Unlimited Plugins, WordPress themes, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Designing
Code

تصميم واجهة المستخدم للمطورين: مقدمة

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by ahmadgaradh (you can also view the original English article)

المصممين مقابل المطورين- هذا جدال قديم منذ قدم أجهزة الحاسوب. والحقيقة، على الرغم من ذلك، لا يمكن لأحدهم أن يعيش دون الآخر. تصميم واجهة مستخدم رائعة لا قيمة لها دون أداء جيد و كذلك لا قيمة لأفضل تعليمات برمجية مع وجود واجهة قبيحة، فتصبح غير قابلة للاستخدام. في هذا المنشور الأول في "أساسيات واجهة المستخدم للمطورين"، سأحاول وضع بعض القواعد الأساسية البسيطة التي يمكن أن تتتبع المشروعات الإنمائية للتأكد من تطبيقاتها و قوالبها ونماذجها لكي تكون جميلة بقدر التعليمات البرمجية نفسها--والتي يمكن استخدامها للتمهيد.

تأمل: أن الانطباع الأول هو الانطباع الأخير.


المحاذاة

المحاذاة تشير إلى الموقف أو التوجه لعنصر و علاقته بعنصر آخر أو إلى نفسه. عندما نشير إلى عنصرين يتم محاذاتهما إلى بعضها البعض، فإن المحاذاة عادة تشير إلى أي جانب لكلا العنصرين موجود في الخط. في سياق النص، تشير المحاذاة إلى الجانب الذي يرتكز عليه النص في خط مستقيم

تصميم النموذج

Alignment of form fields

في الصورة أعلاه، في المثال الثاني من تصميم نموذج بسيط تظهر التسميات التي يتم محاذاتها إلى اليمين لبعضها البعض مع حقول الإدخال التي يتم محاذاتها إلى اليسار. وهذا ما يضمن أن الرابطة بين كل تسمية وحقل الإدخال الخاص بها واضح و المستخدم لا يتصعب اذا كانت بعض التسميات صغيرة جداً بينما البعض الآخر طويل.

تأمل: تأكد من أن حقول الإدخال ليست بعيدة جداً عن أطول تسمية. إذا كان الفرق في العرض صغير، حاول محاذاة التسميات الى اليمين ومحاذاة حقول الإدخال الى اليسار.

نص

Text alignment

للنص، من المثالي استخدام محاذاة اليسار عند التصميم للشاشة. نظرًا لأن معظم طرق العرض على مختلف انواع الشاشات غير قادرة على توزيع المساحة بشكل مناسب عند ضبط النص من كلا الجانبين، المحاذاة ليسار تبقي النص قابل للقراءة ومنظم تنظيماً جيدا. يمكنك، بطبيعة الحال، استخدام المحاذاة للمركز و إلى اليمين بحسب ما يتطلبه التصميم، ولكن تلك عادةً ما تكون محجوزة للحالات الخاصة وقطع أصغر من النص.


تدفق

والغرض الرئيسي من أي واجهة مستخدم هو السماح للمستخدم التعامل مع التطبيق. و هذا، صدقوا أو لا تصدقوا، لن يكون ممكناً إلا إذا أخبرت المستخدم ما يحتاج للقيام به وفي أي ترتيب. نظراً لأنك لن تكون موجوداً وراء كل مستخدم لمساعدته في هذا، تحتاج الواجهة لتوفير جميع الارشادات. وفيما يلي بعض الأسئلة التي تسأل عند تقييم ما إذا كان سير العمل المقصود مناسباً ام لا:

  • ما مدى أهمية تنفيذ المهمة في مجموعة مرتبة من الخطوات؟
  • هل من الواضح للمستخدم من أين يجب ان يبدأ وماذا يفعل بعد ذلك؟
  • هل النتيجة المقصودة مذكورة أم ضمنية - ضمنيًا ، إن لم يكن صراحةً؟
Search with category selection n iStockPhoto

لنأخذ على سبيل المثال تحديد فئة البحث في iStockPhoto. في هذه الحالة، يمكنني اما البحث عن كل شيء أو اختيار فئة معينة للحد من عمليات بحثي عن هذا النوع من المعلومات. بما ان الفعل الأولي هو إدخال مصطلح بحث والضغط على "بحث" وهذه الأشياء ينبغي أن تكون واضحة إلى حد ما. و يمكن عمل خطوة اضافية و هي تحديد فئة البحث، والتي يمكن أن تكون كقائمة منسدلة بين (ما فكرت به صحيح) حقل البحث والزر بحث.

