Unlimited Plugins, WordPress themes, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Web Development
Code

Загрузка файлов с помощью AJAX

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

Russian (Pусский) translation by Marat Amerov (you can also view the original English article)

Кажется, я не могу дойти до конца интересных возможностей, которые вы можете применить с появляющимися веб-технологиями. Сегодня я покажу вам, как сделать что-то, что до последнего времени было почти беспрецедентным: загрузка файлов через AJAX.

О, конечно, были хаки; но если вы похожи на меня и чувствуете себя грязными каждый раз, когда вы вводите iframe, вам это очень понравится. Присоединяйтесь ко мне!

Ищете быстрое решение?

Если вы ищете быстрое решение, на Envato Market имеется большая коллекция скриптов и приложений для загрузки файлов.

Этот HTML5 загрузчик файлов  особенно примечателен - вы можете легко добавлять файлы, перетаскивая их или кликая. Все файлы будут загружены через AJAX или могут быть добавлены в форму, и файлы могут быть переименованы перед загрузкой. Отличное, быстрое решение, если это то, что вы ищете!


У нас имеются плохие новости?

Это не работает во всех браузерах. Однако с некоторым прогрессивным улучшением (или каким бы то ни было текущим модным словом) у нас будет страница загрузки, которая будет работать даже в IE6 (хотя и без черт AJAX).

Наша  AJAX-загрузка будет работать до тех пор, пока доступен FormData; в противном случае пользователь получит обычную загрузку.

В нашем проекте есть три основных компонента.

  • multiple атрибуты элемента input файла.
  • Объект FileReader из нового API файлов.
  • Объект FormData из XMLHttpRequest2.

Мы используем атрибут multiple, чтобы позволить пользователю выбирать несколько файлов для загрузки (многократная загрузка файлов будет работать нормально, даже если FormData недоступен). Как вы увидите, FileReader позволяет нам показывать миниатюры загружаемых файлов (мы будем ожидать изображения).

Ни одна из наших трех функций не работает в IE9, поэтому все пользователи IE получат нормальную загрузку (хотя я понимаю, что поддержка `FileReader` доступна в IE10 Dev Preview 2). FileReader не работает в последней версии Safari (5.1), поэтому они не получат миниатюры, но они получат загрузку AJAX и подтверждение. Наконец, Opera 10.50 поддерживает FileReader, но не поддерживает FormData, поэтому он получит миниатюры, но обычную загрузку.

Чтобы продолжить путь, давайте приступим к кодированию!


Шаг 1: Разметка и стилизация

Начнем с некоторой базовой разметки и стилизации. Конечно, это не основная часть этого урока, я не буду относиться к вам как к новичку.

HTML-код

Довольно просто, не так ли? У нас есть форма, в которая отправляется post'ом на upload.php, который мы рассмотрим через секунду, и один элемент ввода, типа file. Обратите внимание, что он имеет boolean-атрибут multiple, который позволяет пользователю одновременно выбирать несколько файлов.

Это действительно все, что нужно было здесь увидеть. Давайте двигаться дальше.

CSS

Здесь нет абсолютно никаких особенностей.


Шаг 2: PHP

Мы также должны иметь возможность обрабатывать загрузки файлов на стороне сервера, поэтому давайте рассмотрим это далее.

upload.php

Имейте в виду, что это были первые строки на PHP, которые я написал с легкостью первый год (я парень из Ruby). Вероятно, вам стоит немного позаботиться о безопасности; однако мы просто следим за тем, чтобы не было ошибок при загрузке. Мы используем встроенную функцию move_uploaded_file, чтобы переместить файл в папку uploads. Не забудьте убедиться, что папка доступна для записи.

Итак, прямо сейчас у нас должна быть рабочая форма загрузки. Вы выбираете изображение (несколько, если хотите, и ваш браузер это позволяет), нажмите кнопку “Upload Files!”, и вы получите сообщение “Successfully Uploaded Images.”

Вот как выглядит наш мини-проект:

The styled form

Но, сейчас 2011 год: мы хотим большего. Вы заметите, что мы связали jQuery и файл upload.js. Давайте рассмотрим это подробней.


Шаг 3: JavaScript

Давайте не будем терять время: здесь начнем!

