Unlimited Plugins, WordPress themes, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Android SDK
Code

Volley介绍

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called An Introduction to Volley.
Creating a Weather Application for Mars Using Volley

Chinese (Simplified) (中文(简体)) translation by piaoyixue (you can also view the original English article)

Volley是由Google开发的网络请求库,该库在2013年Google I / O大会上推出的。 由于在Android SDK中缺少在不干扰用户体验的情况下进行网络请求的库,因此开发了Volley库。

在发布Volley库之前,Android程序员如果想在客户端和后台之间开发RESTFul系统,只能使用类  java.net.HttpURLConnection 和类Apache  org.apache.http.client

就算不考虑使用这两个类时出现的错误,除了简单的HTTP事务之外,所有事情都必须从头开始。  如果想缓存图像或优先处理某个请求,则那么这些都必须从头开始。

幸运的是,现在有了Volley库,专门为这些需求而量身打造。

1.为什么使用Volley?

避免使用  HttpUrlConnection 和HttpClient

在较低版本的API(主要是Gingerbread和Froyo)中,  HttpUrlConnectionHttpClient远未完美。 有一些已知错误和bug从未修复过。 此外,  在最后一次API更新(API 22)中HttpClient被弃用,这意味着它将不再被维护,并且在将来的版本中可能被删除。

这些理由足够你决定切换到更可靠的处理网络请求的方式来。

也要避免  AsyncTask

自从引入Honeycomb(API 11)系统以来,网络操作必须在与主线程不同的单独线程上执行。 这一重大变化导致了大量使用 AsyncTask<Params, Progress, Result> 规范。

要使用AsyncTask,首先定义一些准备动作,如在onPreExecute中定义上下文。 然后使用doInBackground 方法执行异步任务。 最后,在onPostExecute中处理结果。 这是非常简单的,比实现服务更容易,并附带了大量的示例和文档。

然而,主要的问题是串行化调用。 使用AsyncTask类,您无法确定首先进行哪个请求,哪一个必须等待。 一切都是先进先出。

例如,当您必须加载附加缩略图列表时,问题就出现了。 当用户向下滚动并预期新的结果时,您不能告诉您的activity,首先加载下一页的JSON,然后再加载上一个页的图像。 这可能会在诸如Facebook或Twitter的应用程序中成为严重的用户体验问题,因为这类APP的新item列表比与其关联的缩略图更重要。

Volley旨在通过引入强大的取消API来解决这个问题。 执行调用时不再需要在onPostExecute中检查activity是否被销毁。 这有助于避免不必要的 NullPointerException异常。

它更快了

前段时间,Google+小组对Android上可用于进行网络请求的各种不同方法进行了一系列的性能测试。 当在RESTful应用程序中使用时,Volley的得分比其他库的分数高出十倍。

它缓存一切

Volley自动缓存请求,这是真正的“拯救生命”。 让我们回到前面给出的例子。 您有一个item列表 - 一个JSON数组,而且每个item都有一个描述和与之关联的缩略图。 现在想想如果用户旋转屏幕会发生什么:activity被摧毁,列表被再次加载,图像也是被再次加载。 这将导致资源浪费和糟糕的用户体验。

Volley被证明能解决这个问题。 它记住以前的调用,并处理activity的销毁和重建。 它缓存所有的东西,而你不必担心它。

小元数据操作

Volley非常适合小调用,例如JSON对象,列表部分,所选item的详细信息等。 它为RESTful应用程序设计,因此能给出了最好的结果。

然而,当用于流式操作和大量下载时,Volley表现不佳。 与一般思维相反,Volley的名字不是来自运动词典。 这是作为重复突发的调用,并且分组在一起的。 这就是为什么这个库不适合这种场合。

2.Under the Hood

Volley在三个不同层次上工作,每个层次    都在自己的线程上运行。

Volley under the hood

主线程

在主线程上,与AsyncTask 规范一致,  只允许触发请求并处理其响应。 没有更多了,也没有更少了。

主要的后果是您可以忽略doInBackground 方法中发生的一切  。 Volley自动管理您以前需要关心的HTTP事务和捕获的网络错误。

缓存和网络线程

当你向队列添加一个请求时,会发生几件事情。 首先,Volley检查请求是否可以从缓存获取服务。 如果可以,缓存的响应被读取、解析和传递。 否则请求被传递给网络线程。

