Unlimited Plugins, WordPress themes, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Web Development

Beschleunigen der Websites mit YSlow

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

German (Deutsch) translation by Władysław Łucyszyn (you can also view the original English article)

Wir alle wissen, dass es unzählige Gründe gibt, warum die Ladezeiten von Webseiten in die Höhe schnellen. Die Ermittlung des Problems kann jedoch sowohl zeit- als auch kostenintensiv sein. Warum also die Mühe verschwenden, wenn jemand anderes - oder etwas anderes - die ganze Drecksarbeit für Sie erledigen kann?

Lernen Sie Yahoo YSlow kennen, einen kostenlosen Webseitenanalysator für Firefox.


Loslegen

YSlow hat zwei Anforderungen:

YSlow huckepack auf Firebug, daher müssen Sie die Add-Ons in der oben angegebenen Reihenfolge installieren, bevor Sie fortfahren können.


Das Problem

Webdesigner, Entwickler und Texter streben danach, im Vergleich zu ihren Mitbewerbern die einzigartigsten und interessantesten Inhalte zu haben.

Möglicherweise haben Sie Tage damit verbracht, Ihren neuen Blog-Beitrag zu perfektionieren, und sind beim ersten Betrachten vor Aufregung fast von Ihrem Stuhl gefallen. Aber nachdem eine Flut von Besuchern Ihre Website überflutet hat, stellen Sie fest, dass die Dinge nicht mehr reibungslos laufen. Unter Druck reagiert Ihre neue Website möglicherweise wie ein Commadore 64.


Die Lösung: Yahoo YSlow für Firefox

Yahoo's YSlow for FirefoxYahoo's YSlow for FirefoxYahoo's YSlow for Firefox

Website-Analyse-Werkzeugs lassen sich im Allgemeinen in zwei Kategorien einteilen:

  1. Suchmaschinenoptimierung
  2. Analyse der Leistung des Document Object Model (DOM).

YSlow passt in letzteres. Es verwendet vordefinierte Regelsätze, um die Leistung einer Webseite zu bewerten, und Werkzeugs von Drittanbietern (wie Smush.it und JS Minifiers), um Probleme zu lösen.

Es gibt drei Ansichten:

  1. Grade
  2. Components
  3. Statistics.

YSlow enthält sechs hilfreiche Werkzeugs: Diese reichen vom Testen von JavaScript-Code bis zur Bildoptimierung über Smush.It (eine weitere kostenlose Webanwendung von Yahoo). Die gesamte Anwendung befindet sich im Popup-Fenster von Firebug, das über ein praktisches Symbol in der Taskleiste des Browsers geöffnet und geschlossen werden kann.

Lassen Sie uns gleich einen genaueren Blick auf die 'Grade'-Ansicht werfen.


1. Gradeansicht

Yahoo! YSlow's Grade ViewYahoo! YSlow's Grade ViewYahoo! YSlow's Grade View

Anhand der Homepage von Envato als Beispiel, bei der es sich um eine Website mit relativ geringem Datenverkehr handelt, sehen wir, dass die Gesamtleistungsbewertung mit 74 von 100 Punkten und einer gelben Note "C" bewertet wird. Aber was bedeutet das wirklich? Immerhin lässt sich die Webseite im Browser perfekt rendern. Nun, wir müssen uns die Regeln links in der Ansicht genauer ansehen, um dies herauszufinden.

Die Regeln sind in Kategorien unterteilt: Inhalt, Cookies, CSS, Bilder, JavaScript und Server. Während YSlow Elemente des DOM inspizierte, bewertete es jedes Element anhand eines vordefinierten Regelsatzes (in diesem Fall YSlow V2). Je näher ein Element an den Regeln festhält, desto höher ist die Punktzahl. Nachdem alle Punkte gesammelt wurden, wurde die Abschlussnote vergeben.

Im Fall von Envato erzielten alle Regeln der Benutzeroberfläche eine hohe Punktzahl, die Serverregeln waren jedoch weniger effizient. Dies senkte die Abschlussnote.

Zum Glück erklärt jede Regel, wo das Problem liegt, und bietet eine detaillierte Erklärung zur Behebung des Problems. Diese Funktion bietet eine große Erleichterung für alle, die noch keine Erfahrung mit der Optimierung von Websites haben.


