Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Android SDK

Allgemeine Konfigurationen für virtuelle Android-Geräte

Scroll to top
Read Time: 12 min

German (Deutsch) translation by Nikol Angelowa (you can also view the original English article)

Android-Entwickler müssen auf eine Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Android-Geräte abzielen, um die meisten Benutzer zu erreichen. Durch die ordnungsgemäße Konfiguration des Android-Emulators zur Nachahmung des Verhaltens verschiedener Geräte können Entwickler wertvolle Zeit und Geld beim Testen und Erkennen von Inkompatibilitäten sparen. In diesem Tutorial erfahren Sie, wie Sie AVD-Konfigurationen (Android Virtual Device) für eine Vielzahl gängiger Android-Geräte auf dem heutigen Markt erstellen. Insbesondere erstellen Sie AVD-Konfigurationen für:

  • HTC Evo 4G
  • Google/HTC Nexus One
  • Motorola Droid
  • T-Mobile/HTC G1
  • Archos 5 Internet Tablet

Vorschau des Endergebnisses

Android Virtual Device ConfigurationsAndroid Virtual Device ConfigurationsAndroid Virtual Device Configurations

Annahmen

Die Autoren gehen davon aus, dass der Leser über Grundkenntnisse in Android verfügt und alle Tools installiert sind und funktionieren - insbesondere Eclipse, das Android SDK und das Android ADT-Plug-In für Eclipse. Für dieses Tutorial müssen Sie das Android SDK und den AVD Manager verwenden, die in der Eclipse IDE verfügbar sind.

Hinweis: Wenn Sie die Eclipse-IDE für die Android-Entwicklung nicht verwenden, können Sie diesem Lernprogramm weiterhin folgen und die entsprechenden AVD-Konfigurationen mit dem Befehlszeilentool android.bat (oder dem Befehl android unter Mac und Linux) erstellen, das in den Tools /tools bereitgestellt wird Verzeichnis der Android SDK-Installation. Die Schritte sind jedoch unterschiedlich, da Sie an der Befehlszeile anstatt über das Android SDK und den AVD Manager arbeiten. Weitere Informationen zum Android-Befehlszeilentool und zur Verwendung zum Erstellen und Verwalten von AVDs finden Sie in der Android SDK-Dokumentation.

Schritt 1: Machen Sie sich mit dem Android SDK und dem AVD Manager vertraut

Das Android SDK und der AVD Manager werden in die Eclipse IDE integriert, wenn Sie das ADT-Plug-In (Android Development Tools) installieren. Das Android SDK und der AVD-Manager werden verwendet, um die verschiedenen auf Ihrem Entwicklungscomputer installierten Android SDK-Ziele zu verfolgen und die vom Android-Emulator verwendeten virtuellen Android-Geräte (AVDs) zu verwalten, um das Verhalten realer Android-Geräte nachzuahmen.

Ein Android-Emulator muss über eine AVD-Konfiguration verfügen, um funktionieren zu können. Eine AVD repräsentiert ein eindeutiges, dauerhaftes Systemabbild. Alle Einstellungen, die während der Verwendung der AVD im Emulator geändert und Anwendungen installiert wurden, werden im Systemabbild gespeichert.

Eine AVD-Konfiguration beschreibt auch, wie der Emulator ein reales Gerät emulieren soll, einschließlich:

  • Welche Version der Android-Plattform zu emulieren ist (API-Ebene) (Hinweis: Die Zielplattform kann sich ändern, wenn und wann Geräte drahtlose Updates erhalten.)
  • Bildschirmgröße, Dichte und Auflösung
  • Größe und Inhalt der SD-Karte
  • Hardware-Details (Kamera? Tastatur? Trackball? D-Pad?)

Eine vollständige Liste der Hardwareemulationsoptionen, einschließlich der Einstellungen und ihrer Standardwerte, finden Sie in der Android SDK-Dokumentation.

Sie können das Android SDK und den AVD Manager über die Eclipse-Symbolleiste starten, indem Sie auf die Schaltfläche mit dem grünen Android-Symbol mit dem Pfeil () oder indem Sie Fenster->Android SDK und AVD Manager wählen.

Schritt 2: Erstellen einer AVD zur Emulation des HTC Evo 4G

Das HTC Evo 4G ist eines der neuesten Android-Geräte auf dem Markt. Es ist ein leistungsstarkes neues Telefon mit einem schönen großen Bildschirm, einem leistungsstarken Prozessor und einer großartigen Kamera.