Вот с чего мы начинаем. Мы создаем две переменные: input - это наш элемент ввода файла; formdata будет использоваться для отправки изображений на сервер, если браузер поддерживает это. Мы инициализируем его значением false, а затем проверяем, поддерживает ли браузер FormData; Если это так, мы создаем новый объект FormData. Кроме того, если мы можем отправить изображения с помощью AJAX, нам не нужна кнопка “Upload Images!”, Поэтому мы можем скрыть ее. Почему нам это не нужно? Ну, мы собираемся автоматически загружать изображения сразу после того, как пользователь их выбирает.

Остальная часть JavaScript войдет в вашу анонимную функцию. Затем мы создадим небольшую вспомогательную функцию, которая будет отображать изображения в браузере:

Функция принимает один параметр: источник изображения (мы увидим, как его получать). Затем мы просто находим список в нашей разметке и создаем элемент списка и изображение. Мы установили источник изображения в полученный нами источник, поместили изображение в элемент списка и поместили элемент списка в список. Вуаля!

Затем мы должны фактически отображать изображения, отображать их и загружать. Как мы уже говорили, мы это сделаем, когда событие onchange будет запущено на входном элементе.

Нам не нужно беспокоиться о проприетарной модели событий IE, потому что IE9 + поддерживает стандартную функцию addEventListener.

Там доступно больше возможностей, но давайте начнем с этого. Во-первых, нам не нужно беспокоиться о проприетарной модели событий IE, потому что IE9 + поддерживает стандартную функцию addEventListener (а IE9 и ниже не поддерживают новые функции).

Итак, что мы хотим делать, когда пользователь выбрал файлы? Во-первых, мы создаем несколько переменных. Единственный важный момент сейчас - это len = this.files.length. Файлы, которые пользователь выбрал, будут доступны из объекта this.files. Прямо сейчас, нас беспокоит только свойство length, поэтому мы можем перебирать файлы ...

... это именно то, что мы делаем дальше. Внутри нашего цикла мы устанавливаем текущий файл в file для удобства доступа. Следующее, что мы делаем, это подтверждение того, что файл является изображением. Мы можем сделать это, сравнивая свойство type с регулярным выражением. Мы ищем тип, начинающийся с "image", за которым следует что-либо. (Двойной знак восклицания впереди просто преобразует результат в булев тип.)

Итак, что нам делать, если у нас есть изображение на руках?

Мы проверяем, поддерживает ли браузер создание объектов FileReader. Если это произойдет, мы его создадим.

Вот как мы используем объект FileReader: мы собираемся передать наш объект file методу reader.readAsDataURL. Это создает URL-адрес для загруженного изображения. Однако это не работает так, как вы ожидали. URL-адрес данных не возвращается из функции. Вместо этого URL-адрес данных будет частью объекта события.

Имея это в виду, нам нужно зарегистрировать функцию на событие reader.onloadend. Эта функция принимает объект события, с помощью которого мы получаем URL-адрес данных: он находится на e.target.result (да, e.target является объектом reader, но у меня были проблемы при использовании reader вместо e.target внутри этой функции) , Мы просто передадим этот URL-адрес нашей функции showUploadedItem (которую мы написали выше).

Затем мы проверяем объект formdata. Помните, что если браузер поддерживает FormData, formdata будет объектом FormData; в противном случае оно будет false. Итак, если у нас есть объект FormData, мы будем вызывать метод append. Цель объекта FormData - хранить значения, которые вы отправляете через форму; поэтому метод append просто берет ключ и значение. В нашем случае наш ключ - images[]; добавив квадратные скобки к концу, мы проверяем каждый раз, что append добавляет другое значение, мы фактически добавляем его к этому массиву, а не переписываем свойство image.

Мы почти закончили. В нашем цикле for мы отобразили каждое изображение для пользователя и добавили его в объект formdata. Теперь нам просто нужно загрузить изображения. Снаружи цикла for, вот последний фрагмент нашего пазла:

Опять же, мы должны убедиться, что у нас есть поддержка FormData; если мы этого не сделаем, кнопка “Upload Files!” будет видна, и пользователь загрузит фотографии. Однако, если у нас есть поддержка FormData, мы позаботимся о загрузке через AJAX. Мы используем jQuery для обработки всех особенностей AJAX во всех браузерах.

Вероятно, вы знакомы с методом $.ajax jQuery: вы передаете ему объект options. Свойства url, type и success обязательны. Свойством data является наш объект formdata. Обратите внимание на свойства processData и contentType. Согласно документации jQuery, processData по умолчанию является true и будет обрабатывать и преобразовывать данные в строку запроса. Мы не хотим этого делать, поэтому мы устанавливаем значение false. Мы также устанавливаем contentType в false, чтобы убедиться, что данные попадают на сервер, как мы и ожидаем.

