Unlimited Plugins, WordPress themes, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. React
Code

Создаем универсальную дизайн систему с помощью React

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:MediumLanguages:

Russian (Pусский) translation by Oleg Kiselevich (you can also view the original English article)

React сделал очень много для упрощения веб-разработки. Его компонентная архитектура принципиально упрощает задачу разложения и повторного использования кода. Однако, разработчикам не всегда ясно, как использовать одни и те же компоненты в разных проектах. В этой статье я покажу вам несколько способов, как это исправить.

React упростил написание красивого, выразительного кода. Однако без четких шаблонов повторного использования компонентов, код с течением времени начинает разветвляться и становится очень трудно его поддерживать. Я видел проекты, где один и тот же элемент пользовательского интерфейса имел десять различных реализаций! Другой проблемой является то, что, очень часто разработчики связывают пользовательский интерфейс и бизнес-функциональность слишком плотно, что приводит к сложностям в будущем, когда интерфейс меняется.

Сегодня мы увидим, как можно создать совместно используемые компоненты пользовательского интерфейса и как выработать единый язык разработки для вашего приложения.

Приступая к работе

Для начала вам понадобится пустой проект React. Самый быстрый способ его создать - это через команду create-react-app, но потребуется немного постараться, чтобы настроить для этого Sass. Я создал базовое приложение, которое вы можете клонировать из GitHub. Вы также можете найти окончательный проект в репозитории GitHub нашего урока.

Для запуска, выполните команду yarn-install, чтобы установить все зависимости, и затем выполните команду yarn start для запуска приложения.

Все визуальные компоненты будут находиться в папке design_system наряду с соответствующими стилями. Все глобальные стили или переменные будут располагаться в src/styles.

Project folder structure

Определяем основы дизайна

Помните последний раз, когда ваши коллеги дизайнеры смотрели на вас неодобрительным взглядом за то, что вы ошиблись на пол пикселя в расчетах отступа или не смогли отличить два разных оттенка серого цвета? (Оказывается есть разница между #eee и #efefef, как мне сказали, и однажды я может и сам ее замечу.)

Одной из целей создания библиотеки пользовательского интерфейса является улучшение отношений между командами дизайна и разработки. Front-end разработчики уже определенное время сотрудничают с разработчиками API и теперь способны неплохо вырабатывать API соглашения. Но почему-то этот момент ускользает от нас при координации с командой дизайнеров. Если задуматься, то существует только определенное число состояний, в которых может существовать элемент пользовательского интерфейса. Если нам нужно создать компонент заголовка, например, то это будет элемент от h1 до h6, который может быть полужирным, курсивным или подчеркнутым. Это должно быть несложно описать в коде.

Grid разметка

Первое, что нужно сделать, прежде чем приступать к созданию любого дизайн проекта - это определиться со структурой grid сетки. Для многих приложений она носит случайных характер. И это приводит к тому, что нет четкой системы расположения элементов, что вызывает затруднения у разработчиков при определении какую систему использовать. Так что выберите конкретную систему! Мне очень понравилась система grid разметки 4px - 8px, когда я впервые прочитал о ней. То, что я придерживался именно ее, помогло мне упростить решение многих вопросов с оформлением.

Начнем с того, что создадим базовую систему grid разметки в коде. Мы начнем с компонента приложения, который определяет макет.

Далее мы определяем несколько компонентов для стилей и блоков контента.

Наконец мы создаем наши CSS стили в SCSS.

Тут есть много над чем поработать. Начнем с основ. variables.scss - это файл, в котором мы задаем наши глобальные значения, такие как цвет и настройка разметки. Поскольку мы используем сетку 4px-8px, наша базовая величина будет 4px. Родительский компонент - Page, и он контролирует разметку страницы. Затем элемент нижнего уровня - это Box, который определяет, как содержимое отображается на странице. Это просто div, который знает, как отображаться правильно в определенном контексте.

Теперь нам нужен компонент Container, который объединяет несколько divов. Мы выбрали flex-box, отсюда и название компонента Flex.

Определение системы типографии

Система типографии является важнейшим компонентом любого приложения. Обычно мы определяем основные значения через глобальные стили и переопределяем их, когда это необходимо. Это часто приводит к непоследовательности в дизайне. Давайте посмотрим, как можно легко решить эту проблему путем расширения библиотеки дизайна.