Die wichtigen Spezifikationen dieses Geräts aus Emulator-Sicht sind:

  • Zielplattform: Derzeit Android 2.1
  • Bildschirminfo: Großer Bildschirm, hohe Dichte
  • Fehlende Tastatur und DPad
  • Mangel an Trackball

Erstellen wir daher eine AVD-Konfiguration mit dem Namen Evo4G:

  1. Starten Sie in Eclipse das Android SDK und den AVD Manager
  2. Wählen Sie "Virtuelle Geräte" aus den Optionen auf der linken Seite
  3. Klicken Sie auf die Schaltfläche "Neu", um eine neue AVD-Konfiguration zu erstellen
  4. Nennen Sie die AVD: "Evo4G"
  5. Wählen Sie das Ziel aus: "Google APIs API Level 7"
  6. Geben Sie die SD-Kartengröße ein: "8 GB"
  7. Geben Sie die Hautdetails ein: "800x480"
  8. Bearbeiten Sie die Hardware-Eigenschaft für abstrahierte LCD-Dichte: "217"
  9. Fügen Sie eine weitere Hardwareeigenschaft für die DPad-Unterstützung hinzu: "Nein"
  10. Fügen Sie eine weitere Hardwareeigenschaft für die Tastaturunterstützung hinzu: "Nein"
  11. Fügen Sie eine weitere Hardware-Eigenschaft für die Trackball-Unterstützung hinzu: "Nein"
  12. Speichern Sie die AVD

Sie haben jetzt eine AVD erstellt, die vom Android-Emulator verwendet werden kann, um dem HTC Evo 4G sehr ähnlich zu sein und sich so zu verhalten. Wenn Sie während dieser AVD eine Android-Anwendung im Emulator starten, sehen Sie, dass der Bildschirm der Erfahrung auf dem tatsächlichen Gerät sehr ähnlich ist. Wenn Sie eines dieser Geräte besitzen, stellen Sie möglicherweise sofort fest, dass der Bildschirm (in Bezug auf die Software) nicht gleich aussieht. Der Emulator bietet keine Add-Ons von Drittanbietern wie die HTC Sense-Benutzeroberfläche.

Schritt 3: Erstellen einer AVD zum Emulieren des Google Nexus One

Das Nexus One von Google ist ein leistungsstarkes Telefon mit der neuesten Android-Version. Da dieses Telefon ursprünglich direkt von Google verkauft wurde, scheint es am schnellsten aktualisiert zu werden. Es hat auch einen schönen Bildschirm und ist ziemlich schnell, vor allem mit Android 2.2.

Die wichtigen Spezifikationen dieses Geräts aus Emulator-Sicht sind:

  • Zielplattform: Derzeit Android 2.2
  • Bildschirminfo: Mittelgroß, hohe Dichte
  • Keine Tastatur oder DPad
  • Hat Trackball

Erstellen wir daher eine AVD-Konfiguration mit dem Namen NexusOne:

  1. Starten Sie in Eclipse das Android SDK und den AVD Manager
  2. Wählen Sie "Virtuelle Geräte" aus den Optionen auf der linken Seite
  3. Klicken Sie auf die Schaltfläche "Neu", um eine neue AVD-Konfiguration zu erstellen
  4. Nennen Sie die AVD: "NexusOne"
  5. Wählen Sie das Ziel aus: "Google APIs API Level 8"
  6. Geben Sie die SD-Kartengröße ein: „4 GB“
  7. Geben Sie die Hautdetails ein: "WVGA800"(800x480)
  8. Fügen Sie eine Hardware-Eigenschaft für die abstrahierte LCD-Dichte hinzu: "252"
  9. Fügen Sie eine weitere Hardwareeigenschaft für die DPad-Unterstützung hinzu: "Nein"
  10. Speichern Sie die AVD
Virtual Device Configuration

Sie haben jetzt eine AVD erstellt, die vom Android-Emulator verwendet werden kann, um dem Google Nexus One sehr ähnlich zu sein und sich so zu verhalten. Wenn Sie während dieser AVD eine Android-Anwendung im Emulator starten, sehen Sie, dass der Bildschirm der Erfahrung auf dem tatsächlichen Gerät sehr ähnlich ist. Hier sehen wir ein Foto, das den Android-Emulator mit der NexusOne AVD rechts und einem tatsächlichen Nexus One links zeigt.

Android Virtual DeviceAndroid Virtual DeviceAndroid Virtual Device

Schritt 4: Erstellen einer AVD zur Emulation des Motorola Droid

Das Motorola Droid ist eines der am weitesten verbreiteten Android-Handys in den USA. Es unterscheidet sich auch von vielen anderen neueren Android-Handys darin, dass es über eine Hardwaretastatur verfügt.

