Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. HTML & CSS

Erste Schritte mit CSS3 Power-Werkzeuge

by
Read Time:16 minsLanguages:
This post is part of a series called CSS3 Mastery.
The 30 CSS Selectors You Must Memorize
Quick Tip: Mimic Equal Columns with CSS3 Gradients

German (Deutsch) translation by Katharina Grigorovich-Nevolina (you can also view the original English article)

CSS3 ist eine der coolsten neuen Webtechnologien, die Webentwicklern derzeit zur Verfügung steht. Mit einigen der vielen Funktionen ist es möglich, die Effekte zu reproduzieren, die Sie möglicherweise zuvor in Photoshop erstellt haben, mit CSS-Code, der wartungsfreundlicher, schneller zu laden und mit den neuesten Trends angesagt ist. Lesen Sie weiter, um mehr über die verfügbaren Power-Werkzeuge zu erfahren und wie Sie sie kombinieren können, um die ultimativen grafischen Effekte zu erzielen.

CSS3 hat viele Funktionen, aber einige davon müssen Sie unbedingt lernen, wenn Sie Photoshop-ähnliche Effekte reproduzieren möchten. Ich nenne diese meine "Power-Werkzeuge".  Sie umfassen Folgendes:

  1. Grenzradien
  2. Box-Schatten
  3. Textschatten
  4. Farbverläufe
  5. Mehrere Hintergründe

Jede dieser Funktionen kann dazu beitragen, einige der Bilder zu ersetzen, die Sie in der Vergangenheit möglicherweise in Photostop erstellt haben. Auf diese Weise machen Sie Ihre Website wartungsfreundlicher, da Sie eine Eigenschaft ändern können, indem Sie einfach Ihre CSS-Datei ändern, anstatt ein Bild in Photoshop zu bearbeiten. Sie beschleunigen auch das Laden Ihrer Website, da Bilder viel Bandbreite verbrauchen. Lassen Sie uns diese Funktionen nacheinander erkunden.


Power-Werkzeug #1: Randradius

Browser-Unterstützung:

  • Safari: 3.2+
  • Firefox: 3.0+
  • Chrome: 3.0+
  • Opera: 10.5+
  • Internet Explorer: 9.0+

Sie haben wahrscheinlich schon eine Million Mal von Grenzradius gehört. Es ist super einfach zu bedienen und wird von allen modernen Browsern unterstützt. Wenn Sie es noch nicht wissen, können Sie mit dem Randradius abgerundete Ecken mit CSS erstellen – keine Bilder erforderlich! Werfen wir einen Blick auf die Syntax.

Es gibt drei Syntaxen, die Sie verwenden müssen. Der erste ist für Webkit-basierte Browser wie Safari und Chrome; der zweite ist für Mozilla-basierte Browser wie Firefox; und die letzte ist die Version ohne Präfix für Browser, die sie unterstützen, einschließlich IE9, Opera und Safari 5.

Das Anwenden eines 10-Pixel-Randradius auf ein div erzeugt den folgenden Effekt:

Okay, einfach! Kommen wir zum nächsten Power-Werkzeug.


Power-Werkzeug #2: Box-Schatten

Browser-Unterstützung:

  • Safari: 3.2+
  • Firefox: 3.5+
  • Chrome: 3.0+
  • Opera: 10.5+
  • Internet Explorer: 9.0+

Boxschatten sind eine weitere gut unterstützte Funktion. Ihre Syntax sieht so aus:

Auch hier müssen wir die Vendor-Präfixe für Webkit und Mozilla verwenden. Der erste und zweite Parameter der Box-Shadow-Eigenschaft sind die Versatzpositionen von den linken und oberen Koordinaten des Elements. Durch Festlegen eines positiven Werts für diese Eigenschaften wird der Schatten vom Element nach rechts und unten verschoben, und durch Festlegen eines negativen Werts wird der Schatten vom Element nach links und nach oben verschoben. Der blur_radius ist die Menge an Unschärfe, die Sie Ihrem Schatten hinzufügen möchten (wie hart oder unscharf Sie es möchten). Der letzte Parameter ist schließlich die Farbe, die der Schatten haben soll. Das Hinzufügen eines Schattens zu unserem zuvor verwendeten abgerundeten Div erzeugt einen gut aussehenden Effekt.

Ein weiteres nettes Feature von CSS-Box-Schatten ist das Schlüsselwort inset. Wenn das Schlüsselwort inset vorhanden ist, wird der Schatten innerhalb der Box und nicht außerhalb gerendert. Dies kann insbesondere bei Knöpfen ein schönes deprimiertes Aussehen erzeugen. So würde unser Div mit einem eingefügten Schatten aussehen.

