Unlimited Plugins, WordPress themes, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Web Development
Code

Verwenden von htaccess-Dateien für hübsche URLs

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

German (Deutsch) translation by Alex Grigorovich (you can also view the original English article)

Während wir unsere Überprüfung der htaccess-Dateien fortsetzen, untersuchen wir heute, wie man mit mod_rewrite hübsche URLs erstellt.

Vorteile von formatierten URLs

Während einige behaupten, dass hübsche URLs bei Suchmaschinen-Rankings helfen, ist die Debatte hier heftig, wir können uns alle darauf einigen, dass hübsche URLs unseren Nutzern die Arbeit erleichtern und jeder Web-Anwendung ein gewisses Maß an Professionalität und Perfektion verleihen. Ich könnte alle theoretischen Gründe dafür durchgehen, aber ich mag Beispiele aus der Praxis besser. Wie es oder hassen es, müssen wir alle zugeben, dass Twitter ist eine sehr beliebte Web-Anwendung und ein Teil der Grund dafür ist sicherlich, wie es URLs formatiert. Ich kann jedem erzählen, dass mein Twitter-Benutzername noahhendrix ist, und sie wissen, dass mein Profil auf twitter.com/noahhendrix leicht zu finden ist. Dieses scheinbar einfache Konzept hat große Auswirkungen auf die Popularität Ihrer Anwendung.

Um die Dinge ins rechte Licht zu rücken, können wir uns eine andere beliebte Social-Networking-Website, Facebook, anschauen. Seit der Einführung der Website im Jahr 2004 ist das Profilsystem gewachsen und weiterentwickelt worden, um es besser an die Benutzer anzupassen, aber ein eklatantes Loch war die URL zu einem Profil. Seit ich mich bei Facebook registriert habe, war mein Profil unter der URL http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1304880680. Das ist ziemlich voll, und erst kürzlich hat Facebook das erkannt und Facebook-Vanity-URLs eingeführt. Jetzt kann ich mein Facebook-Profil teilen, indem ich Leuten sage, dass mein Facebook-Benutzername "noahhendrix" ist, von dem sie wissen, dass sie bei facebook.com/noahhendrix gefunden werden können. Während die Chancen stehen, dass wir keine Anwendung wie Facebook so beliebt haben, können wir noch ein paar Seiten aus ihrem Buch ausleihen.

Schneller Überblick

Bevor wir uns dem Code zuwenden, werden wir uns in der heutigen Einführung einen kurzen Überblick über zwei leicht unterschiedliche Methoden zum Erstellen schöner URLs mit HTACCESS verschaffen. Der Unterschied zwischen den Methoden besteht darin, ob Apache oder PHP die Schwerarbeit machen, um die URL für das Parsing auseinander zu brechen. Ich möchte darauf hinweisen, dass mod_rewrite Tutorials fast so alt sind wie das Internet selbst und das ist nicht das erste. Am Ende werde ich eine der Methoden verwenden, um eine einfache Anwendung zu erstellen, um zu zeigen, wie diese Lösungen in einer Real-Live-Website aussehen würden (nicht zu 100% Produktionsqualität). Der Service, den wir erstellen, ist ein URL-Shortener, der die Funktionalität solcher Sites wie bit.ly, TinyURL oder su.pr spiegeln kann. Also ohne mehr Flaum lassen Sie uns den Code anschauen.

Apache verwenden

Zuerst können wir unseren gesamten Code in Apache .htaccess-Dateien ablegen. Das könnte etwa so aussehen:

