Unlimited Plugins, WordPress themes, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Code
  2. PHP
Code

3 Möglichkeiten, Ihre Site mit PHP zu beschleunigen

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

German (Deutsch) translation by Władysław Łucyszyn (you can also view the original English article)

Heutzutage, da Breitbandverbindungen die Norm sind, müssen wir uns nicht mehr so ​​sehr um die Internetgeschwindigkeit oder die Dateigröße unserer Seiten kümmern. Das heißt jedoch nicht, dass wir das immer noch nicht tun sollten. Wenn Sie die Ladezeiten auf Ihrem Server reduzieren möchten, die Anzahl der HTTP-Anforderungen reduzieren und dieses zusätzliche Bit für Ihre Besucher verwenden möchten, gibt es einige Techniken, die Sie verwenden können. Dieses Tutorial behandelt eine Reihe von PHP-Tricks, einschließlich Caching und Komprimierung.

1. CSS-Verschmelzung mit PHP

Als Webentwickler teilen wir unser CSS häufig auf mehrere separate Dateien auf, um eine logische Trennung zu gewährleisten und Änderungen zu vereinfachen. Dies erhöht jedoch die Anzahl der Anforderungen an den Server, was zu einem langsameren Laden der Seite führt. Mit etwas PHP können wir das Beste aus beiden Welten haben; Speichern mehrerer Dateien auf unserer Seite und Verwenden einer einzigen Anforderung zum Abrufen aller Dateien.

Vorbereitung

Bevor wir CSS-Dateien optimieren können, benötigen wir CSS, um damit arbeiten zu können! Lassen Sie uns also drei Dateien erstellen und CSS hinzufügen.

Das PHP

Wir müssen den Inhalt dieser Dateien abrufen und in einer bestimmten Reihenfolge aneinander anhängen. Unser Skript muss also die Namen der CSS-Dateien über URL-Parameter erhalten, alle Dateien öffnen und zusammenstellen. Eine Erklärung des Codes folgt.

Brechen sie ab

Es sieht ziemlich kompliziert aus, aber bleib bei mir, es ist wirklich ziemlich einfach.

Dieser Codeabschnitt legt den Pfad für den CSS-Ordner fest und überprüft, ob uns einige Dateien zur Bearbeitung geschickt wurden. Der CSS-Pfad muss nachgestellte Schrägstriche haben, ansonsten werden wir uns mit Fehlern beladen. Wenn wir wollten, könnten wir automatisch nach einem Schrägstrich suchen und ihn bei Bedarf hinzufügen. Der Einfachheit halber habe ich dieses Verhalten jedoch weggelassen.

Als Nächstes überprüfen wir jeden Dateinamen und entfernen alle Punkte und / oder Schrägstriche. Dadurch wird verhindert, dass Benutzer im Dateisystem navigieren, indem sie Dateinamen wie '../../secret/file' übergeben.

Jetzt müssen wir unsere CSS-Daten aus den einzelnen Dateien erstellen. Dazu durchlaufen wir das Datei-Array mit foreach, öffnen jede Datei und hängen den Inhalt an unsere Daten an. Das "\ n" fügt einfach ein neues Linienzeichen hinzu, um die Dinge ordentlich zu halten. Die filesize () - Funktion wird verwendet, um die Länge der Datei zu ermitteln, sodass wir fread () mitteilen können, wie viel wir wollen (die gesamte Datei).

Das letzte Bit des Skripts besteht darin, die CSS-Daten an den Browser zu senden. Das bedeutet, wir müssen PHP mitteilen, dass wir CSS-Daten senden und dass der Browser darüber informiert werden muss. Wir machen dies mit der Header-Funktion und setzen den Inhaltstyp auf 'text / css'. Dann senden wir das CSS an den Client. Wir prüfen zunächst, ob CSS-Daten gesendet werden sollen. Ist dies nicht der Fall, bedeutet dies, dass keine Namen von CSS-Dateien gesendet wurden. Wenn dies der Fall ist, antworten wir einfach mit einem CSS-Kommentar. Wenn wir jedoch einige Daten zum Senden haben, senden wir diese und fügen eine Nachricht hinzu, wann sie generiert wurde. Wenn Sie beispielsweise alle CSS in einem Schritt mit Copyright-Informationen versehen möchten, wäre dies ein idealer Ort.

