Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. WordPress

Débuter avec WordPress : Installer WordPress manuellement

Scroll to top
Read Time: 12 min
This post is part of a series called Beginning With WordPress.
Beginning With WordPress: Getting Started With Self-Hosted WordPress
Beginning With WordPress: First Steps With Your New Website

French (Français) translation by Henri Lotin (you can also view the original English article)

Donc, vous y êtes - assis à regarder un couple d'emails : l'un avec les clés de votre nom de domaine, l'autre avec les clés de votre site web, et maintenant vous allez devoir obtenir votre acte et réellement mettre WordPress sur votre site, mais vous ne savez pas vraiment où aller ensuite.

Eh bien, vous avez deux options :

  1. Vous pouvez utiliser un programme d'installation automatique (généralement fourni par votre hébergeur, quelque chose comme Fantastico, Softaculous ou Installatron).
  2. Vous pouvez l'installer vous-même.

Maintenant, parce que cette série porte vraiment sur le sujet d'aller sous le capot de ce que nous faisons, concentrons-nous sur une installation manuelle complète.

Restez avec moi, ce n'est pas trop difficile si vous suivez les instructions méthodiquement.


Avant de commencer

Vous aurez besoin :

  • De vous connectez à votre panneau de contrôle d'hébergement, avec les informations d'identification.
  • Des informations d'identification FTP (très probablement les mêmes que celles du panneau de commande, toutes ces infos devraient être dans le courriel de bienvenue que nous avons mentionné dans le premier paragraphe!)
  • D'un client FTP (logiciel)

Voici un aperçu de la procédure, par laquelle nous allons passer :

  1. Installation de vos outils
  2. Téléchargement et décompression des fichiers de WordPress (WP)
  3. Réglage de votre base de données MySQL
  4. Envoi des fichiers de WP sur votre serveur
  5. Connexion de votre base de données à WP
  6. Exécution de script d'installation.
  7. Nommage de votre site et création de l'utilisateur de votre site.

1. Mise en place de vos outils

Parce que nous allons nous connecter directement à notre espace de fichier sur le serveur, nous devons accéder à une interface facile à utiliser entre notre ordinateur et notre serveur.

Le genre de logiciel qui fournit cette interface est appelé client FTP* qui est un logiciel pas exactement comme l'explorateur Windows ou le Finder du Mac, mais au lieu d'accéder à votre système de fichiers local, il fait un pont entre vos fichiers locaux et votre télécommande fichiers (système de fichiers hébergement web) donc vous êtes en mesure de copier des fichiers sur votre ordinateur local - votre ordinateur portable ou bureau - vers votre machine distante - le serveur web.

Comme avec tous les logiciels, il existe un grand nombre de clients FTP différents et comme vous devenez confiant et voulez commencer à explorer d'autres options vous pouvez demandez autour de vous et voir ce que les gens utilisent. Pour les besoins de cet exercice, je suggère que vous vous procuriez une copie du client FileZilla, un outil gratuit, plateforme agnostique qui va vous aider à démarrer.

Une fois que vous avez posé la main sur la bonne version pour votre installation (Linux, Mac, PC, etc.), ouvrez l'application et ensuite ouvrez la fenêtre Gestionnaire de Site (raccourci = CMD/CTRL + S ou cliquez sur l'icône de petits sites dans le coin haut gauche de votre écran Site_manager )

Prendre les données que vous avez reçu de votre hôte, remplir les sections suivantes :

  • Hôte :
  • Utilisateur :
  • Mot de passe :

Réglez votre client FTP de cette façon signifie que vous n'aurez plus à retenir vos informations d'identification à l'avenir et pouvez revenir à tout moment, mais si vous voulez juste vous connecter rapidement vous pouvez ajouter vos informations d'identification via les boîtes de connexion rapide en haut de FileZilla et commencer à peu près immédiatement.

