Unlimited Plugins, WordPress themes, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. Swift
Code

Введение в Swift: часть 1

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Russian (Pусский) translation by Jenyia (you can also view the original English article)

На WWDC 2014 Apple представила одно из самых больших обновлений для iOS с 2008 года с точки зрения разработчика. Они представили HomeKit, HealthKit, CloudKit и расширения, просто чтобы назвать несколько. Но самым большим сюрпризом для WWDC 2014 стало внедрение совершенно нового языка программирования Swift.

Swift - замечательный язык программирования, который был построен с нуля для эффективности и безопасности. Он использует те же API, что и Objective-C. Или, что вы можете сделать в Objective-C, вы можете сделать в Swift. В нем также представлены некоторые новые концепции, которые оценят опытные программисты, и некоторые из которых я расскажу в этой вводной серии о Swift.

В этой серии я предполагаю, что вы уже знакомы с Objective-C. В первой статье этой серии я расскажу о философии Swift, структуре файла и синтаксисе. Во второй статье я перейду к более продвинутым аспектам синтаксиса Swift, таким как опции и управление памятью. Приготовьтесь, ребята, это будет незабываемым.

1. Философия

Чтобы лучше понять Swift, Apple за последние несколько лет создала нам условия для структурных улучшений в Objective-C. Улучшения Objective-C, такие как кодовые блоки, литеральные массивы и словарные определения, и ARC (Automatic Reference Counting) - это всего лишь несколько вещей Apple, добавленых в Objective-C, что облегчает переход на Swift.

Одним из важных элементов философии Swift является инициализация кода. Все объекты и переменные, определенные в Swift, должны быть инициализированы в коде. Неинициализированный объект или переменная приведет к ошибке времени компиляции в Swift. Это гарантирует, что объект или переменная всегда имеет значение. В Swift есть один специальный случай, когда начальное значение не может быть определено. В этом специальном случае ваша переменная называется optional. Мы рассмотрим варианты во второй части этой серии.

Еще одним важным компонентом является отраслевая полнота. Все условные ветви, будь то if или switch/case, должны охватывать все условия. Таким образом, ни один код не может потерпеть неудачу без его охвата. Отсутствие условия в вашей ветке утверждения будет установлено и сгенерирует ошибку времени компиляции.

Одним из последних элементов философии Swift является его предпочтение константам перед переменными. Swift определяет переменные и константы следующим образом:

В приведенном выше примере ключевое слово let используется для определения константы, в то время как ключевое слово var определяет переменную. Сделав определение констант таким простым, Apple по возможности поощряет использование констант. Это приводит к более безопасному коду в многопоточной среде и лучшей оптимизации кода, поскольку компилятор знает, что значение константы не изменится.

Теперь для Swift существует гораздо больше нескольких синтаксисов и улучшений форматирования. Swift был построен с нуля, чтобы исправить множество распространенных C/C ++ и, по сути, источников Objective-C, таких как:

  • индексы вне диапазона в массивах
  • неинициализированные данные
  • непроверенные типы возврата
  • непроверенный доступ к указателю
  • неявное падение
  • ошибки goto

Как тот, кто работает как для iOS, так и для Android, я знаю из первых рук, насколько интереснее кодирование для платформы iOS на самом деле с Cocoa и UIKit. Эта серия покажет вам, насколько более интересным может быть кодирование, добавив Swift в микс.

2. Структура файла

В Objective-C у нас есть файлы заголовков (.h) и файлы реализации (.m). Это то, что Objective-C, унаследовал от языка C.

В Swift класс определяется в одном файле реализации (.swift), который включает в себя все определения и реализации класса. Это напоминает другие языки, такие как Java и C#.

Gone - это необходимость перехватывания файлов заголовков и добавления текстового файла #IFNDEF в верхней части файлов заголовков.

3. Синтаксис

Первое, что вы заметите в Swift, - это исчезновение точки с запятой в конце каждого утверждения. В Swift каждая строка считается оператором, и мы не должны добавлять точку с запятой в конце каждой строки.

