Unlimited Plugins, WordPress themes, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. PHP
Code

SOLID: Часть 1 - Принцип Единственной Ответственности

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:MediumLanguages:
This post is part of a series called The SOLID Principles.
SOLID: Part 2 - The Open/Closed Principle

Russian (Pусский) translation by Sergey Zhuk (you can also view the original English article)

Принцип единственной ответственности, Открытости/Закрытости, Подстановки, Множественности Интерфейсов и Инверсия Зависимостей. Пять гибких принципов, которыми вы должны руководствоваться каждый раз, когда пишете код.

Определение

У класса должна быть только одна причина для изменения.

Роберт C. Мартин дал это определение в своей книге Гибкая Разработка Программного Обеспечения, Принципы, Структуры и Практики, а затем в книге C# версии Гибкие Принципы, Структуры и Практики в C#, это один из пяти SOLID гибких принципов. Хотя определение и выглядит достаточно просто, но достижение этой простоты может быть достаточно сложным. У класса должна быть только одна причина для изменения.

Но почему? Почему это вдруг стало так важно, иметь только одну причину для изменения?

В статично типизированных и компилируемых языках несколько причин для изменения могут привести к нескольким нежелательным перераспределениям. Когда есть две разные причины для изменения класса, то вполне может оказаться, что две разные команды работают над одним и тем же кодом но по разным причинам. Каждая может предоставить свое собственное решение, которое в случае с компилируемыми языками (C++, C# или Java) может привести к несовместимым с остальными частями приложения модулям.

Даже несмотря на то, что вы можете и не использовать компилируемый язык, может потребоваться повторное тестирование класса или модуля по разным причинам. Это означает больше работы нам контролем качества, больше времени и усилий.

Аудитория

Определение одной персональной ответственности, которую класс или модуль должен иметь, представляет собой гораздо более сложный процесс, чем просто проход по какому-нибудь контрольному списку. Например, чтобы найти возможные причины для изменения, можно провести анализ аудитории нашего класса. Пользователи приложения или системы, которую мы разрабатываем, и которые обслуживаются конкретным модулем, являются аудиторией или теми, кто может запросить изменения. Тех, кого обслуживают, будут нуждаться в изменениях. Вот несколько примеров модулей и из возможные аудитории.

  • Модуль хранения - Аудитория включат в себя DBA и архитекторов приложения.
  • Модуль отчетов - Аудитория состоит из секретарей, бухгалтеров и операций.
  • Модуль вычислений оплаты для системы заработной платы - аудитория может включать юристов, менеджеров и бухгалтеров.
  • Модуль поиска книг для системы управления библиотекой -  аудитория может включать библиотекарей и/или самих клиентов.

Актеры и роли

Сопоставление конкретных лиц на все эти роли может оказаться весьма трудным. В маленькой компании один чевлоек может иметь несколько ролей, в то время как в большой компании может быть несколько людей, привязанных к одной роли. Так что следует задуматься о ролях. Но роли сами по себе достаточно тяжело определить. Что же является ролью? Как нам её определить? Это гораздо проще представить актеров для этих ролей и связывать нашу аудиторию с этими актерами.

Получается, что наша аудитория определяет причины для изменений, а актеры определяют аудиторию. Это значительно поможет нам сократить концепции конкретных лиц как например «Джон архитектор» до архитектуры, а «Мэри референт» до операций.

Таким образом ответственность - это набор функций, которые обслуживает одного актера. (Роберт C. Мартин)

Источник изменений

Актеры могут стать источником изменений для набора функций, которая обслуживает их. Как только меняются их потребности, также должен поменяться определенный набор функционала, чтобы удовлетворить новым требованиям.

Актер для ответственности является единственным источником изменений этой ответственности. (Роберт C. Мартин)

Классические примеры

Объекты, которые могут печатать сами себя.

Допустим у нас есть класс Book, который инкапсулирует сущность книги и ее функционал.

Это может выглядеть как вполне допустимый класс. У нас есть книга, она может предоставить ее название, автора и в ней можно перевернуть страницу. И она также может напечатать на экране текущую страницу. Но тут есть маленькая проблема. Если мы подумаем о субъектах, участвующих в эксплуатации объекта Book, кем они могут быть? Мы здесь смело можем сказать о двух различных субъектах: Управление книгами (как библиотекарь) и Механизм представления данных (например, как мы хотим предоставить содержание пользователю - на экране, используя графический пользовательский интерфейс или это может быть только текст пользовательского интерфейса, или печать). Существует два совершенно разных субъекта.