Fangen wir oben an und arbeiten uns nach unten, um besser zu verstehen, was hier vor sich geht. In der ersten Zeile wird die Umgebung so eingerichtet, dass sie symbolischen Verknüpfungen mit der Option-Direktive folgt. Dies kann notwendig sein oder auch nicht, aber einige Webhosts benutzen Symlinks (ähnlich dem Alias in MacOSX oder Shortcuts ist Windows) für häufige HTTP-Request-Fehler und das sind normalerweise symbolische Dateien, oder zumindest verstehe ich die Argumentation. Als nächstes sagen wir Apache, dass wir die Rewrite Engine verwenden werden. Die nächsten zwei Zeilen sind sehr, sehr wichtig, es beschränkt das Umschreiben von URLs nur auf Pfade, die eigentlich nicht existieren. Dies verhindert, dass die unten stehenden Regeln zum Beispiel mit example.com/images/logo.png übereinstimmen. Der erste verhindert vorhandene Verzeichnisse mit dem !-d-Flag und der zweite mit! -f ignoriert vorhandene Dateien.

Die nächsten drei Zeilen sind die eigentlichen URL-Rewriting-Befehle. Jede Zeile erstellt eine Regel, die versucht, ein Muster für reguläre Ausdrücke mit der eingehenden URL abzugleichen. Reguläre Ausdrücke, zumindest für mich, sind harte Regeln, an die man sich erinnern muss, aber ich finde es immer hilfreich, dieses Tutorial von Nettuts eigenem Jeffery Way und dem von ihm empfohlenen Werkzeug zu verwenden. Ich fand es einfach, Beispiel-URLs einzugeben, die wir abgleichen möchten, und versuchen dann, das Muster zu hacken.

Das erste Argument ist das Muster zwischen dem Caret und dem Dollarzeichen. Wir sagen Apache, dass wir URLs wollen, die nach dem Benutzerverzeichnis fragen (ein künstliches Verzeichnis, muss nicht wirklich existieren), gefolgt von einem / und einer beliebigen Länge von Zahlen. Die Klammern erzeugen eine Erfassungsgruppe, die Sie beliebig oft verwenden können. Sie dienen als Variablen, die wir dann in unsere Neuschreibung übernehmen können. Das Sternchen bedeutet, dass der Benutzer eingeben kann, was immer sie wollen, und es hat keinen Einfluss auf das Neuschreiben. Dies ist in erster Linie für einen abschließenden Schrägstrich gedacht. example.com/users/123 ist dasselbe wie example.com/users/123/ wie Benutzer erwarten würden.

Das zweite Argument ist der Pfad, den wir eigentlich nennen möchten, im Gegensatz zu dem ersten muss eine echte Datei sein. Wir weisen Apache an, im aktuellen Verzeichnis nach einer Datei namens profile.php zu suchen und den Parameter id=$1 mitzusenden. Erinnerst du dich an die Fanggruppe früher? Dort erhalten wir die Variable $1, Capture-Gruppen beginnen bei eins. Dies erstellt eine URL auf dem Server wie example.com/profile.php?id=123.

Diese Methode eignet sich hervorragend für Legacy-Webanwendungen mit vorhandenen URL-Strukturen, die verhindern, dass das Back-End einfach neu geschrieben wird, um ein neues URL-Schema zu verstehen, da die URL für den Server gleich aussieht, für den Benutzer jedoch viel schöner aussieht.

Mit PHP

Diese nächste Methode ist ideal für diejenigen, die nicht zu viel Logik an Apache verteilen und sich in PHP (oder ähnlichen Skriptsprachen) wohler fühlen möchten. Das Konzept besteht darin, jede URL, die der Server empfängt, zu erfassen und auf eine PHP-Controller-Seite zu übertragen. Dies bringt den zusätzlichen Vorteil der Kontrolle, aber gleichzeitig eine größere Komplexität mit sich. Ihre HTACCESS-Datei könnte etwa so aussehen:

Alles ist wie oben, außer der letzten Zeile, also werden wir darauf zu springen. Anstatt eine Capture-Gruppe zu erstellen, teilen wir Apache einfach mit, jede URL zu erfassen und sie an index.php umzuleiten. Das bedeutet, dass wir unsere gesamte URL-Verarbeitung in PHP durchführen können, ohne sich zu sehr auf stringente URL-Pfade in HTACCESS zu verlassen. Das können wir oben in unserer index.php-Datei tun, um die URL zu analysieren:

