Unlimited Plugins, WordPress themes, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Web Development

Leinwand von Anfang: Pixelmanipulation

by
Read Time:12 minsLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Canvas From Scratch.
Canvas From Scratch: Transformations and Gradients

German (Deutsch) translation by Alex Grigorovich (you can also view the original English article)

Im letzten Artikel haben Sie alles über Transformationen, Schatten und Verläufe erfahren. Heute werde ich Ihnen zeigen, wie Sie Pixel auf Leinwand bearbeiten. Vom einfachen Zugriff auf Farbwerte bis zur Bearbeitung von Bildern auf der Leinwand wie bei einem Fotoeditor.

Dies ist mit Sicherheit eine der leistungsstärksten Funktionen, die direkt in die Leinwand integriert sind. Sobald Sie sie gelernt haben, garantiere ich Ihnen, dass Sie eine ganze Reihe aufregender Ideen haben.


Einrichten

Sie werden dieselbe HTML-Vorlage aus den vorherigen Artikeln verwenden. Öffnen Sie also Ihren bevorzugten Editor und kopieren Sie den folgenden Code:

Dies ist nichts weiter als eine einfache HTML-Seite mit einem canvas-Element und etwas JavaScript, das nach dem Laden des DOM ausgeführt wird. Nichts verrücktes.


Platzieren eines Bildes auf der Leinwand

Sie können Pixel mit allem bearbeiten, was auf die Leinwand gezeichnet ist. Für dieses Tutorial verwenden Sie jedoch Bilder. Dies liegt zum Teil daran, dass es wichtig ist, Ihnen zu zeigen, wie Sie Bilder in die Leinwand laden, aber auch daran, dass die Fähigkeit zur Bildmanipulation (z. B. zum Bearbeiten von Fotos) ein großer Pluspunkt dieser Technologie ist.

Bevor ich Ihnen zeige, wie Sie auf Pixelwerte zugreifen, platzieren Sie ein Bild auf der Leinwand. Sie können jedes gewünschte Bild verwenden, aber für dieses Beispiel werde ich eines meiner eigenen Fotos von Flickr verwenden.

One of my photos from FlickrOne of my photos from FlickrOne of my photos from Flickr

Sie haben die Erlaubnis, dieses Foto zu verwenden, wenn Sie möchten, das Sie in verschiedenen Größen herunterladen können.

Das Laden eines Bildes in die Leinwand erfordert zwei Schritte. Das erste besteht darin, das Bild in ein HTML-image element zu laden. Dies kann mithilfe von HTML oder durch Erstellen eines neuen DOM-Elements direkt in JavaScript erfolgen. In diesem Beispiel erstellen Sie ein neues DOM-Element - ganz einfach:

Sie erstellen hier lediglich ein neues Image-DOM-Element und weisen es einer Variablen zu. Sie verwenden diese Variable dann, um Ihr Bild zu laden, indem Sie das src-Attribut des Bildes auf den richtigen Pfad setzen. Es ist erwähnenswert, dass Sie mit dieser Technik ein Remote-Image laden können. Dies wirft jedoch einige Probleme für uns auf, sodass wir uns vorerst an ein lokal gespeichertes Image halten. Der letzte Schritt besteht darin, auf das load ereignis zu warten, das ausgelöst wird, sobald das Bild vollständig geladen wurde und zur Verwendung verfügbar ist.

Sobald das Bild geladen wurde, können Sie es in einem einfachen Schritt auf der Leinwand platzieren. Sie müssen lediglich die soeben erstellte image variable an einen Aufruf an die drawImage-Methode des 2d-Renderkontexts übergeben. Platzieren Sie im image Ladeereignis

In diesem Fall akzeptiert die drawImage-Methode drei Argumente; ein Bildelement sowie die x- und y-Koordinatenwerte, um das Bild auf der Leinwand zu platzieren. Dadurch wird das Bild in voller Größe (500 Pixel für dieses Bild) und an der angegebenen Position gezeichnet:

Placing an imagePlacing an imagePlacing an image

drawImage kann jedoch zwei weitere Argumente verwenden, die die Breite und Höhe definieren, um das Bild zu zeichnen:

Dies würde das Bild mit der halben Originalgröße zeichnen (250px für dieses Bild):