Teste es

Okay, jetzt ist es Zeit, das Skript zu testen. Wir müssen zuerst eine Verzeichnisstruktur erstellen und dann unsere Skript- und CSS-Dateien platzieren. Schauen Sie sich das Bild unten an und versuchen Sie, diese Struktur zu replizieren. Wenn Sie etwas anderes wünschen, vergessen Sie nicht, die Pfade entsprechend diesen Änderungen zu ändern.

Sobald alles am richtigen Ort ist, können wir unser Skript testen. Die Verzeichnisstruktur muss mit PHP in den Ordner 'htdocs' oder 'www' eines Webservers gestellt werden (heutzutage fast jeder Webserver). Navigieren Sie zur Datei index.php. Sie sollten mit einem einzigen Kommentar begrüßt werden: "Dateien nicht verfügbar oder keine Dateien angegeben". Dies bedeutet, dass wir keine Dateien für das Zusammenführen gegeben haben. Die gute Nachricht ist jedoch, dass dies ein gültiger CSS-Kommentar ist und keine Probleme verursachen wird.

Lassen Sie uns etwas etwas Kniffligeres versuchen; Geben Sie 'index.php? q [] = main' ein. Sie sollten das CSS von Ihrer main.css-Datei und einen Hinweis unten erhalten.

Wenn wir mehrere Dateien zusammenführen möchten (da dies wirklich der gesamte Punkt des Skripts war), können wir diese Anfrage senden: 'index.php? Q [] = main & q [] = forms'. Wie Sie sehen, können wir 'q [] =' beliebig oft wiederholen, da jeder Wert einem Array hinzugefügt wird. Sie können möglicherweise 50 CSS-Dateien zusammen hinzufügen, wenn Sie dieses Skript verwenden möchten.

Abschließend

Die Verwendung dieser Methode kann sehr nützlich sein und Vorteile bieten, z. B. für jede Seite ein Standard-Stylesheet und eine zusätzliche CSS-Datei für Seiten mit Formularen. Es ist auch einfach zu implementieren, wenn Sie bereits eine CSS-Verarbeitung mit PHP verwenden. Wenn Sie möchten, können Sie index.php sogar in index.css umbenennen, solange Sie .htaccess so einrichten, dass CSS-Dateien als PHP behandelt werden.

Sie stellen möglicherweise fest, dass ich unterschiedliche Reihenfolge von CSS-Dateien als unterschiedlich behandele. Dies liegt daran, dass Sie möchten, dass ein Stylesheet ein anderes überschreibt, und daher ist die Reihenfolge der Dateien wichtig. Wenn dies kein Problem für Sie ist, möchten Sie möglicherweise vor dem Verarbeiten eine Sortierfunktion für das Datei-Array ausführen.

Nur ein Wort der Vorsicht; Wenn Sie die Datei index.php in einem anderen Ordner als dem Ordner ablegen, der das CSS enthält, müssen Sie Ihre relativen Hintergrundbildpfade so schreiben, als wäre index.php Ihr ​​Stylesheet. Dies liegt daran, dass der Browser dies für den Browser hält. Alternativ können Sie auch etwas Code hinzufügen, um diese URLs neu zu schreiben. Dies würde jedoch den Rahmen dieses Tutorials sprengen.

2. Entfernen Sie Whitespace von HTML und CSS

Viele von uns verwenden beim Schreiben von Code große Mengen an Leerzeichen. Die gute Nachricht ist, dass Whitespace in PHP nicht wirklich an den Browser gesendet wird. Dies gilt jedoch für HTML.

Browser zeigen normalerweise nur ein Leerzeichen an, unabhängig davon, wie viele Registerkarten Sie in Ihrem Code verwenden. Dies bedeutet, dass etwas Bandbreite verschwendet wird. Mit ein paar einfachen PHP-Dateien können wir jedoch diese Bandbreite beseitigen.

Vorbereitung

Wieder benötigen wir einige Rohdaten, um damit arbeiten zu können. Kopieren Sie daher den folgenden HTML- und CSS-Code. Speichern Sie die folgenden Dateien in einer HTM- und einer CSS-Datei in einem Ordner im Webroot-Verzeichnis Ihres Servers.