The income/expense entry dialog in cashbase

وثمة مثال آخر وهو مربع الحوار إدخال الدخل/المصروفات في تطبيق cashbase، يتم ترتيب الحقول وفقا لسير عمل نموذجي سيستخدمه شخص ما لتسجيل هذه المعلومات: أدخل المبلغ (الذي هو أهم عنصر)، حدد فئة، إضافة ملاحظة إذا لزم الأمر، وانقر فوق إضافة. المعلومات الثانوية التي سيتم استخدامها أقل بكثير في كثير من الأحيان-مثل التاريخ و الذي يكون افتراضياً هو اليوم، وخيار تكرار أو إلغاء- تكون متاحة، ولكن أكثر مكرا.

مزيد من القراءة:


تقريب

ينبغي تجميع العناصر ذات الصلة في واجهة واحدة معا. وهذا قد يبدو وكأنه الحس السليم عندما أذكر ذلك، ولكن لا يفهم دائماً بشكل جيد. السبب في وجود جميع ارتباطات التنقل في صفحة في معظم المواقع في شريط أفقي واحد، هو أنه يمكن للمستخدم تحديد العلاقة بنظرة وجعل خيار للتفاعل معها دون أي لبس.

The message toolbar in Gmail

دعونا ننظر إلى هذا المثال من Gmail--تطبيق يتم استخدامه بصورة متكررة. هذا هو شريط الأدوات الذي يظهر في الأعلى عند فتح بريد. ععلى الرغم من أن كل هذه الأزرار تقوم ببعض الإجراءات في الرسالة المفتوحة ، إلا أنها يتم تجميعها معًا بناءً على ما يفعلونه--الإجراءات التي سيستخدمها الشخص للتخلص من الرسالة (الأرشيف ، الرسائل غير المرغوب فيها ، الحذف) ، لتغيير أهمية الرسالة (عند استخدام علبة الوارد ذات الأولوية) ، والإجراءات المتعلقة بالتسميات ، وأخيراً القائمة المنسدلة مع الخيارات الثانوية.

Feature grouping in Zootool

مثال آخر على الاستخدام الجيد للproximity هو شريط الخيارات في Zootool. ينقسم شريط الأدوات في الأسفل إلى ثلاث مجموعات ، كل منها يتوافق مع الأجزاء الثلاثة في التطبيق: حزم القائمة على اليسار ، ونافذة البريد في المركز التي تحتوي على جميع إشاراتك المرجعية ، وجزء التفاصيل على اليمين

مزيد من القراءة:


التسلسل الهرمي

ليس كل شيء في واجهة المستخدم، أو أي تخطيط لتلك المسألة، التي تحمل نفس الأهمية ككل شيء آخر. التسلسل الهرمي هو ترتيب العناصر بطريقة تشير إلى ما أعلى في الترتيب، ما يأتي بعد ذلك، وهلم جرا.

A layout with no sense of hierarchy within elements

دعونا ننظر إلى هذا المثال هنا، وفي محاولة لتحديد ما ترتيب الأسبقية. حيث ان كل شيء-عناوين، والتسميات ونص الفقرة- تظهر متشابهة، يتعين على المرء أن يقرأ من خلال كل شيء ليربط الأمور بمنطقية. دعنا ننظر إلى هذا المثال هنا ونحاول تحديد ترتيب الأسبقية. نظرًا لأن كل شيء - العناوين والتسميات ونصوص الفقرة - تبدو متشابهة ، يجب على الشخص قراءة كل شيء لفهم كل شيء.

The same layout with a better sense of hierarchy

كقاعدة عامة ، يجب أن يكون عنوان الصفحة الأكبر والأكثر ظهوراً على الشاشة. ويلي ذلك عناوين الأقسام والعناوين الفرعية ثم التسميات الأصغر. يمكن أن يكون نص الفقرة أكثر أو أقل بروزاً إعتماداً على الغرض منه. كما أنها لا تقتصر على النص. يمكن تمييز أزرار الإجراءات الأساسية عن الإجراءات الثانوية من خلال جعلها أكثر سطوعًا أو أكبر أو أكثر متعة. ويمكن جعل حقول الإدخال الإلزامية أكثر وضوحاً من غيرها. يمكن أن أستفيض بالشرح، ولكن أعتقد أنك قد فهمت الفكرة.