在网络线程上,一系列线程的循环不断工作。 第一个可用的网络线程对请求进行排队、进行HTTP请求、解析响应、写入缓存。 最后,它将解析的响应重新发送回您的主线程,在主线程中的监听器正在等待处理结果。

3. 入门

步骤1:导入Volley

Volley设置并不方便。 看起来好像没有官方的Maven库可用,这是非常令人困惑的。 你必须依靠官方的源代码。 您可以通过多种方式之一导入Volley。

首先,从其存储库下载Volley源代码。 如果你有信心这样做,这个Git  命令可以为你做所有的工作:

直到几个星期前,您可以使用ant命令行(android update project -p .  然后  ant jar)将所有内容包装起来,并使用简单的compile files('libs/volley.jar')在Android Studio项目中导入JAR库  。

最近,Google已将Volley更新为Android Studio构建样式,从而难以创建独立的JAR包。 您仍然可以这样做,但只能使用旧版本的库。 我个人不鼓励你使用这个选项,尽管看起来最快。

您应该以经典的方式设置Volley ,即通过将源代码导入为module。 在Android Studio中,打开项目后,选择“ 文件”>“新建模块”,然后选择“ 导入现有项目”。 选择刚刚下载源代码的目录并确认。 名为Volley的文件夹将显示在您的项目结构中。 Android Studio自动更新您的  settings.gradle文件以包含Volley模块,因此您只需要将compile project(':volley')添加到依赖关系即可完成。

有第三种方式。 您可以添加build.gradle文件的依赖关系部分:

它是官方Google存储库的镜像副本,经常同步和更新。 这可能是最简单和最快速的入门方式了。 但是,请注意,这是一个非官方的 Maven存储库,不能保证,也不由Google支持。

在我看来,投入更多的时间导入官方源代码还是比较好。 这样,您可以轻松地跳转到原来的定义和实现,以便在有疑问的情况下,您可以随时依靠官方的Volley源代码,甚至可以根据需要进行更改。

步骤2:使用Volley

Volley大多数情况下只用两个类工作,  RequestQueueRequest。 您首先创建一个  RequestQueue,它管理工作线程并将解析的结果传递回主线程。 然后,给RequestQueue传递一个或多个  Request 对象。

Request构造函数总是把方法类型(GET,POST等)、资源的URL和事件侦听器作为参数。 然后,根据请求的类型,它可能会要求一些更多的变量。

在下面的例子中,我通过调用一个Volley方法 Volley.newRequestQueue来创建一个RequestQueue对象。 这将使用Volley定义的默认值设置RequestQueue对象。

正如你所看到的,这是非常简单的。 您创建请求并将其添加到请求队列。 你完成了。

请注意,监听器的语法类似于AsyncTask.onPostExecute,只是它变成了onResponse。 这不是巧合。 使用Volley的开发人员有意使库的API与AsyncTask 方法类似 。 这使得从使用AsyncTask切换到Volley更容易。

如果您必须在多个activity中进行多个请求,则应避免使用上述方法Volley.newRequestQueue.add。 最好是实例化一个共享的请求队列,并在您的项目中使用它:

我们将在本系列的下一个教程中专门开发这样的东西。

4.  胜利在望

处理标准要求

Volley可以实现三种非常常见的请求类型:

  • StringRequest
  • ImageRequest
  • JsonRequest

这些类中的每一个都继承了我们之前使用的Result类。 我们已经在前面的例子看过StringRequest了。 让我们来看看JsonRequest工作原理。

美丽。 不是吗? 您可以看到,结果类型已设置为JSONObject。 你也可以请求一个JSONArray如果你想要,使用JsonArrayRequest而不是一个JsonObjectRequest进请求。

如前所述,构造函数的第一个参数是要使用的HTTP方法。 然后,您可以提供从中获取JSON的URL。 上面的例子中的第三个变量是  null。 这很好,因为它表示没有参数将随请求一起发出。 最后,您有监听器接收JSON响应和错误响应。 如果你想忽略错误,你可以传入null  。

获取图像需要做更多的工作。 有三种请求图像的方法。  ImageRequest 是标准的。 它显示在共同的ImageView中请求的图片,该图片通过提供的URL进行获取。 您可能希望Volley执行的所有解码和调整大小操作都发生在工作线程上。 第二个选项是  ImageLoader 类,您可以将其视为大量的编排者ImageRequests,例如加载ListView 图像。 第三个选项是  NetworkImageView,这是ImageView 布局项的一种XML替代。

