Unlimited Plugins, WordPress themes, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. iOS SDK
Code

الواقع المعزز مع ARKit: النقاط المميزة وكشف المستوى الافقي

by
Difficulty:AdvancedLength:LongLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Maryam Abbas (you can also view the original English article)

حتى الآن، ربما تكون قد استخدمت تطبيقًا واقعيًا معززًا على جهاز iPhone، مع كائنات افتراضية تبدو وكأنها نابضة بالحياة وتمتزج بشكل جيد مع ميزات البيئة. في هذه السلسلة، ستتعرف على كيفية تنفيذ ذلك في تطبيق iOS لديك مع كشف الضوء المحيط وكشف المستوى الأفقي لتحسين تطبيق الواقع المعزز. سيركز هذا البرنامج التعليمي على عرض المستويات الأفقية ونقاط الميزات في ARKit.

في كثير من الأحيان، عند استخدام الواقع المعزز، تحتاج إلى وضع الكائن الافتراضي على سطح مستوٍ مثل الطاولة، أو المكتب، أو حتى الأرض. من أجل القيام بذلك بدقة، من المهم أن تكون قادرًا على اكتشاف هذه الكائنات قبل البدء. بعد اكتشاف المستوى الخاص بك، سيستخدم الكائن سلسلة من النقاط لترسيخ الكائن الظاهري له، وسيبقى الكائن هناك، حتى أثناء تحريك جهازك.

في هذا البرنامج التعليمي، ستحتاج إلى بعض المعرفة الأساسية حول Swift، و Xcode، و ARKit. إذا لم تكن قد استخدمت ARKit في الماضي، فقد تجد أنه من المفيد قراءة برنامجي التعليمي السابق، والذي يهدف بشكل خاص إلى مساعدة المبتدئين في صنع أول تطبيق للواقع المعزز:

لنبدأ

إصدار Xcode

قبل أن نبدأ، تأكد من حصولك على أحدث إصدار من Xcode مثبت على جهاز Mac. هذا مهم جدًا لأن ARKit سيكون متاحًا فقط على Xcode 9 أو الأحدث. يمكنك التحقق من الإصدار الخاص بك عن طريق فتح Xcode والانتقال إلى Xcode> حول Xcode في شريط الأدوات العلوي.

إذا كان إصدار Xcode أقدم من Xcode 9، فيمكنك الانتقال إلى Mac App Store وتحديثه مجانًا. إذا لم يكن لديك بالفعل Xcode، فيمكنك أيضًا تنزيله وتثبيته مجانًا.

مشروع العينة

مشروع جديد

بعد التأكد من أن لديك الإصدار الصحيح من Xcode، ستحتاج إلى إنشاء مشروع Xcode جديد.

امضي قدما وافتح Xcode وانقر على إنشاء مشروع Xcode جديد.

Figure 1 Create an Xcode Project

قد تكون معتادًا على تقديم تطبيق "عرض فردي"، ولكن في هذا البرنامج التعليمي، ستحتاج إلى اختيار تطبيق واقع معزز. ثم انقر فوق التالي.

Figure 2 Select Augmented Reality Template

أطر الألعاب

يمكنك تسمية مشروعك بأي شيء تريده، ولكن سأقوم بتسمية كشف الألغام. ستلاحظ أيضًا وجود خيار في الأسفل حيث يمكنك الاختيار من SceneKit، و SpriteKit، و Metal.

هذه هي جميع أطر ألعاب Apple، ولغرض البرنامج التعليمي، سنستخدم SceneKit لأننا سنستخدم كائنات ثلاثية الأبعاد.

امضي قدما وحدد SceneKit إذا لم تكن محددة بالفعل. يجب أن تبدو شاشتك كالتالي:

Figure 3 Name your Project

التحضير للاختبار

توصيل جهاز iPhone

بما أن مقلد Xcode لايحتوي على كاميرا، فستحتاج إلى توصيل جهاز iPhone الخاص بك. للأسف، إذا لم يكن لديك جهاز iPhone، فستحتاج إلى استعارة واحد حتى تتمكن من المتابعة مع هذا البرنامج التعليمي (وأي تطبيقات أخرى ذات صلة بالكاميرا). إذا كان لديك بالفعل جهاز iPhone متصل بـ Xcode، فيمكنك الانتقال إلى الخطوة التالية.

