Unlimited Plugins, WordPress themes, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Android

Android Des Le Debut: Comprendre les Adapteurs et Vues d'Adapteurs

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:MediumLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Android From Scratch.
Android From Scratch: Connecting Activities and Applications
Android From Scratch: How to Use Resources In an Application

French (Français) translation by Katerina Katapodi (you can also view the original English article)

Les Vues d'adapteurs se trouvent partout et Vous aurez des difficulter a trouver une app Android populaire qui ne les utilise pas. Le nom est peut etre inconne, mais si Vous croyez que Vous n'avez jamais vu un adapteur, Vous avez tort plutot. Chaque fois que Vous voyez une interface d'utilisateur affichee en forme d'une liste, cadre, ou pile, Vous voyez une vue d'adapteur active.

Une vue d'adapteur, comme le nom propose, est un objet de Vue. Cela veut dire, que Vous pouvez l'ajouter a Vos activites de la meme facon dont Vous utilisez tout autre mage d'interface d'utilisateur.  Toutefois il n'est pas possible d'afficher des donnees elles memes. Ses contenus sont toujours determine par un autre objet, un adapteur.  Dans ce seminaire, Je vais Vous montrer comment creer des adapteurs et les utiliser pour faire opererd'autres types   d'adapteurs comme ListView et GridView. 

Est-ce qu'il est facile pour Vous d'apprendre par video? Pourquoi pas chercher dans notre cours: 

1. Que'est-ce que c'est un Adapteur?

Un adapteur est un objet de classe qui fait introduire l'interface Adapter. Il agit comme un lien entre un ensemble de  et une vue d'adapteur, un objet de classe qui etend la classe abstraite de AdapterView. .Cet ensemble de donnees peut presenter les donnees en structure.  Les raies, les objets de List, et objets Cursor sont normalement des sets de  données utilisées.

Un adapteur peut contribuer a recuperer des donnees d'un ensemble de donnees et pour produire des objets View qui sont bases sur ces donnees.  Les objets de View générés sont souvent utilisés  pour afficher une vue d'adapteur de cet adapteur. 

Vous pouvez créer Vos propres classes d'adapteur du zero, mais la plupart des créateurs   vont utiliser ou etendre les classes d'adapteur fournies par Android SDK, comme ArrayAdapter et SimpleCursorAdapter.  Dans ce seminaire, nous mettons le point sur la classe ArrayAdapter.

2. Comment vont fonctionner les Vues d'Adapteurs? 

Les vues d'adapteurs peuvent afficher des sets larges de données d'une manière efficace.  Par exemple, les mages ListView et GridView peuvent afficher des millions d'objets sans  vus, en maintenant la  et l' usage CPU très  bas.  Comment font-ils ca? Les vues d'adapteurs différentes ont des techniques différentes.    .  Toutefois, voici ce que la pluspart d'eux font.

  • Ils produisent seulement les objets de Vue qui sont déjà sur l'écran  ou sont en train de bouger sur l'écran. De cette facon, la  d'une vue d'adapteur peut etre constante et sans rapport a la taille du set des données.   
  • Ils permettent aussi aux createurs de minimiser l'usage de plateformed inflatees et recycler les objets View existents qui sont hors l'ecran.  Ca va maintenir le CPU bas.

3 Creant un ArrayAdapter

Afin de creer un adapteur il faut suivre les pas suivants:

  • un ensemble de donnees 
  • un fichier de ressource qui contient la plateforme des objets View produits

En plus, des que la classe ArrayAdapter peut fonctionner seulement avec des fiches, il faut faire sur que la forme des objets View produite ne contient au moins un mage TextView.

Etape 1: Creation d'Ensemble de Donnees

La classe ArrayAdapter peut utiliser les deux, raies et objets de Liste comme ensembles de donnees.  Maintenant, utilisons une raie comme le set de donnees. 