Si vous voulez plus de sécurité sur votre connexion - ce que je recommande - choisissez TLS explicite au lieu de FTP dans l'option Encryption, vous serez invité à autoriser un accès de certificat de sécurité la première fois que vous le faites - autoriser la connexion et vous êtes lancés.

Filezillasetup_1Filezillasetup_1Filezillasetup_1

Enfin, si vous le souhaitez, vous pouvez alors cliquer l'onglet Avancé et dans la section « répertoire distant par défaut » : entrez le lien vers votre dossier de départ (généralement /public_html) - ce n'est pas impératif mais cela signifie que chaque fois que vous ouvrez votre client FTP il s'ouvrira automatiquement dans votre répertoire racine principal sur votre serveur distant, lieu de résidence de votre installation WordPress.

Filezillasetup_2Filezillasetup_2Filezillasetup_2

Pour l'instant, laissez cet écran ouvert, mais ne Connectez pas, nous avons un certain nombre d'autres choses à faire en premier...

*FTP = File Transfer Protocol (protocole de transfert de fichiers)


2. Téléchargement et décompression de WordPress

Dans votre navigateur, accédez à http://wordpress.org et téléchargez la dernière version de WordPress, enregistrez le fichier zip sur votre bureau. Puis décompresser/dézipez ce fichier qui mettra un répertoire appelé « wordpress » sur votre bureau ou dans le répertoire dans lequel vous l'avez téléchargé.

Laisser ce répertoire là, nous allons y revenir dans quelques instants, aussi, ensuite nous devons préparer la base de données.


3. Mise en place de la base de données

Cette partie est l'entrée dans un nouveau territoire et peut être un peu intimidante, mais accrochez-vous, au moment où vous arriverez à la fin vous feliciterez et direz à vos amis que vous avez peaufiné MySQL et son déclenchement avec vos compétences de nerd.

Dans cet exemple, nous utilisons les outils dans notre panneau de contrôle (dans ce cas cPanel, une interface d'hébergement assez populaire), mais les principes sont les mêmes que vous soyez sur cPanel ou Plesk ou n'importe quelle autre interface d'hébergement web personnalisée, suivez-moi ici et puis si votre panneau de contrôle semble différent, consultez la documentation de votre hôte quant à la façon de gérer cette partie suivante et continuer d'avancer à l'aide de leurs outils. Les principes seront les mêmes même si le processus ne l'est pas.

  1. Ouvrez votre navigateur et ouvrez une session dans le panneau de configuration pour votre hébergement (par exemple les http://mydomain.com/cpanel)
  2. Pour créer la base de données et la mettre en place, nous allons utiliser l'Assistant de base de données MySQL qui nous mènera à travers tous les trois processus nécessaires :
    1. Créez votre base de données
    2. Créez un utilisateur de base de données et affectez cet utilisateur à votre base de données
    3. Enfin, donnez les pleins privilèges à cet utilisateur de base de données sur la BDD
cPanel_1cPanel_1cPanel_1

1. Créer la base de données

Vous pouvez l'appeler comme vous le voulez... mais prenez note du nom de votre BDD, vous en aurez besoin plus tard.

cPanel_5cPanel_5cPanel_5

2. Créer l'utilisateur de base de données et lui attribuer un mot de passe solide

Vous pouvez également nommer l'utilisateur comme vous le voulez. Notez le nom de votre utilisateur de base de données ainsi que le nom de base de données et le mot de passe. J'ai tendance à utiliser le générateur de mot de passe et de faire un mot de passe vraiment solide. Mais copiez-le dans un endroit sûr et notez-le soigneusement, vous allez en avoir besoin bientôt et vous avez besoin que ce soit correct.

cPanel_3cPanel_3cPanel_3

3. Attribuer tous les privilèges à votre utilisateur de base de données

Cette partie permet à votre utilisateurs et par extension à WordPress d'interagir avec la base de données.

cPanel_2cPanel_2cPanel_2

OK, nous sommes presque prêts à passer à l'étape suivante...


