30-50% off hundreds of digital assets! WordPress themes, video, music and more 30-50% Off Go to Sale
Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. WordPress
Code

Options Pour SSL dans Wordpress

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

French (Français) translation by Willy Touomi (you can also view the original English article)

Avec l'accroissement de l'intérêt pour la sécurité sur le web, les certificats SSL ont commencé à devenir une pratique commune lors de la mise en place des sites web.

Cet article vous montrera comment implémenter SSL dans votre site Wordpress, mais n'entrera pas dans les détails de l'achat et de la configuration des certificats chez votre hébergeur, vu que cela diffère d'un hébergeur à un autre.

Ceci dit, la plupart des hébergeurs vendent et installent des certificats SSL pour leurs clients à concurrence de peu de frais. Afin faire toute modification décrite dans cet article, vous devrez déjà avoir un certificat SSL configuré pour sur serveur web.

C'est quoi le SSL

SSL.com décrit le SSL comme:

SSL (Secure Sockets Layer) est la technologie de sécurité standard pour établir un lien crypté entre un serveur web et un navigateur. Ce lien s'assure que toutes les données passées entre le serveur web et les navigateurs demeurent privées et intrégrales.

Pourquoi utiliser SSL

La sécurité

Il n'y a rien de tel que d'être "trop sécurisé". SSL est plus que jamais accessible et facile à implémenter. Si vous avez un site e-commerce ou si vous traitez des informations utilisateur vitales. SSL n'est pas seulement pour les sites e-commerce cependant - absolument n'importe quel site web peut l'utiliser.

La confiance

Avoir un certificat SSL valide est un bon signal de confiance à envoyer aux visiteurs de votre site web. Plusieurs utilisateurs cherchent maintenant https dans l'adresse de leur navigateur.

Référencement

Le référencement vient de pair avec la confiance - Google a dit qu'il utiliserait dorénavant le SSL comme un critère de classement.

Note rapide

Comme toujours, avant de faire un changement sur votre site web, vous devez en faire une sauvegarde complète et travailler sur un site auxilliaire avant de faire la modification sur le site de production.

Sécuriser l'administration de Wordpress

La capacité de sécurité l'administration de Wordpress est une fonctionnalité dorénavant incluse dans le coeur de Wordpress. Si vous souhaitez activer cette option, il vous faudra éditer le fichier wp-config.php qui se trouve à la racine de votre installation Wordpress. Il est important de toujours faire une sauvegarde de ce fichier avant de le modifier, vu qu'il contient les données essentielles qui permettent à votre site Wordpress de fonctionner.

Une fois le fichier éditer, définissez la constante FORCE_SSL_ADMIN à true. Le code complet ressemble à ceci:

Une fois que cette ligne a été ajoutée (vous pouvez l'ajouter à la fin du fichier wp-config.php, soyez sûr que vous avez enregistré le fichier. Un rafraîchissement de votre page devrait vous montrer que l'administration est maintenant chargée via HTTPS.

SSL en utilisant le plugin Wordpress HTTPS

Wordpress HTTPS est une option populaire parmi les utilisateurs qui désirent utiliser SSL sur leur site Wordpress. Le plugin offre un moyen simple de forcer l'utilisation de SSL depuis l'administration de Wordpress. Il est encore plus utile si vous souhaitez sécuriser certaines parties de votre site web (pages ou articles), mais il peut également être utilisé pour sécuriser tout votre site et supprimer automatiquement les éléments non-sécurisés.

Pour installer le plugin, depuis l'administration de Wordpress, allez dans Plugins > Add New - puis cherchez "Wordpress HTTPS" et cliquez sur "Install".

Sécuriser les pages/articles

Une fois que le plugin aura été installé, chaque page/article aura une boîte méta personnalisée, qui vous offrira la possibilité de sécuriser l'article et (éventuellement) tout article enfant. Cochez l'option qui vous convient et enregistrez votre article. Cet article (et les articles enfants, si vous avez coché cette option) seront dorénavant accessible par HTTPS seulement.