Etape 2: Creer le Fichier de Ressource

Creer un nouveau fichier de forme XML dont l'element principal est un LinearLayout et le nommer item.xml Peguer et envoyer un mage Marge text dans lui en mettant la valeur de son id au cheese_name. Le fichier XML doit  comme suivant:

Etape 3: Creer l'Adapteur

Dans Votre activite, creez un nouveau exemple de ArrayAdapteur utilisant son système. Comme ses arguments, donner un nom au fichier principal (de ressource), l'identificateur de TextView et une reference a la ligne. L'adapteur est prêt maintenant.

4 Créer (creez) une Liste

Pour afficher une liste d'items verticale ecrouillant, Vous pouvez utiliser le mage ListView.  Pour ajouter le mage a Votre activité , Vous pouvez le peguer et l'envoyer au fichier XML ou le créer utilisant son  de Votre code Java.  Maintenant, faisons le dernier.

D'habitude, aucuns autres mages d'interface d'utilisateur ne sont places dans la plateforme qui contient une ListView. Donc, passez le ListView a la methode du ContentView de Votre , couvrant l' ecran entier. 

Pour lier la ListView a l'adapteur que nous avons  avant, utiliser la méthode   setAdapter comme il est montre dessous. 

Si Votre app fonctionne maintenant, il faut voir le contenu des rang  en forme d'une liste. 

ListView With ArrayAdapter

5 Creant une Grille 

Pour afficher une grille de deux dimensions verticale ecrouillable, Vous pouvez utiliser le GridView. Tous les deux, le ListView et GridView sont des sub-categories de la classe abstraite AbsListView etant pareils l'un a l'autre.  Donc, si Vous savez comment utiliser un, Vous connaissez comment utiliser l'autre aussi.

Utiliser le constructeur de la classe GridView pour creer un nouvel exemple et appliquez la methode setContentView de Votre activité . 

Pour mettre le nombre des colonnes de la grille, appliquer sa méthode setNumColumns(). Je vais faire de ca une grille de deux colonnes.

D'habitude, Vous voudriez ajuster la largeur des colonnes et l'espace entre elles utilisant les méthodes, setColumnWidth() setVerticalSpacing(), et le setHorizontalSpacing() Notez que ces méthodes utilisent des pixels comme leurs unités  . 

Vous pouvez maintenant lier le GridView a l'adapteur créé   avant utilisant la méthode setAdapter().  

Faites fonctionner  Votre app pour voir comment est le GridView. 

GridView With ArrayAdapter

6. Ajouter des Auditeurs d'  Evenements

Vous pouvez ecouter des evénements avec des clics courts et clics longs sur les items d'une vue d'adapteur.  Par exemple, ajoutons un auditeur d'evénements' par clic au GridView. 

Créer un nouvel exemple d'une classe anonyme qui fait introduire l'interfaces AdapterView. OnitemClickListener et l'ajuster a la methode setOnItemClickListener de l'objet GridView. Android Studio va produire automatiquement un bout pour la méthode onItemClick de l'interface. Vous allez voir  que les paramètres de la méthode  incluent un numéro intégral  la position de l'item liste.  Vous pouvez utiliser ce  pour  sur quel item  des données l'utilisateur a fait clic. 

Le code suivant montre comment afficher un message simple comme snackbar chaque fois qu'on fait clic sur un item du GridView.

Si Vous utilisez l'app et cliquez sur un item dans la grille, un message va apparaitre a la partie inferieure de l'ecran.  Notez que Vous pouvez utiliser le  code pour ecouter des evenements apres clics sur items dans ListView.

Snackbar Shown When Items Are Clicked

7. Etendre le ArrayAdapter

Un ArrayAdapter peut utiliser seulement un mage de TextView, dans la plateforme des objets de View produits. Pour amplifier ses fonctionnements il faut l'etendre. Avant de faire ca, pourtant,  un set de  un peu plus complique. 

Au lieu de fiches, disons que notre set de données comprend des objets de la classe suivante:

Ca c'est l'ensemble de  que nous allons utiliser:

Comme Vous pouvez voir, la classe Cheese contient deux champs, name et description. Pour afficher les deux champs dans une liste ou grille, la forme des items doit comprendre deux mages TextView.