4. Téléchargement de vos fichiers sur le serveur

Il est maintenant temps de retourner à Filezilla ou votre client FTP et vous connecter à votre serveur - Appuyez sur Connect et l'application fera apparaître une fenêtre qui ressemble à ceci :

FileZilla_1FileZilla_1FileZilla_1

Il y a un certain nombre de panneaux dans cette fenêtre et commençant par le haut, il y a...

  1. Le volet connexion au serveur qui affiche toutes les commandes et réponses que vous envoyez/recevez sur le serveur.
  2. Sur la ligne suivante, il y a deux panneaux indiquant quels répertoires sont actuellement sélectionnés, dans le volet de gauche, nous voyons que les répertoires de la machine locale (votre ordinateur) et dans celui de droite, les répertoires de l'ordinateur distant (le serveur)
  3. Puis, il y a les deux panneaux illustrant le contenu des répertoires actuellement sélectionnés.
  4. Enfin la file d'attente des fichiers en train d'être envoyés/reçus entre les ordinateurs locaux et distants (vides jusqu'à ce que nous commencions le transfert de fichiers).

Maintenant que vous êtes un peu familier avec ce que vous voyez, vous devez vous assurer que le répertoire sélectionné sur le côté local est le dossier « wordpress » que nous avons téléchargé et décompressé au début de cette étape.

Vous devez également vous assurer que le répertoire distant sélectionné est le répertoire dans lequel vous envisagez de mettre WordPress. Dans mon cas ci-dessus, nous utilisons un sous-domaine, donc je le mets dans un sous-dossier appelé testsite. Pour la plupart des installations, vous le mettrez généralement dans le répertoire du serveur racine (communément appelé public_html ou www).

Lorsque ces répertoires sont corrects, sélectionnez tous les fichiers sur la gauche et faites-les glisser dans le volet de droite, FileZilla ou votre client FTP va ensuite commencer à copier les fichiers de votre ordinateur local sur le serveur.

FileZilla_3FileZilla_3FileZilla_3

Soyez patient. Le temps de transfert des fichiers dépendra de la vitesse de votre connexion.

Quand c'est fait, vous verrez que la file d'attente est vide, vous devriez voir que tous les fichiers sont transférés avec succès, et si vous cliquez avec le bouton droit sur le volet distant et sélectionnez actualiser vous devriez voir le volet rafraîchir avec un miroir des noms de fichiers dans les deux volets (il peut y avoir des fichiers supplémentaires sur le serveur distant, selon ce que votre hôte a installé dans votre nouvel espace de serveur par défaut , dans mon exemple, vous verrez un répertoire cgi-bin. Ignorez-le, il ne va pas affecter votre installation de WordPress.

FileZilla_2FileZilla_2FileZilla_2

OK, nous y sommes presque !

Pour rappel, nous avons installé un client FTP pour que vous puissiez mettre WordPress sur votre serveur, nous avons mis en place votre base de données pour la connecter à WordPress, téléchargé WordPress, décompressé et téléchargé les fichiers de WordPress sur votre serveur. La chose suivante à faire est de dire à WordPress où se trouve votre base de données, donc ayez vos informations d'identification de la base de données nouvellement créée prêtes.


5. Connexion de WordPress à votre base de données MySQL

Ouvrez votre navigateur et accédez à votre nouveau domaine, vous devriez alors voir le message suivant s'afficher sur votre écran.

« Il semble ne pas avoir un fichier wp-config.php. J'en ai besoin avant que nous puissions commencer. » C'est bon, cela signifie que WordPress est installé et que nous sommes prêts à vous connecter à notre base de données.

WordPress_ErrorWordPress_ErrorWordPress_Error

Cliquez sur le bouton « Créer un fichier de Configuration » qui ouvrira une page vous demandant d'être munis de vos informations d'identification de base de données.

WordPress_Setup_Configuration_File_2WordPress_Setup_Configuration_File_2WordPress_Setup_Configuration_File_2

Lorsque vous êtes prêt, appuyez sur « Allons-y ! »

Allez-y et remplissez le formulaire avec vos informations d'identification de base de données.