Placing and resizing an imagePlacing and resizing an imagePlacing and resizing an image

Sie können sogar noch einen Schritt weiter gehen und die vollständigen neun Argumente für drawImage verwenden, um nur einen kleinen Teil des Originalbilds zu zeichnen, wie folgt:

Dies würde ein 200px-Quadrat von oben links im Bild nehmen und es mit einem 500px-Quadrat auf die Leinwand zeichnen:

Placing only part of an imagePlacing only part of an imagePlacing only part of an image

Im Pseudocode können die vollständigen neun drawImage-Argumente folgendermaßen beschrieben werden (s bedeutet Quelle und d bedeutet Ziel):

Das Ergebnis ist in der folgenden Abbildung dargestellt:

Taking drawImage to the extremeTaking drawImage to the extremeTaking drawImage to the extreme

Einfach, richtig? Ehrlich gesagt ist nichts auf Leinwand so kompliziert, wenn man es einmal zerlegt und die Teile einzeln betrachtet.


Zugriff auf Pixelwerte

Nachdem Sie ein Bild auf der Leinwand haben, ist es Zeit, auf die Pixel zuzugreifen, damit Sie sie bearbeiten können. Vergessen wir jedoch vorerst, sie zu manipulieren, und konzentrieren uns nur darauf, auf sie zuzugreifen, da das Konzept eine Weile braucht, um sich zurechtzufinden.

Sicherheitsprobleme

Wenn Sie über Canvas auf Pixel zugreifen möchten, müssen Sie die damit verbundenen Sicherheitsbeschränkungen kennen. Mit diesen Einschränkungen können Sie nur auf die Daten von Bildern zugreifen, die in derselben Domäne wie das JavaScript geladen sind. Dies verhindert, dass Sie von einem Remote-Server aus auf ein Bild zugreifen und dann dessen Pixel analysieren, obwohl es eine Möglichkeit gibt, es zu umgehen. Leider behandeln nicht alle Browser JavaScript und Bilder, die lokal vom Dateisystem (dh ohne Domainnamen) ausgeführt werden, wie unter derselben Domain, sodass möglicherweise Sicherheitsfehler auftreten. Um dies zu umgehen, müssen Sie den Rest dieses Lernprogramms entweder in einer lokalen Entwicklungsumgebung (wie MAMP, WAMP oder XAMPP) oder auf einem Remote-Webserver ausführen und über einen Domänennamen (wie example.com) auf die Dateien zugreifen.

Wenn das aus dem Weg ist, lasst uns weitermachen und uns ein paar Pixel holen!

Der Zugriff auf Pixel ist etwas seltsam

Wie ich am Anfang dieses Abschnitts erwähnt habe, dauert es eine Weile, bis Sie auf Pixelwerte in der Leinwand zugreifen können. Dies liegt an der Art und Weise, wie die Pixel auf der Leinwand gespeichert werden. Sie werden überhaupt nicht als ganze Pixel gespeichert! Stattdessen werden Pixel jeweils in vier separate Werte (Rot, Grün, Blau und Alpha) unterteilt, und diese Werte werden in einem eindimensionalen Array mit allen Farbwerten für die anderen Pixel gespeichert. Aus diesem Grund können Sie die Daten nicht einfach von einem bestimmten Pixel anfordern, zumindest nicht standardmäßig. Lassen Sie mich erklären.

Um auf Pixel im Canvas-Bereich zuzugreifen, müssen Sie die getImageData-Methode des 2D-Rendering-Kontexts aufrufen:

Diese Methode verwendet vier Argumente, die einen rechteckigen Bereich der Zeichenfläche beschreiben, von dem die Pixeldaten stammen sollen. ein x- und y-Ursprung, gefolgt von einer width und height. Es gibt ein CanvasPixelArray zurück, das alle Farbwerte für die Pixel innerhalb des definierten Bereichs enthält. Das erste, was beim CanvasPixelArray auffällt, ist, dass jedes Pixel vier Farbwerte hat, sodass der Index des ersten Farbwerts für jedes Pixel innerhalb des Arrays ein Vielfaches von 4 ist (0 für den ersten Wert des ersten Pixels, 4 für der erste Wert des zweiten usw.):

