Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Android SDK
Code

Erstellen Sie ein benutzerdefiniertes Uhr-Widget: Uhrendesign

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

German (Deutsch) translation by Federicco Ancie (you can also view the original English article)

Die Entwicklung von Widgets für die Android-Plattform erfordert etwas andere Aufgaben als die Standard-App-Entwicklung.  In dieser Serie von Tutorials werden wir den Prozess der Entwicklung eines anpassbaren Analoguhr-Widget durcharbeiten.  Die Uhr basiert auf der Android-AnalogClock-Klasse und wird mit Ihrer eigenen Grafik angepasst.


Serienübersicht

In dieser Tutorialserie entwickeln wir ein anpassbares Android-Analoguhr-Widget mit der AnalogClock-Klasse und benutzerdefinierten Grafiken.  Im ersten Teil der Serie erstellen wir das Projekt und bereiten die Manifest-Datei und andere Ressourcen vor.  In diesem Teil arbeiten wir am Widget-Design.  Dazu werden Grafiken für das Zifferblatt und die Zeiger der Uhr erstellt und das Layout in XML implementiert.  Wir erstellen Grafiken für unterschiedliche Gerätedichten.  Im letzten Teil der Serie werden wir implementieren, indem der Benutzer aus einer Auswahl von Designs für die Uhr auswählen kann. Daher werden hier drei Designoptionen erstellt.

Dies ist Teil 2 unserer Serie zum Erstellen eines anpassbaren Android Analog Clock Widget in vier Tutorials:

Das Android AnalogClock-Widget verwendet drei Bilder: das Uhrzifferblatt, den Minutenzeiger und den Stundenzeiger.  Wir werden daher drei Designelemente für jede Version des Uhr-Widget erstellen, unter der die Benutzer auswählen können.  Wir werden auch alternative Designoptionen mit Zifferblatt-, Stunden- und Minutenzeigern erstellen.  Für dieses Projekt müssen wir unterschiedliche Bildschirmdichten für Geräte anvisieren, für die wir Bilddateien in vier verschiedenen Maßstäben erstellen werden.


Schritt 1: Erstellen Sie Bilder für die Uhr

Wir werden drei Uhrentwürfe erstellen, jeweils mit einem Zifferblatt, einem Minutenzeiger und einem Stundenzeiger.  Sie können natürlich auch Ihre eigenen Designs verwenden, aber Sie können die hier verwendeten Bilddateien verwenden, um zu beginnen.  Die Bilddateien für jedes Design in jeder Dichte sind im Download-Link für dieses Lernprogramm enthalten und werden auch im Download für Teil 4 enthalten.

An erster Stelle steht das Uhrzifferblatt.  Denken Sie daran, dass wir das Widget als zwei Zellen breit und zwei Zellen hoch angegeben haben, was zu einer maximalen Größe von 146 dB (dichteunabhängigen Pixeln) führt.  Für diese Tutorial-Serie erstellen wir vier Versionen jedes Bildes, die den vier Dichtekategorien entsprechen.

Anstatt Bilder für jede Dichte zu erstellen, können Sie alternativ auch NinePatch-Grafiken verwenden. Hierbei handelt es sich um Bitmaps, die je nach Gerätedichte nach oben und unten skaliert werden können, sodass Sie für jedes Design ein einzelnes Bild erstellen können.  Die Durchführbarkeit der Verwendung von NinePatch hängt zum Teil vom Inhalt der verwendeten Designs ab. Es gibt jedoch Tools, die Sie bei der Erstellung unterstützen, wenn Sie möchten.

Am einfachsten ist es, wenn Sie mit der mittleren Dichte beginnen, die auf beiden Achsen maximal 146px betragen sollte.  Hier ist das Standarduhrzifferblatt, das wir mit mittlerer Dichte verwenden, das Sie entweder als Referenz für Ihre eigenen Designs verwenden können oder wenn Sie erst später ein eigenes erstellen möchten:

In diesem Fall ist das Bild auf beiden Achsen 146px, Sie können es jedoch auch verkleinern.  Wir geben eine Marge für Geräte an, auf denen Android-APIs unter 14 ausgeführt werden, liefern jedoch keine Marge für Geräte ab 14, da auf den neueren API-Ebenen eine automatische Marge zwischen Widgets eingefügt wird.  Sie können so ziemlich jedes Design verwenden, das Sie mögen - Ihre Uhr muss nicht einmal rund sein.  Das Einfügen von Markierungen oder Zahlen, die die Stunden auf dem Zifferblatt angeben, ist aus Sicht der Benutzerfreundlichkeit ratsam, obwohl dies nicht unbedingt erforderlich ist.