Regelsätze

Für einige sind bestimmte Regeln wichtiger als andere. YSlow bietet Ihnen einen Standardregelsatz, ermöglicht Ihnen jedoch auch, zu 'klassisch', 'kleine Website oder Blog' zu wechseln oder einen eigenen zu erstellen. Wenn Sie Content Delivery Networks nicht verwenden möchten, bearbeiten Sie einfach einen Regelsatz und entfernen Sie diese Funktion. Einfacher geht es nicht.


Componentsansicht

Yahoo YSlow's Components ViewYahoo YSlow's Components ViewYahoo YSlow's Components View

In der Komponentenansicht werden die Elemente aus einer Analyse in einer sauberen, erweiterbaren Datentabelle aufgelistet.

Während dieser Abschnitt eine eingehendere Analyse enthält, können Daten wie das Ablaufdatum der Datei oder die Antwortzeit hilfreich sein, um problematische Bereiche zu verstehen. Wenn Sie die GZIP-Komprimierung aktiviert haben, können Sie hier den Unterschied in der Dateigröße anzeigen.


Statisticsansicht

YSlow statistics view showing graph dataYSlow statistics view showing graph dataYSlow statistics view showing graph data

Jeder liebt eine Grafik. YSlow auch.

Die Statistikseite ist eine schnelle und einfache Methode, um das Gesamtgewicht Ihrer HTTP-Anforderungen zu ermitteln. Einfach ausgedrückt gibt es zwei Diagramme: leeren Cache und vorbereiteten Cache. Diese Grafiken unterteilen Ihre Website in HTML, JavaScript, Bilder usw. Die Dateigrößen werden dann jeweils als Tortensegmente angezeigt Der leere Cache repräsentiert den ersten Besuch eines Browsers auf der Webseite. Prime Cache gibt an, welche Komponenten sich beim erneuten Besuch im Cache des Browsers befinden würden oder nicht. Sauber, klar und effektiv.


Werkzeuge

Endlich haben wir Werkzeuge. Sie werden sofort einen Mangel an Spezifität für die analysierte Webseite bemerken, aber lassen Sie sich nicht täuschen. Jedes Werkzeug spart viel Zeit beim Verkleinern, Minimieren und Komprimieren Ihrer Inhalte. Wenn Sie mit dem Konzept der Optimierung vertraut sind, sind Sie möglicherweise schon einmal auf ähnliche Werkzeugs gestoßen.

Wenn Sie die Ladezeiten von Seiten reduzieren, ist es wichtig, Leerzeichen und Kommentare aus Ihren Dokumenten zu entfernen und Ihre Bilder zu optimieren.

Zum Glück erledigen diese Werkzeuge die ganze harte Arbeit für Sie, denn wenn Sie dies von Hand tun, werden Sie zweifellos tief in die Nacht geführt. Keine Menge Energy Drinks hält Sie davon ab, verrückt zu werden, nachdem Sie zum hundertsten Mal versehentlich eine JavaScript-Funktion gelöscht haben.

Insgesamt gibt es acht Werkzeuge. Alle abzudecken würde ein paar Artikel erfordern. Also werde ich mich auf Yahoo! Smush.it als Beispiel.

YSlow will automatically upload images for compressionYSlow will automatically upload images for compressionYSlow will automatically upload images for compression

Yahoo! Smush.it ist eine kleine Webanwendung, die mit YSlow oder direkt von Ihrem Browser aus verwendet werden kann.

Smush.it ist ganz einfach ein verlustfreier Bildoptimierer. YSlow lädt die Bilder für Sie hoch, die "verwischt" und in einer Tabelle dargestellt werden, in der Sie den Prozentsatz der Einsparungen bei Bild, Größe und Komprimierung anzeigen können.

Sie können die Dateien sogar in derselben Verzeichnisstruktur behalten und sie alle als praktische Zip-Datei herunterladen.

Es gibt viele kostenlose Anwendungen mit ähnlichen Werkzeugs, aber die mit YSlow gepackten sind eine willkommene Ergänzung.


Arbeiten an Envatos YSlow Grade

Wie bereits erwähnt, beträgt der YSlow-Leistungswert von Envato 74 mit der Note C. Nehmen wir uns etwas Zeit, um die Ergebnisse von YSlow zu analysieren und zu ermitteln, wie der endgültige Wert verbessert werden kann.