Index values in the CanvasPixelArrayIndex values in the CanvasPixelArrayIndex values in the CanvasPixelArray

Das Interessante an diesem Array (oder ärgerlich, je nachdem, wie Sie es betrachten) ist, dass es kein Konzept für die (x, y) -Koordinatenposition gibt, was bedeutet, dass das Abrufen von Farbwerten für ein bestimmtes Pixel etwas schwieriger ist als der Zugriff auf zwei. dimensionales Array (z. B. Verwenden von pixelArray [0][3], um auf das Pixel bei (1, 4) zuzugreifen). Stattdessen müssen Sie eine kleine Formel verwenden, die tatsächlich sehr einfach zu verstehen ist, sobald sie richtig erklärt wurde:

Accessing a specific pixel from the CanvasPixelArrayAccessing a specific pixel from the CanvasPixelArrayAccessing a specific pixel from the CanvasPixelArray

Können Sie herausfinden, was hier passiert? Lassen Sie es uns aufschlüsseln und so tun, als ob wir die Pixelfarbwerte für das innerste Pixel in einem 3x3-Pixelraster erhalten möchten - das Pixel bei (2, 2).

Wenn Sie sich die beiden vorherigen Bilder ansehen, können Sie sehen, dass die Farbwerte für dieses Pixel bei Index 16 beginnen. Um dies jedoch mit Code zu berechnen, müssen Sie zwei Dinge tun. Berechnen Sie zuerst den Index am Anfang der Zeile, auf der sich das Pixel befindet (die y-Position), und fügen Sie dann diesem Index die Anzahl der Farbwerte hinzu, die zwischen dem Pixel und dem Anfang der Zeile (der x-Position) vorhanden sind. Es ist ein bisschen nervenaufreibend, aber ertrage es.

Der erste Teil ist einfach, Sie wissen bereits, dass es vier Farbwerte pro Pixel gibt, und Sie kennen bereits die Breite des Rasters (3 Pixel). Um den Index des Pixels in Zeile y (2) zu berechnen, führen Sie diese Werte durch den ersten Teil der Formel, der folgendermaßen aussehen würde:

Dies gibt Ihnen einen Index von 12, der mit dem ersten Pixel in der zweiten Zeile in den vorherigen Bildern übereinstimmt. So weit, ist es gut.

Der nächste Schritt besteht darin, die Anzahl der Farbwerte zu berechnen, die vor dem gewünschten Pixel in dieser Zeile vorhanden sind. Dazu multiplizieren Sie einfach die Anzahl der Pixel vor der gewünschten mit vier. Einfach. In diesem Fall würde der zweite Teil der Formel folgendermaßen aussehen:

Sie können alles herausfinden, wenn Sie möchten, aber die Antwort lautet 4, was, wenn Sie zum vorherigen Wert addiert werden, einen Index von 16 ergibt. Cool, ja?

Ich würde mir keine Sorgen machen, es vollständig zu verstehen. Ich weiß nur, dass diese erstaunliche kleine Formel existiert, damit Sie den Index des roten Farbwerts für jedes Pixel leicht erhalten können. Um den Index der anderen Farbwerte eines Pixels (grün, blau oder alpha) zu erhalten, fügen Sie dem berechneten Index einfach 1, 2 oder 3 hinzu.

Dies in die Praxis umsetzen

Nachdem Sie nun wissen, wie Sie ein beliebiges Pixel erfassen können, setzen wir dies in die Praxis um und erfassen Farbwerte aus einem Bild, um die Farbe eines Website-Hintergrunds zu ändern. Diese Art von Technik eignet sich hervorragend als Farbwähler für eine Webanwendung zur Fotobearbeitung.

Der Code für dieses Beispiel ist ziemlich einfach. Lassen Sie uns also alles auf einmal angreifen:

Sie erkennen die ersten Zeilen aus den vorherigen Beispielen. Das gesamte neue Material befindet sich im Klick-Handler auf dem canvas-Element, der mit ein wenig jQuery anzeigt, wann auf den Canvas geklickt wurde.