Hier sind die beiden alternativen Uhrzifferblatt-Designs, die wir verwenden werden, eine Steinart und die andere metallisch, die hier in mittlerer Dichte angezeigt werden:

Nachdem Sie Ihre Uhrenuhren entworfen haben, können Sie für jedes Bild alternative Versionen für die unterschiedlichen Dichten erstellen.  Abhängig von Ihren Entwürfen ist dies möglicherweise nicht erforderlich, aber wir werden für jedes Motiv in diesem Tutorial maßgeschneiderte Versionen für jedes Motiv hinzufügen.  Das Folgende gibt die maximale Größe an, die wir für unser Widget auf der X- und Y-Achse bei jeder Dichte verwenden:

  • Niedrige Dichte: 110px
  • Mittlere Dichte: 146px
  • Hohe Dichte: 220px
  • Extra hohe Dichte: 292px

Wenn Sie Bilddateien für jedes zu verwendende Uhrzifferblatt-Design (und ggf. Versionen für jede Dichte) haben, kopieren Sie sie in die Zeichnungsordner des Arbeitsbereichs des Android-Widget-Projekts.  Eclipse erstellt normalerweise automatisch einen Ordner für jede Dichtekategorie. Wenn Sie jedoch nur ein Bild für alle Dichten verwenden, können Sie einen Ordner mit dem Namen "drawable" erstellen und das Bild dort platzieren.  Die Ordner für jede Dichtestufe sind:

  • Low: drawable-lpdi
  • Medium: drawable-mpdi
  • Hoch: drawable-hpdi
  • Extra hoch: Draw-xhpdi

Mit dem Android AVD Manager können Sie Ihr fertiges Widget-Projekt bei jeder dieser Dichten testen.  Nachdem Sie Ihre Bilder in den verschiedenen Zeichnungsordnern gespeichert haben, stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie in jedem Ordner dieselben Namen verwendet haben.  Zum Beispiel wird eines der von uns verwendeten Zifferblattdesigns "clock_dial_stone" genannt. Dies ist der Dateiname für das steinerne Zifferblatt in jedem Dichteordner, obwohl sich der Inhalt jeder Version nur in der Größe unterscheidet.  Wenn Sie sich immer noch nicht sicher sind, wie das funktionieren soll, laden Sie einfach die Bilddateien mit dem Download-Link oben in diesem Tutorial herunter und durchsuchen Sie die Ordner, um sich ein Bild zu machen.


Schritt 2: Erstellen Sie die Uhrzeigerbilder

Erstellen Sie anschließend ein Bild für die Stunden- und Minutenzeiger Ihres Uhr-Widget, einschließlich Bilder für jedes Design und jede Dichte, auf die Sie abzielen.  Hier sind unsere Minutenzeiger mit mittlerer Dichte für jedes Design:

Fühlen Sie sich frei, diese zu verwenden, um mit zu beginnen oder Ihre eigene zu erarbeiten.  Beachten Sie, dass diese Bilddateien transparenten Platz um die Hand enthalten.  Sie müssen jedes Ihrer Handbilder mit der vollen Höhe des Uhrzifferblatts gestalten, mit dem sie verwendet werden.  Jeder Zeiger muss sich genau in der Position befinden, in der er sich befinden würde, wenn er auf zwölf zeigt, über das Zifferblatt der Uhr gelegt wird und auf halbem Weg.  Die Hand muss sich horizontal in der Mitte der Bilddatei befinden, da sie beim Anzeigen der Zeit vom Mittelpunkt aus gedreht wird.  Die Länge der Zeiger in der Bilddatei hängt von Ihnen ab, solange die volle Höhe des Bildes der Höhe des Wählbilds entspricht.