Das PHP

Einer der Vorteile dieser Methode ist, dass dasselbe Skript sowohl mit HTML als auch mit CSS arbeitet. Unser Skript muss einen Dateinamen als Teil der Anfrage akzeptieren. Nachdem die Datei geladen wurde, muss sie alle Leerzeichen auf nur ein Leerzeichen reduzieren. Das liegt daran, dass wir nicht alle Leerzeichen zwischen Wörtern entfernen möchten!

Wieder gibt es hier eine Menge PHP, aber ich werde es sorgfältig mit Ihnen durchgehen.

Einen genaueren Blick haben

Dies ist nicht so knifflig, aber wir werden es trotzdem auflösen und sicherstellen, dass wir verstehen, was los ist.

Wir erhalten den Dateinamen über einen Parameter, der mit der GET-Anforderung übergeben wurde, und überprüfen, ob es sich um einen zulässigen Dateityp handelt. Dann holen wir die Daten ab und verarbeiten sie, um überschüssigen Leerraum zu entfernen. Diese Methode ist relativ primitiv und entfernt nicht alle unnötigen Leerzeichen, aber sie wird den Großteil davon in nur wenigen Zeilen Code behandeln!

Dieser Ausschnitt legt nur einige Variablen fest. Wir übermitteln unsere Daten erneut durch 'q', da es kurz und knapp ist. Dies gibt uns auch die Möglichkeit, unser Verzeichnis für Dateien zu definieren und die Dateierweiterung zu extrahieren. Die Funktion explode () ruft den Dateinamen auf, wenn ein '.' und setzt die Bits in ein Array.

Hier überprüfen wir, ob die Datei entweder CSS oder HTML ist. Wenn es etwas anderes wäre, könnten wir Hackern ein Loch in unsere Site geben, wie das Einstellen von Settings.php! Nachdem wir den Hackern die Chance gegeben haben, können wir mit der Verarbeitung unserer Daten fortfahren!

Nun zur Hauptattraktion; Alles, was wir hier wirklich tun, ist, die Datei zu öffnen und zu lesen - wie im ersten Skript - und dann so viel Whitespace wie möglich herauszureißen. Dies wird durch einen relativ einfachen regulären Ausdruck erreicht, der die Datei nach Leerzeichen, Tabulatoren oder Zeilenumbrüchen durchsucht und diese dann durch ein Leerzeichen ersetzt.

Zuletzt senden wir die Daten zurück und setzen die erforderlichen Header, wenn wir uns mit CSS beschäftigen.

Aber geht das?

Wenn Sie in Ihren Browser gehen und zu "index.php? Q = css.css" navigieren, sollten wir eine Zeile CSS auf der gesamten Seite sehen. Das zeigt, dass alles in Ordnung ist! Wir können den gleichen Effekt auch im Quellcode für das HTML-Beispiel sehen. In diesem kleinen Beispiel haben wir eine 314-stellige CSS-Datei auf 277 Zeichen und eine 528-Zeichen-HTML-Datei auf 448 Zeichen reduziert. Nicht schlecht für 15 Zeilen Code.

Fazit

Das ist ein gutes Beispiel dafür, wie wir mit sehr wenig Arbeit viel erreichen können. Wenn Sie sich die Quelle von Seiten wie Google ansehen, werden Sie feststellen, dass sie fast keine Leerzeichen enthalten, da bei Millionen von Anfragen tatsächlich ein paar zusätzliche Kilobyte pro Anfrage addiert werden. Leider sind die meisten von uns nicht so glücklich!

3. Caching in Ihren PHP-Skripten

In diesem Teil zeige ich Ihnen, wie Sie das Zwischenspeichern in Ihren Skripten anhand des obigen Skripts als Beispiel "nachrüsten". Das Ziel besteht darin, die Dinge zu beschleunigen, indem die Daten nicht jedes Mal neu erstellt werden müssen, wenn jemand eine Datei anfordert. Die Erstellung des Inhalts jeder Anfrage ist nur eine Verschwendung, insbesondere bei statischen Daten wie unserem CSS.

Um das Caching hinzuzufügen, müssen wir unserem Skript drei Dinge hinzufügen. Zuerst müssen wir die Dateneingaben für das Skript sammeln und einen Dateinamen generieren, der für diese Menge von Eingaben eindeutig ist. Zweitens müssen wir nach einer Cache-Datei suchen und prüfen, ob sie ausreichend aktuell ist. Schließlich müssen wir entweder die zwischengespeicherte Kopie verwenden oder neue Inhalte generieren und für das nächste Mal zwischenspeichern.