WordPress_Setup_Configuration_File_1WordPress_Setup_Configuration_File_1WordPress_Setup_Configuration_File_1

L'hôte de la base de données est plus souvent la valeur par défaut « localhost » donc laissez-le tel quel. Toutefois, il peut y avoir certaines occasions quand votre hébergeur donné un nom différent à leur hôte de BDD, si cette étape ne réussit pas et que vous avez vérifié votre nom de bd, utilisateur et mot de passe, vérifiez les détails de votre hébergement, ou directement avec votre hôte quant à ce que votre hôte BDD doit être.

Le préfixe de table, par défaut sera wp_ et c'est considéré comme une bonne pratique de changer cela en quelque chose d'autre comme une mesure de sécurité. Vous pouvez le modifier en n'importe quoi, et vous pouvez voir dans l'image que je l'ai changé pour xprt_ (terminez-le avec un trait de soulignement juste pour garder une séparation entre le préfixe de table et le nom de la table).

Quand vous avez tous vos champs de formulaire complétés, cliquez sur Envoyer pour passer à l'étape suivante.


6. Nommage de votre site et création de l'utilisateur du site

Une fois que vous cliquez sur Envoyer, vous devriez être capable de voir l'écran de bienvenue et un formulaire à remplir dans lequel vous nommez votre nouveau site et remplissez quelques détails importants en ce qui concerne les informations d'identification de l'utilisateur de votre site.

Vous pouvez le voir ci-dessous, j'ai appelé mon site « Mon nouveau site Web » et créé un utilisateur appelé « myname ». J'ai mis une adresse e-mail, et enfin, j'ai décoché la case de la vie privée afin de décourager Google d'indexer mon site jusqu'à ce que je sois prêt.

Aucun sens pour que Google ou d'autres moteurs de recherche récurent mon site quand il n'y a aucun contenu, n'est-ce pas ? Nous allons reporter cela à quand je suis prêt pour que le grand public soit informé, aussi bien.

WordPress_Installation_2WordPress_Installation_2WordPress_Installation_2

L'étape suivante est de cliquer sur le bouton Installer qui va construire les tables de base de données dans notre base de données et remplir notre site avec du contenu temporaire.

Là vous l'avez - vous devriez maintenant être en mesure de voir le message « Succès ! » message et une invitation à vous connecter.

WordPress_Installation_1WordPress_Installation_1WordPress_Installation_1

Appuyez sur le bouton Connexion pour afficher le formulaire de connexion.

Log_In

Vous pouvez maintenant vous connecter pour jeter un oeil à votre tableau de bord (nous allons en voir plus la prochaine fois) ou cliquer sur"⟵ retour à [nom de votre site]" pour voir votre nouveau site ! Cela ressemblera probablement à quelque chose comme ça...

new_sitenew_sitenew_site

Félicitations ! Vous gérez maintenant une installation flambant neuve WordPress de votre propre chef !


Conclusion

WordPress est célèbre pour son installation en 5 minutes. Bien qu'il soit raisonnablement sûr d'affirmer que cela prend 5 minutes ou moins pour avoir le site installé une fois que vous avez les fichiers au bon endroit et que la base de données fonctionne, il y a quelques étapes, qui font que la première fois mettra un peu plus long que les suivantes.

Avoir une compréhension du processus plutôt que de laisser simplement un script d'auto installation faire le job rendra le futur « bricolage sous le capot » plus rapide et beaucoup moins intimidant.

Cette installation technique par petites étapes est un excellent endroit pour commencer à se familiariser avec certains des aspects plus techniques de votre installation WordPress.

Félicitations et bienvenue dans la communauté d'utilisateurs de WordPress, nous sommes heureux que vous nous ayez rejoints !

Ressources supplémentaires

Si vous débutez en développement WordPress, alors soyez sûr de verifier les outils dont nous disposons sur l'Installation de thème WordPress dans Envato Studio.