Innerhalb des Klick-Handlers möchten Sie das Pixel ermitteln, mit dem die Maus auf die Leinwand geklickt hat. Dazu müssen Sie zuerst den Versatz in Pixel der oberen linken Position der Zeichenfläche vom oberen linken Rand des Browserfensters berechnen. Hierfür können Sie die jQuery-offset methode verwenden. Sie können dann auf das auf der Leinwand angeklickte Pixel schließen, indem Sie den Versatz von der Mausposition des Klickereignisses (pageX und pageY) subtrahieren. Sie sollten auf jeden Fall einige Zeit damit verbringen, sich über das JavaScript-Klickereignis zu informieren, wenn Sie dies besser verstehen möchten.

In den folgenden vier Zeilen wird das CanvasPixelArray für die Zeichenfläche (getImageData) erfasst, in einer Variablen gespeichert, der Index des roten Farbwerts für das angeklickte Pixel ermittelt, indem er mit der zuvor angezeigten Formel berechnet wird, und anschließend die Pixelfarbwerte gespeichert als CSS-rgba-Zeichenfolge. Schließlich besteht der letzte Schritt darin, die Hintergrundfarbe des body elements auf die des angeklickten Pixels einzustellen.

Creating a basic color pickerCreating a basic color pickerCreating a basic color picker

Und damit sind Sie fertig. Probieren Sie es selbst aus; Klicken Sie auf das Bild auf der Leinwand und beobachten Sie, wie der Hintergrund der Website seine Farbe ändert. Wenn dies nicht funktioniert, stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie die Demo auf einem Server mit einem Domänennamen ausführen, wie im Abschnitt zu Sicherheitsproblemen beschrieben.

Es war eine lange Reise, aber Sie können jetzt schnell und einfach die Farbwerte aller Pixel auf der Leinwand abrufen. Habe ich dir gesagt, dass du auch die Farbwerte von Pixeln auf der Leinwand ändern kannst? Ich habe nicht? Hoppla! Schauen wir uns das jetzt an, es ist absolut cool.


Anwenden von Effekten auf Bilder

Jetzt, da Sie auf die Pixelfarbwerte der Leinwand zugreifen können, ist das Ändern dieser Werte ein Kinderspiel. Das Ändern dieser Farbwerte ist in der Tat so einfach wie das Ändern der Werte im CanvasPixelArray und das anschließende Zurückzeichnen auf die Leinwand. Schauen wir uns an, wie das geht.

Der erste Schritt besteht darin, den Code wie im vorherigen Abschnitt einzurichten. Dieser Code lädt ein Bild, zeichnet es auf die Leinwand und erfasst dann die Pixeldaten:

So weit, ist es gut. Der nächste Schritt besteht darin, jedes Pixel auf der Leinwand zu durchlaufen und seine Farbwerte zu ändern. In diesem Beispiel werden Sie die Farben invertieren, indem Sie den aktuellen Farbwert (0 bis 255) von 255 abziehen:

Hier ist nichts Verrücktes los; Sie multiplizieren einfach die Pixelzahl (i) mit 4, um den Index des roten Farbwerts für dieses Pixel im CanvasPixelArray zu erhalten. Durch Hinzufügen von 1 oder 2 zu dieser Zahl können Sie die grünen bzw. blauen Farbwerte abrufen und ändern.

Schließlich müssen Sie jetzt nur noch die Zeichenfläche löschen (um das normale Bild zu entfernen) und dann die putImageData-Methode des 2D-Renderkontexts verwenden, um das gespeicherte CanvasPixelArray auf die Zeichenfläche zu zeichnen:

Und das ist ehrlich gesagt alles, was dazu gehört. Laden Sie Ihren Browser neu und überzeugen Sie sich selbst. Cool, nicht wahr?

Inverting the pixels of an imageInverting the pixels of an imageInverting the pixels of an image

Dinge einpacken

Pixelmanipulation auf Leinwand bietet noch viel mehr, aber ich hoffe, dass Sie in diesem Artikel genug Erfahrung haben, um Ihre Säfte zum Fließen zu bringen. Ich ermutige Sie, diesen Bereich weiter zu erkunden und zu sehen, was Sie sonst noch mit Pixeln tun können. Warum? Denn alle Techniken, die Sie zur Pixelmanipulation gelernt haben, können sowohl für HTML5-Videos als auch für Bilder verwendet werden. Das ist cool!

