Unlimited Plugins, WordPress themes, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. HTML & CSS

Einführung in Shadow DOM

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

German (Deutsch) translation by Tatsiana Bochkareva (you can also view the original English article)

Nehmen Sie eine moderne Webseite und Sie bemerken, dass sie ausnahmslos einen Content hat, die aus verschiedenen Quellen zusammengefügt wurden. Es kann die Social-Sharing-Widgets von Twitter oder Facebook oder ein Youtube Video-Wiedergabe-Widget enthalten, es kann eine personalisierte Werbung von einem Ad-Server liefern oder es kann einige Hilfsskripte oder -stile aus einer über CDN gehosteten Drittanbieter-Bibliothek usw. enthalten. Und wenn alles HTML-basiert ist (wie es heutzutage bevorzugt wird), besteht eine hohe Wahrscheinlichkeit von Kollisionen zwischen Markups, Skripten oder Stilen, die aus verschiedenen Quellen bereitgestellt werden. Im Allgemeinen werden Namespaces verwendet, um diese Kollisionen zu verhindern, die das Problem bis zu einem gewissen Grad lösen. Sie bieten jedoch keine Kapselung.

Die Kapselung ist eine der Säulen, auf denen das Paradigma der objektorientierten Programmierung basiert, und wird normalerweise verwendet, um die interne Repräsentation eines Objekts von außen einzuschränken.

Wenn wir auf unser Problem zurückkommen, können wir den JavaScript-Code sicherlich mithilfe von Abschlüssen oder mithilfe des Modulmusters kapseln. Können wir dies jedoch auch für unser HTML-Markup tun? Stellen Sie sich vor, wir müssen ein UI-Widget erstellen. Können wir die Implementierungsdetails unseres Widgets vor dem JavaScript- und CSS-Code verbergen, der auf der Seite enthalten ist, die unser Widget verwendet? Können wir alternativ verhindern, dass der konsumierende Code die Funktionalität oder das Erscheinungsbild unseres Widgets beeinträchtigt?


Shadow DOM zur Rettung

Die einzige existierende Lösung, die eine Grenze zwischen dem von Ihnen geschriebenen Code und dem verbrauchenden Code schafft, ist hässlich - und verwendet einen sperrigen und restriktiven iFrame, der weitere Probleme mit sich bringt. Sind wir also gezwungen, uns immer an diesen Ansatz anzupassen?

Nicht länger! Shadow DOM bietet uns eine elegante Möglichkeit, den normalen DOM-Teilbaum mit einem speziellen Dokumentfragment zu überlagern, das einen weiteren Teilbaum von Knoten enthält, die für Skripte und Stile uneinnehmbar sind. Das Interessante ist, dass es nichts Neues ist! Verschiedene Browser haben diese Methode bereits verwendet, um native Widgets wie Datum, Schieberegler, Audio-, Videoplayer usw. zu implementieren.

Aktivieren von Shadow DOM

Zum Zeitpunkt dieses Schreibens unterstützt die aktuelle Version von Chrome(v29) die Überprüfung von Shadow DOM mit Chrome DevTools. Öffnen Sie Devtools und klicken Sie auf die Zahnradschaltfläche unten rechts auf dem Bildschirm, um das Einstellungsfenster zu öffnen. Scrollen Sie ein wenig nach unten und Sie sehen ein Kontrollkästchen zum Anzeigen von Shadow DOM.

Turn on Shadow DOM

Nachdem wir unseren Browser aktiviert haben, können Sie die Interna des Standard-Audio-Players überprüfen. Tippen Sie einfach:

In Ihr HTML-Markup. In den unterstützten Browsern wird der folgende native Audio-Player angezeigt:

audio_player

Überprüfen Sie nun das gerade erstellte Audio-Player-Widget.

Shadow DOM of Native Date Widget

Beeindruckend! Es zeigt die interne Darstellung des Audio-Players, die ansonsten ausgeblendet wurde. Wie wir sehen können, verwendet das Audioelement ein Dokumentfragment, um den internen Inhalt des Widgets zu speichern, und hängt diesen an das Containerelement (das als Shadow Host bezeichnet wird) an.