Hier sind ihre Verbesserungsvorschläge, beginnend von oben:

Stellen Sie weniger HTTP-Anfragen: Note E.

Diese Regel führt weiter aus, dass es sechs externe JavaScript-Skripte und 17 externe Hintergrundbilder gibt. Sie schlagen vor, die Dateien zu kombinieren und CSS-Sprites zu verwenden, um das Problem zu beheben.

Schauen Sie sich zunächst die Komponentenansicht und insbesondere die JS-Dateien an.

Wie die URLs zeigen, wird nur eine JavaScript-Datei auf demselben Server wie die analysierte Seite gehostet. Diese enthält benutzerdefiniertes JavaScript für WordPress. Für JQuery und Google Analytics sind zwei erforderlich, und die letzten drei stammen von formspring.com.

Wenn die JavaScript-Dateien meine eignen wären, könnte ich in Betracht ziehen, die benutzerdefinierten JS-Dateien application.js und formspring in einer zu kombinieren und lokal zu hosten. Es scheint jedoch nur die Datei application.js angepasst zu sein. Also möchte ich wirklich nicht mit der Arbeit eines anderen herumspielen. Zumal einigen dieser Dateien Lizenz-/Copyright-Informationen fehlen.

Die Verwendung von Googles Hosting für jQuery wird ebenfalls als bewährte Methode angesehen. Sie sollten jedoch auf die neueste Version von jQuery aktualisiert werden: 1.4.2.

In diesem Fall ist es wahrscheinlich am besten, diese Regel zu ignorieren, da jede Änderung der aktuellen Methoden später zu Problemen führen kann. Meine einzige wirkliche Sorge ist die Antwortzeit für zwei der FormStack-Dateien. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt sprechen sie jeweils über 360 ms, um zu antworten. Wenn dies so weitergeht, kann es sich lohnen, eine Methode zu finden, um sie lokal zu hosten.

Bilder

Als nächstes überprüfen wir die Bilder; Alle werden lokal gehostet, reagieren innerhalb von 40 ms und sind recht klein. Dies zeigt uns, dass diese Dateien einzeln bereits für diese Seite optimiert sind. YSlow schlägt vor, diese Bilder zu kombinieren und CSS-Sprites zu verwenden, um unsere Note zu verbessern.

Wenn Sie mit CSS-Sprites nicht vertraut sind, können Sie auf den Link "Weitere Informationen" klicken, um zu den Best Practices von Yahoo! zu gelangen, mit denen Sie Ihre Website beschleunigen können.

In diesem Fall sollte durch die Verwendung eines optimierten Bilds eine Verbesserung der Bildantwortzeit festgestellt werden. CSS-Sprites kombinieren Ihre Hintergrundbilder zu einem und richten CSS dann aus, um das Bild mit dem Hintergrundbild und der Hintergrundposition auszurichten. Das verwendete CSS ist nichts Besonderes, daher sollte es mit allen gängigen Browsern kompatibel sein.

Verwenden Sie ein Content Delivery Network (CDN): Klasse F.

Viele Websites haben für diese Regel die Note F, da die Einrichtung ein wenig Arbeit erfordert. Die Vorteile sind jedoch die Zeitkosten mehr als wert. Darüber hinaus bieten Dienste wie Amazon überraschend günstiges Hosting. Während Envato CDNs für Websites mit hohem Datenaufkommen wie Nettuts + unbedingt verwendet, haben sie möglicherweise entschieden, dass dies für Websites mit geringerem Datenverkehr nicht erforderlich ist.

Add Expires Headers: Grade F.

Wieder sind wir mit einer Regel konfrontiert, die sich mit HTTP-Anfragen befasst. Abgelaufene Header sind häufig, da sie das Zwischenspeichern von Komponenten ermöglichen. Zwischengespeicherte Komponenten (Bilder, JavaScript usw.) sparen Zeit und Bandbreite für wiederholte Besuche auf einer Webseite. Es lohnt sich also, Ablaufdaten für Ihre Inhalte zu implementieren.

YSlow fand nach der Analyse von Envato.com 55 Komponenten "ohne ein weit entferntes Ablaufdatum". Die meisten Komponenten sind Hintergrundbilder. Aus dem ersten Vorschlag "Weniger HTTP-Anforderungen stellen" wissen wir, dass wir CSS-Sprites verwenden können, um die Anzahl der Hintergrundbilder zu reduzieren und diese Note automatisch zu verbessern.