ميزة جديدة أنيقة في Xcode 9 هي أنه يمكنك تصحيح تطبيقك لاسلكيًا على أحد الأجهزة، لذلك لنأخذ الوقت الكافي لإعداده الآن:

في شريط القائمة العلوي، اختر نافذة> الاجهزة والمقلدات. في النافذة التي تظهر، تأكد من تحديد الأجهزة في الجزء العلوي.

الآن، قم بتوصيل جهازك باستخدام كبل برقي. من المفترض أن يؤدي ذلك إلى ظهور جهازك في الجزء الأيمن من نافذة الأجهزة وأجهزة المقلد. ببساطة انقر فوق جهازك، وتحقق من مربع الاتصال عبر الشبكة.

Figure 4 Devices and Simulators

ستتمكن الآن من التصحيح اللاسلكي على هذا الـ iPhone لجميع التطبيقات المستقبلية.

استكمال الإعداد

الآن اكتمل الإعداد لديك. يجب أن يكون لديك تطبيق ARKit عملي، ويمكنك اختباره على iPhone الذي قمت بتوصيله للتو. في الجزء العلوي الأيسر من Xcode، بجوار أزرار التشغيل والايقاف، حدد جهازك من القائمة المنسدلة. لقد اخترت آيفون Vardhan، ولكن تحتاج إلى تحديد جهاز معين.

الآن انتهيت من إنشاء مشروعك المبدئي، ومن المفترض أن ترى مركبة فضائية افتراضية تظهر في عالمك بمجرد النقر على تشغيل. إليك ما يجب أن يبدو عليه:

Figure 5 Run the Sample App

نظريا

قبل البدء الفعلي في برمجة هذا التطبيق، من المهم فهم كيفية اكتشاف ARKit لهذه المستويات بالفعل. في هذا البرنامج التعليمي، سنستكشف فكرتين رئيسيتين: النقاط المميزة والمستويات الأفقية. باختصار، يعمل الواقع المعزز على iPhone الخاص بك مع عملية تسمى الحصول على بيانات الحرك  البطيئة المرئية (VIO)، والتي تأخذ البيانات من الكاميرات وأجهزة الاستشعار الداخلية للحصول على فهم ثلاثي الأبعاد للمشهد.

النقطة المميزة

إذن، ما هي بالضبط النقطة المميزة؟ كل صورة، بطبيعة الحال، سيكون لها ميزات فريدة خاصة بها. على سبيل المثال، في الزهرة، سيكون هناك أشكال فريدة، أو على سجادة، قد تكون هناك زخارف مميزة.

تمثل هذه النقاط ميزات ملحوظة تم اكتشافها في صورة الكاميرا. يتم تحديد مواقعها في مساحة إحداثيات العالم ثلاثي الأبعاد كجزء من تحليل الصور الذي تقوم به ARKit من أجل تتبع موقع الجهاز، وتوجيهه، وحركته بدقة. وهذه النقاط مجتمعة، ترتبط ارتباطًا وثيقًا بخطوط الأجسام الواقعية من وجهة نظر الكاميرا. __ أبل

كما توضح وثائق Apple، تساعد النقاط المميزة جهازك (و ARKit) على فهم عمق و "واقعية" عالمك، مما يجعل الواقع المعزز أكثر دقة. وتستخدم هذه أيضًا للمساعدة في توفير أشياء افتراضية للكائنات، مما يساعدهم في معرفة مكان البقاء في حالة نقل جهازك.

المستويات الأفقية

على غرار النقاط المميزة، تساعد المستويات الأفقية تطبيقك في التعرف على ما يحيط به. ليس من المستغرب أن تقترن النقاط المميزة والمستويات الأفقية ارتباطًا وثيقًا بعدم إمكانية اكتشاف هذه المستويات بدون نقاط مميزة.

باستخدام أجهزة الاستشعار المدمجة في جهاز iPhone، بما في ذلك الكاميرا (بالطبع) ومزيج من النقاط المميز هذه، يمكن لـ ARKit اكتشاف المستويات المختلفة في المشهد الخاص بك. تتم هذه الحسابات والتقديرات لكل إطار، ويمكن الكشف عن مستويات متعددة في وقت واحد.