Shadow Host und Shadow Root

  • Shadow Host: ist das DOM-Element, das den Shadow DOM-Teilbaum hostet, oder es ist der DOM-Knoten, der die Shadow Root enthält.
  • Schadow Root: ist Root des DOM-Teilbaums, der die Schatten-DOM-Knoten enthält. Es ist ein spezieller Knoten, der die Grenze zwischen den normalen DOM-Knoten und den Schatten-DOM-Knoten erstellt. Es ist diese Grenze, die die Shadow-DOM-Knoten aus jedem JavaScript- oder CSS-Code auf der konsumierenden Seite kapselt.
  • Shadow DOM: Ermöglicht die Zusammenstellung mehrerer DOM-Teilbäume zu einem größeren Baum. Das Befolgen von Bildern aus dem W3C-Arbeitsentwurf erklärt das Konzept der Überlagerung der Knoten am besten. So sieht es aus, bevor der Inhalt der Schattenwurzel an das Schattenhost-Element angehängt wird:
    Normal Document Tree Shadow DOM Subtrees

    Beim Rendern ersetzt der Shadow Tree den Inhalt des Schattenhosts.

    Composition Complete

    Dieser Prozess der Überlagerung der Knoten wird häufig als Zusammensetzung bezeichnet.

  • Shadow Boundary: Wird im obigen Bild durch die gepunktete Linie gekennzeichnet. Dies bezeichnet die Trennung zwischen der normalen DOM-Welt und der Shadow-DOM-Welt. Die Skripte von beiden Seiten können diese Grenze nicht überschreiten und auf der anderen Seite Chaos verursachen.

Hallo Shadow DOM World

Genug geplaudert Ich sage: Machen wir uns die Hände schmutzig, indem wir Code schreiben. Angenommen, wir haben das folgende Markup, das eine einfache Begrüßungsnachricht anzeigt.

Fügen Sie den folgenden JavaScript-Code hinzu oder verwenden Sie diese Fiddle:

Hier erstellen wir mit der Funktion webkitCreateShadowRoot() ein Shadow Root, hängen es an einen Shadow Host an und ändern dann einfach den Inhalt.

Beachten Sie das herstellerspezifische Präfix-webkit vor dem Funktionsnamen. Dies zeigt an, dass diese Funktionalität derzeit nur in einigen Webkit-basierten Browsern unterstützt wird.

Wenn Sie dieses Beispiel in einem unterstützten Browser ausführen, wird "Hallo Schatten-DOM-Welt" anstelle von "Willkommen in meiner Welt" angezeigt, da die Schatten-DOM-Knoten die normalen Knoten überschattet haben.

Haftungsausschluss: Wie einige von Ihnen vielleicht bemerken, mischen wir das Markup mit Skripten, was im Allgemeinen nicht empfohlen wird und Shadow DOM keine Ausnahme darstellt. Wir haben bewusst darauf verzichtet, Vorlagen so früh im Spiel zu verwenden, um Verwirrung zu vermeiden. Andernfalls bietet Shadow DOM eine elegante Lösung für dieses Problem, und wir werden es bald erreichen.


Schattengrenze respektieren

Wenn Sie versuchen, mit JavaScript auf den Inhalt des gerenderten Baums zuzugreifen, gehen Sie wie folgt vor:

Sie erhalten den ursprünglichen Inhalt "Willkommen in meiner Welt" und nicht den Inhalt, der tatsächlich auf der Seite gerendert wird, da der Shadow DOM-Baum aus beliebigen Skripten gekapselt ist. Dies bedeutet auch, dass das Widget, das Sie mit Shadow DOM erstellen, vor unerwünschten / widersprüchlichen Skripten geschützt ist, die bereits auf der Seite vorhanden sind.

Styles-Kapselung

Ebenso ist es jedem CSS-Selektor verboten, die Schattengrenze zu überschreiten. Überprüfen Sie den folgenden Code, in dem wir den Listenelementen rote Farbe zugewiesen haben. Dieser Stil wird jedoch nur auf die Knoten angewendet, die Teil der übergeordneten Seite sind, und die Listenelemente, die Teil von Shadow Root sind, sind von diesem Stil nicht betroffen.

Sie können den Code in Aktion auf Fiddle sehen. Diese Kapselung gilt auch dann, wenn wir die Richtung der Durchquerung umkehren. Alle Stile, die im Shadow DOM definiert sind, wirken sich nicht auf das übergeordnete Dokument aus und bleiben nur für das Shadow Root gültig. In dieser Fiddle finden Sie ein Beispiel, in dem wir die blaue Farbe auf Listenelemente in Shadow DOM anwenden, die Listenelemente des übergeordneten Dokuments jedoch nicht betroffen sind.