Das Einrichten von "Expires" -Headern ist im Allgemeinen ein einfacher Vorgang und erfordert normalerweise nur ein schnelles Hinzufügen zu Ihrer .htaccess-Datei. Nach der Anwendung sollten alle Ihre Komponenten über geeignete Ablaufheader verfügen, ohne dass weitere Dateimanipulationen oder -änderungen vorgenommen werden müssen. Um einen vollständigen Einblick in die Arbeit mit Ihrer .htaccess-Datei und Ihren Headern zu erhalten, ist ein Artikel für sich erforderlich. Anstatt hier ins Detail zu gehen, habe ich eine Reihe hilfreicher Links zur weiteren Lektüre eingefügt:

Setzen Sie CSS an die Spitze: Note B.

YSlow hat ein Stylesheet außerhalb des Head-Elements für Envato gefunden. Zum Glück ist dies die am einfachsten zu korrigierende Regel. Indem Sie Stylesheets oben auf Ihrer Webseite belassen, erhöhen Sie automatisch die Geschwindigkeit, mit der Ihre Webseite geladen wird. Nach dem Umzug sollte YSlow eine Note A für diese Regel melden.

Minimieren Sie JavaScript und CSS: Note D.

Durch das Entfernen nicht verwendeter Leerzeichen in Ihren Dokumenten wird die Größe des Dokuments verringert und somit die Geschwindigkeit erhöht, mit der die Datei heruntergeladen wird. Wie ich bereits erwähnt habe, stellt uns YSlow ein Minimierungswerkzeug zur Verfügung, damit die ganze harte Arbeit für uns erledigt werden kann.

Gehen Sie zur Werkzeugansicht und wählen Sie YUI CSS Compressor. Im Handumdrehen werden Ihre CSS-Dateien minimiert und stehen zum Download zur Verfügung. Schnell, sauber und einfach.

Entity Tags (ETags) konfigurieren: Note C.

ETags bieten eine Möglichkeit, eine bestimmte Version einer Webseitenkomponente (Bilder, JavaScript usw.) zu validieren. Sie arbeiten mit dem Webserver zusammen, um den zwischengespeicherten Inhalt eines Browsers mit dem Inhalt auf dem Webserver abzugleichen. Leider hat YSlow zwei fehlende ETags für Dateien gefunden, die auf formspring.com gehostet werden. Aus diesem Grund ist es möglicherweise am besten, dem Vorschlag von YSlow zu folgen und ETags vollständig zu entfernen. Dies kann durch Hinzufügen von "FileETag none" zu Ihrer Apache-Konfigurationsdatei erfolgen. Sie sollten jetzt eine Verbesserung in dieser Regelklasse sehen.


Alternativen

Es gibt viele Alternativen, wenn es um die Analyse von Websites geht, und ich wäre nicht überrascht, wenn Sie Ihre Favoriten hätten. Zusammen mit YSlow verwende ich vier weitere kostenlose Analysegeräte. Wie zu erwarten, bietet jedes einzelne einzigartige Funktionen, und allein aus diesem Grund ist es meines Erachtens wichtig, sich daran zu erinnern, dass kein Werkzeug einen absolut kugelsicheren Bericht liefern kann.

Um Ihnen eine Vorstellung davon zu geben, wie unterschiedlich diese jeweils zu einem Endergebnis führen, habe ich eine kurze Beschreibung und die Punktzahl auf der Envato-Website beigefügt.

Webseitentest

Diese von AOL bereitgestellte Anwendung fügt Ihrer Analyse eine Vielzahl von Einstellungen hinzu. Sie können die Browserversion und die Verbindungsgeschwindigkeit simulieren und visuelle Vergleiche mit anderen URLs durchführen. Es ist eine großartige Funktion, wenn Sie A/B-Tests starten möchten.

Punktzahl: N/A. Bietet eine Optimierungscheckliste und Ladezeiten.

PageSpeed

PageSpeed ist ein weiteres Add-On für Firefox und Firebug. Dies wird sogar im selben Menü wie YSlow angezeigt und bietet eine ähnliche Analyse. Wie bei YSlow werden Regeln verwendet und Berichte darüber erstellt, wie gut die einzelnen Komponenten funktionieren. Es wird sogar Ihre Inhalte optimieren und minimieren.

