Students Save 30%! Learn & create with unlimited courses & creative assets Students Save 30%! Save Now
Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Node.js
Code

使用 Passport 验证 Node.js 应用程序

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

Chinese (Simplified) (中文(简体)) translation by Fuhuan (you can also view the original English article)

为任何应用程序实现身份验证功能都是一项艰巨的任务,Node.js 应用程序也不例外。

在本教程中,我们将从头开发一个 Node.js 应用程序并使用一个相对较新但非常流行的身份验证插件 - Passport 来处理我们的身份验证问题。

Passport 的文档将其描述为 “Node 的简单,不显眼的身份验证插件”,这是正确的。

通过将自身作为插件提供,Passport 在将 Web 应用程序的其他问题与其身份验证需求分离方面做得非常出色。 它允许将 Passport 轻松配置到任何基于 Express 的 Web 应用程序中,就像我们配置其他 Express 插件一样,例如日志记录,正文解析,cookie 解析,会话处理等。

本教程假设你对 Node.js 和 Express 框架有基本的了解,并尝试将注意力集中在身份验证上,尽管我们从头开始创建示例 Express 应用程序并通过向其添加路由并验证其中一些路由信息来进行。

认证策略

Passport 为我们提供了 140 多种身份验证机制可供选择。 你可以针对本地 / 远程数据库实例进行身份验证,或使用 OAuth 提供程序对 Facebook,Twitter,Google 等进行单点登录,以对你的社交媒体帐户进行身份验证,或者你可以从支持身份验证的广泛提供商列表中进行选择使用 Passport 并为其提供节点模块。

但不要担心:你不需要包含应用程序不需要的任何策略 / 机制。 所有这些策略是相互独立的,并打包为单独的节点模块,默认情况下,在安装 Passport 的插件时不包括这些模块:npm install passport

在本教程中,我们将使用 Passport 的本地身份验证策略,并针对本地配置的 Mongo 数据库实例对用户进行身份验证,并将用户详细信息存储在数据库中。 要使用本地身份验证策略,我们需要安装 passport-local 模块:npm install passport-local

但是:在启动终端并开始执行这些命令之前,让我们从头开始构建一个 Express 应用程序并添加一些路由(用于登录,注册和主页),然后尝试添加我们的身份验证插件。 请注意,我们将在本教程中使用 Express 4,但稍微有些不同, Passport 也可以与 Express 3 一起使用。

设置应用程序

如果你还没有,那么请继续安装 Express&express-generator,通过在终端上执行 express passport-mongo 来生成样板应用程序。  生成的应用程序结构应如下所示:

Initial Application Structure

让我们删除一些我们不会使用的默认功能 - 继续并删除 users.js 路由并从 app.js 文件中删除它的引用。

添加项目依赖项

打开 package.json 并添加护照和本地护照模块的依赖项。

由于我们将在 MongoDB 中保存用户详细信息,因此我们将使用 Mongoose 作为对象数据建模工具。 将依赖项安装并保存到 package.json 的另一种方法是输入:

package.json 应如下所示:

Added Mongoose Dependencies

现在,安装所有依赖项并通过执行 npm install && npm start 运行样板应用程序。 它现在将下载并安装所有依赖项,并将启动节点服务器。 你可以在 http:// localhost:3000 / 查看基本的 Express 应用程序,但现在没有什么看头。

很快,我们将通过创建一个完整的应用程序来改变这一点,该应用程序要求显示新用户的注册页面,注册用户的登录,并使用 Passport 对注册用户进行身份验证。

创建 Mongoose 模型

由于我们将在 Mongo 中保存用户详细信息,因此我们在 Mongoose 中创建一个用户模型,并将其保存在我们的应用程序中的 models / user.js 中。

基本上,我们正在创建一个 Mongoose 模型,使用它我们可以在底层数据库上执行 CRUD 操作

配置 Mongo

如果你没有在本地安装 Mongo,我们建议你使用云数据库服务,例如 Modulus 或 MongoLab。  使用这些实现创建一个有效的 MongoDB 实例不仅是免费的,而且只需点击几下即可。