عندما تقوم بتشغيل جلسة تعقب عالمي AR، يتم تمكين خيار الكشف عن المسار الخاص بها، تضيف الجلسة تلقائيًا إلى قائمة المرتكزات الخاصة بها كائن ARPlaneAnchor لكل سطح مسطح يكتشفه ARKit بالكاميرا الخلفية. يوفر كل مرتكز مستوي معلومات حول الموضع والشكل المقدر للسطح. _ آبل

في الكود

عظيم!  لقد حصلت الآن على تطبيق ARKit عملي. هدفك من هذا التطبيق هو أن تكون قادرًا على اكتشاف مستوى أفقي وتصوره مع نقاط مميزة (نقاط افتراضية يتم وضعها في المشاهد في ARKit).

كود المبتدئين

لديك الآن فهم قوي لماهية النقاط المميزة والمستويات الأفقية، وأنت الآن جاهز لبدء تشغيلها في أحد التطبيقات. إذا كنت تريد مزيدًا من الخلفية حول النقاط المميزة والمستويات الأفقية، فأوصيك بقراءة وثائق Apple.

اعداد مشروعك

إذا فتحت ملف ViewController.swift ، فسوف تلاحظ أن Apple لديه كود للمبتدئ تم إعداده بالفعل لك (والذي يعرض مركبة فضائية). لن نغطي ما يعنيه كل شيء في هذا البرنامج التعليمي، ولكن إذا كنت ترغب في الحصول على شرح خطي، فلا تتردد في الاطلاع على برنامجي التعليمي الآخر عن ARKit.

ونظرًا لأن الكثير من الشيفرات هي شيفرة معيارية، فسوف نحتفظ بها، ولكن بالنسبة لسفينة الفضاء، دعونا نخرجه عن الطريق عن طريق إزالة الشيفرة التي تتعامل مع موضعها. في ملف ViewController.swift الخاص بك، في طريقة العرض DidLoad ()، قم بإزالة أسطر التعليمات البرمجية التالية:

النقاط المميزة

تمكين خيارات التصحيح

مشروع Xcode جاهز الآن لبدء العمل. خطوتنا الأولى هي إضافة نقاط مميزة مرئية. من المحتمل أنك لن تجعلها مرئية لتطبيقات الإنتاج، ولكنها ميزة رائعة لتصحيح أخطاء تطبيقات الواقع المعزَّز.

هذه الخطوة بسيطة جدًا، ويمكن تنفيذها في سطر واحد. في طريقة عرض DidLoad () الخاصة بك، أضف السطر التالي من التعليمات البرمجية:

يعمل هذا الرمز على تهيئة خيارات التصحيح باستخدام مجموعة من الخيارات. يمكنك تمكين ميزات أخرى عن طريق إضافتها إلى هذا الصفيف، ولكن في الوقت الحالي، نحتاج فقط إلى عرض النقاط المميزة الخاصة بنا. إليك ما يجب أن تبدو عليه عند تشغيل تطبيقك:

Figure 6 Feature Points

كما ترى، تظهر جميع النقاط المميزة المكتشفة. إذا كنت لا تراها، فجرّب تحريك جهاز iPhone، وستظهر لك نقاط صفراء. جزء من سبب عدم ظهورها على الفور هو أن ARKit لا يزال يكتشف المشهد.

التشكيل

الآن، نحن مستعدون لاكتشاف المستوي. إذا ألقيت نظرة على طريقة العرض WillAppear ()، فسترى السطرين التاليين من الشيفرة. دعونا نتوقف لحظة لمعرفة ما الذي تعنيه أنها ستكون ذات صلة بالكشف عن المستوي:

هنا، يتم إنشاء مثيل لفئة تشكيل التعقب العالمي AR. هذه الفئة مسؤولة عن تحديد موقع الجهاز. بعد ذلك، نقوم بتشغيل التشكيل في جلسة عرض المشهد الحالي. إذا كنت مهتمًا بمعرفة المزيد عن هذا الأمر، فيمكنك زيارة وثائق Apple حول هذا الموضوع. في الوقت الحالي، أنت جاهز للاستمرار في الخطوة التالية.