Ergebnis: 76/100

WooRank

Diese kostenlose Webanwendung befindet sich noch in der Beta-Phase und überprüft Ihren Inhalt, Ihr Alexa-Ranking, Ihren Datenverkehr, Ihre Suchmaschinenoptimierung, Ihre Geometadaten und vieles mehr. Auch hier werden mit jeder Analyse hilfreiche Hinweise hinzugefügt. Sie können Ihrer Website sogar ein Widget hinzufügen, das Ihre 'Woorank-Punktzahl' anzeigt.

Punktzahl: 65.8/100

Website Grader

Grader ist eine weitere kostenlose Webanwendung, die auch für das iPhone verfügbar ist. Dieses Werkzeug ist WooRank sehr ähnlich und verfügt über eine übersichtliche und detaillierte Oberfläche. Es gibt sogar ein spezielles Werkzeug zum Analysieren von Blogs: eine der fünf in diesem Artikel aufgeführten Funktionen.

Punktzahl: 99/100


Vorteile von YSlow

  • Enthält die Option zum automatischen Analysieren von Webseiten.
  • Kostet nichts und ist frei von Werbung.
  • Regelsätze sind anpassbar. Wenn Sie sich beispielsweise nicht mit Netzwerken für die Bereitstellung von Inhalten befassen, können Sie diese Option einfach deaktivieren.
  • Lädt automatisch alle Bilder von Webseiten hoch, wenn Sie mit Yahoo! Smush.it. Dies allein spart enorm viel Zeit.
  • Alle Regeln sind mit einer umfangreichen Dokumentation versehen und bieten Erläuterungen zur Verbesserung.

Nachteile von YSlow

  • YSlow funktioniert nur mit remote gehosteten Webseiten. Der Versuch, ein HTML-Dokument auf Ihrem Desktop zu analysieren, führt häufig zu falschem Feedback.
  • Fehler in JavaScript oder HTML können dazu führen, dass YSlow hängen bleibt. Dies ist selten, aber ein einfaches Schließen und erneutes Öffnen funktioniert einwandfrei.
  • YSlow ist nicht in der Lage, eigene Testregeln hinzuzufügen. Ich möchte einige personalisierte Regelsätze hinzufügen, z. B. Alexa Ranking oder Google Page Rank.
  • Nur für Firefox verfügbar und erfordert Firebug, um zu funktionieren. Wenn Sie Firefox oder Firebug nicht mögen, kann dies ein Problem sein.

Zusammenfassung

Anwendungen wie YSlow bieten eine schnelle und effektive Analyse von Webseiten. Sie können aus den gesammelten Informationen detaillierte Berichte erstellen, Vorschläge oder Werkzeugs zur Lösung von Problemen bereitstellen und Ihnen dabei möglicherweise etwas beibringen. Aber YSlow und seine Alternativen werden immer Konkurrenz haben: ein engagierter, erfahrener und qualifizierter Webentwickler oder SEO-Analyst.

Nichts geht über Wissen und Praxis; Wie wir gesehen haben, werden mehrere Analysewerkzeuge immer mehrere unterschiedliche Berichte erstellen.

Es gibt keine echte Lösung, wenn es um Suchmaschinenoptimierung oder die Erhöhung der Ladezeiten von Webseiten geht. Eine helfende Hand wie YSlow kann jedoch Ihre Arbeitsbelastung verringern und Ihnen oder Ihrem Kunden auf lange Sicht viel Zeit und vor allem Geld sparen.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
Other

Speeding Up Websites With YSlow

by

We all know there are countless reasons why web page load-times skyrocket, however, pinpointing the problem may be costly in both time and money. So why waste the effort when someone else—or something else—can do all the dirty work for you?

Meet Yahoo's YSlow, a free web page analyzer for Firefox.


Getting Started

YSlow has two requirements:

YSlow piggybacks onto Firebug, so you will need to install the add-ons in the order listed above before continuing.


The Problem

Web designers, developers and copywriters strive to have the most unique and interesting content when compared to their competitors.

You may have spent days perfecting your new blog post and nearly fallen off your chair with excitement when viewing it for the first time. But, after a torrent of visitors flood your website, you notice things are no longer running smoothly. Under pressure, your new website might respond like a Commadore 64.