Es gibt hier jedoch eine bemerkenswerte Ausnahme; Shadow DOM gibt uns die Flexibilität, den Shadow Host zu formatieren, den DOM-Knoten, der das Shadow DOM enthält. Im Idealfall liegt es außerhalb der Schattengrenze und ist nicht Teil von Shadow Root. Mit der @host-Regel können Sie jedoch die Stile angeben, die auf Shadow Host angewendet werden können, da wir die Begrüßungsnachricht im folgenden Beispiel gestaltet haben.

Überprüfen Sie diese Fiddle, während wir die Begrüßungsnachricht des Shadow Hosts mit den in Shadow DOM definierten Stilen gestalten.

Erstellen von Style-Hooks

Als Widget-Entwickler möchte ich möglicherweise, dass der Benutzer meines Widgets bestimmte Elemente formatieren kann. Dies ist möglich, indem ein Loch mit benutzerdefinierten Pseudoelementen in die Schattengrenze gesteckt wird. Dies ähnelt dem Erstellen von Style-Hooks durch einige Browser, damit der Entwickler einige interne Elemente eines nativen Widgets formatieren kann. Um beispielsweise den Daumen und die Spur des nativen Schiebereglers zu formatieren, können Sie den ::-webkit-slider-thumb und den ::webkit-slider-runnable-track wie folgt verwenden:

Gabel diese Fiddle und wende deine eigenen Stile darauf an!

Event-Re-Targeting

Wenn ein Ereignis, das von einem der Knoten in Shadow DOM stammt, die Shadow Boundary überschreitet, wird erneut auf den Shadow Host verwiesen, um die Kapselung aufrechtzuerhalten. Betrachten Sie den folgenden Code:

Es rendert zwei Texteingabeelemente, eines über das normale DOM und eines über das Schatten-DOM, und wartet dann auf ein click ereignis im document. Wenn Sie nun auf die zweite Texteingabe klicken, stammt das Ereignis aus dem Shadow DOM. Wenn es die Schattengrenze überschreitet, wird das Ereignis so geändert, dass das Zielelement anstelle der Texteingabe <input> in das <div> -Element von Shadow Host geändert wird . Wir haben hier auch ein neues <template> -Element eingeführt. Dies ähnelt konzeptionell clientseitigen Vorlagenlösungen wie Lenker und Unterstrich, ist jedoch nicht so weiterentwickelt und bietet keine Browserunterstützung. Die Verwendung von Vorlagen ist jedoch der ideale Weg, um Shadow DOM zu schreiben, anstatt Skript-Tags zu verwenden, wie dies bisher in diesem Artikel getan wurde.


Trennung von Bedenken

Wir wissen bereits, dass es immer eine gute Idee ist, den tatsächlichen Inhalt von der Präsentation zu trennen. Shadow DOM sollte keine Inhalte einbetten, die dem Benutzer endgültig angezeigt werden sollen. Der Inhalt sollte immer auf der Originalseite vorhanden sein und nicht in der Shadow DOM-Vorlage versteckt sein. Wenn die Komposition erfolgt, sollte dieser Inhalt in geeignete Einfügepunkte projiziert werden, die in der Vorlage des Shadow DOM definiert sind. Lassen Sie uns das Hello World-Beispiel unter Berücksichtigung der obigen Trennung neu schreiben - ein Live-Beispiel finden Sie auf Fiddle.

Beim Rendern der Seite wird der Inhalt des Schattenhosts an die Stelle projiziert, an der das Element <content> angezeigt wird. Dies ist ein sehr vereinfachtes Beispiel, bei dem <content> während der Komposition alles im Shadow Host aufnimmt. Es kann jedoch sehr selektiv sein, den Inhalt von Shadow Host mithilfe des unten gezeigten select-Attributs auszuwählen

Schauen Sie sich die Live-Demo an und spielen Sie damit, um das Konzept der Einfügepunkte und Projektionen besser zu verstehen.