Вот и все. Теперь, когда пользователь загружает страницу, они видят это:

Tutorial Image

И после того, как они выберут изображения, они увидят это:

Tutorial Image

Так же были загружены изображения:

Tutorial Image

Заключение

Загрузка файлов через AJAX довольно крутая, и здорово, что эти новые технологии поддерживают это без необходимости многословных хаков. Если у вас есть какие-либо вопросы о том, что мы здесь сделали, напишите это в комментариях! Большое вам спасибо за чтение!

И если вам по-прежнему нужна помощь в этой или любой другой проблеме с кодингом, вы можете найти решение в Envato Studio.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
JavaScript & AJAX

Uploading Files with AJAX

by

I can’t seem to reach the end of the fun stuff you can do with emerging web technologies. Today, I’m going to show you how to do something that—until the last while—has been almost unprecedented: uploading files via AJAX.

Oh, sure, there have been hacks; but if you’re like me, and feel dirty every time you type iframe, you’re going to like this a lot. Join me after the jump!


Why don’t we get the bad news over with?

This doesn’t work in every browser. However, with some progressive enhancement (or whatever the current buzzword is), we’ll have an upload page that will work right back to IE6 (albeit without the AJAXy bits).

Our AJAX upload will work as long as FormData is available; otherwise, the user will get a normal upload.

There are three main components to our project.

  • The multiple attribute on the file input element.
  • The FileReader object from the new File API.
  • The FormData object from XMLHttpRequest2.

We use the multiple attribute to allow the user to select multiple files for upload (multiple file upload will work normally even if FormData isn’t available). As you’ll see, FileReader allows us to show the user thumbnails of the files they’re uploading (we’ll be expecting images).

None of our three features work in IE9, so all IE users will get a normal upload experience (though I understand support for `FileReader` is available in IE10 Dev Preview 2). FileReader doesn’t work in the latest version of Safari (5.1), so they won’t get the thumbnails, but they’ll get the AJAX upload and the confirmation message. Finally, Opera 10.50 has FileReader support but not FormData support, so they’ll get thumbnails, but normal uploads.

With that out of the way, let’s get coding!


Step 1: The Markup and Styling

Let’s start with some basic markup and styling. Of course, this isn’t the main part of this tutorial, I won’t treat you like a newbie.

The HTML

<!DOCTYPE html>
<html lang="en">
<head>
  <meta charset="UTF-8" />
  <title>HTML5 File API</title>
  <link rel="stylesheet" href="style.css" />
</head>
<body>
  <div id="main">
    <h1>Upload Your Images</h1>
    <form method="post" enctype="multipart/form-data"  action="upload.php">
      <input type="file" name="images" id="images" multiple />
      <button type="submit" id="btn">Upload Files!</button>
    </form>

    <div id="response"></div>
    <ul id="image-list">

    </ul>
  </div>

  <script src="https://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.6.2/jquery.min.js"></script>
  <script src="upload.js"></script>
</body>
</html>

Pretty basic, eh? We’ve got a form that posts to upload.php, which we’ll look at in a second, and a single input element, of type file. Notice that it has the boolean multiple attribute, which allows the user to select multiple files at once.

That’s really all there is to see here. Let’s move on.

The CSS

body {
  font: 14px/1.5 helvetica-neue, helvetica, arial, san-serif;
  padding:10px;
}

h1 {
  margin-top:0;
}

#main {
  width: 300px;
  margin:auto;
  background: #ececec;
  padding: 20px;
  border: 1px solid #ccc;
}

#image-list {
  list-style:none;
  margin:0;
  padding:0;
}
#image-list li {
  background: #fff;
  border: 1px solid #ccc;
  text-align:center;
  padding:20px;
  margin-bottom:19px;
}
#image-list li img {
  width: 258px;
  vertical-align: middle;
  border:1px solid #474747;
}

Absolutely no shockers here.


Step 2: The PHP

We need to be able to handle the file uploads on the back end as well, so let’s cover that next.

upload.php

<?php

foreach ($_FILES["images"]["error"] as $key => $error) {
  if ($error == UPLOAD_ERR_OK) {
    $name = $_FILES["images"]["name"][$key];
    move_uploaded_file( $_FILES["images"]["tmp_name"][$key], "uploads/" . $_FILES['images']['name'][$key]);
  }
}

echo "<h2>Successfully Uploaded Images</h2>";

Bear in mind that these were the first lines of PHP I’d written in easily a year (I’m a Ruby guy). You should probably be doing a bit more for security; however, we’re simply making sure that there are no upload errors. If that’s the case, we use the built-in move_uploaded_file to move it to an uploads folder. Don’t forget to make sure that the folder is writable.