Das folgende Diagramm zeigt den vollen Maßstab der Zeigerbilder mit dem Minutenzeiger bei zwölf und dem Stundenzeiger bei drei (der Stundenzeiger wurde um seinen zentralen Punkt um 90 Grad im Uhrzeigersinn gedreht):

Wenn Sie Ihre Minutenzeiger-Designs sortiert haben, speichern Sie erneut einen Wert für jede Dichte, und skalieren Sie sie nach oben und unten, um die jeweilige Zifferblatthöhe einzustellen.  Kopieren Sie sie erneut in Ihre gezeichneten Ordner. Verwenden Sie für jedes Design denselben Namen in den Dichteordnern wie bei den Wählbildern.

Führen Sie anschließend den gleichen Vorgang für Ihre Stundenzeiger aus.  Hier sind die Stundenzeiger für die drei Designs, die wir verwenden:

Das Prinzip ist das gleiche wie für die Minutenzeiger, nur dass die Stundenzeiger normalerweise kürzer sein sollten.  Entwerfen Sie Ihre Stundenzeiger auf 12 Uhr und bereiten Sie Versionen für jede Dichte vor. Kopieren Sie sie in Ihre gezeichneten Ordner wie in den Minutenzeiger.


Schritt 3: Definieren Sie Widget-Ränder

Das Widget-Design wird einige Daten verwenden, die wir in unsere Projektwerte-Ordner aufnehmen werden.  Ab Android API 14 schließt das System automatisch Ränder zwischen Widgets ein, die auf dem Startbildschirm des Benutzers angezeigt werden.  Bei früheren API-Versionen war dies jedoch nicht der Fall.  Aus diesem Grund möchten wir eine Marge angeben, die rund um die Uhr auf Geräten mit Android-Leveln unter 14 enthalten sein soll.  In diesem Fall können wir die Tatsache ausnutzen, dass wir Werteordner haben, die auf diese beiden Kategorien von Benutzer-API-Levels abzielen.

Wir definieren die Ränder in unserer XML-Layoutdatei anhand einer Dimensionsressource.  Erstellen Sie im Verzeichnis "values" eine neue Datei mit dem Namen "dimensions.xml".  Wählen Sie in Eclipse den Ordner "values" aus und klicken Sie mit der rechten Maustaste oder wählen Sie "Datei", dann "Neu", "Datei" und geben Sie den Dateinamen ein.

Wenn Sie auf die Schaltfläche "Fertig stellen" klicken, erstellt und öffnet Eclipse die Datei.  Wählen Sie die Registerkarte "dimensions.xml",  um den Code zu bearbeiten.  Gebe folgendes ein:

Dieser Code listet einfach einen Dimensionswert unter Verwendung von dichteunabhängigen Pixeln zusammen mit einem Namen auf, sodass wir an anderer Stelle darauf verweisen können.

Speicher die Datei.  Kopieren Sie es jetzt, indem Sie im Ordner "values" mit der rechten Maustaste darauf klicken oder "Edit" auswählen und dann "Copy" wählen.  Fügen Sie es in den Ordner "values-v14" ein, den wir beim letzten Mal erstellt haben. Klicken Sie mit der rechten Maustaste, wählen Sie den Ordner aus, wählen Sie "Bearbeiten" und anschließend "Einfügen".  Die Datei wird im Ordner "values-v14" angezeigt, der sich auf API-Ebenen ab 14 bezieht.  Öffnen Sie diese neue Kopie der Datei und bearbeiten Sie den Dimensionswert wie folgt, um einen Rand von Null anzugeben:

Wenn nun das XML-Layout mit seinem Namen auf diesen Dimensionswert verweist, wird auf Geräten, auf denen API 14 plus ausgeführt wird, der Wert Null verwendet, ansonsten wird ein Wert von 8 dB verwendet.