Den Fluss unterbrechen

Dieser Teil des Prozesses hängt wirklich von dem einzelnen Skript ab. Ich werde jedoch zeigen, wo ich den Fluss dieses Skripts für das Caching unterbrechen werde.

In die Tat umsetzen

Wir werden jetzt den Code für das Caching in dieses Skript schreiben. Ich werde das fertige Skript zuerst zeigen und dann jedes Stück durchgehen.

Die Erklärung

Dies ist ein bisschen kniffliger und ein bisschen wahrscheinlicher, dass Sie Ihren Kopf kratzen. Aber keine Sorge, nicht viel hat sich geändert und wir werden jeden Abschnitt durchgehen. Eine zusätzliche Funktion, die wir enthalten haben, ist die Aktualisierung des Cache alle 24 Stunden. Dies ist praktisch, wenn Sie also etwas ändern, können Sie entweder 24 Stunden warten oder einfach das Cache-Verzeichnis leeren. Wenn Sie ein anderes Aktualisierungsintervall wünschen, berechnen Sie es einfach in Sekunden.

Dieses Bit Code erhält nur den Namen und die Erweiterung der Datei, klebt sie zusammen und fügt das Cache-Verzeichnis und die entsprechende Erweiterung '.tmp' hinzu.

Hier überprüfen wir, ob eine Cache-Datei gespeichert ist und ob die Cache-Datei innerhalb von 24 Stunden erstellt wurde. Wenn beide Bedingungen erfüllt sind, öffnen wir die Datei und extrahieren deren Inhalt, um die Ausgabe der Skripts zu ersetzen. Wir haben auch $ isCached auf true gesetzt, damit wir am Ende einige Meldungen ausgeben können.

Jetzt zwischenspeichern wir die Ausgabe des Skripts für spätere Anforderungen. Wir öffnen einfach eine Datei im Schreibmodus, legen sie unsere Daten ab und schließen sie dann. Streng genommen müssen Sie keine Dateien in PHP schließen, aber es ist eine gute Praxis, also habe ich es hier gemacht.

Dies ist ein weiterer Teil des Skripts, das ein wenig geändert wurde, damit wir über den Browser etwas Feedback geben können. Wenn die Datei aus dem Cache abgerufen wurde, können Sie der Skriptausgabe eine Nachricht hinzufügen. Beachten Sie, dass die Nachricht für CSS-Skripts am Ende '\ n' ist. Dies liegt daran, dass die Zeichen '//' unsere gesamte Zeile kommentieren und '\ n' alles andere auf eine andere Zeile drücken. Wenn Sie die Nachrichten deaktivieren möchten, müssen Sie nur die Zeile '$ isCached = TRUE;' auskommentieren.

Ich gebe einen Wirbel

Wenn wir unser Skript erneut verwenden, werden wir keine Änderung feststellen, bis wir ein zweites Mal aktualisieren, wenn eine Meldung angezeigt wird, dass die Datei aus dem Cache abgerufen wurde. Süßer Erfolg! Dieses Caching-Setup kann mit wenigen Änderungen auch auf das erste Skript angewendet werden. Dies ist jedoch für den Leser eine Übung.

Abschließend

In der Lage zu sein, schnell ein einfaches, aber effektives Caching zu jedem Skript hinzuzufügen, an dem Sie gerade arbeiten, ist eine äußerst nützliche Fähigkeit. Es fügt dem Skript nur dieses zusätzliche Bit hinzu, wodurch die Belastung Ihres Servers verringert und die Site für Benutzer beschleunigt wird. Das ist Win-Win!

Zusammenfassend

In diesem Tutorial habe ich Ihnen einige praktische, aber einfache Möglichkeiten gezeigt, wie Sie Ihre Site mit einem Schuss PHP beschleunigen können. Ich hoffe wirklich, dass Sie sie nützlich finden und in Zukunft auf ein Projekt anwenden können. Wie verbessern Sie die Leistung Ihrer Website?

  • Folgen Sie uns auf Twitter oder abonnieren Sie den NETTUTS-RSS-Feed für mehr tägliche Webentwicklungsberichte und -artikel.


Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Video icon 64
Learning to code? Skill up faster with our practical video courses. Start your free trial today.
Advertisement

3 Ways to Speed up Your Site with PHP

by
Student iconAre you a student? Get a yearly Tuts+ subscription for $45 →

These days, with broadband connections the norm, we don't need to worry as much about internet speeds or the filesize of our pages. However, that's not to say that we still shouldn't do so. If you wish to reduce the load times on your server, decrease the number of HTTP requests, and go that extra bit for your visitors, there are a few techniques that you can use. This tutorial covers a number of PHP tricks, including caching and compression.

1. CSS Amalgamation with PHP

As web developers, we often split up our CSS between several separate files to keep a logical separation and to make modifications easier. However, this increases the number of requests to the server, resulting in a slower page load. Using some PHP we can have the best of both worlds; keeping multiple files on our end, and using one request to retrieve all of them.

Preparation

Before we can optimize CSS files, we will need some CSS to work with! So let's make three files and put some CSS in them.

	// main.css
	// Just some sample CSS
	
	body {
		width: 800px;
		margin: 0 auto;
		color: grey;
	}
	
	#wrapper {
		margin-top: 30px;
		background: url(../images/cats.png);
	}
	// typography.css
	// Just some sample CSS
	
	body {
		font-family: Arial, san-serif;
		font-weight: bold;
	}
	
	strong {
		font-size: 120%;
	}
	// forms.css
	// Just some sample CSS
	
	form {
		position: relative;
		top: 400px;
		z-index: 99;
	}
	
	input {
		height: 50px;
		width: 400px;
	}

The PHP

We need to get the contents of these files and append them to each other in a specified order. So our script has to receive the names of the CSS files via URL parameters, open all the files and put them together. An explanation of the code follows.

<?php
//Lets define some useful variables
// --- NOTE: PATHS NEED TRAILING SLASH ---
$cssPath = './css/';

if (isset($_GET['q'])) {
	$files = $_GET['q'];
	// Got the array of files!
	
	//Lets just make sure that the files don't contain any nasty characters.
	foreach ($files as $key => $file) {
		$files[$key] = str_replace(array('/', '\\', '.'), '', $file);
	}
	
	$cssData = '';
	foreach ($files as $file) {
		$cssFileName = $cssPath . $file . '.css';
		$fileHandle = fopen($cssFileName, 'r');
		$cssData .= "\n" . fread($fileHandle, filesize($cssFileName));
		fclose($fileHandle);
	}
}

// Tell the browser that we have a CSS file and send the data.
header("Content-type: text/css");
if (isset($cssData)) {
	echo $cssData;
	echo "\n\n// Generated: " . date("r");
} else {
	echo "// Files not avalable or no files specified.";
}
?>

Breaking it Down

It looks quite complicated, but stick with me, it's really pretty simple.

<?php
//Lets define some usefull variables
// --- NOTE: PATHS NEED TRAILING SLASH ---
$cssPath = './css/';

if (isset($_GET['q'])) {
	$files = $_GET['q'];
	// Got the array of files!
	
	//Lets just make sure that the files don't contain any nasty charactors.
	foreach ($files as $key => $file) {
		$files[$key] = str_replace(array('/', '\\', '.'), '', $file);
	}

This chunk of code sets the path for the CSS folder and checks that we have been sent some files to work with. The CSS path needs to have trailing slashes otherwise we will find ourselves with bucket-loads of errors. If we wanted, we could check automatically for a slash and add it if required. However, for the sake of simplicity I omitted that behavior.

Next we check each filename and remove any full stops and/or slashes. This prevents people from navigating the filesystem by passing filenames such as '../../secret/file'.

	$cssData = '';
	foreach ($files as $file) {
		$cssFileName = $cssPath . $file . '.css';
		$fileHandle = fopen($cssFileName, 'r');
		$cssData .= "\n" . fread($fileHandle, filesize($cssFileName));
		fclose($fileHandle);
	}
}

Now we have to build our CSS data from the individual files. To do this, we loop through the files array with foreach, open each file and append the contents onto our data. The "\n" simply adds a new line character to keep things nice and tidy. The filesize() function is used to find the length of the file so that we can tell fread() how much we want (the entire file).