Die letzte erwähnenswerte Eigenschaft von Box-Schatten ist die Möglichkeit, mehrere Schatten auf demselben Element zu haben. Dies ist sehr nützlich und kann zusätzliches Markup in Ihrem HTML-Code eliminieren, nur um einen zusätzlichen Schatten anzuwenden. Um mehrere Schatten zu erstellen, müssen Sie sie nur durch Kommas trennen. Hier ist ein Beispiel:


Power-Werkzeug #3: Textschatten

Browser-Unterstützung:

  • Safari: 3.2+
  • Firefox: 3.5+
  • Chrome: 3.0+
  • Opera: 10.1+
  • Internet Explorer: Kommt hoffentlich bald!

Textschatten sind wie Boxschatten, außer dass sie Schatten für Text und nicht für das gesamte Element sind. Glücklicherweise ist für Textschatten kein Herstellerpräfix erforderlich.

Die Optionen für Textschatten sind dieselben wie für Box-Schatten, außer dass es keine Unterstützung für eingefügten Textschatten gibt. Hier ist eine Demo, die ansonsten unsichtbaren Text von der Seite verschwinden lässt.

Dadurch entsteht folgender Effekt:

Wie bei Boxschatten ist es möglich, mehrere Textschatten zu haben, indem Sie sie einfach durch Kommas trennen. Hier ist ein Beispiel, das einen flammenden Texteffekt erzeugt.

Textschatten können einige tolle Effekte erzeugen und andere Effekte sehr gut ergänzen.


Power-Werkzeug #4: Farbverläufe

Browser-Unterstützung:

  • Safari: 4+
  • Firefox: 3.6+
  • Chrome: 5+
  • Opera: Kommt hoffentlich bald!
  • Internet Explorer: Kommt hoffentlich bald!

Farbverläufe sind eine der leistungsstärksten Funktionen, die Ihnen zur Verfügung stehen, wenn Sie diese fantastischen Effekte erstellen möchten. Obwohl die vollständige Browserunterstützung noch nicht ganz vorhanden ist, können Sie Browsern ohne Unterstützung jederzeit Fallback-Styling bereitstellen. Denken Sie daran: Websites müssen nicht in jedem Browser gleich aussehen. Sie können zwei Arten von Farbverläufen erstellen: lineare Farbverläufe und radiale Farbverläufe. Wie Sie vielleicht erwarten, bewegen sich lineare Farbverläufe entlang einer geraden Linie und radiale Farbverläufe um einen Kreis. Farbverläufe können überall dort verwendet werden, wo Sie in der Vergangenheit ein Bild verwendet haben, z. B. für den Hintergrund, das Rahmenbild oder Aufzählungszeichen.

Leider gibt es für Webentwickler zwei verschiedene Syntaxen: eine für Mozilla und eine für Webkit.

Syntax für Webkit

Safari und Chrome verwenden beide die Webkit-Rendering-Engine, sodass sie immer dieselbe Syntax verwenden. Ihre Gradientensyntax ist ziemlich einfach:

Webkit verwendet dieselbe Syntax für lineare und radiale Farbverläufe. Ändern Sie einfach den Typ-Parameter, um zwischen ihnen zu wechseln.

Syntax für Mozilla

Firefox verwendet separate Syntaxen für lineare und radiale Farbverläufe, die sich beide stark von ihren Webkit-Gegenstücken unterscheiden.

Sehen wir uns diese Syntaxen separat an.

Lineare Farbverläufe

Der Einfachheit halber ist hier die Syntax eines Webkits nur für lineare Farbverläufe.

Die Syntax von Firefox sieht so aus.

In der Webkit-Syntax geben die Parameter start_x und start_y die Startposition des Farbverlaufs an, und end_x und end_y geben die Endposition des Farbverlaufs an. Als Werte für diese Positionsparameter können Sie beliebige CSS-Standarddimensionswerte, einschließlich Prozentsätze, sowie die Keywords left, top, bottom, right und center verwenden. Stopps sind eine Möglichkeit für Sie, bestimmte Farben anzugeben, die an bestimmten Punkten entlang des Verlaufs verwendet werden sollen. Sie können so viele Farbstopps haben, wie Sie möchten, aber Sie müssen mindestens zwei haben: eine Start- und eine Endfarbe. Für zusätzliche Farbstopps können Sie die Funktion color-stop() verwenden, die eine prozentuale oder dezimale Position zwischen 0 und 1 sowie eine Farbe bereitstellt. Beispiel: color-stop(50%, black) würde einen schwarzen Farbstop genau auf halbem Weg durch den Farbverlauf erzeugen. Anstatt 0% und 100% für die Anfangs- und Endfarbe zu schreiben, gibt es die Komfortfunktionen from() und to(). Dazu müssen Sie lediglich die Farbe angeben.