Advertisement
Did you find this post useful?
Want a weekly email summary?
Subscribe below and we’ll send you a weekly email summary of all new Code tutorials. Never miss out on learning about the next big thing.
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
WP101 Training

Beginning With WordPress: Installing WordPress Manually

by

So, there you are - sitting looking at a couple of emails: one with the keys to your domain name, one with the keys to your website, and now you're going to have to get your act together and actually put WordPress on your site but you really don't know where to go next.

Well, you have two options:

  1. You can use an automatic installer (usually provided by your web host, something like Fantastico, Softaculous, or Installatron).
  2. You can install it yourself.

Now, because this series is about really getting under the hood of what we're doing, let's focus on a full manual install.

Stay with me, it's not too difficult if you follow the instructions methodically.


Before We Start

You'll need:

  • Log in credentials for your hosting control panel
  • FTP log in credentials (quite possibly the same as the control panel log ins, all this info should be in the welcome email we mentioned in the first paragraph!)
  • An FTP client (software)

Here's an outline of the process we'll be going through:

  1. Setting up your tools
  2. Downloading and unzipping the WordPress (WP) files
  3. Setting up your MySQL database
  4. Uploading the WP files to your server
  5. Connecting WP to your database
  6. Running the install script.
  7. Naming your site and creating your site user.

1. Setting Up Your Tools

Because we're going to be connecting directly to our file space on the sever we need access to an easy to use interface between our computer and our server.

The kind of software that provides that interface is called an FTP* client which is a piece of software not unlike Windows' Explorer, or Mac's Finder but instead of accessing just your local file system, it bridges your local files and your remote files (web hosting file system) so you are able to copy files from your local machine - your laptop or desktop - to your remote machine - the web server.

As with all software, there are a huge number of different FTP clients available and as you get confident and want begin exploring other options you can ask around and see what people are using. For the purposes of this exercise I suggest you grab a copy of the FileZilla client, a free, platform agnostic tool that will get you started.

Once you've got a hold of the right version for your setup (Mac, PC, Linux etc.), open up the application and then open the Site Manger window (Shortcut = CMD/CTRL+S or click the small sites icon in the top left corner of your screen Site_manager )

Taking the data you received from your host, complete the following sections:

  • Host:
  • User:
  • Password:

Setting up your FTP client this way will mean you don't have to remember your log in credentials in future and can come back to it at any time, but if you want just to connect quickly you can add your credentials via the Quick Connect boxes in the top of FileZilla and get started pretty much immediately.

If you want added security over your connection - which I recommend - choose explicit TLS over FTP from the Encryption option, you'll be prompted to allow a security certificate access the first time you do this - allow the connection and you're on your way.

Filezillasetup_1

Finally, if you wish, you may then click the Advanced tab and in the section "Default remote directory:" type in the link to your home folder (usually /public_html ) - this isn't imperative but it means whenever you open your FTP client it will automatically open your main root directory on your remote server, where your WordPress install will live.

Filezillasetup_2

For now, leave this screen open, but don't Connect, we've a couple of other things to do first...

*FTP = File Transfer Protocol


2. Downloading and Unzipping WordPress

In your browser, navigate over to http://wordpress.org and download the latest version of WordPress, saving the zip file to your desktop. Then decompress/unzip that file which will put a directory called "wordpress" on your desktop or into the directory to which you've downloaded it.

Leave that directory there, we'll come back to that in a minute, too, next we need to get the database ready.


3. Setting Up the Database

This part is getting into new territory and can be a bit daunting, but hold tight, by the time you get to the end of this you'll be patting yourself on the back and telling your friends you've been tweaking MySQL and tripping them out with your nerd skills.

In this example, we're using the tools in our Control Panel (in this case cPanel, a pretty popular hosting interface) but the principles are the same whether you're on cPanel or Plesk or any other custom web hosting interface, follow along with me here and then if your control panel looks different, check out your host's documentation as to how to get this next part up and running using their tools. The principles will be the same even if the process is not.