WordPress HTTPS Metabox

Sécuriser tout le site

Sécuriser tout le site peut être fait depuis la page de configuration de Wordpress HTTPS. En cliquant sur l'icône de Wordpress HTTPS dans l'administration de Wordpress, vous atteindrez sa page de configuration - Je vais aborder les paramètres les plus communs:

  • Forcer SSL dans l'administration: C'est une case à cocher. Si vous avez déjà appliqué les instructions de la section "Sécuriser l'administration de Wordpress" de cet article, alors la case devrait être cochée par défaut. Si vous ne l'avez pas fait, en la cochant, vous sécuriserez tout votre espace d'administration.
  • Forcer SSL exclusivement: Si vous cochez cette case, chaque page pour laquelle vous n'aurez pas activé SSL sera consultée via le HTTP standard.
  • Supprimer les éléments non-sécurisés: en cochant cette case, le plugin supprimera tous les éléments de la page qui ne sont pas accessible par HTTPS. L'inconvénient de ce paramètre est qu'il peut empêcher les plugins qui s'appuient sur des ressources externes de fonctionner - à utiliser avec précaution.
WordPress HTTPS Settings

Finalement, vous trouverez vers le bas de page un champ de texte appelé "Filtres URL". Cette partie vous permet de sécuriser des sections de votre site en fonction de l'URL (les expressions régulières sont aussi acceptées). L'exemple donné par le plugin permet de sécuriser toutes les URLs qui commencent par /store/.

Pour ce faire, vous devez saisir /store/ dans le champ texte et cliquer sur "Enregistrer les modifications". Pour chaque nouveau filtre que vous créerez, vous devrez commencer une nouvelle ligne. L'option "Secure Filters" peut aussi être utilisée pour sécuriser tout le site. Il suffira d'ajouter un filtre qui correspond au slash (/). Dorénavant, toute personne qui essaiera d'accéder à votre site via HTTP sera redirigé vers HTTPS. Il faudrait également penser à modifier les paramètres de vos URLs Wordpress si vous affichez tout le site par HTTPS. C'est expliqué dans la section suivante de l'article.

WordPress HTTPS Secure Filters

SSL par le code

Cette méthode est adéquate pour tous ceux qui veulent afficher leur site par HTTPS. Tout ce que nous avons besoin de faire ici est essentiellement de rediriger tout le trafic HTTP vers HTTPS, en utilisant le code 301 (déplacement permanent). Cela peut être fait par HTTP, mais ma méthode préférée est le .htaccess. Afin que cette solution fonctionne, vous aurez besoin que le module mod_rewrite soit installé sur votre serveur Apache - c'est le cas sur la plupart des serveurs Linux, mais renseignez-vous auprès de votre hébergeur avant de faire les changements.

Bien avant de faire les modifications dans le .htaccess, il y a quelques paramètres Wordpress à changer. Depuis l'administration, allez dans Settings > General. Sous "Adresse Wordpress (URL)" et "Adresse du site (URL)", vous devez modifier l'adresse du site afin que http://www.yourdomain.com devienne https://www.yourdomain.com (notez le https). Une fois que c'est fait, cliquez sur le bouton "Enregistrer les modifications" qui se trouve en bas de page. Cela dit à Wordpress qu'il faut utiliser HTTPS dans toutes les URLs, mais n'empêche personne d'accéder à votre site en utilisant HTTP. C'est là que le fichier .htaccess entre en ligne.

Si vous avez activé les permaliens, alors vous devez normalement déjà avoir un fichier .htaccess présent à la racine de votre installation Wordpress. Si vous n'avez pas de .htaccess, il vous faudra en créer un - pour ce faire, créez un fichier avec le nom .htaccess - ce fichier ne pas avoir d'autre nom ou extension. Les fichiers .htaccess sont des fichiers-points ou des fichiers cachés. Vous devrez probablement avoir besoin d'activer l'affichage des fichiers cachés sous votre système avant que vous puissiez les voir.