Смешивание бизнес логики с логикой отображения - плохое решение, потому что это нарушает Принцип единственной ответственности. Взгляните на следующий код:

Даже этот очень простой пример показывает, как разделение представления от бизнес логики и соблюдение SRP, дает нам большие преимущества в гибкости нашего дизайна.

Объекты, которые могут сохранять сами себя

Рассмотрим пример с объектом, который может сам себя сохранять, а затем доставать себя из хранилища. 

И снова мы можем выделить двух субъектов: Система управления книгами и Хранилище. Как только нам потребуется сменить хранилище, нам придется изменить и этот класс. Как только нам потребуется изменить то, каким образом мы переходим с одной страницы на другую, нам потребуется изменить этот класс. Здесь есть несколько причин для изменения.

Перенос операций с хранилищем в другой класс достаточно чисто разделит обязанности, и мы сможем свободно менять механизмы хранения, без изменения класса Book. Например, реализация класса DatabasePersistence окажется тривиальной задачей, а наша бизнес логика, построенная вокруг операций с книгами не будет затронута.

Представление высшего уровня

В моих предыдущих статьях я часто упоминал и представлял схемы архитектуры высокого уровня, которые представлены ниже.

HighLevelDesign

Если мы проанализируем эту схему, вы можете увидеть, как соблюдается принцип единственной ответственности ответственности. Создание объектов отделенно справа в фабрики, а главная точка входа в наше приложение  является одним субъектом с одной ответственностью. Хранилище так же отделено и находится внизу. Отдельный модуль для отдельной ответственности. Наконец слева, у нас есть отображения или механизм доставки, в виде MVC или любого другого типа интерфейса. SRP снова соблюдается. Все что остается - это выяснить, что делать внутри нашей бизнес-логики.

Вопросы проектирования программного обеспечения

Когда мы думаем о программном обеспечении, которое нам необходимо написать, мы можем анализировать много разных аспектов. Например ряд требований, касающихся одного и того же класса может представлять шкалу изменений. Эта ось изменений может быть ключом к пониманию единственной ответственности. Существует высокая вероятность того, что группы требований, которые влияют на одни и те же группы функций будут иметь основания для изменения.

Основная ценность программного обеспечения является простота изменения. Вторичной является функциональность, в смысле максимально возможного удовлетворения требований пользователей. Однако чтобы добиться высокого второго значение, первичное значение является обязательным. Чтобы сохранять первое значение на высоком уровне, мы должны иметь архитектуру, которую легко изменять, расширять, добавлять новый функционал и обеспечивать соблюдение SRP.

Мы можем рассуждать шаг за шагом:

  1. Высокое первичное значение со временем приведет к высокому вторичному значению.
  2. Вторичное значение означает потребности пользователей.
  3. Потребности пользователей обозначают потребности субъектов.
  4. Потребности субъектов определяют потребности изменения этих субъектов.
  5. Потребности в изменениях субъектов определяют наши ответственности.

Таким образом при проектировании нашего программного обеспечения нам следует:

  1. Найти и выделить актеров (субъектов).
  2. Определить обязанности, которые обслуживают этих актеров.
  3. Сгруппировать наши функции и классы таким образом, чтобы каждый из них имел только одну определенную ответственность. 

Менее очевидный пример

Сейчас это может показаться вполне допустимым. У нас нет метода, который взаимодействует с сохранением или с представлением данных. У нас есть наш функционал turnPage() и несколько способов предоставления различной информации о книге. Однако могут возникнуть проблемы. Чтобы выяснить их, нам следует проанализировать наше приложение. Проблема может быть в функции getLocation().

Все методы в классе Book относятся к бизнес-логике. Поэтому надо и смотреть с точки зрения бизнеса. Если наше приложение используется реальными библиотеками, которые ищут книги и выдают нам реальную физическую книгу, то SPR может быть нарушен.

Мы может заметить, что операциями актера являются те, которые заинтересованны в методах getTitle(), getAuthor() и getLocation(). Клиенты так же могут иметь доступ к приложению, чтобы выбрать книгу и прочитать первые несколько страниц для понимания сути книги и чтобы понять, нужна она им или нет. Таким образом актеры - читатели могут быть заинтересованы во всех методах, кроме getLocations(). Обычному клиенту не важно, где в библиотеке хранится книга. Книга будет передана клиенту библиотекарем. Таким образом мы действительно имеем нарушение SPR.