Im nächsten Artikel, dem letzten in dieser Reihe, werden wir die Leinwand anders betrachten. Dieses Mal lernen Sie, wie Sie auf der Leinwand animieren. Dadurch erhalten Sie die Grundlagen zum Erstellen von Cartoons, Animationen und Spielen. Dies ist zweifellos meine Lieblingsverwendung von Leinwand.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Video icon 64
Learning to code? Skill up faster with our practical video courses. Start your free trial today.
Advertisement

Canvas from Scratch: Pixel Manipulation

by
This post is part of a series called Canvas From Scratch.
Canvas From Scratch: Transformations and Gradients

In the last article, you learned all about transformations, shadows and gradients. Today, I'm going to show you how to manipulate pixels in canvas; from simply accessing color values, to editing images within the canvas just like a photo editor.

This is easily one of the most powerful features built into canvas directly, and once you've learned it, I guarantee that you'll have a whole range of exciting ideas.


Setting Up

You're going to use the same HTML template from the previous articles, so open up your favorite editor and copy in the following code:

<!DOCTYPE html>

<html>
    <head>
        <title>Canvas from scratch</title>
        <meta charset="utf-8">

        <script src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1/jquery.min.js"></script>

        <script>
            $(document).ready(function() {
                var canvas = document.getElementById("myCanvas");
                var ctx = canvas.getContext("2d");
            });
        </script>
    </head>

    <body>
        <canvas id="myCanvas" width="500" height="500">
            <!-- Insert fallback content here -->
        </canvas>
    </body>
</html>

This is nothing more than a basic HTML page with a canvas element and some JavaScript that runs after the DOM has loaded. Nothing crazy.


Placing an Image on the Canvas

You can manipulate pixels with anything drawn onto the canvas, but for the sake of this tutorial, you'll be using images. This is partly because it's important to show you how to load images into the canvas, but also because the ability to perform image manipulation (eg. editing photos) is massive plus-point of this technology.

Before I show you how to access pixel values, let's place an image onto the canvas. Feel free to use any image that you want, but for the sake of this example, I'm going to use one of my own photos from Flickr.

One of my photos from Flickr

You have permission to use this photo if you wish, which you can download in a variety of sizes.

Loading an image into canvas requires two steps. The first is to load the image into a HTML image element, which can be done using HTML or by creating a new DOM element directly within JavaScript. In this example, you're going to create a new DOM element -- it's dead simple:

var image = new Image();
image.src = "sample.jpg";
$(image).load(function() {

});

All you're doing here is creating a new Image DOM element and assigning it to a variable. You then use that variable to load up your image by setting the src attribute of the image to the correct path. It's worth noting that you could load in a remote image using this technique, but this raises a few issues for us further down the line so we'll stick with a locally stored image for now. The final step is to listen for the load event that will be fired as soon as the image has finished loading and is available for use.

Once the image has loaded, you can then place it on the canvas in one easy step. All you need to do is pass the image variable that you just created into a call to the drawImage method of the 2d rendering context. Place it inside the image load event, like so:

$(image).load(function() {
    ctx.drawImage(image, 0, 0);
});

In this case, the drawImage method takes three arguments; an image element, as well as the x and y coordinate values to place the image on the canvas. This will draw the image at full size (500px for this image) and at the specified position:

Placing an image

However, drawImage can actually take a further two arguments that define the width and height to draw the image, like so:

ctx.drawImage(image, 0, 0, 250, 166);

This would draw the image at half the original size (250px for this image):

Placing and resizing an image

You can even take things a step further and use the full nine arguments for drawImage to only draw a small portion of the original image, like so:

ctx.drawImage(image, 0, 0, 200, 200, 0, 0, 500, 500);

This would take a 200px square from the top left of the image and draw it on the canvas at 500px square:

Placing only part of an image

In pseudo-code, the full nine drawImage arguments can be described like so (s meaning source, and d meaning destination):

ctx.drawImage(image, sx, sy, sw, sh, dx, dy, dw, dh);

And the result is visualized in the following illustration:

Taking drawImage to the extreme

Simple, right? In all honesty, nothing in canvas is that complicated once you break it down and look at the pieces individually.