Ensuite, ouvrez votre fichier .htaccess avec votre l'éditeur texte que vous souhaitez. Si vous n'avez pas activé les permaliens, il se pourrait alors que votre fichier .htaccess soit vide. Si vous avez activé les permaliens, vous devriez donc y avoir un peu de code qui ressemblerait à ceci:

Nous allons ajouter un peu de code ici. Juste avant le code standard proposé par Wordpress, coller ceci:

Souvenez-vous qu'il vous faut remplacer https://www.yourdomain.com/ par votre vrai nom de domaine. Dans le cas où votre .htaccess serait vide, mettez juste notre code dans votre fichier.

La première et la dernière ligne de ce code qui commencent avec le symbole dièse (#) sont des commentaires et aident le code être plus lisible par des êtres humains. L'instruction <IfModule mod_rewrite.c> vérifie que le module mod_rewrite est activé, vu que ce code s'appuie sur mod_rewrite pour la redirection. Nous nous assurons ainsi que RewriteEngine est configuré à ON, car nous avons besoin du moteur de reécriture pour faire nos redirections. Ensuite, nous créons une condition pour notre reécriture, qui dit que la règle que nous créons ne sera exécutée que si l'accès est fait par le port 80 (c'est le port standard du protocole HTTP). Finalement, l'instruction RewritRule redirige les utilisateurs vers la version HTTPS du domaine.

Afin de tester que tout fonctionne correctement, essayez d'ouvrir une URL de votre site en utilisant HTTP - si le site passe automatiquement à HTTPS, alors c'est que tout fonctionne correctement.

Quelle solution devons-nous utiliser?

Il n'y a ni bonne ni mauvaise réponse ici. On pourrait faire valoir comme argument que s'appuyer sur un plugin pour une telle partie de votre site n'est pas une bonne idée puisque, si le plugin est désactivé ou supprimé, ou est victime d'une mauvaise mise à jour, il pourrait avoir de mauvaises conséquences pour votre site.

Cependant, le plugin Wordpress HTTPS a bonne réputation, avec un grand nombre de téléchargements, et est naturellement Open Source. Utiliser le plugin Wordpress HTTPS est la façon la plus facile si vous souhaitez sécuriser l'accès de certaines parties de votre site par HTTPS.

D'autre part, la méthode par code est simple, belle et sûre pour activer HTTPS sur votre site, à condition que vous vous sentiez à l'aise avec de petites modifications dans les fichiers.

Quelques pièges à éviter

Pour que votre site SSL soit valide, tout votre contenu doit être envoyé par SSL également. Ceci inclus les scripts, les polices, les feuilles de style, les inlcusions et les images, sans se limiter à tout cela. Certaines agences de pub n'envoient pas encore tout leur contenu par HTTPS. Si c'est le cas vous n'avez pas beaucoup de choix, car il est possible d'envoyer certaines pages par HTTPS et d'autres par HTTP, comme expliqué plutôt dans l'article.

Afin d'éviter ces maux de tête, vous pouvez utiliser une URL relative au protocole. Par exemple, disons que vous demandiez la très populaire police 'Open Sans' de Google:

Vous avez noté l'absence de HTTP ou de HTTPS au début de cette URL? Ce qu'elle fait c'est simplement de demander la ressource en utilisant le même protocole que celui de la page. Donc, si vous utilisez HTTPS, la police sera automatiquement chargée par HTTPS. Si la version HTTPS de la police n'existe pas, alors Google utilisera HTTP. Il y a quelques inconvénients à cette technique, comme expliqué dans par Paul Irish dans son article L'URL relative au protocole. Pour la meilleure partie, cette astuce fonctionne bien et résoudra la plupart des difficultés - ça marche aussi avec le CSS.

Debugger les erreurs HTTPS

Les erreurs HTTPS sont souvent causées par la page qui ne sert pas du contenu HTTPS. Si vous souhaitez trouver le contenu en cause, vous pouvez utiliser Google Chrome pour le debuggage.

