Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. iOS SDK
Code

iOS SDK: Cоздание потрясающей карусели

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

Russian (Pусский) translation by Liliya (you can also view the original English article)

Привлекайте своих пользователей потрясающими каруселями. Мы посмотрим, насколько легко и просто внедрить прокручиваемые интерактивные карусели в приложения для iOS. Высокая конфигурируемость позволяет создавать трехмерные, плоские, вращающиеся и бесконечные массивы прокрутки для данных, изображений или кнопок.

Последующие изменения в методах и программном обеспечении

Некоторые аспекты приложений или методов, использованных в этом руководстве, изменились с момента его первоначального опубликования. Это может сделать его немного сложным. Мы рекомендуем взглянуть на более поздние учебники по той же теме:

Создать потрясающую карусель, Версия 2.0

9 января 2007 года Стив Джобс представил iPhone заинтересованной аудитории. В своем выступлении он продемонстрировал многие функции, которые позволят создать совершенно новый способ взаимодействия с технологиями и информацией. Одна из многочисленных функций была представлена ​​простым и мощным сообщением - "прикоснись к своей музыке". Когда он стоял там, с Бобом Диланом, играющим над динамиками, Стив Джобс "пролистал" музыкальные альбомы без особых усилий, и это сообщение было ясным.

Теперь, почти пять лет спустя, это же сообщение верно. В том, как мы можем просматривать нашу музыку сегодня, есть волшебство, и, как разработчики, мы можем донести этот же опыт до наших пользователей для всех видов данных, а не только для песен и альбомов.

Для тех, кто уже знаком с разработкой для iOS, может быть пугающим рассмотреть ряд факторов, влияющих на реализацию чего-то, казалось бы простого, например Cover Flow: анимация и плавная прокрутка, оптимизация обработки изображений, перехват сенсорных взаимодействий и т. д.

К счастью, Ник Локвуд из Charcoal Design создал класс под названием "iCarousel", который выполняет всю тяжелую работу для нас, и он выпустил его как проект с открытым исходным кодом. Это означает, что мы можем быстро и эффективно приступить к работе, все еще наслаждаясь высоко интерактивным, сенсорным Cover Flow.

Одной из замечательных особенностей iCarousel является выбор готовых к использованию типов дисплеев:

  • iCarouselTypeLinear
  • iCarouselTypeRotary
  • iCarouselTypeInvertedRotary
  • iCarouselTypeCylinder
  • iCarouselTypeInvertedCylinder
  • iCarouselTypeCoverFlow
  • iCarouselTypeCoverflow2

Также возможно настроить эти стили в соответствии с вашими потребностями, но это может быть отдельный учебник или краткий совет (сообщите нам в комментариях, если вы заинтересованы).


Шаг 1: Получение iCarousel и настройка

iCarousel размещен на github, что означает, что вы можете получить его либо в виде git-клона, либо в виде файла .zip. Вы можете найти его по адресу https://github.com/nicklockwood/iCarousel, так что получите локальную копию iCarousel.

В этом проекте также используется несколько изображений, поэтому вы можете скачать "Исходные файлы" (Source Files) вверху этой страницы, если вы этого еще не сделали. В этом файле .zip есть каталог под названием "Animals” (Животные), который имеет семь разных изображений. (Эти изображения получены от Joy Tek на Flickr (http://www.flickr.com/photos/joytek/collections/72157627168953450/) и были изменены в этом учебнике.)

Теперь, когда все необходимые файлы загружены, мы готовы создать потрясающую карусель!

Мы начнем с добавления файлов классов iCarousel, затем файлов изображений и, наконец, мы ограничим приложение в альбомном режиме без видимой строки состояния. (iCarousel будет работать в портретном режиме, но мы пока упростим его, пока работаем с альбомной ориентацией.) Но прежде всего давайте создадим новый проект.