التباين

هناك اعتبار آخر مهم جداً عند تصميم الواجهات و هو ضمان التمييز بوضوح بين العناصر. بالطبع، تريد أن يكون النص قابل للقراءة على الخلفية، ولكن التباين يذهب إلى أبعد من مجرد استخدام نص فاتح اللون على خلفية داكنة أو العكس. العناوين ونص الفقرة يجب ان يتم تمييزها بوضوح. لوحات وأشرطة التنقل بحاجة إلى عزلهم عن بعضها البعض حيث يستطيع المستخدم معرفة ما هو. و تستمر القائمة.

يمكن إنشاء التباين باستخدام واحدة أو أكثر من الخصائص التالية:

لون

و هذا يجب أن يكون هذا واضحًا ، ولكن من المذهل كيف يغفل الناس عن هذه النقطة. إذا كانت خلفيتك مضيئة ، فمن الواضح أنك تريد أن يكون النص داكنًا لضمان قابلية القراءة. على الرغم من أنه من الناحية النظرية ، يجب أن تعمل الألوان التكميلية معًا بشكل جيد ، إلا أنها ليست دائمًا بهذه السهولة. حاول وضع نص أخضر مشرق على خلفية حمراء وستعرف ما أقوله.

Good & bad examples of contrast

الاحتمالات هنا لا حدود لها ، لذا فإن توصيتي الأولى لأي شخص يتطلع إلى اختيار الألوان هي التقاط لوحة ألوان شهيرة من مواقع مثل Adobe Kuler أو ColourLovers. يتم إسهامها وتقييمها والتصويت عليها من قبل المستخدمين المتحمسين الذين عادة ما يعرفون طريقهم حول اللون. عادة ما يتم الاعتناء بجميع أساسيات مطابقة الألوان والتباين ، لذا فإن الأمر يتعلق فقط بتحديد أي نظام ألوان يعمل في سياق تطبيقك.

Browsing through color palettes on Kuler & ColourLovers

ملاحظة واحدة على الرغم من الحذر - أن نكون حذرين جدا من المبالغة في اللون. كنت لا تريد لها أن تطغى على فائدة وسهولة التطبيق الخاص بك.

الحجم

هناك طريقة أخرى جيدة للتمييز بين العناصر - بناءً على التسلسل الهرمي أو التصنيف أو التدفق المرئي - وهي استخدام أحجام مختلفة. ينطبق هذا على النص بقدر ما ينطبق على الصور والخلفيات والعناصر الثابتة أو التفاعلية. قد تحتاج إلى وضع مزيد من التركيز على زر الإجراء الابتدائي، على سبيل المثال، وجعل على الأزرار الثانوية صعبة الوصول نسبيا. أو المطالبات اختياري يمكن أن يكون أصغر وأخف وزنا من التسميات الأساسية في النموذج.

Yesterday, today and tomorrow in Teuxdeux

يقوم تطبيق TeuxDeux بعمل رائع باستخدام الألوان للتمييز بين الأيام الماضية والحالية والمستقبلية. نظرًا لأن التصميم موجه نحو أسبوع العمل ، يتم استخدام أحجام مختلفة من النص للتأكد من سهولة التعرف على أسماء الأيام ، في حين أن التواريخ أكثر دقة.


التفاعل

نظرًا لأن الغرض الأساسي لأي واجهة مستخدم هو تمكين المستخدمين من التفاعل مع التطبيق ، فمن الضروري أن يعرف المتعلمون ما يجب عليهم فعله. كمنشئ للواجهة ، من السهل جدا أن تنسى أنك لن تكون موجود لكل مستخدم لتخبرهم بما يجب القيام به.و فق هذا لا يتحمل المستخدمون أي صبر لقراءة أدلة الاستخدام وأدلة البدء السريعة قبل الغوص في استخدام التطبيق. مطلوب من الواجهة أن توضح جيداً ما هي أجزاء منه يمكن النقر عليها، ملموس، قابل للسحب - وباختصار، تفاعلية.

يعرف الجميع كيف ينقر مفتاحًا كهربائيًا بإصبعه ، أليس كذلك؟ إن الشيء الذي يكون واضحاً لأي شخص أنه يجب الضغط على المفتاح في نقطة معينة لتغيير الحالة يسمى المكافأة. على السطح المستوي لشاشة - سطح المكتب أو الجوال أو غير ذلك - يمكن استخدام تقنيات مختلفة لتمكين المستخدمين من النقر فوق زر أو الكتابة داخل حقل الإدخال بشكل حدسي. عند إنشاء ارتباطات تشعبية نصية ، فإن إضافة تسطير للرابط هو المعيار الأكثر استخدامًا ، على الرغم من وجود العديد من الطرق الإبداعية الأخرى للقيام بذلك.