Schritt 4: Implementieren Sie das Widget-Layout

Nun definieren wir unser Widget in XML.  Denken Sie daran, dass wir in der XML-Datei ein anfängliches Layout für das Widget angegeben haben, in dem wir seine grundlegenden Eigenschaften definiert haben.  Das Layout, auf das wir uns bezogen haben, war "clock_widget_layout", also erstellen Sie diese Datei jetzt.  Klicken Sie mit der rechten Maustaste oder wählen Sie Ihren "Layout" -Ordner aus und wählen Sie "Datei" und dann "Neu" "Datei".  Geben Sie als Dateinamen "clock_widget_layout.xml" ein und klicken Sie auf "Fertig stellen".

Wählen Sie die Registerkarte "clock_widget_layout.xml" aus, wenn Eclipse die Datei öffnet, damit Sie die XML-Datei bearbeiten können.  Wir verwenden ein relatives Layout für unser Widget. Wenn Sie ein anderes Design verwenden möchten, können Sie alternativ entweder ein lineares oder ein Frame-Layout verwenden, da dies die einzigen sind, die von Widgets unterstützt werden.  Fügen Sie Ihrer XML-Layoutdatei die folgende Gliederung hinzu, um das relative Layout zu verwenden:

Hier geben wir eine ID für das Widget an, mit der wir Klicks darauf in unserem Java-Code in Teil 4 implementieren. Beachten Sie, dass sich der Code auch auf den von uns erstellten Dimensionswert bezieht, wobei die Standardsyntax verwendet wird - der Name der "Dimensions" Die .xml Datei spielt eigentlich keine Rolle, Sie müssen nur ein "dimen" -Element in einer Wertedatei auflisten, um auf diese Weise darauf zu verweisen.

Fügen Sie im relativen Layout Ihr AnalogClock-Widget wie folgt hinzu:

Dies ist das Standardelement für Android Analog Clock, mit dem wir die Anzeige anpassen können.  Wir verwenden ein ID-Attribut, damit wir in Java auf das Widget verweisen können.  Die letzten drei Attribute geben an, welche Ressourcen für die Zeiger für Zifferblatt, Minuten und Stunden erstellt wurden. Wenn Sie Ihre Datei mit anderen Dateinamen gespeichert haben, ändern Sie diesen Code, um sie anzuzeigen.  Android wählt die zu zeichnende Datei auf jedem Benutzergerät aus dem entsprechenden Dichteordner aus.

Da wir Benutzern die Auswahl eines Designs gestatten, werden alle drei Designs tatsächlich in unser XML aufgenommen, wobei alle außer einem als anfänglich unsichtbar festgelegt werden.  Vergewissern Sie sich, dass das erste Design, das Sie einschließen, standardmäßig dasjenige ist, das Sie anzeigen möchten, und fügen Sie die anderen wie folgt hinzu:

Ändern Sie erneut die Zeichennamen, um die Namen der Zifferblätter sowie die Minuten- und Stundenzeigerbilder für jedes Ihrer Entwürfe anzuzeigen.  Sie können mehr als drei Designs hinzufügen, wenn Sie möchten. Stellen Sie sicher, dass bei allen außer einem von ihnen die Sichtbarkeit auf unsichtbar gesetzt ist, sodass zunächst nur ein Design (die Standardoption) angezeigt wird.  Wir können die Benutzerwahl zwischen diesen Designs in Java implementieren, indem die Attribute der Analog Clock-Element-ID verwendet werden, die alle mit Ganzzahlen enden, die bei Null beginnen und bei jedem Design inkrementieren.  Speichern Sie Ihre Layoutdatei.

Nachfolgend finden Sie einige Bildschirmgraphen, wie jedes unserer Designs aussehen wird, wenn das Widget fertig ist:


Nächstes Mal

Das ist der Design-Prozess für unser Uhr-Widget.  Wenn Sie zu diesem Zeitpunkt keine eigenen Design-Images erstellen möchten, verwenden Sie zunächst die Images im Download-Ordner.  Im nächsten Tutorial verwenden wir die AppWidgetProvider-Klasse, um unser Widget in Java zu implementieren.  Im letzten Teil der Serie werden wir Benutzer-Klicks auf das Widget implementieren, die eine Auswahl zwischen den Entwürfen und die Aktualisierung der Benutzereinstellungen bieten, um die gewählte Option kontinuierlich anzuzeigen.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement

Build a Custom Clock Widget: Clock Design

by

Developing widgets for the Android platform involves a slightly different set of tasks than standard app development. In this series of tutorials, we will work through the process of developing a customizable analog clock widget. The clock will be based on the Android AnalogClock class and customized with your own graphics.