Я подчеркиваю необходимость, потому что ничто не мешает вам добавлять точки с запятой в конце ваших утверждений. Я буду продолжать добавлять точки с запятой в конце каждого утверждения, так как я думаю, что это повышает удобочитаемость. Кроме того, действительно сложно избавиться от привычки добавлять точки с запятой, например, что делают разработчики Cocoa уже много лет.

Еще одно важное изменение в Swift заключается в том, что фигурные скобки являются обязательными для операторов if. Это означает, что больше нет Heartbleedbugs.

Синтаксис может быть сложным предметом для написания. У Swift есть много тонкостей, которые могут занять очень много времени, но это не является целью этой статьи. Для краткости я сосредоточу внимание на изменениях, которые бы заметил разработчик Objective-C.

4. Сходство с Objective-C

Я начну с отображения трех фрагментов кода, которые иллюстрируют некоторые сходства с Objective-C. Это поможет вам в понимании языка Swift.

Программисты Objective-C обнаруживают, что Swift имеет те же самые инструкции веток и итераций, с которыми вы уже знакомы, например, как if/else, for циклов, for..in циклов, и switch утверждения.

Swift включает двух операторов диапазона, ..<и ..., чтобы указать диапазон значений. В вышеприведенном цикле for мы используем оператор полузамкнутого диапазона, ..<, чтобы указать диапазон значений, который включает в себя 1, 2, 3 и 4, но исключает 5. Другим оператором диапазона является оператор замкнутого диапазона, .... Он задает диапазон значений, который включает значение с обеих сторон оператора замкнутого диапазона. Например, 1...5. задает диапазон значений от 1 до 5, включая 5.

5. Определение переменных и констант

Давайте пересмотрим пример, который я показал вам ранее.

В Swift мы определяем константы, используя ключевое слово let и переменные, используя ключевое слово var. Двоеточие,:, является маркером для определения типов. В приведенном выше примере мы создаем константу и переменную типа String.

Мы также инициализируем константу и переменную со строкой. В Swift строки определяются точно так же, как строки C в Objective-C, они не предшествующий символу @.

Объект-C - строго типизированный язык, что означает, что тип переменной или параметра всегда должен быть указан. Swift также является строго типизированным языком, но Swift немного умнее, поскольку компилятор выводит тип переменной. Компилятор также гарантирует, что без вашего точного знания и вмешательства не произойдет некорректного распределения переменных.

Если мы перепишем приведенный выше пример, позволяя сделать вывод о типе своей работы, то фрагмент кода будет выглядеть следующим образом:

Это намного лучше, и код намного точнее. Компилятор достаточно умен, чтобы понять, что someInt - это Int и someFloat - это Double.

 6. Строки

Один из способов получить представление о силе языка - это изучить, как он обрабатывает манипуляции с строкой. Objective-C имеет множество функций и функций, которые позволяют нам обрабатывать строки, лучше, чем большинство языков, но они, как правило, неоднозначны и запутываются время от времени.

Начнем с примера Objective-C. Чтобы объединить две строки в Objective-C, мы делаем следующее:

В Swift, чтобы добавить строку в другую строку, мы используем оператор +. Это очень просто.

Строки в Swift - это Unicode, что означает, что мы можем написать:

Мы можем перебирать символы строки, используя утверждение for..in, как показано в следующем примере. Мы можем использовать цикл for..in для повторения строк Unicode. Это действительно здорово.

Последнее, что я хотел бы рассказать о строках, прежде чем двигаться дальше, - это интерполяция строк. В Objective-C, если мы хотим вывести строку с переменными, мы вызываем [NSString stringWithFormat:]. В Swift переменные могут быть внедрены. Взгляните на следующий пример.

Чтобы использовать интерполяцию строк, вы завершаете вызов переменной или функции в круглых скобках и помещаете обратную косую черту перед ней, \( expression).

7. Массивы и словари

Arrays & Dictionaries

Как программист Objective-C, вы уже знакомы с массивами и словарями. Swift также имеет классы сбора и добавляет к ним несколько дополнительных функций.