// Tell the browser that we have a CSS file and send the data.
header("Content-type: text/css");
if (isset($cssData)) {
	echo $cssData;
	echo "\n\n// Generated: " . date("r");
} else {
	echo "// Files not avalable or no files specified.";
}
?>

The last bit of the script is to send the CSS data to the browser. This means we have to tell PHP that we are sending CSS data, and that it should inform the browser. We do this with the header function, setting the content type to 'text/css'. Then we send the CSS to the client. We first check if there is any CSS data to send. If there isn't, then this means that no names of CSS files were sent. If this is the case we simply reply with a CSS comment saying so. If, however, we do have some data to send, then we send that and add a message detailing when it was generated. If you wanted to, for example, add some copyright information to all your CSS in one go, then this would be an ideal place.

Putting it to the Test

Okay, now it's time to test the script; we need to first build a directory structure and then place our script and CSS files. Have a look at the image below and try to replicate that structure. If you want something different, don't forget to change the paths to reflect those changes.

Once everything is in the right place, we can test our script. The directory structure will have to be placed in the 'htdocs' or 'www' folder of a webserver with PHP (pretty much any webserver these days). Navigate to the index.php file. You should be greeted by a single comment: 'Files not available or no files specified'. This means that we have not given any files for it to pull together. However, the good news is that this is a valid CSS comment and won't cause any problems.

Let's give something a little trickier a go; type in 'index.php?q[]=main', you should get the CSS from you main.css file and a notice at the bottom.

If we want to pull multiple files together (as this was really the entire point of the script) we can send this request: 'index.php?q[]=main&q[]=forms'. As you can see we can repeat 'q[]=' as many times as we want because it is adding each value to an array. You could potentially add 50 CSS files together if you wanted using this script.

Concluding

Using this method can be very useful, and can provide benefits such as being able to have a default style sheet for every page and and an extra CSS file for pages with forms. It's also easy to implement if you're already using some sort of CSS processing with PHP. If you want, you can even rename index.php to index.css as long as you set up .htaccess to treat CSS files as PHP.

You might notice that I'm treating different orders of CSS files as different. This is because you may wish to have one stylesheet override another and therefore the order of the files is important. If this isn't a problem for you, you may wish to perform a sorting function on the files array before processing.

Just a word of caution; if you place the index.php file in any folder other than the one that contains the CSS then you have to write your relative background image paths as if index.php was your stylesheet. This is because that's what the browser thinks it is. Alternatively, you could add some code to rewrite these URLs, however, that is beyond the scope of this tutorial.

2. Stripping Whitespace from your HTML and CSS

Many of us use large amounts of whitespace when writing code. The good news is that whitespace in PHP doesn't actually get sent to the browser. However, it does in HTML.

Browsers tend to only display one space no matter how many tabs you use in your code. This means that there is some wasted bandwidth. However, with some simple PHP we can remove this bandwidth leeching whitespace.

Preparation

Once again, we will need some raw data to work with; so copy the following example HTML and CSS code. Save the following into a .htm and a .css file in a folder within your server's webroot directory.

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN"
	"http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html>
	<head>
		<title>Hey a Page!</title>
		<link rel="stylesheet" href="./css.css" type="text/css">
	</head>
	<body id="homepage">
		<div id="wrapper">
			<div id="header">
				<h1>Kittens for sale!</h1>
				<div>
					There   are      lots      of spaces here! But we need to get    rid   of  them!
				</div>
			</div>
			<div id="mainbody">
				Lorem Ipsum dol...
			</div>
		</div>
	</body>
</html>
body {
	min-height: 800px;
	background: black;
	font-size: 18px;
}

#wrapper {
	width: 960px;
	margin: 20px auto;
	padding: 15px;
}

#header h1 {
	text-indent: -99999em;
	background: url(../images/header.png);
	display: block;
	width: 100%;
	height: 48px;
}

#mainbody {
	font-weight: bold;
}

The PHP

One of the advantages of this method is that the same script will work with both HTML and CSS. Our script has to accept a filename as part of the request. Once the file has been loaded, it has to strip all whitespace down to just one space character. This is because we don't want to remove all the spaces between words!

Once again, ther's a bunch of PHP here, but I will go through it carefully with you.