الآن، لنقم بتمكين اكتشاف المستوي في تشكيل التعقب العالمي  AR. أسفل الخط الذي ينشئ التشكيل، ستحتاج إلى إدراج السطر التالي:

ممتاز! الآن، يتم تمكين اكتشاف المستوى الأفقي، لكننا لا نستطيع رؤيته لأنه يحدث تحت الغطاء، وهذا يعني أن جهاز iPhone يعرف مكان المستوي، ولكننا لا نستطيع رؤية ما يفكر فيه.

كشف المستوي

التحقق من المرتكزات

قبل أن نتمكن من البدء في تصور مستوياتنا المكتشفة، سنحتاج إلى معرفة متى وأين يتم اكتشاف المستويات. يمكن القيام بذلك بسهولة باستخدام طريقة المندوب التي يتم توفيرها لنا من قبل Apple.

ابدأ بتعريف طريقة مندوب العرض ARSCN، وكما سترى، فإن فئة المتحكم بالعرض تتوافق بالفعل مع هذا المندوب في شيفرة البدء. قم بلصق طريقة المندوب التالية في فئة المتحكم بالعرض لديك:

وهذا يستدعى عندما يتم إضافة مرتكزات AR جديدة مع عقدة موافقة، والتي، في هذه الحالة، ستكون مستوانا الأفقي.

يخبر المندوب أنه قد تمت إضافة عقدة SceneKit متوافقة مع مرتكز AR جديد إلى المشهد. __Apple

هندسة المستوي

بالنسبة إلى معظم التطبيقات، قد ترغب في أن يتمكن المستخدم من معرفة المكان الذي يعتقد فيه تطبيقك على أنه يشير إلى خطوط أفقية، لذلك سنتعلم كيفية عرض هذه المستويات بالفعل للمستخدم باستخدام العقدة والمرتكز المقدمة في طريقة المندوب التي استدعيناها سابقاً.

سؤالنا الأول هو: هل المرتكز AR حقاً مستوي، أم أنه شيء لا نريده؟ يمكننا التحقق من ذلك باستخدام قالب الكتابة والربط الاختياري. ضع هذا السطر من التعليمة البرمجية في طريقة المندوب الخاص بك:

ربما لاحظت أن معامل الارتكاز يحتوي على النوع مرتكز AR . إذا أردنا معرفة ما إذا كان هذا الارتكاز هو مستوى، فيمكننا محاولة الكتابة عليه كـمرتكز مستوى AR. إذا نجح ذلك، فنحن نعرف أنه تم اكتشاف مستوي.

داخل عبارة الربط الاختياري، دعنا نضيف رمزًا لإنشاء SCNPlane بأبعاد المرتكز التي تلقيناها من طريقة المندوب. اكتب سطرين من الكود التاليين:

يخلق السطر الأول هنا SCNPlane ثنائي الأبعاد يأخذ بارامترين في منشئه: العرض واالارتفاع. سترى أننا نمر على anchor.extent.x و anchor.extent.z، والتي، كما تشير أسماءها، تمثل عرض وطول المستويات المكتشفة. ستلاحظ أننا قمنا بحذف قيمة y للمرتكز، وذلك لأن المستويات التي نكتشفها ثنائية الأبعاد، ومحاور x و z تعمل عبر المستويات التي نحددها.

يطبق سطر التعليمة البرمجية التالي لونًا أحمر نصف شفاف على هذه المستويات المكتشفة، ويمكنك رؤية هذه المستويات نظرًا لأن قيمة ألفا قد تم تعيينها على 0.5. بالطبع، يمكنك استخدام أي ألوان أو مظاهر ترغب فيها، طالما أنك ستتمكن من رؤيتها.

خلق العقدة

لم ننتهي بعد؛ لا نزال بحاجة إلى إنشاء العقدة لإضافتها إلى العرض لدينا. على الرغم من أن مستوانا عبارة عن كائن ثنائي الأبعاد، إلا أننا لا نزال بحاجة إلى تمثيله في التنسيق ثلاثي الأبعاد بإحداثيات x، و y، و z. سوف تكون هذه الإحداثيات نسبة إلى العقدة الأصلية من المرتكز المستوي المكتشفة وليس عرض المشهد. أدخل أسطر الشيفرةالتالية:

نحن بصدد إنشاء SCNNode لأول مرة باستخدام هندسة المستوى التي أنشأناها في الخطوة السابقة. يتم ذلك عن طريق المرور في الهندسة كبارامتر لمُنشئ SCNNode.