Нам нужно одно окно для этого проекта, так что «Single View Application" (Шаблона с одним готовым окном) будет достаточно. Я назову свой проект "Карусель" (Carousel), и буду использовать автоматический подсчет ссылок, поэтому важно не забыть включить эту опцию.

iOS SDK Carousel
iOS SDK Carousel

После того, как наш проект создан, мы можем добавить файлы класса iCarousel, захватив каталог "iCarousel" и перетащив его в проект. (В каталоге iCarousel есть только два файла: "iCarousel.h" и "iCarousel.m"). Примечание. Если вы перетаскиваете весь каталог в свой проект, убедитесь, что вы создали группы для любых добавленных папок.

iOS SDK Carousel

iCarousel зависит от инфраструктуры QuartzCore и в настоящее время не поддерживает ARC, поэтому у нас есть несколько простых задач, чтобы убедиться, что наш новый добавленный класс будет работать с нашим проектом.

Чтобы добавить платформу QuartzCore, щелкните файл проекта в левом навигаторе (это будет ваше имя проекта; у меня "iCarousel 1target, iPhone OS..."). Теперь в верхней части экрана у вас есть некоторые настройки сборки. Нажмите "Build Phases" (Этапы сборки), а затем разверните "Link Binary With Libraries" (Связать двоичные файлы с библиотеками) и нажмите кнопку "+" в нижнем левом углу. Появится окно, и вы можете найти нашу платформу, набрав "QuartzCore" в поле поиска. Нажмите "Add" (Добавить), и все готово.

iOS SDK Carousel
iOS SDK Carousel

Затем мы установим флаг компиляции, который сделает исключение для компилятора LLVM для iCarousel. Перейдите в раздел "Compile Sources" (Компилировать исходники) на той же странице, и мы перейдем к записи "iCarousel". Дважды щелкните по этой строке и поместите "-fno-objc-arc" (без кавычек) в появившемся всплывающем окне.

iOS SDK Carousel

Мы собираемся отключить строку состояния для этого приложения, поэтому перейдите на вкладку "Info" (Информация) для нашей задачи и в разделе "Custom iOS Target Properties" (Пользовательские свойства цели iOS" добавим новую строку (Щелкните правой кнопкой мыши ->; Добавить ряд (Add Row)) и установите для текста в поле "Key" (Ключ) значение "Status bar is initially hidden" (Строка состояния изначально скрыта). Затем установите "Value" на "YES".

Теперь, перед тем как приступить к реализации, мы хотим установить ориентацию нашего приложения в альбомную и убедиться, что оно не переходит в портретный режим (по крайней мере, на данный момент). Мы просто перейдем на вкладку "Summary" (Сводка) и убедитесь, что параметры "Landscape Left” (Левый горизонтальный) и "Landscape Right” (Правый горизонтальный) являются единственными, выбранными в разделе "Supported Device Orientations” (Поддерживаемые ориентации устройств).

iOS SDK Carousel

Затем мы можем зайти в наш файл реализации контроллера основного вида ("MTViewController.m" для меня) и изменить метод:

Последнее, что нам нужно сделать - это вставить изображения нашего зоопарка в наш проект. Я включил семь таких изображений в исходные файлы, которые вы можете использовать. Просто возьмите их и перетащите их в наш проект. (Вы также можете просто перетащить весь каталог "Animals", в который будут включены все изображения.) И теперь мы готовы к работе!

iOS SDK Carousel

Шаг 2: Настройка наших данных и карусели

Наша Карусель покажет некоторые изображения различных животных зоопарка, а под текущим изображением мы покажем название животного и то, какую пищу оно любит есть. При разработке продукта у вас должны быть реальные данные для работы, но для нашего примера мы просто настроим несколько NSArrays с фиктивными данными.

Наш первый массив будет список имен изображений, чтобы мы могли найти и загрузить их в нашу карусель. Мы назовем этот список "images”.

Второй массив будет иметь список имен, которые соответствуют нашим изображениям, а также небольшое предложение, следующее за этим форматом: [animal name] Eat: [food]. Например, с медведями мы скажем: "Медведи едят: мед". Мы будем называть этот массив "descriptions”.

Мы настроим эти NSArrays в нашем заголовочном файле контроллера основного вида ("MTViewController.h" для меня).

И, конечно же, синтезировать их в нашем файле реализации:

Поскольку в этом примере мы используем .xib, нам нужно выполнить настройку в методе "initWithNibName". Давайте теперь поместим имена изображений и описания продуктов в их массивы.