Die erste Zeile ist nicht notwendig, es sei denn, Ihre Anwendung lebt nicht im Stammverzeichnis, wie meine Demos. Ich entferne den Nonsense-Teil der URL, über den ich mich nicht kümmern soll. $ _SERVER ['REQUEST_URI'] ist eine globale Servervariable, die PHP bereitstellt und die Anforderungs-URL speichert. Sie sieht im Allgemeinen wie folgt aus:

Wie Sie sehen können, ist es im Grunde alles nach dem Domain-Namen. Als nächstes teilen wir den verbleibenden Teil des virtuellen Pfades auf und teilen ihn durch das Zeichen / auf, was uns erlaubt, einzelne Variablen zu erfassen. In meinem Beispiel habe ich einfach das $params-Array im Körper ausgedruckt, natürlich möchten Sie etwas Nützlicheres tun.

Eine Sache, die Sie tun können, ist, das erste Element des Arrays $params zu nehmen und eine Datei mit dem gleichen Namen einzufügen, und innerhalb der Datei können Sie das zweite Element im Array verwenden, um Code auszuführen. Das könnte etwa so aussehen:

ACHTUNG: Der erste Teil dieses Codes ist unglaublich wichtig! Sie müssen unbedingt einschränken, welche Seiten ein Benutzer erhalten kann, so dass er nicht die Möglichkeit hat, eine beliebige Seite auszudrucken, indem er auf Dateinamen wie eine Datenbankkonfigurationsdatei rät.

Jetzt, wo wir die Seifenkiste aus dem Weg haben, gehen wir weiter. Als nächstes prüfen wir, ob die angeforderte Datei im $safe_pages-Array enthalten ist, und wenn dies der Fall ist, schließen wir eine Seite 404 nicht gefunden ein. Auf der mitgelieferten Seite sehen Sie, dass Sie Zugriff auf das Array $params haben und Sie können alle Daten, die in Ihrer Anwendung benötigt werden, abrufen.

Dies ist ideal für diejenigen, die ein wenig mehr Kontrolle und Flexibilität wollen. Es erfordert offensichtlich viel zusätzlichen Code, also wahrscheinlich besser für neue Projekte, die nicht viel Code benötigen, um auf die neuen URL-Formate angepasst zu werden.

Ein einfacher URL-Kürzler

Dieser letzte Teil des Tutorials wird uns erlauben, den Code zu verwenden, den wir oben besprochen haben, und ist mehr oder weniger ein "reales" Beispiel. Wir werden einen Service namens shrtr erstellen, den ich so gemacht habe, dass alle anderen Produkte mit diesem Namen nicht mit dem Code, den ich unten posten, verbunden sind. Hinweis: Ich weiß, dass dies bei weitem kein originelles Konzept ist und nur zur Demonstration von mod_rewrite gedacht ist. Sehen wir uns zuerst die Datenbank an:

Wie Sie sehen können, ist dies sehr einfach, wir haben nur 4 Spalten:

  • ID: eindeutiger Bezeichner zum Verweis auf bestimmte Zeilen
  • short: Eine eindeutige Zeichenkette, die an das Ende unserer URL angehängt wird, um zu bestimmen, wohin umgeleitet werden soll
  • URL: Die URL, zu der die kurze URL verweist
  • created_at: ein einfacher Zeitstempel, damit wir wissen, wann diese URL erstellt wurde

Die Grundlagen

Als nächstes gehen wir auf die sechs Dateien ein, die wir für diese Anwendung erstellen müssen:

  • .htaccess: Leitet alle kurzen URLs in die Datei serve.php um
  • create.php: validiert URL, erstellt Shortcode, speichert in DB
  • css/style.css: enthält einige grundlegende Styling-Informationen
  • db_config.php: Speichern Sie Variablen für Datenbankverbindungen
  • index.php: Das Gesicht unserer Bewerbung mit Formular zur Eingabe der URL
  • serve.php: Sucht eine kurze URL und leitet sie zur tatsächlichen URL um

Das ist alles, was wir für unser grundlegendes Beispiel brauchen. Ich werde index.php oder css/style.css nicht sehr detailliert behandeln, da sie kein PHP haben und statische Dateien sind.

