellung zu geben scheint.

Auch hier verwenden wir den eindeutigen Validator, um sicherzustellen, dass das bestimmte Datum und die Uhrzeit noch nicht zum Meeting hinzugefügt wurden:

Auf der Seite "Besprechungsansicht" wird das Bedienfeld "Daten und Zeiten" ähnlich wie "Orte" erstellt:

Hier ist die Ansicht _list.php:

Anmerkungen

Mithilfe von Besprechungsnotizen können Benutzer nach Belieben kommunizieren und Orte und Datums- und Uhrzeitangaben auswählen, ohne sich gegenseitig separat per E-Mail benachrichtigen zu müssen.

Add a Meeting NoteAdd a Meeting NoteAdd a Meeting Note

So sehen Notizen auf der Besprechungsseite aus:

Meeting View Page with Meeting NoteMeeting View Page with Meeting NoteMeeting View Page with Meeting Note

Die Implementierung von Notizen ist nahezu identisch mit der obigen Implementierung von Orten und Datumsangaben. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in den Dateien MeetingNote-Controller und \frontend\views\meeting-note-Ansicht.

Was kommt als nächstes?

Ich hoffe, Sie haben mit diesem Tutorial etwas Neues gelernt. Achten Sie auf kommende Tutorials in meiner Reihe Erstellen Sie Ihr Startup mit PHP - es stehen viele unterhaltsame Funktionen an.

Im nächsten Tutorial werde ich mich eingehend mit der Implementierung der Optionen für Ort und Datum und Uhrzeit mit AJAX befassen. Danach beginnen wir mit dem Erstellen von E-Mail-Nachrichten, um die Nachrichteneinladungen zuzustellen, die Antworten der Teilnehmer auf der Zeitplanseite zu sammeln und Besprechungen für die reale Welt abzuschließen.

Bitte zögern Sie nicht, Ihre Fragen und Kommentare unten hinzuzufügen; Ich nehme in der Regel an den Diskussionen teil. Sie können mich auch auf Twitter @reifman erreichen oder mir direkt eine E-Mail senden.

ähnliche Links

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

1. Code
  2. Yii

Building Your Startup With PHP: Scheduling a Meeting

This post is part of a series called Building Your Startup With PHP.
Building Your Startup With PHP: User Settings, Profile Images and Contact Details
Building Your Startup With PHP: Scheduling Availability and Choices
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

This tutorial is part of the Building Your Startup With PHP series on Tuts+. In this series, I'm guiding you through launching a startup from concept to reality using my Meeting Planner app as a real life example. Every step along the way, we'll release the Meeting Planner code as open source examples you can learn from. We'll also address startup-related business issues as they arise.

All of the code for Meeting Planner is written in the Yii2 Framework for PHP. If you'd like to learn more about Yii2, check out our parallel series Programming With Yii2 at Tuts+. You may also want to check out my knowledge base site for Yii2 questions, The Yii2 Developer Exchange.

In the last six tutorials, we've laid the groundwork of application support in a variety of ways: users, places, contacts, settings, and localization. I bet you'll be as excited as I am that we're finally ready to begin building the schedule a meeting functionality. Thank you for your patience as I've built up the infrastructure for the fun, integral parts of this application.

However, the coding tutorial for supporting the schedule meeting functionality will stretch over at least four episodes. These next two episodes will focus mostly on building support for the basic user experience, choosing the participant, place and date and time for a meeting, and storing this in the database. After that, we'll cover delivering the meeting request via email. We'll return later in the series to optimize and polish the user interface, because it's critical to the success of this product; the main task for this later update will be to eliminate page refreshes in the meeting scheduling process.

Building the functionality for this tutorial required a ton of code—some auto-generated by Yii's Gii, and a lot by hand. Because of the complexity of delivering the initial parts of this feature, I focused on a fairly rudimentary user interface which I'll polish iteratively.

Building this feature touches so many aspects of programming in the Yii2 Framework: Active Record migrations, relations and validations, Gii code generation, Bootstrap, Yii2 JQuery UI extensions and widgets, AJAX, rendering partial views, DRY coding practices, etc. It was difficult to pick and choose what to cover here. You'll notice lots of changes to the repository from earlier tutorial episodes.

If you have questions or comments, please post them below. I do participate in the discussions.

The Meetings Page

Bootstrap Tabs

One of the first things I need to do is build different tabs for Meetings future, past and canceled.

The Meetings Page with Tabs for Upcoming Past and Canceled

Implementing this is just another example of how great Bootstrap is and how solid the Yii2 integration is with Bootstrap 3.x. Bootstrap has pre-built tabs.