我们来看一个例子。

第一个参数是图片的URL,第二个参数是监听结果的监听器。 第三和第四个参数是整数maxWidth和  maxHeight。 您可以将它们设置0来忽略这些参数。 之后,ImageRequest 请求ScaleType用于计算所需的图像大小和格式来解码位图。 我建议解码格式总是使用Bitmap.Config.ARGB_8888。 最后,我们传递监听错误的监听器。

请注意,Volley会自动将此请求的优先级设置为LOW

发送POST请求

从GET请求切换到POST请求很简单。 您需要更改Request.Method 请求的构造函数并重写getParams方法,返回包含请求参数的Map<String, String> 。

取消请求

如果要取消所有请求,请将以下代码段添加到  onStop 方法中:

这样,您就不用担心用户在onResponse被调用时activity已经被销毁了的可能性。 因为在这种情况下会抛出NullPointerException异常。 

然而,POST和PUT请求应该继续,即使在用户更改activity之后。 我们可以通过使用标签来实现。 构建GET请求时,向其添加一个标签。

要取消所有待处理的GET请求,我们只需添加以下代码行:

这样,您只能取消GET请求,使其他请求保持不变。 请注意,您现在必须手动处理activity过早销毁的情况。

管理Cookie和请求优先级

Volley不提供设置请求的Cookie的方法,也不提供设置优先级。 这可能在将来研究,因为它是一个严重的遗漏。 但是,暂时还要继承Request类。

对于管理cookies,您可以使用请求的标题来重写getHeaders 方法:

实现后,您可以使用setCookies直接提供请求的Cookie列表。

对于优先级,您还需要继承Request类,重写getPriority 方法。 实现如下:

然后,在主线程上,调用这一行代码来设置请求的优先级:

您可以选择以下四个可能的优先级状态之一:

结论

在本文中,我们研究了Volley网络库的工作原理。 我们首先看到了为什么使用Volley,何时使用Volley而不是已经包含在Android SDK中的另一个解决方案。 然后,我们深入了解该库的细节,查看其工作流程及其支持的请求类型。 最后,我们通过创建简单的请求并实现自定义的请求来处理cookie和优先级,从而达到我们的目的。

在本系列关于Volley的下一部分中,我们将创建一个利用Volley的简单应用程序。 我将展示如何制作火星天气应用程序,使用好奇流动站在火星上收集的天气数据。

关注我们的公众号
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Android SDK
Code

An Introduction to Volley

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:MediumLanguages:
This post is part of a series called An Introduction to Volley.
Creating a Weather Application for Mars Using Volley

Volley is a networking library developed by Google and introduced during Google I/O 2013. It was developed because of the absence, in the Android SDK, of a networking class capable of working without interfering with the user experience.

Until the release of Volley, the canonical Java class java.net.HttpURLConnection and the Apache org.apache.http.client were the only tools available to Android programmers to develop a RESTful system between a client and a remote backend.

Putting aside for a moment the fact that these two classes aren't exempt from bugs, it should be noted how everything that went beyond a simple HTTP transaction had to be written ex novoIf you wanted to cache images or prioritize requests, you had to develop it from scratch.

Fortunately, now there's Volley, created and tailored to fulfill these needs.

1. Why Volley?

Avoid HttpUrlConnection and HttpClient

On lower API levels (mostly on Gingerbread and Froyo), HttpUrlConnection and HttpClient are far from being perfect. There are some knownissues and bugs that were never fixed. Moreover, HttpClient was deprecated in the last API update (API 22), which means that it will no longer be maintained and may be removed in a future release.

These are sufficient reasons for deciding to switch to a more reliable way of handling your network requests.

And Avoid AsyncTask Too

Since the introduction of Honeycomb (API 11), it's been mandatory to perform network operations on a separate thread, different from the main thread. This substantial change led the way to massive use of the AsyncTask<Params, Progress, Result> specification.

With AsyncTask, you first define some preparatory actions, such as the definition of the context, in onPreExecute. You then perform your asynchronous tasks using the doInBackground method. Finally, you handle results in onPostExecute. It's pretty straightforward, way easier than the implementation of a service, and comes with a ton of examples and documentation.

The main problem, however, is the serialization of the calls. Using the AsyncTask class, you can't decide which request goes first and which one has to wait. Everything happens FIFO, first in, first out.