Das einzige wirklich Interessante hier ist, dass wir das Formular mit einem Feld namens URL an create.php senden.

Das ist alles sehr allgemein, macht aber unsere Anwendung ein wenig vorzeigbar.

Die letzte grundlegende Datei, die wir betrachten müssen, ist unsere db_config.php, die ich erstellt habe, um einige der Datenbankverbindungsinformationen zu abstrahieren.

Sie müssen die Werte mit dem ersetzen, was in Ihrer Datenbank funktioniert, und der Host ist wahrscheinlich localhost, aber Sie müssen sich bei Ihrem Hosting-Provider erkundigen, ob das möglich ist. Hier ist der SQL-Dump der Tabelle url_redirects, der alle Informationen enthält, die wir oben gezeigt haben:

Erstellen der kurzen URL

Als nächstes sehen wir uns den Code an, der zum Erstellen unserer kurzen URL erforderlich ist.

Jetzt werden wir ein bisschen komplexer! Zuerst müssen wir die Datenbankverbindungsvariablen einschließen, die wir zuvor erstellt haben, und dann speichern wir den URL-Parameter, der uns von dem Erstellungsformular in einer Variablen namens $url gesendet wurde. Als nächstes führen wir einige reguläre Ausdrücke durch, um zu prüfen, ob sie tatsächlich eine URL gesendet haben, wenn wir nicht einen Fehler speichern. Wenn der Benutzer eine gültige URL eingegeben hat, erstellen wir eine Verbindung zur Datenbank mithilfe der Verbindungsvariablen, die wir am Anfang der Seite einfügen. Als nächstes erzeugen wir eine zufällige 5-stellige Zeichenkette, die mit der Funktion substr in der Datenbank gespeichert wird. Die Zeichenfolge, die wir aufteilen, ist der md5-Hash der aktuellen time() und $url zusammen verkettet. Dann fügen wir diesen Wert zusammen mit der tatsächlichen URL in die Tabelle url_redirects ein und speichern eine Zeichenfolge, die dem Benutzer angezeigt wird. Wenn die Daten nicht eingefügt werden, speichern wir einen Fehler. Wenn Sie nach unten in den HTML-Teil der Seite gehen, drucken wir nur den Wert von $html, sei es Fehler oder Erfolg. Dies ist natürlich nicht die eleganteste Lösung, aber es funktioniert!

Die kurze URL bereitstellen

Also haben wir die URL in der Datenbank, lass uns an der serve.php arbeiten, so dass wir den Funktionscode tatsächlich in eine Weiterleitung übersetzen können.

Dieser ist der create.php sehr ähnlich. Wir fügen die Datenbankinformationen ein und speichern den uns zugesandten Funktionscode in einer Variablen namens $short. Als nächstes fragen wir die Datenbank nach der URL dieses Funktionscodes ab. Wenn wir ein Ergebnis bekommen, leiten wir auf die URL um, wenn nicht wie vorher ein Fehler ausgegeben wird.

Soweit PHP geht das ist alles, was wir tun müssen, aber im Moment eine kurze URL teilen Benutzer müssen dies eingeben, http://shrtr.me/server.php?short=SHORT_CODE nicht sehr hübsch ist es? Mal sehen, ob wir etwas mod_rewrite-Code einbauen können, um das schöner zu machen.

Pretty-ify mit HTACCESS

Von den beiden Methoden, über die ich zu Beginn des Tutorials geschrieben habe, werden wir den Apache verwenden, da diese Anwendung bereits ohne Berücksichtigung von URL-Parsing erstellt wurde. Der Code sieht ungefähr so aus:

Wenn wir auf die RewriteRule überspringen, leiten wir jeden Datenverkehr, der noch keine reale Datei oder ein Verzeichnis enthält, an die Datei serve.php und setzen die Erweiterung in die Variable GET kurz. Nicht zu schlecht, nein, probieren Sie es selbst aus!