So, right now, we should have a working upload form. You choose an image (multiple, if you want to and your browser lets you), click the “Upload Files!” button, and you get the message “Successfully Uploaded Images.

Here’s what our mini-project looks like so far:

The styled form

But, come on, it’s 2011: we want more than that. You’ll notice that we’ve linked up jQuery and an upload.js file. Let’s crack that open now.


Step 3: The JavaScript

Let’s not waste time: here we go!

(function () {
  var input = document.getElementById("images"),
      formdata = false;
    
  if (window.FormData) {
    formdata = new FormData();
    document.getElementById("btn").style.display = "none";
  }
  

}();

Here’s what we start with. We create two variables: input is our file input element; formdata will be used to send the images to the server if the browser supports that. We initialize it to false and then check to see if the browser supports FormData; If it does, we create a new FormData object. Also, if we can submit the images with AJAX, we don’t need the “Upload Images!” button, so we can hide it. Why don’t we need it? Well, we’re going to auto-magically upload the images immediately after the user selects them.

The rest of the JavaScript will go inside your anonymous self-invoking function. We next create a little helper function that will show the images once the browser has them:

function showUploadedItem (source) {
  var list = document.getElementById("image-list"),
      li   = document.createElement("li"),
      img  = document.createElement("img");
    img.src = source;
    li.appendChild(img);
  list.appendChild(li);
}

The function takes one parameter: the image source (we’ll see how we get that soon). Then, we simply find the list in our markup and create a list item and image. We set the image source to the source we received, put the image in the list item, and put the list item in the list. Voila!

Next, we have to actually take the images, display them, and upload them. As we’ve said, we’ll do this when the onchange event is fired on the input element.

if (input.addEventListener) {
  input.addEventListener("change", function (evt) {
    var i = 0, len = this.files.length, img, reader, file;
    
    document.getElementById("response").innerHTML = "Uploading . . ."
    
    for ( ; i < len; i++ ) {
      file = this.files[i];
  
      if (!!file.type.match(/image.*/)) {

      } 
    }
      
  }, false);
}

We don’t have to worry about IE’s proprietary event model, because IE9+ supports the standard addEventListener function.

There’s more, but let’s start with this. First off, we don’t have to worry about IE’s proprietary event model, because IE9+ supports the standard addEventListener function (and IE9 and down don’t support our new features).

So, what do we want to do when the user has selected files? First, we create a few variables. The only important one right now is len = this.files.length. The files that the user has selected will be accessible from the object this.files. Right now, we’re only concerned with the length property, so we can loop over the files …

… which is exactly what we’re doing next. Inside our loop, we set the current file to file for ease of access. Next thing we do is confirm that the file is an image. We can do this by comparing the type property with a regular expression. We’re looking for a type that starts with “image” and is followed by anything. (The double-bang in front just converts the result to a boolean.)

So, what do we do if we have an image on our hands?

if ( window.FileReader ) {
  reader = new FileReader();
  reader.onloadend = function (e) { 
    showUploadedItem(e.target.result);
  };
  reader.readAsDataURL(file);
}
if (formdata) {
  formdata.append("images[]", file);
}

We check to see if the browser supports creating FileReader objects. If it does, we’ll create one.

Here’s how we use a FileReader object: We’re going to pass our file object to the reader.readAsDataURL method. This creates a data url for the uploaded image. It doesn’t work the way you might expect, though. The data url isn’t passed back from the function. Instead, the data url will be part of an event object.

With that in mind, we'll need to register a function on the reader.onloadend event. This function takes an event object, by which we get the data url: it’s at e.target.result (yes, e.target is the reader object, but I had issues when using reader in place of e.target inside this function). We’re just going to pass this data url to our showUploadedItem function (which we wrote above).

Next, we check for the formdata object. Remember, if the browser supports FormData, formdata will be a FormData object; otherwise, it will be false. So, if we have a FormData object, we’re going to call the append method. The purpose of a FormData object is to hold values that you’re submitting via a form; so, the append method simply takes a key and a value. In our case, our key is images[]; by adding the square-brackets to the end, we make sure each time we append another value, we’re actually appending it to that array, instead of overwriting the image property.