在其中一个服务上创建数据库后,它将为你提供数据库 URI,如 mongodb:// : @ novus.modulusmongo.net:27017 / ,可用于执行 CRUD 操作在数据库上。  最好将数据库配置保存在一个单独的文件中,该文件可以在需要时启动。 因此,我们创建一个节点模块 db.js,它看起来像:

如果你像我一样,你正在使用本地 Mongo 实例,那么可以启动 mongod 守护进程了,db.js 应该看起来像

现在我们在 app.js 中使用此配置并使用 Mongoose API 连接到它:

配置 Passport

Passport 只提供了处理身份验证的机制,留下了自己实现会话处理的责任,为此我们将使用快速会话。 在配置路由之前打开 app.js 并粘贴下面的代码:


这是必要的,因为我们希望我们的用户会话本质上是持久的。 在运行应用程序之前,我们需要安装 express-session 并将其添加到 package.json 中的依赖项列表中。 要做到这一点,请键入 npm install --save express-session

序列化和反序列化用户实例

Passport 还需要从会话存储中序列化和反序列化用户实例以支持登录会话,以便每个后续请求都不包含用户凭据。 它为此提供了两个方法 serializeUser 和 deserializeUser:

使用 Passport 策略

我们现在将定义 Passport 处理登录和注册的策略。 它们中的每一个都是 Passport 的本地身份验证策略的实例,并且将使用 passport.use()创建 功能。 我们使用 connect-flash 通过提供可以在出错时显示给用户的 flash 消息来帮助我们处理错误。

登录策略

登录策略如下所示:

passport.use()的第一个参数是策略的名称,该策略将在以后应用时用于标识此策略。 第二个参数是你要创建的策略类型,这里我们使用用户名密码或 LocalStrategy。 需要注意的是,默认情况下,LocalStrategy 希望在用户名和密码参数中找到用户凭据,但它允许我们使用任何其他命名参数。 所述 passReqToCallback 配置变量允许我们访问的请求的回叫对象,从而使我们能够使用与该请求相关联的任何参数。

接下来,我们使用 Mongoose API 在我们的基础用户集合中查找用户,以检查用户是否是有效用户。 我们的回调中的最后一个参数:done 表示一个有用的方法,使用它可以向 Passport 模块发出成功或失败的信号。 要指定失败,第一个参数应该包含错误,或者第二个参数应该计算为 false。 由于密码本质上是弱的,我们应该在将它们保存到数据库之前对它们进行加密。

由于密码本质上是弱的,我们应该在将它们保存到数据库之前对它们进行加密。 为此,我们使用 bcrypt-nodejs 来帮助我们加密和解密密码。

如果你对代码片段感到不安并希望看到完整的代码,请随时在此处浏览代码。

注册策略

现在,我们定义下一个策略,该策略将处理新用户的注册并在我们的基础 Mongo DB 中创建他或她的条目:

在这里,我们再次使用 Mongoose API 来查找是否已存在具有给定用户名的任何用户。 如果没有,则创建一个新用户并将用户信息保存在 Mongo 中。 否则使用完成回调和 flash 消息返回错误。 请注意,我们使用 bcrypt-nodejs 在保存之前创建密码的哈希:

创建路由

如果我们看到我们的应用程序的鸟瞰图,它看起来像:

Birds Eye View of Our Application

我们现在在以下模块中定义应用程序的路由,该模块采用在上面的 app.js 中创建的 Passport 实例。 将此模块保存在 routes / index.js 中

上面代码片段中最重要的部分是使用 passport.authenticate() 在分别对 / login 和 / signup 路由进行 HTTP POST 时,将身份验证委派给登录和注册策略。 请注意,不必在路径路径上命名策略,并且可以将其命名为任何名称。

创建主视图

接下来,我们为应用程序创建以下两个视图:

  1. layout.jade 包含基本布局和样式信息
  2. index.jade 包含登录页面,其中包含登录表单并提供创建新帐户的选项

感谢 Bootstrap,我们的登录页面现在看起来像

Login Page for Our Passport App

我们还需要两个注册详细信息和应用程序主页的视图:

  1. register.jade 包含注册表单
  2. home.jade 说你好,并显示登录用户的详细信息

如果你不熟悉 Jade,请查看文档。

实现注销功能

作为插件的 Passport 被允许在请求和响应对象上添加某些属性和方法,并通过添加非常方便的 request.logout()来正确使用它。 使用户会话与其他属性无效的方法。