Во-первых мы определим некоторые стилевые константы и создадим класс оболочки.

Далее мы определим стили CSS, которые будут использоваться для текстовых элементов.

Это простой компонент Text, определяющий различные UI состояния, в которых может находиться текст. Мы можем в дальнейшем расширять его, дополняя возможности обрабатывать микро взаимодействия, как например отображение подсказок при обрезке текста, или отображение другого элемента в особых случаях, например при выводе электронной почты, времени и т.д.

Молекулы состоят из атомов

Пока мы построили только самые основные элементы, которые могут существовать в веб-приложении, но они не используются сами по себе. Давайте расширим наш пример и создадим простое модальное окно.

Во-первых мы определяем класс компонента для модального окна.

Далее мы можем определить стили CSS для модального окна.

Для непосвященных createPortal очень похож на метод render, за исключением того, что он создает дочерние элементы в ячейке, которая существует за пределами DOM иерархии родительского компонента. Такой функционал был добавлен в React 16.

Использование компонента Modal

Теперь, когда определен компонент, давайте посмотрим, как мы можем использовать его в реальной ситуации.

Мы можем использовать модальное окно везде и поддерживать его состояние в вызывающем объекте. Просто, правда? Но здесь есть ошибка. Не работает кнопка закрытия. Это потому, что мы создали все компоненты в виде закрытой системы. Он просто принимает те параметры, которые ему нужны, и игнорирует все остальное. В данном контексте, компонент текста игнорирует обработчик события onClick. К счастью это легко исправить.

ES6 предоставляет удобный способ для извлечения оставшихся параметров в виде массива. Просто применяем этот способ и передаем параметры компоненту.

Создаем средства поиска доступных компонентов

По мере роста вашей команды становится сложнее сообщать всем о компонентах, которые доступны каждому. Сборники являются отличным средством для того, чтобы любой мог найти ваши компоненты. Давайте создадим базовый компонент сборника.

Чтобы начать, выполните:

Это добавляет конфигурацию, необходимую для сборника. Теперь уже несложно выполнить оставшиеся настройки. Давайте добавим простую запись для представления различных состояний Type.

API очень простой. storiesOf определяет новую запись, обычно это ваш компонент. Затем можно создать новый подраздел с помощью add, для обозначения различных состояний этого компонента.

A simple Type storybook

Конечно это довольно простой пример, но для сборников есть несколько дополнений, которые помогут вам добавить функциональность для вашей документации. А я рассказывал, что они имеют поддержку emoji? 😲�

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. React
Code

Build a Reusable Design System With React

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:MediumLanguages:

React has done a lot to simplify web development. React's component-based architecture makes it easy in principle to decompose and reuse code. However, it's not always clear for developers how to share their components across projects. In this post, I'll show you some ways to fix that.

React has made it easier to write beautiful, expressive code. However, without clear patterns for component reuse, code becomes divergent over time and becomes very difficult to maintain. I've seen codebases where the same UI element had ten different implementations! Another issue is that, more often than not, developers tend to couple the UI and the business functionality too tightly and struggle later when the UI changes.

Today, we'll see how we can create shareable UI components and how to establish a consistent design language across your application.

Getting Started

You need an empty React project to begin. The quickest way to do this is through create-react-app, but it takes some effort to set up Sass with this. I've created a skeleton app, which you can clone from GitHub. You can also find the final project in our tutorial GitHub repo.

To run, do a yarn-install to pull all dependencies in, and then run yarn start to bring up the application. 

All the visual components will reside under the design_system folder along with the corresponding styles. Any global styles or variables will be under src/styles.

Project folder structure

Setting Up the Design Baseline

When was the last time you got a you-are-dead-to-me look from your design peers, for getting the padding wrong by half a pixel, or not being able to differentiate between various shades of grey? (There is a difference between #eee and #efefef, I'm told, and I intend to find it out one of these days.)

One of the aims of building a UI library is to improve the relationship between the design and development team. Front-end developers have been coordinating with API designers for a while now and are good at establishing API contracts. But for some reason, it eludes us while coordinating with the design team. If you think about it, there are only a finite number of states a UI element can exist in. If we're to design a Heading component, for example, it can be anything between h1 and h6 and can be bold, italicised, or underlined. It should be straightforward to codify this.