Die wichtigen Spezifikationen dieses Geräts aus Emulator-Sicht sind:

  • Zielplattform: Derzeit Android 2.1.
  • Bildschirminfo
  • Mangel an Trackball-Unterstützung
  • Hat Tastatur und DPAD

Erstellen wir daher eine AVD-Konfiguration mit dem Namen MotoDroid:

  1. Starten Sie in Eclipse das Android SDK und den AVD Manager
  2. Wählen Sie "Virtuelle Geräte" aus den Optionen auf der linken Seite
  3. Klicken Sie auf die Schaltfläche "Neu", um eine neue AVD-Konfiguration zu erstellen
  4. Nennen Sie die AVD: "MotoDroid"
  5. Wählen Sie das Ziel aus: "Google APIs API Level 7"
  6. Geben Sie die SD-Kartengröße ein: „16 GB“
  7. Geben Sie die Hautdetails ein: "WVGA854"
  8. Bearbeiten Sie die Hardware-Eigenschaft für abstrahierte LCD-Dichte: "265"
  9. Fügen Sie eine weitere Hardware-Eigenschaft für die Trackball-Unterstützung hinzu: "Nein"
  10. Speichern Sie die AVD
Android Virtual Device

Sie haben jetzt eine AVD erstellt, die vom Android-Emulator verwendet werden kann, um dem Motorola Droid sehr ähnlich zu sein und sich so zu verhalten. Wenn Sie während dieser AVD eine Android-Anwendung im Emulator starten, sehen Sie, dass der Bildschirm der Erfahrung auf dem tatsächlichen Gerät sehr ähnlich ist.

Schritt 5: Erstellung einer AVD zur Emulation des T-Mobile G1

Das T-Mobile G1 war das erste öffentlich verfügbare Android-Handy. Obwohl viele Benutzer auf die neueren Android-Geräte aktualisiert haben, gibt es immer noch viele G1s. Tatsächlich laufen zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt noch gut 50% der aktivierten Geräte mit Android 1.5 und Android 1.6 - ein guter Hinweis darauf, dass G1s und andere frühe Android-Handys noch verwendet werden.

Die wichtigen Spezifikationen dieses Geräts aus Emulator-Sicht sind:

  • Zielplattform: Google Add-Ons mit Android 1.6
  • Bildschirminfo: mittlere Dichte und klein
  • Hat Tastatur und Trackball, aber kein DPad

Erstellen wir daher eine AVD-Konfiguration mit dem Namen TMobileG1:

  1. Starten Sie in Eclipse das Android SDK und den AVD Manager
  2. Wählen Sie "Virtuelle Geräte" aus den Optionen auf der linken Seite
  3. Klicken Sie auf die Schaltfläche "Neu", um eine neue AVD-Konfiguration zu erstellen
  4. Nennen Sie die AVD: "TMobileG1"
  5. Wählen Sie das Ziel aus: "Google APIs API Level 5"
  6. Geben Sie die SD-Kartengröße ein: „2 GB“
  7. Geben Sie die Hautdetails ein: "HVGA"(480x320)
  8. Bearbeiten Sie die Hardware-Eigenschaft für abstrahierte LCD-Dichte: "180"
  9. Fügen Sie eine Hardware-Eigenschaft für die DPad-Unterstützung hinzu: "Nein"
  10. Speichern Sie die AVD
Android Virtual Device

Sie haben jetzt eine AVD erstellt, die vom Android-Emulator verwendet werden kann, um dem T-Mobile G1 sehr ähnlich zu sein und sich so zu verhalten. Wenn Sie während dieser AVD eine Android-Anwendung im Emulator starten, sehen Sie, dass der Bildschirm der Erfahrung auf dem tatsächlichen Gerät sehr ähnlich ist.

Schritt 6: Erstellung einer AVD zum Emulieren des Archos 5 Internet Tablet

Schauen wir uns zum Schluss ein Android-Gerät an, das kein Telefon ist. Eine gute Option ist der Archos 5 Internet Table. Die Entwicklung für andere Arten von Android-Geräten hat ihre eigenen Herausforderungen. Ohne die Google-Add-Ons können Sie sich nicht darauf verlassen, dass bestimmte Apps vorhanden sind. Beispielsweise ist die Google Maps-App nicht verfügbar. Das Gerät verfügt möglicherweise noch über eine Karten-App, aber Sie wissen nicht unbedingt, wie es sich verhalten wird. Das Testen ohne diese Apps, wie Sie es mit dem Emulator tun können, wird dringend empfohlen, damit Sie wissen, ob die Anwendung Annahmen trifft, die dies nicht tun sollten.