Реализуем класс BookLocator, библиотекарь будет заинтересован в использовании BookLocator. Клиенту же необходим только класс Book. Конечно есть несколько способов реализовать класс BookLocator. Он может использовать автора и название объекта книги, и получить необходимую информацию от объекта Book. Это всегда зависит от нашего бизнеса. Важным является то, что если библиотека поменяется, и библиотекарю придется искать книги в организованном совсем по-другому месте, сам класс Book при этом затронут не будет. Точно так же, если мы решим предоставлять читателям краткое содержание книги вместо возможности просмотра нескольких первых страниц, это не затронет ни библиотекаря, ни сам процесс поиска книг на полках.

Однако если наш бизнес вдруг решит отказаться от услуг библиотекаря и создать механизм самообслуживания в нашей библиотеке, то тогда можно сказать, что в нашем первом примере SPR не нарушается. Читатели также сами являются и библиотекарями, им нужно самим находить книги. Это также вполне допустимо. Важно здесь помнить, что всегда необходимо тщательно рассмотреть требования бизнеса.

Заключительные мысли

Принцип единственной ответственности следует всегда рассматривать при написании кода. Архитектура классов и модулей может сильно зависеть от этого, что может привести к низко связанной архитектуре и меньшим количеством зависимостей. Но как и любая монета, он имеет две стороны. Заманчиво начать держать в уме SPR с самого начала при проектировании архитектуры приложения. Так же весьма заманчиво попытаться сразу выяснить всех актеров в нашем приложении. Но на самом деле то опасно - с точки зрения дизайна - попробовать рассмотреть все части приложения с самого начала. Чрезмерное внимание к SRP может легко привести к преждевременной оптимизации и вместо хорошего дизайна можно получить архитектуру, в которой обязанности классов и модулей очень тяжело понять.

Таким образом, всякий раз, когда вы наблюдаете, что класс или модуль требует изменений по разным причинам, то сразу же принимайте необходимые меры для соблюдения  SPR, но делайте это аккуратно, потому что преждевременная оптимизация может легко обмануть вас.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
PHP

SOLID: Part 1 - The Single Responsibility Principle

by

Single Responsibility (SRP), Open/Close, Liskov's Substitution, Interface Segregation, and Dependency Inversion. Five agile principles that should guide you every time you write code.


The Definition

A class should have only one reason to change.

Defined by Robert C. Martin in his book Agile Software Development, Principles, Patterns, and Practices and later republished in the C# version of the book Agile Principles, Patterns, and Practices in C#, it is one of the five SOLID agile principles. What it states is very simple, however achieving that simplicity can be very tricky. A class should have only one reason to change.

But why? Why is it so important to have only one reason for change?

In statically typed and compiled languages, several reasons may lead to several, unwanted redeployments. If there are two different reasons to change, it is conceivable that two different teams may work on the same code for two different reasons. Each will have to deploy its solution, which in the case of a compiled language (like C++, C# or Java), may lead to incompatible modules with other teams or other parts of the application.

Even though you may not use a compiled language, you may need to retest the same class or module for different reasons. This means more QA work, time, and effort.


The Audience

Determining the one single responsibility a class or module should have is much more complex than just looking at a checklist. For example, one clue to find our reasons for change is to analyze the audience for our class. The users of the application or system we develop who are served by a particular module will be the ones requesting changes to it. Those served will ask for change. Here are a couple of modules and their possible audiences.

  • Persistence Module - Audience include DBAs and software architects.
  • Reporting Module - Audience include clerks, accountants, and operations.
  • Payment Computation Module for a Payroll System - Audience may include lawyers, managers, and accountants.
  • Book Search Module for a Library Management System - Audience may include the librarian and/or the clients themselves.

Roles and Actors

Associating concrete persons to all of these roles may be difficult. In a small company a single person may need to satisfy several roles while in a large company there may be several persons allocated to a single role. So it seems much more reasonable to think about the roles. But roles by themselves are quite difficult to define. What is a role? How do we find it? It is much easier to imagine actors doing those roles and associating our audience with those actors.

So if our audience defines reasons for change, the actors define the audience. This greatly helps us to reduce the concept of concrete persons like "John the architect" to Architecture, or "Mary the referent" to Operations.

So a responsibility is a family of functions that serves one particular actor. (Robert C. Martin)


Source of Change

In the sense of this reasoning, actors become a source of change for the family of functions that serves them. As their needs change, that specific family of functions must also change to accommodate their needs.

An actor for a responsibility is the single source of change for that responsibility. (Robert C. Martin)


Classic Examples

Objects That Can "Print" Themselves

Let's say we have a Book class encapsulating the concept of a book and its functionalities.

class Book {

	function getTitle() {
		return "A Great Book";
	}

	function getAuthor() {
		return "John Doe";
	}

	function turnPage() {
		// pointer to next page
	}

	function printCurrentPage() {
		echo "current page content";
	}
}

This may look like a reasonable class. We have book, it can provide its title, author and it can turn the page. Finally, it is also able to print the current page on the screen. But there is a little problem. If we think about the actors involved in operating the Book object, who might they be? We can easily think of two different actors here: Book Management (like the librarian) and Data Presentation Mechanism (like the way we want to deliver the content to the user - on-screen, graphical UI, text-only UI, maybe printing). These are two very different actors.