Créez une nouvelle plateforme de fichier XML, en la nommant custom_item.xml. Ajouter un Large text et un Small text a lui. Mettre le id du premier mage cheese_name et celui du deuxieme mage a cheese_description. Les contenus du ficher de plateforme XML doivent paraitre comme ca:

Le ArrayAdapter doit  capable de gerer deux mages TextView.  Revisiter Votre ,  une nouvelle classe anonyme qui etend la classe ArrayAdapter, et annuler la  getView.  Faites sur, que Vous passez  le rang comme argument a son constructeur. 

Dans la mehode getView, il faut utiliser la  position comme une indexe de l'ordre et passer l'item a cette indexe.

La deuxieme paramètre de la methode getView est ce que nous aide a reuser les objets View. Si Vous l'ignorez, la performance de Votre vue d'adapteur sera de mauvaise qualite.  Quand la  getView est  pour la  fois, convertView est null.  Il faut l'activer en gonflant le fichier de ressource qui definit la plateforme de la liste des items. Pour faire ca, obtenez une  a un LayoutInflater utilisant la methode getLayoutInflater et appliquer sa méthode   inflate. 

A ce point, Vous pouvez utiliser findViewById pour obtenir une  aux mages TextView dans la plateforme et appliquer leurs méthodes setText pour les activer utilisant des donnees par l'ordre.

Finalement, retour a convertView pour qu'il soit  pour afficher les vues d'adapteur connectées a cet adapteur. 

8. Utilisant un View Holder 

La  getView est appliquée souvent par la vue d'adapteur pour se faire afficher.  Donc, il faut minimiser le nombre d'usages par Vous.

Au pas précédent, Vous devez avoir note , que bienque nous soyons surs que la plateforme de la liste d'items est gonflée une fois seulement, la  findViewById, qui dépense  beaucoup de circles, est appliquee chaque fois que getView y est utilise.

Pour  ca et  la performance de la vue d'adapteur, il faut stocker les  résultats de la  findViewById dans l'objet convertView.  Pour faire ca, nous pouvons utiliser l'objet view holder, qui n'est qu'un objet d'une classe qui peut stocker les mages qui sont dans la plateforme. 

Comme la plateform a deux mages TextView, la classe view holder doit avoir aussi deux mages TextView. J'ai nomme la classe ViewHolder.

Dans la méthode getView, apres avoir gonflé   la plateforme, Vous pouvez activer l'objet view holder utilisant findViewById.

Pour stocker l'objet view holder dans convertView, utiliser sa  setTag.

Et maintenant, chaque fois que getView est utilise, on peut  le view holder par convertView utilisant la   getTag   setText.et actualisant les mages TextView a l'aide de leurs methodes setText.

Si Vous utilisez Votre app maintenant, Vous pouvez voir GridView en affichant deux lignes de text dans chaque cellule.

GridView with two lines of text per item

Conclusion

Dans ce seminaire, Vous avez appris comment creer un adapteur et l'utiliser pour publier des vues d'adapteur. Vous avez appris aussi comment créer Votre propre adapteur personalisé . Bienqu'on ait mise le point sur  ArrayAdapter,  ListView et GridView, on peut appliquer les mêmes techniques pour d'autres adapteurs et vues d'adapteurs offerts par Android SDK.

La  Android Support comprend le RecyclerView.  Il fonctionne comme une vue d'adapteur, mais il n'est pas une sous-classe de classe AdapterView. Il faut noter, lors utiliser, si Vous voulez  plus de listes compliquees, surtout celles qui utilisent divers fichiers de plateformes  pour leurs items.  Pour en savoir plus, Vous pouvez lire this Envato Tuts+tutorial.