The Solution: Yahoo's YSlow for Firefox

Yahoo's YSlow for Firefox

Website analysis tools generally fall into two categories:

  1. Search engine optimization
  2. Analysis of the Document Object Model's (DOM) performance.

YSlow fits into the latter. It uses predefined rule sets to grade the performance of a web page, and third-party tools (such as Smush.it and JS Minifiers) to help resolve any problems.

There are three views:

  1. Grade
  2. Components
  3. Statistics.

YSlow includes six helpful tools: these range from JavaScript code testing to image optimization through Smush.It (another free web application from Yahoo). The entire application is wrapped up inside Firebug's pop-up window, which can be opened and closed by a handy icon on the task bar of the browser.

Let's jump right in with a closer look at the 'Grade' view.


1. Grade View

Yahoo! YSlow's Grade View

Using Envato's home page as an example, which is a relatively low traffic site, we see the overall performance score is rated at 74 out of 100, with a yellow "C" Grade. But what does this really mean? After all, the web page renders perfectly well in the browser. Well, we need to take a closer look at the rules on the left of the view to figure this out.

Rules are divided into categories: content, cookies, CSS, images, JavaScript and server. As YSlow inspected elements of the DOM, it graded each one on a predefined rule-set (in this case YSlow V2). The closer an element stuck to the rules, the higher it scored. After all of the scores are collected, the final grade was awarded.

In the case of Envato, all of the user interface rules scored highly, but the server rules performed less efficiently. This lowered the final grade.

Thankfully each rule explains where the problem lies and provides a detailed explanation on how to resolve the issue. This feature will provide a huge relief to anyone new to optimizing websites.


Rule-sets

To some, certain rules are more important than others. YSlow provides you with a default rule-set, but also allows you to switch to 'classic', 'small site or blog' or create your own. If you do not care about using Content Delivery Networks, then simply edit a rule-set and remove that function. It really couldn't be easier.


Components View

Yahoo YSlow's Components View

The components view lists the elements from an analysis in a clean, expandable data table.

While this section provides a more in-depth analysis, data such as a file expiration date or response time, may be helpful to understand problematic areas. If you have GZIP compression enabled, you can view the file size difference here.


Statistics View

YSlow statistics view showing graph data

Everyone loves a graph. YSlow does too.

The statistics page is a fast and simple way of understanding the total weight of your HTTP requests. Put simply, there are two graphs: empty cache and primed cache. These graphs break your website down into HTML, JavaScript, images and so on. The file sizes of each are then displayed as pie segments. Empty Cache represents a browser's first visit to the web page. Prime Cache indicates which components would or would not be in the browser's cache when revisiting. Clean, clear and effective.


Tools

Finally, we have tools. Immediately, you will notice a lack of specificity toward the analyzed web page, but don't be fooled. Each tool is a powerful time saver when it comes to shrinking, minifying and compressing your content. If you are familiar with the concept of optimization, then you may have come across similar tools before.

When reducing page load times, it is important to remove white space and comments from your documents, and optimize your images.

Thankfully these tools perform all the hard work for you, because doing this by hand will undoubtedly take you deep into the night. No amount of energy drinks will keep you from going insane after you delete a JavaScript function by accident for the hundredth time.

There are eight tools altogether; covering all of them would take a couple of articles. So, I will concentrate on Yahoo! Smush.it as an example.

YSlow will automatically upload images for compression

Yahoo! Smush.it is a small web application, which can be used with YSlow or straight from your browser.

Quite simply, Smush.it is a lossless image optimiser. YSlow uploads the images for you, which are 'smushed' and presented in a table where you can view the new image, size, and compression savings percentage.

You can even keep the files in the same directory structure and download them all as a handy zip file.

There are plenty of free applications with similar tools, but the ones packaged with YSlow are a welcomed addition.


Working on Envato's YSlow Grade

As I mentioned earlier, Envato's YSlow performance score is 74 with a grade of C. Let's take some time to analyze YSlow's results, and what could be done to improve the final score.

Here are their suggested improvements, starting from the top:

Make Fewer HTTP Requests: Grade E

This rule goes on to detail that there are six external JavaScript scripts and 17 external background images. Their suggestion is to combine the files and use CSS sprites to resolve the issue.

The first thing to do is take a look at the Components View, and in particular, the JS files.