Как вы используете коллекции в Swift? В Swift они называются Array и Dictionary. Объявление массива в Swift аналогично объявлению литерала массива в Objective-C с использованием набора квадратных скобок [ ], но без предшествующего им символа @.

То же самое касается словарей. Однако вместо использования фигурных скобок вы используете квадратные скобки.

Видоизменяемость

Если объект Array эквивалентен объекту NSArray, а объект Dictionary эквивалентен объекту NSDictionary, то как мы создаем изменяемые массивы и словари в Swift?

Ответ очень прост, объявите объект переменной. Другими словами, в предыдущем примере someArray является эквивалентом экземпляра NSArray, а someOtherArray - экземпляром NSMutableArray. Это относится и к словарям. В предыдущем примере someDictionary является эквивалентом экземпляра NSDictionary и someOomeDictionary, который имеет образец NSMutableDictionary. Это здорово, правда?

Хотя массивы Objective-C и словари могут содержать только объекты, в Swift коллекции могут содержать объекты, а также примитивные типы данных, такие как целые числа и поплавки. Еще одно важное отличие от Objective-C состоит в том, что коллекции в Swift набираются, явно или через вывод типа во время компиляции. Указав тип объектов в коллекции, Swift добавляет дополнительную безопасность для этих коллекций.

Несмотря на то, что мы можем опустить тип переменной при ее объявлении, это не изменяет того факта, что компилятор назначит типы объектам в коллекции. Использование вывода типа помогает сохранить код четким и легким.

Мы можем переопределить объекты Array и Dictionary, которые мы объявили ранее, следующим образом:

Компилятор проверяет коллекции во время их инициализации и выводит правильный тип. Другими словами, он понимает someArray и someOtherArray - это набор объектов String, а someDictionary и someOtherDictionary - это словари с ключами типа String и значениями типа Int.

Манипуляция с коллекциями

Добавление объекта или другого массива в массив очень похоже на конкатенацию строк, поскольку мы также используем оператор +.

Манипулирование словарями так же просто.

Типичные коллекции

Раньше я упоминал, что наборы в Свифт напечатаны, но что это значит? Если мы определяем коллекцию, содержащую объекты String, вы можете добавлять объекты String только к этой коллекции. При этом может произойти ошибка.

Давайте посмотрим на пример, чтобы прояснить это. Мы определяем набор объектов Car. Следующий фрагмент кода показывает определение класса Car и cars с изменяемым массивом, содержащие три образца Car.

За кулисами компилятор выводит тип массива. Если мы хотим добавить новый экземпляр Car в коллекцию, мы можем просто использовать оператор +, как показано ниже.

Однако добавление объекта другого типа приведет к ошибке.

Это имеет дополнительное преимущество безопасности типов для извлечения объектов из коллекций. Это также устраняет необходимость в распределении объектов коллекции перед их использованием.

В нашем примере объект Car имеет метод accelerate. Поскольку коллекция введена, мы можем захватить элемент из массива и сразу вызвать метод объекта в одной строке кода. Нам не нужно беспокоиться о типе элемента, поскольку коллекция содержит только объекты Car.

Чтобы выполнить то же самое в Objective-C с таким же уровнем безопасности, нам нужно написать следующее:

Наконец, для итерации массива мы используем цикл for..in:

Наконец, для итерации массива мы используем цикл for..in:

Как вы можете видеть, типизированные коллекции - это мощная функция языка Swift.

Вывод

Мы уже довольно много узнали о языке Swift, и вы должны потратить время, чтобы погрузиться. Я рекомендую вам как можно скорее загрузить Xcode 6 и начать применять то, что вы узнали в этой статье, в с особеннстям новой Playground в Xcode. Playgrounds позволяют играть с Swift в режиме реального времени.