Accessing Pixel Values

Now that you have an image on the canvas it's time to access the pixels so that you can manipulate them. However, let's forget about manipulating them for now and concentrate purely on accessing them as the concept take a little while to get your head around.

Security Issues

If you want to access pixels using canvas you need to be aware of the security limitations that are involved. These limitations only allow you to access the data from images loaded on the same domain as the JavaScript. This prevents you from accessing an image from a remote server and then analyzing its pixels, although there is a way to get around it, sort of. Unfortunately not all browsers treat JavaScript and images run locally from the file system (ie, without a domain name) as under the same domain, so you might receive security errors. To get around this you need to either run the rest of this tutorial on a local development environment (like MAMP, WAMP, or XAMPP) or a remote Web server and access the files using a domain name (like example.com).

With that out of the way, let's crack on and get us some pixels!

Accessing Pixels is a Little Odd

As I mentioned at the beginning of this section, accessing pixel values in canvas takes a little while to get your head around. This is due to the way that the pixels are stored by canvas; they're not stored as whole pixels at all! Instead, pixels are each broken up into four separate values (red, green, blue, and alpha) and these values are stored in a one-dimensional array with all the color values for the other pixels. Because of this you can't just request the data from a particular pixel, at least not by default. Let me explain.

To access pixels in canvas you need to call the getImageData method of the 2d rendering context, like so:

var imageData = ctx.getImageData(x, y, width, height);

This method takes four arguments that describe a rectangular area of the canvas that you want the pixel data from; an x and y origin, followed by a width and height. It returns a CanvasPixelArray that contains all the color values for the pixels within the defined area. The first thing to notice with the CanvasPixelArray is that each pixel has four color values, so the index of the first color value for each pixel within the array will be a multiple of 4 (0 for the first value of the first pixel, 4 for the first value of the second, etc):

Index values in the CanvasPixelArray

What's interesting about this array (or annoying, depending on how you look at it) is that there is no concept of (x, y) coordinate position, meaning that retrieving color values for a specific pixel is a little harder than accessing a two-dimensional array (eg. using pixelArray[0][3] to access the pixel at (1, 4)). Instead, you need to use a little formula that's actually very easy to understand once it's explained properly:

var redValueForPixel = ((y - 1) * (width * 4)) + ((x - 1) * 4);
Accessing a specific pixel from the CanvasPixelArray

Can you work out what's happening here? Let's break it down and pretend that we want to get the pixel color values for the innermost pixel in a 3x3 pixel grid – the pixel at (2, 2).

If you look at the previous two images you can see that the color values for this pixel will begin at index 16, but to work this out with code you need to do two things; first calculate the index at the beginning of the row that the pixel is on (the y position), and then add to that index the number of color values that exist between the pixel and the beginning of the row (the x position). It's a bit of a mind-bender, but bear with it.

The first part is easy, you already know that there are four color values per pixel, and you already know the width of the grid (3 pixels). To calculate the index of the pixel at row y (2) you pass these values through the first part of the formula, which would look like so:

((2 - 1) * (3 * 4))

This gives you an index of 12, which you'll see matches up with the first pixel on the second row in the previous images. So far so good.

The next step is to calculate the number of color values that exist before the pixel that you want on this row. To do that you simply multiply the number of pixels before the one you want by four. Simple. In this case the second part of the formula would look like this:

((2 - 1) * 4)

You can work it all out if you want, but the answer is 4, which when added to the previous value gives you an index of 16. Cool, ey?

I wouldn't worry too much about understanding it fully, just know that this amazing little formula exists so that you can easily get the index of the red color value for any pixel. To get the index of the other color values of a pixel (green, blue, or alpha), you just add 1, 2, or 3 to the calculated index respectively.

Putting this into Practice

Now that you know how to grab any pixel that you want, let's put this into practice and grab color values from an image to change the color of a website background. This kind of technique would work great as a color picker for a photo editing Web application.