Fazit

Heute haben wir ein paar verschiedene Methoden kennengelernt, um mod_rewrite in unserer Anwendung zu verwenden, um unsere URLs schön zu machen. Wie immer werde ich über die Kommentare wachen, wenn jemand Probleme hat, oder Sie können mich auf Twitter kontaktieren. Danke fürs Lesen!

  • Folgen Sie uns auf Twitter, oder abonnieren Sie den NETTUTS RSS-Feed für mehr tägliche Web-Entwicklungstuts und -artikel.


Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Video icon 64
Learning to code? Skill up faster with our practical video courses. Start your free trial today.
Advertisement

Using htaccess Files for Pretty URLS

by
Student iconAre you a student? Get a yearly Tuts+ subscription for $45 →

Continuing our review of htaccess files, today we'll examine how to use mod_rewrite to create pretty URLs.

Benefits of Formatted URLs

While some claim pretty URLs help in search engine rankings, the debate here is fierce, we can all agree that pretty URLs make things easier for our users and adds a level of professionalism and polish to any web application. I could go over all the theoretical reasons for this, but I like real-world examples better. Like it or hate it we all must admit that Twitter is a wildly popular web application and part of the reason for that is most certainly how it formats URLs. I can tell anyone in the know that my Twitter username is noahhendrix, and they know my profile can easily be found at twitter.com/noahhendrix. This seemingly simple concept has vast effects in the popularity of your application.

Just to put things in perspective we can look at another popular social networking website, Facebook. Since the site launched in 2004 the profile system has grown and evolved to better tailor to users, but one glaring hole was the URL to a profile. From the time I registered with Facebook my profile was at the URL http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1304880680. That is quite a mouth full, and just recently it appears Facebook has realized that and they launched Facebook vanity URLs. Now I can share my Facebook profile by telling people my Facebook username is "noahhendrix", which they know can be found by going to facebook.com/noahhendrix. While the odds are that we won't have an application as popular as Facebook, we can still borrow a few pages from their book.

Quick Overview

A quick overview before we dive into code, in today's tutorial we will go over two slightly different methods of creating pretty URLs using HTACCESS. The difference between the methods is whether Apache or PHP is doing the heavy lifting to break the URL apart for parsing. I want to point out that mod_rewrite tutorials are almost as old as the internet itself and this is not the first. At the end I will use one of the methods to create a simple application to show how these solutions would look in a real-live website (well not 100% production quality). The service we will create is a URL shortener that can mirrors the functionality of such sites like bit.ly, TinyURL, or su.pr. So without anymore fluff let us look at the code.

Using Apache

First, we can place all of our code in Apache .htaccess files. This could look something like this:

  Options +FollowSymLinks
  RewriteEngine On

  RewriteCond %{SCRIPT_FILENAME} !-d
  RewriteCond %{SCRIPT_FILENAME} !-f

  RewriteRule ^users/(\d+)*$ ./profile.php?id=$1
  RewriteRule ^threads/(\d+)*$ ./thread.php?id=$1

  RewriteRule ^search/(.*)$ ./search.php?query=$1

Let's start at the top and work our way down to better understand what is going on here. The first line sets the environment up to follow symbolic links using the Options directive. This may or may not be necessary, but some web hosts use symlinks (similar to alias in MacOSX or shortcuts is Windows) for common HTTP request errors and these are usually symlinked files, or at least this is how I understand the reasoning. Next we tell Apache we are going to use the Rewrite Engine. The next two lines are very, very important it restricts rewriting URLs only to paths that do not actually exists. This prevents the rules below from matching example.com/images/logo.png for example. The first prevents existing directories with the !-d flag and the second with !-f means ignore existing files.