Вы заметите, что есть также свойство "wrap", для которого мы установили "NO”. Это свойство iCarousel, и оно гарантирует, что наша карусель не прокручивает бесконечный цикл по нашим изображениям, но вместо этого она прекращает прокручивать после первого и последнего элементов. Мы рассмотрим это позже.

Теперь, когда у нас есть некоторые данные в нашем приложении, нам нужно реализовать фактический класс iCarousel. iCarousel работает как UITables с протоколами "data source” и "delegate”. Мы реализуем это, сначала импортировав класс iCarousel в наш заголовок.

Далее мы добавим следующий фрагмент кода после части "UIViewController" в заголовке интерфейса:

Пока мы здесь, мы также можем добавить свойство "wrap", которое мы установили в нашем методе "initWithNibName".

Теперь, когда наш заголовок полностью готов, нам нужно соединить UIView и UILabel, которые нам понадобятся для отображения нашей карусели и текста описания. Итак, мы откроем наш файл .xib (для меня "MTViewController.xib") и добавим наши новые элементы.

Для iCarousel нам понадобится UIView. Я устанавливаю свой фон "Lead”, чтобы за изображениями было хорошо и темно.

iOS SDK Carousel

Теперь, чтобы iCarousel распознал этот UIView как подкласс "iCarousel", мы перейдем к "identity inspector” и изменим "Class” на "iCarousel" в разделе "Custom Class”. Затем, если мы щелкнем правой кнопкой мыши на нашем новом UIView, мы можем перетащить наши параметры "dataSource" и "delegate” в "File’s Owner”. Нам также нужно будет настроить "Referencing Outlet” для нашего просмотра карусели на свойство "carousel” в нашем "File’s Owner”. Мы почти закончили с iCarousel, но сначала мы поработаем над нашим лейблом, а затем подключим к нашему классу "MTViewController”.

iOS SDK Carousel
iOS SDK Carousel

Итак, я собираюсь установить фон для основного вида на "Tungsten”, что обеспечит более светлую серую область для фона, которая будет показывать текст описания выбранного животного. И затем, я перетащу UILabel и расположу по центру под моим iCarousel UIView.

Теперь, когда все готово, я могу открыть "Assistant Editor”, легко щелкнуть правой кнопкой мыши и перетащить мои новые представления: сначала представление iCarousel прямо под массивом "descriptions” в заголовочном файле основного представления, а затем я сделаю то же самое с моей UILabel. Я назвал мой вид карусели "carousel”, а мой UILabel - "label".

И это завершает нашу работу с файлом заголовка, а также с файлом .xib. Таким образом, мы импортировали класс iCarousel, добавили протокол данных iCarousel и протоколы делегатов, а также создали наши свойства для карусели, метки и массивов.


Шаг 3: Заставить все это работать

Протокол iCarousel поддерживает ряд методов, которые работают со всеми визуальными и интерактивными элементами карусели. Вы можете найти полную ссылку на доступные методы, свойства и т. д. На странице iCarousel в github здесь: https://github.com/nicklockwood/iCarousel. На данный момент нам просто нужно настроить наши массивы в качестве данных для нашей карусели, а также настроить поведение карусели.

В этом примере это методы iCarousel, которые мы будем использовать:

Мы установим общее количество элементов в нашем массиве "animals”.

Для iPhone мы хотим отображать до 7 элементов одновременно. Это не абсолютное число, но будет полезно для производительности.

Это очень похоже на работу с текущей ячейкой в ​​UITableView. Здесь мы устанавливаем содержимое каждого элемента карусели как UIView с UIImage. UIImage загрузит .png для соответствующего животного в массиве "animals".

Заполнители - форзацы в начале и конце нашей группы изображений. Мы не хотим этого, поэтому мы вернем 0. Ради интереса, не стесняйтесь изменить это, чтобы вернуть 1, но для нашего примера мы хотим оставить все как есть.

Довольно понятно, вот сколько места будет уделять карусель каждому предмету. Наши изображения имеют ширину 220px, поэтому я установил его на 240, чтобы обеспечить некоторый интервал.

В нашем методе "initiWithNibName" для этого параметра установлено значение "no”, и наши элементы будут прокручиваться бесконечно.