In MeetingController, we pre-load queries for each of the types of meetings and render the index view:

Then, in the index view, we implement our bootstrap code with tab panes:

As we get deeper into this series, I'm going to leave a lot of placeholders of work to do. One of those things is to implement these tab panes via AJAX so we're not loading three queries up front.

Ticket Tracking

I'm also going to start creating tickets in issue tracking application Lighthouse for my future work to make it more easily trackable. I'll talk about Lighthouse in a future tutorial.

Lighthouse Issue Tracker AJAXify Meeting Page Tabs

What's Behind Scheduling a Meeting?

The simple task of creating a framework for scheduling a meeting turned out to be quite complex and detailed underneath the hood. I'm going to polish this in stages as we move through the series.

My first goal was to just build the basic framework so I could begin testing the features of meeting scheduling.

Meetings are comprised of a handful of ActiveRecord data models, e.g. Participant, MeetingTime, MeetingPlace, MeetingNote, etc. Initially, I just wanted to use Yii code generation to build out CRUD for each of these models and then integrate it into a single scheduling page.

The idea is to use MVC to build all of these actions, sticking to DRY methodology as much as possible. Initially, the interface will work through page refreshes, but later we'll come back and integrate all of these models via AJAX using the same MVC code.

The Create a Meeting Form

For many of the models, I began by going through the process outlined in earlier tutorials of using Yii's code generator, Gii, to build CRUD. Then I customized them as needed. For now, I'm sticking with a very basic create a meeting form—it doesn't even include the participant's email address yet. This allows me to quickly create a basic meeting record and work on the scheduling page.

The Create a Meeting Form

Once the form is submitted, you can view the Meeting page. Obviously, I will modify this form and the initial process in time.

The Meeting Page

Remember my mockup for the first tutorial in this series:

The Original Meeting Planner Mockup for Scheduling a Meeting

Here's an early take at the form I have working:

The Current Form of Meeting Planners Schedule a Meeting Feature

There's a ton of infrastructure, code (both auto-generated, manually generated) and third party widgets involved in making this happen. I'm going to walk you through it piece by piece.

Bootstrap Panels and Tables

While not likely the final design, I chose to use Bootstrap Panels to organize the page between properties, places, dates and times and notes. The page itself is rendered by the Meeting controller's View action and calls to partial views to the particular models for each of these.

I didn't have to build it this way, but I purposefully wanted to make use of all of Yii's built-in MVC framework and integrate things as much as possible. My hope was that in the future it will be easier to AJAXify the entire page, reduce page refreshes and increase source code simplicity and maintainability.

Here's how the Meeting controller View action works. It loads ActiveDataProviders for each of the models, and then renders the Meeting view file:

Partial Views

By using all the views in each of the associated models, it's fairly easy to display the entire schedule page with MVC partial views. The Meeting view renders all the _panel views for the other models. You can review documentation for Yii2's render method here.

Missing Models

In building this functionality, I realized that I'd neglected a couple of necessary models: MeetingPlaceChoice and MeetingTimeChoice. These are required to store the organizer and participant(s) availability for specific MeetingPlaces and MeetingTimes.

Here's the migration for MeetingPlaceChoice:

Here's the migration for MeetingTimeChoice:

Yii's ActiveRecord migrations make it easy to programmatically extend your database schema as your product progresses.

These models determine the state of the switch widgets (reflecting user availability) you see above in the rows for each place and date time. In the following tutorial, I'm going to walk you through how we initialize those widgets and use AJAX in Yii to update their state without a page refresh.

Scheduling Alerts

The PrepareView determines the status of the meeting and if necessary warns the user that the invitation hasn't been sent:

Yii has built-in support for displaying Bootstrap Alerts, called flashes:

Meeting Planner setFlash Bootstrap alerts

Command Buttons

Here's the code for an example Meeting view container with the command buttons shown above:

Each button is created with Yii's HTML helper and Bootstrap button styles:

For the cancel and edit properties buttons, I used Glyphicons. Glyphicons are beautiful and freely included with Bootstrap and integrated with Yii2.

What Do These Commands Do?

Once the user has added a participant and at least one place and date and time, he or she can send the invitation. This functionality will deliver a meeting invitation to the user via email which I'll describe in an upcoming tutorial soon. 

The Finalize button allows the organizer (or participant) to change the state of the meeting from planning to upcoming. The idea is that once a place and date time is chosen, the meeting can be "finalized". Prior to this, the participant will have a chance to optionally suggest other places and date times and the organizer (or both of them) will have the option to choose the final place and date time.

The Cancel button will cancel the meeting and move it to the canceled tab on the Meetings page. 


Next up, the user will add people. 

Meeting Planner Participant Panel

Note: In my minimum viable product, only one participant is allowed but we might add more later.

If you remember the Friends table we created in an earlier tutorial, I'm allowing users to enter a new email address or speed their entry with autocomplete loaded from their existing friends and past meetings. 