The problems arise, for example, when you have to load a list of items that have attached a thumbnail. When the user scrolls down and expects new results, you can't tell your activity to first load the JSON of the next page and only then the images of the previous one. This can become a serious user experience problem in applications such as Facebook or Twitter, where the list of new items is more important than the thumbnail associated with it.

Volley aims to solve this problem by including a powerful cancellation API. You no longer need to check in onPostExecute whether the activity was destroyed while performing the call. This helps avoiding an unwanted NullPointerException.

It's Much Faster

Some time ago, the Google+ team did a series of performance tests on each of the different methods you can use to make network requests on Android. Volley got a score up to ten times better than the other alternatives when used in RESTful applications.

It Caches Everything

Volley automatically caches requests and this is something truly life-saving. Let’s return for a moment to the example I gave earlier. You have a list of items—a JSON array let’s say—and each item has a description and a thumbnail associated with it. Now think about what happens if the user rotates the screen: the activity is destroyed, the list is downloaded again, and so are the images. Long story short, a significant waste of resources and a poor user experience.

Volley proves to be extremely useful for overcoming this issue. It remembers the previous calls it did and handles the activity destruction and reconstruction. It caches everything without you having to worry about it.

Small Metadata Operations

Volley is perfect for small calls, such as JSON objects, portions of lists, details of a selected item, and so on. It has been devised for RESTful applications and in this particular case it gives its very best.

It is not so good, however, when employed for streaming operations and large downloads. Contrary to common belief, Volley's name doesn't come from the sport dictionary. It’s rather intended as repeated bursts of calls, grouped together. It's somehow intuitive why this library doesn't come in handy when, instead of a volley of arrows, you want to fire a cannon ball.

2. Under the Hood

Volley works on three different levels with each level operating on its own thread.

Volley under the hood

Main Thread

On the main thread, consistently with what you already do in the AsyncTask specification, you are only allowed to fire the request and handle its response. Nothing more, nothing less.

The main consequence is that you can actually ignore everything that was going on in the doInBackground method. Volley automatically manages the HTTP transactions and the catching network errors that you needed to care about before.

Cache and Network Threads

When you add a request to the queue, several things happens under the hood. First, Volley checks if the request can be serviced from cache. If it can, the cached response is read, parsed, and delivered. Otherwise it is passed to the network thread.

On the network thread, a round-robin with a series of threads is constantly working. The first available network thread dequeues the request, makes the HTTP request, parses the response, and writes it to cache. To finish, it dispatches the parsed response back to the main thread where your listeners are waiting to handle the result.

3. Getting Started

Step 1: Importing Volley

Volley isn't so handy to set up. It looks as if there's no official Maven repository available and this is quite bewildering. You have to rely on the official source code. You can import Volley one of several ways.

First things first, download the Volley source from its repository. If you feel confident doing this, this Git command can do all the work for you:

Until some weeks ago, you could wrap everything up using the ant command line (android update project -p . and then ant jar) and importing your JAR library in your Android Studio project with a simple compile files('libs/volley.jar').

Recently, though, Google updated Volley to the Android Studio build style, making it harder to create a standalone JAR. You can still do it, but only with older versions of the library. I personally discourage you to use this option, even though it may seem the quickest.

You should set up Volley the classic way, that is, by importing the source as a module. In Android Studio, with your project opened, select File > New Module, and choose Import Existing Project. Select the directory where you've just downloaded the source code and confirm. A folder named Volley will show up in your project structure. Android Studio automatically updates your settings.gradle file to include the Volley module so you just need to add to your dependencies compile project(':volley') and you’re done.

There is a third way. You can add to the dependency section of the build.gradle file this line:

It’s a mirror copy of the official Google repository, regularly synced and updated. It's probably the simplest and fastest way to get started. However, be aware, it’s an unofficial Maven repository, no guarantees and not backed by Google.

In my opinion, it's still better to invest a few more minutes importing the official source code. This way, you can easily jump to the original definitions and implementations so that, in case of doubt, you can always rely on the official Volley source—and even change it if you need to.

Step 2: Using Volley

Volley mostly works with just two classes, RequestQueue and Request. You first create a RequestQueue, which manages worker threads and delivers the parsed results back to the main thread. You then pass it one or more Request objects.

The Request constructor always takes as parameters the method type (GET, POST, etc.), the URL of the resource, and event listeners. Then, depending on the type of request, it may ask for some more variables.