Die wichtigen Spezifikationen dieses Geräts aus Emulator-Sicht sind:

  • Zielplattform: Android 1.6, aber keine Google Add-Ons
  • Bildschirminfo: Hohe Dichte und groß
  • Keine Tastatur
  • Keine Google APIs
  • Keine Kamera

Erstellen wir daher eine AVD-Konfiguration mit dem Namen Archos5:

  1. Starten Sie in Eclipse das Android SDK und den AVD Manager
  2. Wählen Sie "Virtuelle Geräte" aus den Optionen auf der linken Seite
  3. Klicken Sie auf die Schaltfläche "Neu", um eine neue AVD-Konfiguration zu erstellen
  4. Nennen Sie die AVD: "Archos5"
  5. Wählen Sie das Ziel: "Android 1.6 API Level 5"
  6. Geben Sie die SD-Kartengröße ein: „2 GB“
  7. Geben Sie die Hautdetails ein: "WVGA800"
  8. Bearbeiten Sie die Hardware-Eigenschaft für abstrahierte LCD-Dichte: "194"
  9. Fügen Sie eine Hardware-Eigenschaft für die DPad-Unterstützung hinzu: "Nein"
  10. Fügen Sie eine weitere Hardware-Eigenschaft für die Trackball-Unterstützung hinzu: "Nein"
  11. Fügen Sie eine weitere Hardwareeigenschaft für die Tastaturunterstützung hinzu: "Nein"
  12. Fügen Sie eine weitere Hardwareeigenschaft für die Kameraunterstützung hinzu: "Nein"
  13. Fügen Sie eine weitere Hardware-Eigenschaft für die Unterstützung von GSM-Modems hinzu: "Nein"
  14. Speichern Sie die AVD
Android Virtual Device

Sie haben jetzt eine AVD erstellt, die vom Android-Emulator verwendet werden kann, um dem Archos 5 Internet Tablet sehr ähnlich zu sein und sich so zu verhalten. Wenn Sie während dieser AVD eine Android-Anwendung im Emulator starten, sehen Sie, dass der Bildschirm der Erfahrung auf dem tatsächlichen Gerät sehr ähnlich ist. Dieses nächste Foto zeigt den Android Emulator mit der Archos5 AVD auf der rechten Seite und einem tatsächlichen Archos 5 Internet Tablet auf der linken Seite.

Android Virtual DeviceAndroid Virtual DeviceAndroid Virtual Device

Schritt 7: Verwendung einer bestimmten AVD mit dem Android-Emulator

Um die von Ihnen erstellten AVDs verwenden zu können, müssen Sie den Android-Emulator starten und ihm die entsprechende AVD zuweisen. Der einfachste Weg, dies in Eclipse zu tun, besteht darin, ein Android-Projekt auszuwählen und dessen Debug- oder Run-Konfiguration zu aktualisieren, um entweder den manuellen Modus oder eine bestimmte AVD nach Namen als Ziel festzulegen. Wenn Sie die Anwendung ausführen oder debuggen, wird die entsprechende AVD geladen (falls Sie eine ausgewählt haben) oder Sie werden aufgefordert, manuell eine geeignete AVD aus der Android-Geräteauswahl auszuwählen, wie unten gezeigt.

Android Virtual DeviceAndroid Virtual DeviceAndroid Virtual Device

Wenn Sie die Bildschirmgröße des Emulators steuern möchten, müssen Sie die Schaltfläche "Start ..." in der Geräteauswahl oder im Android SDK und AVD Manager verwenden. Der folgende Dialog wird angezeigt:

Android Virtual Device

Stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie die richtigen Nummern für Ihr Desktop-Display und die Bildschirmgröße des Geräts auswählen. Auf meinem 24-Zoll-Monitor mit einer Bildschirmauflösung von 1920 x 1200 beträgt die dpi 94. Sie müssen dies für Ihren eigenen Monitor oder Laptop-Bildschirm berechnen.

Schritt 8: Praktisch sein

Obwohl Sie ein Gerät jetzt viel realistischer emulieren können, hat dies gewisse Nachteile. Erstens emulieren Sie immer noch nur, wie wir bereits besprochen haben. Zweitens, und was noch wichtiger ist, erschweren einige dieser Einstellungen die Verwendung des Emulators erheblich. Wenn Sie beispielsweise die Tastatur ausschalten, wird dies vom Emulator berücksichtigt und Sie müssen die Bildschirmtastatur in Android verwenden. Wenn Sie die GSM-Hardware ausschalten, können Sie keine Datenverbindung herstellen, da die Wi-Fi-Option ebenfalls nicht funktioniert.