И наконец, это метод, который будет запускаться, когда мы остановимся на данном элементе. Мы устанавливаем текст нашего UILable в соответствии с содержимым нашего массива "descriptions" в соответствующем индексе для нашего текущего элемента. И это все для методов iCarousel.

Последнее, что мы хотим сделать сейчас, перед запуском нашего приложения, - это установить тип представления карусели, который нам нужен. Мы можем сделать это в методе "(void)viewDidLoad”, установив carousel.type в наш желаемый стиль.

Вы можете увидеть полный список стилей в начале этой статьи или на странице iCarousel github.

А теперь продолжайте, создавайте и запускайте свое приложение, и вы увидите прокручиваемый список изображений животных с описаниями внизу. Я настоятельно рекомендую вам поиграть с различными стилями и свойствами карусели, и, возможно, в будущем мы даже сможем взглянуть на интерактивность с элементами карусели.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
iOS SDK

iOS SDK: Creating an Awesome Carousel

by

Engage your users with stunning carousels. We'll look at how easy and clean it can be to implement scrollable, interactive carousels in your iOS applications. With high configurability, you can have 3D, flat, rotating, and endless scrolling arrays for data, images, or buttons.

Subsequent Changes to Techniques & Software

Certain aspects of applications or techniques used in this tutorial have changed since it was originally published. This might make it a little difficult to follow along. We'd recommend looking at these more recent tutorials on the same topic:

Create an Awesome Carousel, Version 2.0

On January 9th, 2007, Steve Jobs unveiled the iPhone to an eager audience.  In his presentation he demonstrated many of the features that would go on to create an entirely new way of interacting with technology and information.  One of those many features was presented by a simple and powerful message- "touch your music".  As he stood up there, with Bob Dylan playing over the speakers, Steve Jobs "thumbed through" is music albums effortlessly, and that message was clear.

Now, nearly five years later, that same message is true.  There is magic in the way we are able to browse our music today, and as developers, we are able to bring that same experience to our users for all kinds of data, not just songs and albums.

For those who are already familiar with developing for iOS, it might be intimidating to consider the number of factors involved to implement something as seemingly simple as Cover Flow: animation and smooth scrolling, optimizing image handling, intercepting touch interactions, etc.

Fortunately though,  Nick Lockwood of Charcoal Design has created a class called "iCarousel” that handles all of the heavy lifting for us, and he has released it as an open source project.  This means that we can quickly and efficiently get down to the rest of our development, while still enjoying highly interactive, touch-friendly Cover Flow.

One of the great features of iCarousel is the selection of ready-to-use display types:

  • iCarouselTypeLinear
  • iCarouselTypeRotary
  • iCarouselTypeInvertedRotary
  • iCarouselTypeCylinder
  • iCarouselTypeInvertedCylinder
  • iCarouselTypeCoverFlow
  • iCarouselTypeCoverflow2

It is also possible to customize these styles to suit your needs, but that might be a separate tutorial or Quick Tip in itself (let us know in the comments if you’re interested).


Step 1: Getting iCarousel and Setting Up

iCarousel is hosted on github, which means that you can get it either as a git clone, or as a .zip download.  You can find it at https://github.com/nicklockwood/iCarousel, so go ahead and, following your preferred method, get yourself a local copy of iCarousel.

This project involves the use of a few images also, so you’ll want to download the "Source Files” at the top of this page if you haven’t already.  In that .zip file, there is a directory called "Animals”, which has seven different animal images.  (These images come from Joy Tek on Flickr (http://www.flickr.com/photos/joytek/collections/72157627168953450/), and have been resized for this tutorial.)

Now, with all of the requisite files downloaded, we’re ready to create an awesome carousel!

We’ll start by adding the iCarousel class files, then the image files and finally, we’ll make sure to limit the app to landscape mode without a visible status bar.  (iCarousel will work in portrait mode, but we’ll keep it simple by just working with landscape for now.)  But before all that, let’s get a new project started.