Pour savoir plus sur AdapterView et ses sous-classes Vous pouvez en lire les documents.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Android
Code

Android From Scratch: Understanding Adapters and Adapter Views

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:MediumLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Android From Scratch.
Android From Scratch: Connecting Activities and Applications
Android From Scratch: How to Use Resources In an Application

Adapter views are so ubiquitous that you'd have a hard time finding a popular Android app that doesn't use them. The name might sound unfamiliar, but if you think you've never seen an adapter view, you are probably wrong. Every time you see an Android app display user interface elements in the form of a list, a grid, or a stack, you're seeing an adapter view in action.

An adapter view, as its name suggests, is a View object. This means, you can add it to your activities the same way you add any other user interface widget. However, it is incapable of displaying any data on its own. Its contents are always determined by another object, an adapter. In this tutorial, I show you how to create adapters and use them to feed different types of adapter views such as ListView and GridView.

Do you find it easier to learn with video? Why not check out our course:

1. What Is an Adapter?

An adapter is an object of a class that implements the Adapter interface. It acts as a link between a data set and an adapter view, an object of a class that extends the abstract AdapterView class. The data set can be anything that presents data in a structured manner. Arrays, List objects, and Cursor objects are commonly used data sets.

An adapter is responsible for retrieving data from the data set and for generating View objects based on that data. The generated View objects are then used to populate any adapter view that is bound to the adapter.

You can create your own adapter classes from scratch, but most developers choose to use or extend adapter classes provided by the Android SDK, such as ArrayAdapter and SimpleCursorAdapter. In this tutorial, we focus on the ArrayAdapter class.

2. How Do Adapter Views Work?

Adapter views can display large data sets very efficiently. For instance, the ListView and GridView widgets can display millions of items without any noticeable lag while keeping memory and CPU usage very low. How do they do that? Different adapter views follow different strategies. However, here's what most of them usually do.

  • They render only those View objects that are either already on-screen or that are about to move on-screen. This way, the memory consumed by an adapter view can be constant and independent of the size of the data set.
  • They also allow developers to minimize expensive layout inflate operations and recycle existing View objects that have move off-screen. This keeps CPU consumption low.

3. Creating an ArrayAdapter

To create an adapter, you need the following:

  • a data set
  • a resource file containing the layout of the generated View objects

Additionally, because the ArrayAdapter class can only work with strings, you need to make sure the layout of the generated View objects contains at least one TextView widget.

Step 1: Create the Data Set

The ArrayAdapter class can use both arrays and List objects as data sets. For now, let's use an array as the data set.

Step 2: Create the Resource File

Create a new layout XML file whose root element is a LinearLayout and name it item.xml. Drag and drop a Large text widget in it and set the value of its id attribute to cheese_name. The layout XML file should look like this:

Step 3: Create the Adapter

In your activity, create a new instance of the ArrayAdapter class using its constructor. As its arguments, pass the name of the resource file, the identifier of the TextView, and a reference to the array. The adapter is now ready.

4. Creating a List

To display a vertically scrollable list of items, you can use the ListView widget. To add the widget to your activity, you can either drag and drop it inside the activity's layout XML file or create it using its constructor in your Java code. For now, let's do the latter.

Usually, no other user interface widgets are placed inside a layout that contains a ListView. Therefore, pass the ListView to the setContentView() method of your activity so that it takes up the entire screen.

To bind the ListView to the adapter we created in the previous step, call the setAdapter() method as shown below.

If you run your app now, you should be able to see the contents of the array in the form of a list.

ListView With ArrayAdapter

5. Creating a Grid

To display a vertically scrollable two-dimensional grid of items, you can use the GridView widget. Both ListView and GridView are subclasses of the abstract AbsListView class and they share many similarities. Therefore, if you know how to use one, you know how to use the other as well.

Use the constructor of the GridView class to create a new instance and pass it to the setContentView() method of your activity.

To set the number of columns in the grid, call its setNumColumns() method. I'm going to make this a two-column grid.

Usually, you'd want to adjust the width of the columns and the spacing between them using the setColumnWidth(), setVerticalSpacing(), and setHorizontalSpacing() methods. Note that these methods use pixels as their units.