Schließlich nimmt die SD-Kartengröße direkt so viel Speicherplatz auf Ihrem Computer ein. Stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie eine SD-Kartengröße verwenden, die groß genug ist, um Ihre Anwendung zu testen. Es besteht jedoch keine zwingende Notwendigkeit, die SD-Kartengröße genau zu emulieren. Die SD-Karten können auch vom Benutzer ausgetauscht werden, sodass Sie nicht garantieren können, dass ein Benutzer noch über die Originalkarte verfügt. Sie müssen sich also entscheiden, welche Emulation für Sie am wichtigsten ist. Darüber hinaus kann die vollständige Emulation am nützlichsten sein, wenn sie mit automatisierten Testwerkzeugen anstelle von Menschen verwendet wird.

Abschluss

In diesem Tutorial haben Sie gelernt, wie Sie virtuelle Android-Geräte (AVDs) erstellen, um viele beliebte Android-Geräte zu emulieren, darunter das HTC Evo 4G, das Google Nexus One, das Motorola Droid, das T-Mobile G1 und das Archos 5 Internet Tablet.

Der Android-Emulator ist das wichtigste Tool des Entwicklers zum Entwickeln und Veröffentlichen von Android-Anwendungen. Er ist jedoch effektiv, wenn er tatsächlich die entsprechenden Zielgeräte emuliert. Hier ist es wichtig, detaillierte AVD-Konfigurationen für Zielhandys zu erstellen. Es ist jedoch wichtig, sich daran zu erinnern, dass der Emulator nur so tut, als würde er nicht die Hardware- und Softwarefähigkeiten und -beschränkungen ausführen, die nur für dieses Gerät gelten. Um sicherzustellen, dass Ihre Anwendung auf einem bestimmten Gerät wie erwartet funktioniert, sollten Sie sie nach Möglichkeit immer auf der tatsächlichen Hardware testen. Dieselbe AVD kann zum Testen mehrerer Anwendungen verwendet werden, oder es können mehrere AVDs erstellt werden, um verschiedene Gerätekonfigurationen für eine einzelne Anwendung zu testen.

Wenn Sie Fragen zu diesem Tutorial haben, können Sie sich gerne an uns wenden. Weitere Informationen zu Android Virtual Devices(AVDs) finden Sie in der Dokumentation zum Dev Guide auf der Android Developer-Website.

Wir hoffen, dass Ihnen dieses Tutorial gefallen hat und freuen uns auf Ihr Feedback!

Über die Autoren

Die mobilen Entwickler Lauren Darcey und Shane Conder haben mehrere Bücher über die Android-Entwicklung gemeinsam verfasst: ein ausführliches Programmierbuch mit dem Titel Android Wireless Application Development und Sams TeachYourself Android Application Development in 24 Stunden. Wenn sie nicht schreiben, verbringen sie ihre Zeit damit, mobile Software in ihrem Unternehmen zu entwickeln und Beratungsdienste anzubieten. Sie können per E-Mail an androidwirelessdev+mt@gmail.com, über ihren Blog unter androidbook.blogspot.com und auf Twitter @androidwireless erreicht werden.

Benötigen Sie weitere Hilfe beim Schreiben von Android-Apps? Schauen Sie sich unsere neuesten Bücher und Ressourcen an!

Advertisement
Did you find this post useful?
Want a weekly email summary?
Subscribe below and we’ll send you a weekly email summary of all new Code tutorials. Never miss out on learning about the next big thing.
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
Android SDK

Common Android Virtual Device Configurations

by

Android developers must target a variety of different Android devices in order to reach the greatest number of users. By properly configuring the Android Emulator to mimic the behavior of different devices, developers can save valuable time and money on testing and identify incompatibilities. In this tutorial, you will learn how to create Android Virtual Device (AVD) configurations for a variety of popular Android devices on the market today. Specifically, you will create AVD configurations for the:

  • HTC Evo 4G
  • Google/HTC Nexus One
  • Motorola Droid
  • T-Mobile/HTC G1
  • Archos 5 Internet Tablet

Final Result Preview

Android Virtual Device Configurations

Assumptions

The authors are assuming the reader has some basic knowledge of Android and have all of the tools installed and working—specifically Eclipse, the Android SDK and the Android ADT plug-in for Eclipse. You will need to use the Android SDK and AVD Manager available within the Eclipse IDE for this tutorial.

Note: If you do not use the Eclipse IDE for Android development, you can still follow this tutorial and create the appropriate AVD configurations using the android.bat (or the android command on Mac & Linux) command–line tool provided in the /tools directory of the Android SDK installation. However, the steps will be different, as you are working on the command-line instead of through the Android SDK and AVD Manager. For more information about the android command-line tool and how to use it to create and manage AVDs, see the Android SDK documentation.

Step 1: Getting Comfortable with the Android SDK and AVD Manager

The Android SDK and AVD Manager is integrated into the Eclipse IDE when you install the Android Development Tools (ADT) plug-in. The Android SDK and AVD Manager is used to keep track of the different Android SDK targets installed on your development machine, as well as to manage the Android Virtual Devices (AVDs) used by the Android Emulator to mimic the behavior of real Android devices.