<?php
$fileDirectory = '';
$file = $_GET['q'];
$nameExplode = explode('.', $file);
$ext = $nameExplode[1];
$fileName = $fileDirectory . $file;
if ($ext != 'css' AND $ext != 'htm' AND $ext != 'html') {
	//Check for evil people...
	die('Hackers...!');
} else {
	//Lets get down to business
	$handle = fopen($fileName, 'r');
	$fileData = fread($handle, filesize($fileName));
	//Now for some regex wizzardry!
	$newData = preg_replace('/\s+/', ' ', $fileData);
	fclose($handle);
	//Time to output the data.
	if ($ext == 'css') {
		header("Content-type: text/css");
	}
	echo $newData;
}
?>

Having a Closer Look

This one isn't so tricky, but we will still break it up and make sure we understand what is going on.

We are getting the filename via a parameter passed with the GET request and checking to make sure that it is an allowed filetype. Then we proceed to fetch the data and process it to remove excess whitespace. This method is relatively primitive and won't remove all unnecessary whitespace, but it will deal with most of it in only a few lines of code!

<?php
$fileDirectory = '';
$file = $_GET['q'];
$nameExplode = explode('.', $file);
$ext = $nameExplode[1];
$fileName = $fileDirectory . $file;

This snippet just sets some variables. Once again, we are passing our data through 'q' as it is nice and short. This also gives us a place to define our directory for files and extract the file extension. The explode() function rips the filename up whenever it sees a '.' and puts the bits into an array.

if ($ext != 'css' AND $ext != 'htm' AND $ext != 'html') {
	//Check for evil people...
	die('Hackers...!');
} else {

Here we're checking to make sure that the file is either CSS or HTML. If it was something else we might find ourselves giving hackers a hole into our site like showing them settings.php! So after giving the hackers the flick we can move on to processing our data!

	//Lets get down to business
	$handle = fopen($fileName, 'r');
	$fileData = fread($handle, filesize($fileName));
	//Now for some regex wizzardry!
	$newData = preg_replace('/\s+/', ' ', $fileData);
	fclose($handle);
	//Time to output the data.
	if ($ext == 'css') {
		header("Content-type: text/css");
	}
	echo $newData;
}
?>

Now for the main attraction; all we are really doing here is opening the file and reading it - like we did in the first script - and then ripping out as much whitespace as possible. This is achieved through a relatively simple regular expression that searches through the file for any spaces, tabs or newlines and then replaces them with a single space.

Lastly we send back the data, setting the required headers if we are dealing with CSS.

But Does it Work?

If you go into your browser and navigate to 'index.php?q=css.css' we should see one line of CSS across the page. This shows that everything is fine! We can also see the same effect on the source code for the html example. In fact in that small example, we reduced a 314 character CSS file down to 277 characters and a 528 character html file down to 448 characters. Not bad for 15 lines of code.

Conclusion

So that's a good example of how we can do quite a lot with very little work. If you have a look at the source of pages like Google you will find that they have almost no whitespace because, when you receive millions of requests, a few extra kilobytes per request really adds up. Unfortunately, most of us aren't that lucky!

3. Caching in your PHP Scripts

In this part, I will show you how to 'retrofit' caching into your scripts using the above script as an example. The aim is to speed things up by not having to regenerate the data every time someone requests a file. Generating the content every request is just a waste, especially on static data such as our CSS.

To add caching we need to add three things to our script. Firstly, we have to collect the data input to the script and generate a filename unique to that set of inputs. Secondly, we have to look for a cache file and see if it is sufficiently recent. Lastly, we have to either use the cached copy or generate new content and cache it for next time.

Breaking the Flow

This part of the process really depends on the individual script, however I will show where I am going to break the flow of this script for the caching.

<?php
$fileDirectory = '';
$file = $_GET['q'];
$nameExplode = explode('.', $file);
$ext = $nameExplode[1];
$fileName = $fileDirectory . $file;

//-- WE HAVE ENOUGH DATA TO GENERATE A CACHE FILE NAME HERE --

if ($ext != 'css' AND $ext != 'htm' AND $ext != 'html') {
	//Check for evil people...
	die('Hackers...!');
} else {
	
	//-- WE CAN INTERCEPT AND CHECH FOR THE CACHED VERSION HERE --
	
	//Lets get down to business
	$handle = fopen($fileName, 'r');
	$fileData = fread($handle, filesize($fileName));
	//Now for some regex wizardry!
	$newData = preg_replace('/\s+/', ' ', $fileData);
	fclose($handle);
	//Time to output the data.
	
	//-- NOW WE CAN STORE THE NEW DATA IF REQUIRED AND OUTPUT THE DATA --
	
	if ($ext == 'css') {
		header("Content-type: text/css");
	}
	echo $newData;
}
?>

Putting it into Action

We will now actually write the code for caching into this script. I will first show the script completed and then go through each piece.