  1. Open up your browser and log into the control panel for your hosting (for example http://mydomain.com/cpanel)
  2. To create the database and set it up we're going to use the MySQL Database Wizard which will take us through all three processes required:
    1. Create your Database
    2. Create a Database User and assign that user to your Database
    3. Finally, giving your Database User full privileges on the DB
cPanel_1

1. Create the Database

You can call it whatever you like... but make a note of the name of your DB, you'll need it later.

cPanel_5

2. Create the Database User and Assign It a Strong Password

You can also name the user whatever you want. Note down the name of your database user along with the password and database name. I tend to use the password generator and make a really strong password. But copy it somewhere safe, and write it down carefully, you're going to need it again soon and you need it to be right.

cPanel_3

3. Assign All Privileges for Your User to the Database

This part allows your user, and by extension, WordPress to interact with the database.

cPanel_2

OK, we're nearly ready to take the next step...


4. Uploading Your Files to the Server

Now it's time to go back to Filezilla or your FTP client and connect to your server - Hit Connect and the application will bring up the window which looks something like this:

FileZilla_1

There are a number of panels in that window and starting at the top they are...

  1. The Server connection pane that shows all the commands and responses you're sending/receiving to the server.
  2. On the next line there are two panels indicating which directories are currently selected, in the left pane, we're seeing the local machine (your computer) directories, and in the right, the remote machine directories (the server)
  3. Then there are the two panels that show the contents of the currently selected directories.
  4. Finally is the queue of files being sent/received between the local and remote machines (empty until we start transferring files).

Now that you're a little familiar with what you're seeing you need to make sure that the directory selected on the local side is the "wordpress" folder that we downloaded and unzipped at the beginning of this step.

You also need to make sure the remote directory selected is the directory you're planning on putting WordPress in. In my case above we're using a subdomain, so I'm putting it in a subfolder called testsite. For most installations you're likely to be putting it in the server's root directory (commonly called public_html or www).

When those directories are correct select all the files on the left and drag them into the right hand pane, FileZilla or your FTP client will then begin to copy the files from your local machine to the server.

FileZilla_3

Wait it out. The time the files take to transfer will depend on your connection speed.

When it's done you'll see that the queue has emptied, you should see that all files are transferred successfully, and if you right click the remote pane and select refresh you should see the pane refresh with a mirror of the file names in both panes (there may be additional files on the remote server, depending on what your host has installed in your new server space by default, in my example, you'll see a cgi-bin directory. Ignore that, it's not going to affect your WordPress install.

FileZilla_2

Ok, we're nearly there!

To recap, we've Installed an FTP client so you can put WordPress on your server, we've set up your Database ready to connect it to WordPress, downloaded WordPress, unzipped it and uploaded the WordPress files to your server. The next thing to do is tell WordPress where to find your Database, so have your newly created database credentials handy.


5. Connecting WordPress to Your MySQL Database

Open up your browser and navigate to your new domain, you should then see the following message on your screen.

"There doesn't seem to be a wp-config.php file. I need this before we can get started." This is good, it means WordPress is installed and we're ready to connect to our database.

WordPress_Error

Click the "Create a Configuration File" button which will open up a page asking you to be prepared with your Database credentials.

WordPress_Setup_Configuration_File_2

When you're ready, hit "Let's Go!"

Go ahead and fill in the form with your database credentials.

WordPress_Setup_Configuration_File_1

The database Host is most commonly the default 'localhost' so leave it as is. However, there may be some occasions when your web host calls their DB host something different, if this step doesn't succeed and you've checked your db name, user and password, check with your hosting details, or directly with your host as to what your DB host should be.

The table prefix, by default will be wp_ and it's considered best practice to change this to something else as a security measure. You can change it to anything, and you can see in the image I've changed it to xprt_ (finish it with an underscore just to keep some separation between the table prefix and the table's name).

When you've got all your form fields completed, press Submit to move onto the next step.