بعد ذلك، نضع عقدة المستوي في وسط مرتكز المستوي مباشرةً باستخدام تمثيل SCNVector3 للإحداثيات x، و y، و z في المستوى ثلاثي الأبعاد.

أيضا، في السطر التالي، سترى أن القيمةمن زوايا اويلر الخاصة بنا يتم تعيينها إلى -π/2. تمثل الخاصية زوايا اويلر المستقر، وزاوية الانحراف، وزاوية الدوران لـ SCNNode. ووفقًا لوثائق شركة Apple، تمثل القيمة x المستقر (أو الدوران حول المحور x)، ونريد أن يكون المستوي الخاص بنا أن يكون مسطحاً على مستوى المستوي (لا يلتصق في وضع مستقيم).

وأخيرًا، تتم إضافة العقدة المنشأة حديثًا كعقدة فرعية لعقدة المستوي المكتشفة لجعلها مرئية للمستخدم في نفس الموقع.

استنتاج

عمل عظيم!  يجب أن تكون الآن قادرًا على رؤية المستويات الأفقية (و،بالطبع، النقاط المميزة) عند تشغيل التطبيق على جهاز iPhone الخاص بك. إذا لم تفعل ذلك، فتأكد من تحريك هاتفك ببطء حتى يتمكن من مسح السطح وحاول زيادة قيمة ألفا للون الذي قمنا بتعيينه مسبقًا. إليك ما يبدو عليه مستواي:

Figure 7 Horizontal Planes and Feature Points

أنت الآن تعرف كيفية الكشف عن الأسطح المسطحة مثل الطاولات أو المكاتب وعرضها للمستخدم كطريقة أفقية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، لقد تمكنت من رؤية كيفية رؤية ARKit للعالم من خلال النقاط المميزة . أثناء وجودك هنا، تأكد من إطلاعك على بعض دوراتنا وبرامجنا التعليمية الأخرى هنا على Envato Tuts +!


Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. iOS SDK
Code

Augmented Reality With ARKit: Feature Points and Horizontal Plane Detection

by
Difficulty:AdvancedLength:LongLanguages:

By now, you may have used an augmented reality app on your iPhone, with virtual objects that appear lifelike and blend in well with the features of the environment. In this series, you'll learn how to implement this in your own iOS app with ambient light detection and horizontal plane detection to improve your augmented reality application. This tutorial will focus on showing horizontal planes and feature points in ARKit.

Often, when using augmented reality, you want to place your virtual object on a flat surface such as a table, a desk, or even the ground. In order to do this accurately, it's important that you are able to detect these objects before you begin. After your plane is detected, the object will use a series of dots to anchor your virtual object to it, and the object will remain there, even as you move your device around.

For this tutorial, you'll need some basic knowledge of Swift, Xcode, and ARKit. If you haven't used ARKit in the past, you may find it helpful to read my previous tutorial, which is specifically aimed at helping beginners make their first augmented reality application:

Getting Started

Xcode Version

Before we begin, make sure you have the latest version of Xcode installed on your Mac. This is very important because ARKit will only be available on Xcode 9 or newer. You can check your version by opening Xcode and going to Xcode > About Xcode in the upper toolbar. 

If your version of Xcode is older than Xcode 9, you can go to the Mac App Store and update it for free. If you don't already have Xcode, you can also download and install it for free.

Sample Project

New Project

After you've made sure you have the right version of Xcode, you'll need to make a new Xcode project. 

Go ahead and open Xcode and click Create a new Xcode project.

Figure 1 Create an Xcode Project

You may be used to making a Single View Application, but for this tutorial, you will need to choose an Augmented Reality App. Then click Next.

Figure 2 Select Augmented Reality Template

Gaming Frameworks

You can name your project anything you like, but I will be naming mine Plane Detection. You will also notice that there is an option at the bottom where you can select from SceneKit, SpriteKit, and Metal. 

These are all Apple's gaming frameworks, and for the purpose of the tutorial, we will be using SceneKit because we'll be using 3D objects. 