وإليك بعض الأمثلة:

Each interactive element has a different interaction objective, and therefore a different visual treatment

عند استخدام مثال التبديل ، كيف يمكنك معرفة ما إذا كان تبديل المفتاح يؤدي إلى ما كان من المفترض القيام به؟ يضيء المصباح أو ينطفئ ، أو في بعض الحالات يساعد الضوء الموجود داخل المحول على توضيح ما إذا كان المفتاح في وضع التشغيل أو الإيقاف.

في أحد التطبيقات ، يمكن أن تكون هذه التعليقات واضحة جدًا في الحالات التي ينتقل فيها زر إلى صفحة أخرى أو يفتح نافذة منبثقة ، ولكن ماذا عن الحالات التي يعمل فيها كل ذلك هو معالجة بعض البيانات في الخلفية - مثل حفظ التغييرات في إعدادات المستخدم؟ يعتبر وجود نوع من آلية تعليقات التغذية الراجعة أمرًا بالغ الأهمية للسماح للمستخدمين بمعرفة نجاح إجراءاتهم. قد يكون هذا بسيطًا مثل رسالة "تم حفظ إعداداتك" أو إشعارًا موجزًا في أعلى الصفحة أو تمييزًا سريعًا حول المنطقة التي تم تحديثها.

Two-level feedback in Remember the Milk

عند إضافة مهمة جديدة في Remember the Milk, ، يمكن أن تظهر إما في القائمة على نفس الصفحة ، أو ببساطة تتم إضافتها إلى قائمة أخرى في الخلفية (إذا ، على سبيل المثال ، تم تعيين المهمة إلى فئة مختلفة). وبالتالي يتم تقديم التعليقات على الإجراء على مستويين::

  1. يظهر تمييز أخضر لبضع ثوان خلف المهمة في القائمة للإشارة إلى المكان الذي تمت إضافته فيه ، و
  2. تظهر رسالة بارزة جدًا على خلفية صفراء في الجزء العلوي من الصفحة تسمح للمستخدم بمعرفة ما حدث بالضبط.

أسلوب الطباعة

يعتبر النص الموجود في تطبيقك - كل شيء بدءًا من الشعار إلى العناوين والتسميات والنسخ - هو طريقة الاتصال الأساسية مع المستخدمين. نظرًا لأن كيفية وصول المستخدمين إلى معلومات حول التطبيق أو من خلاله ، يمكن أن تعني طريقة تعيين النوع الفارق بين النجاح والفشل. بالطبع يجب أن تكون العناوين أكبر من النص الأساسي ويجب أن تكون النسخة المطبوعة جيدة ؛ لكن الكثير من القرارات الأخرى تؤثر أيضًا على كيفية استهلاك المستخدمين للمعلومات.

الخطوط

الخطوة الأولى: تعريف الخطوط الخاصة بك. يفاجئني عدد المطورين الذين لا يهتمون أبداً بتغيير أي خط يتم الحصول عليه من نصوصهم. تتغير الخطوط الافتراضية من نظام التشغيل إلى نظام تشغيل اخر ومن المتصفح إلى متصفح اخر، مما يعني أنه ان لم تحدد بوضوح الخط الذي تريد استخدامه ، فسيبدو النص مختلفًا في كل تركيبة نظام التشغيل ومتصفح. إلى جانب ذلك ، فإن Times New Roman - الذي لا يزال الكثير من المتصفحات يستخدمه كخط افتراضي - ليس خطًا جيدًا للقراءة على الشاشة. توصيتي الأولى غالباً ما تستخدم خط sans-serif ، على الرغم من أن  Georgia أو خط Cambria الجديد في Windows 7 تبدو جيدة أيضاً.