Meeting Planner invite a participant with autocomplete

In the future, we'll have more user interface options here—including frequent participants.

At the top of the Participant controller, we load the friends into an array to be used by the JQuery autocomplete widget—support for which is again, built into Yii2:

Here's the _form.php in \frontend\views\participant:

I made the design decision to store all participants in the User table. I may regret this—not sure yet. But it greatly simplifies the process of allowing people to start using the site quickly and simplifying the overall data model.

When a user invites someone unknown to the system (a new email address), we register them passively in the User table.

We create a username based on their email address. I use Yii's slug generator in its Inflector helper. We create a random password for now using Yii's Security helper. If I was using vanilla PHP, I'd likely have to integrate other functions for these capabilities. Instead, it's built right in.

Let's move on to adding places.


There are great advantages to using Yii's MVC for each controller and model rather than coding all of this functionality into the Meeting controller. It makes understanding and managing the code much simpler and more organized.

I noticed quickly, however, that I had to customize the default breadcrumbs to link back to the current meeting page rather than the index or view for a specific model.

Add a Meeting Place Breadcrumbs

We're actually using the MeetingPlace model to add places to meetings. In \frontend\views\meeting-place\create.php, I had to simply customize the links in the breadcrumbs area:

Adding Support for Directly Adding Google Places

Add a Meeting Place from Your Places or via Google Places Autocomplete

Not only did I want to customize the Place creation form for the user to add previously used places but also for them to add new Google Places on the fly.

I basically had to replicate the support we built in the Google Places tutorial here in MeetingPlace creation:

I also needed to make more use of Yii2's sophisticated validation support. In the MeetingPlace model below, we use Yii2's unique validation to report an error if someone tries to an already suggested place to a meeting:

I also added a custom error condition in the MeetingPlaceController create action for if a user chooses places from their list as well as Google Place—although perhaps this would be an optional feature to keep in (have an opinion? post in the comments below):

I used Yii2's addErrors method.  

I also fixed a bug from episode three which was creating multiple map boxes whenever someone would change the Google Place selection. The check for the number of children existing in the article selector fixed this:

In the future, this creation form will include a number of important features:

  • Allow users to add their current geolocation.
  • Suggest frequent places suggested by the user.
  • Provide quick access to the user's favorite places.
  • Suggest places nearby (equidistant) the user and participants.
  • Suggest sponsored places from paid advertisers.
  • Allow places and date times to be removed by the organizer—possibly under the condition that they've not been seen or responded to by the participant(s).

It may also be useful to allow users to make notes on specific places and date times. For example, I might designate that "this place will work well for me on Thursday morning but not Friday afternoon" or "if you choose this time, can we do it at Caffe Vita on Capitol Hill". If you have an opinion on this feature (which would add complexity) please post a comment below.

Displaying the Panels

For each of the models we use a similar hierarchy of views and Yii2 components. The Meeting Controller renders the view for _panel.php in \frontend\views\meeting-place:

The outline of the Bootstrap-compatible table is in _panel.php. Then we use the Yii2 Listview widget to display each row of data in a table form. The itemView partial is in _list.php.

Note that we pass through a custom variable called placeCount via viewParams. This is handy for configuring the buttons in the table.

Here's the _list.php view which I'll cover in much more detail in the next tutorial, including switch input widgets and the AJAX implementation.

Dates & Times

To add Dates and Times, we integrate the Bootstrap JQuery Date Time picker through the 2Amigos Yii2 Date Time extension

MeetingPlanner Suggest a Meeting Time

There are a few enhancements I'd like to make to this widget in the future. I'd like to make it open automatically on load, which it currently doesn't seem to have a setting for.

Again, we use the unique validator to ensure the specific date and time hasn't already been added to the meeting:

On the Meeting view page, the Dates & Times panel is built similarly to Places:

Here's the _list.php view:


Meeting Notes allow users to communicate back and forth as they suggest and select places and date times, without having to actually email each other separately.

Add a Meeting Note

Here's what notes look like on the Meeting page:

Meeting View Page with Meeting Note

The implementation of notes is nearly identical to the above implementation of Places and Date Times. You can review the MeetingNote controller and \frontend\views\meeting-note view files for more information.

What's Next?

I hope you've learned something new with this tutorial. Watch for upcoming tutorials in my Building Your Startup With PHP series—there are lots of fun features coming up.

In the next tutorial, I'll go into depth on implementing the Place and Date Time choices with AJAX. After that, we'll begin building email messages to deliver the message invitations, collect participant responses on the schedule page, and finalize meetings for the real world.

Please feel free to add your questions and comments below; I generally participate in the discussions. You can also reach me on Twitter @reifman or email me directly.

Related Links

Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.