Die Syntax von Firefox ist viel weniger geradlinig und bietet viele Möglichkeiten, dasselbe Ziel zu erreichen. Das einzige, was an der Syntax statisch ist, sind die Farbstopps, die nur eine Farbe sind, gefolgt von einer Position in Prozent. Für die Start- und Endposition können Sie 0% und 100% weglassen, und wenn Sie die Position eines der anderen Farbstopps weglassen, werden sie gleichmäßig über den Verlauf verteilt. Anders als die Webkit-Syntax hat die Firefox-Syntax keine Endposition, sondern nur eine Startposition und einen Winkel. Der Gradient läuft von der Startposition im angegebenen Winkel aus. Wenn Sie den Winkel weglassen, läuft er von diesem Punkt senkrecht aus. Wenn Sie den Startpunkt komplett weglassen, verläuft der Farbverlauf von oben nach unten. Diese Syntax ist etwas verwirrend und etwas weniger flexibel als die einfache Syntax von Webkit, daher ist es am besten, anhand von Beispielen zu lernen.

Hier ist ein einfaches Beispiel für CSS-Verläufe in Aktion. Dieser Verlauf geht von der oberen linken Ecke zur unteren linken Ecke (also von oben nach unten) und von Rot nach Weiß.

Wenn wir dies als Hintergrundeigenschaft eines div festlegen, erhalten wir das folgende Ergebnis:

Indem wir einen Farbstopp hinzufügen und den Winkel des Farbverlaufs ändern, können wir einen anderen Effekt erzielen.

Radiale Farbverläufe

Hier ist die Syntax für radiale Farbverläufe in Webkit.

Die Syntax von Firefox sieht so aus.

Die Webkit-Syntax ist etwas komplizierter als die lineare Gradientensyntax, aber es gelten immer noch die gleichen Prinzipien. Radiale Farbverläufe in Webkit haben zwei Kreise: einen Startkreis und einen Endkreis. Sie geben die X- und Y-Mittelpunktpositionen für jeden dieser Kreise zusammen mit ihren Radien an. Schließlich legen Sie die Farbstopps auf die gleiche Weise fest wie für lineare Verläufe.

Die Firefox-Syntax für radiale Farbverläufe ähnelt der Syntax für lineare Farbverläufe, da alle Teile außer den Farbstopps weggelassen werden können. Sie können die X- und Y-Mittelpositionen des Farbverlaufs ähnlich wie die Koordinaten des inneren Kreises in der Webkit-Syntax angeben, aber in Firefox gibt es keinen äußeren Kreis. Stattdessen können Sie eine Form und Größe des Farbverlaufs angeben. Die Form kann entweder ein Kreis oder eine Ellipse sein, wobei letztere derzeit in Webkit nicht erstellt werden können. Die Größe akzeptiert viele verschiedene Schlüsselwörter, aber keine Pixelgröße, wie Sie vielleicht erwartet hätten. Sie können im Mozilla Developer Center nachlesen, was jede dieser Konstanten bewirkt. Für dieses Tutorial verwenden wir nur die Standardeinstellungen. Wenn Sie die mittleren X- und Y-Positionen weglassen, wird davon ausgegangen, dass sie die Mitte des Objekts sind, das Sie mit einem Farbverlauf füllen. Wenn Sie Form und Größe weglassen, wird angenommen, dass der Farbverlauf ein Kreis ist, der das gesamte Feld ausfüllt.

Wenn wir diesen Farbverlauf auf den Hintergrund eines div anwenden, erhalten wir dies.


Power-Werkzeug #5: Mehrere Hintergründe

Browser-Unterstützung:

  • Safari: 3.2+
  • Firefox: 3.6+
  • Chrome: 3.0+
  • Opera: 10.5+
  • Internet Explorer: 9.0+

Mehrere Hintergründe machen es einfach, komplexe Effekte in CSS zu erstellen, ohne zusätzliches Markup in Ihrem HTML erstellen zu müssen. Dies zu unterstützen bedeutet, dass Elemente neben der Standardhintergrundfarbe mehrere Farbverläufe und Bildhintergründe haben können. Es gibt keinen Unterschied in der Syntax mehrerer Hintergründe von einzelnen Hintergründen - einfach durch Kommas trennen und los geht's!

Hier ist ein Beispiel für ein div mit einem Hintergrund mit Farbverlauf und einem schönen strukturierten Effekt mit einem Bild:

Wir müssen es zweimal deklarieren, da es, wie wir gelernt haben, für jeden Browser eine andere Gradientensyntax gibt. Dadurch entsteht folgender Effekt:


Die Power vereinen: Einen fantastischen CSS3-Button erstellen

Jetzt, da uns fünf großartige Power-Werkzeuge zur Verfügung stehen, kombinieren wir sie, um einen noch beeindruckenderen Effekt zu erzielen.