An Android Emulator must have an AVD configuration in order to function. An AVD represents a unique, persistent system image. Any Settings changed and applications installed while using the AVD within the Emulator will be stored within the system image.

An AVD configuration also describes how the emulator should emulate a real device, including:

  • What version of the Android platform to emulate (API Level) (Note: The target platform is subject to change if, and when, devices receive over-the-air updates)
  • Screen size, density, and resolution
  • SD Card size and contents
  • Hardware details (Camera? Keyboard? Trackball? D-Pad?)

A complete list of hardware emulation options, including settings and their default values, is available in the Android SDK documentation.

You can launch the Android SDK and AVD Manager from the Eclipse toolbar by pressing the button with the green Android icon with the arrow () or by choosing Window->Android SDK and AVD Manager.

Step 2: Creating an AVD to Emulate the HTC Evo 4G

One of the newest Android devices on the market, the HTC Evo 4G is a powerful new phone with a nice big screen, a powerful processor, and a great camera.

The important specs of this device from an Emulator perspective are:

  • Target platform: Currently Android 2.1
  • Screen info: Large screen, high density
  • Lack of keyboard and DPad
  • Lack of trackball

Therefore, let’s create an AVD configuration called Evo4G:

  1. Within Eclipse, launch the Android SDK and AVD Manager
  2. Select “Virtual Devices” from the left-hand options
  3. Click the “New” button to create a new AVD configuration
  4. Name the AVD: “Evo4G”
  5. Select the Target: “Google APIs API Level 7”
  6. Input the SD Card Size: “8GB”
  7. Input the Skin Details: “800x480”
  8. Edit the Hardware Property for Abstracted LCD Density: “217”
  9. Add another Hardware Property for DPad Support: “No”
  10. Add another Hardware Property for Keyboard Support: “No”
  11. Add another Hardware Property for Track-ball Support: “No”
  12. Save the AVD

You have now created an AVD that can be used by the Android Emulator to closely resemble and behave like the HTC Evo 4G. If you launch an Android application in emulator while this AVD, you can see that the screen closely resembles the experience one would have on the actual device. If you own one of these devices, you may immediately notice that the screen doesn’t look the same (software-wise). The emulator does not provide third-party add-ons, such as the HTC Sense UI.

Step 3: Creating an AVD to Emulate the Google Nexus One

Google’s Nexus One is a powerful phone with the latest Android release. Being a device originally sold directly by Google, this phone seems to get updates the soonest. It also has a nice screen and is quite fast, especially with Android 2.2.

The important specs of this device from an Emulator perspective are:

  • Target platform: Currently Android 2.2
  • Screen info: Medium sized, high density
  • No keyboard or DPad
  • Has track-ball

Therefore, let’s create an AVD configuration called NexusOne:

  1. Within Eclipse, launch the Android SDK and AVD Manager
  2. Select “Virtual Devices” from the left-hand options
  3. Click the “New” button to create a new AVD configuration
  4. Name the AVD: “NexusOne”
  5. Select the Target: “Google APIs API Level 8”
  6. Input the SD Card Size: “4GB”
  7. Input the Skin Details: “WVGA800” (800x480)
  8. Add a Hardware Property for Abstracted LCD Density: “252”
  9. Add another Hardware Property for DPad Support: “No”
  10. Save the AVD
Virtual Device Configuration

You have now created an AVD that can be used by the Android Emulator to closely resemble and behave like the Google Nexus One. If you launch an Android application in emulator while this AVD, you can see that the screen closely resembles the experience one would have on the actual device. Here we see a photo that shows the Android Emulator using the NexusOne AVD on the right and an actual Nexus One on the left.

Android Virtual Device

Step 4: Creating an AVD to Emulate the Motorola Droid

The Motorola Droid is one of the most prevalent Android phones available in the United States today. It’s also different from many of the other newer Android handsets in that it has a hardware keyboard.

The important specs of this device from an Emulator perspective are:

  • Target platform: Currently Android 2.1.
  • Screen info
  • Lack of trackball support
  • Has keyboard and DPAD

Therefore, let’s create an AVD configuration called MotoDroid:

  1. Within Eclipse, launch the Android SDK and AVD Manager
  2. Select “Virtual Devices” from the left-hand options
  3. Click the “New” button to create a new AVD configuration
  4. Name the AVD: “MotoDroid”
  5. Select the Target: “Google APIs API Level 7”
  6. Input the SD Card Size: “16GB”
  7. Input the Skin Details: “WVGA854”
  8. Edit the Hardware Property for Abstracted LCD Density: “265”
  9. Add another Hardware Property for Track-ball Support: “No”
  10. Save the AVD
Android Virtual Device

You have now created an AVD that can be used by the Android Emulator to closely resemble and behave like the Motorola Droid. If you launch an Android application in emulator while this AVD, you can see that the screen closely resembles the experience one would have on the actual device.