We just need a single window for this project, so a "Single View Application” will be just fine.  I’ll call my project "Carousel” and I’ll be using Automatic Reference Counting, so it’s important not to forget that option.

iOS SDK Carousel
iOS SDK Carousel

Once our project has been created, we can add the iCarousel class files, by grabbing the "iCarousel” directory and dragging it into the project. (There are only two files in the iCarousel directory: "iCarousel.h” and "iCarousel.m”.)  Note: If you’re dragging the whole directory into your project, make sure that you "Create groups for any added folders”.

iOS SDK Carousel

iCarousel depends on the "QuartzCore” framework, and does not currently support ARC, so we have a few simple tasks to do to make sure that our newly added class will work with our project.

To add the QuartzCore framework, click on the project file in the left-side navigator (it will be your project name; mine says "iCarousel 1target, iPhone OS...”).  At the top of the screen you’ll now have some target build settings.  Click on "Build Phases”, and then expand the "Link Binary With Libraries” and click on the "+” button at the lower left-hand corner.  A window will pop up and you can find our framework by typing "QuartzCore” in the search box.  Click "Add” and you’re done.

iOS SDK Carousel
iOS SDK Carousel

Then, we’ll set a compile flag that will make an exception for the LLVM compiler for iCarousel.  Go to the "Compile Sources” section on the same page, and we’ll go to the "iCarousel” entry.  Double click on that row, and put "-fno-objc-arc” (without quotes) in the popover that comes up.

iOS SDK Carousel

We’re going to disable the status bar for this app, so go on over to the "Info” tab for our target and under "Custom iOS Target Properties”, we’ll add a new row (Right-click ->; Add Row), and set the text in the "Key” field to "Status bar is initially hidden”.  Then, set the "Value” to "YES”.

Now, before getting into the actual implementation, we want to set the orientation of our App to landscape, and make sure that it doesn’t go into portrait mode (at least for now).  We’ll just go to the "Summary” tab for our target, and make sure that the "Landscape Left” and "Landscape Right” options are the only ones selected under the "Supported Device Orientations” section.

iOS SDK Carousel

Then, we can to go into our main view controller implementation file ("MTViewController.m” for me), and change the method:

- (BOOL)shouldAutorotateToInterfaceOrientation:(UIInterfaceOrientation)interfaceOrientation
{
    // Return YES for supported orientations
    return (interfaceOrientation == UIInterfaceOrientationLandscapeLeft || interfaceOrientation == UIInterfaceOrientationLandscapeRight);
}

The last thing we’ll need to do now is to get our images of the zoo animals into our project.  I have included seven such images in the source files for you to use.  Just grab them from wherever you unzipped the source files directory, and drag them into our project.  (You could also just drag the entire "Animals” directory, which will include all of the images.)  And now we’re ready to roll!

iOS SDK Carousel

Step 2: Setting Up Our Data and Carousel

Our Carousel is going to display some images of different zoo animals, and underneath the current image, we’ll show the animal name and what kind of food they like to eat.  In a production environment, you should have some real data to work with, but for our example, we’re just going to set up a few NSArrays with dummy data.

Our first array will be a list of the image names so that we can find and load them into our carousel.  We’ll call this list "images”.

The second array will have a list of names that correspond to our images, as well as a small sentence that follows this format: [animal name] Eat: [food].  For example, with bears, we will say: "Bears Eat: Honey”.  We’ll call this array "descriptions”.

We will set up these NSArrays in our main view controller header file ("MTViewController.h” for me).

@property (strong, nonatomic) NSMutableArray *animals;
@property (strong, nonatomic) NSMutableArray *descriptions;

And, of course, synthesize them in our implementation file:

@synthesize animals, descriptions;

Since we’re using a .xib in this example, we’ll want to do our set up in the "initWithNibName” method.  Let’s put the image names and food descriptions in their arrays now.

- (id)initWithNibName:(NSString *)nibNameOrNil bundle:(NSBundle *)nibBundleOrNil
{
    self = [super initWithNibName:nibNameOrNil bundle:nibBundleOrNil];
    if (self) {

        //set up carousel data
        wrap = NO;

        self.animals = [NSMutableArray arrayWithObjects:@"Bear.png",
        @"Zebra.png",
        @"Tiger.png",
        @"Goat.png",
        @"Birds.png",
        @"Giraffe.png",
        @"Chimp.png",
        nil];

        self.descriptions = [NSMutableArray arrayWithObjects:@"Bears Eat: Honey",
       @"Zebras Eat: Grass",
       @"Tigers Eat: Meat",
       @"Goats Eat: Weeds",
       @"Birds Eat: Seeds",
       @"Giraffes Eat: Trees",
       @"Chimps Eat: Bananas",
       nil];
    }

return self;
}

You’ll notice that there’s also a property "wrap”, which we have set to "NO”.  This is an iCarousel property, and it will ensure that our carousel doesn’t scroll in an infinite loop through our images, but instead, it stops scrolling after the first and last elements with a nice rubber-banding animation.  We’ll look into that more later on.