Series Overview

In this tutorial series we are developing a customizable Android analog clock widget using the AnalogClock class and custom graphics. In the first part of the series, we create the project, preparing the Manifest file and other resources. In this part, we will work on the widget design. This will involve creating graphics for the clock dial and hands, as well as implementing the layout in XML. We will create graphics for different device densities. In the final part of the series, we are going to implement letting the user choose from a selection of designs for the clock, so we will create three design options here.

This is Part 2 of our series on Building a Customizable Android Analog Clock Widget over four tutorials:

The Android AnalogClock widget uses three images: the clock dial, the minute hand, and the hour hand. We will therefore create three design elements for each version of the clock widget we want users to be able to choose between. We will also create alternative design options with dial, hour, and minute hands. For this project, we will need to target different device screen densities, for which we will create image files at four different scales.


Step 1: Create Images for the Clock Dial

We are going to create three clock designs, each with a dial, minute hand, and hour hand. You can of course use your own designs instead, but feel free to use the image files we are using here to get started. The image files for each design at each density are included in the download link for this tutorial and will also be included in the download for Part 4.

First up is the clock dial. Remember that we specified the widget as being two cells wide and two cells high, resulting in a maximum size of 146dp (density-independent pixels). For this tutorial series we will create four versions of each image to suit the four density categories.

Instead of creating images for each density, you can alternatively use NinePatch graphics, which are bitmaps that can be scaled up and down to suit device densities, allowing you to create a single image for each design. The feasibility of using NinePatch depends partly on the content of the designs you are using but there are tools to help you create them if you wish.

It's easiest if you start with the medium density, which should be a maximum of 146px on both axes. Here is the default clock dial we are using at medium density, which you can use either as a reference for your own designs or if you don't want to create your own until later:

In this case, the image is 146px on both axes, but you can make it smaller if you wish. We will specify a margin for devices running Android APIs less than 14 but will not supply a margin for devices on 14-plus, because at the more recent API levels an automatic margin is placed between widgets. You can use pretty much any design you like - your clock doesn't even have to be circular. Including either marks or numbers indicating the hours on the dial is advisable from a usability perspective although it is not essential.

Here are the two alternative clock dial designs we will be using, one stone style and the other metallic, displayed here at medium density:

Once you have your clock dials designed, you can create alternative versions of each image for the different densities. Depending on your designs this may not be necessary, but we will be including tailored versions of each image for the designs in this tutorial. The following indicates the maximum size we are using for our widget on both the X and Y axes at each density:

  • Low density: 110px
  • Medium density: 146px
  • High density: 220px
  • Extra high density: 292px

When you have image files for each clock dial design you want to use (and versions for each density if appropriate), copy them to the drawable folders in your Android widget project workspace. Eclipse will normally create a folder for each density category automatically, but, if you are only using one image for all densities, you can create a folder simply named "drawable" and place the image there. The folders for each density level are:

  • Low: drawable-lpdi
  • Medium: drawable-mpdi
  • High: drawable-hpdi
  • Extra high: drawable-xhpdi

The Android AVD Manager will allow you to test your finished widget project at each of these densities. After you have your images saved into the various drawable folders make sure you have used the same names in each of them. For example, one of the dial designs we are using is named "clock_dial_stone" -this is the image filename for the stone dial in each density folder although the content of each version is different if only in size. If you're still in doubt about how this should work, just download the image files using the download link at the top of this tutorial and browse the folders to get the idea.