The code for this example is fairly straightforward, so let's attack it all in one go:

var image = new Image();
image.src = "sample.jpg";
$(image).load(function() {
    ctx.drawImage(image, 0, 0);
});

$(canvas).click(function(e) {
    var canvasOffset = $(canvas).offset();
    var canvasX = Math.floor(e.pageX-canvasOffset.left);
    var canvasY = Math.floor(e.pageY-canvasOffset.top);

    var imageData = ctx.getImageData(0, 0, canvas.width, canvas.height);
    var pixels = imageData.data;
    var pixelRedIndex = ((canvasY - 1) * (imageData.width * 4)) + ((canvasX - 1) * 4);
    var pixelcolor = "rgba("+pixels[pixelRedIndex]+", "+pixels[pixelRedIndex+1]+", "+pixels[pixelRedIndex+2]+", "+pixels[pixelRedIndex+3]+")";

    $("body").css("backgroundColor", pixelcolor);
});

You'll recognise the first few lines from the previous examples. All the new stuff is within the click handler on the canvas element, which uses a tiny bit of jQuery to tell you when the canvas has been clicked on.

Within the click handler you want to work out the pixel that the mouse has clicked on the canvas. To do this you first need to calculate the offset in pixels of the top left position of the canvas from the top left edge of the browser window, you can use the jQuery offset method for this. You can then infer the pixel clicked on the canvas by subtracting the offset from the mouse position of the click event (pageX and pageY). You should definitely spend some time reading up on the JavaScript click event if you want to understand this further.

The following four lines grab the CanvasPixelArray for the canvas (getImageData), store it in a variable, find the index of the red color value for the clicked pixel by calculating it using the formula that you saw earlier, and then stores the pixel color values as a CSS rgba string. Finally, the last step is to set the background color of the body element to that of the clicked pixel.

Creating a basic color picker

And with that you're done. Try it out for yourself; click the image on the canvas and watch the background of the website change color. If it doesn't work, make sure that you're running the demo on a server with a domain name, like described in the section on security issues.

It's been a long journey, but you're now able to quickly and easily retrieve the color values of any pixel on the canvas. Did I tell you that you can also change the color values of pixels on the canvas? I didn't? Oops! Let's take a look at that now then, it's dead cool.


Applying Effects to Images

Now that you're able to access the pixel color values of the canvas, changing those values is a breeze. In fact, changing those color values is as simple as changing the values in the CanvasPixelArray and then drawing it back onto the canvas. Let's take a look at how to do that.

The first step is to set up the code as you did in the previous section. This code loads an image, draws it onto the canvas, and then grabs the pixel data:

var image = new Image();
image.src = "sample.jpg";
$(image).load(function() {
    ctx.drawImage(image, 0, 0);

    var imageData = ctx.getImageData(0, 0, canvas.width, canvas.height);
    var pixels = imageData.data;
    var numPixels = imageData.width * imageData.height;
});

So far so good. The next step is to loop through every pixel on the canvas and change its color values. In this example you're going to invert the colors by deducting the current color value (0 to 255) from 255:

for (var i = 0; i < numPixels; i++) {
    pixels[i*4] = 255-pixels[i*4]; // Red
    pixels[i*4+1] = 255-pixels[i*4+1]; // Green
    pixels[i*4+2] = 255-pixels[i*4+2]; // Blue
};

There's nothing crazy going on here; you're simply multiplying the pixel number (i) by 4 to get the index of the red color value for that pixel in the CanvasPixelArray. By adding 1 or 2 to that number you can get and change the green and blue color values respectively.

Finally, all you need to do now is to clear the canvas (to get rid of the normal image), and then use the putImageData method of the 2d rendering context to draw the saved CanvasPixelArray to the canvas:

ctx.clearRect(0, 0, canvas.width, canvas.height);
ctx.putImageData(imageData, 0, 0);

And that's honestly all there is to it; reload your browser and take a look for yourself. Cool, isn't it?

Inverting the pixels of an image

Wrapping Things Up

There is so much more to pixel manipulation in canvas, but I hope that you've experienced enough in this article to get your juices flowing. I encourage you to explore this area further and see what else you can do with pixels. Why? Because all of the techniques that you leant about pixel manipulation can be used for HTML5 video as well as images. Now that's cool!

In the next article, the final one in this series, we'll be taking a different look at canvas. This time, you'll learn how to animate on the canvas, which will give you the basics required to create cartoons, animations, and games. This is undoubtably my favorite use of canvas.

Advertisement