Sans-serif fonts make a big difference to the readability of text over Times New Roman

إذا قررت استخدام خطوط أخرى غير تلك الآمنة والمتاحة عالمياً مثل Arial / Helvetica و Georgiaو Tahoma و غيرها، تأكد من وجود طريقة لجعلها تتشابه بشكل مماثل على جميع المنصات. إذا كان Flash هو بيئة التطوير التي تختارها ، قم بتضمينها عند الضرورة. بالنسبة إلى تطبيقات HTML / JS القائمة ، استخدم @ font-face في CSS أو أي من خدمات خطوط الويب مثل Typekit أو Google WebFonts. تذكر رغم ذلك ، أن هذه التقنيات تأتي مع تحذير من أحجام الملفات الإضافية للخطوط المضمنة. إذا كانت السرعة والاستجابة لها أهمية قصوى بالنسبة لك ، فإن الالتزام بالخطوط الأساسية هو أفضل رهان لك.

تنويه: نعم ، أعلم أن Arial و Helvetica ليسا متشابهين تمامًا ، ولكنهما متشابهان بشكل كافٍ حتى لا يلاحظ معظم المستخدمين الفرق.

المسافة بين الأسطر

مقدار المسافة بين سطرين من النص هو المسافة بين السطور. تريد أن تكون المسافة بين الأسطر في نص الفقرة (ارتفاع الخط في لغة CSS) على الأقل 140٪ من حجم الخط للتأكد من سهولة قراءته. أي شيء أقل ، وسيكون نصك أصعب بكثير في القراءة - وأكثر جسورًا - للمرور عليه بسرعة.

Text leading makes a huge difference to the readability of your text

الترجمة الى لغات متعددة

إذا كنت تخطط لترجمة تطبيقك إلى لغات أخرى - ويجب عليك فعلًا - فمن الأفضل اختبار الواجهة مبكرًا باستخدام نصوص برمجية مختلفة. على أقل تقدير ، قد يختلف مقدار المساحة التي تتطلبها رسالة معينة بشكل كبير عبر النصوص المختلفة. تستخدم نصوص شرق آسيا كلمات أقل في المتوسط ولكنها تحتاج إلى حجم أكبر للخط ، كما تحتاج النصوص الهندية (الهندية) إلى أن تكون أكبر قليلاً لتصبح نصوصًا مقروءة ومتوسطًا (مثل العربية) تنتقل من اليمين إلى اليسار بدلاً من اليسار المعتاد -إلى اليمين.

وفي ختام

هذا عن ذلك الآن. وآمل هذه النصائح تغطية أساسيات ما يكفي لبدء تطبيقها في المشاريع الخاصة بك على الفور. كما هو الحال في معظم التخصصات المتعلقة بالتصميم ، لا توجد قواعد صارمة وسريعة يجب اتباعها ، وكل شخص لديه طريقة خاصة به في كيفية عمل الأشياء. لذا إذا كنت لا توافق على أي من اقتراحاتي أعلاه - أو حتى إذا كنت تتفق معها ولكن لديك وجهة نظر مختلفة - دعنا نسمع عنها في التعليقات.

بعد ذلك ، سنأخذ كل هذه الحكمة ونحاول تطبيقها على واجهة فعلية. ترّقب!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement

UI Design for Developers: Introduction

by

Designers vs. developers - it is an argument as old as computers. The truth is, though, neither can live without the other. A brilliant UI design is as worthless without functionality as is the best piece of code with an ugly, unusable frontend. In this first post on UI Basics for developers, I am going to try and lay out some simple ground rules that devs can follow to make sure their apps, templates and prototypes are as beautiful as the code itself - and usable to boot.

Think: the first impression is the last impression.


Alignment

Alignment refers to the position or orientation of an element in relation to another element or to itself. When we refer to two elements being aligned to each other, alignment usually refers to which side of both elements is in line. In the context of text, alignment refers to the side to which text is anchored in a straight line.

Form Design

Alignment of form fields

In the image above, the second example of a simple form design shows labels that are right-aligned to each other with input fields that are left-aligned. This ensures that the association between each label and its input field is clear and the user does not get confused if some labels are too small while others are long.

Think: Make sure input fields are not too far away from the longest label. If the variation in width is small, try right-aligning labels and left-aligning input fields.

Text

Text alignment

For text, it is ideal to use left-alignment when desiging for the screen. Since most for-screen type rendering methods are incapable of distributing space appropriately when justifying text to both sides, left alignment keeps text readable and well organized. You can, of course, use center and right alignment where the design demands it, but those are usually reserved for special cases and smaller chunks of text.