Es gibt so viele verschiedene Arten von Schaltflächen, die Sie auswählen können. Um es einfach zu machen, emulieren wir etwas, das bereits existiert - den Mac OS X-Schaltflächenstil.

Wir beginnen mit unserem HTML-Code für diese Demo. Es ist wirklich ganz einfach, nur zwei DIVs und etwas Text.

Jetzt beginnen wir mit unserem grundlegenden CSS. Lassen Sie uns zuerst das Panel stylen.

Das Panel ist nur ein schöner Behälter für unseren Button. Es hat einen Farbverlauf von oben nach unten zwischen zwei schönen grauen Farben. Für Browser, die keine Farbverläufe unterstützen, wird eine Fallback-Hintergrundfarbe angegeben.

Schauen wir uns nun das CSS für die eigentliche Schaltfläche an.

Es gibt hier eine anständige Menge an Code, der alle oben beschriebenen Power-Werkzeuge verwendet, mit Ausnahme mehrerer Hintergründe. Dieser Code besteht aus mehreren Abschnitten, die wir nacheinander verwenden. Die ersten beiden Zeilen sind nur einige einfache Layout-Informationen. Festlegen der anzuzeigenden Schaltfläche: Inline-Block erweitert sie automatisch an den Inhalt, egal wie viel Text Sie in die Schaltfläche einfügen. Der nächste Abschnitt enthält einige Informationen zur Schriftart der Schaltfläche. Im dritten Abschnitt schließlich kommen wir zu unserem ersten Power-Werkzeug: Randradius. Im Fall unseres schönen Buttons geben wir ihm einen schönen Radius von 3px. Als nächstes geben wir dem Button einen Rahmen. Beachten Sie, dass wir hier rgba als Farbe verwenden. Dadurch können wir die Farbe wie hier teilweise transparent machen, wodurch eine schöne graue Farbe entsteht. Im nächsten Codeabschnitt richten wir den Hintergrund der Schaltfläche ein. Wir geben ihm einen Hintergrund mit Farbverlauf sowie eine Volltonfarbe für den Fallback in Browsern, die noch keine Farbverläufe unterstützen. Als nächstes verwenden wir Textschatten, um den Text leicht in die Schaltfläche eingraviert aussehen zu lassen. Auch hier verwenden wir rgba, um dem Textschatten ein teilweise transparentes Weiß zu geben. Der letzte Abschnitt des Codes erstellt einen Kastenschatten. Nun, dies sieht nicht wirklich wie ein Schatten aus, es sieht tatsächlich aus wie ein zweiter Rand, aber es gibt dem unteren Rand der Schaltfläche ein schönes Highlight, damit es in den Hintergrund eingraviert aussieht und die Randfarbe ergänzt. Dies ist ein nützlicher Trick, um zu wissen, ob Sie jemals möchten, dass etwas so aussieht, als hätte es mehrere Ränder - ich benutze es oft. Schließlich ist der letzte Abschnitt des CSS-Codes ein netter Trick, der die Textauswahl in Webkit-basierten Browsern und Firefox verhindert und den Cursor auf den Standardpfeil anstatt auf den Textauswahl-Cursor setzt.

Bisher sieht dieser Code unsere Schaltfläche so aus:

Okay, also noch nicht so schlimm! Kommen wir zum deprimierten Aussehen des Buttons.

Wenn die Taste gedrückt wird, ändern wir eine Reihe von Dingen. Zuerst stellen wir den Hintergrund auf eine einfache Farbe ein und entfernen den Farbverlauf, den wir zuvor festgelegt hatten. Dies liegt daran, dass wir den depressiven Look mit einem Boxschatten anstelle eines Farbverlaufs erstellen. Als nächstes setzen wir diesen Schatten – oder besser gesagt mehrere Schatten. Der erste Schatten in der Liste ist derselbe, den wir im Normalzustand hatten: die Hervorhebung am unteren Rand der Schaltfläche. Der zweite und dritte Schatten sind diejenigen, die unseren Knopf gedrückt aussehen lassen. Der erste davon ist ein schwarzer eingefügter Schatten, der vom oberen 1 Pixel abgesetzt wird und 3 Pixel Unschärfe aufweist – ein ziemlich dunkel aussehender Schatten. Der letzte Schatten ist ebenfalls schwarz, aber ein leicht transparentes Schwarz, das von den unteren 5 Pixeln mit 12 Pixeln Unschärfe aufgebaut wird. Dadurch entsteht beim Drücken ein abgedunkeltes Aussehen am unteren Rand der Schaltfläche. Das letzte, was wir tun müssen, wenn diese Schaltfläche gedrückt wird, ist nur die Deckkraft des Textschattens um eine Kerbe zu reduzieren, damit er nicht wie ein wunder Daumen auffällt.