The next three lines are the actual URL rewriting commands. Each line creates a rule that tries to match a regular expressions pattern against the incoming URL. Regular expressions, at least for me, are a hard set of rules to remember but I always find it helpful to use this tutorial by Nettut's own Jeffery Way and the tool he recommends. I found it easy to type in sample URLs we want to match and then try to hack together the pattern.

The first argument is the pattern, between the caret and dollar sign. We tell Apache we want URLs asking for the users directory (an artificial directory, doesn't have to actually exist) followed by a / and any length of numbers. The parenthesis create a capture group, you can use as many of these as you want, they serve as variables that we can then transplant into our rewrite. The asterisk means the user can enter whatever they want, and it won't affect the rewrite, this is primarily to handle a trailing slash so example.com/users/123 is the same as example.com/users/123/ as users would expect.

The second argument is the path we want to actually call, this unlike the first must be a real file. We tell Apache to look in the current directory for a file called profile.php and send the parameter id=$1 along with it. Remember the capture group earlier? That is where we get the variable $1, capture groups start at one. This creates a URL on the server like example.com/profile.php?id=123.

This method is great for legacy web applications that have existing URL structures that prevent us from easily rewriting the backend to understand a new URL schema because to the server the URL looks the same, but to the user it looks much nicer.

Using PHP

This next method is great for those who don't want to distribute too much logic to Apache and feel more comfortable in PHP (or similar scripting languages). The concept here is capture any URL the server receives and push it to a PHP controller page. This comes with the added benefit of control, but greater complexity at the same time. Your HTACCESS file might look something like this:

  Options +FollowSymLinks
  RewriteEngine On

  RewriteCond %{SCRIPT_FILENAME} !-d
  RewriteCond %{SCRIPT_FILENAME} !-f

  RewriteRule ^.*$ ./index.php

Everything is the same as above, except the last line so we will skip to it. Instead of creating a capture group we just tell Apache to grab every URL and redirect it to index.php. What this means is we can do all of our URL handling in PHP without relying too much on stringent URL paths in HTACCESS. Here is what we might do at the top of our index.php file to parse out the URL:

  <?php
    #remove the directory path we don't want
    $request  = str_replace("/envato/pretty/php/", "", $_SERVER['REQUEST_URI']);

    #split the path by '/' 
    $params     = split("/", $request);
  ?>

The first line is not necessary unless you application doesn't live at the root directory, like my demos. I am removing the non-sense part of the URL that I don't want PHP to worry about. $_SERVER['REQUEST_URI'] is a global server variable that PHP provides and stores the request URL, it generally looks like this:

  /envato/pretty/php/users/query

As you can see it is basically everything after the domain name. Next we split up the remaining part of the virtual path and split it by the / character this allows us to grab individual variables. In my example I just printed the $params array out in the body, of course you will want to do something a little more useful.

One thing you might do is take the first element of the $params array and include a file by that same name and within in the file you can use the second element in the array to execute some code. This might look something like this:

	 <?php
	   #keeps users from requesting any file they want
	   $safe_pages = array("users", "search", "thread");
	   
	   if(in_array($params[0], $safe_pages)) {
	     include($params[0].".php");
	   } else {
	     include("404.php");
	   }
	 ?>

WARNING: The first part of this code is unbelievably important! You absolutely must restrict what pages a user can get so they don't have the opportunity to print out any page they wish by guessing at file names, like a database configuration file.

Now that we have the soapbox out of the way let's move on. Next we check if the requested file is in the $safe_pages array, and if it is we include otherwise will include a 404 not found page. In the included page you will see that you have access to the $params array and you can grab whatever data from it that is necessary in your application.

This is great for those who want a little more control and flexibility. It obviously requires quite a bit extra code, so probably better for new projects that won't require a lot of code to be updated to fit the new URL formats.