Webkomponenten

Wie Sie vielleicht bereits wissen, ist Shadow DOM Teil der Web Components Spec, die andere nützliche Funktionen bietet, wie zum Beispiel:

  1. Vorlagen - werden verwendet, um inerte Markups zu speichern, die zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt verwendet werden sollen. Mit inert meinen wir, dass nicht alle Bilder im Markup heruntergeladen werden und die enthaltenen Skripte erst vorhanden sind, wenn der Inhalt der Vorlage tatsächlich Teil der Seite wird.
  2. Dekorateure - werden verwendet, um die auf CSS-Selektoren basierenden Vorlagen anzuwenden, und können daher als Dekoration der vorhandenen Elemente angesehen werden, indem ihre Präsentation verbessert wird.
  3. HTML-Importe - bietet uns die Möglichkeit, andere HTML-Dokumente in unserem Dokument wiederzuverwenden, ohne explizit XHR-Aufrufe durchführen und Ereignishandler dafür schreiben zu müssen.
  4. Benutzerdefinierte Elemente - Ermöglicht die Definition neuer HTML-Elementtypen, die dann deklarativ im Markup verwendet werden können. Wenn Sie beispielsweise ein eigenes Navigations-Widget erstellen möchten, definieren Sie Ihr Navigationselement, das von HTMLElement erbt, und stellen bestimmte Lebenszyklus-Rückrufe bereit, die bestimmte Ereignisse wie Aufbau, Änderung, Zerstörung des Widgets implementieren und dieses Widget einfach in Ihrem Markup verwenden als <myAwesomeNavigation attr1="value"..></myAwesomeNavigation> Benutzerdefinierte Elemente geben uns also im Wesentlichen die Möglichkeit, die gesamte Magie von Shadow DOM zu bündeln, die internen Details zu verbergen und alles zusammen zu packen.

Ich werde nicht viel über andere Aspekte der Webkomponenten-Spezifikation in diesem Artikel plappern, aber es würde uns gut tun, daran zu denken, dass sie es uns gemeinsam ermöglichen, wiederverwendbare UI-Widgets zu erstellen, die in Aussehen und Verhalten über Browser hinweg portierbar sind und von allen vollständig gekapselt werden Skripte und Stile der konsumierenden Seite.


Abschluss

Die Webkomponenten-Spezifikation ist in Arbeit und der enthaltene Beispielcode, der heute funktioniert, funktioniert möglicherweise nicht in einer späteren Version. In früheren Texten zu diesem Thema wird beispielsweise die webkitShadowRoot() -Methode verwendet, die nicht mehr funktioniert. Verwenden Sie stattdessen createWebkitShadowRoot(), um eine Schattenwurzel zu erstellen. Wenn Sie dies verwenden möchten, um einige coole Demos mit Shadow DOM zu erstellen, ist es immer am besten, sich für Einzelheiten auf die Spezifikation zu beziehen.

Derzeit wird es nur von Chrome und Opera unterstützt, daher wäre ich vorsichtig, wenn ich Shadow DOM in meine Produktionsinstanz aufnehmen würde. Da Google jedoch Polymer herausbringt, das auf Webkomponenten und Polyfills basiert, die Shadow DOM nativ unterstützen, ist dies der Fall sicherlich etwas, mit dem sich jeder Webentwickler die Hände schmutzig machen muss.

Sie können auch über die neuesten Ereignisse in Shadow DOM auf dem Laufenden bleiben, indem Sie diesem Google+ Kanal folgen. Schauen Sie sich auch das Shadow DOM Visualizer-Tool an, mit dem Sie visualisieren können, wie Shadow DOM im Browser gerendert wird.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Hostingheaderbarlogoj
Join InMotion Hosting for $3.49/mo & get a year on Tuts+ FREE (worth $180). Start today.
Advertisement

Intro to Shadow DOM

by
Gift

Want a free year on Tuts+ (worth $180)? Start an InMotion Hosting plan for $3.49/mo.

Take any modern web page and you will notice that it invariably contains content stitched together from a variety of different sources; it may include the social sharing widgets from Twitter or Facebook or a Youtube video playing widget, it may serve a personalized advertisement from some ad-server or it may include some utility scripts or styles from a third party library hosted over CDN and so on. And if everything is HTML based (as is preferred these days) there is a high probability of collisions between the markup, scripts or styles served from various sources. Generally, namespaces are employed to prevent these collisions which solve the problem to some extent, but they don't offer Encapsulation.

Encapsulation is one of the pillars on which the Object Oriented Programming paradigm was founded and is normally used to restrict the internal representation of an object from the outside world.