<?php
$fileDirectory = '';
$file = $_GET['q'];
$nameExplode = explode('.', $file);
$ext = $nameExplode[1];
$fileName = $fileDirectory . $file;
$cacheName = './cache/' . $nameExplode[0] . $nameExplode[1] . '.tmp';
if ($ext != 'css' AND $ext != 'htm' AND $ext != 'html') {
	//Check for evil people...
	print_r($ext);
	die('Hackers...!');
} else {
	if (file_exists($cacheName) AND filemtime($cacheName) > (time() - 86400)) {
		$cacheHandle = fopen($cacheName, 'r');
		$newData = fread($cacheHandle, filesize($cacheName));
		fclose($cacheHandle);
		$isCached = TRUE;
	} else {
		//Lets get down to business
		$handle = fopen($fileName, 'r');
		$fileData = fread($handle, filesize($fileName));
		//Now for some regex wizardry!
		$newData = preg_replace('/\s+/', ' ', $fileData);
		fclose($handle);
		//Lets cache!
		$cacheHandle = fopen($cacheName, 'w+');
		fwrite($cacheHandle, $newData);
		fclose($cacheHandle);
		$isCached = FALSE;
	}
	//Time to output the data.
	if ($ext == 'css') {
		header("Content-type: text/css");
		if ($isCached) {
			echo "// Retrieved from cache file. \n";
		}
	} else {
		if ($isCached) {
			echo '<!-- Retrieved from cache file. -->';
		}
	}
	echo $newData;
	
}
?>

The Explanation

This one's a bit trickier and a little more likely to leave you scratching you head. But don't worry, not much has changed and we will go through each section. An extra feature we have included is the refreshing of the cache every 24 hours. This is handy so if you change anything, you can either wait 24 hours or simply empty the cache directory. If you want a different refresh interval just calculate it in seconds.

$cacheName = './cache/' . $nameExplode[0] . $nameExplode[1] . '.tmp';

This bit of code just gets the file's name and extension, glues them together and adds the cache directory and the appropriate '.tmp' extension.

	if (file_exists($cacheName) AND filemtime($cacheName) > (time() - 86400)) {
		$cacheHandle = fopen($cacheName, 'r');
		$newData = fread($cacheHandle, filesize($cacheName));
		fclose($cacheHandle);
		$isCached = TRUE;
	} else {

Here we're checking if we have a cache file saved and if the cache file was created within 24 hours. If both these conditions are met then we open the file and extract its contents to substitute for the scripts output. We also set $isCached to true so we can output some messages at the end.

		//Lets cache!
		$cacheHandle = fopen($cacheName, 'w+');
		fwrite($cacheHandle, $newData);
		fclose($cacheHandle);
		$isCache = FALSE;
	}

Now we are caching the output of the script for us to use in later requests. We simply open a file in write mode, dump our data into it and then close it. Strictly you don't have to close files in PHP but it's considered a good practise so I have done it here.


	//Time to output the data.
	if ($ext == 'css') {
		header("Content-type: text/css");
		if ($isCached) {
			echo "// Retrieved from cache file. \n";
		}
	} else {
		if ($isCached) {
			echo '<!-- Retrieved from cache file. -->';
		}
	}

This is another part of the script that was modified a little so that we can offer some feedback through the browser. If the file was retrieved from the cache we can add a message to the script's output. Notice that the message for CSS scripts has '\n' at the end. This is because the characters '//' comment our entire line and '\n' pushes everything else onto another line. If you want to disable the messages all you have to do is comment out the line '$isCached = TRUE;'.

Giving it a Whirl

If we use our script again, we will notice no change until we refresh a second time when we will see a message saying that the file was retrieved from cache. Sweet success! This caching setup can also be applied to the first script with little modification, however, that is left as an exercise for the reader.

Concluding

Being able to quickly add simple but effective caching to any script that you are working on is an extremely useful skill. It just adds that extra bit to the script, reducing the load on your server and speeding up the site for users. Now that's win-win!

Summing it Up

In this tutorial I have shown you a few handy but simple ways to speed up your site with a dash of PHP. I really hope that you find them useful and that you can apply them to a project in the future. How do you improve your site's performance?


Advertisement