A Simple URL Shortner

This last part of the tutorial is going to let us put some use to the code we went over above, and is more or less a "real-life" example. We are going to create a service called shrtr, I made up this name so any other products with this name are not associated with the code I am posting below. Note: I know this is by far not an original concept, and is only meant for demonstration of mod_rewrite. First let's take a look at the database:

As you can see this is very straightforward, we have only 4 columns:

  • id: unique identifier used to reference specific rows
  • short: unique string of characters appended to the end of our URL to determine where to redirect
  • url: the URL that the short url redirects to
  • created_at: a simple timestamp so we know when this URL was created

The Basics

Next, let's go over the six files we need to create for this application:

  • .htaccess: redirects all short urls to serve.php
  • create.php: validates URL, creates shortcode, saves to DB
  • css/style.css: holds some basic styling information
  • db_config.php: store variables for database connections
  • index.php: The face of our application with form for entering URL
  • serve.php: looks up short URL and redirects to actual URL

That is all we need for our basic example. I will not cover index.php or css/style.css in very great detail because they are have no PHP, and are static files.

# index.php
----
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">
<html>
  <head>
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
    <title>Makes URLs Shrtr</title>
    <link type="text/css" rel="stylesheet" href="./css/style.css" />
	</head>
	<body>
	 <div id="pagewrap">
  	 <h1>shrt<span class="r">r</span>.me</h1>
  	 
  	 <div class="body">
  	   <form action="./create.php" method="post">
  	   
  	     <span class="instructions">Type your URL here</span>
  	     <input name="url" type="text" />
  	     <input type="submit" value="shrtr" />
  	   
  	   </form>
  	 </div>
	   
	 </div>
	</body>
</html>

The only real interesting to note here is that we submit the form with a field called URL to create.php.

# css/style.css
----
/* reset */
* {
  font-family: Helvetica, sans-serif;
  margin: 0;
  padding: 0;
}

/* site */
html, body { background-color: #008AB8; }
a { color: darkblue; text-decoration: none;}

  #pagewrap {
    margin: 0 auto;
    width: 405px;
  }
  
    h1 {
      color: white;
      margin: 0;
      text-align: center;
      font-size: 100px;
    }
      h1 .r { color: darkblue; }
    
    .body {
      -moz-border-radius: 10px;
      -webkit-border-radius: 10px;
      background-color: white;
      text-align: center;
      padding: 50px;
      height: 80px;
      position: relative;
    }
    
      .body .instructions {
        display: block;
        margin-bottom: 10px;
      }
      .body .back {
        right: 15px;
        top: 10px;
        position: absolute;
      }
      
      .body input[type=text] {
        display: block;
        font-size: 20px;
        margin-bottom: 5px;
        text-align: center;
        padding: 5px;
        height: 20px;
        width: 300px;
      }

That is all very generic, but makes our application a little more presentable.

The last basic file we need to look at is our db_config.php, I created this to abstract some of the database connection information.

# db_config.php
----
<?php

  $database = "DATABASE_NAME";
  $username = "USERNAME";
  $password = "PASSWORD";
  $host     = "localhost";

?>

You need to replace the values with what works in your database, and host is probably localhost, but you need to double check with your hosting provider to make sure. Here is the SQL dump of the table, url_redirects that holds all the information we showed above:

--
-- Table structure for table `url_redirects`
--

CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS `url_redirects` (
  `id` int(11) NOT NULL auto_increment,
  `short` varchar(10) NOT NULL,
  `url` varchar(255) NOT NULL,
  `created_at` timestamp NOT NULL default CURRENT_TIMESTAMP,
  PRIMARY KEY  (`id`),
  KEY `short` (`short`)
) ENGINE=MyISAM  DEFAULT CHARSET=utf8;

Creating the Short URL

Next lets look at the code necessary to create our short URL.