6. Naming Your Site and Creating the Site User

Once you hit Submit, you should be able to see the Welcome screen and a form to complete in which you name your new site and complete some important details with regards to your site's user credentials.

You can see below, I've called my site 'My New Website', and created a user called 'myname'. I've put in an email address, and finally, I've unchecked the Privacy checkbox in order to discourage Google from indexing my site until I'm ready.

No sense in Google or other search engines scouring my site when there's no content in it, right? We'll turn that back on again when I'm ready for the general public to know about it, as well.

WordPress_Installation_2

The next step is to hit the Install button which will build the database tables in our database and populate our site with some temporary content.

There you have it - you should now be able to see the 'Success!" message and an invitation to Log In.

WordPress_Installation_1

Hit the Log in button to show the Log in Form.

Log_In

You can now log in here to have a look at your dashboard (we'll look at that more next time) or hit the " ⟵ Back to [Name of your site]" to see your new site! It will likely look something like this...

new_site

Congratulations! You're now rocking a brand spanking new WordPress install of your very own!


Conclusion

WordPress is famous for its 5 minute install. While it's reasonably safe to say it takes 5 minutes or less to get the site installed once you've got the files in the right place and the database up and running, there are a few steps, that first time around will take a little longer than that.

Having an understanding of the process rather than simply letting an auto installing script do the fiddlier work will make future 'under the hood tinkering' faster and a lot less daunting.

This technical baby step install is a great place to start getting comfortable with some of the more technical aspects of your WordPress installation.

Congratulations and welcome to the WordPress user community, we're glad you've joined us!

Related Posts
  • Code
    Web Development
    How to Use New Relic With PHP & WordPressRelic retina preview
    Today we will look at how to monitor a PHP application using New Relic. More specifically we will set up a basic WordPress installation and get some performance data about it, in the New Relic dashboards.Read More…
  • Code
    Web Development
    Easily Deploy Redis Backed Web Apps With DockerDocker wide retina preview
    Learn how to setup and deploy a Redis powered Python web app using Docker.Read More…
  • Code
    WordPress
    An Introduction To Deploying WordPress with MinaImage400
    As a PHP application, WordPress is usually deployed by a very old method: uploading files via FTP. We have some deployment tools, but they often requires some type of Ruby skill. For example, one popular, powerful tool is Capistrano, but it's also very heavy with many Ruby/Rails related features. I also think that it's little bit tricky to install Capistrano for a PHP developer without any Ruby knowledge. So what options do we have as WordPress developers? In this tutorial, I will introduce you Mina: A small, light tool aims to fast deployment and server automation.Read More…
  • Code
    PHP
    Deploying a Laravel Application Using CapistranoLaravel 4 auth retina preview
    So you've just built a fancy web application and you're planning to put it online. This can be done in many ways. In this article I'd like to cover one approach to deploy your backend system to your production server. We'll go through the following steps by example of a Laravel application but this can be applied to any other language or technology.Read More…
  • Code
    WP101 Training
    Beginning With WordPress: Editing the Structure of Your SiteBeginning with wordpress
    So, you've got your CSS chops up to speed, and your site should now at least be a fair way down the track to being customised with a colour scheme and maybe even some custom fonts to make it really start to feel like it's much more 'you' than it was. But, you're thinking you'd also like to make some other changes and those changes aren't exactly style related. So it's likely you're going to have to to start getting into editing some of the hard-coded, inbuilt structure, and that means starting to dig into the PHP files of your site.Read More…
  • Code
    WP101 Training
    Beginning With WordPress: Preparing to Customise Your Theme Using a Child ThemeBeginning with wordpress
    Ok, so your site is up and running and you're probably starting to get itchy to make some changes, and not just changes to the content, right? You may well be wanting to change some elements of what your theme actually looks like, and maybe even change how it behaves. So, as we keep moving through these tutorials we're heading towards being able to better customise your theme and we'll actually be getting more into what goes into theme tweaking and development. However, before we go there we've a couple of last things to do to finish off the site set up then we'll set up so you can begin to make some code changes.Read More…