Coming back to our problem, we can surely encapsulate the JavaScript code using closures or using the module pattern but can we do the same for our HTML markup? Imagine that we have to build a UI widget, can we hide the implementation details of our widget from the JavaScript and CSS code that is included on the page, which consumes our widget? Alternatively, can we prevent the consuming code from messing up our widget's functionality or look and feel?


Shadow DOM to the Rescue

The only existing solution that creates a boundary between the code you write and code that consumes, is ugly - and operates by using a bulky and restrictive iFrame, which brings with itself another set of problems. So are we forced to adapt to this approach always?

Not anymore! Shadow DOM provides us an elegant way to overlay the normal DOM subtree with a special document fragment that contains another subtree of nodes, which are impregnable to scripts and styles. The interesting part is that it's not something new! Various browsers have already been using this methodology to implement native widgets like date, sliders, audio, video players, etc.

Enabling Shadow DOM

At the time of this writing, the current version of Chrome (v29) supports inspecting Shadow DOM using Chrome DevTools. Open Devtools and click on the cog button at the bottom right of the screen to open the Settings panel, scroll down a bit and you will see a checkbox for showing Shadow DOM.

Turn on Shadow DOM

Now that we have enabled our browser, lets check out the internals of the default audio player. Just type:

<audio width="300" height="32" src="http://developer.mozilla.org/@api/deki/files/2926/=AudioTest_(1).ogg" autoplay="autoplay" controls="controls">
 Your browser does not support the HTML5 Audio.
 </audio>

Into your HTML markup. It shows the following native audio player in supported browsers:

audio_player

Now go ahead and inspect the audio player widget that you just created.

Shadow DOM of Native Date Widget

Wow! It shows the internal representation of the audio player, which was otherwise hidden. As we can see, the audio element uses a document fragment to hold the internal contents of the widget and appends that to the container element ( which is known as Shadow Host ).

Shadow Host & Shadow Root

  • Shadow Host: is the DOM element which is hosting the Shadow DOM subtree or it is the DOM node which contains the Shadow Root.
  • Shadow Root: is the root of the DOM subtree containing the shadow DOM nodes. It is a special node, which creates the boundary between the normal DOM nodes and the Shadow DOM nodes. It is this boundary, which encapsulates the Shadow DOM nodes from any JavaScript or CSS code on the consuming page.
  • Shadow DOM: allows for multiple DOM subtrees to be composed into one larger tree. Following images from the W3C working draft best explains the concept of overlaying the nodes. This is how it looks before the Shadow Root's content are attached to Shadow Host element:
    Normal Document Tree & Shadow DOM Subtrees

    When rendered, the Shadow tree takes place of Shadow Host's content.

    Composition Complete

    This process of overlaying the nodes is often referred to as Composition.

  • Shadow Boundary: is denoted by the dotted line in the image above. This denotes the separation between the normal DOM world and the Shadow DOM world. The scripts from either side cannot cross this boundary and create havoc on the other side.

Hello Shadow DOM World

Enough chit-chat I say, Let's get our hands dirty by writing some code. Suppose we have the following markup, which shows a simple welcome message.

<div id="welcomeMessage">Welcome to My World</div>

Add the following JavaScript code or use this Fiddle:


var shadowHost = document.querySelector("#welcomeMessage");
var shadowRoot = shadowHost.webkitCreateShadowRoot();
shadowRoot.textContent = "Hello Shadow DOM World";

Here we create a Shadow Root using the webkitCreateShadowRoot() function, attach it to a Shadow Host and then simply change the content.

Notice the vendor-specific prefix webkit before the function name. This indicates that this functionality is currently supported on some webkit-based browsers only.

If you go ahead and run this example in a supported browser, then you would see "Hello Shadow DOM World" instead of "Welcome to My World" as the Shadow DOM nodes have over-shadowed the normal ones.

Disclaimer: As some of you may notice, we're mixing the markup with scripts, which is generally not recommended and Shadow DOM is no exception. We have deliberately avoided the use of templates so early in the game in order to avoid any confusion. Otherwise Shadow DOM does provide an elegant solution to this problem and we will get there pretty soon.