# create.php
----
<?php
  require("./db_config.php");
  
  $url = $_REQUEST['url'];
  
  if(!preg_match("/^[a-zA-Z]+[:\/\/]+[A-Za-z0-9\-_]+\\.+[A-Za-z0-9\.\/%&=\?\-_]+$/i", $url)) {
    $html = "Error: invalid URL";
  } else {
    
    $db = mysql_connect($host, $username, $password);
    
      $short = substr(md5(time().$url), 0, 5);
    
      if(mysql_query("INSERT INTO `".$database."`.`url_redirects` (`short`, `url`) VALUES ('".$short."', '".$url."');", $db)) {
        $html = "Your short URL is<br />shrtr.me/".$short;
      } else {
        $html = "Error: cannot find database";
      }
    
    mysql_close($db);
  }
?>

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">
<html>
  <head>
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
    <title>Makes URLs Shrtr</title>
    <link type="text/css" rel="stylesheet" href="./css/style.css" />
	</head>
	<body>
	 <div id="pagewrap">
  	 <h1>shrt<span class="r">r</span>.me</h1>
  	 
  	 <div class="body">
  	   <?= $html ?>
  	   <br /><br />
  	   <span class="back"><a href="./">X</a></span>
  	 </div>
	   
	 </div>
	</body>
</html>

Now we are getting a bit more complex! First we need to include the database connection variables we created earlier, then we store the URL parameter sent to us by the create form in a variable called $url. Next we do some regular expressions magic to check if they actually sent a URL, if not we store an error. If the user entered a valid URL we create a connection to the database using the connection variables we include at the top of page. Next we generate a random 5 character string to save to the database, using the substr function. The string we split up is the md5 hash of the current time() and $url concatenated together. Then we insert that value into the url_redirects table along with the actual URL, and store a string to present to the user. If it fails to insert the data we store an error. If you move down into the HTML part of the page all we do is print out the value of $html, be it error or success. This obviously isn't the most elegant solution but it works!

Serving the Short URL

So we have the URL in the database let's work on serve.php so we can actually translate the short code into a redirect.

<?php
  require("./db_config.php");

  $short = $_REQUEST['short'];

  $db = mysql_connect($host, $username, $password);    
    $query = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM `".$database."`.`url_redirects` WHERE `short`='".mysql_escape_string($short)."' LIMIT 1", $db);
    $row = mysql_fetch_row($query);

    if(!empty($row)) {
      Header("HTTP/1.1 301 Moved Permanently");
      header("Location: ".$row[2]."");
    } else {
      $html = "Error: cannot find short URL";
    }

  mysql_close($db);
?>

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">
<html>
  <head>
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
    <title>Makes URLs Shrtr</title>
    <link type="text/css" rel="stylesheet" href="./css/style.css" />
	</head>
	<body>
	 <div id="pagewrap">
  	 <h1>shrt<span class="r">r</span>.me</h1>

  	 <div class="body">
  	   <?= $html ?>
  	   <br /><br />
  	   <span class="back"><a href="./">X</a></span>
  	 </div>

	 </div>
	</body>
</html>

This one is very similar to create.php we include the database information, and store the short code sent to us in a variable called $short. Next we query the database for the URL of that short code. If we get a result we redirect to the URL, if not we print out an error like before.

As far as PHP goes that is all we need to do, but at the moment to share a short URL users must enter this, http://shrtr.me/server.php?short=SHORT_CODE not very pretty is it? Let's see if we can't incorporate some mod_rewrite code to make this nicer.

Pretty-ify With HTACCESS

Of the two methods I wrote about at the beginning of the tutorial we will use the Apache one because this application is already created without considering any URL parsing. The code will look something like this:

  Options +FollowSymLinks
  RewriteEngine On

  RewriteCond %{SCRIPT_FILENAME} !-d
  RewriteCond %{SCRIPT_FILENAME} !-f


  RewriteRule ^(\w+)$ ./serve.php?short=$1

Skipping to the RewriteRule we are directing any traffic that doesn't already have a real file or directory to serve.php and putting the extension in the GET variable short. Not to bad no go try it out for yourself!

Conclusion

Today we learned a few different ways to utilize mod_rewrite in our application to make our URLs pretty. As always I will be watching over the comments if anybody has trouble, or you can contact me on twitter. Thanks for reading!


Advertisement