Mixing business logic with presentation is bad because it is against the Single Responsibility Principle (SRP). Take a look at the following code:

class Book {

	function getTitle() {
		return "A Great Book";
	}

	function getAuthor() {
		return "John Doe";
	}

	function turnPage() {
		// pointer to next page
	}

	function getCurrentPage() {
		return "current page content";
	}

}

interface Printer {

	function printPage($page);
}

class PlainTextPrinter implements Printer {

	function printPage($page) {
		echo $page;
	}

}

class HtmlPrinter implements Printer {

	function printPage($page) {
		echo '<div style="single-page">' . $page . '</div>';
	}

}

Even this very basic example shows how separating presentation from business logic, and respecting SRP, gives great advantages in our design's flexibility.

Objects That Can "Save" Themselves

A similar example to the one above is when an object can save and retrieve itself from presentation.

class Book {

	function getTitle() {
		return "A Great Book";
	}

	function getAuthor() {
		return "John Doe";
	}

	function turnPage() {
		// pointer to next page
	}

	function getCurrentPage() {
		return "current page content";
	}

	function save() {
		$filename = '/documents/'. $this->getTitle(). ' - ' . $this->getAuthor();
		file_put_contents($filename, serialize($this));
	}

}

We can, again identify several actors like Book Management System and Persistence. Whenever we want to change persistence, we need to change this class. Whenever we want to change how we get from one page to the next, we have to modify this class. There are several axis of change here.

class Book {

	function getTitle() {
		return "A Great Book";
	}

	function getAuthor() {
		return "John Doe";
	}

	function turnPage() {
		// pointer to next page
	}

	function getCurrentPage() {
		return "current page content";
	}

}

class SimpleFilePersistence {

	function save(Book $book) {
		$filename = '/documents/' . $book->getTitle() . ' - ' . $book->getAuthor();
		file_put_contents($filename, serialize($book));
	}

}

Moving the persistence operation to another class will clearly separate the responsibilities and we will be free to exchange persistence methods without affecting our Book class. For example implementing a DatabasePersistence class would be trivial and our business logic built around operations with books will not change.


A Higher Level View

In my previous articles I frequently mentioned and presented the high level architectural schema that can be seen below.

HighLevelDesign

If we analyze this schema, you can see how the Single Responsibility Principle is respected. Object creation is separated on the right in Factories and the main entry point of our application, one actor one responsibility. Persistence is also taken care of at the bottom. A separate module for the separate responsibility. Finally, on the left, we have presentation or the delivery mechanism if you wish, in the form of an MVC or any other type of UI. SRP respected again. All that remains is to figure out what to do inside of our business logic.


Software Design Considerations

When we think about the software that we need to write, we can analyze many different aspects. For example, several requirements affecting the same class may represent an axis of change. This axes of change may be a clue for a single responsibility. There is a high probability that groups of requirements that are affecting the same group of functions will have reasons to change or be specified in the first place.

The primary value of software is ease of change. The secondary is functionality, in the sense of satisfying as much requirements as possible, meeting the user's needs. However, in order to achieve a high secondary value, a primary value is mandatory. To keep our primary value high, we must have a design that is easy to change, to extend, to accommodate new functionalities and to ensure that SRP is respected.

We can reason in a step by step manner:

  1. High primary value leads in time to high secondary value.
  2. Secondary value means needs of the users.
  3. Needs of the users means needs of the actors.
  4. Needs of the actors determines the needs of changes of these actors.
  5. Needs of change of actors defines our responsibilities.

So when we design our software we should:

  1. Find and define the actors.
  2. Identify the responsibilities that serve those actors.
  3. Group our functions and classes so that each has only one allocated responsibility.

A Less Obvious Example

class Book {

	function getTitle() {
		return "A Great Book";
	}

	function getAuthor() {
		return "John Doe";
	}

	function turnPage() {
		// pointer to next page
	}

	function getCurrentPage() {
		return "current page content";
	}

	function getLocation() {
		// returns the position in the library
		// ie. shelf number & room number
	}

}

Now this may appear perfectly reasonable. We have no method dealing with persistence, or presentation. We have our turnPage() functionality and a few methods to provide different information about the book. However, we may have a problem. To find out, we might want to analyze our application. The function getLocation() may be the problem.