In the following example, I create a RequestQueue object by invoking one of Volley's convenience methods, Volley.newRequestQueue. This sets up a RequestQueue object, using default values defined by Volley.

As you can see, it’s incredibly straightforward. You create the request and add it to the request queue. And you’re done.

Note that the listener syntax is similar to AsyncTask.onPostExecute, it simply becomes onResponse. This isn't a coincidence. The developers that worked on Volley purposefully made the library's API so similar to the AsyncTask methods. This makes the transition from using AsyncTask to Volley that much easier.

If you have to fire multiple requests in several activities, you should avoid using the above approach, Volley.newRequestQueue.add. It's much better to instantiate one shared request queue and use it across your project:

We'll see specifically to develop something like this in the next tutorial of this series.

4. Put Your Hands in the Dough

Handling Standard Requests

Volley comes in handy for implementing three very common request types:

  • StringRequest
  • ImageRequest
  • JsonRequest

Each of these classes extend the Result class that we used earlier. We already looked at the StringRequest in the previous example. Let’s see instead how a JsonRequest works.

Beautiful. Isn’t it? As you can see, the type of result is already set to JSONObject. You can ask for a JSONArray too if you want, using a JsonArrayRequest instead of a JsonObjectRequest.

As before, the first parameter of the constructor is the HTTP method to use. You then provide the URL to fetch the JSON from. The third variable in the example above is null. This is fine as it indicates that no parameters will be posted along with the request. Finally, you have the listener to receive the JSON response and an error listener. You can pass in null if you want to ignore errors.

Fetching images require a bit more work. There are three possible methods for requesting an image. ImageRequest is the standard one. It displays the picture you requested in a common ImageView, retrieving it via a provided URL. All the decoding and resizing operations you may want Volley to perform happen on a worker thread. The second option is the ImageLoader class, which you can think of as an orchestrator of a large number of ImageRequests, for example, to populate a ListView with images. The third option is NetworkImageView, which is a sort of XML substitute for the ImageView layout item.

Let’s look at an example.

The first parameter is the URL of the picture and the second one is the listener for the result. The third and fourth parameters are integers, maxWidth and maxHeight. You can set them to 0 to ignore these parameters. After that, ImageRequest asks you for the ScaleType used to calculate the needed image size and for the format to decode the bitmap to. I suggest always using Bitmap.Config.ARGB_8888. Finally, we pass in an error listener.

Note that Volley automatically sets the priority of this request to LOW.

Making a POST Request

Switching from a GET request to a POST request is simple. You need to change the Request.Method in the constructor of the request and override the getParams method, returning a proper Map<String, String> containing the parameters of the request.

Canceling a Request

If you want to cancel all your requests, add the following code snippet to the onStop method:

This way, you don't need to worry about the possibility that the user has already destroyed the activity when onResponse is called. A NullPointerException would be thrown in such a case.

POST and PUT requests, however, should continue, even after the user changes activities. We can accomplish this by using tags. When constructing a GET request, add a tag to it.

To cancel every pending GET request, we simply add the following line of code:

This way, you only cancel the GET requests, leaving other requests untouched. Note that you now have to manually handle the case in which the activity is destroyed prematurely.

Managing Cookies and Request Priority

Volley doesn't provide a method for setting the cookies of a request, nor its priority. It probably will in the future, since it's a serious omission. For the time being, however, you have to extend the Request class.

For managing cookies, you can play with the headers of the request, overriding the getHeaders method:

With this implementation, you can directly provide the list of cookies to the request using setCookies.

For the priority, you also need to extend the Request class, overriding the getPriority method. This is what the implementation could look like:

Then, on the main thread, invoke this line of code to set the priority of the request:

You can choose from one of four possible priority states as shown below:

Conclusion

In this article, we looked at how the Volley networking library works. We first saw why and when it's better to use Volley instead of another solution already included in the Android SDK. We then dove deep into the library's details, looking at its workflow and its supported request types. Finally, we got our hands dirty by creating simple requests and implementing custom ones for handling cookies and prioritization.

In the next part of this series about Volley, we'll create a simple application that leverages Volley. I'll show you how to make a weather application for Mars, using weather data that's collected on Mars by the Curiosity rover.

If you do a lot of Android development, why not speed up your workflow by using one of the thousands of useful Android app templates available on Envato Market? Or contact one of the Android developers on Envato Studio to help you with your project—they can even design your app for you from the ground up!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.