As the URLs show, only one JavaScript file is hosted on the same server as the analyzed page, this contains customized JavaScript for WordPress. Two are required for JQuery, and Google Analytics, and the final three are from formspring.com.

If the JavaScript files were my own, I might consider combining the custom applications.js and formspring JS files into one and hosting them locally. However, only the application.js file appears to be customized. So, I really don't want to be playing around with someone else's work. Especially as some of those files are lacking license/copyright information.

Using Google's hosting for jQuery is also considered to be good practice, however, they should update to the most recent version of jQuery: 1.4.2.

So in this case, it's probably best to ignore this rule as any modification to the current methods could result in some problems further down the line. My only real concern is the response time for two of the FormStack files, at this time, they each talk over 360 ms to respond. If this continues, it may be worth finding a method to host them locally.

Images

Next we review the images; all are hosted locally, respond within 40 ms and are quite small in size. This tells us that individually, these files are already optimized for this page. YSlow suggests that we combine these images and use CSS sprites to improve our grade.

If you're unfamiliar with CSS sprites, you can click on the "Read more" link, which will take you to Yahoo!'s Best Practices for Speeding up Your Website page.

In this case, by using one optimized image we should see an improvement in image response time. CSS sprites work by combining your background images to one and then using CSS to align that image with background-image and background-position. There is nothing special about the CSS used, so it should be compatible with all major browsers.

Use a Content Delivery Network (CDN): Grade F

Many websites will have an F grade for this rule, due to the fact that it takes a bit of work to setup; however, the benefits are more than worth the time cost. Additionally, services like Amazon offer surprisingly cheap hosting. While Envato absolutely uses CDNs for its high traffic sites, like Nettuts+, they may have decided that it's not necessary for a lower traffic site.

Add Expires Headers: Grade F

Again, we are confronted by a rule which is concerned with HTTP requests. Expires headers are common, because they allow components to become cacheable. Cached components (images, JavaScript, etc) save time and bandwidth for repeated visits to a web page. So it is worth implementing expiration dates for your content.

YSlow found 55 components "without a far-future expiration date" after analyzing Envato.com. Most of the components are background images. We know from the first suggestion, "Make fewer HTTP requests," that we can use CSS sprites to reduce the number of background images, automatically improving this grade.

Setting up "Expires" headers is generally a simple process, and typically only requires a quick addition to your .htaccess file. Once applied, all of your components should now have appropriate expires headers without any further file manipulation or modification. In order to gain full insight into working with your .htaccess file and headers requires an article unto itself. Rather than go into detail here, I have included a set of helpful links for further reading:

Put CSS at Top: Grade B

YSlow found one stylesheet outside of the Head element for Envato. Thankfully, this is the simplest rule to rectify. By keeping style sheets at the top of your web page, you automatically increase the speed at which your web page will load. Once moved, YSlow should report a grade A for this rule.

Minify JavaScript and CSS: Grade D

Removing unused white space in your documents reduces the size of the document, and thus increases the speed at which the file is downloaded. As I mentioned earlier, YSlow provides us with a minification tool, so all the hard work can be done for us.

Head over to the Tools view and select YUI CSS Compressor. In the blink of an eye, your CSS files are minified and available for download. Quick, clean, and simple.

Configure Entity Tags (ETags): Grade C

ETags provide a way to validate a specific version of a web page component (images, JavaScript, etc). They work with the web server to match a browser's cached content against the content on the web server. Unfortunately, YSlow has picked up on two missing ETags for files hosted on formspring.com. Due to this, it might be best to follow YSlow's suggestion and remove ETags altogether. This can be done by adding "FileETag none" to your Apache configuration file. You should now see an improvement in this rules grade.


Alternatives

There are many alternatives when it comes to website analysis, and I wouldn't be surprised if you had your favorites. Along with YSlow, I use another four free analyzers. As you might expect, each one offers unique features, and, for this reason alone, I think it is important to remember that no one tool can provide an absolute bullet-proof report.

To provide you with an idea of how different each of these generates a final outcome, I have included a brief description and the score given to Envato's website.

Web Page Test

Provided by AOL, this application adds a variety of settings to your analysis. You can simulate browser version, connection speed, and perform visual comparisons to other URLs. It's a great feature if you wish to start A/B Testing.

Score: N/A. Provides an optimization checklist and load timings.