The Grid System

The first step before embarking on any design project is to understand how the grids are structured. For many apps, it's just random. This leads to a scattered spacing system and makes it very hard for developers to gauge which spacing system to use. So pick a system! I fell in love with the 4px - 8px grid system when I first read about it. Sticking to that has helped simplify a lot of styling issues.

Let's start by setting up a basic grid system in the code. We'll begin with an app component that sets out the layout.

Next, we define a number of styles and wrapper components.

Finally, we'll define our CSS styles in SCSS.

There is a lot to unpack here. Let's start from the bottom. variables.scss is where we define our globals like color and set up the grid. Since we're using the 4px-8px grid, our base will be 4px. The parent component is Page, and this controls the flow of the page. Then the lowest-level element is a Box, which determines how content is rendered in a page. It's just a div that knows how to render itself contextually. 

Now, we need a Container component that glues together multiple divs. We've chosen flex-box, hence the creatively named Flex component. 

Defining a Type System

The type system is a critical component of any application. Usually, we define a base through global styles and override as and when needed. This often leads to inconsistencies in design. Let's see how this can be easily solved by adding to the design library.

First, we'll define some style constants and a wrapper class.

Next, we'll define the CSS styles that will be used for text elements.

This is a simple Text component representing the various UI states text can be in. We can extend this further to handle micro-interactions like rendering tooltips when the text is clipped, or rendering a different nugget for special cases like email, time, etc. 

Atoms Form Molecules

So far, we've built only the most basic elements that can exist in a web application, and they're of no use on their own. Let's expand on this example by building a simple modal window. 

First, we define the component class for the modal window.

Next, we can define the CSS styles for the modal.

For the uninitiated, createPortal is very similar to the render method, except that it renders children into a node that exists outside the DOM hierarchy of the parent component. It was introduced in React 16.

Using the Modal Component

Now that the component is defined, let's see how we can use it in a business context.

We can use the modal anywhere and maintain the state in the caller. Simple, right? But there is a bug here. The close button does not work. That's because we've built all the components as a closed system. It just consumes the props it needs and disregards the rest. In this context, the text component ignores the onClick event handler. Fortunately, this is an easy fix. 

ES6 has a handy way to extract the remaining parameters as an array. Just apply that and spread them over to the component.

Making Components Discoverable

As your team scales, it's hard to get everyone in sync about the components that are available. Storybooks are a great way to make your components discoverable. Let's set up a basic storybook component. 

To get started, run:

This sets up the required configuration for the storybook. From here, it's a cinch to do the rest of the setup. Let's add a simple story to represent different states of Type

The API surface is simple. storiesOf defines a new story, typically your component. You can then create a new chapter with add, to showcase the different states of this component. 

A simple Type storybook

Of course, this is pretty basic, but storybooks have several add-ons that will help you add functionality to your docs. And did I mention that they have emoji support? 😲

Integrating With an Off-the-Shelf Design Library

Designing a design system from scratch is a lot of work and may not make sense for a smaller app. But if your product is rich and you need a lot of flexibility and control over what you're building, setting up your own UI library will help you in the longer run. 

I've yet to see a good UI component library for React. My experience with react-bootstrap and material-ui (the library for React, that is, not the framework itself) wasn't great. Instead of reusing an entire UI library, picking individual components might make sense. For instance, implementing multi-select is a complex UI problem, and there are tons of scenarios to consider. For this case, it might be simpler to use a library like React Select or Select2.

A word of caution, though. Any external dependencies, especially UI plugins, are a risk. They are bound to change their APIs often or, on the other extreme, keep using old, deprecated features of React. This may affect your tech delivery, and any change might be costly. I'd advise using a wrapper over these libraries, so it will be easy to replace the library without touching multiple parts of the app.

Conclusion

In this post, I've shown you some ways to split your app into atomic visual elements, using them like Lego blocks to achieve the desired effect. This facilitates code reuse and maintainability, as well as making it easy to maintain a consistent UI throughout your app.

Do share your thoughts on this article in the comments section!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.