Go ahead and select SceneKit if it isn't already selected. Your screen should look something like this:

Figure 3 Name your Project

Preparing to Test

Connecting an iPhone

Since the Xcode Simulator doesn't have a camera, you'll need to plug in your iPhone. Unfortunately, if you don't have an iPhone, you'll need to borrow one to be able to follow along with this tutorial (and for any other camera-related apps). If you already have an iPhone connected to Xcode, you can skip ahead to the next step.

A nifty new feature in Xcode 9 is that you can wirelessly debug your app on a device, so let's take the time to set that up now:

In the top menu bar, choose Window > Devices and Simulators. In the window that appears, make sure that Devices is selected at the top.

Now, plug in your device using a lightning cable. This should make your device appear in the left pane of the Devices and Simulators window. Simply click your device, and check the Connect via Network box.

Figure 4 Devices and Simulators

You will now be able to wirelessly debug on this iPhone for all future apps.

Complete Setup

Now your setup is complete. You should have a working ARKit app, and you can test it on the iPhone that you just connected. In the upper left of Xcode, next to the Run and Stop buttons, select your device from the simulator dropdown. I've selected Vardhan's iPhone, but you need to select your specific device.

Now you're done creating your starter project, and you should see a virtual spaceship appear in your world once you click Run. Here's what it should look like:

Figure 5 Run the Sample App

In Theory

Before we actually begin programming this app, it's important to understand how ARKit actually detects these planes. In this tutorial, we'll explore two main concepts: feature points and horizontal planes. In short, augmented reality on your iPhone works with a process called Visual Inertial Odometry (VIO), which takes the data from your cameras and internal sensors to gain a 3D understanding of a scene.

Feature Point

So, what exactly is a feature point? Every image, naturally, would have its own unique features. For example, in a flower, there would be unique shapes, or on a carpet, there may be distinctive textures.

These points represent notable features detected in the camera image. Their positions in 3D world coordinate space are extrapolated as part of the image analysis that ARKit performs in order to accurately track the device's position, orientation, and movement. Taken together, these points loosely correlate to the contours of real-world objects in view of the camera. — Apple

As Apple's documentation explains, feature points help your device (and ARKit) get a sense of the depth and "realism" of your world, making augmented reality much more accurate. These are also used to help give your virtual objects a place to anchor on, helping them get a sense of where to remain in case you move your device around.

Horizontal Planes

Similar to feature points, horizontal planes help your app get a sense of its surroundings. Not surprisingly, feature points and horizontal planes are very closely coupled in that these planes couldn't be detected without feature points. 

Using your iPhone's built-in sensors, including the camera (of course) and a combination of these feature points, ARKit can detect various planes in your scene. These calculations and estimations are done every frame, and multiple planes can be detected at once.

When you run a world-tracking AR session whose planeDetection option is enabled, the session automatically adds to its list of anchors an ARPlaneAnchor object for each flat surface ARKit detects with the back-facing camera. Each plane anchor provides information about the estimated position and shape of the surface. — Apple

In Code

Great! You've now got yourself a working ARKit app. Your goal for this app is to be able to detect a horizontal plane and visualize it with feature points (virtual dots which are placed on scenes in ARKit).

Starter Code

You now have a solid understanding of what feature points and horizontal planes are, and you're now ready to start programming them into an app. If you want more background on feature points and horizontal planes, I would recommend reading Apple's Documentation.

Preparing Your Project

If you open your ViewController.swift file, you'll notice that Apple has some starter code already set up for you (which renders a spaceship). We won't be covering what everything means in this tutorial, but if you'd like to have a line-by-line explanation, feel free to check out my other tutorial on ARKit.

Since a lot of the code is boilerplate code, we'll keep it, but as for the spaceship, let's get it out of the way by removing the code which handles its placement. In your ViewController.swift file, within your viewDidLoad() method, remove the following lines of code:

Feature Points

Enabling Debugging Options

Your Xcode project is now ready to start working on. Our first step is to add visible feature points. It's likely that you won't be making them visible for production apps, but it's a wonderful feature for debugging augmented reality apps.

This step is pretty simple, and it can be done in one line. In your viewDidLoad() method, add the following line of code:

This code configures debug options using an array of options. You can enable other features by adding them to this array, but for now, we just need to display our feature points. Here's what it should look like when you run your app:

Figure 6 Feature Points

As you can see, all the detected feature points are visible. If you don't see them, try moving your iPhone around, and you should see yellow dots appear. Part of the reason why they don't appear immediately is that ARKit is still detecting the scene.