Step 2: Create the Clock Hand Images

Next create an image for your clock widget hour and minute hands, including images for each design and each density you are targeting. Here are our medium density minute hands for each design:

Again, feel free to use these to start with or to work out your own. Notice that these image files contain transparent space around the hand. You need to design each of your hand images with the full height of the clock dial they are going to be used with. Each hand needs to be in the exact position it would be in when pointing to twelve, laid over the clock dial image and half-way across it. The hand must also be in the center of its image file horizontally, as it will be rotated from its central point when displaying the time. The length of the hands within the image file is really up to you, as long as the full height of the image is the same as the height of the dial image.

The following diagram shows the full scale of the hand images with the minute hand at twelve and the hour hand at three (the hour hand has been rotated 90 degrees clockwise on its central point):

Once you have your minute hand designs sorted, save one for each density again, scaling them up and down to match the clock dial height in each case. Copy them into your drawable folders again, using the same name for each design across the density folders as with the dial images.

Next carry out the same process for your hour hands. Here are the hour hands for the three designs we are using:

The principle here is the same as for the minute hands, except that the hour hands should typically be shorter. Design your hour hands pointing to 12 o'clock and prepare versions for each density, copying them into your drawable folders as you did for the minute hands.


Step 3: Define Widget Margins

The widget design is going to use some data we will include in our project "values" folders. On Android API 14 and onwards, the system automatically includes margins between widgets as they appear on the user's homescreen. However, on previous API versions this was not the case. For this reason we want to specify a margin to include around the clock widget on devices running Android levels less than 14. This is a case where we can exploit the fact that we have values folders targeting these two categories of user API levels.

We will define the margins in our XML layout file by referring to a dimension resource. In the "values" directory, create a new file named "dimensions.xml" - select the "values" folder in Eclipse and right-click or choose "File", then "New", "File" and enter the file name.

When you click the "Finish" button, Eclipse will create and open the file. Select the "dimensions.xml" tab to edit the code. Enter the following:

 
<resources> 
<dimen name="clock_margin">8dp</dimen> 
</resources>

This code simply lists a dimension value using density-independent pixels along with a name so that we can refer to it elsewhere.

Save the file. Now copy it by right-clicking it in the "values" folder or selecting it and choosing "Edit" - then select "Copy". Paste it into the "values-v14" folder we created last time - right-click or select the folder and choose "Edit", then select "Paste". The file will appear in the "values-v14" folder, which targets API levels from 14 onwards. Open this new copy of the file and edit the dimension value to indicate a margin of zero as follows:

 
<resources> 
<dimen name="clock_margin">0dp</dimen> 
</resources>

Now when the XML layout refers to this dimension value using its name, a value of zero will be used on devices running API 14 plus and a value of 8dp will be used otherwise.


Step 4: Implement the Widget Layout

Now let's define our widget in XML. Remember that we specified an initial layout for the widget in the XML file in which we defined its basic properties. The layout we referred to there was "clock_widget_layout" so create this file now. Right-click or select your "layout" folder and choose "File" then "New," "File". Enter "clock_widget_layout.xml" as the file name and click "Finish".

Select the "clock_widget_layout.xml" tab when Eclipse opens the file so that you can edit the XML. We are using a Relative Layout for our widget - if you wish to use a different design, you can alternatively use either a Linear or a Frame Layout, as these are the only ones supported by widgets. To use the Relative Layout, add the following outline to your XML layout file:

 
<RelativeLayout  
	xmlns:android="http://schemas.android.com/apk/res/android"  
	android:id="@+id/custom_clock_widget"  
	android:layout_width="fill_parent"  
	android:layout_height="fill_parent" 
	android:padding="@dimen/clock_margin" 
	android:gravity="center">	 
 
</RelativeLayout>

Here we specify an ID for the widget, which we will use to implement clicks on it in our Java code in Part 4. Notice that the code also refers to the dimension value we created, using the standard syntax - the name of the "dimensions.xml" file does not actually matter, you just need to list a "dimen" element in a values file to refer to it in this way.