Now that we have some data in our app, we’ll need to implement the actual iCarousel class.  iCarousel works like UITables, with "data source” and "delegate” protocols.  We’ll implement these by first importing the iCarousel class into our header.

#import "iCarousel.h”

Next, we’ll add the following bit of code after the "UIViewController” part of the header interface declaration:

<CarouselDataSource, iCarouselDelegate>;

While we’re here, we can also add our "wrap” property, which we set in our "initWithNibName” method.

@property (nonatomic) BOOL wrap;

Now, with our header all ready, we need to hook up the UIView and UILabel that we’ll need to display our carousel and description text.  So, we’ll open up our .xib file ("MTViewController.xib” for me), and add our new elements.

For iCarousel, we’ll need a UIView.  I’m setting the background of mine to "Lead”, so that it will be nice and dark behind the images.

iOS SDK Carousel

Now, for iCarousel to recognize this UIView as an "iCarousel” subclass, we’ll go to the "identity inspector” and change the "Class” to "iCarousel” under the "Custom Class” section. Then, if we right-click on our new UIView, we can drag our "dataSource” and "delegate” options over to the "File’s Owner”. We’ll also need to set the "Referencing Outlet” for our carousel view to the "carousel” property in our "File’s Owner”. We’re almost done with our iCarousel view, but first we’ll work on our label and then we’ll hook both new views up to our "MTViewController” class.

iOS SDK Carousel
iOS SDK Carousel

So, I’m going to set the background for the main view to "Tungsten”, which will provide a lighter gray area for the background of the label that will show the description text of the selected animal.  And then, of course, I’ll drag over a UILabel and center it beneath my iCarousel UIView.

With everything in place, I can now open my "Assistant Editor”, and easily right-click and drag my new views; first the iCarousel view just beneath the "descriptions” array in my main view header file, and then I’ll do the same with my UILabel.  I named my carousel view "carousel”, and my UILabel "label”.

And that finishes up our work with the header file, as well as the .xib file.  In summary, we imported the iCarousel class, added the iCarousel dataSource and delegate protocols, and we created our properties for the carousel, the label, and the arrays.


Step 3: Making It All Work

The iCarousel protocol supports a number of methods that deal with all of the visual and interactive elements of the carousel.  You can find a complete reference of the available methods, properties, etc... on the iCarousel github page here: https://github.com/nicklockwood/iCarousel.  For now though, we just need to get our arrays set up as the data for our carousel, as well as getting the behavior for the carousel configured how we want it.

For this example, these are the iCarousel methods that we’ll be using:

- (NSUInteger)numberOfItemsInCarousel:(iCarousel *)carousel
{
     return [animals count];
}

We’ll set the total number of elements to be the count of items in our "animals” array.

- (NSUInteger)numberOfVisibleItemsInCarousel:(iCarousel *)carousel
{
    //limit the number of items views loaded concurrently (for performance reasons)
    return 7;
}

For the iPhone, we only want to display up to 7 items at a time.  This isn’t an absolute number, but will be good for performance.

- (UIView *)carousel:(iCarousel *)carousel viewForItemAtIndex:(NSUInteger)index
{
    //create a numbered view
    UIView *view = [[UIImageView alloc] initWithImage:[UIImage imageNamed:[animals objectAtIndex:index]]];
    return view;
}

This is a lot like working with the current cell in a UITableView.  Here, we’re setting the contents of each carousel item to be a UIView with a UIImage.  The UIImage will load the .png for the corresponding animal in the "animals” array.