Pour identifier une page non-conforme, dans Google Chrome, vous verrez un triangle jaune sur le cadenas dans la barre d'adresse. En cliquant dessus, vous verrez l'erreur exacte comme montré ci-dessous:

Broken SSL in Google Chrome

Il s'agit maintenant de trouver le contenu en cause et de régler ce problème. Pour ce faire, sélectionnez View >> Developer >> JavaScript console. Vous devriez maintenant apercevoir des erreurs comme celles affichées ci-dessous.

Error Message The page at httpsmakewordpressorgsupportuser-manualwordpress-settingsdiscussion-settings was loaded over HTTPS but displayed insecure content from httpensupportfileswordpresscom200812def-avatarpng this content should also be loaded over HTTPS makewordpressorgsupportuser-manualwordpress-settingsdiscussion-settings316

Cette erreur montre exactement le fichier qui cause problème (dans notre cas http://en.support.files.wordpress.com/2008/12/def-avatar.png) et la ligne à laquelle le contenu apparaît (316). Ce contenu devra simplement être changé en HTTPS (en assumant que le serveur qui fournit le cotnenu supporte le HTTPS). On pourra aussi utiliser, pour régler ce problème une URL relative au protocole, comme mentionné plus tôt dans l'article.

Conclusion

Maintenant, vous serez capable de déterminer la meilleure méthode pour utiliser HTTPS sur votre site Wordpress, et l'installer.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. WordPress
Code

Options for SSL in WordPress

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:ShortLanguages:

With the ever increasing focus on web security, SSL certificates have started to become common practice when setting up websites. 

This article will show you how to implement SSL into your WordPress website but won't go into details of how to buy and set up certificates with your web host, as this changes from provider to provider. 

That said, most web hosts sell and install SSL certificates for their clients for a relatively small fee. To make any of the changes described in this article you will need to already have an SSL certificate configured on your web server.

What is SSL?

SSL.com describes SSL as:

SSL (Secure Sockets Layer) is the standard security technology for establishing an encrypted link between a web server and a browser. This link ensures that all data passed between the web server and browsers remain private and integral.

Why Use SSL?

Security

There's no such thing as being "too secure". SSL is now easier and more affordable than ever to implement. If you have an e-commerce website or are processing any user data then it's essential. SSL isn't just for e-commerce websites either - absolutely any website can use it.

Trust

Having a valid SSL certificate is a good trust signal to send to visitors of your website. Many users will now look out for https in the address bar of their browser.

SEO

This comes hand-in-hand with trust - Google have now said that they are starting to use SSL as a ranking signal.

A Quick Disclaimer

As always, with any change on a website you should take a full backup first and work on a staging website before making any changes to a live website.

Securing the WordPress Admin

Being able to secure the back-end of WordPress is actually a feature that is built in to the WordPress core. To enable the option, you will need to edit your wp-config.php file which sits at the root of your WordPress install. It's important to always make a backup of this file before editing as it holds crucial data that allows your WordPress install to work.

Once editing this file, the FORCE_SSL_ADMIN constant needs to be set to true. The full code looks like this:

Once this line has been added (can be added at the bottom of the wp-config.php file) be sure to save the file. A refresh should show this now being loaded over HTTPS.

SSL Using the WordPress HTTPS Plugin

WordPress HTTPS is a popular choice amongst users that want to use SSL on their WordPress site. The plugin offers an easy way to force SSL from within WordPress admin. It's most useful if you want to secure only certain parts of your website (posts or pages) but can also be used to secure your whole site and it can remove insecure elements automatically.

To install the plugin, from the WordPress dashboard, go to Plugins > Add New - then search for "WordPress HTTPS" and click "Install".

Securing Single Posts/Pages

Once installed each post/page will have a custom metabox that gives you the option to secure the post and (optionally) any child posts. Check which option applies to you and save your post. This post (and child posts if you checked that) will now be served over HTTPS.