PageSpeed

PageSpeed is another add-on for Firefox and Firebug. This even shows up in the same menu as YSlow and provides a similar analysis. Like YSlow, it uses rules and reports back on how well each component performs. It will even optimize and minify your content.

Score: 76/100

WooRank

Still in beta, this free web application will check your content, Alexa ranking, traffic, search engine optimization, geo metadata and more. Again, helpful hints are added with each analysis. You can even add a widget to your website, showing off your 'woorank score'.

Score: 65.8/100

Website Grader

Grader is another free web application, also available for the iPhone. This tool is quite similar to WooRank, with a clean and detailed interface. There is even a dedicated tool for analyzing blogs: a unique feature out of the five listed in this article.

Score: 99/100


Pros of YSlow

  • Includes the option to automatically analyze web pages.
  • Costs nothing and is free from advertising.
  • Rule sets are customizable. For example, if you're not concerned with content delivery networks, you can simply turn this option off.
  • Automatically uploads all the images from web pages when working with Yahoo! Smush.it. This alone is a huge timesaver.
  • All rules are backed with extensive documentation and offer explanations for improvement.

Cons of YSlow

  • YSlow only works with remotely hosted webpages. Trying to analyze an HTML document on your desktop will often result in false feedback.
  • Errors in JavaScript or HTML may cause YSlow to hang. This is rare, but a simple close and reopen works just fine.
  • YSlow lacks the ability to add your own rules for testing. I would like to add some personalized rule sets, such as Alexa Ranking or Google Page Rank.
  • Only available for Firefox and requires Firebug to work. If you don't like Firefox or Firebug, this might be a problem.

Summary

Applications like YSlow offer a quick and effective analysis of web pages. They can generate detailed reports from the information they gather, provide suggestions or tools to resolve issues, and they may end up teaching you something along the way. But YSlow and its alternatives will always have competition: a dedicated, seasoned and qualified web developer or SEO analyst.

Nothing beats knowledge and practice; as we saw, several analysis tools will always come up with several different reports.

There is no one true solution when it comes to search engine optimization or increasing web page load times. However, a helping hand like YSlow may ease your workload and save you or your client a lot of time and, more importantly, money, in the long run.

Related Posts
  • Web Design
    Case Studies
    How They Did It: Apple’s “Elevating the Expedition”Ipad thumb
    We're tackling a big one today: Apple’s "Elevating the expedition" iPad marketing page. Apple have taken the concept of target audience very seriously in their decisions with this site. Let's dive in!Read More…
  • Code
    Web Development
    Laravel Unwrapped: Session, Auth and CacheLaravel wide retina preview
    Join me as we learn how to use Laravel's component-based system, Illuminate. Additionally, we'll see how to utilize service providers, Laravel's manager system, the Session, Auth, and Cache components, and the Store, Guard, and Repository libraries.Read More…
  • Code
    Articles
    Web Assets - Tips for Better Organization and PerformanceWeb assets retina preview
    Remember back to when we had to spend a lot of time optimizing our project's assets (images, CSS, etc..)? Well today, users have a much faster Internet connection and it appears that we can afford to use bigger images or bigger flash files with a lot of video and pictures inside. However, with the rise of mobile development, we are again back in that same situation. It is extremely important to create well optimized sites, so that we have faster applications, which download less content and respond immediately. Read More…
  • Code
    Other
    HTTP Succinctly: HTTP Web ArchitectureHttp cover
    In the first chapter we talked about resources, but mostly focused on URLs and how to interpret a URL. However, resources are the centerpiece of HTTP. Now that we understand HTTP messages, methods, and connections, we can return to look at resources in a new light. In this chapter we'll talk about the true essence of working with resources when architecting web applications and web services.Read More…
  • Code
    Scaling & Caching
    WordPress Caching PluginsPreview
    It is important to have a fast website in terms of both user experience and search results. In this article we will find out what caching is, how it can help to speed things up and two popular caching plugins for WordPress.Read More…
  • Code
    Workflow
    Front-end Performance Optimization: What, Why and How?Code
    Believe it or not, the concept of optimizing front-end code for maximum performance is a relatively new thing. Sure, years and years ago, we knew that it was important, but we simply didn’t have access to the tools that we do today. Even six years ago, we were far more concerned with wrangling our websites into functioning correctly in Internet Explorer 6 than with squeezing every ounce of performance out of our applications.Read More…