Flow

The primary purpose of any user interface is to let the user interface with the application. This, believe it or not, is not going to be possible unless you tell the user what he needs to do and in what order. Since you won't be there behind every user to help them out with this, the interface needs to provide all the cues. Here are some questions to ask when evaluating whether the intended workflow is appropriate:

  • How critical is it that the task be performed in a set order of steps?
  • Is it obvious to the user where to start and what to do next?
  • Is the intended outcome stated or implied - implicitly, if not explicitly?
Search with category selection n iStockPhoto

Let's take the example of a search category selection on iStockPhoto. In this case, I can either search everything or select a specific category to limit my searches to that type of information. Since the primary act is to enter a search term and hit Search, those should be fairly obvious. A possible step in between is to select a category, which can be a drop-down list between (you guessed it right) the search field and the Search button.

The income/expense entry dialog in cashbase

Another example is the income/expense input dialog in the cashbase app. The fields are arranged according to the typical workflow one will use to log such information: enter the amount (which is the most important element), select a category, add a note if necessary, and click Add. Secondary information that will be used much less frequently - like the date which by default is today, and the option to repeat or cancel - are available, but much more subtle.

Further reading:


Proximity

Related elements in an interface should be grouped together. This might sound like common sense when I mention it, but it is not always well understood. The reason all page navigation links on most websites are laid out in a single horizontal bar, is so that the user can identify the relationship at a glance and make the choice to interact with them without any confusion.

The message toolbar in Gmail

Let's look at this example from Gmail - an app that many of use on a regular basis. This is the toolbar that appears at the top when you open a mail. Although all those buttons perform some action on the open message, they are further grouped together based on what they do - actions one would use to get rid of the message (archive, spam, delete), to change the importance of the message (when using priority inbox), label-related actions, and finally a drop-down with secondary options.

Feature grouping in Zootool

Another example of good use of proximity is the options bar in Zootool. The toolbar at the bottom is divided into three sets, each corresponding to the three panes in the app: the list packs on the left, the mail window in the center which contains all your bookmarks, and the details pane on the right.

Further reading:


Hierarchy

Not everything in a user interface, or any layout for that matter, carries the same importance as everything else. Hierarchy is the arrangement of elements in a way that denotes what is higher in order, what comes next, and so on.

A layout with no sense of hierarchy within elements

Let's look at this example here and try to identify what the order of precedence is. Since everything - titles, labels and paragraph text - looks the same, one has to read through everything to make sense. If the same interface was tweaked just a little bit like below, the overall impact on the readability and in turn the usability of the interface is enormous.

The same layout with a better sense of hierarchy

As a general rule, the page heading should be biggest and most visible on the screen. This is followed by section titles, sub-titles and then smaller labels. Paragraph text can be more or less prominent depending on its purpose. It is also not limited to text. Primary action buttons can be differentiated from secondary actions by making them brighter, bigger or fancier. Input fields for mandatory inputs can be made more obvious than the others. I could go on, but I think you get the idea.


Contrast

Another very important consideration when designing interfaces is to ensure clear differentiation between elements. Of course, you want the text to be readable on the background, but contrast goes beyond simply using light text on a dark background or vice versa. Headings and paragraph text should be clearly distinguishable. Panels and navigation bars need to be segregated from each other so the user knows what is what. The list goes on.

Contrast can be established using one or more of the following characteristics:

Color

This should be obvious, but its amazing how often people slip on this point. If your background is light, you obviously want the text to be dark to ensure readability. Although in theory complimentary colors should work well together, it is not always that easy. Try placing bright green text on a red background and you will know what I'm saying.

Good & bad examples of contrast

The possibilities here are limitless, so my first recommendation to anyone looking to select colors is to pick up a popular color palette from sites like Adobe Kuler or ColourLovers. They are contributed, evaluated and voted up by passionate users who usually know their way around color. All the basics of color matching and contrast are usually taken care of, so its just a matter of deciding which color scheme works in your app's context.

Browsing through color palettes on Kuler & ColourLovers

One note of caution though - be very wary of going overboard with color. You don't want them to overshadow the utility and usability of your app.

Size

Another good way to differentiate between elements - based on hierarchy, categorization, or visual flow - is to use different sizes. This applies to text as much as it does to images, backgrounds and static or interactive elements. You may want to put more emphasis on the primary action button, for example, and keep the secondary buttons comparatively less accessible. Or optional prompts can be smaller and lighter than the primary labels in a form.