WordPress HTTPS Metabox

Securing Your Entire Site

Securing your whole site can be done from the WordPress HTTPS settings page. Clicking on the WordPress HTTPS menu icon from the WordPress dashboard will bring up the settings page - I'm going to run through the most common settings:

  • Force SSL Administration: This is a checkbox, if you have already followed the "Securing the WordPress Admin" section of this article then this will be ticked by default. If you haven't, ticking this will secure the WordPress admin.
  • Force SSL Exclusively: If you check this, any page that you haven't told to use SSL will redirect to standard HTTP.
  • Remove Insecure Elements: If you check this, it will remove any elements from the page that are inaccessible over HTTPS. The downside of this setting is that it may break plugins to rely on external resources - use this with caution.
WordPress HTTPS Settings

Finally, near the bottom of this page there is a text field called "URL Filters". This part allows you to secure sections of your website based on URL (it also accepts regular expressions). The example that the plugin gives here is if you wanted to secure all URL's that start with /store/

To do this you would type /store/ in to the text box and click "Save Changes". For each new filter you create you will need to start a new line. The "Secure Filters" setting can also be used to make the plugin secure your whole website. Just add a filter that is a forward slash (/). Now anyone that tries to access using HTTP will be redirected to HTTPS. It's a good idea to change your standard WordPress URL settings too if you are serving your whole website over HTTPS. This is explained in the next section of the article.

WordPress HTTPS Secure Filters

Update: Users have reported problems with this plugin and WordPress 4.0 - it's recommended that you do not use this solution until these issues are resolved. Please see below for an alternative plugin solution.

SSL Using the iThemes Security Plugin

iThemes Security is one of the most popular WordPress security plugins available. It has many features out of the box for securing your WordPress site, including the option to use HTTPS.

Warning: This plugin is very powerful and some of the settings may have the ability to block you out of your website. For the basic setup of the plugin I recommend you watch the official iThemes video.

Once you the plugin installed and configured (see above video) - head in to your WordPress dashboard, click the "Security" tab and then the "Settings" link.

From the "Go to" drop down, click "Secure Socket Layers(SSL)" to be taken to the correct section of the settings.

There's three settings in this section:

  1. Front End SSL Mode: This drop down has three options:
  • Off - no front-end SSL
  • Per Content - you can choose specific posts to secure by SSL
  • Whole site - All of the front-end is secured
  • Force SSL for Login: Checking this box will mean all logins are served over HTTPS
  • Force SSL for Dashboard: Checking this box will force your WordPress dashboard to use HTTPS
  • The most useful part of the plugin is the ability to secure specific content on the front-end; if you want to secure the whole website then the .htaccess solution is probably the safer bet.

    Once you have made your options here, be sure to click the "Save All Changes" button.

    If you have chosen the "per content" option then you will now see a checkbox within the publish metabox on posts. Simply check this and click "Update" to have this page secured.

    The limitations of using iThemes security for SSL is that it does not allow wildcards, so you can not create blanket rules.

    SSL Using Code

    This method is good for anyone that wants to serve their whole site over HTTPS. Essentially, what we need to do here is redirect any traffic from HTTP to HTTPS, using the 301 code (permanently moved). This can be done with PHP but my preferred method is to use .htaccess. For this solution to work, you will need an Apache host with mod_rewrite enabled - most Linux hosts are, but do ask your host before making any changes.

    Before doing any .htaccess changes, there's a few WordPress settings that we need to change. From the WordPress dashboard, go to Settings > General. Under "WordPress Address (URL)" and "Site Address (URL)", you need to modify the web address so instead of http://www.yourdomain.com it says https://www.yourdomain.com (note the https). Once this is done, scroll down and click the "Save Changes" button. This tells WordPress to use HTTPS in all of the URLS but doesn't yet stop people accessing your website using HTTP. This is where the .htaccess file comes in.