Вот и все в этой статье. В следующем выпуске этой серии мы рассмотрим строки, функции, завершение, классы и, что не менее важно, дополнительные. Вы также узнаете, как работает управление памятью в Swift. Оставайтесь с нами.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement

An Introduction to Swift: Part 1

by
Student iconAre you a student? Get a yearly Tuts+ subscription for $45 →

At WWDC 2014, Apple has introduced one of the biggest updates to iOS since 2008 from a developer's point of view. They introduced HomeKit, HealthKit, CloudKit, and Extensions, just to name a few. But the biggest surprise out of WWDC 2014 was the introduction of a brand new programming language, Swift.

Swift is a wonderful programming language that has been built from the ground up to be efficient and safe. It uses the same APIs that Objective-C does. Or, what you can do in Objective-C, you can do in Swift. It also introduces some new concepts longtime programmers will appreciate and some of which I will cover in this introductory series on Swift.

In this series, I'm going to assume you're already familiar with Objective-C. In the first article of this series, I talk about Swift's philosophy, file structure, and syntax. In the second article, I zoom in on more advanced aspects of Swift's syntax, such as optionals and memory management. Hang on to your hats, folks, it's going to be a doozy.

1. Philosophy

To better understand Swift, Apple has been conditioning us with structural improvements in Objective-C over the last few years. Objective-C improvements like code blocks, literal array and dictionary definitions, and ARC (Automatic Reference Counting) are but a few things Apple added to Objective-C that ease the transition to Swift.

One important pillar of Swift's philosophy is code initialization. All objects and variables  when defined in Swift must be initialized in code. An uninitialized object or variable will result in a compile time error in Swift. This ensures an object or variable always has a value. There's one special case in Swift for when an initial value cannot be defined. In this special case, your variable is called an optional. We will cover optionals in the second part of this series.

Another important pillar is branch completeness. All conditional branches, be it if or switch/case, must cover all conditions. This way, no code can fall through without it being covered. Missing a condition in your branch statement will be caught and generate a compile time error.

One last element of Swift's philosophy is its preference to constants over variables. Swift defines variables and constants in the following manner:

let someConstant : String = "This is a constant"
var someVariable : String = "This is a variable"

In the above example, the let keyword is used to define a constant while the var keyword defines a variable. By making the definition of constants this easy, Apple encourages the use of constants whenever possible. This leads to safer code in a multithreaded environment and better code optimization as the compiler knows a constant's value won't change.

Now, there's much more to Swift than a few syntax and formatting enhancements. Swift was built from the ground up to fix many common C/C++, and inherently Objective-C, sources of crashes. Issues like:

  • out-of-bound indexes in arrays
  • uninitialized data
  • unchecked return types
  • unchecked pointer access
  • implicit fall through 
  • goto errors

As someone who programs for both iOS and Android, I know first-hand how much more fun coding for the iOS platform really is with Cocoa and UIKit. This series will show you how much more fun coding can be by adding Swift to the mix.

2. File Structure

In Objective-C, we have header files (.h) and implementation files (.m). This is something Objective-C inherited from the C language.

In Swift, a class is defined in a single implementation file (.swift) that includes all the definitions and implementations of the class. This is reminiscent of other languages like Java and C#.

Gone is the need for juggling header files and adding the pesky #IFNDEF at the top of header files.

3. Syntax

The first thing you'll notice about Swift is the disappearance of the semicolon at the end of each statement. In Swift, each line is considered a statement and we don't have to add a semicolon at the end of each line.

I emphasize have to, because nothing stops you from adding semicolons at the end of your statements. I will continue to add semicolons at the end of each statement as I think it increases readability. Also, it's really difficult to get rid of the habit of adding semicolons like Cocoa developers have done for years.

Another important change in Swift is that curly braces are mandatory for if statements. That means no more Heartbleed bugs.

Syntax can be a complex subject to write about. Swift has a lot of subtleties that can take very long to go over, but that isn't the goal of this article. For brevity, I will concentrate on what changes an Objective-C developer would notice.

4. Similarities with Objective-C

I'll start off by showing you three code snippets that illustrate some of the similarities with Objective-C. It will help you in your understanding of the Swift language.