Step 5: Creating an AVD to Emulate the T-Mobile G1

The T-Mobile G1 was the first publicly available Android handset. Although many users have upgraded to the newer Android devices, many G1s are still around. In fact, as of this writing, a good
50% of activated devices are still running Android 1.5 and Android 1.6—a good indication that G1s and other early Android handsets are still being used.

The important specs of this device from an Emulator perspective are:

  • Target platform: Google add-ons with Android 1.6
  • Screen info: medium density and small
  • Has keyboard and Track-ball, but no DPad

Therefore, let’s create an AVD configuration called TMobileG1:

  1. Within Eclipse, launch the Android SDK and AVD Manager
  2. Select “Virtual Devices” from the left-hand options
  3. Click the “New” button to create a new AVD configuration
  4. Name the AVD: “TMobileG1”
  5. Select the Target: “Google APIs API Level 5”
  6. Input the SD Card Size: “2GB”
  7. Input the Skin Details: “HVGA” (480x320)
  8. Edit the Hardware Property for Abstracted LCD Density: “180”
  9. Add a Hardware Property for DPad Support: “No”
  10. Save the AVD
Android Virtual Device

You have now created an AVD that can be used by the Android Emulator to closely resemble and behave like the T-Mobile G1. If you launch an Android application in emulator while this AVD, you can see that the screen closely resembles the experience one would have on the actual device.

Step 6: Creating an AVD to Emulate the Archos 5 Internet Tablet

Finally, let’s look at an Android device that isn’t a phone. One good option is the Archos 5 Internet Table. Developing for other types of Android devices has its own set of challenges. Without the Google Add-ons, you can’t rely on any particular apps being present. For instance, the Google Maps app won’t be available. The device may still have a Maps app, but you won’t necessarily know how it will behave. Testing without these apps present, as you can do with the emulator, is highly recommended so you know if the application is making assumptions that it shouldn’t.

The important specs of this device from an Emulator perspective are:

  • Target platform: Android 1.6, but no Google Add-ons
  • Screen info: High Density and Large
  • No keyboard
  • No Google APIs
  • No Camera

Therefore, let’s create an AVD configuration called Archos5:

  1. Within Eclipse, launch the Android SDK and AVD Manager
  2. Select “Virtual Devices” from the left-hand options
  3. Click the “New” button to create a new AVD configuration
  4. Name the AVD: “Archos5”
  5. Select the Target: “Android 1.6 API Level 5”
  6. Input the SD Card Size: “2GB”
  7. Input the Skin Details: “WVGA800”
  8. Edit the Hardware Property for Abstracted LCD Density: “194”
  9. Add a Hardware Property for DPad Support: “No”
  10. Add another Hardware Property for Track-ball Support: “No”
  11. Add another Hardware Property for Keyboard Support: “No”
  12. Add another Hardware Property for Camera Support: “No”
  13. Add another Hardware Property for GSM modem Support: “No”
  14. Save the AVD
Android Virtual Device

You have now created an AVD that can be used by the Android Emulator to closely resemble and behave like the Archos 5 Internet Tablet. If you launch an Android application in emulator while this AVD, you can see that the screen closely resembles the experience one would have on the actual device. This next photo shows the Android Emulator using the Archos5 AVD on the right and an actual Archos 5 Internet Tablet on the left.

Android Virtual Device

Step 7: Using a Specific AVD with the Android Emulator

In order to use the AVDs you have created, you need to launch the Android Emulator, assigning it the appropriate AVD. The easiest way to do this from within Eclipse is to choose an Android project and update its Debug or Run Configuration to Target either Manual mode or a specific AVD by name. When you run or debug the application, the appropriate AVD will be loaded (if you chose one) or you will be prompted to manually choose an appropriate AVD from the Android Device Chooser, as shown below.

Android Virtual Device

If you want to be able to control the on-screen size of the emulator, you’ll need to use the “Start…” button from the Device Chooser or from the Android SDK and AVD Manager. You’ll see the following dialog:

Android Virtual Device

Be sure to choose the correct numbers for your desktop display and the device screen size. On my 24” monitor that has a display resolution of 1920x1200, the dpi is 94. You’ll need to calculate this for your own monitor or laptop screen.