Yesterday, today and tomorrow in Teuxdeux

The TeuxDeux app does a brilliant job of using color to differentiate between past, present and future days. Since the layout is geared towards a work week, different sizes of text are used to make sure that names of days are easy to identify, while the dates are comparatively more subtle.


Interaction

Since the primary purpose of any user interface is to enable users interact with the app, it is imperative that learners intuitively know what to do. As creators of the interface, it is very easy to forget that you won't be there for every user to tell them what to do. Neither do users have the patience any more to read manuals and quick start guides before diving into using an app. The interface is required to make it amply clear what parts of it are clickable, touchable, draggable - in short, interactive.

Everyone knows how to flick an electrical switch, right? The thing that makes it obvious to anyone that a switch needs to be pressed at a certain point to change state is called affordance. On the flat surface of a screen - desktop, mobile or otherwise - different techniques can be utilized to enable users intuitively click a button or type inside an input field. When creating text hyperlinks, adding an underline for the link is the most commonly used standard, although there are many other creative ways to do that.

Here are some examples:

Each interactive element has a different interaction objective, and therefore a different visual treatment

Going with the switch example, how do you know if flicking the switch did what it was supposed to do? The light comes on or goes off, or in some cases a light inside the switch helps make it clear whether the switch is on or off.

In an application, such feedback can be very obvious in cases where a button navigates to another page or opens a popup, but what about situations where all it does is process some data in the background - like when saving changes to the user settings? Some sort of a feedback mechanism is critical to let users know their action was successful. This could be as simple as a "your settings were saved" message, a brief notification at the top of the page, or a quick highlight around the area that was updated.

Two-level feedback in Remember the Milk

When you add a new task in Remember the Milk, it can either appear in the list on the same page, or simply get added to another list in the background (if, for example, the task has been assigned to a different category). The feedback for the action is therefore provided at two levels:

  1. a green highlight appears for a couple of seconds behind the task in the list to point to where it has been added, and
  2. a very prominent message appears on a yellow background at the top of the page letting the user know what exactly happened.

Typography

The text in your app - everything from the logo to the titles, labels and copy - is your primary mode of communication with the users. Since it is how your users access information about the app or through it, how you set the type can mean the difference between success and failure. Of course titles have to be bigger than body text and the fine print has to be, well, fine; but a lot of other decisions also influence how users consume information.

Fonts

Step one: define your fonts. It surprises me how many developers simply never bother to change whatever font their text gets generated in. Default fonts change from OS to OS and browser to browser, which means that unless you explicitly state what font you want to use, your text is going to look different in every OS and browser combination. Besides, Times New Roman - which a lot of browsers still use as the default font - is just not a good font for on-screen reading. My first recommendation is often to use a sans-serif font, although Georgia or the new Cambria font in Windows 7 also look good.

Sans-serif fonts make a big difference to the readability of text over Times New Roman

If you decide to use fonts other than the safe, universally available ones like Arial/Helvetica, Georgia, Tahoma etc., make sure there is a way to have them render similarly on all platforms. If Flash is your development environment of choice, embed them where necessary. For HTML/JS based apps, use @font-face in CSS or any of the web font services like Typekit or Google WebFonts. Remember though, that these techniques come with a caveat of extra file sizes for the embedded fonts. If speed and responsiveness are paramount for you, sticking to the base fonts is your best bet.

Disclaimer: Yes, I do know that Arial and Helvetica are not exactly similar, but they are similar enough for most users to not notice the difference.

Leading

The amount of space between two lines of text is the leading. You want the leading of your paragraph text (line-height in CSS speak) to be at least 140% of the font size to make sure it is easily readable. Any less and your text is going to be much harder to read and - more imporantly - to scan through.

Text leading makes a huge difference to the readability of your text

Localization

If you plan to translate your app into oither languages - and you really should - it is best to test the interface early on with different scripts. At the very least, the amount of space a certain message requires can vary drastically across different scripts. The East Asian scripts use fewer words on an average but need a bigger font size, Indian (Indic) scripts also need to be slightly bigger to be readable and middle-eastern scripts (like Arabic) go from right to left instead of the usual left-to-right.

Wrapping Up

That's about it for now. I hope these tips covered enough basics for you to start applying them in your projects right away. As with most design-related disciplines, there are no hard and fast rules to follow, and everyone has their own take on how things should work. So if you disagree with any of my suggestions above - or even if you agree with them but have a different perspective - let's hear about them in the comments.

Next up, we will take all of this wisdom and try applying it to an actual interface. Stay tuned!

Advertisement