Das ist es! Unser Button ist fertig. So sieht die heruntergedrückte Version aus:


Schlussfolgerung

Das Ersetzen von Bildern durch CSS3 hat viele Vorteile. Es erleichtert Ihre Arbeit als Webentwickler, da Sie Photoshop nicht jedes Mal öffnen müssen, wenn Sie eine Änderung an Ihrer Benutzeroberfläche vornehmen müssen. Es beschleunigt das Laden Ihrer Website oder Webanwendung, da nicht so viele umfangreiche Bilder heruntergeladen werden müssen. Und es ermöglicht Ihnen, ein reichhaltigeres, interaktiveres und wünschenswerteres Erlebnis für Benutzer zu schaffen, sodass sie immer wiederkommen, um mehr zu erfahren.

Ich werde Ihnen ein wenig Inspiration für Dinge geben, die Sie mit CSS3 machen könnten. Dies sind nicht unbedingt die realsten Beispiele, aber sie zeigen, was mit etwas Arbeit möglich ist.

iPhone mit Pure CSS3

Die erste Demo, erstellt von Jeff Batterton, ist ein iPhone, das mit reinem CSS3 erstellt wurde - keine Bilder verwendet. Es ist sehr beeindruckend und verwendet CSS-Verläufe, Textschatten, Boxschatten, Übergänge und Transformationen. Leider sieht es derzeit nur in Webkit-basierten Browsern wie Safari und Chrome korrekt aus. Es kann Ihre Aufgabe sein, die Demo in Firefox zum Laufen zu bringen!

Pure CSS3-iOS-Symbole

Eine andere Demo, vielleicht noch erstaunlicher, wurde von Louis Harboe geschrieben. Es ist eine Nachbildung einiger der iOS-Symbole in reinem CSS und noch dazu sehr realistisch! Diese Demo funktioniert auch nur in Webkit-basierten Browsern. Wenn Sie mehr darüber erfahren möchten, wie einige dieser Symbole reproduziert wurden, können Sie den Blog von Louis Harboe besuchen, in dem er den Prozess beschreibt.

Ich hoffe, Ihnen hat dieser Artikel gefallen! Fühlen Sie sich frei, mich auf Twitter zu treffen, oder hinterlassen Sie Ihre Gedanken in den Kommentaren!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement

Getting to Work with CSS3 Power Tools

by

CSS3 is one of the coolest new web technologies available to web developers right now. Using some of its many features, it is possible to reproduce the effects that you might have previously done in Photoshop, with CSS code that is more maintainable, faster to load, and hip with the latest trends. Read on to learn about the power tools available to you and how to combine them to produce the ultimate graphical effects.

CSS3 has many features, but some of them are imperative to learn if you are going to be reproducing Photoshop-like effects. I call these my "power tools." They include the following:

  1. Border Radii
  2. Box Shadows
  3. Text Shadows
  4. Gradients
  5. Multiple Backgrounds

Each of these features can help replace some of the images that you might have created in Photostop in the past. By doing this, you are making your website more maintainable since you can change a property just by changing your CSS file rather than editing an image in Photoshop. You are also making your website load faster since images use a lot of bandwidth. Let's explore these features one by one.


Power Tool #1: Border Radius

Browser Support:

  • Safari: 3.2+
  • Firefox: 3.0+
  • Chrome: 3.0+
  • Opera: 10.5+
  • Internet Explorer: 9.0+

By now, you've probably heard about border-radius a million times. It is super easy to use and is supported accross all modern browsers. If you don't already know, border radius is a way to create rounded corners with CSS—no images necessary! Let's take a look at the syntax.

-webkit-border-radius: size;
-moz-border-radius: size;
border-radius: size;

There are three syntaxes that you will need to use. The first is for Webkit-based browsers, like Safari and Chrome; the second is for Mozilla-based browsers, like Firefox; and the last is the un-prefixed version, for browsers that support it, including IE9, Opera, and Safari 5.

Applying a 10 pixel border radius to a div creates the following effect:

OK, easy! Let's move on to the next power tool.


Power Tool #2: Box Shadows

Browser Support:

  • Safari: 3.2+
  • Firefox: 3.5+
  • Chrome: 3.0+
  • Opera: 10.5+
  • Internet Explorer: 9.0+

Box shadows are another well supported feature. Their syntax looks like this:

-webkit-box-shadow: offset_x offset_y blur_radius color;
-moz-box-shadow: offset_x offset_y blur_radius color;
box-shadow: offset_x offset_y blur_radius color;

Once again we have to use the vendor prefixes for Webkit and Mozilla. The first and second parameters of the box-shadow property are the offset positions from the left and top coordinates of the element. Setting a positive value to these properties moves the shadow to the right and down from the element, and setting a negative value moves the shadow to the left and up from the element. The blur_radius is the amount of blur you want to add to your shadow (how hard or fuzzy you want it). Finally, the last parameter is the color that you want the shadow to be. Adding a shadow to our previously used rounded div will create a nice looking effect.