// Objective-C
for (int index = 0; index < 5; i++) {
     NSLog(@"%d",index);
}

// Swift
for index in 1..<5 {
    plrintln("\(index)");
}
// Objective-C
switch(index) {
    case 0:
        break;
    case 1:
        break;
    default:
        break;
}

// Swift
switch(index) {
    case 0:
    
    case 1:

    default:
}

// no break statement
// Objective-C
if (index == 0) {

}

// Swift
if index == 0 {

}

// parentheses are optional
// curly braces are required

Objective-C programmers will find that Swift has the same branch and iteration statements you're already familiar with, such as if/else,  for loops, for..in loops, and switch statements.

Swift includes two range operators, ..< and ..., to specify a range of values. In the above for loop, we use the half-closed range operator, ..<, to specify a range of values that includes 1, 2, 3, and 4, but it excludes 5. The other range operator is the closed range operator, .... It specifies a range of values that includes the value on both sides of the closed range operator. For example, 1...5. specifies a range of values from 1 through 5, including 5.

5. Defining Variables and Constants

Let's revisit the example I showed you earlier.

let someConstant : String = "This is a constant";
var someVariable : String = "This is a variable";

In Swift, we define constants using the let keyword and variables using the var keyword. The colon, : ,is a marker to define types. In the above example, we're creating a constant and a variable of type String.

We're also initializing the constant and the variable with a string. In Swift, strings are defined just like C strings in Objective-C, they're not preceded by an @ symbol.

Objective-C is a strongly typed language, which means that the type of a variable or parameter must always be specified. Swift is also a strongly typed language, but Swift is a bit smarter as the compiler will infer a variable's type. The compiler also makes sure that no incorrect casting of variables occurs without your expressed knowledge and intervention.

If we rewrite the above example letting type inference do its work, then the code snippet looks as follows:

let someConstant = "This is a constant";
var someVariable = "This is a variable";
let someInt = 1;
let someFloat = 1.0;

This is much better and the code is much cleaner. The compiler is smart enough to understand that someInt is an Int and someFloat is a Double.

6. Strings

One way to get an idea of the strength of a language is by exploring how it handles string manipulation. Objective-C has a lot of functions and features that let us handle strings, better than most languages, but they tend to be verbose and confusing from time to time.

Let's start with an Objective-C example. To concatenate two strings in Objective-C, we do the following:

NSString *string = @"Hello ";
NSString *greeting = [string stringByAppendingString:@"World!"];

In Swift, to append a string to another string, we use the + operator. It's that simple.

let string = "Hello "
let greeting = string + "World!"

Strings in Swift are Unicode, which means that we can write:

let string = "你好世界"

We can iterate the characters of a string using a for..in statement as shown in the following example. We can use a for..in loop to iterate Unicode strings too. It's really that cool.

let str = "Hello";
for char in str {
    println(char);
}

// outputs
// H
// e
// l
// l
// o

One last thing I'd like to cover about strings before moving on is string interpolation. In Objective-C, if we want to output a string with variables, we invoke [NSString stringWithFormat:]. In Swift, variables can be embedded. Take a look at the following example.

let x = 4;
let y = 5;

println( "\(x) x \(y) = \(x*y)")

// outputs
// 4 x 5 = 20

To use string interpolation, you wrap the variable or function call in parentheses and put a backslash in front of it, \( expression).

7. Arrays & Dictionaries

Array & Dictionary

As an Objective-C programmer, you're already familiar with arrays and dictionaries. Swift also has collection classes and adds a few additional features to them.

How do you use collections in Swift? In Swift, they're called Array and Dictionary. Declaring an array in Swift is similar to declaring an array literal in Objective-C, using a set of square brackets, [ ], but without an @ symbol preceding them.

let someArray:[String] = ["one","two","three"];
var someOtherArray:[String] = ["alpha","beta","gamma"];

The same goes for dictionaries. However, instead of using curly braces, you use square brackets.

let someDictionary:[String:Int] = ["one":1, "two":2, "three":3];
var someOtherDictionary:[String:Int] = ["cats":1, "dogs":4, "mice":3];

Mutability

If an Array object is equivalent to an NSArray object and a Dictionary object is equivalent to an NSDictionary object, then how do we create mutable arrays and dictionaries in Swift?