We’re almost done. In our for loop, we’ve displayed each of the images for the user and added them to the formdata object. Now, we just need to upload the images. Outside the for loop, here’s the last piece of our puzzle:

if (formdata) {
  $.ajax({
    url: "upload.php",
    type: "POST",
    data: formdata,
    processData: false,
    contentType: false,
    success: function (res) {
      document.getElementById("response").innerHTML = res; 
    }
  });
}

Again, we have to make sure we have FormData support; if we don’t, the “Upload Files!” button will be visible, and that’s how the user will upload the photos. However, if we have FormData support, we’ll take care of uploading via AJAX. We’re using jQuery to handle all the oddities of AJAX across browsers.

You’re probably familiar with jQuery’s $.ajax method: you pass it an options object. The url, type, and success properties should be obvious. The data property is our formdata object. Notice those processData and contentType properties. According to jQuery’s documentation, processData is true by default, and will process and transform the data into a query string. We don’t want to do that, so we set this to false. We’re also setting contentType to false to make sure that data gets to the server as we expect it to.

And that’s it. Now, when the user loads the page, they see this:

Tutorial Image

And after they select the images, they’ll see this:

Tutorial Image

And the images have been uploaded:

Tutorial Image

That’s a Wrap!

Uploading files via AJAX is pretty cool, and it’s great that these new technologies support that without the need for lengthy hacks. If you’ve got any questions about what we’ve done here, hit those comments! Thank you so much for reading!

Related Posts
  • Computer Skills
    Hardware
    How to Check and Enable TRIM on a Mac SSDTrim preview retina
    You probably know that solid state drives (SSD) differ from Hard Disk Drives (HDD) in how they store information, and you may have heard that something called TRIM can maintain their performance. In this tutorial, I’ll not only show you how you can enable TRIM support for your SSDs, but also understand what the term means and how it fits into the functionality of solid state storage.Read More…
  • Computer Skills
    App Training
    Quick Tip: Customize the TerminalCustomizeterminal preview retina
    It’s safe to say that many Mac users will only rarely be seeing the Terminal. In our age of gorgeous UI, or User Interface, design and there’s an app for that, the need to do things the old fashioned way is diminishing. Nevertheless, when you do find yourself at the command line, you can make it look less intimidating or more like it does in the movies. In this tutorial I'll show you how you can use Terminal’s deep customization tools to spruce up the look of the app to suit your preferences. Read More…
  • Code
    JavaScript & AJAX
    Getting Into Ember.js: Part 5Getting into ember
    Editor's Note: The Ember.js team has shifted to an expedited release schedule and as of this publication date are on version 1.2.0. This tutorial was written pre-v1.0 but many of the concepts are still applicable. We do our best to commission timely content and these situations happen from time-to-time. We'll work to update this in the future. In part 3 of my Ember series, I showed you how you can interact with data using Ember's Ember.Object main base class to create objects that define the methods and properties that act as a wrapper for your data. Here's an example:Read More…
  • Code
    PHP
    How to Accept Payments With StripeCode
    Processing credit cards is unfortunately far more difficult than we might hope, as developers. Given that it’s such a common task, is it really necessary that we jump through countless hoops (surrounded by fire, of course) for the sole purpose of processing a payment? Merchants? Gateways? SSL? Security? Very quickly, a seemingly simple operation can become an overwhelmingly confusing and, more importantly, dangerous task. Any time that you find yourself handling a user’s sensitive data, you better be on your toes. Read More…
  • Computer Skills
    Terminal
    40 Terminal Tips and Tricks You Never Thought You NeededIcon terminal 2x
    The Terminal is an exceptionally powerful tool, providing a command line interface to the underpinnings of OS X. It’s a topic we’ve covered at length before with our popular series Taming the Terminal. There’s a great deal that Terminal can do, from moving large numbers of files to changing preferences that we didn’t even know exist. To demonstrate just how versatile the Terminal is, I’ve rounded up 40 truly excellent Terminal tips and tricks that can come in very handy. Read More…
  • Code
    jQuery
    The State of jQuery in 2013Code
    A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away, JavaScript was a hated language. In fact, “hated” is an understatement; JavaScript was a despised language. Consequently, developers generally treated it as such, only tipping their toes into the JavaScript waters when they needed to sprinkle a bit of flair into their applications. Some form validation here, an image slider there. Despite the fact that there is a whole lot of good in the JavaScript language, due to widespread ignorance, few took the time to properly learn it.Read More…