-webkit-box-shadow: 5px 5px 10px #555;
-moz-box-shadow: 5px 5px 10px #555;
box-shadow: 5px 5px 10px #555;

Another neat feature of CSS box shadows is the inset keyword. When the inset keyword is present, the shadow is rendered inside the box rather than outside. This can create a nice depressed look especially for buttons. Here is what our div would look like with an inset shadow.

-webkit-box-shadow: 0 0 20px #333 inset;
-moz-box-shadow: 0 0 20px #333 inset;
box-shadow: 0 0 20px #333 inset;

The last feature of box shadows that is worth mentioning is the ability to have multiple shadows on the same element. This is very useful and can eliminate having extra markup in your HTML just to apply an additional shadow. All you have to do to create multiple shadows is separate them with commas. Here is an example:

-webkit-box-shadow: 0 0 20px #333 inset, 
                    20px 15px 30px yellow, 
                    -20px 15px 30px lime, 
                    -20px -15px 30px blue, 
                    20px -15px 30px red;
                    
-moz-box-shadow: 0 0 20px #333 inset, 
                 20px 15px 30px yellow, 
                 -20px 15px 30px lime, 
                 -20px -15px 30px blue, 
                 20px -15px 30px red;
                 
box-shadow: 0 0 20px #333 inset, 
            20px 15px 30px yellow, 
            -20px 15px 30px lime, 
            -20px -15px 30px blue, 
            20px -15px 30px red;

Power Tool #3: Text Shadows

Browser Support:

  • Safari: 3.2+
  • Firefox: 3.5+
  • Chrome: 3.0+
  • Opera: 10.1+
  • Internet Explorer: Hopefully coming soon!

Text shadows are like box shadows except that they are shadows for text rather than the whole element. Luckily, there is no vendor prefix necessary for text shadow.

text-shadow: offset_x offset_y blur_radius color;

The options for text shadow are the same as for box-shadow except that there is no inset text shadow support. Here is a demo that makes otherwise-invisible text pop off the page.

color: #fff /* text color to white */
text-shadow: 0 0 50px #333;

This creates the following effect:

As with box shadows, it is possible to have multiple text shadows just by separating them with commas. Here is an example that creates a flaming text effect.

text-shadow: 0 0 4px #ccc, 
             0 -5px 4px #ff3, 
             2px -10px 6px #fd3, 
             -2px -15px 11px #f80, 
             2px -18px 18px #f20;

Text shadows can create some awesome effects, and can complement other effects very nicely.


Power Tool #4: Gradients

Browser Support:

  • Safari: 4+
  • Firefox: 3.6+
  • Chrome: 5+
  • Opera: Hopefully coming soon!
  • Internet Explorer: Hopefully coming soon!

Gradients are one of the most powerful features available to you if you want to create these awesome effects. While full browser support is still not quite there, you can always provide fallback styling to browsers without support. Remember: Websites do not need to look the same in every browser. There are two types of gradients that you can create: linear gradients and radial gradients. As you might expect, linear gradients move along a straight line and radial gradients go around a circle. Gradients can be used anywhere you might have used an image in the past, such as for the background, border-image, or list bullets.

Unfortunately for web developers, there are two different syntaxes: one for Mozilla and another for Webkit.

Syntax for Webkit

Safari and Chrome both use the Webkit rendering engine, so they always use the same syntax. Their gradient syntax is pretty simple:

-webkit-gradient(<type>, <point> [, <radius>]?, <point> [, <radius>]? [, <stop>]*)

Webkit uses the same same syntax for both linear and radial gradients. Just change the type parameter to switch between them.

Syntax for Mozilla

Firefox uses separate syntaxes for linear and radial gradients, both of which are very different from their Webkit counterparts.

-moz-linear-gradient( [<point> || <angle>,]? <stop>, <stop> [, <stop>]*)
-moz-radial-gradient( [<position> || <angle>,]? [<shape> || <size>,]? <stop>, <stop>[, <stop>]*)

Let's look at these syntaxes separately.

Linear Gradients

For simplicty, here is a Webkit's syntax just for linear gradients.

-webkit-gradient(linear, start_x start_y, end_x end_y, stop, stop...)

Firefox's syntax looks like this.

-moz-linear-gradient(angle start_x start_y, stop, stop...)

In the Webkit syntax start_x and start_y parameters specify the starting position of the gradient, and end_x and end_y specify the ending position of the gradient. You can use any of the standard CSS dimension values, including percentages, as well the keywords left, top, bottom, right, and center as values for these position parameters. Stops are a way for you to specify specific colors to be used at specific points along the gradient. You can have as many color stops as you want, but you must have at least two: a starting and ending color. For additional color stops, you can use the color-stop() function providing a position as a percentage or a decimal between 0 and 1 as well as a color. For example: color-stop(50%, black) would create a black color stop at exactly half way through the gradient. Rather than writing 0% and 100% for the starting and ending colors, the convenience functions from() and to() exist. All you have to provide to these is the color.