Respecting Shadow Boundary

If you try and access the content of the rendered tree using JavaScript, like so:

var shadowHost = document.querySelector("#welcomeMessage");
var shadowRoot = shadowHost.webkitCreateShadowRoot();
shadowRoot.textContent = "Hello Shadow DOM World";

console.log(shadowHost.textContent);
 // Prints "Welcome to My World" as the shadow DOM nodes are encapsulated and cannot be accessed by JavaScript

You will get the original content "Welcome to My World" and not the content which is actually rendered on the page, as the Shadow DOM tree is encapsulated from any scripts. This also means that the widget that you create using Shadow DOM is safe from any unwanted/conflicting scripts already present in the page.

Styles Encapsulation

Similarly, any CSS selector is forbidden to cross the shadow boundary. Check the following code where we have applied red color to the list items, but that style is only applied to the nodes which are part of the parent page, and the list items which are part of Shadow Root are not affected with this style.

<div class="outer">
  <div id="welcomeMessage">Welcome to My World</div>
  <div class="normalTree">Sample List
  <ul>
      <li>Item 1</li>
      <li>Item 2</li>
  </ul>
  </div>
</div>
<style>
   div.outer li {  
      color: red;  
   } 
   div.outer{  
      border: solid 1px;  padding: 1em; 
   }
</style>
<script type="text/javascript">
    var shadowHost = document.querySelector("#welcomeMessage");
    var shadowRoot = shadowHost.webkitCreateShadowRoot();
    shadowRoot.innerHTML = ["<div class='shadowChild'>",
                            "Shadow DOM offers us Encapsulation from",
                            "<ul>",
                            "<li>Scripts</li>",
                            "<li>Styles</li>",
                            "</ul>",
                            "</div>"
                            ].join(',').replace(/,/g,"");
</script>

You can see the code in action on Fiddle. This encapsulation applies even if we reverse the direction of traversal. Any styles which are defined inside the Shadow DOM does not affect the parent document and remains scoped to the Shadow Root only. Check this Fiddle for an example, where we apply the blue color to list items in Shadow DOM but the parent document's list items are unaffected.

There is however one notable exception here; Shadow DOM gives us the flexibility to style the Shadow Host, the DOM node which is holding the Shadow DOM. Ideally it lies outside the Shadow boundary and is not a part of Shadow Root, but using the @host rule, one can specify the styles that can be applied to Shadow Host as we have styled the welcome message in the example below.

<div id="welcomeMessage">Welcome to My World</div>
<script type="text/javascript">
  var shadowHost = document.querySelector("#welcomeMessage");
  var shadowRoot = shadowHost.webkitCreateShadowRoot();
  shadowRoot.innerHTML = ["<style>",
                          "@host{ ",
                             "#welcomeMessage{ ",
                                "font-size: 28px;",
                                "font-family:cursive;",
                                "font-weight:bold;",
                             "}",
                          "}",
                          "</style>",
                          "<content select=''></content>"
                          ].join(',').replace(/,/g,"");
</script>

Check this Fiddle as we style the Shadow Host's welcome message using the styles defined in Shadow DOM.

Creating Style Hooks

As a widget developer, I might want the user of my widget to be able to style certain elements. This is achievable by plugging a hole into the shadow boundary using custom pseudo elements. This is similar to how some browsers create style hooks for the developer to style some internal elements of a native widget. For example, to style the thumb and the track of the native slider you can use the ::-webkit-slider-thumb and ::webkit-slider-runnable-track as follows:


input[type=range]{
    -webkit-appearance:none;
 }
 input[type=range]::-webkit-slider-thumb {
    -webkit-appearance:none;
    height:12px;
    width:12px;
    border-radius:6px;
    background:yellow;
    position:relative;
    top:-5px;
 }
 input[type=range]::-webkit-slider-runnable-track {
    background:red;
    height:2px;
 }

Fork this Fiddle and apply your own styles to it!