    If you have permalinks enabled, then you will already have an .htaccess file present in the root directory of your WordPress installation. If you don't then you will need to make one - to do this, create a new file with the name .htaccess - this file should have no other name or extension. .htaccess files are dot-files or hidden files so you may need to enable viewing hidden files in your operating system to see them.

    Next, open up your .htaccess file with your text editor of choice. If you don't have permalinks enabled then your .htaccess file may be blank. If you do have permalinks enabled then you may already have some code in there which looks like this:

    We are going to add some more code here. Directly above the standard WordPress code, paste in the following:

    Remember to replace https://www.yourdomain.com/ with your actual domain name. If you have a blank .htaccess file then just put the code straight in to the file.

    The first and last lines of this code with the hash symbol (#) are comments and are there to make the code more human readable. The <IfModule mod_rewrite.c> is checking that the mod_rewrite module is enabled as this code relies on mod_rewrite for redirection. We are then ensuring that the RewriteEngine is set to On as we need the rewrite engine in order to create our redirects. Next, we set a condition for our rewrite which means the rule we create will only run if it is accessed on port 80 (port 80 is the standard HTTP port). Finally, the RewriteRule is redirecting users to the HTTPS version of the domain.

    To test that this is working correctly, try visiting your site using a HTTP URL - if it automatically changes to HTTPS then this is working correctly.

    Which Solution Should We Use?

    There's no right or wrong answer here. It could be argued that relying on a plugin for such an integral part of your website may not be the best idea, as if the plugin is disabled, deleted or has a bad update then it could have some serious consequences for your website. 

    That said, the WordPress HTTPS plugin has a good reputation with a lot of downloads and is naturally open source. Using the WordPress HTTPS plugin is the easiest way if you want to set only certain areas of your website to be HTTPS.

    On the other hand, the code method is nice and simple if you are comfortable making a few simple edits to files and is a reliable method for making your whole website run over HTTPS.

    Some Developer Gotchas

    In order for your website SSL to be valid, all of your content needs to be sent over SSL, too. This includes, but is not limited to scripts, fonts, stylesheets, embeds and images. Some advertising agencies don't yet send content over HTTPS so if that's the case don't have much choice, although it is possible to have some pages HTTPS and other HTTP as explained earlier in the article.

    To avoid this headache, you can use a protocol-relative URL. For example, let's say we're requesting the popular Google web font 'Open Sans':

    Notice the lack of HTTP or HTTPS at the front of that URL? what this does, is request the asset using the same protocol as the page. So, if you are using HTTPS, it will automatically request the HTTPS version of web font. If the HTTPS version does not exist, then it will use HTTP. There's a few small caveats to this technique as explained in an article by Paul Irish. For the best part, this works great though and will solve some headaches - it also works in CSS.

    Debugging HTTPS Errors

    HTTPS errors are often caused by the page also serving non HTTPS content. To find out the offending content, Google Chrome can be used to debug.

    To identify a failing page, in Google Chrome, you will see a yellow triangle over the padlock in the address bar. Clicking this will show the exact error as shown below:

    Broken SSL in Google Chrome

    To find out the offending content on this page so it can be fixed, select View >> Developer >> JavaScript console. You should now see some errors such as the ones shown below:

    Error Message The page at httpsmakewordpressorgsupportuser-manualwordpress-settingsdiscussion-settings was loaded over HTTPS but displayed insecure content from httpensupportfileswordpresscom200812def-avatarpng this content should also be loaded over HTTPS makewordpressorgsupportuser-manualwordpress-settingsdiscussion-settings316

    This error shows you the exact file that is causing the problem (in this case http://en.support.files.wordpress.com/2008/12/def-avatar.png) and the line number in which the content appears (316). This content would simply have to be changed to HTTPS (providing the server the content is on supports HTTPS) or use a protocol relative URL as explained earlier in this article.

    Conclusion

    You will now be able to make a decision on which is the best method for you to use HTTPS on your WordPress website and implement your favored solution.

    Advertisement
    Advertisement
    Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
    Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.