Firefox's syntax is much less straight forward, and has many ways of accomplishing the same goal. The only thing that is static about the syntax are the color stops, which are just a color followed by a position as a percentage. For the starting and ending positions, you can leave off 0% and 100%, and if you leave the position off of any of the other color stops, they are distributed evenly throughout the gradient. Unlike the Webkit syntax, Firefox's syntax does not have an ending position, only a starting position and an angle. The gradient will run out from the starting position at the specified angle. If you leave the angle out, it will run out perpendicularly from that point. If you leave out the starting point all together, the gradient will run from top to bottom. This syntax is kind of confusing and a bit less flexible than Webkit's simple syntax, so it is best to learn by example.

Here is a simple example of CSS gradients in action. This gradient goes from the top left corner to the bottom left corner (in other words, from top to bottom) and from red to white.

-webkit-gradient(linear, left top, left bottom, from(red), to(white));
-moz-linear-gradient(red, white)

Setting this as the background property of a div, we get the following result:

By adding a color stop and changing the angle of the gradient, we can get a different effect.

-webkit-gradient(linear, left top, right bottom, from(red), color-stop(50%, white), to(red));
-moz-linear-gradient(left top, red, white, red);

Radial Gradients

Here is the syntax for radial gradients in Webkit.

-webkit-gradient(radial, inner_circle_center_x inner_circle_center_y, inner_circle_radius, 
                         outer_circle_center_x outer_circle_center_y, outer_circle_radius,
                         stop, stop...)

Firefox's syntax looks like this.

-moz-radial-gradient(center_x center_y, shape size, stop, stop...)

The Webkit syntax is a bit more complicated than the linear gradient syntax, but the same principles still apply. Radial gradients in Webkit have two circles: a starting circle and an ending circle. You specify the center X and Y positions for each of these circles along with their radii. Finally you specify the color stops the same way you did for linear gradients.

The Firefox syntax for radial gradients is similar to the syntax for linear gradients in that all of its parts except the color stops can be left out. You can specify the center X and Y positions of the gradient much like the inner circle's coordinates in the Webkit syntax, but there is no outer circle in Firefox. Instead you can specify a shape and size of the gradient. The shape can be either a circle or an ellipse, the latter of which is not currently possible to create in Webkit. The size accepts many different keywords, but not a pixel size as you might have expected. You can read about what each of these constants do on the Mozilla Developer Center. For this tutorial, we will just use the defaults. Once again, if you leave the center X and Y positions out, they will be assumed to be the center of the object you are filling with a gradient. If you leave out the shape and size, the gradient will be assumed to be a circle that fills the entire box.

-webkit-gradient(radial, center center, 0, center center, 50, from(white), to(red));
-moz-radial-gradient(white, red)

If we apply this gradient to the background of a div, this is what we will get.


Power Tool #5: Multiple Backgrounds

Browser Support:

  • Safari: 3.2+
  • Firefox: 3.6+
  • Chrome: 3.0+
  • Opera: 10.5+
  • Internet Explorer: 9.0+

Multiple backgrounds make it easy to create complex effects in CSS without needing to create additional markup in your HTML. Having support for this means that elements can have multiple gradients and image backgrounds along with the standard background color. There is no difference in the syntax of multiple backgrounds from single backgrounds - just comma separate them and off you go!

Here is an example of a div with a gradient background and a nice textured effect using an image:

background: url(noise.png), -webkit-gradient(linear, left top, left bottom, from(#999), to(#333));
background: url(noise.png), -moz-linear-gradient(#999, #333);

We have to declare it twice since, as we've learned, there is a different gradient syntax for each browser. This creates the following effect:


Combining the Power: Building an Awesome CSS3 Button

Now that we have five great power tools at our disposal, let's combine them to produce an even more awesome effect.

There are so many different types of buttons that you can choose to design. To be simple, let's emulate something that already exists - the Mac OS X button style.

We will start off with our HTML code for this demo. It is really quite simple, just two DIVs and some text.

<div class="panel">
    <div class="button">Button</div>
</div>

Now we will start off with our basic CSS. First, let's style the panel.

.panel {
    background: -webkit-gradient(linear, left top, left bottom, from(#bbbcbb), to(#959695));
    background: -moz-linear-gradient(#bbbcbb, #959695);
    background-color: #b7b9b7;
    width: 100px;
}

The panel is just a nice container for our button. It has a gradient going from top to bottom between two nice grey colors. For those browsers that don't support gradients, a fallback background-color is given.

Now, let's look at the CSS for the actual button.