You can now bind the GridView to the adapter we created earlier using the setAdapter() method.

Run your app again to see what the GridView looks like.

GridView With ArrayAdapter

6. Adding Event Listeners

It is possible to listen for click and long click events on the items inside an adapter view. As an example, let's add a click event listener to the GridView.

Create a new instance of an anonymous class that implements the AdapterView.OnItemClickListener interface and pass it to the setOnItemClickListener() method of the GridView object. Android Studio automatically generates a stub for the onItemClick() method of the interface. You'll notice that the method's parameters include an integer specifying the position of the list item. You can use this integer to find out which item in the data set the user clicked.

The following code illustrates how to display a simple message as a snackbar every time an item in the GridView is clicked.

If you run the app and click any item in the grid, a message appears at the bottom of the screen. Note that you can use the same code to listen for click events on items inside a ListView.

Snackbar Shown When Items Are Clicked

7. Extending the ArrayAdapter

An ArrayAdapter can handle only one TextView widget inside the layout of the View objects it generates. To broaden its capabilities you must extend it. Before we do that, however, let's create a slightly more complex data set.

Instead of strings, let's say our data set contains objects of the following class:

This is the data set we will be using:

As you can see, the Cheese class contains two fields, name and description. To display both fields in a lists or grid, the layout of the items must contain two TextView widgets.

Create a new layout XML file and name it custom_item.xml. Add a Large text and a Small text widget to it. Set the id attribute of the first widget to cheese_name and that of the second one to cheese_description. The contents of the layout XML file should now look like this:

The ArrayAdapter must also be capable of handling two TextView widgets. Revisit your activity, create a new anonymous class that extends the ArrayAdapter class, and override its getView() method. Make sure that you pass the array as an argument to its constructor.

Inside the getView() method, you must use the position parameter as an index of the array and fetch the item at that index.

The second parameter of the getView() method is what enables us to reuse View objects. If you ignore it, the performance of your adapter view will be poor. When the getView() method is called for the first time, convertView is null. You must initialize it by inflating the resource file that specifies the layout of the list items. To do so, obtain a reference to a LayoutInflater using the getLayoutInflater() method and invoke its inflate() method.

At this point, you can use findViewById() to get a reference to the TextView widgets inside the layout and call their setText() methods to initialize them using data from the array.

Finally, return convertView so that it can be used to populate any adapter view associated with the adapter.

8. Using a View Holder

The getView() method is called repeatedly by the adapter view to populate itself. Therefore, you must try to minimize the number of operations you perform in it.

In the previous step, you might have noticed that, even though we made sure that the layout of the list items is inflated only once, the findViewById() method, which consumes many CPU cycles, is called every time the getView() method is called.

To avoid this and to improve the performance of the adapter view, we need to store the results of the findViewById() method inside the convertView object. To do so, we can use a view holder object, which is nothing more than an object of a class that can store the widgets present in the layout.

Because the layout has two TextView widgets, the view holder class must also have two TextView widgets. I have named the class ViewHolder.

In the getView() method, after you inflate the layout, you can now initialize the view holder object using the findViewById() method.

To store the view holder object in convertView, use its setTag() method.

And now, every time getView() is called, you can retrieve the view holder object from convertView using the getTag() method and update the TextView widgets inside it using their setText() methods.

If you run your app now, you can see the GridView displaying two lines of text in each cell.

GridView with two lines of text per item

Conclusion

In this tutorial, you learned how to create an adapter and use it to populate various adapter views. You also learned how to create your own custom adapter. Although we only focused on the ArrayAdapter, ListView, and GridView classes, you can use the same techniques for other adapters and adapter views the Android SDK offers.

The Android Support Library includes the RecyclerView class. It behaves much like an adapter view, but it isn't a subclass of the AdapterView class. You should consider using it if you want to create more complex lists, especially ones that use multiple layout files for their items. To learn more about it, you can refer to this Envato Tuts+ tutorial.

To learn more about the AdapterView class and its subclasses, you can refer to its documentation.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.