Inside the Relative Layout, add your AnalogClock widget as follows:

 
<AnalogClock  
	android:id="@+id/AnalogClock0"  
	android:layout_width="wrap_content"  
	android:layout_height="wrap_content"  
	android:dial="@drawable/clock_dial"  
	android:hand_hour="@drawable/clock_hour_hand"  
	android:hand_minute="@drawable/clock_minute_hand" 
/>

This is the standard Android Analog Clock element, which allows us to customize the display. We use an ID attribute so that we can refer to the widget in Java. The final three attributes specify the drawable resources we created for the dial, minute, and hour hands. If you saved yours with different file names, alter this code to reflect them. Android will select the drawable file from the relevant density folder on each user device.

Since we are allowing users to choose a design, we are actually going to include all three designs in our XML, setting all except one to be initially invisible. Make sure the first design you include is the one you want to display by default, then add the others as follows:

 
<AnalogClock  
	android:id="@+id/AnalogClock1"  
	android:layout_width="wrap_content"  
	android:layout_height="wrap_content"  
	android:dial="@drawable/clock_dial_stone"  
	android:hand_hour="@drawable/clock_hour_hand_stone"  
	android:hand_minute="@drawable/clock_minute_hand_stone" 
	android:visibility="invisible" 
/> 
<AnalogClock  
	android:id="@+id/AnalogClock2"  
	android:layout_width="wrap_content"  
	android:layout_height="wrap_content"  
	android:dial="@drawable/clock_dial_metal"  
	android:hand_hour="@drawable/clock_hour_hand_metal"  
	android:hand_minute="@drawable/clock_minute_hand_metal" 
	android:visibility="invisible" 
/>

Again, alter the drawable names to reflect the names for the dials, minute, and hour hand images for each of your designs. You can include more than three designs if you wish - make sure all except one of them has the visibility set to invisible, so that only one design (the default option) appears initially. We will be able to implement user choice between these designs in Java using the Analog Clock element ID attributes, which all end with integers starting at zero and incrementing with each design. Save your layout file.

Here are screengrabs of how each of our designs will look when the widget is complete:


Next Time

That's the design process for our clock widget complete. If you don't want to create your own design images at this stage, just use the images in the download folder at first. In the next tutorial we will use the AppWidgetProvider class to implement our widget in Java. In the final part of the series we will implement user clicks on the widget, presenting a choice between the designs and updating the user preferences to continuously display their chosen option.

Advertisement
Related Posts
  • Code
    Android SDK
    Using the Accelerometer on Android06lom preview image@2x
    In this tutorial, we are going to explore how to use the accelerometer, one of the many hardware sensors of modern smartphones, in an Android application. I'll explain what an accelerometer is and why it may be something you want to take advantage of in your Android applications.Read More…
  • Code
    Android SDK
    Create a Hangman Game: User InterfaceAndroid hangman game preview retina
    In this series, we are creating a Hangman game for the Android platform. In the first tutorial, we set the application up to present two screens to the user and we also made a start with the user interface elements, the images and shape drawables to be precise. In the second tutorial, we will zoom in on the game's layout.Read More…
  • Code
    Android SDK
    Create a Hangman Game: Project SetupAndroid hangman game preview retina
    In this series, I will show you how to create a simple Hangman game for Android. In every tutorial, you'll learn a number of fundamental skills for creating Android applications. The application will consist of two screens, include user interaction involving adapters, contain dialogs and an action bar, and leverage XML for data storage. Let's get started.Read More…
  • Code
    Android SDK
    Android SDK: App ResourcesAndroid preview@2x
    We are learning how to develop Android apps in this series. So far, we've looked at the structure of an Android app and explored user interfaces. In this tutorial, we will learn to work with the project resources.Read More…
  • Code
    Android SDK
    Android SDK: User Interface DesignAndroid preview@2x
    In this series we're learning about Android SDK development from scratch! In this tutorial, we will build a simple user interface layout with a few visual elements.Read More…
  • Code
    Android SDK
    Android SDK: Create an Arithmetic Game - Setup and Interface CreationMath game preview@2x
    The Android platform provides the ability to facilitate interaction, to carry out computation, and to save data. To explore some of these basic features with a practical focus, this series will create a simple arithmetic game for the Android platform. The series will involve creating user interface elements and layouts, four Activity classes, and one helper class. The gameplay logic will be relatively complex if you do not have much Java experience, but you will learn to use various Java control structures along the way! Read More…