Event Re-Targeting

If an event that originates from one of the nodes in Shadow DOM crosses the Shadow Boundary then it is re-targeted to refer to the Shadow Host in order to maintain encapsulation. Consider the following code:


<input id="normalText" type="text" value="Normal DOM Text Node" />
<div id="shadowHost"></div>
<input id="shadowText" type="text" value="Shadow DOM Node" />
<script type="text/javascript">
    var shadowHost = document.querySelector('#shadowHost');
    var shadowRoot = shadowHost.webkitCreateShadowRoot();
    var template = document.querySelector('template');
    shadowRoot.appendChild(template.content.cloneNode(true));
    template.remove();
    document.addEventListener('click', function(e) { 
                                 console.log(e.target.id + ' clicked!'); 
                              });
</script>

It renders two text input elements, one via Normal DOM and another via Shadow DOM and then listens for a click event on the document. Now, when the second text input is clicked, the event is originated from inside Shadow DOM and when it crosses the Shadow Boundary, the event is modified to change the target element to Shadow Host's <div> element instead of the <input> text input. We have also introduced a new <template> element here; this is conceptually similar to client-side templating solutions like Handlebars and Underscore but is not as evolved and lacks browser support. Having said that, using templates is the ideal way to write Shadow DOM rather than using script tags as has been done so far throughout this article.


Separation of Concerns

We already know that it's always a good idea to separate actual content from presentation; Shadow DOM should not embed any content, which is to be finally shown to the user. Rather, the content should always be present on the original page and not hidden inside the Shadow DOM template. When the composition occurs, this content should then be projected into appropriate insertion points defined in the Shadow DOM's template. Let's rewrite the Hello World example, keeping in mind the above separation - a live example can be found on Fiddle.

<div id="welcomeMessage">Welcome to Shadow DOM World</div>
<script type="text/javascript">
    var shadowRoot = document.querySelector("#welcomeMessage").webkitCreateShadowRoot();
    var template = document.querySelector("template");
    shadowRoot.appendChild(template.content); 
    template.remove();
</script>

When the page is rendered, the content of the Shadow Host is projected into the place where the <content> element appears. This is a very simplistic example where <content> picks up everything inside the Shadow Host during composition. But it can very well be selective in picking the content from Shadow Host using the select attribute as shown below

<div id="outer">How about some cool demo, eh ?
    <div class="cursiveButton">My Awesome Button</div>
</div>
<button>
  Fallback Content
</button>
<style>
button{ 
   font-family: cursive;  
   font-size: 24px;
   color: red; 
}
</style>
<script type="text/javascript">
    var shadowRoot = document.querySelector("#outer").webkitCreateShadowRoot(); 
    var template = document.querySelector("template"); 
    shadowRoot.appendChild(template.content.cloneNode(true));
    template.remove();
</script>

Check out the live demo and play with it to better understand the concept of insertion points and projections.


Web Components

As you may already know, Shadow DOM is a part of the Web Components Spec, which offers other neat features, like:

  1. Templates - are used to hold inert markup, which is to be used at a later point in time. By inert, we mean that all the images in the markup are not downloaded, scripts included are not present until the content of the template actually becomes a part of the page.
  2. Decorators - are used to apply the templates based on CSS Selectors and hence can be seen as decorating the existing elements by enhancing their presentation.
  3. HTML Imports - provides us with the capability to reuse other HTML documents in our document without having to explicitly make XHR calls and write event handlers for it.
  4. Custom Elements - allows us to define new HTML element types which can then be used declaratively in the markup. For example, if you want to create your own navigation widget, you define your navigation element, inheriting from HTMLElement and providing certain life-cycle callbacks which implement certain events like construction, change, destruction of the widget and simply use that widget in your markup as <myAwesomeNavigation attr1="value1"..></myAwesomeNavigation>. So custom elements essentially give us a way to bundle all the Shadow DOM magic, hiding the internal details and packages everything together.

I wont babble much about other aspects of the Web Components Spec in this article but it would do us good to remember that together they enable us to create re-usable UI widgets which are portable across browsers in look and feel and fully encapsulated by all the scripts and styles of the consuming page.


Conclusion

The Web Components Spec is a work in progress and the sample code included which works today may not work on a later release. As an example, earlier texts on this subject use the webkitShadowRoot() method which no longer works; Instead use createWebkitShadowRoot() to create a Shadow Root. So if you want to use this to create some cool demos using Shadow DOM, it's always best to refer to the spec for details.

Currently, only Chrome and Opera supports it so I would be wary about including any Shadow DOM on my production instance, but with Google coming out with Polymer which is built on top of Web Components and Polyfills coming out to support Shadow DOM natively, this is surely something that every web developer must get his hands dirty with.

You can also stay updated with the latest happenings on Shadow DOM by following this Google+ Channel. Also checkout the Shadow DOM Visualizer tool, which helps you to visualize how Shadow DOM renders in the browser.

Advertisement