Step 8: Being Practical

Although you can now emulate a device in a far more realistic way, there are certain disadvantages to doing this. First, you’re still only just emulating, as we discussed. Second, and more importantly, some of these settings make using the emulator much more difficult. For instance, if you choose to turn off the keyboard, the emulator will honor that and you’ll be forced to use the on-screen keyboard within Android. Also, if you turn off GSM hardware, you will have no way of making a data connection as the Wi-Fi option does not work, either.

Finally, the SD card size directly takes up that much space on your computer. Make sure you use an SD card size that’s large enough for testing your application, but there is no real compelling need to emulate the SD card size exactly. The SD cards are user-replaceable, too, so you can’t guarantee that a user still has the original card in place. So, you have to decide which emulation is most important for you. In addition, the full emulation may be most useful when used with automated testing tools instead of by humans.

Conclusion

In this tutorial, you learned how to create Android Virtual Devices (AVDs) to emulate many popular Android devices, including: the HTC Evo 4G, the Google Nexus One, the Motorola Droid, the T-Mobile G1 and the Archos 5 Internet Tablet.

The Android Emulator is the developer’s most important tool for developing and publishing Android applications but it’s effective if it’s actually emulating the appropriate target devices. That’s where crafting detailed AVD configurations for target handsets becomes essential. Still, it’s important to remember that the Emulator is just pretending—not actually running the hardware and software abilities and constraints unique to that device. To ensure that your application works as expected on a given device, you should always test it on the actual hardware whenever possible. The same AVD can be used to test multiple applications, or multiple AVDs could be created to test different device configurations for a single application.

If you have any questions about this tutorial, feel free to contact us. For more information about Android Virtual Devices (AVDs), check out the Dev Guide documentation at the Android Developer website.

We hope you enjoyed this tutorial and look forward to your feedback!

About the Authors

Mobile developers Lauren Darcey and Shane Conder have coauthored several books on Android development: an in-depth programming book entitled Android Wireless Application Development and Sams TeachYourself Android Application Development in 24 Hours. When not writing, they spend their time developing mobile software at their company and providing consulting services. They can be reached at via email to androidwirelessdev+mt@gmail.com, via their blog at androidbook.blogspot.com, and on Twitter @androidwireless.

Need More Help Writing Android Apps? Check out our Latest Books and Resources!

Buy Android Wireless Application Development, 2nd Edition  Buy Sam's Teach Yourself Android Application Development in 24 Hours  Mamlambo code at Code Canyon

Related Posts
  • Code
    Android SDK
    Integrating Google Play Services on Android85ude preview image@2x
    By integrating your Android apps with Google Play Services, you can access Google services, such as Maps, Drive, and Google+. In this tutorial, we will go through the process of integrating Google Play Services with Android apps.Read More…
  • Code
    News
    Android 2013: A Year in Review and 2014 PredictionsPk45fe preview image@2x
    It was another strong and, may I say, dominant year for the Android platform. It continued to dominate in market share and climb in numbers. Countless devices were released featuring the popular, mobile operating system and not all of those devices were smartphones or tablets. Android is making headway in new territories. 2013 was a busy year for the green robot. Now that the year has come to a close, it's time to recap the action.Read More…
  • Code
    News
    Android 4.4 KitKat: What's NewAe2b1 preview image@2x
    Google released its latest version of Android on October 31, 2013. The new release, version 4.4, is nicknamed KitKat. The release came as a surprise to many as Key Lime Pie and 5.0 had been linked to this update for quite some time. KitKat, however, doesn't disappoint as it's packed with features and updates. In this article, I'll give you an overview overview of what's new in KitKat.Read More…
  • Code
    Android SDK
    Android SDK: SamplesAndroid preview@2x
    In this series, we have been exploring the basics of Android development. We have looked at what you need to know when building the elements in Android apps. In this tutorial, however, you will see that the Android platform provides resources you can learn from. The samples of the Android SDK include complete applications in which you can see functioning examples of typical Android application components. You can use the samples in more than one way, including directly from within Eclipse.Read More…
  • Code
    Android SDK
    Android SDK: Running & DebuggingAndroid preview@2x
    We have been learning how to develop Android apps in this series. In the last tutorial, we looked at connecting hardware and virtual devices to Eclipse. In this tutorial, we will explore running and debugging apps on physical devices and AVDs from Eclipse.Read More…
  • Code
    Android SDK
    Android SDK: Virtual & Physical DevicesAndroid preview@2x
    We are learning about Android app development in this series. We already looked at the basic elements in an Android project and touched on user interface design and data storage along the way. In this tutorial, we are going to explore how to run and interact with your apps on physical and virtual devices. In the next part of the series, we will work through the process of running an app on a physical device and on the emulator. In this part, we'll look at getting our physical and virtual devices set up in Eclipse.Read More…