Configuration

Now, we're ready for plane detection. If you take a look at your viewWillAppear() method, you'll see the following two lines of code. Let's take a moment to learn what they mean as they will be relevant for plane detection:

Here, an instance of the ARWorldTrackingConfiguration class is made. This class is responsible for device positioning. After that, we run the configuration on our current sceneView session. If you're interested in learning more about this, you can visit Apple's Documentation about it. For now, though, you're ready to continue to the next step.

Now, let's enable plane detection on our ARWorldTrackingConfiguration. Below the line which creates the configuration, you'll need to insert the following line:

Excellent! Now, horizontal plane detection is enabled, but we can't see it because it's happening under the hood, meaning that the iPhone knows where the plane is, but we can't see what it thinks.

Plane Detection

Checking for Anchors

Before we can start visualizing our detected planes, we'll need to find out when and where the planes are being detected. This can be easily done with a delegate method which is provided to us by Apple.

Start off by declaring a method for the ARSCNViewDelegate, and as you'll see, the ViewController class already conforms to this delegate in the starter code. Paste the following delegate method into your ViewController class:

This is called when new ARAnchors are added with a corresponding node, which, in this case, would be our horizontal planes.

Tells the delegate that a SceneKit node corresponding to a new AR anchor has been added to the scene.—Apple

Plane Geometry

For most apps, though, you would want the user to be able to tell where your app thinks it spots horizontal planes, so we'll be learning how to actually display these planes to the user using the node and the anchor provided in the delegate method we called earlier.

Our first question is: is the ARAnchor really a plane, or is it something we don't want? We can check this using type-casting and optional binding. Put this line of code into your delegate method:

You may have noticed that the anchor parameter has the type ARAnchor. If we want to know whether this anchor is a plane, we can attempt to type-cast it as an ARPlaneAnchor. If that succeeds, we know that a plane has been detected.

Inside the optional binding statement, let's add code to create an SCNPlane with the dimensions of the anchor we received from the delegate method. Write out the following two lines of code:

The first line here creates a two-dimensional SCNPlane which takes two parameters in its constructor: a width and a height. You'll see that we pass in anchor.extent.x and anchor.extent.z, which, as their names suggest, represent the width and the height of the detected planes. You'll notice that we've omitted the y-value of the anchor, and that's because the planes we're detecting are two-dimensional, and the x and z axes run across planes that we're identifying.

The next line of code applies a translucent red hue to these detected planes, and you can see through these planes because the alpha value is set to 0.5. Of course, you can use any colors or appearances you wish, as long as you'll be able to see them.

Creating the Node

We're not done yet; we still need to create the node to add to our view. Though our plane is a two-dimensional object, we still need to represent it in 3D with an x, y, and z coordinate. These coordinates will be relative to the parent node of the detected plane anchor and not the sceneView. Enter the following lines of code:

We're first creating a SCNNode with the plane geometry we created in the previous step. This is being done by passing in the geometry as a parameter of SCNNode's constructor.

Next, we're positioning the plane node directly in the center of the plane anchor using a SCNVector3 representation of x, y, and z coordinates in the three-dimensional plane. 

Also, in the next line, you'll see that the x value of our eulerAngles is being set to -π/2. The property eulerAngles represents the pitch, yaw, and roll of the SCNNode. According to Apple's documentation, the x value represents the pitch (or rotation about the x-axis), and we want ours to be flat against the plane (not sticking upright).

Last, the newly created node is added as a child node of the detected plane node to make it visible to the user at the same location.

Conclusion

Great job! You should now be able to see horizontal planes (and, of course, the feature points) when you run your application on your iPhone. If you don't, make sure you move your phone around slowly for it to scan the surface, and try increasing the alpha of the color we set earlier. Here's what mine looks like:

Figure 7 Horizontal Planes and Feature Points

You now know how to detect flat surfaces such as tables or desks and display them to the user as horizontal planes. In addition to this, you've been able to see how ARKit views the world with feature points. While you're here, be sure to check out some of our other ARKit courses and tutorials here on Envato Tuts+!


Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.