- (NSUInteger)numberOfPlaceholdersInCarousel:(iCarousel *)carousel
{
    //note: placeholder views are only displayed on some carousels if wrapping is disabled
    return 0;
}

Placeholders are bookend items at the beginning and end of our group of images.  We don’t want these, so we’ll return 0.  For curiosity's sake, feel free to change that to return 1, but for our example we want to leave it as it is.

- (CGFloat)carouselItemWidth:(iCarousel *)carousel
{
    //usually this should be slightly wider than the item views
    return 240;
}

Pretty self-explanatory, this is how much space the carousel will give to each item.  Our images are 220px wide, so I’ve set this to 240 to provide some spacing.

- (BOOL)carouselShouldWrap:(iCarousel *)carousel
{
    //wrap all carousels
    return wrap;
}

This is set to "no” in our "initiWithNibName” method, and will prevent our items from scrolling infinitely.

- (void)carouselDidEndScrollingAnimation:(iCarousel *)aCarousel
{
    [label setText:[NSString stringWithFormat:@"%@", [descriptions objectAtIndex:aCarousel.currentItemIndex]]];
}

And finally, this is the method that will run when we stop on a given item.  We’re setting the text of our UILable to the contents of our "descriptions” array at the corresponding index for our current item. And that’s it for the iCarousel methods.

The last thing we want to do now, before running our app, is to set the type of carousel view style that we want.  We can do this in the "(void)viewDidLoad” method by setting the carousel.type to our desired style.

- (void)viewDidLoad
{
    carousel.type = iCarouselTypeCoverFlow2;
    [super viewDidLoad];
}

You can see a complete list of styles at the beginning of this article, or at the iCarousel github page.

And now, go ahead and build and run your app and you should see a scrollable list of animal pictures with descriptions underneath.  I greatly encourage you to play around with the various styles and properties of the carousel, and perhaps we can even look at interactivity with carousel items in the future.

Related Posts
  • Code
    iOS SDK
    Blocks and Table View Cells on iOS94dp7 preview image@2x
    A table view cell doesn't know about the table view it belongs to and that's fine. In fact, that's how it should be. However, people who are new to this concept are often confused by it. For example, if the user taps a button in a table view cell, how do you obtain the index path of the cell so you can fetch the corresponding model? In this tutorial, I'll show you how not to do this, how it's usually done, and how to do this with style and elegance.Read More…
  • Code
    iOS SDK
    Working with NSURLSession: Part 4E548b preview image@2x
    In the previous tutorial, we started creating a simple podcast client to put what we've learned about NSURLSession into practice. So far, our podcast client can query the iTunes Search API, download a podcast feed, and display a list of episodes. In this tutorial, we zoom in on another interesting aspect of NSURLSession, out-of-process downloads. Let me show you how this works.Read More…
  • Code
    iOS SDK
    iOS SDK: Build a Facts Game - Interface CreationJquery cover 200
    This tutorial will teach you how to use the Sprite Kit framework to create a question-based Facts game. It is designed for both novice and advanced users. Along the way, you will apply the Sprite Kit core. The Facts Game tutorials are divided into three parts in order to completely cover each section. After this three part tutorial, the readers will be able to create a simple question-and-answer tap game featuring sounds, animations, menus, rules, timers, and UIKit interaction.Read More…
  • Code
    iOS SDK
    iOS Succinctly - Multi-Scene ApplicationsIos succinctly preview1
    The previous chapter introduced the basic workflow of iOS application development, but we worked within the confines of a single-view application. Most real-world applications, however, require multiple scenes to present data hierarchically. While there are many types of organizational patterns used for managing multi-scene apps, this chapter looks at one of the most common patterns: the master-detail application.Read More…
  • Code
    iOS SDK
    iOS SDK: Creating a Custom Accordion Menu400x4001
    This tutorial will teach you how to create a custom Accordion Menu. This animated menu will allow you to collect input from the user in an engaging and streamlined fashion. Read on to learn more!Read More…
  • Code
    iOS SDK
    Create an Awesome Carousel, Version 2.0Carousel
    Engage your users with stunning carousels! We'll look at how easy and clean it can be to implement scrollable, interactive carousels in your iOS applications. With high configurability, you can have 3D, flat, rotating, and endless scrolling arrays for data, images, and buttons.Read More…