.button {
    display: inline-block;
    margin: 20px;

    padding: 3px 6px;
    font-family: 'Lucida Grande', Arial, sans-serif;
    font-size: 13px;

    -webkit-border-radius: 3px;
    -moz-border-radius: 3px;
    border-radius: 3px;

    border: 1px solid rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.6);

    background: -webkit-gradient(linear, left top, left bottom, from(#fbfcfb), to(#9d9e9d));
    background: -moz-linear-gradient(#fbfcfb, #9d9e9d);
    background-color: #c0c2c0;

    text-shadow: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.4) 0px 1px;

    -webkit-box-shadow: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.4) 0 1px;
    -moz-box-shadow: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.4) 0 1px;
    box-shadow: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.4) 0 1px;

    -webkit-user-select: none;
    -moz-user-select: none;
    cursor: default;
}

There is a decent amount of code here, which uses all of the power tools that I described above, except for multiple backgrounds. There are several sections to this code, which we will take one by one. The first two lines are just some simple layout information. Setting the button to display: inline-block makes it automatically extend to fit the content, no matter how much text you put in the button. The next section gives some font information to the button. Finally, in the third section we get to use our first power tool: border radius. In the case of our lovely button, we give it a nice 3px radius. Next we give the button a border. Notice that we are using rgba as a color here. This allows us to make the color partially transparent as we do here, creating a nice grayish color. In the next section of code, we set up the background of the button. We give it a gradient background as well as a solid color for fallback in browsers that don't support gradients yet. Next, we use text shadow to make the text look slightly engraved into the button. Once again we use rgba here to give a partially transparent white to the text shadow. The pen-ultimate section of code creates a box shadow. Now, this does not actually look like a shadow, it actually looks like a second border, but it gives a nice highlight to the bottom of the button to make it look engraved into the background and compliments the border color. This is a useful trick to know if you ever want something to look like it has multiple borders - I use it a lot. Finally, the last section of CSS code is a nice trick that prevents text selection in Webkit based browsers and Firefox, and sets the cursor to the default arrow rather than the text selection cursor.

So far, this code makes our button look like this:

OK, so not too bad yet! Let's move on to the button's depressed look.

.button:active {
    background: #B5B5B5;
    -webkit-box-shadow: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.4) 0 1px,
                        black 0px 1px 3px inset,
                        rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.4) 0px -5px 12px inset;

    -moz-box-shadow: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.4) 0 1px, 
                     black 0px 1px 3px inset,
                     rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.4) 0px -5px 12px inset;

    box-shadow: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.4) 0 1px, 
                black 0px 1px 3px inset,
                rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.4) 0px -5px 12px inset;
                
    text-shadow: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.3) 0px 1px;
}

When the button is pressed down, we change a number of things. First, we set the background to a plain color, removing the gradient that we had set eariler. This is because we will be creating the depressed look with a box shadow rather than a gradient. The next thing we do, is set that shadow—or rather multiple shadows. The first shadow in the list is the same one that we had in the normal state: the highlight on the bottom of the button. The second and third shadows are the ones that make our button look pressed. The first of these is a black inset shadow that is set down from the top 1 pixel and has 3 pixels of blur—a pretty dark looking shadow. The last shadow is also black but a slightly transparent black that is set up from the bottom 5 pixels with 12 pixels of blur. This creates the darkened look on the bottom of the button when it is pressed. The final thing that we need to do when this button is pressed down is just reduce the opacity of the text shadow by one notch so that it doesn't stand out like a sore thumb.

That's it! Our button is complete. Here is what the pressed down version looks like:


Conclusion

Replacing images with CSS3 has many benefits. It makes your job as a web developer easier since you don't need to open Photoshop every time you need to make a change to your user interface. It makes your web site or web application load faster since it doesn't need to download so many heavy images. And it allows you to create a more rich, interactive, and desireable experience for users such that they will keep coming back for more.

I will leave you with a bit of inspiration of things that you could do with CSS3. These aren't necessarily the most real world examples, but they show what is possible with a bit of work.

iPhone Made With Pure CSS3

The first demo, created by Jeff Batterton, is an iPhone created with pure CSS3 - no images used. It is very impressive, utilizing CSS gradients, text shadows, box shadows, transitions and transforms. Unfortunately, it currently only looks correct in Webkit based browsers like Safari and Chrome. It can be your task to make the demo work in Firefox!

Pure CSS3 iOS Icons

Another demo, perhaps even more amazing was written by Louis Harboe. It is a recreation of some of the iOS icons in pure CSS, and very realistic recreations at that! This demo also only works in Webkit based browsers. If you want to learn about how some of these icons were reproduced, you can head over to Louis Harboe's blog where he describes the process.

I hope you've enjoyed this article! Feel free to catch up with me on Twitter, or leave your thoughts in the comments!