The answer is very simple, declare the object as a variable. In other words, in the previous example someArray is the equivalent of an NSArray instance and someOtherArray that of an NSMutableArray instance. This applies to dictionaries too. In the previous example, someDictionary is the equivalent of an NSDictionary instance and someOtherDictionary that of an NSMutableDictionary instance. That's neat, right?

While Objective-C arrays and dictionaries can only contain objects, in Swift, collections can contain objects as well as primitive data types, such as integers and floats. Another important difference with Objective-C is that collections in Swift are typed, explicitly or through type inference at compile time. By specifying the type of the objects in a collection, Swift adds extra safety to these collections.

Even though we can omit a variable's type when declaring it, it doesn't alter the fact that the compiler will assign types to the objects in a collection. Using type inference helps to keep the code legible and light.

We can redeclare the Array and Dictionary objects we declared earlier as follows:

let someArray = ["one","two","three"];
var someOtherArray = ["alpha","beta","gamma"];
let someDictionary = ["one":1, "two":2, "three":3];
var someOtherDictionary = ["cats":1, "dogs":4, "mice":3];

The compiler will inspect the collections during their initialization and infer the correct type. In other words, it understands that someArray and someOtherArray are a collection of String objects and someDictionary and someOtherDictionary are dictionaries with keys of type String and values of type Int.

Collection Manipulation

Adding an object or another array to an array is very similar to string concatenation in that we also use the + operator.

var array = ["one","two","three"]; // mutable array
array += "four"; // add element to array
array += ["five","six"]; // add array to array

Manipulating dictionaries is just as easy.

var dictionary = ["cat": 2,"dog":4,"snake":8]; // mutable dictionary
dictionary["lion"] = 7; // add element to dictionary
dictionary += ["bear":1,"mouse":6]; // add dictionary to dictionary

Typed Collections

Earlier, I mentioned that collections in Swift are typed, but what does that mean? If we define a collection that contains String objects, you can only add String objects to that collection. Failing to do so will result in an error.

Let's look at an example to clarify this. We define a collection of Car objects. The following code snippet shows the Car class definition and a mutable array cars, containing three Car instances.

// Car class
class Car {
    var speed = 0.0
    
    func accelerate(by: Double = 1.0) -> Bool {
        speed += by;
        return true;
    }
}

var cars = [ Car(), Car(), Car()];

Behind the scenes, the compiler will infer the type of the array. If we want to add a new Car instance to the collection, we can simply use the + operator as shown below.

cars += Car();

However, adding an object of a different type will result in an error.

cars += "Some String"; // this will cause a compiler error

This has the added advantage of type safety for fetching objects from collections. It also eliminates the need for casting collection objects before using them.

In our example, a Car object has an accelerate method. Because a collection is typed, we can grab an item from the array and immediately invoke a method on the object, in one line of code. We don't need to worry about the element's type since the collection only contains Car objects.

cars[0].accelerate(by: 2.0);

To accomplish the same thing in Objective-C with the same level of safety, we'd need to write the following:

id pointer = cars[0];
if([pointer isKindOfClass:[Car class]]) {
    Car* car = (Car*) pointer;
    [car accelerateBy:2.0];
}

Finally, to iterate an array, we use a for..in loop:

for car in cars {
    car.accelerate(by:2.0);
}

To iterate a dictionary, we also use a for..in loop:

for (key,value) in someDictionary {
    println("Key \(key) has value \(value)"
}

As you can see, typed collections are a powerful feature of the Swift language.

Conclusion

 We've already learned quite a bit about the Swift language and you should take the time to let it sink in. I recommend that you download Xcode 6 as soon as possible and start applying what you've learned in this article in Xcode's new Playground feature. Playgrounds let you play with Swift in real time.

That's it for this article. In the next instalment of this series, we take a look at tuples, functions, closures, classes and last but not least, optionals. You'll also learn how memory management works in Swift. Stay tuned.

Advertisement