保护路线

Passport 还能够保护对被认为不适合匿名用户的路由的访问。 这意味着如果某个用户尝试访问 http:// localhost:3000 / home 而未在应用程序中进行身份验证,则他将通过执行重定向到主页

结论

Passport 并不是这个领域中唯一一个认证 Node.js 应用程序的插件,而且还有像 EveryAuth 这样的替代品,但模块化,灵活性,社区支持以及它只是一个插件使 Passport 绝对是一个更好的选择。

关于两者之间的详细比较,这是 Passport 自己的开发人员的一个有趣的看法。

Envato qr branded
关注我们的公众号
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Node.js
Code

Authenticating Node.js Applications With Passport

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:MediumLanguages:

Implementing robust authentication strategies for any application can be a daunting task and Node.js applications are no exception to this. 

In this tutorial, we will develop a Node.js application from scratch and use a relatively new but very popular authentication middleware - Passport to take care of our authentication concerns. 

Passport's documentation describes it as a "simple, unobtrusive authentication middleware for Node" and rightly so. 

By providing itself as a middleware, Passport does an excellent job at separating the other concerns of a web application from its authentication needs. It allows Passport to be easily configured into any Express-based web application, just like we configure other Express middleware such as logging, body-parsing, cookie-parsing, session-handling, etc. 

This tutorial assumes a basic understanding of Node.js and Express framework and try to keep focus on authentication, although we do create a sample Express app from scratch and progress via adding routes to it and authenticating some of those routes. 

Authentication Strategies

Passport provides us with 140+ authentication mechanisms to choose from. You can authenticate against a local/remote database instance or use the single sign-on using OAuth providers for Facebook, Twitter, Google, etc. to authenticate with your social media accounts, or you can choose from an extensive list of providers which support authentication with Passport and provide a node module for that.

But worry not: You do not need to include any strategy/mechanism that your application does not need. All these strategies are independent of each other and packaged as separate node modules which are not included by default when you install Passport's middleware:  npm install passport

In this tutorial, we will use the Local Authentication Strategy of Passport and authenticate the users against a locally configured Mongo DB instance, storing the user details in the database. For using the Local Authentication Strategy, we need to install the passport-local module: npm install passport-local

But wait: Before you fire up your terminal and start executing these commands, let's start by building a Express app from scratch and add some routes to it (for login, registration and home) and then try to add our authentication middleware to it. Note that we will be using Express 4 for the purposes of this tutorial, but with some minor differences Passport works equally well with Express 3, as well. 

Setting Up the Application

If you haven't already, then go ahead and install Express & express-generator to generate a boilerplate application by simply executing express passport-mongo on the terminal. The generated application structure should look like this:

Initial Application Structure

Let's remove some of the default functionality that we won't be making use of - go ahead and delete the users.js route and remove its references from the app.js file. 

Adding Project Dependencies

Open up package.json and add the dependencies for passport and passport-local module.

Since we will be saving the user details in MongoDB, we will use Mongoose as our object data modeling tool. Another way to install and save the dependency to package.json is by entering:

package.json should look like this:

Added Mongoose Dependencies

Now, install all the dependencies and run the boilerplate application by executing npm install && npm start. It will now download and install all of the dependencies and will start the node server. You can check the basic Express app at http://localhost:3000/ but there is nothing much to see. 

Very soon, we are going to change that by creating a full-fledged express app that asks for shows a registration page for a new user, the login of a registered user, and authenticates the registered user by using Passport. 

Creating Mongoose Model

Since we will be saving the user details in Mongo, let's create a User Model in Mongoose and save that in models/user.js in our app. 

Basically, we are creating a Mongoose model using which we can perform CRUD operations on the underlying database.

Configuring Mongo 

If you do not have Mongo installed locally then we recommend that you use cloud database services such as Modulus or MongoLab. Creating a working MongoDB instance using these is not only free but is just a matter of few clicks. 