All of the methods of the Book class are about business logic. So our perspective must be from the business's point of view. If our application is written to be used by real librarians who are searching for books and giving us a physical book, then SRP might be violated.

We can reason that the actor operations are the ones interested in the methods getTitle(), getAuthor() and getLocation(). The clients may also have access to the application to select a book and read the first few pages to get an idea about the book and decide if they want it or not. So the actor readers may be interested in all the methods except getLocations(). An ordinary client doesn't care where the book is kept in the library. The book will be handed over to the client by the librarian. So, we do indeed have a violation of SRP.

class Book {

	function getTitle() {
		return "A Great Book";
	}

	function getAuthor() {
		return "John Doe";
	}

	function turnPage() {
		// pointer to next page
	}

	function getCurrentPage() {
		return "current page content";
	}

}

class BookLocator {

	function locate(Book $book) {
		// returns the position in the library
		// ie. shelf number & room number
		$libraryMap->findBookBy($book->getTitle(), $book->getAuthor());
	}

}

Introducing the BookLocator, the librarian will be interested in the BookLocator. The client will be interested in the Book only. Of course, there are several ways to implement a BookLocator. It can use the author and title or a book object and get the required information from the Book. It always depends on our business. What is important is that if the library is changed, and the librarian will have to find books in a differently organized library, the Book object will not be affected. In the same way, if we decide to provide a pre-compiled summary to the readers instead of letting them browse the pages, that will not affect the librarian nor the process of finding the shelf the books sits on.

However, if our business is to eliminate the librarian and create a self-service mechanism in our library, then we may consider that SRP is respected in our first example. The readers are our librarians also, they need to go and find the book themselves and then check it out at the automated system. This is also a possibility. What is important to remember here is that you must always consider your business carefully.


Final Thoughts

The Single Responsibility Principle should always be considered when we write code. Class and module design is highly affected by it and it leads to a low coupled design with less and lighter dependencies. But as any coin, it has two faces. It is tempting to design from the beginning of our application with SRP in mind. It is also tempting to identify as many actors as we want or need. But this is actually dangerous - from a design point of view - to try and think of all the parties from the very beginning. Excessive SRP consideration can easily lead to premature optimization and instead of a better design, it may lead to a scattered one where the clear responsibilities of classes or modules may be hard to understand.

So, whenever you observe that a class or module starts to change for different reasons, don't hesitate, take the necessary steps to respect SRP, however don't overdue it because premature optimization can easily trick you.

Related Posts
  • Code
    PHP
    SOLID: Part 4 - The Dependency Inversion Principle4 dip retina
    The Single Responsibility (SRP), Open/Closed (OCP), Liskov Substitution, Interface Segregation, and Dependency Inversion. Five agile principles that should guide you every time you write code.Read More…
  • Code
    PHP
    SOLID: Part 3 - Liskov Substitution & Interface Segregation Principles3 lspisp retina
    The Single Responsibility (SRP), Open/Closed (OCP), Liskov Substitution, Interface Segregation, and Dependency Inversion. Five agile principles that should guide you every time you write code.Read More…
  • Code
    PHP
    SOLID: Part 2 - The Open/Closed Principle2 ocp retina
    Single Responsibility (SRP), Open/Closed (OCP), Liskov's Substitution, Interface Segregation, and Dependency Inversion. Five agile principles that should guide you every time you need to write code.Read More…
  • Code
    JavaScript & AJAX
    Using Node's Event ModuleNode event module retina preview
    When I first heard about Node.js, I thought it was just a JavaScript implementation for the server. But it's actually much more: it comes with a host of built-in functions that you don't get in the browser. One of those bit of functionality is the Event Module, which has the EventEmitter class. We'll be looking at that in this tutorial.Read More…
  • Code
    PHP
    The Repository Design PatternRepository pattern retina preview
    The Repository Design Pattern, defined by Eric Evens in his Domain Driven Design book, is one of the most useful and most widely applicable design patterns ever invented. Any application has to work with persistence and with some kind of list of items. These can be users, products, networks, disks, or whatever your application is about. If you have a blog for example, you have to deal with lists of blog posts and lists of comments. The problem that all of these list management logics have in common is how to connect business logic, factories and persistence.Read More…
  • Code
    Design
    How to Write Code That Embraces ChangeWrite code that embraces change
    Writing code, which is easy to change is the Holy Grail of programming. Welcome to programming nirvana! But things are much more difficult in reality: source code is difficult to understand, dependencies point in countless directions, coupling is annoying, and you soon feel the heat of programming hell. In this tutorial, we will discuss a few principles, techniques and ideas that will help you write code that is easy to change.Read More…