After you create a database on one of these services, it will give you a database URI likemongodb://<dbuser>:<dbpassword>@novus.modulusmongo.net:27017/<dbName> which can be used to perform CRUD operations on the database. It's a good idea to keep the database configuration in a separate file which can be pull up as and when needed. As such, we create a node module db.js which looks like:

If you're like me, you are using a local Mongo instance then it's time to start the mongod daemon and the db.js should look like

 Now we use this configuration in app.js and connect to it using Mongoose APIs:  

Configuring Passport

Passport just provides the mechanism to handle authentication leaving the onus of implementing session-handling ourselves and for that we will be using express-session. Open up app.js and paste the code below before configuring the routes:


This is needed as we want our user sessions to be persistent in nature. Before running the app, we need to install express-session and add it to our dependency list in package.json. To do that type npm install --save express-session

Serializing and Deserializing User Instances

Passport also needs to serialize and deserialize user instance from a session store in order to support login sessions, so that every subsequent request will not contain the user credentials. It provides two methods serializeUser and deserializeUser for this purpose:

Using Passport Strategies

 We will now define Passport's strategies for handling login and signup. Each of them would be an instance of  the Local Authentication Strategy of Passport and would be created using the passport.use() function. We use connect-flash to help us with error handling by providing flash messages which can be displayed to user on error.

Login Strategy

The login strategy looks like this:

The first parameter to passport.use() is the name of the strategy which will be used to identify this strategy when applied later. The second parameter is the type of strategy that you want to create, here we use the username-password or the LocalStrategy. It is to be noted that by default the LocalStrategy expects to find the user credentials in username & password parameters, but it allows us to use any other named parameters as well. The passReqToCallback config variable allows us to access the request object in the callback, thereby enabling us to use any parameter associated with the request.

Next, we use the Mongoose API to find the User in our underlying collection of Users to check if the user is a valid user or not. The last parameter in our callback : done denotes a useful method using which we could signal success or failure to Passport module. To specify failure either the first parameter should contain the error, or the second parameter should evaluate to false. To signify success the first parameter should be null and the second parameter should evaluate to a truthy value, in which case it will be made available on the request object

Since passwords are inherently weak in nature, we should always encrypt them before saving them to the database. For this, we use bcrypt-nodejs to help us out with encryption and decryption of passwords. 

If you are feeling uneasy with the code snippets and prefer to see the complete code in action, feel free to browse the code here.

Registration Strategy

Now, we define the next strategy which will handle registration of a new user and creates his or her entry in our underlying Mongo DB:

Here, we again use the Mongoose API to find if any user with the given username already exists or not. If not, then create a new user and saves the user information in Mongo. Else return the error using the done callback and flash messages. Note that we use bcrypt-nodejs for creating the hash of the password before saving it:

Creating Routes

If we were to see a birds eye view of our application, it would look like:

Birds Eye View of Our Application

We now define our routes for the application in the following module which takes the instance of Passport created in app.js above. Save this module in routes/index.js

The most important part of the above code snippet is the use of passport.authenticate() to delegate the authentication to login and signup strategies when a HTTP POST is made to /login and /signup routes respectively. Note that it is not mandatory to name the strategies on the route path and it can be named anything.

Creating Jade Views

Next, we create the following two views for our application:

  1. layout.jade contains the basic layout & styling information  
  2. index.jade contains the login page containing the login form and giving option to create a new account

Thanks to Bootstrap, our Login page now looks like 

Login Page for Our Passport App

We need two more views for registration details and for the home page of the application:

  1. register.jade contains the registration form
  2. home.jade says hello and shows logged in user's details

If you are unfamiliar with Jade, check out the documentation.

Implementing Logout Functionality

Passport, being a middleware, is permitted to add certain properties and methods on request and response objects and it makes proper use of it by adding a very handy request.logout() method which invalidates the user session apart from other properties.

Protecting Routes

Passport also gives the ability to protect access to a route which is deemed unfit for an anonymous user. This means that if some user tries to access http://localhost:3000/home without authenticating in the application, he will be redirected to home page by doing

Conclusion

Passport is not the only player in this arena when its comes to authenticating Node.js applications and there exists alternatives like EveryAuth but the modularity, flexibility, community support and the fact that its just a middleware makes Passport definitely a much better choice. 

For a detailed comparison between the two, here is an interesting and informative perspective from the developer of Passport himself.

If you want to see what else you can do with Node.js, check out the range of Node.js items on Envato Market, from a responsive AJAX contact form to a URL shortener, or even a database CRUD generator.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?

Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.